Congratulations sir and more grease to your elbows.I am proud of you
PRINCE KWASI ADADE 12 years ago
GOD WILL NOT FORGIVE NANA ADDO IF HE GIVES UP THE LEADERSHIP OF THE NPP PARTY. HIS LEADERHIP WITH BAWUMIA IS EXCELLENT. NANA IS OUR POLITICAL MESSIAH!! WE WILL PATIENTLY WAIT FOR HIM TO COME AND LIBERATE US FROM OUR ECONOMIC OPPRESSORS.WE CAN'T PUT OUR TRUST IN THESE YOUNG NDC THIEVES (WITH NO WORK RECORD) WHO WANT TO LIVE LIKE KINGS OVERNIGHT, OWNING JETS, BIG MANSIONS, ROLLS ROYCE, DATING MODELS ETC. AT THE EXPENSE OF THE POOR. BEING A PRESIDENT REQUIRES THE USE OF BRAIN NOT BRAWN. A PRESIDENT DOES NOT "THROW" PICK AXE!!! WHO CAN DO THE JOB BETTER THAN NANA, AT THIS TIME IN OUR HISTORY, WHERE GREEDY CORRUPT , SHARP TEETH ROTTEN PLANK NDC SMALL BOYS, PARADING AS POLITICIANS, HAVE PLUNDERED OUR RESOURCES TO THE BONE, THAT OUR OIL ECONOMY INHERITED FROM THE GREAT KUFFOUR HAS HAD NO IMPACT ON THE LIVES OF THE ORDINARY CITIZENS OF OUR COUNTRY???? LONG LIVE GHANA!! LONG LIVE NANA ADDO. MORE GREASE TO YOUR ELBOWS!! EVERY THIEF IN GHANA, TODAY, IS SCARED OF BOLD AND MIGHTY NANA ADDO.
krikri 12 years ago
Are u talking about the cocaine sniffer who has surrounded himself with cocaine barons? Ghana is not ready to be renamed Cocaine Coast because that will be too dangerous
Frank Agyena-Karikari 12 years ago
You can congratulate him but corruption in Ghana is just alarming and unbearable. He should have hammered more on that. The only country that can beat Ghana on corruption in Africa is Nigeria. Even then, Ghana is taking over now.
Palogo 12 years ago
Kwasia Mpanyin so you want us to keep quite whiles you bankrupt the country.
Osei Yao 12 years ago
What did Agyeman -Dua need a Ph.D for? He has accomplished what he could already, he does not need Oxford or any college to confirm this to him. This complex for acclaim by foreigners must stop. There is nothing new in saying that corruption is universal. Who does not know this.
Swapna Guduru 12 years ago
You obviously do not know the main objective and benefit of research at PhD level - to add a body of knowledge to a field of study. If you are serious, you should look for his dissertation (What most Ghanaians call thesis) and immerse yourself for the knowledge added to the field of auditing and corruption fighting.
Akadu Mensema 12 years ago
Good!
Good!
Student Assessment 12 years ago
CAPITAL FOOL LIKE YOU
GHFUO, change ur thinking 12 years ago
ACCOUNTABILITY N TRANSPARENCY IN GOVT!
WE NEED CORRUPTION COURTS IN GH NOW!
WHY DID MHAMA GIVE AGGUDEY A PRESIDENTIAL PARDON? FOR WHAT? FOR HIM TO SAVE FACE AND NOT BE DISGRACED?
THIS FOOL WAS SPENDING MONEY THAT WASNT HIS ... read full comment
WHY DID MHAMA GIVE AGGUDEY A PRESIDENTIAL PARDON? FOR WHAT? FOR HIM TO SAVE FACE AND NOT BE DISGRACED?
THIS FOOL WAS SPENDING MONEY THAT WASNT HIS AND WOMANIZING WITH YOUNG LEGON FEMALES. WHERE IS THE MORALITY HERE?
THESE GIRLS COULD HAVE BEEN YOUR SIS TERS, DAUGHTER OR NIECE...YOU KNOW...
ALL THESE THINGS ARE HAPPENENING IN GH, AND YOU EXPECT ME TO SUPPORT GH TO GO TO BRASIL? CMON NOW...
LOOK AT BASIL? HEY HAVE CLAIMED THE MOST WCUPS IN HISTORY BCOS THEY INVESTED IN QUALITY SOCCER INFRSTRUCTURE, STADIUMS ETC.
GO TO ACCRA N KUAMSI STADIUMS N SEE GARGANTUAN DEGRADATION. YOUR SCOREBOARD DOSENT EVEN WORK, BUT U WANT TO GO TO WORLDCUP?
LOOK AT GH. YOU WANT TO GO TO WCUP, BUT LOOK AT YOUR SOCCER INFRSATRUCTURE? IS IT FAIR TO THE OTHER NATIONS IN AFRICA WHO HAVE INVESTED IN
BETTER SOCCER INFRASTRUCTURE, STADIUMS, LEAGUES ETC. TO STAY HOME FOR GH TO QUALIFY AND GO TO BRASIL? HELL NO!
HE WHO CLIMBS A GOOD TREE DESERVES SUPPORT....NOT VICE VERSA. LOOK AT HE QUALITY OF PLAYERS AA HAS INVITED FOR THE WCUP QUALIFIER VS EGYPT?
REALLY?..EVEN OLELE PAID 5000 DOLLARS FOR SELECTION. WAT IS OTOO, JORDAN AYEW, ADOMAH, FRIMPONG DOING HERE?
Now, if you were to open a textbook from years ago, you would have found that natural resources in abundance are a source of growth and wealth for
developing countries, or so it was supposed. Why not?
If you have oil, if you have diamonds, if you have gold and copper, can't these be used to help develop the country?
But if you turn to contemporary textbooks, the first chapter is liable to be about the resource curse, meaning that the revenues from foreign
investment in oil and gas and coal and copper get siphoned off in corruption. billions of dollars are siphoned off every year into THE private pockets of these so called CORRUPT DEMOCRATIC LEADERS.
WHAT A SHAME! There is a lack of transparency. There is a lack of accountability.
if you look at Chile, Peru, Indonesia, Malaysia, these are
countries that have been very successful in using their rich resources TO DEVELOP THEIR NATION. WHY CANT GHANAIAN GOVTS LEARN FROM THEM?
So the question is, how can resources be used to benefit broad economic and social development and avoid the corruption and authoritarian rule?
The key issue is always going to be the local population, the local leadership, the local press, and NGOs, non-governmental authorities that try
to promote openness and transparency. In 2010-2011, Ghana started to export significant quantities of oil.
Is this going to be the best thing that ever happened to Ghana or the worst thing that ever happened to Ghana?
The phenomenon called "Dutch Disease" is also part of the resource curse. THIS means that the exchange rate for the currency of
resource-rich countries becomes overvalued, and this hurts the exports of other industries.
WHAT THIS NDC GOVT IS DOING IS THIS. THEY HAVE DEVALUED THE CURRENCY, EXPORTING MORE OIL, RESOURCES AND STEALING THE MONIES INTO THEIR PRIVATE BANK ACCOUNTS.
Ghana is NOW like Haiti!!! There was only one airport in Haiti and when the disaster strucked,aid donors HAD it so hard to send humanitarian reliefs because the only one international airport
was destroyed. just imaginING if Ghana is not the same as Haiti??!! Building one international airport in Kumasi has turnED into tribal politics!!#
President John Dramani Mahama has added a whopping GHc15.6 BILLION DOLLARS to Ghana’s total public debt stock since being sworn into office as caretaker and substantive president within the period from July 2012 to August 2013.
This implies that President John Mahama has contracted a total of GHc15.6 BILLION DOLLARS of debt for Ghanaians since becoming the President of Ghana.
WHAT DO WE HAVE TO SHOW FOR ALL THIS DEBT? LOOK AT GH? SMELLY, DUSTY...OPEN GUTTERS I MEAN WHY? HOW? WHO VOTED FOR NDC? GO N CLAIM YOUR SHARE....PLUS A RISE INWATER, HYDRO TARRIFS ACROSS THE BOARD?
A CLASSIC CASE OF "LET THEM EAT CAKE"...
GHPPL, RISE UP AND CLAIM YOUR SHARE!
Mr Paul Victor Obeng, has made a strong case for the need to ensure that increasing access to the Internet does not lead to the importation of alien cultures.
“While increasing access to the Internet would improve the socio-economic circumstances, its negative influences call for a concerted effort to counter the bad influence.
Increasing access should not lead us to the importation of attitudes that are incompatible with our social norms,” he said.
WAT IS PV'S PROBLEM? WESTERN NATIONS LIKE CANADA, AMERICA, BRITAIN, GERMANY ETC ALL HAVE INTERNET TECHNOLOGY READILY AVAILABLE FOR THEIR CITISENS. HAS IT IMPACTED THEIR CULTURE NEGATIVELY?
EVEN BEFORE INTERNET, WE WERE SELLING/THROWING AWAY OUR CULTURE. WAT HAPPENS AT INDEPENDENCE MARCHES IN GH, 6 MARCH. DO WE EVEN POUR LIBATION ANYMORE?
WE PUT OUR KIDS IN THE BURNING SUN TO BLACKEN N FAINT. KIDS WE CANT EVEN GIVE FREE BASIC EDUCATION TO. WHILES, WE WALLOW IN THE ABJECTIVITY OF THE BIBLE N KORAN..FOOLS!
GAMBIA, CONGRATULATION FOR TAKING A BOLD STEP ON YOUR DECISION TO LEAVE THE COMMONWEALTH. I SALUTE YOU! GH GOVT, DO YOU HAVE THE BALLS TO DO SO?
SHAME ON OUR USELESS, TOOTHLESS SO CALLED LEADERS, ELDERS, MINISTERS, PRESIDENTS. SHAME ON YOU AND TO YOU ALL WHO HAVE EMBARKED ON STEALING.
I WISH EARLY DEATH AND A LIFE RIDDLED WITH PAINFUL DISEASES ON ALL OF YOU. YOU KNOW WHO ARE....
de 12 years ago
While this fact may be very true, I want to believe that the fact was not lost on Dr Dua Agyeman in his research that it is the MAGNITUDE of this canker(corruption) that distinguishes one country from another. The day-light robbery that gov't has been visiting on Ghanaians is not the same everywhere.
ADWEN 12 years ago
I am quite amazed that people like Dua Agyemang were all at the Auditor-General OUTFIT IN Ghana yet, the Auditor-General's outfit did not result in any significant influence on process improvement, corruption, fraud, etc.
It ... read full comment
I am quite amazed that people like Dua Agyemang were all at the Auditor-General OUTFIT IN Ghana yet, the Auditor-General's outfit did not result in any significant influence on process improvement, corruption, fraud, etc.
It seems hew was more concerned with academic achievements than practicalities considering his background. He lacked industry experience, hence his inability to understand the ramifications of fighting corruption in the real world.
ACA 12 years ago
You should not be amazed. Just Google Warnborough College and will find out all you need to know! Obroni fraud, this time!
Say the TRUTH 12 years ago
IF U DON'T KNOW IT WAS DURING THE AUDITOR GENERAL OF GHANA'S OFFICE WAS ABLE TO DO CLEAR ALL DELAYED AUDITING OF GHANA GOVERNMENT INSTITUTIONS, GOT THE AUDITING TO CURRENT YEARS, MOST EFFECTIVELY TIMELY TO EXPOSE ALL THE CORRUPT PAST DEALS & CURRENT CORRUPT DEALS - IF YOU DON'T KNOW!!!
WHEN HE IS INTRENATIONALLY RECOGNIZED AND PERFORMED WELL WHEN APPOINTED THE AUDITOR GENERAL...BRINGING AUDITING OF GOVERNMENT GHANA INSTITUTIONS EFFECTIVELY AND TIMELY...NDC NEVER LIKED HIM FOR THE EXPOSURE OF ALL THEIR SHADDY AND CORRUPT DEALS IN THEIR GOVERNANCE!!!!!
THEY TRIED THROUGH MILLS ADMINISTRATION TO MAHAMA'S ADMINISTRATION TO DEPRIVE HIM OF HIS CONSTITUTIONAL ENTITLEMENTS AS RETIRED AUDITOR GENERAL (ENSHRINED IN THE CONSTITUTION) THE NDC GOVERNMENT HAVING LOST ALL COURT CASES ON THAT UP TO THE SUPREME COURT JUDGMENT!!!!! (I DOUBT IF THEY HAVE EVEN STARTED PAYING FOR HIS ENTITLEMENT AS THE COURTS ORDERED).
WHAT A SHAME AND CALIBER OF NATIONAL LEADERS WE HAVE NOW IN CHARGE OF THE AFFAIRS OF THE NATION
Pelicles 12 years ago
It is an absolute fact that no country is free from corruption but with good statutes in place, corruption can be minimized. Corruption is part of humanity and as such as, tough laws and honesty from citizens of any nation can put corrupt practices on check. The situation in Ghana is quite opposite. While most nations uphold the rule of law and their citizens exhibiting sense of honesty, we are dishonest and disrespect the rule of law so, how can we put corruption on check?
Dr. Dua Agyeman, what is your footprints in Ghana when it comes to fighting corruption? Absolutely nothing to show. Ghana is sinking due to people like this man. Look, do not get me wrong. Our educated elite are the ones destroying Ghana. They are nothing but thieves. If an armed robber goes on the rampage, we cry but our educated elite are more than a category 10 hurricane. Their act is what is wrecking havoc on the entire nation with no end in site. They are a destructive force that is equal to none. Imagine what they did as far as payment of judgment debt is concern.
Black people go to school to learn how to become corrupt. Yes that is my opinion but it is a bold face fact.
Peepe 12 years ago
Please writer choose a relevant topic for your article. Such titles are very provocative and misleading. Yes authors choose topics that are catchy. On the same token it should reflect the theme of the article.
Audit Service Is Broke’
Published on October 3, 2013
Richard Quartey – Auditor General
The Auditor-General, Richard Quartey has disclosed that his outfit is unable to meet its target in terms of auditing public fina ... read full comment
Audit Service Is Broke’
The Auditor-General, Richard Quartey has disclosed that his outfit is unable to meet its target in terms of auditing public financial management institutions annually due to financial constraints.
According to him, due to financial limitations, the Audit Service covers 70 percent of its entire audit annually.
The Auditor-General made this disclosure when he delivered a speech at the Service’s 4th Annual Accountability lectures under the theme, “Public Ethics and Public Trust-Keystones to Good Governance and Accountability” in Accra.
The well-attended event was chaired by Margaret Welbourne, a court of Appeal judge.
The speakers included Nene Abayateye Amegatcher, President of the Ghana Bar Association (GBA), Benjamin Kunbour, Majority leader and a representative of CDD-Ghana.
Inadequate financial resources and the untimely release of funds, he said, have prevented the service from discharging its constitutional mandate of auditing the management of public resources in a timely manner as expected of them by June 30th each year.
Commenting on the challenges facing workers in the service, Mr. Quartey stated that “many times my staff use their own monies from their salaries to pay for their accommodation so that they would not rely on the auditee for any financial or logistic assistance that might impair their independence and judgment. This way they risk bringing the integrity of the product of their work into disrepute.”
The personal expenditure might not be refunded to the staff if the Ministry of Finance does not release budget funds under Compensation of Employees or Goods and Services to them, according to him.
“If this cashless situation persists for too long, I do not know what will happen. We shall be at risk,” he added.
If the constraints are recognized by government and institutions, it would help save money for the country, address the inefficiencies in the public financial management fabric and promote good governance, accountability and public trust, he observed.
Mr. Quartey pointed out that irregularities or acts of financial indiscipline highlighted in the various Auditor-General’s report to Parliament show the extent of deviation from or disregard for the tenets of laws, rules and regulations.
As a result of this, public confidence and public trust in the ability of elected and appointed public officials and employees have been undermined.
The loss of confidence and trust, he noted, has raised ethical issues and manifested itself in the rising number of advocacy.
He noted that other pressure groups are demanding transparency and accountability from public officials and public sector institutions.
Public trust and good governance could be sustained if the Audit Service is provided with organizational independence, sufficient funding, objective staff, and professional standards.
“We appreciate the work and role of the Public Accounts Committee of Parliament (PAC) because it has served to amplify the visibility of the Auditor-General and Audit Service. We shall continue to collaborate with the PAC to secure public trust in Ghana’s financial accountability process.”
Touching on professionalism, GBA President, Nene Amegatcher, asked the Audit service to be gatekeepers of the fiscal policies of Ghana to lead the crusade on rule of law.
He said they could do this by allowing the law to reign supreme through enforcing laid down rules and procedures, ensuring transparency in their work and holding public officials to render account without fear or favour.
Dr. Benjamin Kunbuor, Majority Leader, expressed the hope that public office holders or politicians who are engaged in corrupt activities would change in future.
The Majority leader, who observed that the level of consciousness to hold public holders accountable had heighted, predicted that “office holders in the next 10 years must be courageous persons or clever fools to engage in corrupt activities because they would end up in jail.
KOFI 12 years ago
A useful conclusion that emerged from Dr. Dua Agyeman’s research on corruption issues was that corruption is a symptom of deep-seated and fundamental economic, political and institutional weaknesses and shortcomings in a country. It said that no country, however democratic, is free from corruption. This social phenomenon touches government officials, politicians, business executives, opinion leaders and journalists alike. Corruption destroys national economies, undermines social stability and erodes public trust. Corruption lowers tax revenues, inflates costs of public services and distorts allocation of resources in the private sector.
OPANIN KWAKU ATTA 12 years ago
WE KNOW NO COUNTRY IS FREE FROM CORRUPTION,BUT IN SOME COUNTRIES,WHEN YOU ARE CAUGHT,YOU KNOW YOUR PUNISHMENT IN THE COURT OF LAW NOT IN GHANA.MAN WITH PHD WHAT IS YOUR SOLUTION TO THIS CANCER?
EZEKIEL 12 years ago
Very true BUT how a country deals with the AUDITORY REPORT makes the difference in respect of the RULE of LAW !! Congrats!!
Yankeeman 12 years ago
This man has been aiding and abetting corruption since time immemorial hence the decision to go and perfect it in PHD to become corruption consultant.Wast leaders.
Asamoah-Boakye 12 years ago
Africans especially Ghanaians and Nigerians will sell their mothers for fake Qualifications. If a former Auditor General can be fooled with such a fake qualification may God help us because we will always be going backward.
UK Chartered Accountant 12 years ago
Kwasea, I wonder who made this guy an Auditor General?
Kool 12 years ago
Mr former Auditor General, you are ridiculing yourself. Do you really need this so called PhD. Oh Ghanaians when are we going to be street wise?
Mr BA, MA PhD MINT, KWASEA, FUFUO 12 years ago
Congrats welcome to fake world
Oklu 12 years ago
Are you sure you know what you are saying, Papa Book-Long
MARCUS AMPADU 12 years ago
Set up an NGO to fight corruption in Ghana.
francis 12 years ago
Make audit service an independent body.Auditor-General should not be appointed by the president.
GOD WILL NOT FORGIVE NANA ADDO IF HE GIVES UP THE LEADERSHIP OF THE NPP PARTY. HIS LEADERHIP WITH BAWUMIA IS EXCELLENT. NANA IS OUR POLITICAL MESSIAH!! WE WILL PATIENTLY WAIT FOR HIM TO COME AND LIBERATE US FROM OUR ECONOMIC ...
You can congratulate him but corruption in Ghana is just alarming and unbearable. He should have hammered more on that. The only country that can beat Ghana on corruption in Africa is Nigeria. Even then, Ghana is taking over ...
What did Agyeman -Dua need a Ph.D for? He has accomplished what he could already, he does not need Oxford or any college to confirm this to him. This complex for acclaim by foreigners must stop. There is nothing new in saying ...
You obviously do not know the main objective and benefit of research at PhD level - to add a body of knowledge to a field of study. If you are serious, you should look for his dissertation (What most Ghanaians call thesis) an ...
Good!
CAPITAL FOOL LIKE YOU
THIS FOOL WAS SPENDING MONEY THAT WASNT HIS ...
While this fact may be very true, I want to believe that the fact was not lost on Dr Dua Agyeman in his research that it is the MAGNITUDE of this canker(corruption) that distinguishes one country from another. The day-light r ...
It ...
IF U DON'T KNOW IT WAS DURING THE AUDITOR GENERAL OF GHANA'S OFFICE WAS ABLE TO DO CLEAR ALL DELAYED AUDITING OF GHANA GOVERNMENT INSTITUTIONS, GOT THE AUDITING TO CURRENT YEARS, MOST EFFECTIVELY TIMELY TO EXPOSE ALL THE COR ...
WHEN HE IS INTRENATIONALLY RECOGNIZED AND PERFORMED WELL WHEN APPOINTED THE AUDITOR GENERAL...BRINGING AUDITING OF GOVERNMENT GHANA INSTITUTIONS EFFECTIVELY AND TIMELY...NDC NEVER LIKED HIM FOR THE EXPOSURE OF ALL THEIR SHADD ...
It is an absolute fact that no country is free from corruption but with good statutes in place, corruption can be minimized. Corruption is part of humanity and as such as, tough laws and honesty from citizens of any nation c ...
Audit Service Is Broke’
The Auditor-General, Richard Quartey has disclosed that his outfit is unable to meet its target in terms of auditing public fina ...
A useful conclusion that emerged from Dr. Dua Agyeman’s research on corruption issues was that corruption is a symptom of deep-seated and fundamental economic, political and institutional weaknesses and shortcomings in a co ...