You are here: HomeNews2013 08 31Article 284315

NPP sets up committee to assess SC ruling on election petition

Read Comments Comments (93)

• Kojo T 10 years ago

There we go again. t think about the welfare of Ghanaian but fight for power at all costs. They will shackle the ruling party so that it will fail. If they are not burning markets theyare hi jacking buses. or throwing bombs . ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Once again Ewes are showing their true nature. The aim of every Ewe is to make an Akan their subordinate under the guise of Ghana unity. For all those Akans who have been fooled by Ewes disguising themselves as victims, you w ...

• JOHN 10 years ago

NO TRIBALISM IN GHANAIAN POLITICS, BUT IF THE AKANS WANT TO BECOME SLAVES OF THE EWES THROUGH THEIR OWN INFERIORITY COMPLEX AND SAVAGE BEHAVIOUR, THEN BE IT!

THE EWES WILL KEEP THEM IN "CHECK"

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

AS FOR ANALYZING THE VERDICT I BELIEVE THAT IT IS PRUDENT FOR ALL THE PARTIES TO DO THAT B'OSE FOR SOME OF US SOME NAGGING QUESTIONS REMAIN UNANSWERED. LIKE IN GH. WHAT DO WE DO IN AN ELECTION IF THE VOTES COUNTED EXCEEDS THE ...

• chris 10 years ago

Ewes have nothing to do with this.....NPP has run out ashanti/akyem that would be acceptable to ghana...so they want to win through the court...Shame unto the BIGOTS!!!

• Julor Agyekum Kwakwe (JAK) 10 years ago

Get lost, you dirty ugly backward ashanti. Why are you using Akans? Fool!

• Responder 10 years ago

You shouldn't pass remarks with such language

• Ogah Joe. 10 years ago

Akans should not think Ghana belongs to them.The Akans thing their languege is superior to any other langue in this country.They think Akan languege will become the national languege.This infirual languege which alfabets are ...

• ////////// 10 years ago

OH NPP, JUST START TO THINK OF REORGANISING THE PARTY AGAIN AND STOP THIS FOOLISHNESS OF COMMITTEE. TO DO WHAT? AND WHAT WILL BE THE BENEFIT TO THE PARTY?

• CONCERNED GHANAMAN 10 years ago

I THINK THE CONSTITUTION BACKING THE SC VERDICT ON THE COURT CASE DID NOT WORK.THEY USED THEIR OWN DISCRETION TO GO ABOUT THE CASE.THE CONSTITUTION WAS NOT APPLIED AT ALL,BECAUSE NPP USED THE CONSTITUTION VIOLATIONS BY THE EC ...

• Joe -Ali 10 years ago

Chris, I think you are ignorant about global politics because in the United States president Obama being a democratic candidate duly elected, has a majority republican representatives at the congress and so can it happen in ...

• chris 10 years ago

empirical evidence from ghana says otherwise....the percentages of votes won by parties in elections (from First republic to date) is consistent from top of ticket to bottom of ticket....

• GBEVU 10 years ago

YOUR IQ IS ZERO, IS THE CONSTITUTION FOR ONLY NPP SUCH THAT WHEN IT IS VIOLATED ONLY NDC SHD SUFFER ITS CONSEQUENCE, WOA B> DAM. NPP STOOGE, COME OUT OF YOUR SHACKLES. WITH THIS KIND OF ANALYSIS IF U AR GIVEN POWER HOW CAN U ...

• TERRORMAN 10 years ago

IT IS GOOD TO KNOW THE DETAILED INFORMATION ON THE SC VERDICT FOR FUTURE BENEFIT TO NEXT GENERATION

• krikri 10 years ago

They will write another book entitled
    THE STOLEN PINK SHEETS, That is what they are noted for

• william 10 years ago

GRANTED BUT LET ALL POLITICAL PARTIES, ESPECIALLY NPP, SPEND MORE TIME REVIEWING THEIR CAPACITY WEAKNESSES NOT JUST FOR WINNING ELECTIONS BUT ALSO HELPING PROMOTE DEMOCRACY AND ACCOUNTABILITY AT ALL LEVELS IN A CONTINUOUS MAN ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

The petition was poorly managed,I knew it was not going anywhere because none of your claims was tenable including the ones you abandoned.Please forget it and reorganise your party well.Thank you.

• papillon 10 years ago

Are they serious?

• CAPE COAST BOY 10 years ago

THE NPP KNEW THAT ATUGUBA WAS CORRUPT AND BIAS FORM DAY ONE

• JOHN 10 years ago

CHECK AND PROOFREAD WHAT YOU POUR ONLINE.

• KOFI ADDO 10 years ago

if you are a man please bring up your real name and address,and stop that cape coast boy.

• ASEMPA NEYE 10 years ago

Atuguba wanted his nephew to keep his job as an Executive Assistant to President Mahamah. Plain and simple. Atuguba was so anxious he read a wrong judgement which was corrected after 24 hours in the books. THE PETITIONERS in ...

• now mahama corrupt more hmmm 10 years ago

HUUUUUUU,THE WORLD SAW IT,GHANIANS SAW IT ON TV,USELESS BIAS JUDGES,ONYAME AHU MOOOOOO

• King Jerry 10 years ago

Including those who voted for the petitioners...I think they deserve this insult

• chris 10 years ago

so they are saying NDC won parliament and NPP won the presidency?

They do not have any hope of winning through the ballot box...thy have run out of ashanti/ akyem that would be acceptable to ghanaians and they are not pr ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

As always Trokosis will try to fool Ghanaians by pretending they are victims of bigotry when in actual fact they are the perpetrators. This election was not about tribe but theft. Dr Hilla Limann was from the North but no Aka ...

• chris 10 years ago

Only the bigoted Ashanti/ Akyem NPP members are still pushing this....The petition does not make sense to the objective NPP members who are mainly outside the ashanti/akyem region.
    Ashanti/ Akyem NPP have lost confidence in ...

• Nana addo 10 years ago

they never will think.

• NANA 10 years ago

It seems desperation has set in hence those useless decision.

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

The election petition was a big ZERO,not even one pleading out of 6 was upheld.Npp must focus now on 2016,I can help them to reorganise new stratégies if they like.Thank you.

• Nii 10 years ago

MORE MONEY TO SPEND ON POCKET NPP LAWYERS? SAVE IT FOR FREE SHH IN 2030

• KA AKYIRE 10 years ago

DO THEY HAVE MEN OF SINCERITY TO DIVULGE
    INTO THE SC VERDICT? 20 SOMETHING FIGHTING TO BE SEEN ON TV CAMERA. JUST TO USE IT TO BOAST AND GO FOR GHANIAN YOUNG GIRLS. SHAME ON NPP.

• KA AKYIRE 10 years ago

THEY JUST WANT A WAY TO WRITE ANOTHER STOLEN VERDICT. DUD MINDS. RATHER THING ABOUT CHANGING THE CONSTITUTION SO AS NO PRESIDENT WILL USE TWO REGIONS TO RULE GHANA, AT LEAST ONE HAVE TO WIN 6 OUT OF 10 REGIONS TO BECOME PRESI ...

• WHY, Ve Agbome 10 years ago

NPP supporters should first ask Nana why he accepted the verdict and decided not to call for any review. Nana you are now matured.

• WHY, Ve Agbome 10 years ago

Nana you are now a matured person. Don't let the Bawumias and Obetsebis draw you back. After all you are dead as a result of ALL DIE BE DIE.

• Kwame Addo 10 years ago

AT LONG LAST THE BATTLE HAS ENDED AND NPP IN THEIR WISDOM SHOULD GIVE GHANAIANS A BREATHING SPACE. NPP WENT TO THE POLES WITH INTENTION OF WINNING OUTRIGHT MAJORITY, BUT ALL-DIE-BE-DIE, YEN AKANFO AND FREE SHS PROPAGANDA DIDN ...

• Kponyo 10 years ago

What at all is wrong with these NPP people?

You have gone to court, you have lost the case, you are still not satisfied so you go and set up a committee to do what? You people chose to go to court and going to any court th ...

• chris 10 years ago

If all your education taught you was to expound philosophy of progress through theft and cheating, then Ghana does not need your type.....you are a disgrace...and a danger to ghana

• 696969 10 years ago

THE MOST DISGRACED PRESIDENT EVER LIVED- MR JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA. NOW READ

IT IS VERY VERY SAD AND DISAPPOINTING THAT THE JUDGES OF THE APEX OF LAW APPLICATION BODY(SUPREME COURT) WILL HAVE TO BASED THEIR JUDGEMENT ON WHOEV ...

I do not think your curses have something to do with the word of God does it?
    the bible even said we should not curse those who hate us....and again did you relate this your occultic chanting to the commandments?..I believe ...

I do not think you deserve to be Ghanaian, nor even a human being.you are an offensive and stubborn demon who neither belong to the real world nor the world of darkness but a spiritual outcast. the figure you even assigned to ...

• ASANTENI 10 years ago

BACK TO SENDER.

• ASEMPA NEYE 10 years ago

Atuguba wanted his nephew to keep his job as an Executive Assistant toPresident Mahamah. Plain and simple. Atuguba was so anxious he read a wrong judgement which was corrected after 24 hours in the books. THE PETITIONERS in t ...

• Abba 10 years ago

CORRUPT EC, CORRUPT JUDGES AND CORRUPT MAHAMA LED NDC WHO HAS LOOTED THE COFFERS OF THE NATION. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF THOSE WHO WERE EXECUTED ON JUNE 4TH 1979 ARE INNOCENT.

• Weaklion 10 years ago

Assess SC decision is waist of time and we don't have time to waist any longer. We have to move the country forward . President Mahama is our commander in Chief.

• sas 10 years ago

They should forget it and reorganize,and stop wasting time,2016 is just around the corner.

• Grace 10 years ago

Rather than committing resources to this committee to assess the SC ruling, my suggestion is to set up a committee to assess why NPP lost the elections in the first place and how to win 2016.

What does NPP hope to gain fr ...

• Efo Cudjoe 10 years ago

The best comment I've read so far concerning the SC verdict.
    Grace my dear, I believe you should be elected as ChairWoman for the NPP party. They need such wonderful brains as yours. SIMPLE!!!
    Don't forget, a good NPP part ...

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

UK NPPIANS ESPECIALLY LONDONER'S NPP POCKET AND ARMCHAIR JUDGES, ONLY LOVE TO DEMONSTRATE IN LONDON STREET. "HOLY SPIRIT" ADVISE YOU TO BRING SOLUTION TO BUILD OUR BELOVED COUNTRY GHANA.

• British citizen 10 years ago

verandah boy shut the fuck up and follow your good for nothing trokosi party.
    If Ghanaians in Europe were to vote alone ndc will stay in opposition for good because you cannot fool us like how you fool stupid dumb Ghanaians. ...

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

NANA ADDO DANQUAH AKOFO ADDO: "HOLY SPIRIT" ADVISE YOU DON'T FOLLOW THE ASANTES, BACK OUT FROM THEM. YOUR LATE UNCLE PAA WILLIE KNEW THAT THE ASANTE'S WERE CURSED BY OKOFO ANOKYI(E).MATEMEHO BLOODED PEOPLE WHO HATED KWAME NKR ...

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

THE REGIONAL MINISTER'S ASSERTION THAT THE COMMITTEE WILL ADVISE ON THE WAY FORWARD IS UNTENABLE, SINCE THERE IS NO WAY FORWARD WITH THE PETITION BECAUSE IT HAS HIT A DEAD END FOR NPP, AS NANA OPENLY DECLARED THAT THERE WON'T ...

• Quincy Afram 10 years ago

Nana should never succumb to any pressure to lick back his word not to seek a review of the Supreme Court verdict or else he will incurr the wrath of the nation if he does succumb and the people pushing for review will surely ...

• dougie 10 years ago

The SC never unanimously threw out the NPP's case.It was a split decision,propaganda NDC-paid-to-work journalists

• nppp 10 years ago

wahala people

• Cantankerous 10 years ago

Pathetic NPP leadership.No purpose,no aim,no direction.They need a good and hefty kick up their fat arses.The dimwits think the next election is a hundred years away. Subconsciously they have already accepted defeat at the ne ...

• african 10 years ago

There still are some retarded individuals in Ghana who refer to or insult other ethnic groups because of politics. It is clear those still thinking that way are dwelling in the 17 centuries seeing your own follow Ghanaian as ...

• Ohemeng 10 years ago

atuguba corrupt, so bad.

• Nana 10 years ago

I already spoke my mind about Nana Akufo-Addo's speech after the SC's ruling. I couldn't trust the man at all. That speech was a pure political hypocrisy and nothing else. Chase the natural it will rush to come back.
    Otherwi ...

• Cantankerous 10 years ago

Very typical of the current directionless NPP,they now want to waste further time carrying out postmortem of a postmortem.The NPP leadership still doesn't get this fact: that their primary task is to PREPARE AND FOCUS TOWARD ...

• augustus cherney baaah 10 years ago

setting up the committee will not help the party but the most important thing is to prepare the party towards 2016 general election

• Kpeblo 10 years ago

We should not say unanimous if 5 missed and 4 upheld its not unanimous .

• KB 10 years ago

hahaha, you are too late! concert party people

• big brother 10 years ago

please NNP learders try as much is you can seek review dont leave like that for the sake of the country

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• rigged elections ok for Ghana 10 years ago

The message the SC have sent out is that rigged elections are ok,over-voting can be carried out, presiding officer's signature is not important and no need to bother about biometric verification !! Right from the beginning, t ...

• Counsellor 10 years ago

What is your beef "rigged elections ok for Ghana"? I have a question for you....why do NPP cry foul whenever they loose elections? It is the same "corrupt" agencies that they distrust today THAT administered previous election ...

• honesty 10 years ago

NPP WHAT DO YOU WANT, FOOLS.

• kofi asamoah 10 years ago

oh god help Africa this is the reason why always fight after every elections because we cant find justice you see what happen Ghana it means no justice in Ghana government and his people around him are all thieves and evils ...

• GBEVU 10 years ago

HOW SINCERE COULD DIS COMMITTEE BE IF ITS MEMBERS ARE NPP STOOGES, ESPECIALLY AS 50+ NPP LAWYERS INCLUDING A PROFESSOR COULD NOT ADVISE AGAINST GOING TO COURT & FOLLOWED LIKE SHEEP AND WAISTED GHANAIAN 8 MNTHS FOR NOTHING. FO ...

• Mary 10 years ago

Any good lawyer will tell you NPP had no case. Even REUTERS said Mahama was going to win. Sir John is a disgrace to the Ghana Bar Association. Any NPP activist could easily give his ballot from Kumasi or Aburi to be used toge ...

• Mary 10 years ago

YOU STILL SEEM TO BE EATING CERTAIN PROTECTED SPECIES OF ANIMALS SO YOU LACK BASIC LOGIC IN YOUR JUDGEMENT. YOU HAD NO EVIDENCE TO WIN SUCH A CASE. THE SUPREME COURT HAD 2 CATEGORIES AND DID NUMBER 1 HAPPEN? SOME OF IT!
    DID ...

• Forthright 10 years ago

Announce acceptance of SC verdict within 30 minute
    Author: NewsTalk (www.ghanaweb.com)
    Date: 08-21-2013 12:52

Togbe Afede XIV, Agbogbomefia of Asogli, on Tuesday, appealed to parties in the 2012 election petition case ...

• Chabba 10 years ago

Where is the unanimous decision, Joy fm? You don't even understand the word UNANIMOUS! Shame on your radio and TV network!

• Bravo USA 10 years ago

The bomb throwers will never stop until they plunge Ghana into an abyss.

• krakro 10 years ago

THERE IS NOTHING YOU CAN DO AND U WILL CONTINUE TO BELOSERS

• krakro 10 years ago

HAHAHAHAHAHA

• YAW ADJEI 10 years ago

Ghana has become one party state ,Thanks to sc judges, there is no sc in world that would give verdict without explanation,this alone shows that they have sold our country,and their souls will never have peace ,they have dest ...

• NICHOLAS 10 years ago

NPP,what is wrong with you? You were contesting the result of an election which you lost.In order to get any positive result,you ought to have brought the nation-wide result to the microscopic lens for a scrutiny to ascertain ...

• Benji 10 years ago

Npp y waste ur time again, u lost for the second time now so why you still pushing to fight this. hungry for power or what? Go burn the sea. Ghana is not for you so let us be. mtcweeeeee

• Salutation 10 years ago

There is nothing this international idoits can do again. Try anything funy and you will pay dearly for it.

• Pero 10 years ago

NOW THAT THE SC CASE DID NOT FAVOR YOU WHEN ARE YOU LAUNCHING YOUR BOOK WHICH WOULD HAVE LANDED THE ORGANIZERS IN CRIMINAL CONTEMPT IF THEY DID ON THE SCHEDULED DATE?

• Reality 10 years ago

Oh poor NPP. Look at the list of your complaints and disagreements.

1. We need biometric verification machines for credible elections. That was done and you still lost.
    2. Now you turned on the EC saying it was bribed by ...

• ASSESS S.C.RULING 10 years ago

YE NIM WON EFIRI TITI.ITS A CURSE ON THEM AND TO THE GENERATIONS YET UNBORN.
    A DONKEY WILL ALWAYS REMAIN A DONKEY.

• asap 10 years ago

mo saa nkrofoo wei eye me se moadwene nni fie,hahahaa, stupid day dreamers.........................

• ACCRAMAN 10 years ago

There is no appeal here even if the NPP national committee or council of elders decide after their assessment that, the SC erred in the August 29, ruling. Who is going to hear their case besides the SC.

Get over it, you lo ...

• Sam NDC,Int Exec. 10 years ago

NPP a committee for what again?Wont you allow sleeping dogs to lie?God Bless Ghana.

• kumbun 10 years ago

shame

• JC 10 years ago

DANGEROUS RULING! VERY BAD DISHONEST SC JUDGES! TOTAL DISREGARD FOR CONSTITUTIONAL PROVI...AND INSTR..... IT MEANS FROM NOW ON WE DON'T NEED ANY ELECTORAL LAWS! WHAT A COUNTRY!

• Dari in UK 10 years ago

New decision for NPP is to another Court which court ???The Hage,

• Daro 10 years ago

NPP dreams is not yet over by all cost to win this Election.
    Nana Akuo Ado must respect him self he make Ghanian Democracy grow this is good name too
    Nana don't spoil your name.

• Tambro obuasi 10 years ago

its high time for npp to realize that Ghana is for ghanians not for npp they shdnt take it that if not npp no one can rule better. I not be surprise if they end up blaiming god for not been fair to them.

• Joseph 10 years ago

Is there justice in the land? You can bribe the E.C. and the judges but you cannot bribe nature. Bribe death when your time is due. God bless Nana Addo and the NPP.