You are here: HomeNews2013 10 29Article 290243

Regulate prostitution and tax it – MP

Read Comments Comments (98)

• Homeboy 10 years ago

Most of the prostitutes are Ashantis. Appiah does not know what he is getting into.

• kakadika 10 years ago

WHY NOT? BECOS YOUR MOTHER NEVER PAID TAXES WHEN SHE WAS BITCHING AROUND IN THE MINES AT OBUASI. ASHIAWUOBA MP 4 OBUASI. NPP=NARCOTICS PEDDLERS PARTY...

• Ivor Pinkrah 10 years ago

Sir: But would you still tax the 130 million defective condoms imported by corrupt Ministry of Health personnel? Would condoms be tax-deductible for government registered harlots? Would flavoured condoms attract a higher rate ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author:...KK

...This is proper Create, Loot and Share.
    Your tax money. My tax money. And when they finish sharing they ask you for more tax. The roads are not fixed, the water doesn't flow. The power goes on and off. Whil ...

• ogyam 10 years ago

why? they charged you higher, don't worry your single spine can take care of it.

• VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR. 10 years ago

SEVENFOLD SUPERPOWER
    CHARACTERISTICS TO ANCIENT POWERS:

BABEL: Nimrod the most powerful man until the Lord dispersed human languages. Bringing like terms into groups. Skycrapper building was introduced to the world. Wi ...

• Joe Kojo 10 years ago

First, the MP's wife will be employed as the lead prostitute in a Private/Government partnership brothel and tax deducted from her payslip before others are invited for jobs for more taxes.

Stupid MP!!!

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

You pay more tax for the younger ones double.

This is Nonesense and loose talk.

• william 10 years ago

Men are wonderful hypocrites when it comes to prostitution! Who are the clients? Check their diverse professions? Female commercial sex workers have rights, human rights. Many are mothers, seeking to survive with their childr ...

• GOLD COAST 10 years ago

For health reasons,and not purposely for taxes.These faux moralists and hypocrites visit "massage houses" and turn around to pontificate and preach hell and brimstone.

The prostitutes will receive medical and protective ca ...

• emmanuel 10 years ago

THE NAME OF GHANA IS RICHER THAN THE PROPOSED MONEY GENERATION.
    AS THE SAYING GOES THAT BETTER NAME IS BETTER THAN RICHES.
    HOW CAN SOMEBODY LIKE THIS GO TO PARLIAMENT TO MAKE LAW?
    SOMETHING THAT IS MORALLY WRONG,IS CONS ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Ghanaians need to inter marry to spread good genes of beauty. Too much marrying within is perpetuating fatness and ugliness.

• Homeboy 10 years ago

Inter-marry with whom? Nigerians?

• PEACE 10 years ago

NO WONDER WE ARE BLAMING THE GOVERNMENT FOR OUR WOES,BUT IF THE GOLD,COCOA,OIL AND ALL THE OTHER MONEY MAKING THAT THE COUNTRY HAVE COULD NOT GENERATE MONEY FOR THE COUNTRY AND YOU EXPECT MONEY OUT OF PROSTITUTION THEN WAITE ...

• Osofo-ba Columbus 10 years ago

Shall we legalize wee, cocaine,etc? People engage in selling it,buying it, and using it? What kind of argument is that? Legalize abortion because people will still do it. Legalize stealing, adultery, murder and robbery. Peopl ...

• Nyansafo Ba 10 years ago

Prostitutes are AID infested women. Stay away from them. The suggestions way out of order. Who needs a prostitute anyway?. A dirty person?. It is a very bad choice.

• ZION AYARIGA 10 years ago

WHY DONT YOU THINK HOW BEST YOU GUYS CAN MAKE LAWS GET OUR RESOURCES IN TO OUR OWN HANDS AND CONTROL LIKE THE SOUTH AMERICANS ARE DOING,INSTEAD U HAHAHAAAAAA KIDS...

• MP 10 years ago

AFRICA IS STILL AFRICA(RESPECT)

• KOFI 10 years ago

YOU CANNOT STOP PROSTITUTION. BESIDES, IF SOMEONE DESPITES TO SELL SEX, WHO SHOULD STOP THEM? REGULATE IT LIKE IN EUROPE. THEY ARE NOT GOING TO STOP AND NOTHING CAN STOP IT.

• Agya Osei 10 years ago

The Bible is against prostitution so on that basis I agree that it can't be legalised. On the contrary, how many girls will sleep with people with down's syndrome, autism and even mad men?? Do you think people with these gene ...

• DSP RAS ARBAN, NAKPANDURI 10 years ago

HOW DO U IDENTIFY A PROSTITUTE IS SHE SAYS THE GUY IS THE BOYFRIEND. WHAT IS THEY IN A GROUP SAYS THEY ARE WAITING FOR THEIR BOYFRIEND. DO U HAVE A REGISTER, HOW MUCH WILL U GET FROM THEM AND WHAT WILL U USE THE MONEY 4 WHEN ...

• Kwesi - USA 10 years ago

I also think we should regularize armed robbery because those engaged are earning income so they should be taxed. We should register those who do not kill their victims.
    Is this Son of a Bitch an MP?

Decidedley.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Bawumia is the only idiot from the north,does he think he will get a chance in "Y3N AKANFO" PARTY? He should go and ask the late ALIU MAHAMA THIEF KUFOUR'S VICE. When kufour was travelling allover the world, vice president AL ...

• DICKSON 10 years ago

Ghana is crushing under economic hardships n massive corruption but that this BBC knows nothing besides tribalism. .......KWASIA. ....no wonder NDC can't deliver bcos of such stupid brains......ide bii keke......

• Hot one 10 years ago

You are a very bad MP how could you come up with such idea.

Very soon you will be asking Ghanaian to allow Gayism and even have sex with animals just for tax .
    You a bad bad man.

• K. Asamoah 10 years ago

What is that MP saying? He wants the wrath of God to come down on him? He should ak his daughter to start. Big shame. Let's vote him out.

• john ansah 10 years ago

this bloody evil money???? No!

• Ghana 10 years ago

A person with the Spirit of God talking like this. AM ashamed for this MP.would he advise his children and family members to do so?

• A. Osei 10 years ago

Upon all the resources Ghana had, n nothing has been done, no government jobs, no clean water, n electricity, every thing is tax n soon u will tax the dead body, thieves, why dont u prostitue ur mother n if u have a daughter ...

• OSABERIMA 10 years ago

You are all in denial cos about 65% of females in Ghana between the ages of 18 to 32 perform some sort of prostitution. Either sex for better grades in school, sex for employment, sex for favors or money. You are all here sho ...

• Servant of God... 10 years ago

How can this be "Regulate prostitution and tax it – MP).If we cannot make enough revenue from our cocoa, Gold, oil etc and you Kwabena Appiah Pinkrah think prostitution is the the best way to derive revenue....You are a dis ...

• yaw 10 years ago

i think goverment should leave these prostitues alone all dey need to do is check the prostitues if they are 18 years above they can do wat they like with their bodies beside the hotels they take ...

• Nexium 10 years ago

Guess what, those national revenues are meant for their over-bloated salaries and perks.

• OTCHERE DARKO 10 years ago

"Member of Parliament for Obuasi Akrofuom, Kwabena Appiah Pinkrah says prostitution is a major source of employment and as long as people earn some form of income from practising it, the vice should be regulated so that gover ...

• BLESSING 10 years ago

Please stop this! It will incur God's wrath.NEVER SAY THIS AGAIN, PLEASE!

• Mankind and Co. 10 years ago

Big fool

• VAT 10 years ago

MP,IS THIS YOUR ADVICE? BUILD A BROTHEL AT CIRCLE AND START ISSUING VAT INVOICE TO CUSTOMERS....VAT VAT VAT

BY THE WAY ,THE GIRLS AT CIRCLE WANTS TO SEE YOU FIIILIFIILI.YOU HAVE WON THEIR HEARTS.AND DON'T FORGET TO COME W ...

• e akuteye 10 years ago

The answers are in Holland

• Kwame 10 years ago

Can Appiah Pinkrah envisaged
    1. How much tax can be derived from the vice?
    2 How much he will be paying for the services of these prostitutes? and
    3. What beneficial project/s will come out of the proceeds.

• e akuteye 10 years ago

Amsterdam

• Son Of Man 10 years ago

Mr MP, you are a disgrace to our culture, society, religon and Ghana as a whole. You know where you are from but you don't know where you are going.
    Have you ever opened the Bible, if not haven't you heard about sodom and go ...

• Pedro 10 years ago

Arm robbing also generate income for those who engage in this. Should the government regulate this too? What parliamentarian are you, Mr Pinkrah? Or your wife is one of those prostitute

• AMA 10 years ago

Shame on you Mr MP. May God have mercy oon you. What happened to morality anyway.

• Odeshie Ampah 10 years ago

It is easier said than done. Are you sure there will be adequate or these street girls will avail themselves for routine exams? You don't need to care about what the Pastors say because I guarantee you they will be the number ...

• RAW 10 years ago

NOBODY FUCKS LIKE A POLITICIAN!

• sam 10 years ago

I am really disappointed in this MP whom his electorate has confind in him to stand in parliament for regularisation of prostitution. O mra nimfo ehifa na moko yi.

• Kpandos, Barcelona 10 years ago

Well talk MP, Come to Germany and know more of it

• sdfsdfsdfsdfsfdsfds 10 years ago

fdssdfsFSfsFSDFS

• FSFDS 10 years ago

FSDFDS

• Exonerated 10 years ago

Singapore was very pragmatic on the issue of prostitution by legalizing it, controlling it and taxing it. Call Singapore what you will but the reality is that today the country gets substantial revenue from taxation on prosti ...

• nanatom 10 years ago

Kwabena Appiah Pinkrah is a shame to the people Akrofuom. It is sad to know the stand of this man. I don't think he qualifies to represent Akrofoum people any more.

• Kwaku 10 years ago

If we should forget about this so called democracy which allow people who think like animals like this to rule us. Let us go for a system of government rooted in our culture and beliefs

• Kwaku 10 years ago

We should forget about this so called democracy which allow people who think like animals like this to rule us. Let us go for a system of government rooted in our culture and beliefs

• concern ghanian 10 years ago

WHAT HAVE YOU DONE WITH ALL THE FAT FAT TAXES? NOW YOU`RE TURNING TO ASHAWO TAX

• Akonfem President 10 years ago

Why talk such nonsense for the stupid NDC propagandists to make capital out of. Such stupid remarks end up hanging like albatross around NPP's neck.

• Kwame 10 years ago

Education is the key.and crating of Jobs.

• Unumi Bununya a.k.a Teteman Boy 10 years ago

If the MP feel strongly for the legalization of prostitution, what prevents him from introducing a legislation on the floor of parliament for debate? What has his pastor or church got to do with this? Idiots parading themselv ...

• ASIEDU NKETIA 10 years ago

ASK YOUR MOTHER TO BE A PROSTITUTE. I AM SURE SHE CAN TAKE A LONG DICK INSIDE HER ASS.

• BLESSING 10 years ago

MR.APPIAH-PINKRAH ,PLEASE STOP THIS. It will incur God's wrath. Please, Please NEVER SAY THIS AGAIN.

Our Lord Jesus loves you. Please GIVE YOUR LIFE TO JESUS AND HE WILL SAVE YOU.

• kanawu 10 years ago

if u dont ve any sensible thing to say i paliament u better shut your dirty mouth

• Wise 10 years ago

We do not want our country to be ditroyed like Sodom and Gomora. Pls MP u can encourage ur children to engage in prostitution so that u can get more money frm them. Idiot

• New NPP 10 years ago

Legalize pimps & whores to pay tax?.
    An MP for NPP says it all, like father like son & like mother like daughter. He's one of 'them'-no wonder.

• NOKWARE 10 years ago

Ghanaians this is what the NPP intends doing when it gets power.The MP is an NPP member of parliament.Legalizing prostitution.homosexual,lesbian lifestyles and establishing casinos and gambling houses all over the country.The ...

• kayayoe 10 years ago

So is drug dealing; and what about armed robbery? The fact that somebody makes money out of it does not necessarily make it worthwile.

• DJAN 10 years ago

So, is prostitution the job our MPS can create for the country? This is abomination!!!!!!!!

• KOJOVI 10 years ago

WHAT AN IDIOT!!!!!!

• Koforidua Flowers (fr) 10 years ago

It serves him right.Seikwa asiedu nketia will put it 'any idiot can be MP' This man is completely out of his senses and does'nt deserve winning the votes of a constituency including WOMEN.I fear for this MP and his family.

• Nexium 10 years ago

Of all issues worthy of debate and analysis including natural resources of the land, have you even devised ways to regulate how CEPS operates to rape the huge taxes meant for nation building ....... let alone control what's i ...

• dot.com 10 years ago

Ghana's politics is a joke.
    These MPs all have nothing to offer, to contribute & don't deliver anything better.
    I'm just wondering what kind of function he's got in the parliament as an MP?

• Devoted Ghanaian 10 years ago

We are very disappoionted for your suggestion that Prostitution in Ghana should be legalized or regulated.
    Please come out once again and apologise to Ghanaians for your dirty and shameful uggestion.
    Honourable Appiah Pin ...

• Jury 10 years ago

What kind of honour you're giving him?
    A PIMP honour perhaps!!??
    Then you're not a true Devoted Ghanaian!!! What a Goddamn??

• Akwasi ( London) 10 years ago

I keep asking myself the same old question: Why is Ghana so blessed with so many foolish politicians?
    Another MP's contribution to Ghana's myriad problems is to suggest we legalise prostitution so that it may be taxed. He ...

• Sea 10 years ago

I now realize the reason why ghana is where it is. If we have members of parliament who are to make laws to stop social vices advocating for prostitution then we are in trouble. In fact some of our Mps are not reasonable. Som ...

• mr Tina 10 years ago

Gold, diamond,bouxite, cocoa and now oil can not solve our problem, what is prositute money going to do to our dear nation. We dont need that evil money. I strongly believe that, the MP is using his area fund on that prostitu ...

• NAA4U 10 years ago

CONDOMNS WERE TAXED AND THESE PEOPLE CRIED FOUL NOW THEY WANT PROSTITUTION TO BE TAXED.

• peace 10 years ago

is only Ghana that mp will say this maybe his sister is one of them

• nicman@atl 10 years ago

YES thi tells the kind of people qwe have in our parliament. tax them for what, get them jobs so they leave the street. soon we will tax gays and leasbians too, and those who want to marry monkeys, gaots and dogs. if only pro ...

• Nicholas Kyeretwie-Chicago,USA 10 years ago

Well said.No-matter how many are arrested,this trade which is as old as the volta river will be around as long as the earth exist.Better find a way for the state to get something out of it.

• Prince 10 years ago

If you describe something as a "vice" then why do legalize it? Ghanaian! where lies our values? Laws, legislation and regulations of every country/community are based on their value systems and not to talk Christianity. Chris ...

• OKF 10 years ago

look at this man calling himself a lawmaker

• ABDUL RAZAK,AFLAO 10 years ago

IT WILL NEVER HAPPEN.
    NOT IN THIS COUNTRY.

• KWASI 10 years ago

MAKE FREE SEX ONE OF YOUR CAMPAIGHN PROMISES AND I WOULD VOTE YOU TO POWEER COME 2016

• EMMA 10 years ago

PINKRAH MUST BE KICKED OUT OF OFFICE; AND GHANAIANS MUST KEEP AN EYE ON YOU TO MAKE SURE YOU DON'T GET ANY NIGHER OFFICE.

• Len Hobbs 10 years ago

This is the kind of moronic thinking which is killing the United States of America!

This 'MP' would fit right in with the Democrat party in the U.S.

Murder is poplar! - why not just tax it rather than prosecute it? Stea ...

• Joe 10 years ago

Stupid Pinkrah, Kuraase ni. Who voted this stupid person to parliament? He's so dummy. Kwasea panii. In the western world where moral is so decayed, they don't legalize such vice. Does he know about the repercussions about th ...

• bob 10 years ago

How can this goon justify what he is saying.And we call them honorable, this people stays on the government pay roll.It seems to me,in my opinion what is their job.And did they even konw what they are doing.

• Truth 10 years ago

And these fools want armed bodyguards! God save us! Have we lost our values?

• mohammed 10 years ago

why not do the same for cocane and heroine? how much taxes does the government collect when they are borrowing all the time? let us be serious. Will you allow your daughter to be a prostitute and bring you the money MP?

• Foreign MP (fr) 10 years ago

Ei wonders shall never end.Do this man call himself an MP and a Legistator for that matter.Pinkra may register all these under age business girls in other to win their votes in 2016. pinkra is a useless man and a horrible ele ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A bookish young man goes into a whorehouse to seek entertainment.
    He goes up to the madam and says, "Madam, I'd like a woman for the
    evening."
    The Madam says, "Sir, I'm afraid all the girls are taken tonight,
    but if y ...

• asuo 10 years ago

Members of parliament, stop misusing the government funds and create JOBS for the ladies to earn money to kill prostitution in the country, and stop fighting for tax on prostitutes SHAME ON YOU. MP.

• oscar 10 years ago

If that is the policy of our elected leaders then we have a long way to go

• Close observer 10 years ago

Homosexuals, prostitutes, what next? Oh moral decadence!

• Kk Amposah 10 years ago

Foolish MP. You can't even collect taxes from well established companies in Ghana and you are talking of collecting taxes from prostitutes? Where did we get all these stupid guys to represent Ghanaians in parliament?

• dot.com 10 years ago

Asantes must start removing all these alarming tags & labels from the image of mother Ghana: COCAINE DEALERS, WHORES & PIMPS.
    Because of this two at least, everywhere you travel to, they think there all Ghanaians are ...

• Dan Budu 10 years ago

Mr MP, you describe something as VICE and yet you are advocating that this so-called vice should be legalised. Mmmmmmm!!!!! Ghana MP. Are you then suggesting that because some people are making a living through armed robbery, ...