Church is now teaching economics and wealth creation. The church leadership wants to teach that pervasiveness of poverty is the cause of human misery yet they take from the congregation moneys that could have eradicate their poverty without reciprocally giving to the communities and come to blame poverty on political leadership. Many churches are not even transparent enough to reveal the church's financial status to their own members who contributed. Commerce is the driving force behind many churches today twisting the mind of the people to believe that God will only bless them if they pay percentage of their income to the church, without firstly telling the truth that God is not interested in their money but rather the transformation that follows salvation. What are they saying, that ones destiny is fullfilled only when they have acquired wealth? Ok, won't these poor people's lives improve if the church fairly lifts the financial burden from their shoulders before the economics and wealth creation teachings can be effective? The paradox is, the people are poor and yet the church takes moneys from them how could they be rich?
OYOKOBA 12 years ago
This is an amazing display of wisdom and pragmatism, deeply rooted in applied religion. Thanks Osonoba. Unfortunately in our part of the world we have leaders who are enablers of the exploitation of the rural poor for short term private gain. This shameful group of people consists of politicians, bureaucrats and chiefs.
I hope they get to read this piece and use their brains instead of hopping from radio and tv stations to the other, as if that is all they were elected to do. Thanks!
Agyeman Jones 12 years ago
If you know how much the Catholic Church is spending on human development you cannot say this. Check the schools, hospitals,agric stations, and so many other interventions and compare that to the church collection which is given willingly to support these pragrammes anyway. We are not like some churches.
NON-ALIGNED 12 years ago
Cardinal Turkson, thank you for raising this issue on a world platform.
"In the abundance of water, the FOOL is thirsty".......................
It's a shame how all the governments that followed Osagyefo and Kutu Acheampong have run our share of the sale of our GOLD resources to less than 3%.........from a 100%???????
And it's very strange how we as a nation do not have gold reserves but, others who do not have gold resource do? (Think deeply about it, Ghanaians).
Our so-called leaders and their cronies domestically and outside the country (large corporate entities), have collaborated to rape our dear nation of its rich natural resources under the guise of globalization.
We Africans have bought into this 'gobblerization' crap and been made to believe the world is now a global village..................If that is the case why is international trade not dictated by the entire global villagers but, rather by the few? (Please think deeply about it).
Moving on.......mining has rather devastated our rural areas, with our lands and rivers polluted with cyanide and many other chemicals by the large foreign companies - whilst our so-called leaders stay mute!
But are quick to attack our citizens.....calling their activities as galamsey? Why not rather create opportunities and monitor their activities for their own benefit?
OUR people should rather benefit the most from OUR land, not foreigners who seem to be constantly in bed with some greedy/selfish chiefs and politicians.
GOD BLESS GHANA!
AFRICAN FOREVER!
Yeboah 12 years ago
Our leaders; Rawlings, Kufour, Mahama and their ministers just DON'T CARE. And they don't have the intelligence to learn also.
FRESH DOE 12 years ago
This country we call Ghana has got no plan or system that leads the way. So anybody can go the way they wanted.
Can you go and stand on top of Kaneshie or Circle over- pass in Accra, look down and see how people are walkin ... read full comment
This country we call Ghana has got no plan or system that leads the way. So anybody can go the way they wanted.
Can you go and stand on top of Kaneshie or Circle over- pass in Accra, look down and see how people are walking? You can realise the criss-cross or no direction pattern of pedestrians going about. That is how Ghana is patterned.
Well, go to London or any developed nation, even the way people walk as pedestrians is patterned and you go to their systems and plan, you could see they are well laid down.
Unless, you leaders of our country sit down, even the Chinese, who in 1957 were no where near Gh can come and run as down.
KWAME, BELGIUM 12 years ago
Mr. Cardinal, are you now a mining expert or what? Speak about the abuse, stealing, corruption, homosexuality within the Church and stop meddling in politics.
PHILTY McNASTY 12 years ago
The Cardinal was given a specific assignment to speak on a specific topic, does it mean he has to constrain himself to your narrow frame. I doubt you even read the whole article.
Learn to criticize responsibly, you are ta ... read full comment
The Cardinal was given a specific assignment to speak on a specific topic, does it mean he has to constrain himself to your narrow frame. I doubt you even read the whole article.
Learn to criticize responsibly, you are talking as if you would have only paid attention to him if he had talked about your references. Even there, you would have found only faults. W'agyimi papaapa, Kwame. Go wey you.
Explorer 12 years ago
We would like to think that our concepts have biblical foundations, so what has happened to the fact that God populated our garden with fruit trees. With enough fruit trees, the average person will not go hungry, will have enough wood to build houses and will be doing the will of God.
Kwame 12 years ago
Economy of Socioeconomic Retardation is what we shall call the economic advise and policies that the Breton Woods Institutions and the west lay down as a road map for other countries whose leaders they do not like or races they hate.
A case in point is that of Ghana. In 1965 we have industries in the vehicle assembling, electronic, household electrical appliances, sugar, matches and you name it. We had a state food production and distribution company.
Some people in NATO countries thought that our socioeconomic advancement will let us leave them behind, thus they did all what exist at their disposal to send us back to the stone age.
Today Ghana can not produce common matches and toothpick and has to import them.
The mineral extraction countries from the west are not interested in the well being of people living in areas they operate. Obuasi and Akwetia are examples, that after many years of taking gold and diamond from the soil of the two towns there is nothing to show for it. Akwetia and Obuasi still remain a petty sight to see, which let tears flow from the eyes of any patriotic Ghanaian.
We have been writing about the petty sight of mining towns on the net for sometime now and it look like what is hidden from the old Levis has been revealed to the young infidel.
Church is now teaching economics and wealth creation. The church leadership wants to teach that pervasiveness of poverty is the cause of human misery yet they take from the congregation moneys that could have eradicate their ...
This is an amazing display of wisdom and pragmatism, deeply rooted in applied religion. Thanks Osonoba. Unfortunately in our part of the world we have leaders who are enablers of the exploitation of the rural poor for short t ...
If you know how much the Catholic Church is spending on human development you cannot say this. Check the schools, hospitals,agric stations, and so many other interventions and compare that to the church collection which is gi ...
It's a shame how all the governments that followed Osagyefo and Kutu Acheam ...
Can you go and stand on top of Kaneshie or Circle over- pass in Accra, look down and see how people are walkin ...
Learn to criticize responsibly, you are ta ...
We would like to think that our concepts have biblical foundations, so what has happened to the fact that God populated our garden with fruit trees. With enough fruit trees, the average person will not go hungry, will have en ...
Economy of Socioeconomic Retardation is what we shall call the economic advise and policies that the Breton Woods Institutions and the west lay down as a road map for other countries whose leaders they do not like or races th ...
Very thoughtful.