You are here: HomeNews2013 10 29Article 290228

Tribalism and arrogance made NPP lose elections

Read Comments Comments (91)

• Sarkodie 10 years ago

Every tribe is proud of their heritage. It is not only the Ashantis who are proud. It is rather the other tribes who look down to what they have achieved in their history. Ashantis are just proud of their history. Please leav ...

• Kwaku 10 years ago

If NDC is not a tribal party they should put an Ewe(Ayigbe) as their presidential candidate and see whether if they can win an election in Ghana.It will never happened in Republic of Ghana.Rawlings is not an Ewe he is a Scoti ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 10 years ago

People vote against the NPP mainly because the party has more Ashantis than Any other tribe. That is the main reason why Trokosis, who hate my Kookoase people to the core, vote 99.9% NDC without using their head. In terms of ...

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

the matemehu adherents HATE THE TRUTH. Besides, THEY ARE PRIMITIVE TRIBALISTS, INWARD LOOKING, IN & OUT GREEDY, THEY ENVY OTHERS AND HAVE A BURNING DESIRE TO LOOT WHAT DOES NOT BELONG TO THEM. In ancient times when Kwahus co- ...

• DAAVI 10 years ago

IN GHANA EVERY TRIBE CAN BOAST OF TRIBE BUT WHEN ASHANTI MAN SAYS ME YE ANATE NI THEN ALL HELL BREAKS LOOSE WHY WHY WHY, EVERY PART HAS TO BE STARTED BY A TRIBE, I RED WITH DISGUST WHEN SOMEONE SAID IF NPP WANTS TO WIN POWER ...

• QQQQ 10 years ago

He is the leader of the supremacist i the NPP. Its real but also a shame.

• NAN KWASI 10 years ago

POINT BLANK. THE ASANTES ARE THE SUPERIOR RACE AND ORDAINED TO RULE GHAN UNTIL KINGDOM COME. NORTHERNERS [PEPEFUO] ARE COMPETENT CATTLE REARERS ADN WATCHMEN, FANTES: CONCERT, GAS: KENKEY MAKERS. ASANTES: COMPETENT RULERS . EV ...

• HEXAGON!! usa 10 years ago

You erred here! The "Nigerians" of Ghana, the Asantes is what you got wrong - Ghana's best criminals.

• facts 10 years ago

This poor editor should remember the tribalistic devide lines started by Nkrumah was held very high by Ewes and the Northerners. Asante people are the only people who do accimilate all other tribes without problems. Rawlings ...

• Raymond Agbeli 10 years ago

Ashantis may be superior and ordained to rule their Ashanti regoin and not our beloved Ghana.They can only be superior in kumasi!.Oh lest i forget, they're also superior in fufu and rat eating hence their stunted and kwashiok ...

• VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR. 10 years ago

SEVENFOLD SUPERPOWER
    CHARACTERISTICS TO ANCIENT POWERS:

BABEL: Nimrod the most powerful man until the Lord dispersed human languages. Bringing like terms into groups. Skycrapper building was introduced to the world. Wi ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

As for this Love All Charm these NPPians are trying to concoct, it can't fool and charm some of us. We know them to be wolves and no sheep skin to cover them can deceive us, as they smell from a mile off. Here is a bit about ...

• jojo 10 years ago

idiot!!!!!!!!!

• Edith 10 years ago

You hate Ewes, says it everyday, even Ken when in conflict with a Ga man calls for the extermination of Ewes. And you expect Ewes to come and vote for your party into power so you can carry out your ever wishful genocide on t ...

• Proud Ewe 10 years ago

First and foremost, don't ever be blasphemous again by comparing the IQ levels of typical Ashantis to those of Ewes. I will always maintain that there are some descent and intelligent Ashantis but most including you fingure-o ...

• Afrifa 10 years ago

You stinking idiot of a whore. Why are all those tribes you mentioned trooping to the Ashanti Kingdom for a better life and not the other way round? How many Ashantis, Akyems, Fantes and Kwahu's live in your so`called 'high' ...

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

Just start from Benin through TOgo to Ho. Wait carefully on the streets at Night and you will see them selling ETWE!! They are all prostitutes. Nigerians drove them out in 1982 and they remained in Eweland ever since.

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Why are you trooping abroad to be servants? stay at home and enjoy your wealth . Nigeria, Togo, Benin, Usa

• jojo 10 years ago

Go to Accra and also tell your bush people the Ashantis to go back to Kumasi,one day as night follows day it is not the Ayigbe that will kick you out but the GAS,idiot!!

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

If NDC has an Ewe Presidential candidate, HE WILL WIN!!! Because Fantes, Northerners and Gas are MORE likely to vote NDC. NPP people want to kill Gas and Ewes and yet want theiir votes?

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Assuming that your foolish and outlandish claim is correct, WHY SHOULD SOME PEOPLE HATE ASANTES?

Do such people hate ALL Asantes without exception?

Why should the people you deprecatingly referred to as "Trokosis" hat ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Itis obvious that Haruna Atta is peeved about they way the NPP treated his Abudu brother Aliu Mahama.
    It's an unwritten custom/convention that a vice president always takes over from the president in future elections when th ...

• Abena 10 years ago

I agree with you except the tribalism issue.

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

You don't know what actually happened during the NPP presidential candidate selection. All NDC knows is perfecting propaganda for destruction. Was Obama the vice president to Clinton? Even before the NPP elections Aliu Mahama ...

• KWADWO A 10 years ago

Mr Osei Tawiah,
    You just showed how ignorant you are about the selection of presidential candidates in the USA. Al Gore was Clinton's vice and he run for the presidency and lost. Obama a Democrat run after the Republican nam ...

• Man 10 years ago

You are the perfect intolerant Akan supremacist filled with anger, pride and hatred that Alhaji Haruna Atta talks about. Mind you neither Haruna or Ayi Koi Otoo are Ewes so all Ghanaians are coming to know who the trouble mak ...

• Good Citizen 10 years ago

kwaku u are an idiot, it only means that Ewes are not as ethnocentric and tribalistic as asuantes.

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

It is good Ghana has well established Tribes; made up of Gas, Ewes, Fantis, Akwapims, Bonos, Northerners, Ashantis, Kwahus, Akims, and et cetera

- Ghana's humbug is with Akims; as noted, the terrorist Akim JB Danquah blood ...

You are a disguised Trokosi or what? Are you sick in the head? You are more than a worm.

• KWASI 10 years ago

YOU SEE HOW STUPID YOU ASANTES ARE? NOTHERNERS IS NOT A TRIBE THE TRIBES IN THE NORTH ARE DAGOMBA, MAMPRUSIS, DAGATIS, JUST TO MENTION A FEW.

• A citizen. 10 years ago

What do you gain for being proud of your tribe? God said, those who`re proud would be pulled down and those who`re sober or obedient would be raised. Up to you.

Where did God say nobody should be proud of their ethnicity? Do you really understand the word "Proud"?

• A citizen. 10 years ago

What are you talking about? I`d rather ask you if you understand the word proud. If you don`t understand, go back to the dictionary.

• Owusu 10 years ago

This man is just a fool,he is surfering from inferiority complex which is one of the effects people get when they have a brain disease called acquired brain deficiency syndrom "ABDS",they can not think or reason.Has he forgot ...

• Mr Kwaku Yaw 10 years ago

Tribalism should be demolished if we want better Ghana for our children, someday somehow tribalism will give Ghana one way ticket to the Hell.

• Ewurade Kasa 10 years ago

They need to learn the hard way. Respect all tribes. Plain and simple, a universal fact. Ask the Republicans who continue bashing Mexicans and Immigrants.

• Dumegah Prosper JNR 10 years ago

NPP is a forgone phenomenon!! Some of their fanatics including the "okro-mouth" all "knowing" tribal bigot and a bush man who claims he is civilised in a community High School who could, out of sheer hatred and envy, stand an ...

• DKB 10 years ago

Why don't you stick to your NDC and leave NPP people to their own fate? It is only people with inferiority complex who tend to put other people down to make them feel good.

If NDC is such a wonderful party, why waste you ...

• Bebe 10 years ago

Akaanised party in Akaanised Ghana?
    Those Amatekpors, Nyaho-Nyahos etc are day dreamers.

• alfred 10 years ago

inferiority complex draws such complains

• PLUMBER 10 years ago

Because Kuffour had done a lot of devt especially roads all over the country, the NPP thought it would be a straight forward victory for who ever stood on their ticket, hence the false sense of security,complecency and to som ...

• JM 4 lyf 10 years ago

Npp should forget about 2016. JM all de way.

• Allegation. 10 years ago

Even though they won the elections hands down,your allegation could be a factor.Since justice was denied,anyone could give his opinion base on anything.

• Ekow Afedzie 10 years ago

Im so disappointed in Haruna Atta. Just because the NPP decided not to vote for your choice the party is arrogant. Does it mean that all the people who voted for Akufo-Addo are arrogant? Including the delegates from the north ...

• Kantinka 10 years ago

This is sheer and utter nonsense from Haruna Atta. This idiot has nothing to say to win him a job with John Mahama and so all these nonsense. Had it not been Ashantis, Akuffo Addo could have lost gargantually. Even in his own ...

• CAPT PLANET 10 years ago

If you know the Danquah-Busia tradition very well you will know they are imperialists and very tribalistic. The "yen akanfour" statement by Nana Addo is a true reflection of the thinking of the leadership of the NPP. Am an ...

• Dadie Kye 10 years ago

Ashanti know no trabalism but rather intergrity and vision.Intergtity and vision plays a very important role in Ashanti community. If you have the intergrity to lead them,they will throw their support behind you.This is how I ...

• joe canada 10 years ago

It is getting too much and ghana government needs to do something about this tribal nonsense before things get out of hand. Some fools have successfully pitched most of ghanain tribe against Ashanti's and have decided to do s ...

• Isaac 10 years ago

Its not anybody that has pitched other Ghanaians against Ashantis, its the Ashantis own mouths that has pitched most ppl against them.

• cumstad 10 years ago

Your advice will greatly be welcome by Kwame Okoampa. He has all the education to learn how destructive tribalism can be

• Bebe 10 years ago

Alfred, if you think your tribe is superior, it is becos you dont have any ambition; re-think.

• Fred Freedom 10 years ago

Sudden death of Mills and Mahama tribalistic strategy - Vice from infante - tribal talk in the north won NDC the vote

• mohammed amin abdallah,adenta,fafraha 10 years ago

IT IS PATHETIC FOR THE WAY PEOPLE REACT WHEN THE TRUTH IS SAID RIGHTLY.WE ARE CONCERN IF THE NPP BECOMES A MARGINALIZED PARTY THIS COUNTRY WILL SUFFER.WE DON'T WANT ONE PARTY SYSTEM IN GHANA.HOWEVER,NPP IS NOT DOING ENOUGH TO ...

• citizen 10 years ago

NDC will also lose next election because Mahama has started tribalism and this will lead him back home. He will be the first president who will serve only one term if he doesn't change his mind.He has maintain corrupt DCE's i ...

• Fred Freedom 10 years ago

Incorrect

• MAGGIE 10 years ago

who cares about tribalism when ndc is busy looting our wealth and wasting on cronies like woyome, sada, gyeeda, jdebts, rlg-govt collusion.....is haruna atta saying that ghanaians are so so so stupid that we only eat and drin ...

• Abena 10 years ago

You validate my view. NPP would have won the 2008 elections hands down if the party gurus have thought statigically and promoted the VP and elected him.

• mr Tina 10 years ago

When people talk about NPP tribalism, they always complain but it is the truth. Any time their leaders give speeches, they always say, Y3 Akan fuo.

• KOFI NIMAKO 10 years ago

NPP has never lost any elections in Ghana since 1992. It always been fraudulent and a clear example was what we witnessed during the 2012 Presidential Elections. Nobody even talks about the parliamentary and focus has been ...

• Samson 10 years ago

Attah should move on, being bitter, resentful and seeking revenge is also arrogance. May soul of Veep Aliu RIPP.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Bawumia is the only idiot from the north,does he think he will get a chance in "Y3N AKANFO" PARTY? He should go and ask the late ALIU MAHAMA THIEF KUFOUR'S VICE. When kufour was travelling allover the world, vice president AL ...

• PATRICK. 10 years ago

who cares about tribalism when ndc is busy looting our wealth and wasting on cronies like woyome, sada, gyeeda, jdebts, rlg-govt collusion.....is haruna atta saying that ghanaians are so so so stupid that we only eat and drin ...

• TOMTOM 10 years ago

You hit the nail right in the head. Thanks for been truthful b'cos the truth hurts but when considered, becomes beneficial.

• Prof. Appiah, USA 10 years ago

I always said the NPP should allow Aliu to go unopposed if they wanted to win the 2008 elections. Yet, it fell on death ears. Instead, 17 men competed for the flag bearer position and the rest is history. If they want to win ...

• YAW ODURO 10 years ago

IT IS RATHER THE TRUTH OF ASHANTI REGION BEING A NATION WITHIN A NATION OF GHANA THROUGH THE BOND AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE BRITISH AND THE ASHANTIS IN 1901 AFTER THE YAA ASENTEWAA WAR 1900, THAT MADE THE ASHANTIS JOIN TE GOLD CO ...

• Victor 10 years ago

Stop this diversion and concentrate on the main issues of rectifying our electoral process.The minority tribes cry victim and practice more tribalism when in power as is the case now. Follow appointments in Mahama government ...

• KWESI 10 years ago

HELLO WE ARE LOOKING FOR MEN AND WOMEN TO TRAVEL AND WORK IN AUSTRALIA. SKILLED AND UNSKILLED PEOPLE ALIKE.ALL WE NEED IS PEOPLE WHO ARE STRONG AND CAN WORK FOR LONG HOURS.
    APPLICANTS WOULD HAVE TO PASS A MEDICAL BEFORE BEIN ...

• Raymond Agbeli 10 years ago

Ten thousand ghana?how many cam afford this buddy?

• Rita 10 years ago

You are right on the money, my friend.

• Papa Yaws 10 years ago

How

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

The danquah/Busia/Dombo tradition is nothing but tribalism forced together by marriage of convenience and legal requirement. The UGCC was elitist movement. Nkrumah was sacked for involving the active participation of the yout ...

• TJ Hooker 10 years ago

This is stupid argument over here about NPP tribalism. It`s so sick in the stomach about JJ and NDC propaganda tribal game which has influence the nations 71.5% illiterates. You telling that the overwhelming dominating Ewes i ...

• Ekuma 10 years ago

Vote for Sir John. I am tired of Ghana political stupidity and foolishness .

Vote for the 'SAkRAWONO' Chompia. Nonsense

• Neutral 10 years ago

I agree with you a 100%.

• kb 10 years ago

Ei Oga na asemsebe o.Someone hit the face of a drum.

• concern observer 10 years ago

This time round one outsmarted the other.

• Akonfem President 10 years ago

tseaaaa

• Shanana 10 years ago

"..“This ethnic rivalry is a very big problem in the party. If this is not a problem, the NPP will not have rejected a sitting Vice-President the way they did, it was clearly a problem. They got the chance to push up a cert ...

• Mankind 10 years ago

Steeling made them my man

• NAA4U 10 years ago

IT IS EXACTLY THAT MY BRO. SELF CENTREDNESS,EGOTISM, ARROGANCE, ETHNOCENTRICISM CAUSED THEIR DEFEAT AND IT WILL COST THEM BIG TIME IN 2016

• PATRICK. 10 years ago

SO ALL THAT NON AKANS THINK ABOUT IS HOW TO STAY IN POVERTY WHILST THE FEW NDC CRIMINALS LOOT CREATE AND SHARE EH ? who cares about tribalism when ndc is busy looting our wealth and wasting on cronies like woyome, sada, gyeed ...

• Kwabena Apuntuah 10 years ago

What do you know that we all don't know that we need to listen to you? Look who is paying your bills now. Whether the NPP is tribalistic or not, they are NOT ruling the country and look at what is happening now. People leave ...

• Foreign MP (fr) 10 years ago

Useless thought.Even Mahama himsely he bought the élections but not won it.He will never enjoy peace until he steps down at his own will.Its clear Mahama could hardly see throgh the second year of his leadership.The most use ...

• Sandi 10 years ago

Mahama is set to be the longest ruling president in the fouth republic.8YERAS THREE MONTHS. So sayest the spirit of the LORD and it will be a time of peace and prosperity for Ghana. I court case is over. The market burners wi ...

• PAA KWAO 10 years ago

that haruna atta or what ever he called himself is another sensiless idiot person.ASHLOCK

• shit 10 years ago

YOU ARE A FOOL YOU SO CALED BASTARD YOU ALL LIVE YOUR POOR AHANTI TO COME TO ACCRA FOR A LIVING WHY DONT YOU LIVE IN BUSH ASHANTI BASTARD SO CALLED NANA KWESI SHIT IF THE SEA WAS TO BE IN YOUR AREA YOU WILL COVER IT WITH FENC ...

• Seymour Gray, LL.B. (USA) 10 years ago

UNITY IS THE ANSWER! LET US JOIN, LET US NOT WORK FOR ANY PATICULAR ETHNIC GROUP. WE MUST WORK FOR ONLY THE NPP!

• Big Jay 10 years ago

You are idiot,and you don't understand what you're talking about.
    NPP lost the 2012 elections because DR Afari Djan conspired with the ruling NDC to rig the elections,period.
    There is no tribalism in NPP,it is part of NDC p ...

• tonny 10 years ago

this guy is stupid.what about the b\a's who voted massively for NDC ,most of them are akans.

• tonny 10 years ago

even in KUMASI where they sought refuge EWES stink,go inside ANLOGA and see how they live their stinky live at OSIEKROM.

• New Sheriff in Town 10 years ago

Hypocrite of an Alhaji. You said you were quitting politics but would not refuse any position under John Mahama as a president? You hear of imminent reshuffle and still think you must say something against the NPP to be notic ...