You are here: HomeNews2013 09 18Article 286005

University Education or Football: Choose One

Read Comments Comments (35)

• William Hanson 10 years ago

This is not 1980s. You can still play football and earn your degree by online.

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Whatever the initial plan, has theJHS/SHS system succeeded in transforming education and teaching for our children This is the heart of your post . We cannot all be UNIVERSITY graduates so where can we be employed Agricultur ...

• Papa Kwesi Koomson 10 years ago

This a very good article. The writer has a good understanding of the Ghanaian educational system and has clearly shown that you must follow your heart to do what you love best!

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A married man was having an affair with his secretary who is a student at the University of Cape Coast.
    One day they went to her place and made love all afternoon.
    Exhausted, they fell asleep and woke up at 8 PM.
    The man h ...

• kay 10 years ago

The JHS, Primary and even Early Childhood Centers are filled with Graduate Teachers. All teachers from training colleges are warded Diploma. About 98% of pupil teachers as you may see them have been upgraded through distance ...

• kay 10 years ago

The JHS, Primary and even Early Childhood Centers are filled with Graduate Teachers. All teachers from training colleges are warded Diploma. About 98% of pupil teachers as you may see them have been upgraded through distance ...

• Gawuga 10 years ago

Education is meant for job market and self-development too. Whatever decision one takes there is good side and dark side of one's decision making. If I have the football talent to play international level, I would choose foot ...

• Gawuga 10 years ago

Education = civilisation

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

WE HAVE TONS OF NATURAL RESOURCES IN GH THAT THE WORLD NEEDS. THE KIDS OF GH SHOULD BE OUR NUMBER 1 PRIORITY FOR A BETTER GH TOMORROW. FREDERICO MAYOR, UNESCO SEC. GENERAL ONCE SAID.THAT THE "LEVEL OF EDUCATION OF THE OVERALL ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

The whole thing boils down to "bad leadership and hard choice". People are forced to make hard and uncompromising choice due to the current situation in Ghana. We have leaders who are absolutely, clueless and crass idiots. ...

• T'pau 10 years ago

Primary and Junior High schools must be taught by university graduates. This will significantly improve the quality of education and at the same time reduce graduate unemployment.

It's about time current primary school tea ...

• Nii 10 years ago

Unfortunately most of the graduates are not willing to teach that is why some of them are still unemployed.

• Wahabu 10 years ago

It is sad that people always try to point figures at the new educational system as the cause of the falling standards of education in Ghana today. Sweet stories are told about the old educational system as if the said old sys ...

• Kwesi Atta Sakyi 10 years ago

Owusu must know that money is not everything in life because having plenty of money has its own woes and headaches. I do not buy this useless inference in this useless article that the brother who took to football did a good ...

• Joni 10 years ago

Kwesi, the article lacks purpose but I don't think the writer is advising young people to choose football ahead of education. He talked about the dangers of a career in football.

• The Eye Germany 10 years ago

Money is very,very important to individuals,societies,nations and the world but formal education especially university education will help individuals,society and the entire world. We therefore have to encourage university ed ...

• Stephen-Pipes Afrifa 10 years ago

I totally agree with Edward choosing a football career instead of university education.

The educational system in Ghana is really bad, I stand to be corrected, though.
    They always talk but never walk the talk at all.
    Let ...

• ROSE YEBOAH 10 years ago

It is always good to take a daring decision. Edward took a good decision and it helped him.

• TIKENENKENEN 10 years ago

If I were a gifted footballer, I would choose football.

• ROSE YEBOAH 10 years ago

I prophesy that Ghana will revert to the old system again. Why can't our leaders pause and think about the worsening educational system? Lord have mercy.

• Kwaku Adu-Aninkorah (Dr) 10 years ago

Very thought provoking. Education and football can co-exist.
    Am of the opinion that we as Ghanaians should decide what system of education we need.
    We are now producing more liberal arts students than sciences.
    Our politi ...

• MR.GOODFACE 10 years ago

Good article

• Natural Mystic 10 years ago

Massa, I also thought initially that the article was useless since the main body of the article had little to do with the Introduction. It is the conclusion that reminded me of what the writer was all about. Soccer/football i ...

• nsem pii 10 years ago

Ask prominent NBA players going for their doctorate degree.Great decision. Knowledge is power.

• ghanaman 10 years ago

The article exposes the well-known problem of making rational decisions based on information. First, individuals need to be educated in a way that permits effective reasoning and thinking. Next, access to valuable information ...

• Seth, USA 10 years ago

This is great!

• GDK 10 years ago

What are the odds of one landing a lucrative football contract abroad.
    1 in ten million perhaps?

• Osagefo 10 years ago

As secondary school attendance became nearly universal over the past century, public controversies regularly erupted about the fundamental purposes of secondary education. The controversies centered on basic issues of what st ...

• Kwesi Atta Sakyi 10 years ago

Howard Gardner advocated multiple intelligencies as a pedagogical approach which will help different talents to be cultivated in children, such as motor, musical, aesthetics, logic, rhetoric abilities. We need to expose Ghana ...

• VICKY LEE BENTON 10 years ago

THE STUDENTS FROM THE RURAL AREAS DO VERY WELL AS THOSE IN THE CITIES BUT THEY DO NOT STAND A CHANCE TO BE ADMITTED INTO THE UNIVERSITIES EVEN THOUGH THEY HAVE THE QUALIFIED GRADES TO ENTER.
    THOSE PARENTS IN THE CITIES PAY B ...

• Uncle Ebo 10 years ago

A nail right on the head. Our system of Education really needs a dynamic review. Gifts and talents needs to be harnessed right from the infancy and directed to productive ventures.

• NanaKofi 10 years ago

I think it's not everyone that can play football and play it well. So the decision of football or university is not a matching concept. If you have football talent shouldn't lead you to drop from school, both can be done conc ...

• joseph owusu 10 years ago

Ifgood

If you are both good for school and football,There is no need to stop going to university.Because if some university student dosnt get job, It dosnt mean you will also not get it.

• Oti Akenteng 10 years ago

A good article but i think the university graduates need to be supportive by our leaders to find a job and not to be unemployed.Edward is lucky enough to have too good talents.

• Joanna Owusu (daughter) 10 years ago

Great article! Interesting reading. Sad that as time moves on, system gets worse