You are here: HomeNews2013 09 25Article 286923

PURC announces 78.9% increment in electricity tariffs

Read Comments Comments (37)

• ????????? (9)????????? 10 years ago

Better Ghana Agenda is on the run. Ye wuo, yewu. I'm out of word. NDC for we all.

• Fo. Kwaku - Tanyingbe 10 years ago

I LIVE IN EUROPE. ENERGY BILL IS ALREADY THREE TIMES THIS YEAR. FOR PETROL EVREYDAY AT THE PUMP STATION. WHATS YOUR BEEF.

• GIRLZ GIRLZ 10 years ago

THIS IS NOT TRUE. YOU ARE NOT THE ONLY PERSON LIVING IN EUROPE HERE.

I ALSO LIVE IN PARIS,FRANCE.

Then move to Ghana then where it is much cheaper.

• Dan Forson 10 years ago

LET US ALL ENJOY.

• kwami 10 years ago

i hope this would not lead to hikes in price of goods and services. And then higher inflation. And this may make Ghaania goods less competitive as compared to imported ones. Manufacturi companies which cant may have to lay o ...

• Homesense 10 years ago

Kwami, imagine you're a manufacturer or one trading in items which supply is dependent on electricity and/or water.
    How do you retain the price of your wares, as they were last month, with these increments?

So without que ...

• KK 10 years ago

Whether my product/service will be affected by electricity hike or not I will increase my prices. This is because I need to maintain my standard of living.

• OSEI TAWIA JUSTICE (USA). 10 years ago

Grown up, do you think NPP would have reduced the Utilities price if they were in power? The utility price is up all over the globe even in the USA.
    No where is cool.

• KK 10 years ago

When was the last time you had your light going off in the USA? What is the percentage of your income to your electricity bill? How much do you get paid in an hour in the USA?

• GIRLZ GIRLZ 10 years ago

GHANAIANS WOULD BE SEEN AS FOOLS IF THEY ACCEPT THIS STUPIDITY OF PURC.

IF IN COUNTRIES WHERE SERVICES ARE REGULAR AND EXCELLENT, TARIFS ARE NOT INCREASED BY MORE THAN 3 PERCENT AT ANY GIVEN MOMENT.

YOU PEOPLE MUST DEMO ...

• DS 10 years ago

When is the remaining 70% increase going to take place. Is it not 150% they were talking about. Better to know from now

• Nii Lartey 10 years ago

There's no country in the world that hasn't increase utilities. The NPP want to paralyze our economy and blame it on the NDC. Politics in this regards is bad.

• Tsatsu Tsikata LLB 10 years ago

Nii Lartey, you are a big fool. where did you get this fact from.

• JH New York 10 years ago

We're not against the increase but they magnitude or volume of the increase is the big question mark.
    Where do you live in the world?.
    In America for example,petrol tariff increase is in the region of between 2 -5 cents no ...

We're not against the increase but the magnitude or volume of the increase is the big question mark.
    Where do you live in the world?.
    In America for example,petrol tariff increase is in the region of between 2 -5 cents not ...

• another 10 years ago

,,, but this is a stupid expantiation...
    ""The commission in announcing the new tariffs said it took into consideration a number of factors, including irregular service provision.""

• Tsatsu Tsikata LLB 10 years ago

Fools are those who voted for chop make I chop.
    All this money is going for campaign for 2016.we go chop all Ghana Money

• AYARIGA 10 years ago

the painful infor is that the president and his numerous family are not going to be affected.

• JOHNSON 10 years ago

TTHESE INCREAMENTS ARE GOOD FOR GHANAIANS. MAHAMAH NEEDS MONEY TO STEAL BEFORE HE IS RETIRED BY GHANAIANS IN 2016. GHANAIANS ARE SHEEP AND THEY DESERVE INCREMENTS.
    GHANAIANS ARE FOOLS, PERIOD.

• Kofi K New Jersey 10 years ago

Are you saying increment of bills would take mahama's dumso? Please spare us this insult we think better than PURC. Tarriffs have been increased so many times it did not add any value to the services. Ask allotey n his cohor ...

• Anidasoo Asa 10 years ago

Is there any hope in this mysterious Mahama government?The economy itself is basaa.What is wrong with this government? Whatever it lays hands on become basaa.Increament of 78.9%,aba NDC.What have you use our motherland for? ...

• kyekyeku 10 years ago

useless country, I will remain in America for ever where leaders are humans,

• COMFORT 10 years ago

NDC go 4 d waterville money.........d GYEEDA money......d rlg money. ......d sada money........ide biiiiiii keke.........

• Pelicles 10 years ago

NDC is the best for the nation because the people are too stupid. Tweaa. Ghanaians deserve these hefty increments because they voted for the best of the two parties and NDC is giving them the real dose of reality.

• Say the Truth 10 years ago

YES THE PEOPLE OF GHANA PREFER THIS TYPE OF GOVERNANCE...PRETEND YOU SUBSIDIZING EVERYTHING FOR THEM.....SUSPEND THE INCREAMENTS FOR A WHILE AND SLAP THEM WITH ALMOST 100% INCREAMENT....HAAAANABA THAT'S WHAT THEY WANT!!!!!

• FREDERICK KOFI TAWIAH 10 years ago

PURC ARE THIEF

• kwame giffa 10 years ago

edey bee keke.Please twist
    yur mouth to make it complete when saying it

• KING 10 years ago

wores3 no k3k3

• ASEMPA NEYE 10 years ago

DOOM GLOOM AND CORRUPT PATHOLOGICAL EWE THIEVES

• Choper 10 years ago

Better Ghana and quality education indeed. Ghanaians a re paying for voting a clueless government into power.

• Whatever 10 years ago

These price increases here and there won't solve the economic challenges which has taking root in this country. Leaders must solve problems with precise bullets and not to compound it or excruciate it by demanding more

• tufguy 10 years ago

Where is Kwasi Pratt?

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 10 years ago

Do these people know how to run a country?

That's the one of the reasons I think any smart Class one guy in Ghana could be the Minister or president .Because all what you have to do is to increase things here and there. Do you need a Master's degree to be able to incr ...

• Nigel 10 years ago

WHEN SITUATIONS CHANGE,TACTIC SHOULD CHANGE.

Practise Lean Management in your business. Retain the best, sack the rest.

Even the Red Cross would do the same.

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 10 years ago

They have been talking about investing in wind power for many years now. Nothing has come of it. Even Ethiopia has done it.