You are here: HomeNews2013 10 23Article 289700

Former GNPC boss: I erred in ordering sale of drillship

Read Comments Comments (195)

• BJ 10 years ago

NPP anaaaa? They're only good at STEALING.

• Kojo T 10 years ago

We have been saying this all along. These NPP with the big mouths have destroyed Ghana. Osafo marfo SHc, KK sarpong TOR , Boakye Black star Line.Ghana Airways Anything they touch goes down and the want to run the Ship of St ...

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

I heard Frank Agyekum, Kufour's spokeman, saying that the Greedy Thief is proud of his achievements during his 8 years of LOOTING. Surely, this is one of them. Others are Ghana Airways, Ghana Telecom, Accra lands that he sold ...

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

THIS IS MOST UNFORTUNATE. MR QUAAH SHOULD PAY THE PENALTY FOR HIS WRONG ACTIONS. JUST ADMITTING IS NOT ENOUGH. WHY CAN WE NOT COOPERATE WHEN GOVT. CHANGES HAND THIS IS SO SAD.

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author:-Hon. Martin A.B.K. Amidu.

...The Government exercised the latter option when we disagreed over the judgment debt and other Gargantuan crimes. The Government, and my colleague Ministers at the time know that there w ...

• OSIE TAWIAH NPP 10 years ago

TAFIAKWAH

• Yag 10 years ago

He is lying how can a man of his calibar take verbal instruction in an issue of such magnitude.Who are you covering up ? Even timber market kayaye won,t do this. You know what, there are thousand of this people who takes fat ...

• kK 10 years ago

You think things are just straight? Get there and see if you can even behave like the Kayaye you are talking.

it is very easy to talk than taking action when it comes to dealing with politicians

• OSLO 10 years ago

yOU SEE, SO NOW LADIES AND GENTLEMEN, WHAT SHOULD WE DO THIS MAN???
    SEIZE ALL HIS ASSETS, OF THE FAMILY, CHILDREN, NEPHEWS, NIECES, BROTHERS, SISTERS, HIS VILLAGE, ETC., SEIZE ALL! AND FINALLY LOCK HIM UP FOR 25 YEARS BEFORE ...

• Kwasi Tafritwe 10 years ago

If this is not cuasing financial loss to the state then what is it? What is the diff btn him and Tsatsu? This are all that JJ knew and a lot of us didnt. So of these NPP thieves should have being in jail.Dont overlook the fac ...

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

WHY NOW? JAIL N SEIZE HIS ASSETS/THE EQUIVALENT OF HOW MUCH HE STOLE FROM THE SALE.

• Yag 10 years ago

KK there is no excuse,it is matter of being principle. Blackman don,t how to say no or resign on principle.If heads are like this why can,t messanger keep on stealing expensive tonner catridges and A4 papers.Also drivers all ...

• KEN 10 years ago

HOW MANY NURSES WOULD THIS MONEY EMPLOY ??HOW MANY SCHOOL WOULD THIS MONEY OPEN ?/ PUT HIM TO THE WALL AND STONE HIM .

• william 10 years ago

OH GHANA THE BELOVED THE COUNTRY.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Now Kufour you have series of question
    to Answer about the the proceeds of the Drill Ship including Nana Akufo and Hammond. We shall see,with that
    empty Bluff oe Kufour.

This is Financial Loss to Ghana for
    Kufour to pocket the proceeds of the
    sales of the Drillship but jail Tsatsu
    Tsikata for coursing Financial Loss to
    the Country,Now is your turn for prison President Kufour.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

No wonder they were fighting tooth and nail to climb back to power at the expense of the gullible few. The eagerness of the NPP party to trade Ghana for cash is enshrined in the genesis of mate meho doctrines. A secret metaph ...

• Wuorfei 10 years ago

This is all now beginning to make sense. May be that's why our distinguished statesman is hiding in the UK and not showing any interest in running for the 2016 presidential elections because he knows by the time this hearing ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Kojo, have you forgotten the sale of SOEs under Jerry including Nsawam Cannery, GNTC,State hotels even to Togolese. Anyway, read what Tony Aidoo has just said and comment on it and stop being that partisan

• Kojo T 10 years ago

SOEs were sold because a lot had been left idle since 1966. State Hotels like what i have said about Ghana Airways were being ran poorly by so called business savy persons. If the Togolese had the money what then stops them f ...

Were there no Ghanaians rich enough to purchase these SOEs but the Olympios that Jerry tried to destabilize Eyadema and install in Togo? What about the GNTC assets and the Nsawam cannery? They were INDEED TO BE BOUGHT BY ALL? ...

• F Karmel 10 years ago

Frank, Im sadened by your comments. Im sure if the sale was to a white man, Nigerian, or even Malian you wouldnt have a problem with it.

• Parker 10 years ago

Every thing Nkrumah did was never well taken care of,aban adwema who cares,taken care of these companies would have taken care of us today,the black star line is also gone,

• Bonso 10 years ago

NDC LIARS: READ THIS AND ANSWER WHAT YOU ASK OR SAY HERE THUS -

Every thing Nkrumah did was never well taken care of

PNDC sold Black Star Line - Former Employee

By GNA Kumasi, Nov. 16, 2004 –

A Former Employe ...

• Bonso 10 years ago

YOU ARE A PAID SERIAL LIAR...READ THIS AND CHANGE...SUCH AN INCORRIGIBLE HATER OF TRUTH:

A Former Employee of Black Star Line, the nation ...

• SONY 10 years ago

SO IF NDC STOLE THERE IS NOTHING WRONG FOR NPP TO STEAL.HMMMMMMMMMM

• Go go 10 years ago

God will deal with them one by one for what they did to OMAN GHANA

• Kwaku 10 years ago

Admission of error is no excuse from punishment,he should be dealt with.These are the type of people running the nation down,moving from one govt to another anytime there is change of thrown to lobby for positions.

• KWAKU 10 years ago

YOU HEAR POOR PEOPLE GETTING 10 YEARS AND 15 YEARS SENTENCES FOR STEALING PLANTAIN FROM THE FARMS OF THEIR NEIGHBORS. HERE, WE ARE TAKING ABOUT MILLIONS OF DOLLARS BLOWN AWAY BY POLITICIANS. NOW LET US (THE GOOD PEOPLE OF GHA ...

• moyo 10 years ago

All these people must be brought to book. NPP looted state assets to enriched themselves and shred all the documents. Thank God they are still alive and must be made to cough out the money.
    Ghana Airways, Ghana Telecom, etc ...

What about the sale of SOEs to cronies of Jerry? What about the Wayome and the GYEEDA scandals? Why can't we get them all? The purchase of aircrafts at inflated prices? Ghana@50 Wireko Brobbey? Mention them all. Black star li ...

• HASSAN RASTA GERMANY 10 years ago

THESE PEOPLE WHAT THEY ARE GOOD IN IS STEALING. NOTHING ELSE. THEY ARE FORCING THEMSELVES TO COME TO POWER BY FORCE WHEREBY THEY CAN SELL OUR OIL AND THE WHOLE NATION TO THE WESTERNERS. GOD IS IN CONTROL HE WILL NEVER ALLOW T ...

• Bonso 10 years ago

A Former Employee of Black Star Line, the national shipping line, says it was the Provisional National Defence Council (PNDC) Government tha ...

• QATAR JOBS AND WORK 10 years ago

Travel And Work In Qatar With All Expenses Paid The Recruitment Agency,20% Would Be Deducted From Your Salary Up To 12Months.The Agency Will Provide The Following…

VISA
    AIR TICKET
    WORKING PERMIT
    ACCOMODATION
    TRAN ...

• NPP Disillusioned Desperadoes 10 years ago

Where is Akuffo Addo? As soon as news of the sale of the drill ship broke out, he simply abondoned his thank you tour of the country and boarded a flight for the UK...

Doesn't he owe Ghanaians some explanation of his motiv ...

• koo nimoh 10 years ago

Na wa oooo, Ghana?. I think the country lack the true spirit of political leadership to manage the nations resources for a prosperous Ghana for our grandchildren. Now if cares is not taking then Ghana will be heading into rec ...

• K. Asamany 10 years ago

Koo Nimoh writes: "Now if cares is not taking then Ghana will be heading into receivership of the western world."

Koo, I'm afraid, this has already been going on for years. Kufuor only came to exarcebate it, having virtual ...

• BEPOSO 10 years ago

YAW APPAU, GHANAMAN IS DEPENDING ON YOU TO UNRAVEL THE TRUTH WITHOUT FEAR OR FAVOUR. NO ONE WHO HAD A HAND IN THIS DESPICABLE ACT OF NATIONAL PILLAGE WHETHER WITHIN THE NPP OR NDC MUST ESCAPE!
    CENSURE IS NOT ENOUGH.- THERE M ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

You have a point. Had this case surfaced earlier, he may not have engaged the court for his infamous petition.

I can now see why he was doing everything impossible to win the presidential election so as to bury frauds lik ...

• Bonso 10 years ago

TSATSU TSIKATA CAUSED THE SALE OF THE DRILL SHIP. THE SHIP WAS CONFISCATED FOR MONEY OR LOANS TAKEN BY TSATSU AND HIS AWONA FIAFFITOR TO SHARE...TSATSU MUST BE HAULED BEFORE THE COMMISSION TO ANSWER WHAT HE DID WITH THE LOAN ...

• Dan Forson 10 years ago

NDC ARE NOT SMART, JUST LOOK AT HOW MUCH IN A HURRY THEIR IGNORANT SUPPORTERS ARE QUICKLY JUMPING THE GUN TO ACCUSE NPP. WAIT AND SEE. NO AMOUNT OF PROPAGANDA IN THE WORLD CAN TAKE AWAY THE TAG OF CORRUPTION AND ROBBERY ON TH ...

• STEVE 10 years ago

In my opinion, Akufo-Addo must be summoned before the commission. The drill ship saga stings.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

AKUFFo, KUFFOUR, HAMMOND....

• VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR. 10 years ago

The 3million was used for the down payment of kufour hotel.

• AKOS 10 years ago

THIS IS WHAT KUFFUOR AND HIS LOOTING BRIGADE CALLS THE GOLDEN AGE OF BUSINESS. NARCOTICS, KALABULE AND LOOTING THAT IS ALL THEY DID

• OSIMANDIAS KONFANKO METHUSALLAH 10 years ago

AKOS, WON ABO MU ABAATHE YOUNG PEOPLE SHOULD START A REVULUTION IN GHANA.PUSH ALL THE POLITICIANS ASIDE AND TAKE OVER THE COUNTRY.

DEMOCRACY MY ASS. IT IS NOT WORKING.

• omaboe 10 years ago

IT WOULD BE INTERESTING TO KNOW KUFFOUR'S COMMENTS ON HIS ATTORNEY GENERAL AND ENERGY MINISTERS ACTION. HE IS QUITE BECAUSE HE IS AN ACCOMPLISE.THAT IS WHY THE NPP IS DESPERATE TO BE IN POWER SO THEY CAN COVER UP THEIR STEALI ...

• sansan 10 years ago

good comments, compared to what wayome stole, this is nothing.Both parties should be giving the marching out order

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

This is just one of the achievements of the Greedy Thief and Symbol of Greed, JA Kufour. And Akufo Addo, you too? I thought you are the opposite of Kufour and that your only negative point is SNIFFING AND SMOKING OF THE THING ...

• Obenfo 10 years ago

How can we be so irresponsible. Ghana had a drillship that was likely to discover the oil to enable the Country a 100% ownership of the oil and NPP Gov't sold it and provided the oil documents to Kosmos and others to come-in, ...

• Tena 10 years ago

Akuffo Addo again? No wonder he won't run for election again.The NPP is worse than the NDC when it comes to corruption only that they can cover their back. Why were they booted out in 2008 after all improvement Kuffour brough ...

• DKB 10 years ago

See your stupidity. Keep NDC in power then, they will not bring any improvemnet and are corrupt as well. Nonsemse.

• DENNIS AVOY, Italy 10 years ago

IT IS SO STRANGE THE VAST NUMBER OF NPP COMMENTATORS ARE MISSING, NO COMMENTS FROM THEM ON THIS DRILL SHIP ARTICLE WHICH IMPLICATES THEIR PARTY AND AND ITS FLAG BEARER, NANA AKUFFO ADDO, LET YOUR INSULTING COMMENTS COME ON TH ...

• DKB 10 years ago

So if Nana Addo asked him to grant K.T. Hammond power of attorney to sell the drill ship, where is the corruption in that? The phone call or the sale? There is no need for insults. If the CEO know it was technically wrong, wh ...

• Parker 10 years ago

The whole deal was done without his knowledge,the CEO, has no power so long as these thieves are concern,he received a phone call from the attorney general then, Akuffo Addo,informing him to grant the then minister of energy, ...

• DKB 10 years ago

Oh boy Parker! How could the deal have been done without his knowledge when he claims he was asked to give KT power of attorney to deal with the negotiotion of the "sale"?? You can say he was not involved with the negotiation ...

• Parker 10 years ago

GNPC is a corporate entity under ministry of power and energy my paddy,it reads "the deal was done without the blessing of the board of directors,he further states that he did not cited any ruling from UK court about the debt ...

• Bonso 10 years ago

This matter happened four months into the regime of a new NPP Government. They did not know Tsatsu Tsikata had taken huge loans from Societe Generale to exploit Oil in the Tano Basin. The Drill Ship was used by Tsatsu Tsik ...

• Martin/PA 10 years ago

Are you saying that Nana Akufo Addo isn't guity? He Akufo Addo had circumvented the process and caused financial loss to the state. And you have the guts to ask where is the corruption in that? Remember Mr Ofori Quaah was saf ...

• Martin/PA 10 years ago

Sorry guilty l meant to say.

Yes, let them comment but let NDC commentators also comment on the GYEEDA and Wayome as well as the dubious purchase of Mahama's aircraft. Does that make sense. Let all fraud be investigated and prosecuted but not just mentio ...

• Haile Mengistus Manasseh V11 10 years ago

I TOLD YOU SO! WHERE ARE THE NPP COMMENTATORS? WHERE IS KWEKU BAAKO AND HIS " NEW CRUSADING GUIDE " the NEW NPP CRUSADERS. SHAMELESS NATION WRECKERS.They should come again.

• vl 10 years ago

I am so glad this corrupt NPP guy was not elected president. Can you imagine? he would have re-sold the country back into slavery. Idiotic Akuffo-Addo.

• VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR. 10 years ago

Say that again, you are right.

• Only the Thruth 10 years ago

Rawlings also stole. He stoled NSAWAM canery and gave it to his wife

• Parker 10 years ago

Nsawam cannery belongs to wife she sold it to herself not Rawlings he has nothing to do with it.check your facts,did I hear someone said NPP is Akanfo party?think twice,ghanaians will soon curse themselves for ever going into ...

• DKB 10 years ago

Shallow thinkers. Commenting on issues without even understanding what they are commenting on. I am convinced our inability to think objectively and the chew and pour nature of our education system is what has produced people ...

• alw 10 years ago

Chop-chop all the way.

• kk 10 years ago

People fronted for Akuffo-Addo in dirty deal to accumulate money for his presidential ambition. Now that details of those deals are coming out he has rescinded calls to context again. Mahama we will take you on too if.....

• DKB 10 years ago

Do you understand what you read? Or like most semi educated university graduates, you read the first sentence and think you know the answer. What deals are you talking about? Was the debt paid off with the proceeds from the s ...

• Emmanuel 10 years ago

SOMEONE HAVE TO ADVISE ME HERE PLEASE.POLICE IN KUMASI ARE HARASSING DV CAR NUMBER PLATES USERS FOR USING ON WEEKENDS. I NEED THE AUTHORITY TO ADVISE ME IF THEY IMPLEMENT THE NEW LAWS FOR DV CAR NUMBER PLATES USERS. GOD BLESS ...

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

Nation wreckers. Mahama said Northerners are not going to play second fiddle any more. He was right. Look at the mess at GYEEDA.

• mohammed 10 years ago

Mahama set up this investigation you are hearing the looting from the very people who were entrusted to protect the assets. Mills refused, and under his care Woyome was paid and Martin Amidu a northern resisted and Mills boot ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Asem b3ba dabi!!!!

• Frederick USA 10 years ago

Now and this explains why Nana want to be president at all cost in other to be able to cover these deals to protect his co dealers.
    It is up to President Mahama to deal with this issues as how effective former president Kuff ...

• Tena 10 years ago

NPP are worse when it comes to corruption. They can steal and steal. Did they account for the HIPIC funds? We shall forever dance under the umbrella at least for cover.Osono y3aboa bone says Arkaah

• Hafiz. Techiman 10 years ago

Where is nana Akomea, Kweku Baako, Egbert Fabile, Sammy Awuku, Kabila,Abu Ramadan,John Boadu & co. I want all radio stations discuss this issue tommorrow. Prez Mahama take up this seriously.

• Queen 10 years ago

It is about time these Ghanaian Leaders put on their thinking caps. They are so stupid I do not have adequate words to describe them.

• mohammed 10 years ago

There are very intelligent the just pretend when the wrong is done in favour of what they benefit. I am bitter Late Mills refused to set up this investigation.

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

Call all those involved and shoot them including Akuffo Addo.

• Kojo, USA 10 years ago

Stupid NDC people. who ordered the payment of judgement debt money to Wayome? After all NPP used $19.5 to defray Ghana's debt. what about that of Wayome's? idiots.

• DKB 10 years ago

Kojo, i agree with you but the minute you bring in Wayome, then it look like equalisation, so lets leave him out and deal with the merits of the CEO's comment. Reading most of the comments here tells me the NDC supporters are ...

• mohammed 10 years ago

It was mills who refused to investigate and also organized Woyome. Is it right to rob the state that way when we have no good toilet facilities, drinking water, schools for basic education? It does not matter which party they ...

You claim in one of your previous posts a Mr Ofori Quaah followed court orders... how do you understand the quote above???

Mr. Ofori Quaah on Wednesday revealed to the Judgment Debt Commission that he never sited [sic; author may have meant SIGHTED] any court ruling from the UK asking the government of Ghana to pay any amount to Societe Generale.

• Parker 10 years ago

None of the agencies involved in the transaction has been able to provide a paper trail for the sale of the ship,don't be fanatical my bruda.

• Akyem Mafia 10 years ago

w a a a! look!

• kofi awutsey 10 years ago

Indeed there is nothing that can be hidden in the sight of God!! With all this they want power from us again . The word of God is true, active and sharper than two edge knife.

• Apapon 10 years ago

Is Abdul Malik Kweku Baako in Ghana? Is he alive?
    I want to hear his usual PR work for NPP on this revelation now!

• Koo 10 years ago

So this talkertive called Kweku Baako Jnr doing all the PR work for NPP is now "mumu"?!!!

• Kofi Adomarakwa 10 years ago

OYIWA !!! Money swine !!
    This is NPP for you. They steal and share, waa waa waa. These are the people who call the government of Mahama corrupt. We will hear the different deals they did one after the other

• Say the TRUTH 10 years ago

WHAT WOULD HAVE THAT DEBT ACCRUED TO IF IT HAD NOT BEEN PAID BY NOW AND THE FACT THAT YOU OFORI QUAAH IS NOT AWARE OF THE COURT ORDER...WERE YOU NOT AWARE OF GNPC'S INDEBTEDNESS TO SOCIETE GENERAL BANK AND AS AT NOW THE DEBT ...

• Yaa Gmeminov 10 years ago

Everybody wants to be in Government.Political Power leads to economic power in Africa.It is not about service but defrauding the people.Most thieves left their hometowns to steal in Accra.They only go home when they die.

• KK 10 years ago

NPP's so called "golden era" of business was a "golden era" for looting the state and destroying the paper trails. And they were jailing alleged criminals and even killing some in jail. I hope, the investigation will get to t ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Now, all will grow to know them by numbers. Credit to our democratic credentials.

• Kojo! 10 years ago

Ugly warpy face bastards!

Tsatsu Tsikata is as clean as a mirror.
    I need another JJ to open their guts with bullets.

• clarence 10 years ago

I think all these people must be brought to answer for their actions, and be prosecuted if found guilty. Why and how can this happen, people in authority have led this country down in so many ways and we have had enough of th ...

• Peter Kimer 10 years ago

Sentence him to death. That is the only punishment that is good for him.

• maakus from uk 10 years ago

mhh ...... mmhhh hmmmmmm Ghana why why why why how many of our leaders have not lived in abroad before is that what they did and managed to develop? if we truly want to develop as a nation then we all have to change our attit ...

• REV OSEI POKU. 10 years ago

IS THIS THE SAME AMOS WHO ATTENDED GSTS AND PROVED TO BE A VERY INTELLIGENT STUDENT?HOW DID YOU FALL SO LOW.YOU HAVE ALLOWED YOUR EXTREME POLITICAL JAUNDICE TO COLOUR YOUR BEST JUDGEMENT.YOU HAVE DANCED WOEFULLY TO THE POLITI ...

• Yaw Ohemeng 10 years ago

Go gentle on Amos. I do not think this reportage is reflective of what took place at the hearing. Before Dr Ofori Quaah left for Ghana, we communicated about the summons. He was quite emphatic about the mess in which GNPC was ...

• Nii 10 years ago

Have you thought of the fact that Amos may not have told you the whole truth?

• Bibini-Akanfuo 10 years ago

Who is telling people not seized with the facts of this case, will turn and ridicule himself by posting the above comment! How can an intelligent person like yourself dabble in this disguised form of circular reasoning?
    Yu ...

• KT 10 years ago

Tsatsu had acquired a big foolish debt on our behalf. POOR MANAGEMENT. We were being chased all over the world by SG to pay. We had to pay. Govt decided to sell the drillship to pay. So far, so good. The problem is not the sa ...

• GBEVU 10 years ago

WHERE ARE THE CHECK AND BALANCES. NPP SOLD THE SHIP AND SHARE THE MONEY. NDC SHOULD MAKE SURE THEY PROSECUTE THOSE BEHIND THE SALE.

• DKB 10 years ago

How can NDC prosecute anybody for corruption when they haven't prosecuted Woyome & GYDEEA officials and can't even collect the dubious judgement debt payments the Supreme court has asked them to collect? This whole judgement ...

• Nii Mantse 10 years ago

absolutely foolish. God will punish all
    those who engaged in this robbery. foolish people

• Dixon 10 years ago

CORRUPTION AT HIGH PLACES! IS THERE NO HONEST PERSON IN BRINGING SUCH CORRUPT PEOPLE TO ACCOUNTABILITY? SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE - OUR LEADERS HAVE MORTGAGED THE ENTIRE NATION FOR THEIR SELFISH GAINS! CASES OF THIS NATURE A ...

• Kofi of Africa 10 years ago

JAIL HIM! PERIOD!

• MAX FRANCE 10 years ago

SO NANA AKUFO ADDO DEY INSIDE THIS MATTER? THEN GOD SAVE MOTHER GHANA.

• DKB 10 years ago

He was the attorney general at the time, there was a court order and there was no board, so what did you expect? Use your brains.

• K. Tawiah 10 years ago

Why are you trying desperately to condone fraud/crime, DKB? I'm seriously disappointed in you. Please take the veil of Nana/NPP from your eyes and you will see the light.....

• DKB 10 years ago

K. Tawiah, far from that, i am not condoning fraud/Crime. I look at things from an objective point of view. Where is the fraud here? Apart from the $3m dollars? The last i heard, an employee of the bank of Ghana claimed the $ ...

• Parker 10 years ago

Please Mr man enough of your hullincational mentality(pardon my spelling), you seem to be a paid forumner on this website, I puke at your state of objectivity on this website,for once try and see things from the majority poin ...

• mohammed 10 years ago

I like your vision. it does not matter, NDC or NPP or CPP or PNC. investigate and prosecute, collect the money back as if they had borrowed the money from mother ghana and ban them from public office for 8 years after payment ...

DKB, you posted however, the news report states... "Mr. Ofori Quaah on Wednesday revealed to the Judgment Debt Commission that he never sited[sic; is it not possible the the author perhaps misspelt "SIGHTED"??] any court ru ...

DKB, you posted: "...there was a court order..." However read this... "Mr. Ofori Quaah on Wednesday revealed to the Judgment Debt Commission that he never sited[sic; is it not possible the the author perhaps misspelt "SIGHT ...

NOT protion of the news report.... it should have read instaed

Okro fingers causing typos....

• Ghana Massai-France 10 years ago

The sale of Ghana's Discovery 511, the quasi-impossibility to trace the whereabouts of the reliquat of US$mn....? This affair stinks, pretty ugly. Ghanaians are eager for,(and earnestly request) the dire truth of this woeful ...

• AKWASI UK EDMONTON 10 years ago

NPP AND NDC ARE KILL GHANA ,GHANA IS BETTER PLACE TO WORK,AND HAVE YOUR PEACE,GOD CHANGE OUR LEADERS,THEY PREACH GOOD ,GOD BHELP US HMMMMMMMMMMMMM

• AKWASI UK EDMONTON 10 years ago

NPP AND NDC LEAVE GHANA ALONE,YOU PEOPLE ARE KILL THE POOR ,

• Jake 10 years ago

Akwasi, how can you understand anything with that poor grammar?

• Sense 10 years ago

Let Akwasi make his point.

• KRETZ - D 10 years ago

It looks like our incompetent leaders, right from the presidency to CEOs are doing "try and error" style of leading Ghanaians. when they screw up then they say it was a mistake, in order to escape jail time. We saw this from ...

• JOHN PAZZO 10 years ago

I AM WORKING ON BUILDING A RIG RIGHT NOW AND IT IS COSTING ABOUT 2.8 BILLION DOLLARS AND KUFFUOR AND AKUFFO ADDO CAN JUST SELL OURS FOR THIER POCKETS ... THAT IS K4 FOR YOU FOR 8 YRS. THE BEGGINING OF GHANA'S INDEBTEDNESS TO ...

• Ericus-Ericus 10 years ago

Do you know how many drill rigs were sold before this and at what cost?

• Amaoteng 10 years ago

Waaaaaa look? Look at this idiotic admission. All these time and what was he keeping mute for. These are savages who should be put away in jail from any civilized society for a very very long time. And so called Nana Akuffo-A ...

• B.B.C. NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS PEPENI, HE CAN NOT RULE A NATION LIKE GHANA. HE SHOULD LEAVE THE KICHEN, ITS TOO HOT FOR HIM.

• JOHN 10 years ago

IS GOOD TO BE PEPENI THAN A CHIMPANZEE LOOKING LIKE YOU.

• Ericus-Ericus 10 years ago

Kindly go for Wayome, Gyeeda, Isofoton etc monies and stop the jubilation over this confession. I do not care whoever is found guilty - wrong is wrong BUT please Ghana is broke - we need all these monies badly.

• Striking Dwarfs 10 years ago

Today be today.Where is the money,former AG???

• ABBAS 10 years ago

yen kyendi oooooooooooooooooooooooooooo, npp se mo akye adi. God will punish u

• ASH 10 years ago

This is not right. And such people have a say in Ghana. Put them before court and either retrieve the money or seize their property. The have no love for Ghana.

This is much ado about nothing. It does not take much digging around to find out what happened in 2001.

On the pages of Ghanaweb in 2001 appeared the story I am reproducing below. This is no issue of corruption. Everybody ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

So was the story true then. You can now see how the same self-serving Quaah or whatever he called himself put this story about to vilify Tsikata. What the investigation has
    thrown up is significantly different. Were Credit ...

I do not get your comments. After stretching a company too far with activities unrelated to GNPC's core business, how were they to defray the debt?

If your debts exceed your assets, what do you do to become solvent? Will ...

When you have deliberately set out to defend the indefensible? I am sure KT Hammond,the so-called senior law partner in Constance and Constance of London has been told to shut up, so as not to incriminate himself even more be ...

You are refusing to sit all that have emerged together. If you care to analyse, there is nothing to this story and if anyone wanted to unravel it, it is dead easy. I am eagerly waiting for when it will blow in everyone's face ...

Strange episode are laid bare for all to see,I will not be in a position to deny anything! Once again,you have avoided answering the questions I directed to you. Instead you have raised points which do not advance this discus ...

• Ofori Quaah 10 years ago

Where was this repoter this morning? Is a queastion of not understanding basic English? Where in the proceedings did I say I erred? I am sure that the Commission has a recording of what went on at the commission today.

It ...

Corection "...where was this reporter?" "Is it a question of not understanding basic English?"

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

If you are the mister alluded to in this article, did you describe as "technically wrong" the directive issued by Akufo-Addo to grant Hammond power of attorney to negotiate the deal? If you are, could we describe you as cowar ...

• Martin/PA 10 years ago

If you are Ofori Quaah then better get a good lawyer. There are many things that don't add up in this case. I don't care who it is, but any act of corruption by any elected and unelected leaders should prosecuted. You must a ...

• Nfodjo Nicholas -Ho 10 years ago

I suggest therefore that all state movable assets intended to be sold to defray debt or whatever be handle by an independent institution to be known as state Autioner, including V8s being used by the executives

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

UNLESS WE OVERHAUL THE WHOLE PUBLIC SYSTEM, THERE WILL BE MORE OF THESE KIND OF CRIMINALS, THIEVES, ROGUES AND CROOKS IN THE COUNTRY.

THESE MEN AND WOMEN ARE NOT TRULY '''PATRIOTS'' BUT STATE ENEMIES.

IT IS INDEED A PIT ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

THE PEOPLE OF GHANA, ESPECIALLY THE VULNERABLE HAVE BEEN CHEATED FO SO LONG BY THESE EDUCATED AND TRAINED CRIMINALS.

IT IS TIME FOR THE GOVERNMENT TO ARREST THE WHOLE CABINET OF NPP GOVERNMENT FOR PROSECUTION AT THE LAW CO ...

• Nfodjo Nicholas -Ho 10 years ago

I suggest therefore that all state movable assets intended to be sold to defray debt or whatever be handle by an independent institution to be known as state Auctionier, including V8s being used by the executives

You actaully heard that I ORDERED the sale of the rig? If this reporter is part of the elite group of people who actually educate and inform the prople of Ghana, it is not surprising that we cannot even take care of the garba ...

Dr Ofori Quaah, the standard of journalism in Ghana is not that high and a lot of them are paid agents of the government.

Immediately I read the report, I knew that was not you. I have tried to explain things but people ar ...

• Ninetyfour 10 years ago

Nana akuffo Addo is a proper thief.

the AG without certificate.
    Sold a ship without documents.

Thieves paaaa be disss

• Agbee 10 years ago

so a whole drillship was sold by only one person, as a fowl in a market?

• Mensah 10 years ago

Find the corrupt politicians and jail them. Corruption is every where in the Ghanaian society.

• CONTEMNOR 10 years ago

***NIGERIAN ACCENT MADE EASY***
    1.GUGU =GOOGLE
    2.OZZBAND= HUSBAND
    3.ASS NA= ARSENAL
    4.PAY PA= PAPER
    5.CON SON= CONCERN
    6.EGGS BUGS TREE SIXTY = X BOX 360
    7.MAGDONNAS= MCDONALDS
    8.SAVE JOHNNY= SAVE JOURNEY
    9.HODA SHY ...

• Ghana boy 10 years ago

Interesting. The nation at heart indeed. They just came to loot Ghana. God save us from this people.

• dunaa 10 years ago

Assuming there is a little truth to some of the things I read on the internet regarding Ghana, such as this article, I just can't believe what I read. All organizations such as the GNPC which is chartered under the laws of Gh ...

• Kwabena, Lashibi 10 years ago

NPP chop chop

• ONIPANUA 10 years ago

THIS MAN NEED TO BE WHIPPED IN PUBLIC BEFORE HE IS SENT TO PRISON.CORRUPTION AT THE NATION'S HIGHER PLACES OF MANAGEMENT SHOULD BE DISCOURAGED ENHANCE THE ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL GROWTH IF THE COUNTRY

• Peter - Amsterdam 10 years ago

The judge that jailed Tsatsu should
    bow the head in shame

• FRANCIS PAKIS TRINIDAD 10 years ago

Dear ghanaian we are joking with this our leaders or the people in positions want to help the country his country and all this things going with tax payers money and we citizen keep in hard in the country oh god what is goi ...

• APPT 10 years ago

Check his assets against his expected wages at the time and you will know why the ship was sold without following the correct procedures. Be astute and committed to checking this whale-gapping gap in honesty and seek the trut ...

• PEACEMAN 10 years ago

NPP and NDC, the value is the same; looters?

• FRANCIS PAKIS TRINIDAD 10 years ago

HOW CAN SOME NUMBER OF PEOPLE WOULD JUST DESIRE FROM GNPC REPRESENTATIVES COME INTO AGREEMENT AND OPEN DISCUSSION FOR SELLING THE COUNTRY OIL DRILLING SHIP JUST LIKE THAT?OH GHANA WE ARE JOKING.

• Kan Na wo 10 years ago

Look at people singing Wayome Wayome in Ghana.

• Gidi-Makpeza 10 years ago

... and yet elements within NPP accused Tsatsu of selling the ship!!

This is interesting News and l am
    interested, say more Kufour your time
    is limited now for prison.

• naa 10 years ago

Stop defending unnecessary.

• Tina 10 years ago

Somebody should be sent to prison for a long time. Ghanaman when is this stealing and corruption going to stop? You sent poor people who steal gari or kenkey to prison why not these white collar thieves. They do more harm ...

• Tina 10 years ago

All these people should be accounted for. Rawlings, Kuffuor must be jailed.
    Ghanians, we need to be strong and stop these people.

• joe.boston 10 years ago

"... then Attorney General, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, to grant the Deputy Energy Minister at the time, K T Hammond, the power of attorney to deal with the negotiation of the sale, something he described as technically wron ...

• Ofosu 10 years ago

They should pay back the money immediately.

• TAMBRO 10 years ago

OH GHANA!SO ARE WE RAEDING CLEARLY THAT A WHOLE NATION'S SHIP WAS SOLD BY NPP BIG LAWYERS WITHOUT DOCUMENTS BEEN MADE ? WHERE WAS PRZ. KUFOUR?AND HOW MUCH DID AKUFU ADDO RECEIVE AS THEN ATORNEY GENRAL?

• Otchere 10 years ago

The poor farm laborer got three years for stealing a fowl.
    So he exclaimed in his native tonge " ..cho kokro deka? meaning: what, 3 years for one fowl?

• Justman 10 years ago

THIS NPP MEMBERS-TRUST IN THEIR INGENUITY TO STEAL AND COVER THEIR BACK.EVEN KUFFOUR THE FIRST THING HE DID IS TO RENOVATE HIS HOUSE WITH STATE MONEY UNDER PRETEXT THAT THE CASTLE IS TOO DIRTY TO OCCUPY AT THE TIME.THEY HAVE ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

Is this a true story. It looks like class one story telling time.

• KT 10 years ago

Read the article carefully. Tsatsu incurred a foolish debt for Ghana. Rawlings sanctioned it. We had to pay. Govt was taking decisions above the head of GNPC. Ofori Quaah had to sign to enable asset (drillship) be sold to def ...

• Buwalay Ta 10 years ago

Was this gyeeda? or sada? confusion galloooo

• mr Tina 10 years ago

All those involve should be sent to jail. It makes me laugh when i see NPP leaders calling NDC leaders thieves. All that NPP did for 8 years was to sell ghanas asert and shear the money.

• Whatever 10 years ago

Hahahaa. So it was true that Akufo Addo was the brain behind the sale after all

• Woman's Wisdom 10 years ago

I don't think you can read with understanding. What did Akuffo Addo do in it? When we want to retrieve Woyome, GYEEDA, SADA and ISOFOTON money you want to blindfold us with a ship that was sold by NDC thieves and make it seem ...

• Sam, Bern 10 years ago

Makola style business and you want power to sale us as slaves in our own country. Shame on you Npp

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Akufo addo is highly sophisticated criminal

• sansan 10 years ago

Efo Kobenagah, don't trust any of this politicians, be they NPP ,NDC or any party with N . nothing will be left in the nations cuffers.

• Sanku 10 years ago

Kill him and confiscate his assets.

He is an idiot.

• OKOE 10 years ago

PRESIDENT KUFOUR WAS LOCKING PEOPLE UP INCLUDING LAWYER TSATSU, AND WONDERING WHY PRESIDENT MILLS DID NOT FIND ANYTHING TO LOCKUP SOME OF THESE PEOPLE DURING HIS TIME. DID THEY NOT KNOW ABOUT THESE SELLING OF SHIPS, GHANA AIR ...

• OKOE 10 years ago

WHY DON'T YOU GO TO QATAR AND WORK AND LET SOMEONE DEDUCT 20%FROM YOUR SALARY. YOU WANT TO INSTITUTE SLAVE TRADE?

• Ephraim (uk) 10 years ago

It is very sad Ghanaians has no feelings for the country and it is time government officers should be made to account for their stewardship when they leave office.It is also not too late for those involved in the sale of the ...

• Justino 10 years ago

Kuffours wife stole it

• MUGU YARO 2 10 years ago

WHERE IS ANOTHER JJ TO CLEAN THE SYSTEM FOR MOTHER GHANA? WE ALL GO SEE SOON

• Sense 10 years ago

Your comments are some of the reasons our people remain hewers of wood and fetchers of water! We must condemn corruption wherever it rears its ugly head, be it in NPP or NDC.

That's the only way we can ensure that pupils ...

Birds of the same feathers flop together. Jerry, advise yourself.

• asanka 10 years ago

you knew it was wrong and yet went ahead to sign the doc for the disposal of the drillship. stop shifting blame around and tell the truth.

• Sulamana 10 years ago

WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE? YOU INCURR DEBTS AND THEN YOU DON'T WANT TO PAY? DO YOU THINK THE WORLD WILL STOP FOR US? WE DO FOOLISH THINGS, GET INTO DEBT AND THEN WE REFUSE TO PAY. SELLING THE DRILLSHIP WAS NECESSARY. THE ...

• Haile Mengistus Manasseh V11 10 years ago

The Head Caption of this publication is very so misleading when compared to the body of the publication. How can somebody who was not privy to the sale negotiations of the ship and its disposition erred?