You are here: HomeNews2013 10 13Article 288741

Ghana suffering from ostrich mentality – Rawlings booms at UDS

Read Comments Comments (93)

• A citizen. 10 years ago

Rawlings should immediately put a stop to what he preaches. CORRUPTION. He`s the first to face the law when it comes to corruption in the country.

• kwami, ny 10 years ago

If he put a stop to it who will preach it you? I guess your skin is irritated bec u r one of those sharp teeth thieves!

What`s corruption to you as educated? Do you know when one is government and sells government property to himself ot herself is corruption?

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

I agree with Togbe Julor Avuukoklo on our ostrich mentality. If it were not so how could he walk about with his chest puffed up even when he and his wife stole GIHOC properties such as Nsawam Cannery, GNTC buildings, Tema Coc ...

• Agbee 10 years ago

you are brave a COWARD. lead the crusade against all those allegations you lined up.ON A MORE LOGICAL NOTE. ARE YOU SAYING THAT THOSE THINGS HAPPENED IN THE PAST, HENCE THEY MUST BE ALLOWED TO CONTINUE? Where then do you plac ...

• J. J. LAWRENCE 10 years ago

HOW CAN YOU STOP CORRUPTION IN A COUNTRY WHERE THE PRESIDENT HIMSELF IS THE CHIEF ARCHITECT OF CORRUPTION?

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Obese lunatic butcher of Dzelukope,His Butchery Majesty Julor Jato Rawlings, didn't you steal Nsawam Cannery and give it to your wife ?

Didn't you steal the warehouses of the GNTC and give it to your wife ?

This gangste ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

NDC IS SO CORRUPT THAT IT IS NOT FUNNY. JJ SHOULD TAKE OVER HIS PARTY. PEOPLE LIKE OKUJETO, FIIFI KWETEY ETC ARE FILTHY RICH.

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

JJ AND WIFE = CORRUPT, IMMORAL THIEVES!
    THESE 2 ARE THE BIGGEST THIEVES IN THE HISTORY OF GH. NOT ATAA AYI, NOT WOYOME, NOT MAHAMA, BETTY MOULD, MPIANI OR HANNAH TETTEH....JJ AND WIFE
    ARE THE BIGGEST LIARS, THIEVES IN THE ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

This Mahama is former President Mills
    trainee so nothing borged Himnow in a
    dream land stii sleeping.

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

Well said Agbe, those cowards should come out to lead the crusade against corruption instead of being ostriches.

As JJ has made it clear about Ostrich mentality, we still see Ghanaian Asylum seekers in the USA(npp) do noth ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 10 years ago

Rawlings and his Trokosi lunatic fringes should be bold and tell Mahama and his looting brigade straight in the face that Ghana is breeding to death of collective massive corruption emanating from the governing NDC party whi ...

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

The only one brave man in Ghana has spoken and his speech on corruption is like the Indian tornado sweeping everything on it's way.

To those who are quick to tie JJR to the stakes are those with Ostrich Mentality and have ...

• MY GHANA 10 years ago

Africa will always remain Africa,when someone is preaching the truth we accuse him of his past so how will the present be healed of it's cacas,the past is past that's why it's called PAST,please concentrate on fixing the prob ...

• ebo smith 10 years ago

the law shd be made that no politician shd acquire worth when at service.period.that can help stop the eye red among them

• MADZIA 10 years ago

So u killed all form of opposition and exiled many intelligent people , THEN THE WORST OF ALL , U FUCKED UP THE EDUCATION resulting in tens of 1000s dropouts that have become sakawa, arm robbers ,prostitutes and kayaye , TRA ...

• OWEN, NEW YORK 10 years ago

Let's put Nana Addo also on the scale of corruption and weigh him if he is a real clean guy.Can this awaiting Ghana president stamp out corruption in our corrupt country Ghana. Many people hate the guy because he will send t ...

I don`t support neither NDC nor NPP but when the truth is there, one has to say it. Rawlings sold government properties to himself and that`s a complete evidence that he`s corrupt. If you have any corrupt action about Akufo-A ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

The drill ship deal, Akufo Addo is involved, can you deny it

• Mensah 10 years ago

What property did Rawlings sell to himself. Is there a property bearing Rawlings name which he bought from the state while he was President?

Are these guys talking about "31st Development Womens Movement" buying Nsawam Can ...

From your statement, the truth is that both NPP and NDC politicians are corrupt and this is something you have to accept. That means, Rawlings himself is corrupt upon your own comment. As you`re a Ghanaian you have to know wh ...

• Kampu 10 years ago

You are not making any sense at all so jus stop fooling yourself. You accuse Jerry of selling Government properties to himself yet you cant pinpoint which property when somone asked yu to.. Amonsee like tha...!!!

Do you want me to pronounce to you that he sold such and such to himself before you believe? Then you`re a lost being so there`s no point to exchange comment with you. You`re a Ghanaian and you have to know what he sold to hi ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Were Nsawam cannery(Ghanacan),GNTC warehouse at Kanda e.t.c. the properties of the NDC before it finally became the properties of the Rawlingses, ignorant lil Kampu ?

Better shut up if you are so ignorant,deaf and naive to ...

• ASHANTI TRIBALISTS 10 years ago

JJ is CLEAN

• Adongo 10 years ago

YES,THAT IS WHY NDC WILL CONTINUE TO RIG ELECTIONS!!!

• Nii 10 years ago

The 24yr rule of NDC has only enriched a few like the Ahwois, Mahama Iddrisu,Betty Mould's, PV Obeng's,E T Mensah's the Tsikata's and all the babies with sharp teeth on the block. NDC only renders the poor poorer by robbing t ...

• ebo smith 10 years ago

i think we can take back all their cash, afterall veryboby knew them b4 their various positions.the day is coming soon

• OWUSU 10 years ago

Do not mind that murderer and corrupt minded liar.He is an absent minded person.Has he forgotten that nobody who wanted to live could not speak against all the evil activities in his government?

• AMB 10 years ago

We need GYEEDA records for the Kuffour period as well for total justice to be done

• wofa koo 10 years ago

JJ you kidding me, you came to murder innocent Ghanaians to establish and endorsed your own ostrich mentality group (NDC) to rule Ghana for life. Now whom are you expecting to voice out. Stop being hypocrite and talk directly ...

• LYDIA 10 years ago

JJ DID ALL HIS BEST TO BREED A CROP OF POLITICIANS IN GHANA WITH INTEGRITY AS THEIR CORE VALUE MANIFESTED IN TRANSPARENCY, TRUTH, ACCOUNTABILITY, SOCIAL JUSTICE ETC BUT WHEN HE ENTRUSTED THE PARTY IN THE HANDS OF ATTAMILLS AN ...

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

RAWLINGS BOOMS AT UDS: "HOLY SPIRITS" LOOSE 'HIS' TONGUE TO SAY WHAT FIT HIM MORE THAN GHANAIAS.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Bawumia is the only idiot from the north,does he think he will get a chance in "Y3N AKANFO" PARTY? He should go and ask the late ALIU MAHAMA THIEF KUFOUR'S VICE. When kufour was travelling allover the world, vice president AL ...

• KANIA 10 years ago

WE HAVE TO START TO OPENLY DEMONSTRATE AGAINST CORRUPTIONS OF GYEEDA NATURE. THE GOV'T SHOULD NOT BE LET GO FREE. TOO MUCH CORRUPTION IN GHANA NOW.

• kuluulu 10 years ago

My boss is a thieve but why should I talk if I would loose my job whilst my boss manage to talk his way through and is maintained. the fact is, the top men understand their language, which is to help themselves at the top an ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

When he supervised the doling out of state properties to his wife and yet killed other kinsmen for taking loan, that is eradication of corruption. Idiot. This is the corrupt NDC he bestowed on Ghana, starting from the preside ...

• Mensah 10 years ago

When 99% of Ghanaians, including your stupid father and stupid mother were shouting "let the blood flow, let the blood flow" in 1979, more people would have died if Rawlings hadnt intervened and given to the people what they ...

• DUKE 10 years ago

If majority of what happened after the coup could have been prevented why was it not prevented?? After shedding innocent blood we are back to worse than square one. The innocent blood shed await justice, if not possible now ...

• Tiffiny Ablorh 10 years ago

This man is talking about corruption? Wonders will never end!!

• Mensah 10 years ago

Is there a property bearing Rawlings name which he bought from the state while he was President? We are tired of the lies, concoctions, etc. Kweku Baako spent years and money travelling all over the world to strip Rawlings of ...

• DUKE 10 years ago

So it was ok to take over a “ rotten place nobody wanted” (as Rawlings puts it) by DEFRAUDING GHANA:
    See below Auditor- General’s conclusion of investigations into how the Rawlingses took over:

*CONCLUSION:

MY C ...

• asem beba dabi 10 years ago

j j or what they call him should rather speak as a responsible stateman politics will neither help him nor his wife.their time is long overdue.what he said was absolute rubbish.

• Mensah 10 years ago

Look, when 99% of Ghanaians, including your stupid father and stupid mother were shouting "let the blood flow, let the blood flow" in 1979, more people would have died if Rawlings hadnt intervened and given to the people what ...

• JAMES Y 10 years ago

Can anyone tell us; were there corruption in Rawlings' 19 year-governments? I'm not sure there weren't! Yet, this man, Rawlings, has been going on and on alluding the prevalence of corruption in immediate past and present gov ...

• IAMSOBLESSED 10 years ago

the founder of corruption preaching against corruption. shame on you, do you remember how much you stole from Ghana.

• True Ghanaian 10 years ago

Shut up JJ. You started it all. Where did the monies you collected from tax evaders into the PNDC special account go? What about the 3 year long 6 to 6 Curfew? Or the sale of govt fleet and companies to your wife and others? ...

• DUKE 10 years ago

9th RICHEST MAN IN GHANA TALKING CORRUPTION.

From a flight officer to a coup maker to now the 9th richest man in Ghana with a cool $50 dollars net worth guess who is talking about corruption now. How did he come by this m ...

• ICONIC-07 10 years ago

FELLOW GHANAIANS I WOULD APPRECIATE IF WE CAN VIEW THE CLIP OF RAWLLINGS SIZE AND FACE DURING THE FIRST FEW YEARS AND NOW AND SEE THE MARKED DIFFERENCE AND TELL ME IF THIS BIG-MOUTHED MAN IS NOT A BILLIONAIRE NOW.

HERE IS ...

• all the way 10 years ago

this goverment are thief the head is maama he's a big thief

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Fl. Lt. JJ was angry and hungry-looking like General Mosquito. Today he is bloated at the seams like a dead frog in the Korle Lagoon!

• Styx 10 years ago

If you find anything normal in a Flight Lieutenants in Ghana being underpaid, and therefore undernourished like so many of them have been, I want to inform you, in case you didn't know, that he was paid as a president for 19 ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

if i were to Rawlings, ii won't speak about evils in our country because he nurtured it to this level with his useless coups and intimidations, cowed ghanaians. now he's complaining to WHO?

• oppong london 10 years ago

members of ndc always speak nonsense and out of common sense,sooner than later Ghana will collapse in the hands of ndc ,because of their corrupt practices,ndc is the word corruption itself,everyone in ndc is corrupt,rawling ...

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 10 years ago

Rawlings has a bigger mouth than his body-if all Ghanaians have immunity as you have,-immunity to kill,immunity to rob,immunity not to be accountable to the public,Ghanaians would have done things differently.When you took th ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A man walks into a restaurant with a full-grown ostrich behind him. The waitress asks for their orders. The man says, "A hamburger, fries, and a coke," and turns to the ostrich, "What's yours?"

"I'll have the same," says ...

• Ghana Massai-France 10 years ago

Give us more of ur funny stuff,Prince. I yelled out a long laugh (to tears) which even woke up my sleeping wife after reading ur comic comment.It really differs from the insane, insulting senseless comments smearing the net. ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

After a husband and wife made money by selling Ostrich eggs,They were trying to set up a new password for their computer. Her husband put 'mypenis' and the wife fell on the ground laughing cause it said, "Error. Not long enou ...

• Ghana Massai-France 10 years ago

Another funny one there! I love that, Prince. By the way, mine (penis) is much too long & I have a big lot of difficulty fixing it in my pants.

• simon 10 years ago

Papa boome, we know why you are coming from. you are in pain because party you form with your blood,and you kill five big boss of ghana becase of corruption.God save the world.

• NANA KWAME 10 years ago

RAWLINGS CANT LIAR

• CHAIRMAN 10 years ago

Corruption started when you staged your first coup. If you could not check it at the time why are you now asking us to check it. You'll better keep quiet and let's have our piece of mind.

• Koforidua Flowers (fr) 10 years ago

Rawlings is saying "why is our capacity to speak the TRUTH so poor that we let wrong pass unchallenge" I ask myself if Rawlings capacity can allow him to speak the truth why then could'nt he come out to condemn the VERDICT o ...

• NPP plots Rawlings, Gen. Mosquito cla 10 years ago

Corruption would never, never, ever, ever end in any country in Africa. Rawlings killed all this corrupted people for his intention to better Ghana, but new look his party is the most corrupted party you can ever fine in Afri ...

• jose 10 years ago

nobody can quantify the millions of dollars this lebanese bastard stole from state coffers while ruled ghana at gun point during the "culture of silence." HE SHOULDN'T THEREFOR WASTE OUR EARS AS IF HE IS A SAINT!!!! THE NUMBE ...

• Agyaku NYC 10 years ago

Look who is blaming Rawlings, is not the same idiots students chanting "let the blood flow! JJ Junior Jesus" while he was murdering, killing and torturing their own parents and guardians paying for their schooling? Whatever g ...

• KK 10 years ago

WE are ostriches indeed> how can a national asset be given to one Ghanaian woman and we cannot do anything about it but to look on. Let us be bold and have our asset back

• dd 10 years ago

you have already killed the people who dont suffer from ostrich mentality in A.F.R.C and P.N.D.C times. So tell Mahama or take your gun again

• martins 10 years ago

you should learn some of you on here it is not political affiliation is the best but we need all to grow up for Ghana to get some where better .

• martins 10 years ago

when will politics get off from every thing which is brought to notice by any one else from the other party which you do not belong to , that is bad it won't help Ghana move .

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ, 10 years ago

DEAR H.E.FORMER PRESIDENT OF GHANA DR.DR.JERRY JOHN RAWLINGS,

THIS IS TO RESPECTFULLY SEND MESSAGE OF GOODWILL, GOOD SUCCESS, CONGRATULATIONS AND GOD BLESSING TO BOTH H.E.FORMER PRESIDENT RAWLINGS AND UNIVERSITY OF DEVELOP ...

• Gladstone Dzidzo 10 years ago

Thank you JJ. You are the best. You came for it, you fought for it, now that you are there no more our corrupt mentality and under the table deals are taking the lead. Yes we can fight corruption. Yes we can!

• DOME HOTEL2 10 years ago

CONGRATS JJ,YOU DESERVE THIS MORE THAN ANY ONE ELSE.YOU GAMBLED YOUR LIFE, YOUR FAMILY , FRIENDS AND RELATIVES FOR THOSE WHO CAME AFTER YOU AND MOTHER GHANA.YOUR ACTIONS REALY ,REALY AVERTED OR DEFUSED A POTENTIAL CIVIL STRIF ...

• KOFI OWUSU 10 years ago

Oh Papa j paoooo.
    Talk to your people NDC. Stop stealing the
    Money. Lot and share not good for nation.

• Agonaba 10 years ago

" While you point your fingers someone else is judging you" from "Could You Be Loved" by Bob Marley & The Wailers

• KOBINA KWENTSIR 10 years ago

those of us who lived through June 04, 1979,December 31, 1981 and beyond has his or her opinion about JJ. His report card is not just good. From being a Dictator, Killer(Army Officers/Judges), disappearance of innocents civil ...

• Osamanba 10 years ago

Hello listen Jerry; Who is responsible for the cleaning up the mess?Even the police has the tendency of partaking in this potential nonsense.

• Osamanba 10 years ago

I want to report such cases to the police but I see them as highway robbers.When I want to discuss it with politicians, they are eith.er too arrogants and have blood in their hand.They are all professional thieves

• KWAME, BELGIUM 10 years ago

I wish to know if the former mighty President of Ghana has anything to proof that there corruption in this present NDC government. The PPP can also tell us their experience about corruption in the country. We hear of corrupti ...

• bash juaben 10 years ago

is true I was In gh and I saw policemen taken pribe from a trotro driver and the passengers are not complaining not here in new York it will not happen.

• Adongo 10 years ago

CALL THEM BY NAME!!!COWARD

• Chicago guy 10 years ago

Jj crazy who steal more than jj

• Semankoka 10 years ago

IF THE GOVERNMENT CAN CLAIM OUR MONEY FROM WOYOME THEN THE INDIVIDUAL NOW CAN BE BOLD ENOUGH TO EXPOSE MORE.LEADERSHIP BY EXAMPLE ELSE YOU BECOME A MINORITY AND THEY WOULD RATHER RIDICULE YOU.

• joseph kow amissah saudi arabia 10 years ago

The thief's are telling Rawlings to stop what he is saying. JJ is clean indid, and make's him and Nkrumah the best leader's Ghana has ever produce.

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

"Rawlings was speaking Saturday at a Special Congregation of the University for Development Studies to confer an honorary degree on him..."Hope he wasn't conferring the degree on himself.

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

Yes. That is what has kept you in particular around for so long to spew your hypocritical lies about probity and accountability. Tell the people why your wife was disqualified in her presidential ambitions and her boast to ta ...

• Paa Kwesi Otoo 10 years ago

Did our Ghana has Law atall? and did we respect the Law atall? and dose the Law
    have an effect atall? and can i get a surport if i report a corrupt officer? then JJ say it lourd for we are ready to stand by you
    e

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

Dr. Rawlings, do you really think Ghanaian have any "Ostrich Mentality" as you suggest? Just take time and look around as see the kind of positive attitude of people in the streets, in the face of hardships as a result of you ...

• KOKI 10 years ago

A very good one there on the face of it, from Pres. J. J. A call to speak out against societal ills is a noble cause irrespective of where it's coming from. There's an added impetus if the call beams from the tunnel of a form ...

• AND CORRUPTION SON MAHAMA 10 years ago

HAHAHAHA J.J YOU ARE FATHER OF CORRUPTION AND YOUR SON CORRUPTION MAHAMA

• Osamanba 10 years ago

If you call ghanaians to demonstrate against corruption they show up in small numbers but if TB Joshua comes to Ghana people meet him in large numbers.Ghanaians can pull huge croud to celebrate valantine day but have no time ...

• Say the Truth 10 years ago

WHAT IS NEEDED MOST BU MOST GHANAIANS IS ACTION ACTION ACTION ESPECIALLY TO THE POLITICIANS WHO ARE IN CHARGE TO WEED OUT THE CORRUPTION BUT INCREASINGLY PARTAKAING IN IT IN A GRAND SCALE!!!!!

THE ACTION IS RATHER TO: VOTE ...

• George Amanieh 10 years ago

The fight against corruption is onerous task. If a politician is glaringly corrupt ordinary people complain, they would be required 2 produce an "animal" called evidence before their story is believed. But we all know dat evi ...