You are here: HomeNews2013 09 12Article 285573

Chiefs back Kufuor’s “second chamber” suggestion

Read Comments Comments (157)

• ato, manchester 10 years ago

Can Ghana with its scarce resources be able to pay members of that proposed house. The chiefs think they are the ones going to occupy that house. All they want is to share state resource, period

• Nana 10 years ago

WHERE WERE YOU ALL THESE TIME?

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

corrupt

• kpakpo onukpa 10 years ago

Corrupt Kufuor, Julor. Did u reject winner takes all between 2000 n 2008? Where are the jobs, water, electricity, housing, healthcate, sanitation, good schools, roads,highways, railways. Don't we have a council of state and d ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 10 years ago

What a foolish idea from a useless ex president. Just create another forum to talk but no action on development. This asante ape wants to be in suit and talk but not to farm. Our chiefs are also idle and litigants.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

AUTHOR : WOMANS WISDOM-------------*******You can say whatever you want about ex president Kuffour but I can tell you with all sincerity that president Kuffour is the best among all the past governments because he made a whol ...

• xxx 10 years ago

Thanks indeed.
    You have really summed it all and it is only the blind and most ungrateful and challenged people who will fail to recognize this man's achievements and contribution to our dear nation.

• CHIEF ADVISER 10 years ago

It is incomprehensible to hear K4 advocating for chiefs again. During his term of office, he tried to send every foreign representation to the Manhyia Palace to visit Asantehene. Why that??? This time, he is going the other w ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

Unless we decide to use the BNI to arrest corrupt govt officials, adding another layer on anything will amount to increasing the incidence of corruption. The chiefs are themselves corrupt, therefore bringing them into parliam ...

• Jack 10 years ago

A useless man suggesting a useless solution to already useless situation.

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

ARE OUR ELDERS USELESS?
    MAYELE AA, DESAILLY VS MAHAMA?
    WHAT DO THESE 2 HAVE IN COMMON?
    FOLKS, WAT ARE THE COMMONALITIES BETWEEN BOTH PERSONS HERE? AA AND MAHAMA ARE BLESSED WITH A TAXABLE POPULATION, STAR PLAYERS, AMAZING ...

• william 10 years ago

If this was not part of constitution review recommendations why try to smuggle it now. If even it is possible certainly not a compelling case for urgent consideration. Parliament needs sopport and reforms. Let's focus our att ...

• THE GHANAIAN 10 years ago

Mr. Kuffour, please I think you are talking too much these days! You are an ex-president, not the sitting president or co-president. Ex-president's are not so vocal in the day-to-day national affairs. You should stay in the b ...

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

Yes, Kufour is speaking and he is making a lot sense. The current single chamber parliament with an executive type president at the helm is a fraud on the people.This is primitive system of government and need to be overhaule ...

• sir Hayes 10 years ago

Has k4 costed how much pay and allowances the second chamber will cost the Ghanaian tax payer.Another gravy train.Can GH economy bear this financial.? ,and for what

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

M'ahama, needs to stay focused, this is all a calculated mind game of distraction. Almost nine months has gone by with the government swamped in silly bickering, by a well orchestrated effort to make the administration unpopu ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

I totally disagree with Kufour -- the chiefs are the last to add to our problems. As it is I think we have too many useless parliamentarians, why add to it? We need quality and not quantity.

• OmanheneU$A 10 years ago

WHEN Ghanaian MPs and other officials need FREE CARS, they claim that "...so we can visit our constituencies and meet with the people." ALAS, when the cars are given to them, they will NEVER visit the "so called constituencie ...

• P Adamu 10 years ago

All foreign visitors go to Manhyia palace now anyway

• mohammed 10 years ago

all what you are counting are tied to his corrupt deals in ghana that is still looting us. can u imagine the interest rate in ghana.

Who in Ghana is not corrupt? From Mahama to the guy in the street, which of you have not cut conners {paid or received bribe}? Everything is whom you know, why do you think Mahama's brother can afford a private jet? Why do yo ...

• AMA 10 years ago

MORE CAR LOANS AND EX-GRATIA to come!! Good luck to our dear country!

• big Mouth 10 years ago

Who told you bush ashanti KUfour ndiscovered oil for ghana?The time Tsikati and Co. (GNPC) new of the oil,where was Kufour?Is that not the reason that he Jailed him(Tsikata)?,what did he do to forward ghana road to economic ...

• I&I 10 years ago

Thanks for your great posting. One thing I would like to add is the Stabilization of the Currency which is vital to every country's econoym. The Cedi was nothing when he assumed the presidency. Yet he was able to stabilized ...

• nancy 10 years ago

where is the hipc money?None of the gov got it easy like k4.JJ is the foundation of democracy in ghana.k4 started building upon wat jj foundated

• asamoah 10 years ago

Kufuor, did u reject winner takes all between 2000 n 2008? Where are the jobs, water, electricity, housing, healthcate, sanitation, good schools, roads,highways,that jj provided.The lights on and off started seriously in ur ...

• moyo 10 years ago

Chiefs are the only people to support 2nd Chamber knowing very well we have Council Of State?. It is a waste of resources and another bureaucratic hurdle in the decision making process.

• osei 10 years ago

kuffour why didnt u introduce this in ur regime?u see how greedy u people are.This suggestion wouldnt have come up if NPP had been in power.

• alfred 10 years ago

chiefs were relevant in C17th when there no political institutions like judiciary,GBA,army.police,legislature,executive,assembly,MCE,DCE,ETC ETC

• Kwame 10 years ago

The Chieftancy institution is outmoded, undemocratic and useless. It has no basis in our current systems of governance where the people are consulted in the decision making process. It is the only institution that any foolish ...

• KWAME ACHI london,(KUMASI BREMANG 10 years ago

WHO EVER YOU ARE,FIRST RESPECT YOUR SELF.SECOND CHAMBER IS NOT FOR ONE PARTY.USE YOUR WORDS WISELY SO CALL NANA.TRUELY GHANAIANS RESPECT THEM SELVES.MAY GOD OR ALLAH BE WITH US.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

I am sad to hear this from Kufuor of all people. A second chamber is totally unnecessary. In any case Chiefs should be the last to ever think of if we ever thought of introducing a second chamber!

• Gerald 10 years ago

What then do we do with Council of State? You want all these so that members will draw fat tax-free allowances for doing nothing.

Chiefs must be content with the huge tax-free salary they are enjoying for doing nothing. Mo ...

• Abena 10 years ago

get rid of it

• alfred 10 years ago

there is no chief in any developed city...correct me if am wrong..

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Those Zoombies know nothing about what
    Kufour was saying, do we have the money to pay the Chiefs those Zoombies

• David Osei 10 years ago

What has these chiefs done for their tribes anyway? For them to even talk about this proposal, let each and everyone of them tell all Ghanaians in writing, how many plots they have sold since they became chiefs, the total mon ...

• Sikamanba 10 years ago

Why didn't Kuffour i suggest that when he was president? The idea is self serving and dangerous!!
    Kuffour i is becoming very divisive!

• OMANBA 10 years ago

Kuffuor is far behind the modern thinking of most ghanaians.He is totally out of touch with the views of the majority of ghanaians.

• Nana 10 years ago

HAHAHAHA; THIEF MAN DE FEAR THIEF MAN BE THIS: YOU WERE IN POWER FOR 8YEARS; WHY DID YOU DO ALL THESE WITH YOUR VITO POWER?
    WE CALL THIS GREEDY THIEF:

• SENDERO 10 years ago

Nkrumah won the struggle for independence for Ghana but Danquah is winning the war

The CPP wanted Socialism, a single parliament, an authoritarian leader, the president with powers to sack judges, and a unitary state

Da ...

your Danquah was a paid for CIA agent.

• SENDERO 10 years ago

When the CIA declassifies its files in 2016 a few names will shock you regarding the people it sponsored.

You will hold your breath and make no comment at the revelation

• YAO KWAKWA 10 years ago

How did he become our president?

Me too. I momentarily forget that I am dealing with blacks.

• Kofibabone 10 years ago

Wo maame tw3 k3se3 for insulting ur formar prez... Ayigbe no kwasia

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Why beat about the bush?

If you have nothing useful to say, just keep quiet.

• Steel-Pulse (Primus-Interparis) 10 years ago

And whose tax money is going to be used to pay such greedy bastards.Just as the present nincompoops, they will be as useless and wasteful as ever. This is a non-starter!!!
    GHANA OUR BELOVED COUNTRY IS DOOMED FOREVER!!!

dumb idea.. because Britain has it Ghana must copy

• Hard Reply 10 years ago

The very people saying this don't pay tax. Now they want positions for the government to waste money on them too. President kufuor to be honest with you, you don't make sense anymore.

• AMB 10 years ago

Another ploy to give NPP a chance in Governance. This will be too expensive for the intended purpose. Kuffour should have advocated for and implemented this in his 2nd Tenure!

• Rita 10 years ago

News about politics and politicians seems to always dominate Ghanaian news & often, they're always negative. Don't we have any positive & important news at all?

• Hammer 10 years ago

Rita, bcos ghanaians are stupid. They focus all their energy in these corrupt goons, who continue to deprive them.

• Pan Africanism 10 years ago

Ali Bab and his second chamber of thieves.

• Akosua Tabuwaa 10 years ago

The thieves are looking for a way to amass more wealth.You should be content with selling lands.Who needs a 2n Chamber?Its has been a failure in UK.

• Joe Canada 10 years ago

please, whatever you guys decides to do, don't include the chiefs. they are more corrupt than average Ghanaian politician. those guys are like prostitutes willing to go to bed with any government who will satisfy their needs ...

• Wahabu 10 years ago

It is normal for the former president to make such move in the interest of the country, my problem however, is what then will be the use of the council of state and can't we just turn that into the second chamber being advoca ...

Kufuor must shut up. He has no credibility. Can't compare himself to busia or Nkrumah. These two respected Ghanaians n did not plunder state resources for personal gain. Thief.

• geeda,error corrupt mahama rot 10 years ago

GOOD IDEAR PAPA K4,WE CAN NOT STAND ONE PLACE EVERYDAY,WE LEARN ALL THE TIME,AS A NATION WE MUST GO FOWARD,NOA BACWARDS,ONLY FOOLS NDC WILL NEVER UNDERSTAND,BECOS THEY HAVE NO VISION FOR THE NATION,WHY NDC WHY,MMOA,ITS TIME T ...

• Qxg Ghana ba 10 years ago

Oh yes this could be a good idea, but how are these representatives going to get paid? do we have all these amount to spend? if yes than why cant we use that amount which would be going into these chiefs to help buy some educ ...

• Roy 10 years ago

Personal interest is here at play

Kufuor the thief always scheming to plunder Ghana's coffers. Wants Asantehene to be in Ghana's house of lords. We don't need it neither can we afford it. Another scheme for more chop chop for the elites. What we need is serio ...

• Earl Jones 10 years ago

Let's not dilute our democracy. Any such second chamber must be composed of elected members. Chiefs who are enstooled/enthorned/enskined by accident of birth must be excluded from the process.
    There will be a conflict of int ...

I agree with u. He is drunk with the trappings of power and finding another avenue for ex-gratia n plundering of the public purse. The legislature we have now is inept n weak, the judiciary is corrupt n politicized n the exec ...

• appiah 10 years ago

Go to hell with the national house of Chiefs and their antiquated ideas. With the corrupt and greedy people like the current politicians ( NPP & NDC)and our chiefs who care about their stomach and nothing else, no political s ...

Chiefs, the most corrupt after the police.

• Azie 10 years ago

These chiefs are more intelligent than these book professors and Drs.

• Kobena 10 years ago

There we go again!
    In 1972, one chief sat in his palace and told his elders that "Akyeampong should rule for 20 years!" And within days, the chiefs on Ghana were falling over each other, trooping to the Castle to "plead with ...

Massa, we have parliamentarians now who are members of committees n subcommittees. Are they doing their oversight? They are rather collecting their car loans, housing allowances n fat salaries. Don't need another chamber. Npp ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

NOT NECESSARY FOR A NATION WITH A POPULATION OF TWENTY TWO MILLION,UNDERDEVELOPED AND HIGHT INDEBTED POOR COUNTRY IN THE WORLD.

OUR INFRASTRUCTURE IS STILL IN SHAMBLES, DIRECT THE FINANCIAL RESOURCES TO UPLIFT THE SITUATIO ...

• Kobena 10 years ago

Paa Kodwo,
    The reason why STX, GYEEDA, Ms Coton, the stinky Aircraft purchase deal, the hopeless Mining Law and others happen in Ghana is because every four years we go to the polls and with tainted tribal and party lenses, ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

OPAYIN KOBENA.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR PIECE OF NOTE.

PLEASE, THE NATIONS THAT YOU MENTIONED DO HAVE SOUND ECONOMIC FINANCES TO SUPPORT THEIR ALREADY CREATED CHAMBERS.

WE ARE STILL A HIGH INDEBTED POOR COUNTRY IN THE WORL ...

• NANA USED BAWUMIA 10 years ago

ANOTHER SOURCE TO CORRUPT GHANA.

• alfred 10 years ago

kufuor pls pls ..not chiefs again...pls

• YAO KWAKWA 10 years ago

We need to decorate the Teshie Shooting Range again if our leaders are to stop destabilizing our society by stealing and stealing and stealing with law enforcement looking on unconcerned.

This culture of impunity is the r ...

• honesty 10 years ago

why , all of a sudden this rubbish.

• contra 10 years ago

these chiefs are thiefs

• Kwasi 10 years ago

We have been spending too much on our government already, and we cannot create another house. The problem in Ghana is how we spend on our big government(All arms of government)

• kusi 10 years ago

just listen to this stupid idiot kuffour do you think we fools who don't think about the past baa loo ni oya ye juluo baalawu.

• KUROTWIAMANSA 10 years ago

OH? SO HE KNEW THIS. WHY DIDN'T HE APPLY IT WHEN HE WAS IN POWER?
    MASSA, SHUT THE FUCK UP AND STOP BEING THE TEACHER OF GOVERNANCE YOU ARE NOT.

• mohammed 10 years ago

it should be a donated services. Why don't you think about our gutters and dirty environment all over the Country. When you travel abroad is it dirty like that? why can't kufour see how clean England and the rest of the world ...

• OKUDZETT 10 years ago

We all know how greedy kufour and some of his cohorts in the npeepee (npp)are just to create corrupt New institutions to further deepen the afflictions of the common man.Is this man not ashamed of himself by such a proposal. ...

• ALPHA 10 years ago

first get the chiefs out. That body is toothless body and a waste of money and time. The problem with Ghana is there are many people including chiefs who are lazy and just want free money and nothing else. They want to be see ...

• Pan Africanism 10 years ago

Let them keep the chiefs BUT without pay nor allowances. There will be there to help their local communities

• Hussein A Ibrahim Atta 10 years ago

This is a foolish idea Kuffuor wants to take Ghana to medieval ages , the idea also will creat more tribalism and social discontent in the country

• Your Adviser 10 years ago

Kuffour, don't behave like a greedy man, leave NDC alone. Were you not once a president, why did you not institute this idea at the time of your presidency ? You are talking about winner takes all, right !, but in your time, ...

• Nana Kofi-London 10 years ago

After leaving office you now can see..where are the "MEN" you boasted off,,,,you were so busy looting so u couldnt implement anything. Just shut up and leave the doers do what needs to be done.

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

The Second Chamber idea is a very good way at this juncture in our history to govern our country. Like the free SHS idea that was proposed by Nana Akufo-Addo during the 2012 election campaign, the second chamber idea is trace ...

• MAKEMAKE 10 years ago

Who will pay for all the nation computers ?

• Activist 10 years ago

................. for your forthcoming article (let me know & don't let me miss it).
    I don't think you're a Okouampa's type of serial article spreader on this web, also don't forget to place your email address at the ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

I understand your point but the question is, will the second chamber change anything in Ghana or it will be another bloated red tape bureaucracy? I have said before that institutions set up by humans will be applicable if tho ...

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

Thanks Marcus, I am pleased you have come onto this one. This is laudable idea.It will greatly reform parliament and introduce the missing checks and balances that the constitution failed to address in the first place.At the ...

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

This is another channel of opportunity to widen the scope for more CORRUPTION and NEPOTISM. The usual playing fields of both USELESS parties - NPP and NDC.

QUOTE:
    "We have a lot of scholars who are chiefs in this country ...

• NICO 10 years ago

This will bring serious drain on national coffers by paying of salaries and gratuity at the end of every month and four years. Let us find solutions to our unemployed graduates first for it getting out of hands.

• Evans 10 years ago

More avenue for the thieving policians to waste our money. No way. Mr Former President let the thieves get a job than live off the taxes of the poor Ghanaian

• B. Asamoah 10 years ago

If any idiot proposes for a chamber to be created for my grand father and co. to sit in and collect allowances, do you think they would say no. why did K4 not propose this stupid idea when he was president? He should be ign ...

Asamoah has discovered the uselessness of Kufuor's idea. Ghanaians must ignore Kufuor.

• cs 10 years ago

No way,just creating more room to waste tax payers money. Ghana is a little country for that. Gready politicians

• Yiadom 10 years ago

hmmm not this time of deplorable state of conomy,if those constitute the chamber will serve for free then it is okay, if not then to me please there will be inflation on our budgetl, from flying pan to fire,

• atomic 10 years ago

A second chamber for chiefs will aggravate the already debilitating chieftancy disputes afflicting our dear nation

• John Mensah 10 years ago

This is the dumbest idea I have ever heard. Just another avenue to waste our scarce resources on parochial interest seeking fools. The Money that would be used in creating this farce should rather be invested in Education an ...

• NANA ASARE 10 years ago

I THINK IT'S AN INTERESTING ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED AT.

• Kwame-USA 10 years ago

This sounds good on paper but in reality, we can't afford this lofty system. We have over three hundred MPS, they all receive salaries and allowances, car and accommodation loans, ex-gratia etc. Perhaps, we should reduce the ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Mr Kuffour, please tell us what the first chamber does other than funerals then we can support a second chamber. You were once a paliamentarian,remember.

• Joe 10 years ago

Is a gud idea kudos to president Koffour

• JOE 10 years ago

KUFFOUR WHY CAN T YOU DO THAT WHEN YOU ARE IN POWER?shame and a disgraced president,only interested in looting Ghana s resources

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

This is ludicrous. Chiefs have outlived their relevance since the introduction of central governance in GH like the Lords of Britain. They have been involved in all manner of vices. Illegal sale of stool lands, ritual murders ...

• kaaaaaaaaaaaaaay 10 years ago

You see, the chiefs are supporting because it is an opportunity to help them make money. What benefits have accrued to the nation from the existing Parliament. They have turned a blind eye to all the bogus contracts that have ...

• iddirisu abubakari 10 years ago

good strategy to depoliticized national issues.

• KK 10 years ago

We don't need all that waste of money.
    What has been the use of even the 200+ we have.

• Abena 10 years ago

Did the former president make this recomendation to the constitutional review committee ? what is needed to be check is the enormous power the presidency has. For instance minsters of state should not be chosen from parliamen ...

• KWAKU POKU 10 years ago

AS FAR AS AM CONCERNED KUFUORS`S SUGGESTION IS A CALL IN THE WRONG DIRECTION. I MEAN YOU ALREADY HAVE YOUR NATIONAL HOUSE OF CHIEFS, THE COUNCIL OF STATE AND MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT. WHAT YOU(MR KUFUOR SHOULD BE ADVOCATING FOR ...

• Kwasi Asante, Providence,RI USA 10 years ago

My Uncle Kwaku Opoku,
    I have written intensively about this topic years ago. The Council of State and the National House of Chiefs does not have any power to write Laws under our current Constitution. This approach is worth ...

• Aduanaba 10 years ago

I hardly disagree with prez Kufour on many issues but not on this 'House of Lords' idea.

It would end up being partisan anyway

It would cost us a fortune, monies that could be used to ameliorate suffering ie

1. Did I ...

• Kwasi Asante, Providence,RI USA 10 years ago

I have long written in Traditional Congress Political Party manifesto about the need establish a second Chamber consisting of representatives of National House of Chiefs. This, I wrote should be elected by individual Kingdoms ...

• Lovey 10 years ago

Primitive chiefs who fights among themselves and can never come to any agreement, are now being suggested to oversee some MP's? Unbelievable!

• OSEI AGYAPONG EDWARD 10 years ago

I think inasmuch as the call of the second chamber is important , we also need to have a broader consultation on the mater so that Ghana does not spent another billion of cedis to remunerate people's who's contribution wil ...

• freddo 10 years ago

YOU CAN CALL IT A STUPID IDEA BUT THAT IS THE SYSTEM BEING PRACTICED IN HOLLAND AND IT WORKS PERFECT. LISTEN TO WISDOM

• OMANBA 10 years ago

IT IS BEING PRACTISED IN HOLLAND AND THEREFORE MUST BE ADOPTED BY GHANA.RUBBISH!!!!

• Lorgo Ligri 10 years ago

Why not if they can get a foot into the circle of corruption. Who will turn down an offer to binge on the best lucrative deals of our time?

• CHE 10 years ago

Such a waste of our meagre resources as a developing nation. We tend to copy blindly what happens in the west forgetting that they have more wealth per capita and are more developed. I WOULD RATHER SUGGEST MAKING ALL MEMBERSH ...

• OBRONI 10 years ago

The Council of State are often just following the governments opinion because they only consist of the majority members.
    So or change Council of State in to house of chiefs or lords, or start 2nd house and cancel Council.

• yaaahooloo 10 years ago

WHEN IT WAS THE TURN OF A NORTHENER PRESIDENT YOU ADVOCATE FOR SECOND CHEMBER WHEN IT WAS YOUR TIME YOU NEVER KNEW THIS ,GREEDY TWART,LET MAHAMA ALSO HELP DEVELOP THE NORTH ,THEY DESERVE DEVELOPMENT NOT ONLY KUMASI,ACCRA,SECO ...

• esi atta 10 years ago

ghanaians do not see value from the representation they now have.......what needs to be done is to 1) get the president and ministers and the MPs to declare their assets
    2) remove the indemnity clause

• TIKOB ALI 10 years ago

ONLY USELESS MAN LIKE KUFOUR WILL CONSUIT ON THIS MATTER.KUFOUR LET TALK ABOUT SEX AND ONLY SEX THAT WHERE YOU HAVE LEADERSHIP SKILLS.

• HOT PIN 10 years ago

THEIR SALARIES,THEN WHY NOT BUT REMEMBER IT IS DEFINATELY GOING TO BE THE WINNER TAKES ALL .GHANA IS ALREADY ABOUND WITH CORRUPT LEADERS ALREADY WHO WILL BE DYING TO BACK ANY CORRUPT SUGGESTION FROM THE FORMER CORRUPT PREZ.WE ...

• nicman@atl 10 years ago

how many people do we need to run this small country even with these 5000 government appointee there is too much corruption.
    why does NPp like court law and arguements and not improve what we have already

We should be talking about how to make the current parliament work better.

If the elected members in our single parliament are not working efficiently, why can we expect others in a second chamber would perform any better. ...

• OBRONI 10 years ago

The idea is not bad, as a second opinion to all legislature. But since we are a poor country, lets cut the number of parliamentarians back from 275 to 185 and then have a "House of Chiefs or Lords" of 75. But I can foresee al ...

• K.B.HOLLAND 10 years ago

THESE ARE ALL RESULT OF PAYING THEM DOLLARS FOR NOTHING, IF THE FIRST CHAMBER COULDN'T HAVE FIT GHANA, WHAT CAN THE SECOND CHAMBER CAN DO?

• seeMe 10 years ago

The government is complaining about its finance; now we are thinking of another group of greedy citizens to constitute a second chamber and bankrupt the country? What is wrong with this man?

• KOpoku 10 years ago

So K4 was mumu during the 8 yrs.

Why couldn't he start it. Where was him when the CRC was moving around for inputs?

Not bad idea though but we have handle it with care.

• sam 10 years ago

chiefs are more corrupts than politicians

• Citizen 10 years ago

Why can't he wait when his party comes to power so he will detect to them.

• YAW MANU 10 years ago

So if it was good why didn't Kuffour do it in his 8 years in power?

• GHANABA 10 years ago

The man is just good

• Sulamana 10 years ago

YOU WERE PRESIDENT FOR 8 YEARS. WHY DID YOU NOT DO THAT? YOU COULD HAVE DONE ELECTORAL REFORMS, PUSHED YOUR IDEA OF A BICAMERAL HOUSE, AND DONE ALL SORTS OF GOOD THINGS FOR GHANAIANS. INSTEAD, YOU SPENT ALL YOUR TIME TRAVELLI ...

• KPENYIGBA KWESI 10 years ago

This is not a sensible suggestion. Chiefs who are backing this suggestion must think of their own future existence. They need to be important but what are their roles in the development of the country. Parliament plus Council ...

• joe tex 10 years ago

more questions will have to be answered and will be clear that creation of this chamber will be another resource waisting venture creating another level of destructive politics. Chiefs are worse politicians and will worsen th ...

• Jerome 10 years ago

Ghana Web administrators must do something about the conduct of contributors on this platform, insulting elders is not good at all. ah ah very appalling.Please do warn them

• ZINZIN 10 years ago

WHEN THE ARE ALL VIRTUALLY ILLITERATE?

• RC-Truth 10 years ago

That's all you people think about. Killing. Killing, and killing! Did the killings of AFRC and Extra Judicial murders of PNDC ever solved Ghana's corruption problems?

• Nana Buabeng 10 years ago

Mark it on the wall they just want to prepare the stage for a federal state to reverse Kwame Nkrumah's unitary state with which he defeated the NLM-UP at independence.

• John 10 years ago

This is a stupid idea; Kuffuor while in office was bent on destroying this republican framework; we cannot return to a feudal system whereby people arrogate to themselves some special position by virtue of birth. Peoples' re ...

• mr mankessim 10 years ago

is very good way to improve our country Ghana

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

DO THE CHIEFS REALLY KNOW THE HEAVY COSTS IT MAY HAVE ON THE NATIONS FINANCIAL RESOURCES.

KUFFOUR SHOULD FIRST SUBMIT THE COSTS FOR THE CREATION OF SECOND CHAMBER IN GHANA AND HOW IT IS GOING TO BE FINANCED.

HAVE THE CH ...

• RC-Truth 10 years ago

It is a brilliant idea. However, it should not come at any extra cost to the people of Ghana .
    I will suggest that every region loose two parliamentary seat for the second chamber. In addition every region should loose 3 mor ...

• www.horp-service.co.uk 10 years ago

Leaders ought to pay attention to improving the lives of Ghananians instead of making proposals that might produce more white-collar criminals!

• Nyankonwu 10 years ago

t

• Whatever 10 years ago

Even with our current elected representatives, we are struggling to hold them to account, how much more monarchs and political tin Gods and demigogues who don't want to be critized? Ghana is a constitutional democratic republ ...

• Say the TRUTH 10 years ago

NO WAY......WE DONT NEED ANOTHER CORRUPT POLITICAL INSTITUTION WHICH WILL JUST BE ANOTHER RUBBER STAMP ORGAN OF THE LEGISTALTION THAT WOULD DO NOTHING BUT CORRUPT PRACTICES!!!!

SICK & TIRED OF SELF-SEEKING POLITICIANS!!!!! ...

• KRETZ - D 10 years ago

I think it's a great idea but I don't think Ghana has the money for that. It will be a waste of money because whoever is elected to the upper chamber will equally be corrupted as what we currently have.

• Nicholas Kyeretwie-Chicago,USA 10 years ago

Foul foul play,kuffour is bringing more troubles for Ghana.Why can't this man keep his mouth shut in retirement?Chiefs in Ghana are part of our problems,they are not able to deal with their chieftancy disputes and now they wa ...

• KPENYIGBA KWESI 10 years ago

There is no broader consultation on this issue. Let s ignore it completely and talk about development issues. We respect chiefs but their backing President Kufour has no merit.

• JK 10 years ago

Here we go!

You watch!

Sooner or later, these same people will be asking for all kinds of benefits that the government cannot grant, let alone sustain.

• Akortsu 10 years ago

This is good news. Too many team B players. The upper house will include JJ, K4 and Akuffo Addo thank you. This is long overdue

• NPP 10 years ago

DONT MIND THIS THIEF MAN.

• Justice Dotse Snr 10 years ago

WHAT WILL THE SECOND CHAMBER BE DOING? THIS IS PART OF THE WASTE OF RESOURCES. EX-PRESIDENT KUFUOR WASTED OUR GOLD RESERVES BY CREATING A NATIONAL DECORATION WHICH DOES NOT MAKE SENSE. THIS SAME MAN IS CHAMPIONING A SECOND ...