Kofi Annan slams ‘winner-takes-all’ syndrome

Read Comments Comments (64)

• MP 10 years ago

GREEDY PEOPLE!!!

• Guv 10 years ago

NOT TO SHARE BOOTY.

• Cambuuushoe 10 years ago

WE SHOULD DISABUSE OUR MINDS, KOFI ANNAN INCLUDED, OF THE NOTION THAT LEADERSHIP IS AN AVENUE TO RICHES. IF WE UNDERSTAND THAT LEADERSHIP IS ABOUT SERVICE, THEN THE IDEA OF WINNER AND LOSER DOESN'T COME IN AT ALL. WHAT WE SHO ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• WWW.FILMOVER.COM 10 years ago

Watch All Your UK & US Channels At WWW.FILMOVER.COM
    FILMOVER HAS ALL THE CHANNELS IN THE WORLD.

• mugu1 10 years ago

kofi should talk about the cheap sales of valuable ghana's properties like oil drill ship,ghana telecom,ghana airways,bank of ghana old coins ect.i hate that hipocrat and the cia,mosad mi5 agent kofi annan

• kaketonti 10 years ago

Just eyeing for presidency come 2016.

• mimi 10 years ago

You are a stupid guy, I don't even think you are a Ghanaian else you will think of the suffering people and understand what he is going to say.If elections are conducted with professionalism and intergrity the citizens are go ...

• ADRENALIN 10 years ago

EEII CAMBUUUSHOE, YOU ARE VERY INTELLIGENT. YOUR ANALYSIS IS GYEGYE. GOD BLESS

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

Politicians in African are blinded by greed for money and besides power intoxicated because there are no checks and balances in place. The only way to eradicate this winner- takes-it-all syndrome is to replace it with an All- ...

• venom 10 years ago

A funny call. Who finances political parties? This call can only make sense only when elections are state sponsored. Anything less than this your proposals will fall on hard rocks. But you know what cambuushoe has a grip of t ...

• Valentine Holywar 10 years ago

I am too disappointed with Koffi Annani's blame to African leaders after he has left the United Nations a post he would have used and influence to clean all the entire mess that was facing Africa with guys like Gaddaffi, Soma ...

• Nii Lante Okunka 10 years ago

Kofi Annan keeps on harping on this ridiculous notion of abandoning the so-called-winner-takes-all in African politics because no one with any common sense offered him,on a silver platter,the nomination as a candidate for Pre ...

• Kwaku 10 years ago

Where have you been uncle Kofi,Ghanaians want winners take all that is why our democracy is not working.They claim ideological do not allow sharing of power,that is what we are told.That is pickpockets mindset.

• krikri 10 years ago

They are all THIEVES AND LOOTERS. Kufour epitomised it all. If they are not why should some Ghanaians be paid GREEDILY AND GARGANTUALLY under a so-called ARTICLE 71 OFFICE HOLDERS while others are cheated and squeezed under a ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

The word Slam is a New word for Ghanian journalist always in their
    mouth.Kofi Annan is not fighting with
    anybody but your actions.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

You are just right and I have my reservations about this piece.

• kofi yesu 10 years ago

Yes Sir, the man hasn't said these things written in this article yet...It has be mentioned a few times Kofi Annan will say this, i don't get the reason why people are jubilating what Mr Annan has not mention....What kind of ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

United we stand Devided we fall,thank
    you Kofi Annan.ls a food for the thought.

• Toner and Ink cartridge refill 10 years ago

Refill all your Ink and Toner cartridges at Abeka at affordable price.
    Call 0244523451

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

He once made a statement on the contrary and I would be looking out for his actual speech.

Leaders are elected to serve all irrespective of who voted for them, however, elections would be useless if the peoples's choice i ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

The subject should read... I DOUBT HE WOULD SAY THAT.

• kpalpo onukpa 10 years ago

Kofi Annan, dont impose this political oppression on Ghanaians. Democracy is competition of ideas. Let electorate decide who they like best. Same time we need a robust opposition to keep them in check. We don't need the oppos ...

• SAMMY 10 years ago

ANY HONEST GHANAIAN WOULD AGREE THAT WE OWE OUR MEAGRE DEVELOPMENT TO SOCIALISM UNDER NKRUMAH. THE POST-NKRUMAH CURRENT POLITICAL/ECONOMIC SYSTEM, SO-CALLED DEMOCRATIC CAPITALISM HAS FAILED US WITH A FEW GHANAIANS ENJOYING O ...

• Dhuruwah 10 years ago

Sammy, I don't care what you or anybody calls it. What Kwame Nkrumah did was what we need today. The results are still evident. That is why HE will never die. When you look at those idiots(mate-meho) that worked so hard to ri ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Little Johnny and his grandfather have gone fishing. After a while grandpa gets thirsty and opens up his cooler for some beer. Little Johnny asks, "Grandpa can I have some beer too?"
    "Can you stick your penis in your asshole ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

You did not explain the your parable.

LITTLE JOHNNY WON THE COOKIES AND DID NOT GET A DAMN ABOUT HIS GRANDPA.
    ITS THE SAME THING THE POLITICAL PARTIES IN AFRICA DO.
    ONCE THEY WIN,THEY TELL THEIR DEFEATED OPPONENT TO FUCK THEMSELVES.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Yes, Prince.. but don't you think the loser must spend time to reorganize and try and win next time instead of wanting to jump in and share the bounty.

In fact, I don't think those loans, grants and Aid are bounties. Thes ...

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

This man has nothing original to say. Africa has been plagued with military coups for so long. You do not conduct perfect election on first or5th attempt. It is a learning process. However perfect the election, under kofi's p ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Look, Mr. former UN boss, Ghana and African in general, is not making any headway in their democratic governance due to the absence: 1. The absence of Rule of law. 2. Dishonest citizens. 3. Tribal politics.

If we can es ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

It was different under K4 as NDC understood democracy and being in opposition. They played by the rules. But not NPP. It must be their way or the high way . NPP " we no go gree' NPP has too many hooligans

• Tibaa 10 years ago

I agree with Busumuru on the evils of a "winner takes all" mentality, BUT I disagree with him that this debacle could still be solved within the interstices of electoral democracy, as we now know it.

In Ghana, and to some ...

• OP/LONDON 10 years ago

MR ANNAN IF YOU THINK YOU KNOW BETTER STEP INTO THE RING AND STOP MAKING NOISE BEHIND OUTSIDE IT

• danso 10 years ago

Kwasea panyin. African politics is far below Kofi Annan. You are living in London and yet talking by heart. Kwasea paa. You are not qualified to comment on this forum. Go to your cleaning job. ABOA

• ADRENALIN 10 years ago

OH AM SAD. I DON,T AGREE WITH KOFI ANNAN BUT WILL NEVER ON EARTH INSULT THIS NOBLE MAN. DANSO BOW YOUR HEAD IN SHAME.HAVE YOUR FATHER BEING A UN SECRETARY GENERAL BEFORE? SHAME ON YOU

• K.Y. Asante 10 years ago

What's wrong with this Kofi Annan? Who appointed him spokesperson on national affairs?

• danso 10 years ago

Who also gave you the right to criticize Mr Annan. I do not blame you. i blame ghanaweb for allowing airheads like you to post on this forum. Kwasea sem

• KEN 10 years ago

WINNER TAKE ALL IS LIKE WOFA ASE INHERITANCE. WHERE WILL IT STOP AND RESTARTED WITH WHO???
    SOME PPL DON CHOP NYAFUNAYFU LIKE K4 THEN COZ THEY LOST, WINNER TAKE ALL NO GUD. MASA KOFI U FOR COME FAR EARLIER THAN NOW.

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

Thats not the way to go, but in Africa it works well for us. If you appoint someone from the otherside, it means you don't have the men. If even a project from the previous govt is continued, it means you don't have ideas. Yo ...

• Okponglo Guy 10 years ago

I have argued this over and over and voices across the continent have as well. Abolish the presidency. We don't need presidents. Let's have a prime minister who was himself an elected representative

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

You will not know how to handle that complex confusing system and mind you it has many unseen problems.
    The President is an elected representative in our current system.
    In Britain the PM is both an MP and PM. This will mak ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

WHERE WERE ALL THESE MEN IN AFRICA'S POLITCAL,ECONOMIC AND SOCIALK CRISIS.

IT IS TIME FOR THEM TO LIVE AMONGST THE PEOPLE AND TO ADVISE THEM ON POLITICAL ISSUES AFECTING THE CONTINENT.

• km agyin 10 years ago

It gladdens my hearty to see our most internationally respected son of Ghana adding his voice to this topic. We Africans must find the best way to practice democracy. The winner takes all system is counter productive in Afric ...

• Pkalific 10 years ago

western Stooge

• Jawala Martin 10 years ago

Kofi why are you talking now? after being dead all these years? You have been out of commission almost some time now and why are you talking now?
    We needed you long time ago. An please stop advocating for the GMOs. Not good ...

• VAQ 10 years ago

WHEN ONE HAS INVESTED ALMOST ALL HIS LIFE'S SPAN IN A CIVIL SERVICE THE LAST THING ONE WANTS TO DO IS JUMP RIGHT AWAY IN TO ANOTHER FIRE. KOFI PAID HIS DUES IN LIFE AND AS SOON AS HIS SERVICE WAS OVER THE NPP WANTED TO RECRUI ...

NEXT TIME THE NPP WILL TRY TO SHARE YOUR GIRLFRIEND WITH YOU IF YOU LET THEM.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

It would be taboo and the gods will not forgive even if I do.

• NKWASEASEM 10 years ago

Thank you African statesman. Tell them.

• AK47 IS MY FUCKING ADDRESS ! 10 years ago

TEACH THEM HOW TO BE REAL LEADERS IN AFRICA . OUR LEADERS ARE NOTHING BUT DESTROYERS .

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

Demaara.........., nd Amen!Ogyamanase yi speaking nd babye from now,God bless u Oman Ghana!....from Samms!..

• mahama is corrupt,evil 2 the nation 10 years ago

HMMMMMMMMMMMM,NSEM PII,mahama GHANA FOR YOU CORRUPTION,CHOP CHOP,NDC YEN NI NKOAAAAAAAAAA,FOOLS

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

THEY WERE LUCKY TO BE APPOINTED TO HEAD INSTITUTIONS AND ORGANISATIONS AND WHAT DID HE CONTRIBUTE TO HIS NATION IN TIME OF HIS OFFICES-NOTHING.

IS HE NOT AWARE OF THE BROKEN INFRASTRUCTURE THAT ARE STILL IN SHAMBLES IN HIS ...

• joyce fomenya 10 years ago

It is a very good idea to eliminate a winner takes all syndrome so that we can all share the national cake together.

• osei kingsley, lagos 10 years ago

KOFI ANNAN SHOULD ADDRESS THE ISSUE OF THE JOURNALISTS WEAKNESS, OF SUBMITING THEMSELVES TO POLITICIANSG USING THEM TO SENSATIONALISE THER AMBITIONS.THE WRITE UPS IN THE MEDIA AGAINST THEIR OPONENTS TRIGGER TROUBLE.

• Enoch. O 10 years ago

I agree with Kofi. The best thing to do is for Africa to discard this imported so-called Democracy which is causing havoc all over the world wherever it is being practiced. Africa can improve on its democratic ways, starting ...

• KK 10 years ago

Enough to say winner takes all is not good. What are the options? lets not waste saying NO to "winner take all" methods. Let's start discussion on the viable options for progress. what are the options?

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Kofi Annan's sentiments echo those of Bishop emeritus Akwasi Sarpong.

You can now understand the rationale for Kwame Nkrumah's one-party state, and later Kutu Acheampong's no-party UNIGOV.

These, at least, were attempt ...

• Dhuruwah 10 years ago

Lets face it, today's African politicians are #1 Selfish, money hungry and are not statesmen. They go into politics to make money and to have the most bounty of women, period. They go overseas all the time but it never stri ...

• KUTRIKU 10 years ago

WHAT AFRICA NEEDS IS A STRONG CONSTITUTION THAT DOES NOT CONCENTRATE TOO MUCH POWER IN THE EXECUTIVE. ALSO THE POWERS OF THE ELECTORAL COMMISIONER MUST NOT BE ABSOLUTE BUT RATHER SUBJECTED TO CHECKS BY THE LEGISLATIVE.

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 10 years ago

As long as we have ignorant,arrogant college/university trained illiterates in politics,"the winner-takes -all" mentality is not going to go away anytime soon.People go into politics to make money,-politics is a goldmine,Ghan ...

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

If Kofi Annan of all people has kept his cool and said nothing after the Supreme Court Judges turned the petitioners case upside down, then why is he talking now about winner takes all? All kind-harted-patriotic citizens of G ...