This bastard has no right to sing the praises of this Injustice Atuguba, whose actions and inactions has led us to where we're today where corruption and tribalism has become prevalent in every facet of our country. This Atuguba is corrupt who was bribed by his pepeni brethren using the Asantehene as a conduit. Atuguba did not only disgrace himself but, the entire judiciary. He'll surely burn in hell. As for the bastard the least said about him the better.
American Muslims 12 years ago
you mr lone ranger,,,,,small minded speak for yourself....your balls are too small..to speak on your leader AMONG COWARDS IN GHANA WITH NO BALLS TO STAND UP WITH WHAT IS TRUTH...ALLAH WILL DEAL WITH ALL OF YOU VRY SOON.....NO RESPECT FOR LIFE...NO ONE ESCAPES ALLAH AND HIS WRATHS....SMALL MINDED MEN IN GHANA..WITH NO BALLS TO STAND UP FOR WHAY IS JUSTIC AND RIGHTEOUSNESS....BUT ALLAH WILL SET YOU ALL IN JUDGEMENT..AMEEM
KOLA, INSIDE LONDON 12 years ago
The only brave man in Ghana has spoken and his speech blows away corrupt Ghanaians on it's way like the Indian Tornado.
Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 12 years ago
The Gangster-killer trying to justify his crimes against humanity !
In his warped and confused mind, his armed robbery on the 31st December 1981, which enabled him to seize the keys to the vaults of the Bank of Ghana, was a revolution.
Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaa!
Didn't Ghanaians had the option and luxury to vote ex-Prez Limann out of power in 1983 if he was a failure ?
Which sane Ghanaian enjoyed living under the barbaric and terrorist regime of the p/NDC, besides the NDC stealers ?
Which sane Ghanaian enjoyed living under curfew for 6 years under the barbaric gangster regime of the p/NDC ?
Didn't over 95% of Ghanaians vote against the continuation of p/NDC rule in the 1992 referendum ?
This obese lunatic butcher of Dzelukope,His Butchery Majesty Julor Jato Rawlings alias Gyamfi Paul aka Togbui Avaklasu I the arsonist, will continue to be as stupid as a rock that other rocks lauf at till his death.
NANA AKUFFO ADDO WEE SMOKER 12 years ago
LISTEN TO THE IDIOT AND INEPT FOOL AGAIN? A GAY BASTARD AND SON OF A BITCH..AKYEMNI KWASEA.
YOUR AKYEM DWARF , NANA AKUFFO ADDO, SERIAL WOMANIZER AND NOTED WEE SMOKER ASSHOLE WILL NEVER EVER BE PRESIDENT OF MY COUNTRY, EVE ... read full comment
LISTEN TO THE IDIOT AND INEPT FOOL AGAIN? A GAY BASTARD AND SON OF A BITCH..AKYEMNI KWASEA.
YOUR AKYEM DWARF , NANA AKUFFO ADDO, SERIAL WOMANIZER AND NOTED WEE SMOKER ASSHOLE WILL NEVER EVER BE PRESIDENT OF MY COUNTRY, EVER!!!
Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 12 years ago
peter jeffrey,a motley-minded gay pignut with a future behind schedule.
Born stupid,
bred stupid,
raised stupid,
nurtured stupid,
stupidly abused as a child,
stupidly miseducated,
and destined to be stupid till thy k ... read full comment
Born stupid,
bred stupid,
raised stupid,
nurtured stupid,
stupidly miseducated,
and destined to be stupid till thy kingdom come.
Keep using a thousand monickers on this website to advertise your incurable gay idiocy,grannyfucker.
Nutsudeka Justice 12 years ago
Ghana, Our beloved country, Nkrumah's Ghana is free for ever. How can we give our country to jankees to rule???
It will never come to pass!! "All die be die" and "y3n Akanfuo" stupidities" will die their natural death. Such ... read full comment
Ghana, Our beloved country, Nkrumah's Ghana is free for ever. How can we give our country to jankees to rule???
It will never come to pass!! "All die be die" and "y3n Akanfuo" stupidities" will die their natural death. Such a shortish odikro will neer ever rule Ghana!! Nana Akuffo Addo is never been well cut out to rule Ghana!! Why did he run awy from Oxford?? The Ananse stories told us as explanations were Akyem concocted and some misguided mafia think the rest of the country are not reasoning or thinking people?? Shame!! Ghana knows it all!! Keep your dirty long and very black mouths shut. Your uncle and ocusin Nana Akuffo Addo cannot rule Ghana as he is too divisive!! It pains you why?????
Nutsudeka Justice 12 years ago
If indeed you are professor of English, you might not write those useless English. To name just one - " Didn't the Ghanaians had the option and luxury to vote ex-President Limann.....??
Only bush men insult and tell lies a ... read full comment
If indeed you are professor of English, you might not write those useless English. To name just one - " Didn't the Ghanaians had the option and luxury to vote ex-President Limann.....??
Only bush men insult and tell lies about others!! JJ is mightier than all of your family and region and even your degree you claim you have!!
Who minds if you re tutor at the Nassau Community School??
Your hatred is so empty and insignificant!!
JJ surpasses your bush attitudes and if you don't like it, come out clean and we can identify you as a man!! Who the heck do you think and hide for!! A coward and a kotibotom tantan man!! Your uncle will never ever rule Ghana!! Long live NDC!! Long live JJ!!!
Emperor 12 years ago
Honoring Rawlings is not surprising he form the sch why was he honored order universities but that particular one this is cronyism oh!!! Ghana daaben?
william 12 years ago
I would have wished that JJ spoke a little more about some of the shortcomings under his watch and expressed regrets. I think many Ghanaians deservedly expect to hear that. Be that as it may, this was a powerful and thought provoking one. I hope despite the omissions Ghanaians will take it for what it is intended to be- a contribution to building a resilient Ghana from a statesman albeit imperfect who loves his country and people and also feels hurt and often times unduly attacked!
Paul Amuna 12 years ago
The tone was measured and the content and context right to a large extent. There was also a lot of food for thought for our judicial system and for the president and his government which I hope they will take seriously to change things for the better.
Asuo-Amponsah(Oyiripebr3) 12 years ago
Undertake that task! I am particularly gratified that he payed glowing tribute to Justice Atubuga for stopping that 'freight train' that had lost is engineer,and was about to fall off the cliff. I hope and pray to God that one of our universities will muster the courage to honour another true and dedicated public servant this country has been lucky to have in the person Dr. Kwadwo Afari Gyan,before he exists the spotlight.
OLD SOLDIER 12 years ago
NDC IS SO CORRUPT THAT IT IS NOT FUNNY. JJ SHOULD TAKE OVER HIS PARTY. PEOPLE LIKE OKUJETO, FIIFI KWETEY ETC ARE FILTHY RICH
Nyansasem 12 years ago
You can insult him all you want, but when it comes to UDS, Rawlings did well. We need to deal with issues critically. Let's separate this particular deed from his boom.
For someone who did not go to university. For someone ... read full comment
You can insult him all you want, but when it comes to UDS, Rawlings did well. We need to deal with issues critically. Let's separate this particular deed from his boom.
For someone who did not go to university. For someone who closed down universities. For someone who was against students during his time. And for him to have the wisdom to use his own gift to begin a University in one of the poorest places in our country should not be condemned but commended.
Ayekooo, Mr. Rawlings.
MANTSE 12 years ago
President Rawlings must be celebrated for this Brilliant Speech. Sidelining those he still holds dear must end in order to achieve a true celebration.
The Former President has catalogued herein not just most of the nuances ... read full comment
President Rawlings must be celebrated for this Brilliant Speech. Sidelining those he still holds dear must end in order to achieve a true celebration.
The Former President has catalogued herein not just most of the nuances confronting us as a people but has offred a road map that when sincerely followed and pursued with Moral Courage, will help solve not all but most of our problems.
THIS IS THE MAN WHO MUST BE CELEBRATED NOT FOR THE MANY THINGS HE DID WRONG BUT FOR A FEW GREAT DEEDS THAT BROUGHT HOPE TO GHANA AND MOST GHANAIANS. I saw it with my own eyes.
Yet, today, the very Party he founded and those who but for their association with him would not have merited any Political Considerations think the best they can do to 'uninstitutionalize' his memory is to exclude from successive NDC Govts the few Ghanaians who won his admiration for meeting his expectations as to what a Free Society must do for its less fortunate people.
Yet we find room in the Inn for those WHO DO NOT KNOW OR SEE PUBLIC SERVICE AS A SACRED PUBLIC TRUST FOR THE GREATER GOOD of the People BUT RATHER A SOURCE OF WEALTH FOR A NARROW FEW. God's mercies will continue to elude us for subscribing to such options.
Just as it became fashionable to give positions to NPP appointees based on how much they insulted and vilified and disrespected the former President, today, in his own Party, very talented and dedicated and qualified people are being excluded from serving their nation because of their association with the MAN that we all once upon a time associated with. It was so with the Atta Mills Govt and the Mahama Govt has not been different. And the Reason for this is simple: 'They Will Spill the Beans and share with Rawlings the TRUTH in Governance and Happenings not in the interest of the Ghanaian people'.
Why are some so Afraid of a man whose HUMILITY PUTS SOME OF US AT EASE and is still LOVED by most?
The ONLY beneficiaries of this exclusion are the BAD NUTS who are afraid of being exposed. for, those who serve well will RELISH Public Knowledge of their stewardship.
It is time for ALL in the NDC Family, including perceived and Real Rawlings Favorites, to sit at the table to plan and harness the fortunes of our dear country to lift the marginalized.
It is that sincerity and inclusion that will give us the Fortitude and the BOLDNESS to confront the challenges facing Ghana and Ghanaians.
ABUBAKAR ARIMIYAU 12 years ago
this speech alone tells us that this is the man for the people, the true stateman. sometimes i seems nt to understand some ple especially the ridiculers of this noble man. A man who sacrifices his personal interest for the interest of the entire nothern Ghana. Had it nt bcos of this man, how would northern Ghanas students have access to university education in their own region. an insult to these man on this historic occasion is an insult to once self and signifies lost of focus and fore sight. Today, uds trains students through out the country including a very strong solid service to the rural poor. If for any thing at all, uds makes rural communities feels that they exist and are equal important in development sphere. This is many others makes this noble man a true stateman an his reign will continue to be good. if u cant praise him, then hold ur fire pls. b civilise
Zaga 12 years ago
Listen to your depraved logic. The Asantehene is the greatest symbol of his people and will do everything in their interest. But he has realised the evil of the NPP leadership. If you don't think and change for the better, the rest of Ghana will reject you.He has recognised the rest of Ghana is better than one tribe and is not pig-headed like you.
DDH 12 years ago
You corrupt guy. You hate the truth. You still want an opportunity to continue to loot. We will never allow. Rawllings is a great man by all standards., A SELFLESS MAN.
I curse you strainght for your evil intentions.
I also ... read full comment
You corrupt guy. You hate the truth. You still want an opportunity to continue to loot. We will never allow. Rawllings is a great man by all standards., A SELFLESS MAN.
I also curse you to get an accident the next time you take bribe, you bribe or you loot what belongs to others.
Take this serious
Kofi Blessings 12 years ago
@ The so called Mends The lone Ranger.
The least say about you the better, you coward, an idiotic. Your adopted name speaks for it self. FOOL
ohenenana 12 years ago
I was happy for Rawlings until I read his speech. Very shameful. Everything abiut his speech was bad.
william 12 years ago
yOU MUST BE TERRIBLY BAD TO SEE ONLY BADNESS IN HIS SPEECH!!! PHYSICIAN, HEAL YOURSELF!!
John 12 years ago
Really missed this man;
Nii 12 years ago
The 24yr rule of NDC has only enriched a few like the Ahwois, Mahama Iddrisu,Betty Mould's, PV Obeng's,E T Mensah's the Tsikata's and all the babies with sharp teeth on the block. NDC only renders the poor poorer by robbing them even of the little that they have by asking them to pay high taxes and tariffs to pay for their stolen wealth and brainwashing them through propaganda under their false social democratic claims that "they care for the the poor" . The 8 yr rule of the NPP however saw unprecedented pro poor welfare interventions for the ordinary Ghanians like mass transport,health insurance, affordable housing,school feeding, development of hydro generated electricity like Bui to make electricity cheaper for the poor instead of using crude oil for the generation of electricity. Even under the roads sector NPP in 8years built and also initiated roads more than all the governments put together since independence, check with Ghana Highways.if after 24years rule of NDC, Ghana is where it is then what is the use of the party called NDC? it is only usefull to its leadership but not to the masses. The overall effect is that the NPP thinks about the welfare of the poor like the welfare states of western Europe which believes in the the improvements in the living standards of all under equal rights and opportunity for all than the so called false "social democrats" who only under the "Animal Farm" philosophy cares for only the leadership of the NDC party like most of the failed former Eastern European countries
concern member 12 years ago
It is only a fool who will not change his mind even when he is been lied to.It is so seriours that people still follow NDC after destroying every social benefits for ghanains.they always promised but never deleiver,rather they asked the poor people tighting your belt whiles they lose it.I wish NDC followers will sit down quitely and calculate taxes we have paid in this govt called NDC and the benefits they have giving us.Rawlings and co are 419 men.Dont trust them.
Joseph Sowah 12 years ago
What a speech, this goes to prove that you are the people's president. Well done and I hope all institutions mementioned will gather the courage to put your wisdom of advice into their programs. JJ we love you. God bless you. God bless mother Ghana.
Fo Kofi 12 years ago
BUT RATHER SOFT ON THE CORRUPTION SPECIFICALLY ON MAHAMA. I EXPECTED HON AMIDU 'S NAME ALSO ON THOSE WHO ARE FEARLESS TO DEFEND GHANA AGAINST CORRUPTION. ON THE WHOLE HOWEVER BRILLIANT SPEECH, BRAVO JJ
meke 12 years ago
I can help you with this exercise; I'm very qualified and experienced in "house-cleaning".
BJ 12 years ago
Had it not been J. J. the country would have been one of the worst in the region. The NPP and their ancestors were burnt on claiming sole ownership of our dear country. The considerate in our society must shun the NPP forever, for if they ever come to power again the poor will wail endlessly. The NPP and their ancestors are our greatest enemy as a country
SHINE 12 years ago
I ONLY HOPE THIS SPEECH WILL NOT BE SUBJECTED TO IMBERSILE COMMENTS.
Nana Egyir Aggrey 12 years ago
Whatever acts,- good or bad man may do, the fruits thereof follw him and will never stop pursuing him.You will answer to the Creator for crime you have committed to the people of this land.And whenever you and and your family are enjoying "the five star"meal and not "yo ke gari"do remember the orphans-the children of all those you murdered-Nana Egyir Aggrey Snr citizen
BJ 12 years ago
God knows J. J. better than you do; just leave it all to the Lord.
VENOSA 12 years ago
lET US SEE YOUR A-LEVEL CERTIFICATE
BJ 12 years ago
the citizens of their share of the national cake.
VENOSA 12 years ago
SO YOU ADMIRE BOOK LONG AFTER ALL; SHAME UNTO YOU
Oli j 12 years ago
Rawlings is an exemplified beacon of hope in Africa.Indeed he is a great man.
PAA NII TESHIE. 12 years ago
Indeed if I am not short of words this speech of J J can be described as the best of the century . You have said it all and indeed we play and have Ostrich Mentality. I hope the wisdom in the speech will be taken seriously by all true and genuine sons and daughters and well meaning people of this our dear nation.
LYDIA 12 years ago
jj rawlings always touted the ndc as a party with integrity but when he left office he realized that he had been rearing wolves and sharks all along who are now sucking our blood and impoverishing the poverty of the fantis, northerners, and ewes who are their strongholds....heheheheheeee ide biiiii keke...
Vuvuzela 12 years ago
When will some of you learn?
JJR knew those "wolves and sharks" you fondly mention here ONLY weeks into his first mandate and knew he had a huge mountain to clear on his path to success as a president. Let me ask you: if you have a friend you thought you could trust and you discovered at the ninth hour that he was worse than your enemy, what would you do if you had no other options out?
Things are different when you wield power as a military officer as against a being an elected president where others' opinions count, too, and those others whose opinions count did everything to see you fail.
During his presidency JJR had not stopped denouncing corruption in his government, and that culminated in his request to the Queen of England to help him mitigate the corruption tendency within his government and near him. And this was supposed to be a man who shot military officers for almost the same reasons!
Now, in retrospect, when JJR "left" the scenes, he in fact understood he ought to have done things differently to counter the personal ambitions and negative tendencies of the "wolves and sharks", and therefore implored Mills to see a bit from his (JJR) perspectives but Mills, wanting to be "his own man" demurred.
JJR is no perfect human, so he made so many mistakes but people failed him; people of trust he personally chose as advisers. Sometimes, I see the pain he endured trying to fight spooks he couldn't even identify, for his cause, due to the way they played their cards. Now, if you critically watch Kufuor's government, Mills' and what goes on, you understand that WE are all the causes of our woes and that we aren't really geared towards success.
Finally, it is my utmost conviction democracy, ISN'T what could alleviate our problems until especially in Ghana, until we begin to change our mentality.
We in Ghana need very strong person with a whip, a very big whip, a selfless person who could whip the crap out of us before we do things naturally if we want to succeed one day. For now, sincerely, I doubt that we would succeed.
WHY 12 years ago
HE GOT HIM OUT OF PRISON AND HE BG DOES NOT HAVE A SINGLE GHANAIAN HONORARY DEGREE TO HIS NAME
Vuvuzela 12 years ago
Boakye Gyan is a failed personality and useless personality. He is as corrupt as a Ghanaian.
In fact, JJR didn't ask to be released. It was Boakye Gyan who identified in JJR the same causes he espoused at the time but his ... read full comment
Boakye Gyan is a failed personality and useless personality. He is as corrupt as a Ghanaian.
In fact, JJR didn't ask to be released. It was Boakye Gyan who identified in JJR the same causes he espoused at the time but his bloated ego overwhelmed him - a fall from grace. What was he doing in Britain?
Let me tell you this: There were so many junior military officers at the time ready to take the gun against senior officers, some of whom were later tied to the stake and shot, because of what the junior officers regarded (of the seniors) as behaviors detrimental to the principles of the military. The coups d'etat attempts would have continued in series until the officers were been toppled.
Do you know whose idea it was to shoot military officers? It was Boakye Gyan, and he listed over 100 officers to be shot. Boakye Gyan ruled from the background to a great extent - he was calling so many shots.
On the other hand, it was this same JJR who disagreed to having to shoot officers; this disagreement bifurcated into two poles of opposing officers' situation within the PNDC and created the rivalry between Boakye Gyan and JJR till today. BG was a dastard.
Why did Boakye Gyan accept 100,000 dollars from Limann to go out of the country? JJR clearly refused the amount and rejected going out of the country, which he thought was stupid.
Now, what is a Ghanaian honorary degree when even those who have so-called "big" degrees from reputed institutions can't do anything profitable for the country?
Vuvuzela 12 years ago
*** I mean AFRC ***! Boakye Gyan was the controller.
Old soldier 12 years ago
If not because of Rawings,the army would have finished with Boakye Gyan.They see him as caward who run away from the battle field and later returns to say he was the true hero of that day.
Kk3 12 years ago
All these infantile and weak-minded comments are the reasons why Ghana will NEVER be more than the toilet it is. Did anyone read this?
Did you really think, Mahama's presidency was going to be overturned?
All these infantile and weak-minded comments are the reasons why Ghana will NEVER be more than the toilet it is. Did anyone read this?
Kofi LAWSON 12 years ago
Excellent speech from a great man. We love you Prez JJR.
Buwalay Ta 12 years ago
At long last, we are getting there. No wonder, we made no mistake in adding you to our alumni. We wish you well and urge you on.
Your detractors will fall again and again.
If I were ask whom should the university award ne ... read full comment
At long last, we are getting there. No wonder, we made no mistake in adding you to our alumni. We wish you well and urge you on.
If I were ask whom should the university award next. I will say, Justice Atuguba. You are a national hero and any institution awarding you would be doing Ghana very proud. Those who can not accept it can go bend the see. Even Nana Addo will agree with me.
EZEKIEL 12 years ago
JJ, GOOD WORK !! Thank you.
Dr Robert K Glah 12 years ago
JJ affirms the dignity of truth for correction of Ghanaians in every walk of life and to guide the people in their development policy and goal.
Thanks God for the spontaneous delivery by the former President.
JJ affirms the dignity of truth for correction of Ghanaians in every walk of life and to guide the people in their development policy and goal.
BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ, 12 years ago
DEAR H.E.FORMER PRESIDENT OF GHANA DR.DR.JERRY JOHN RAWLINGS,
THIS IS TO RESPECTFULLY SEND MESSAGE OF GOODWILL, GOOD SUCCESS, CONGRATULATIONS AND GOD BLESSING TO BOTH H.E.FORMER PRESIDENT RAWLINGS AND UNIVERSITY OF DEVELOPMENT STUDIES FOR THE HONOUR BESTOWED ON THE FORMER PRESIDENT OF GHANA WHO ALSO ESTABLISHED THE UNIVERSITY.
THAT HISTORY ITSELF IS THE PATHWAY MEN AND WOMEN WHO HAVE VISION CHARTED AND HEREIN, STANDS HISTORY.
THAT I WAS THEN WORKING AT THE CASTLE-OSU AS ASSISTANT DIRECTOR THEN WHEN THE UDS WAS ESTABLISHED AND THE FORMER PRESIDENT WON AND SHARED THE HUNGER AWARD PRIZE OF $100,000 WITH A CATHOLICS BISHOP OF BENIN AND SURPRISINGLY TO ME THEN THE FORMER PRESIDENT GAVE HIS SHARE OF THE HUNGER AWARD PRIZE TO THE NEWLY ESTABLISHED UNIVERSITY TO USE IT TO PURCHASE LIBRARY BOOKS AND MATERIALS FOR THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY.
THAT AS I HAVE POSTULATED ABOUT THE IMPORTANCE OF EDUCATION AND VIEW EDUCATION AS "A KEY" THAT OPENS DOORS OF OPPORTUNITIES TO THE WORLD AND ALSO THE ONLY THING THAT CANNOT BE INHERITED BUT TO BE ACQUIRED BY THE INDIVIDUAL "PER SE" CANNOT BE OVER-EMPHASIZED.
THAT IT HAS BEEN MY PERSONAL OVER-RIDING AMBITION LONG AGO, TO SEE GHANA AND UNITED STATES OF AMERICA TO BE VERY CLOSELY FRIENDLY COUNTRIES WHICH I EVEN DISCLOSED TO HON. FORMER DEPUTY SECRETARY/MINISTER OF EDUCATION AND FORMER PRESIDENT OF EVANGELICAL PRESBYTERIAN UNIVERSITY COLLEGE, HO WALTER BLEGE WHEN HE VISITED ME IN NEW YORK, USA AND BY THE GRACE OF GOD SUCH AMBITION BECOMES A REALITY.
WHY GHANA SHOULD NOT APPRECIATE SUCH SINGULAR/PERSONAL RELATED ACHIEVEMENT THAT THE WHOLE COUNTRY GHANA HAS BENEFITED TREMENDOUSLY?
WHY SHOULD SOME RATHER ENVY SUCH SINGULAR ACHIEVEMENT?
IT IS THEREFORE MY RESPECTFUL SUBMISSION THAT SINCE EDUCATION TRANSCENDS OVER ISSUES ONLY BORDERING ON ONLY NATIONAL BOUNDARIES BUT ALSO INTERNATIONAL CONCERNS PERSPECTIVE THAT IT IS MY CHALLENGE TO EVERY GHANAIAN TO RESPECT AND HONOUR SELF
ACHIEVEMENTS.
KZM 12 years ago
This is a super speech by all standards. Thank God. Who is takings lessons? I charge NDC to digest and apply for the good of Ghana
Tony 12 years ago
Perfect and accurate speech . Dr Dr J J Rawlings .I love and like you too much. I wish you all the best.
Paul Amuna 12 years ago
Very interesting touch on diverse subjects, and thankfully he did not deviate too much from his prepared speech this time although he could have done with some aspects.
He ought to be given credit for his efforts to establ ... read full comment
Very interesting touch on diverse subjects, and thankfully he did not deviate too much from his prepared speech this time although he could have done with some aspects.
He ought to be given credit for his efforts to establish this University which frankly the nation needed, as an addition to the few we had which were ALL ONLY in the SOUTH of the country and into which MANY QUALIFIED young people had to compete to get a place.
The ethos and vision of this university is also one to uphold and it is pleasing that president Rawlings emphasised the need for the University community to uphold their engagement with the wider COMMUNITY and essentially to remain 'true to its vision and aspirations'.
Rawlings' take on leadership and the type of "president" needed for this country at this time is also interesting. I wonder if the sitting president, Mahama realised that he was indirectly telling him he is 'too soft' or 'not tough enough' as he referred to what someone had said to him about the 'president we have being fit for Switzerland or Denmark' where things are well established already and the president is more or less a figurehead overseeing everyday proceedings.
Perhaps the lesson there for Ghanaians is that we must recognise and appreciate the need for TOUGHNESS and sometimes 'unpleasantaries' from our president in our genuine quest for national development.
As president Obama is recognising and increasingly asserting his own authority in the US, we need a leadership which not only has vision, but is prepared to build on the vision of "our forbears" as Rawlings put it, and "clean-up" as we go along, starting from WITHIN THE PARTIES AND GOVERNMENT then extending it to all areas of national (and private sector) lives!!!
His take on the judiciary is interesting, given what some of us have said about e.g. the 'misinterpretation or misapplication' of words in our national constitution to support a position, view or ruling.
The fact that he echoed what others have said (including the Chief Justice) about corruption in the judiciary and the need for them to be true to their calling and to "clean-up" their act is also quite relevant.
Many a practicing lawyer will tell you how corrupt and "rotten" our judicial system is, and how many judges decide cases 'in their own homes and rooms' before they even hit the court room!!! Raymond Atuguba's recent revelation about how some justices were "visited" by all manner of people in their quarters when he lived with his uncle justice Atuguba, the presiding judge in the recent election petition case is something to reflect on.
Any how, the long and short of it all is that integrity, honesty, determination, dedication and being prepared to make the sacrifice (damn the consequences) and make yourself 'unpopular' in the interest of our democracy and building a foundation for our future and development are far more important than personal gains, popularity and wealth!!!
Our wealth should be, and must be counted by the impact we make and judged decades after we have left the this life, rather than how many mansions and other possessions we have. But how many people really understand this?
We need leadership that is tough, focused on its agenda, and which transforms itself all the time.
Weed out the bad nuts, by all means give people the chance but if they fail to perform or misuse and / or abuse their offices (even within months), simply remove them and let the law deal with them. I believe many Ghanaians will admire and support a leader who would do this. It takes guts, not the barrel of the gun to achieve these things and we have seen it succeed in Indonesia, Malaysia and Singapore, why not Ghana.
We do not need another June 4 or 31st Dec to achieve this and Rawlings' experiment was one that may have appeared necessary at the time, but should never be the yardstick for bringing about change in a democracy.
I hope we have grown up and that our leaders will realise that they have more "People Power" than they care to imagine, and they must use it (within the law) to push our development forward. It can, and should be done!!!
GOG 12 years ago
MA BOSS SAID IT ALL BUT GOT IT WRONG ON ATUGUBA. NANA RATHER SAVED GHANA
AHMED JACOB 12 years ago
It was not Atuguba who saved Ghana, it was Akufo-Addo who saved Ghana. Atuguba received bribes from the NDC, and sooner than later the truth will come out.
kb 12 years ago
Thanks!
Thanks!
Efui Tamakloe, Secretary, NDC Dallas 12 years ago
The Lips of the righteous teach/lead many,but Fools ....Yes the only real brave man in GH has spoken, call him whatever you want, I LOVE THIS 'bastard'. i urge His MAHAMASHIP 4 8 to take a lesson from Jerry John 'Junior Jesus' Rawlings. If ten people made of his caliber, lead the ten regions of GH,What a transformation will take place, U heard him,he will help in house cleaning of the jUDICIARY, THANK YOU PAPA John, JAH GUIDE.
jj rawlings brother 12 years ago
there are judges of questionable character and that one is atuguba,rawlings stop this nonsense
Abg 12 years ago
Congrats Dr. Rawlings
Abg 12 years ago
So why cant people contribute on this platform without raining insults on other people or dignitaries, some of whom might be more 'honourable' than your parents. Well, whatever goes around comes around. Be sure that it will be done to you too if you don't stop it. None of these so called people you passionately defend by insulting other respectable people, might never use the adjectives you use. So why this deep hatred for other people of different ethnic, political or ideological backgrounds. I have never read any comments on an article at this site without coming across insults, defamation and vulgarly. Please let us learn to comport ourselves, maybe that is all we can do , as our part of the democracy advancement in Ghana.
Joe Turkey 12 years ago
Any fool can criticize, condemn and complain - and most fools do.
Joe Turkey 12 years ago
Showing off is a fool's idea of glory.
Abg 12 years ago
my brother, what did you achieved by insulting Mr. Rawlings? I don't think if was your father you would have appreciated someone sying that about him. Even God will not forgive you for such behaviour. I don't enjoy politics but i think is time we learn to live in sanity. If we start to comport ourselves in the way we deal with the our elders we will go far. Do not be deceived, whatever you sow you will reap. bless you
Ben, U.S. 12 years ago
Good speech. Unfortunately, Rawlings became part of the problem.
LACK, MD,Ph.D, Germany. 12 years ago
Bravo Mr. (Ex-)President, a man of integrity. Ghana needs as many again.
This bastard has no right to sing the praises of this Injustice Atuguba, whose actions and inactions has led us to where we're today where corruption and tribalism has become prevalent in every facet of our country. This Atug ...
you mr lone ranger,,,,,small minded speak for yourself....your balls are too small..to speak on your leader AMONG COWARDS IN GHANA WITH NO BALLS TO STAND UP WITH WHAT IS TRUTH...ALLAH WILL DEAL WITH ALL OF YOU VRY SOON.....NO ...
In his warped and confused mind, his armed robbery on the 31st December 1981, which enabled him to seize the keys to the vaults of the Bank of Ghana, was ...
YOUR AKYEM DWARF , NANA AKUFFO ADDO, SERIAL WOMANIZER AND NOTED WEE SMOKER ASSHOLE WILL NEVER EVER BE PRESIDENT OF MY COUNTRY, EVE ...
Born stupid,
bred stupid,
raised stupid,
nurtured stupid,
stupidly miseducated,
and destined to be stupid till thy k ...
It will never come to pass!! "All die be die" and "y3n Akanfuo" stupidities" will die their natural death. Such ...
Only bush men insult and tell lies a ...
I would have wished that JJ spoke a little more about some of the shortcomings under his watch and expressed regrets. I think many Ghanaians deservedly expect to hear that. Be that as it may, this was a powerful and thought p ...
The tone was measured and the content and context right to a large extent. There was also a lot of food for thought for our judicial system and for the president and his government which I hope they will take seriously to cha ...
Undertake that task! I am particularly gratified that he payed glowing tribute to Justice Atubuga for stopping that 'freight train' that had lost is engineer,and was about to fall off the cliff. I hope and pray to God that on ...
For someone who did not go to university. For someone ...
The Former President has catalogued herein not just most of the nuances ...
this speech alone tells us that this is the man for the people, the true stateman. sometimes i seems nt to understand some ple especially the ridiculers of this noble man. A man who sacrifices his personal interest for the in ...
Listen to your depraved logic. The Asantehene is the greatest symbol of his people and will do everything in their interest. But he has realised the evil of the NPP leadership. If you don't think and change for the better, th ...
I also ...
Really missed this man;
The 24yr rule of NDC has only enriched a few like the Ahwois, Mahama Iddrisu,Betty Mould's, PV Obeng's,E T Mensah's the Tsikata's and all the babies with sharp teeth on the block. NDC only renders the poor poorer by robbing t ...
It is only a fool who will not change his mind even when he is been lied to.It is so seriours that people still follow NDC after destroying every social benefits for ghanains.they always promised but never deleiver,rather the ...
What a speech, this goes to prove that you are the people's president. Well done and I hope all institutions mementioned will gather the courage to put your wisdom of advice into their programs. JJ we love you. God bless you. ...
Had it not been J. J. the country would have been one of the worst in the region. The NPP and their ancestors were burnt on claiming sole ownership of our dear country. The considerate in our society must shun the NPP forever ...
Whatever acts,- good or bad man may do, the fruits thereof follw him and will never stop pursuing him.You will answer to the Creator for crime you have committed to the people of this land.And whenever you and and your family ...
Indeed if I am not short of words this speech of J J can be described as the best of the century . You have said it all and indeed we play and have Ostrich Mentality. I hope the wisdom in the speech will be taken seriously by ...
jj rawlings always touted the ndc as a party with integrity but when he left office he realized that he had been rearing wolves and sharks all along who are now sucking our blood and impoverishing the poverty of the fantis, n ...
JJR knew those "wolves and sharks" you fondly mention here ONLY weeks into his first mandate and knew he had a huge mountain to clear on his path to success as a president. Let me ask you: if y ...
In fact, JJR didn't ask to be released. It was Boakye Gyan who identified in JJR the same causes he espoused at the time but his ...
If I were ask whom should the university award ne ...
THIS IS TO RESPECTFULLY SEND MESSAGE OF GOODWILL, GOOD SUCCESS, CONGRATULATIONS AND GOD BLESSING TO BOTH H.E.FORMER PRESIDENT RAWLINGS AND UNIVERSITY OF DEVELOP ...
He ought to be given credit for his efforts to establ ...
Thanks!
The Lips of the righteous teach/lead many,but Fools ....Yes the only real brave man in GH has spoken, call him whatever you want, I LOVE THIS 'bastard'. i urge His MAHAMASHIP 4 8 to take a lesson from Jerry John 'Junior Jesus ...
Congrats Dr. Rawlings
So why cant people contribute on this platform without raining insults on other people or dignitaries, some of whom might be more 'honourable' than your parents. Well, whatever goes around comes around. Be sure that it will b ...
my brother, what did you achieved by insulting Mr. Rawlings? I don't think if was your father you would have appreciated someone sying that about him. Even God will not forgive you for such behaviour. I don't enjoy politics ...
good