You are here: HomeNews2013 10 02Article 287690

Embattled Tobinco sacks 600 workers

Read Comments Comments (107)

• cha 10 years ago

Yes it serves Ghanaians right for not thinking twice before voting

• NOYA 10 years ago

Instead of making depts. like this well funded all this govt does is pay judgment debts and haphazard use of public funds.Wait and see how much will be spent on Kofi Awoonors funeral when the man stated in plain words that he ...

• Ghanani 10 years ago

If they are employed to manufacture toxins to kill us then the larger majority of Ghanaians are better off without them.
    At least when they are @ home there is hope for them to find new job. What if they were dead as a resul ...

• me 10 years ago

Its so sad that we are killing all our local companies because of politics. Please can we prove that anyone has died because of any Tobinco drug? What is the definition of fake drugs? Why have the not arrested Mr Tobbin? let ...

• messa 10 years ago

THAT THEY ARE SELLING FAKE STAFF AND POISON TO PEOPLE THEY MUST BE INVESTIGATED AND THE COMPANY MUST BE SHOT DOWN

• Homesense 10 years ago

I relate this FDA action SSNIT's, which landed Mr Aggudey in jail and heave a sigh of relieve that my favorite saying of President Obama is slowly showing up in Ghana - that Africa needs strong institutions rather than strong ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

ALL GHANA NEWS LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Sports TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• Chichichi 10 years ago

Your concerns about the private sector are misplaced. The FDA has done due diligence in determining the importation of fake drugs by this company. We do not need to wait for people to die before such companies are held accoun ...

• kukrudu 10 years ago

Can Tobinco just sack its employees? I suspect Tobinco does other 'exports' and imports. This is judged from the way Peace FM was defending him. In China, he would have been shot dead

• akyaa 10 years ago

move from Ghana n go and live in China. i think it will do u a lot of good. dunb

• Adom baby 10 years ago

I still do not understand this.
    The people have been asked to go home because the products are fake,
    I mean what were they doing with the fake meds.
    Why do they have to go home only after the annoucement

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

This reasoning of yours is very infantile. This is what a responsible government agency like the FDA must do to save the lives of Ghanaians from these wicked, unscrupulous business people. Good Job FDA!

• RO 10 years ago

Even the names TOBINCO and BLISS GVB already sound very questionable.
    It reminds me of a certain cinema some years ago. Hmmm!

• Adom baby 10 years ago

What has this got to do with the poor workers is he venting his anger on the poor workers.
    Please are there no labour laws in Ghana.
    Please do something for these poor workers

• jack 10 years ago

I think that you should think and think again. This is not blackmailing, this has nothing to do with the Government and finally it has nothing to do with any political party. They are importing fake and unwholesome drugs into ...

• adwoa 10 years ago

nobody is being killed. luks like u people do not knw wat ur saying. the real issue has to do wit re- registration n not fake drugs. the drugs r not fake because these soo called fda people have not conducted any tests on the ...

• adwoa 10 years ago

Ah it suddens my heart how fda has suceeded in brainwashing all of u into believing all these lies leveled against tobinco. can drugs whose registeration expired not long ago be considered as fake even when no tests ave been ...

• TOTO AFRICA 10 years ago

IMPORTERS OF FAKE AND EXPIRED COMMERCIAL DRUGS AND THEIR ACCOMPLICES, INCLUDING MEDICAL DOCTORS WHOSE BAD PRACTICES KILL THEIR PATIENTS, SHOULD BE MADE TO FACE CAPITAL PUNISHMENT (DEATH).

FAKE DRUGS AND BAD UNETHICAL MEDIC ...

• www.filmover.com 10 years ago

Watch All Your UK Channels At www.filmover.com

• Kwame 10 years ago

Every single Ghanaian life is more important than the profit this wicked man and his company will make from selling bad medication to us

• Okanta Otanka 10 years ago

Rubbish the food and drugs authority is not a political party. Get it in your pea-sized brain. Sacking 600 to save millions of Ghanaians from harmful drugs is the right thing to do fool.

• philip Quaicoe 10 years ago

i petty u , bcos you dont no what u are saying, as the bible said lack of knowledge my people perish so as Ghana will perish with this wicked , heartless and shameful FDA and government in power. We are all waiting for 2016

• Kwesi Arthur. 10 years ago

Philip, why some of you behave like elephant has taken your brain because of Npp party.

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

Waiting for 2016 indeed! We will steal the election again. After all, Atuguba is there.

• Kwapia 10 years ago

It is apolitical party now. Dr Opuni is an orthopedic surgeon, an NDC pillar in the Ashanti region. This is nothing but pure politics my brother. Come to think of it, how would he know about fake drugs? Is he a pharmacist? Na ...

• Mensah 10 years ago

you animal, this nt abt politics ok? our life 1st.
    To some of ugly people like u everything in this country is abt NDC and NPP.

• baba Tunde 10 years ago

IS THE FDA SAYING THE DRUGS ARE FAKE OR UNSAFE? ALL THEY NEED TO DO IS TO ESTABLISH SAFETY, THEN PUT THE DRUGS BACK ON THE SHELVES. HOPE THIS IS NOT SOME NPP/NDC STUFF

• JOHN BULL 10 years ago

THE PEOPLE HAVE NO RIGHT TO BRING UN-REGISTERED, UNTESTED MEDICATION INTO GHANA? DO THEY DO IT TO ANY OTHER COUNTRY? WHY DON'T YOU LET THEM GIVE YOU PLENTY TO TAKE? AWUDOME IS NOT FULL.

• DAN 10 years ago

Ciphro is used in USA..Problem with Indian manufacturing, was in done in CLEAN factory..and are the medicines full power or water down!

• OGA yum yum 10 years ago

it saddens me profusely that 600 ghanaians are going to lose their source of living, nevertheless the fda did the right thing because had it kept mute on this significant issue, the company would have continued to engage in ...

• Kodjo 10 years ago

Baba if it isn't tested then it SHOULDN'T be on the market for sale to the Ghanaian populace. It is illegal pur and simple!!

• THAT'S HOW IT'S DONE 10 years ago

THIS SERIOUS MATTER,FOLKS

• WITH UNSAFE-MEDICINE 10 years ago

HOW DID THE MEDICINE COME TO THE COUNTRY ?

• Kwamina Andrews 10 years ago

So what is the penalty for this? Is that all the journalists could report? Many people have died thinking they were taking real medicine!

• MENSAH 10 years ago

What is the government doing now?
    WHY DON'T THEY SHUT DOWN TOBINCO?
    Of course,TOBINCO,a once proud GHANAIAN giant pharmaceutical company,that has soiled its name,due to its uncaring,inhumane attitude,in playing games,with t ...

• philip Quaicoe 10 years ago

no wonder you carry this name mensah, go and check your IQ to better your knowledge of understandong

• jagadu 10 years ago

what has the name mensah got to do with this. less you know MENSA is a society in USA with people with high IQs

• RED-SOKOTO-GUDARI 10 years ago

The management's hash reaction proves that indeed FDA has a cas so it is laying off workers to force government to overload his problem! He is in order words saying that even if my drugs are fake, I am providing work for Ghan ...

• Nii Armah 10 years ago

This Amu Tobin man is a fool from my stand, because from all I can see he has just thrown away his bargaining chip by laying off workers what would he do next. What every administration would do would be to immediately start ...

• YAA 10 years ago

YOU ARE THE BIGGEST FOOLAND NOT TOBIN WO YE ABOA PAA, KWASIA, IF THE DRUGS ARE TAKEN THEN WHERE IS MONEY TO PAY 600 WORKERS? DID YOU THINK ABOUT THAT FOOL. THIS LONG STATEMENT IS RUBBISH AND NO SENSE IN IT. THOES FOOLS AT FDA ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Nii Armah is right.
    Wait till the BOSS AT TOBINCO is found wanton and jailed.
    He has sold these FAKE,UNTESTED DRUGS for so long.
    If,even quality medications from the Western World,HAVE SIDE EFFECTS TO THEM,WHAT DO YOU THI ...

• akyaa 10 years ago

it amazes me how some of u can talk as if u dont think. if u had a replica of this man u call 'fool'in ur family u wud walk wit shoulders high. who told u he has laid off workers. i am a worker n ave not been laid off.u peopl ...

• Nii Ashitey 10 years ago

The company must realize that this a making of its own.They have breached laid down regulations which have the support of both local and international law.Before a drug is released to the public it must have gone through clin ...

• Peaceman 10 years ago

I view the statement by the CEO of TOBINCO that “Our drugs that were and are being destroyed by the FDA are not fake drugs”.
    They MUST bear FULL RESPONSIBILITY should that statement be confirmed as UNTRUE and ANY person ...

• ODIKRO 10 years ago

ALL U "GO ON STRIKE", LET US GO ON DEMONTRATION, LET US MARCH, WHERE ARE YOU? DID THE WORKERS HAVE ANY RIGHTS? WAS DUE PROCESS FOLLOWED? HAVE THEIR ENTITLEMENTS BEEN GIVEN TO THEM? GABBY, NOW YOU CAN SHOW US YOU CARE FOR GHAN ...

• KWAKY MANU 10 years ago

WHY IS IT THAT THESE NDC GOATS OF ANIMAL FARM ALL HAVE PEA SIZEDBRAINS? NO LOGOC IN ARGUMENTS. ONLY GO OUT TO SAY WHAT THE MASTER HAS CHARGED THEM TO SAY.NDC IS DESTROYING GHANAIAN ENTEPRENOURSHIP.

• Queen 10 years ago

I will rather Tobinco closes the whole Business than to kill even one person. Why are third world countries always doing KALABULE Business? Can we be truthful to ourselves? Investigations need to be conducted to find out if s ...

• 1ST QUEEN 10 years ago

Are we Serious in this country,should we let Tobinco go free without been punish,God forbid,becouse inocent children lives are involed.When David did evil in the eyes of GOD,GOD forgave him but GOD did punished him.So this ma ...

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

Even a week old child knowa Tobinco is playing politics with workers! They can shut the bloody factory down if they want. Fake drugs cost Ghanaian lives. Because the corrupted oldman Kyerematen Agyarko blew his jazz in their ...

You are right. If the medicines are indeed fake, they will be used only NDC members.

• Akwasi ( London) 10 years ago

It must be a criminal offence to import fake medicines into Ghana.If it is why haven't the FDA arrested arrested those responsible? Why haven't they had their licence withdrawn?
    Until the country treat these merchants ...

• GOODMAN - KUMASI 10 years ago

The executives of Tobinco are funny & childish.Is that the way to create employment?They are CHEATS!

• KKB 10 years ago

Bring him down NDC because he is successful ..enviousness and jealousy will kill you and destroy this country. Rawlings came and kill Mr Siaw and confisficated their asserts but the could not Nsawan Canary - run by 31 Dec..

• GOODMAN - KUMASI 10 years ago

So should we create employment through this dirty/ugly way by importing fake and uncertified drugs to kill people?Only to sack 600 workers because those drugs have been banned from the country.I would suggest the company is s ...

• Dallas 10 years ago

The CEO of TOBINCO should have been in prison and the company shut down by now if we had working institutions in Ghana. This is a criminal case that borders on endangering innocent people and the guy shouldn't have been left ...

TOBINCO MUST BE AN AKAN, POSSIBLY A KWAHU OR AN ASHANTI, PHARMACEUTICAL COMPANY.

THESE TWO AKAN TRIBES PEOPLE ARE ALWAYS IN THE RAT RACE FOR MONEY BY ANY MEANS POSSIBLE UNDER THE SUN.

THIS WICKED TOBINCO GUY OBVIOUSLY P ...

• Master 10 years ago

The owner of that company is Samuel Tobin. Tell me where you heard Tobin to be Akan name let alone it being Asante or Kwahu.

Stop thia tribal jealousy, it will not help you.

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

This is no simple matter. how did the drugs got cleared at the ports and went through customs and FDA at the ports. Everyone connected should be prosecuted as well. This is where EOCO, SFO, and Police service should be seen w ...

• Palogo 10 years ago

India has been known for fake drugs for a long time and I am surprised Ghanains are importing medicine from this country.

• DAN 10 years ago

its happen before on indian and china drugs

• FRESH DOE 10 years ago

If the 600 staff have hands in the fake drugs, fine. But sacking them on the mere fact of increasing unemployment in the country, then the company is wrong. If so every company can employ people to do illicit business by crea ...

• peace 10 years ago

how did this drugs went through customs now I know NDC IS IN CHARGE

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

Woaaa tie! Well, I think that Ghana is gradually awakening from our her slumber, by this revelation. Gone are the days when companies and quack doctors could just sell anything to anyone without approved licenses from FDA. Ho ...

TOBINCO MUST BE AN AKAN, POSSIBLY A KWAHU OR AN ASHANTI, PHARMACEUTICAL COMPANY.

THESE TWO AKAN TRIBES PEOPLE ARE ALWAYS IN THE RAT RACE FOR MONEY BY ANY MEANS POSSIBLE UNDER THE SUN.

THIS WICKED TOBINCO GUY OBVIOUSLY ...

• ENYONAM 10 years ago

FDB. name the drugs so that if we have already been given some by our medical doctors, we stop taking them immediately. why are you beating about
    the bush?

• Nii Armah 10 years ago

FDA put a list of certified Tobinco drugs on the net if what you have is from Tobinco and its not one of them masa sue now

• KWAW 10 years ago

DON'T BE EMOTIONAL ABOUT THIS BECAUSE HUMAN LIVES ARE PRECIOUS THAN THE MONEY SOME INDIVIDUALS ARE MAKING.
    TOBINCO SACKING THE WORKERS IS BLACKMAIL.

• phill 10 years ago

is that all you can do mpuni, collapsing
    jobs and making Ghanaian unemployed ,shame mpuni, shame mahama and his governement, we are all waiting for 2016

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

Phill, or whatever you call yourself, This is pure and irresponsible comment. So, to you so far as people are employed, the government must allow non-approved drugs to be sold in the country? Does this really make sense to yo ...

• GEORGE 10 years ago

THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OF FDA MUST BE SACK

• messa 10 years ago

that is selling illegal drugs to our people

• Abaabia 10 years ago

So the TOBINCO company wants Ghanians to take fake drugs and die in order to provide employment for some Ghanians? Indiscipline among Ghanians at it's best. People are not corrected for wrong doing, an acceptable norm. Stop p ...

• kusa 10 years ago

close this shit down..arrest the owners and management...

• ABU 10 years ago

Arrest the importers and MD to answer questions

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

Tobinco's license should be REVOKED!Don't the employees belong to any TUC Group ?? Take this silly firm to court BUT place the ASSETS of the FIRM FIRST on hold!!

• serious 10 years ago

That is what Ghana want high rate of uneployment God help our swnation

• Yaw Manu 10 years ago

SO Samuel Tobin,THIS IS HOW YOU MAKE YOUR MONEY HUH?
    GOD PUNISH YOU.

• Nana addo 10 years ago

this cud kill so many people,arrest and jail him.

• Ghanaba Kwateng, Afukruwa 10 years ago

The Company has operated for many years.Now that you have seen that its drugs are fake. When it was imported did you not see it at the airport? This what Rawlings did to ABC, and all the rich Executives after his selfish cou ...

• Kojo B., DC. 10 years ago

Some people will be behind it by all means.

• ROB 10 years ago

Even the names of the companies sound very questionable.Hmmm.

• Kojo B., DC. 10 years ago

This may not be entirely true because it's not all the drugs that have problems. Some and a lot have passed FDA test and are licensed. This is a very serious issue bcos lots of people will loss their jobs. Take heart Mr Tobin ...

• Dallas 10 years ago

Only seven drug are approved for TOBINCO. THE The list was contained in yesterday's news article on TOBINCO.

• kpakpil 10 years ago

ONE QUESTION: SHOULD THE GOVERNMENT ALLOW YOU TO IMPORT FAKE DRUGS AND EMPLOY PEOPLE TO HELP YOU KILL US?

WE NEED THINKING GHANAIANS.

• Ranger 10 years ago

Greedy NPP and the supporters are bound to destroy their own at the expense of profit. Kalabule nie! NPP nie!

• alone prophet of Jehovah 10 years ago

KILLING THE PEOPLE AND HAVUNG THEIR FUN AH MONEY IS THE ROOT OF ALL EVIL BY THE HOLY BOOK OF YESHUA....

• FUCKING FOOL 10 years ago

These are the people killing Ghanaians with all kinds of diseases.

• KWAME OWUSU 10 years ago

COMPLETELY NONSENSE TOSAY ITS POLITICAL, FOOD AND DRUGS BOARD WAS THERE B4 MAHAMA TO POWER

• Kwesi Arthur. 10 years ago

Police should invite the owner of the company Samuel tobin for murder.

• WHY SELL EXPIRED DRUGS 10 years ago

It may be true that the drugs are not fake but they have expired so why are you selling expired drugs to the public.

• King B 10 years ago

In the first place how did the medicines get to the markets? Is it not your duty to check the drugs before they even get to their warehouses? How do you recall medicines that have already been administered? I think the FDA sh ...

• shakara 10 years ago

The company probably paid their way to get
    the drugs on the market.unscrupulous elements in the FDA accepted abribes and looked the other way

• shakara 10 years ago

So whats the penalty for importing fake drugs?The FDA did the right thing. All the affected drugs should be removed from shelves of pharmacies/drug stores and hospitals.The company should be charged accordingly

• Kwame 10 years ago

Is it FAKE drugs or UNREGISTERED drugs?

• Ghanaman Original 10 years ago

That is the question. Is it fake or unregistered? To prove that a drug is fake, you have to compare it's spectroscopic data to standard data on file. I used to work at Eli Lilly in Indianapolis as a Technical Administrator in ...

• Dallas 10 years ago

Avoid TOBINCO drugs and stay healthy

• JH New York 10 years ago

A typical diabolical behavior of an African entrepreneur.
    If the medications are not fake,where's the evaluation reports.Or is the FDA trying to Sabotage your business b'cos you refused to "throatwash".Come out with what's ...

• SETHO 10 years ago

THIS MAN WAS AWARDED MARKETER OF THE YEAR BY CHARTERED INSTITUTE OF MARKETING FOR HIS VALUES AND CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE ECONOMY

• Omar E 10 years ago

Who is telling the truth and who is telling liars

• Fernando 10 years ago

Tobin,you wanted a fast buck and got busted,why vent your spleen on your poorly paid workers?

• Drugs Expert 10 years ago

Ghanaians are not animals. Even animals drugs are even tried & tested. Bring the drugs to Germany for testing and if it is fake JAILED the importers

• Amain 10 years ago

Why why is that nowadays every is either Ewes V Ashantis or NDC v NPP and all these stupid things. All drugs have to be tried & tested for years before usage, This is a simple things some fools can grab

• Ga Pure & Simply 10 years ago

Now every thing is either Ashanti Vs Ewes or NDC Vs NPP, There are other tribes and parties in Ghana too. Even some feel all Eastern Region people are Ashantis, We need to educate Ghanaians more

• NKK 10 years ago

This is Criminal matter. Knowingly sell dangerous not approve drugs that would kill Ghanaians. BNI should put these guys in jail and shut the company down. We will live life without jobs

• Adom baby 10 years ago

Still do not get it are we saying that only 7 out of all the products are rregistered?wow so how did they get unto the market.
    Anyway?That shows you how porous our registeration system is

• Erique Kwesi 10 years ago

Go to Taj investment to learn how to re-bag expired products, re-brand them with new dates and grease the palm of FDA guys, prepare fake tax invoice and off you go. They are good at this things.

• afrika 10 years ago

babylon company they will wrost in the hottest part of hell.