You are here: HomeNews2013 11 02Article 290713

Free cash at Otabil’s church

Read Comments Comments (104)

• Remove Indemnity Clause 10 years ago

A man of God indeed.

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

GHANA NEWS LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Sports TV AND, MOVIES, BEST GHANA-NIGERIA MOVIES, LOCAL TWI MOVIES PLUS
    OVER 7500 TV and RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM plus LIVE ...

• WOFA 10 years ago

IN THE BIBLE, ONLY THOSE WITH OVER 10 COWS WERE TITHED. THE POOR DID NOT PAY TITHE. ACCORDING TO THE MOSAIC LAW, THE POOR DID NOT PAY TITHE. THE POOR, ORPHANS AND STRANGERS WERE GIVEN TITHE.

WHAT OTABIL IS DOING SHOULD BE ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Mr. Otabil may the good God bless you
    for helping the poors for your generousity shown them in cash.After
    all you are not selfish but sprayed
    you bread all over.

• william 10 years ago

POLITICAL SHOW IN THE CHURCH, IN THE MIDST OF TITHING UNDER SIEGE WHILE GOVERNMENT STRUGGLES TO COLLECT REVENUE!!!WOW. THE HAND OF THE GREAT LORD SHALL SOON REVEAL HIS FULL PLAN. SMALL SHALL BECOME BIG, BIG MAY BECOME SMALL, ...

• STOP AND THINK 10 years ago

IF THE REASON IS PURE FROM THE HEART AND REASON OF THE SCRIPTURE IN ACTS, THEN ITS A WORK IN ITS RIGHT DIRECTION WHICH ALL CHURCHES OUGHT TO EMULATE.

• william 10 years ago

CHECK THE TIMING! THE SCRIPTURES HAVE NOT CHANGED! GOOD TO CHANGE. BUT NEED TO ALSO UNDERSTAND WHY AND REAL MOTIVE.

• omanba 10 years ago

You will suffer. The Bible says your good mind will take care of you. You think bad always. Watch it.

• ADOM 10 years ago

THE POR PEOPLE HAVE PAID TITHE AND OFFERINF OVER THE YEARS. HOW MUCH HAVE THEY PAID IN TOTAL? NOW OTABIL TAKES A SMALL PIECE OF THEIR MONEY AND GIVES IR BACK TO THEM.

OTABIL GIVES A PART OF THEIR MONEY BACK TO THEM. SHOUL ...

• Fred Mensah 10 years ago

i like this analogy. Robbing eter to pay Peter. Very good one.

• David Damoah 10 years ago

But Nicholas J Bedzo, the money does not belong to Otabil. It is money donated by the people from the people . It is not money fro Otabil so Otabil is giving away no money neither from his pocket or his savings instead I am s ...

• Akonoba 10 years ago

David Damoah wake up from your slumber. Simple common-sense tells us all that people go to church to donate money to the church for church activities.

Once they donate that money, it does not belong to them anymore. It bel ...

• OBAA PA 10 years ago

THE PASTOR DID NOT ROBB NO RICH TO PAY NO POOR! GOD SAID EVERYTHING BELONGS TO HIM INCLUDING THE COMPUTER YOU WROTE THIS COMMENT ON, HE SAID HE WILL SUPPLY ALL OUR NEEDS ACCORDING TO RICHES AND GLORY, THAT'S WHY HE ORDERD TH ...

• OBAA PA 10 years ago

THE PASTOR DID NOT ROBB NO RICH TO PAY NO POOR! GOD SAID EVERYTHING BELONGS TO HIM INCLUDING THE COMPUTER YOU WROTE THIS COMMENT ON, HE SAID HE WILL SUPPLY ALL OUR NEEDS ACCORDING TO RICHES AND GLORY, THAT'S WHY HE ORDERD THE ...

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

MASSA, PROVIDE JOBS, HAVE A CAREER FAIR, HAVE A FOOD BANK, PROVIDE RELATIONSHIP COUNSELLING, FINANCE LITERACY, ADULT EDUCATION, RENTAL/NANNY SERVICES ETC. SEE UR CHURCH AS A COUNTRY IN ITSELF. THIS ACT IS PETTY.INFACT, IF I W ...

• Fred Mensah 10 years ago

JESUS ASKED THE RICHMAN TO GIVE ALL HIS MONEY BACK. WHAT OTABIL HAS TO DO IS GIVE ALL THE MONEY HE HAS TAKEN FROM THE PEOPLE BACK.

DONT GIVE A LITTLE PITANC BACK TO THE POOR. GIVE ALL OF IT BACK AND LIVE A HUMBLE LIFE LIKE ...

today our country has the notorious reputation of being one of the most corrupt in the world thanks to pepeni and his band of thieves . we told everyone we knew he had no plan or program to develop the nation except pillage t ...

• WOFA 10 years ago

THIS IS MONEY THIS POOR PEOPLE HAVE BEEN PAYING ALL ALONG. THEY PAID TITHE AND OFFERING ALL THE TITHE, DESPITE THEIR POVERTY.

THEY WERE ROBBED AND NOW THEY GET A LITTLE BACK. THIS IS A SMALL PART OF THEIR OWN MONEY.

• Atinga Kobla Atongo 10 years ago

I HAVE ALWAYS BELIEVED THIS MAN IS A TRUE MAN OF GOD. MANNER TRULY FELL AGAIN FROM HEAVEN.
    GOD BLESS YOU PASTOR OTABIL. CONTINUE YOUR GOOD WORK, WHOEVER CASTIGATES YOU WITHOUT TANGIBLE REASON IS DOOMED.
    A TRUE MAN OF GOD.

• Kofi Houston 10 years ago

The money came from the people, so what really made him the man of God? The man of God should rather be he/she who toils day/night to put food on the table for the family, and same time volunteer his/her services for the poor ...

• dade3ba 10 years ago

keep it up pastor.............thats the spirit of christianity.God bless you.amen

• Amegaxoxo 10 years ago

God Bless You Pastor,You Are a Real Man of GOD,Amen.

• Joe 10 years ago

While Politician are stealing our Money you are sharing. May God bless you.

• Norya london 10 years ago

Man u hve said it all,these selffish nd wicked politicians are killing the sprit of our home land Ghana with corruption.ßut God is watching,may God richly bless otabil

• ODOPA 10 years ago

THE MONEY FROM THIS PEOPLE WAS USED TO BUILT OTABIL'S UNIVERSITY. DO THEY GET ANY DIVIDENTS FROM THE SCHOOL? THIS IS CALLED ROBERY IN THE CHURCH.
    IT IS REIDICULOUS TO TAKE MONEY FROM SOMEONE AND THEN GIVE PART OF IT BACK, AN ...

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

Let me take the opportunity to educate you small. There is a difference between an investment an a simple donation. Please go and find a dictionary and the meanings of those two words. That may perhaps help you out of your di ...

• ODOPA 10 years ago

There is a difference between an investment an a simple donation.

I SEE YOUR EXPLANATION. FOR THE POOR PEOPLE IT IS A DONATION. FOR OTABIL, THE DONATION IS USED AS AN INVESTMENT. THE POOR PERSON GETS NOTHING FROM THE INVE ...

• SERVANT OF GOD 10 years ago

THE BIBLE SAYS GIVE THE TITHE TO THE POOR, ORPHANS AND STRANGERS. YOU DONT GIVE THE TITHE TO THE GREEDY MATERIALISTIC PASTORS. tHE LIVE LIKE KINGS WHILE THE POOR SUFFER.

JESUS WOULD NEVER LIVE LIKE OTABIL. PAUL WOULD NEVER ...

Dis is what Pastors are suppose to do,infact otabil u r the true pastor may God bless nd raise u up.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Though this kind gesture is welcomed, it appears to be a kind of Robin Hood act. Taking from the rich and giving to the poor. Hope other church leaders would follow his example.

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Who is this fake man trying to fool? Robbing Peter to pay Paul. You built a school instead of hospital with the people's money because you think that will bring more revenue. Is that supposed to be a gesture of charity?

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

Osei, if you think that a hospital is needed somewhere and should be built, why dont you go ahead and also build one? Otabil has at least tried to do something which 99% of Ghanaians have not and cannot do.

We are waiting ...

Sorry Boss, I don't have the people's money. I am not going to reveal my charity in public but perhaps in the eyes of God, the little I am giving is much better than those fakes because God almighty knows I am giving it all.

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

Do not underrate the importance of education, even if you would prefer a hospital. Sad that you see that school only in terms of "his personal profit", which may not be true.

It will be more difficult for dishonest Politic ...

• Village Food 10 years ago

now tertiary schools has become high class prostitution grounds

• Nzema K 10 years ago

it is at the foundation that poor people who contributed can benefit. Instead he build a full cost paying university where only the rich can afford. so where is the benefit to the 50p per week contributers.

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

Alright so you dont have "the peoples money" but if I may ask, where did you get your money that you are doing your 'unknown charity' from? Direct from God or I daresay from 'the people'?

Now just look at your pathetic sel ...

You can blast me all you want but that will not change anything. Building a university to charge exorbitant school fees or collecting from the rich and giving to the poor is not charity. That is called Robin Hood gesture. Ple ...

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

Osei, I just asked a simple question. I asked, "whats the source of your money that you use for your unknown charity?

I asked because all money except that which is charitably donated or stolen, is acquired in exchange of ...

Building a university with people's money is not an achievement in the eyes of God, it is only an achievement in the eyes of man.

• Afua 10 years ago

Osei you cannot claim to know what is achievement in the eyes of God. This is arrogance. What may appear stupid to humans may not be so with God. Please give us a break. I applaud the pastor's gesture. God bless him.

• SERVANT OF GOD 10 years ago

THEY ROB THE POOR AND THEN TURN ROUND AND PERFORM A CHARITABLE STUNT. OTABIL LIVES LIKE THE SULTAN OF BRUNEI, HE TAKES TITHES FROM THE POOR. NOW HE WANTS US TO BELIEVE HE IS CHARITABLE?

DID JESUS LIVE OPULENTLY? DID PAUL L ...

• Agonahene 10 years ago

Sister Afua, may the Almighty God richly bless you. Some of us come here only to insult Pastors. Though I believe there are fake ones, I do my best not to judge any pastor in public because the Bible has told me not to touch ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

You don't even understand the idiomatic expression of "robbing Peter to pay paul" and yet, you keep on going on and on. Did Otabil borrow or take money to give to someone he owes?

If you are doing your part to help the poo ...

Why are all the rich pastors building universities and no hospitals? How much do students pay to attend these schools? Do you think there are any poor students in these universities? Even the government knows how much they ar ...

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

Osei Tawiah, I myself am not worried about whether Otabil is pursuing a charitable venture or not. What I am happy about is that in the painfully under-developed situation we are in as a country, one of our own has managed to ...

• Benash 10 years ago

Wow!! I couldn't agree with you more. You are just too intelligent for Osei Tawiah. I also don't know why he is so much fixated on why these Pastors and churches are not building hospitals. But that question should actually b ...

• ODOPA 10 years ago

SYMBIOSIS POINT IS THAT THE END JUSTIFIES THE MEANS. IF YOU ARE AN ARMED ROBBER BUT YOU MANAGE TO BUILT A SCHOL WITH THE MONEY, THEN IT IS ALRIGHT. THE WAY YOU MAKE THE MONEY IS NOT IMPORTANT, IT IS WHAT YOU USE IT FOR.

SY ...

• Agonahene 10 years ago

Odopa, you are being too petty. Your analogy is so shallow. We all now that Otabil isn't an armed robber so what's your point? May God forgive you for even using him to make such an analogy. I suggest you think thoroughly thr ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

It is wrong to write in block letters on internet. Find "NETIQUETTE" in your search engine and read about it. Once you have learnt that, you could then come and debate with your betters.

You wish you could think and write ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

What has that got to do with what he did in his church now? Don't you think it has to be another debate or discussion but not under this article?

You said, it is was foolish gesture and a robbing peter to pay paul, and tha ...

• Speak the truth 10 years ago

If pastors had been more faithful to Scripture and caring about their congregations, they would have been more sensitive to their needs instead of amassing wealth for themselves and leading ostentatious lifestyles.

Charity ...

• KKB 10 years ago

maybe, he built school to train workers for hospital cos knowledge is power and education is the key

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

I noticed that you have a question mark after caption, but how could you even think of "Robin Hood" on this good gesture. Our dislike of Pastors should not cloud our judgement to their good deeds. I have said, our leaders had ...

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

What does this mean? "Unfortunately, we have been blessed with wicked and clueless leaders."

Are you trying to impute that it is a blessing to be stuck with wicked and clueless leaders?

Taking from the rich and giving to the poor is Robin Hood gesture, period. Charity is simply when you take from your own pocket and give to the poor.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Sorry massa, it was tongue-in-cheek remark. I should have put that in "bless" in quotation marks. I Often use it because in Africa, we seem to accept our fate as blessing.

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

OK. I get it . Thanks

• SCOAN 10 years ago

He has been watching the preaching and healing powers of TB Joshua. In Jesus name all knees shall bow to the mighty God of TB Joshua. In Jesus name!!!! A-M-E-N

• Bobby 10 years ago

This is pure nonsense. Who is TB Joshua? A crook! How many times has he distributed money in his church. Don't compare Otabil to TB, please.

Nigerian fool who invited u on ghanaweb?be wise Kwasia

• Kenkey Warriors!! 10 years ago

Tuberculosis Joshua is a con artist. Just pause for a minute and think. You will see the thief in the disease called TB joshua.

• SCOAN 10 years ago

The entire world worship and bow down to TB joshua Amen

• benbelo 10 years ago

why not give his own money instead of giving the offerings given by the rich. Has he ever thought of how the rich in his church are making their money? Does the money he gave the poor and needy measure up to all the 10% and t ...

You are very stupid,foolish pple like u dnt deserve to live on dis earth.

Yes, you are one of those who would even accuse Jesus of riding a donkey instead of walking.

• DERRICK 10 years ago

HE IS JUST DOING THIS TO KIND OF REPAIR HIS DENTED IMAGE. IT'S THIS SAME MEMBERS HE HAD CUNNINGLY EXPLOITED FOR YEARS TO ENRICH HIMSELF. IT'S ALSO SILLY TO HAVE DONE IT IN THE OPEN BECAUSE, BEFORE THE CONGREGATION, YES HE HAS ...

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

Does Otabil have a dented image?

I do not belong to Otabils church orto any other church but the man has built a university which is one of the most sought after in the country. That university has trained thousands of Gh ...

• OKOE 10 years ago

DAILY GRAPHIC, IS YOUR REPORTER WRITING THE TRUTH OR WRITING TO LURE PEOPLE TO THE CHURCH SO THAT THEY WILL EXACT MORE MONEY FROM THEM. IS IT A PLOY BECAUSE HE WRITES THAT WHAT HE WROTE COULD NOT BE CONFIRMED.

• Good Pastor 10 years ago

Ghanaian scholars are the very greedy ones who don't even fear God. How can you address the Church of God like dealing with Hollywood.Your actions always have no respect for God.

• Kenkey Warriors!! 10 years ago

...he has to give away fresh collection from the gullible flock. Did Jesus collect money from the people he preached to?
    I do not understand people who give away money to enriched these conmen called pastors.

• London Whale 10 years ago

Do you believe people really went for the money? Why no rather invite the poor in the church to go to the church office for help?

• SHAKAMORA 10 years ago

God bless u pastor

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

There's a priest, a minister and a rabbi. They're out playing golf and they're trying to decide how much to give to charity.

So the priest says, we'll draw a circle on the ground, we'll throw the money way up in the air an ...

• YAW WASH. DC 10 years ago

Oh God Almighty, Please let your unending blessings be upon this ministry, its leadership and congregation, truly what you've done is completely Christ Jesus ministry.

• When Will They Ever Learn 10 years ago

Rev.Pastor.Bishop. Dr Otabil,Teach your congregants how to fish if you are capable.
    A ploy to win more "souls" for the church to
    double future collections is not the answer to
    their plight.

It wasn't meant to cater for them for the rest of their lives. He's done his bit, why not continue from where he left off? Even he walked on water some of you would say it's because he could not swim!

• jerry 10 years ago

Good work Pastor Otabil

• JohnTaks 10 years ago

Good one there.That's what Christianity is all about.Stay blessed and keep it up.

• AFAR 10 years ago

I WOULD IMAGINE THAT THE CHURCH ALREADY MUST HAVE A MINISTRY DEDICATED TO HELPING POOR CHURCH MEMBERS. IF NO SUCH MINISTRY EXISTS, THEN THAT IS A QUESTION FOR THE HEAD PASTOR TO ANSWER. IF SUCH A MINISTRY EXISTS, WHY WOULD HE ...

• Witness 10 years ago

Well sonce you weren't there, why don't you shut up!

• TITHER 10 years ago

THERE YOU HAVE IT, NOW AMARTEY CAN CONTINUE HIS NONSENSE OF TITHING. I WONDER HOW MANY POOR PEOPLE AMARTEY & CO ARE TAKING CARE OF.

• GhanaBA 10 years ago

good practice, i wish all churches in Ghana do likewise! may he be blessed so he may come up with such interventions to support the poor.

• OPPONG 10 years ago

"THY SHALL TEACH A CHILD OR A SON HOW TO FISH NOT HOW TO EAT A FISH."
    I THINK THIS KIND OF GESTURE IS LIKE TEACHING THEM HOW TO BECOME A BEGGER AND TEACHES COME NEXT TIME IF IS FINISH. SINCE ADAMS TIIME POVERTY HAVE LIVE WIT ...

• Ericus-Ericus 10 years ago

Keep this up Pastor - All other pastors who are not already doing this should follow this shining Biblical practice. God Bless All Pastors & Imams in Ghana.

• Truth 10 years ago

It's amazing how pastors are getting more popular than Jesus Christ himself.
    Evidence is the sudden billboards glorifying themselves and the posters that litter our street walls.
    With Otabil,the least I say,the better.
    God ...

• Angel 10 years ago

The man of God has done what God has ordained him to do , he doesn't need anybody's approval so shut uuuuuppppp alllll haaaterzzzzzzzzzzz phew !

• G.G. KOBBY 10 years ago

Good thing but done in a bad way. It is a disrespect to Sacred thing of God that everybody should dip had in the offering basket to take money. The offering basket is dedicate to God. One, it is good to cater for the poor as ...

So the offering should have been kept for God to come and take away? Or maybe, it should have been paid into God's bank accounts, right?

• concerned observer 10 years ago

Folks are really suffering especially those whose heart are the right place searching for God.

• Apostle VA USA 10 years ago

this is a great lesson for the Ghanaian pastors in america who have turned to be professional thieves, watch out a day will come that you will give account to your immorals act stop signing checks to yourselves, this is steal ...

• Samuel Ansah ,New York 10 years ago

Is this a damage contol after so many bruishes or real intention? Time will tell. One fact people should know is that it is sacrifices of these same members of the congregation that have made these one man churches so filthy ...

• SUNKWAH 10 years ago

WE THANK GOD FOR SUCH A PASTOR

• inkoom 10 years ago

teach them how to fish do not giv them fish.

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

Liar and a fraud. peddling these lies does your image no good.

• KWAME OWUSU 10 years ago

PASTOR KOFI DANSO HAS BEEN DOING THIS IN EUROPE ALMOST ALL HIS SERVICES, THIS IS NO NEWS

• KWESI 10 years ago

LOOKING FOR SERIOUS PEOPLE TO TRAVEL TO THE USA. PROCESS WOULD TAKE 2 WEEKS TO A MONTH MAXIMUM.THE PRICE IS $10,000.
    IF YOU THINK YOU ARE READY AND HAVE THE MEANS CALL ME ON 0249318847 FOR FURTHER INFO. NO MONEY PAID TILL VI ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

After demonizing him for alerting Christians to fast and pray so no evil would befall Ghana, during the election petition case, the NDC "apparatchiks" still don't appreciate what Pastor Mensah Otabil has done. The man of God ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

.....And they made horrible promises that they cannot meet. Folks should just observe the crazy economic situation and all the cries and yelling coming from Ghanaian workers or labour boards etc.

What kind of bullshit is ...

• Nana Osei 10 years ago

Pasor, God bless and increase u as you have shown to the world that u practice what you preach to ur flocks. May Almighty God respond to ur prayers whenever u come to HIS presence to ask from in JESUS name AMEN.

• frank 10 years ago

This is a man of GOD

• Kanama 10 years ago

I am not a member of this church think that was a great move.This long over due.It is about time these Pastors instead of making themselves rich and their congregations poorer they should quit being greedy and start to give b ...

• abio 10 years ago

good .so we now expect that to be done on every offering activity since the needy is so for all other days.So if women in church can fake pregnancy to get money from the church then its serious our preaching has not gone down ...

• kwaku 10 years ago

the unbelievers on here who know nothing about the church should just keep their mouths shut. Monies one pay in church is for the church use , God will not come from heaven and pure money on the alter , he blesses the han ...