You are here: HomeNews2013 08 27Article 283847

Public Universities to be closed down on Wednesday

Read Comments Comments (40)

• Menu meho 10 years ago

I hope Anita Desoso will at this time too advice Mama to bring Lecturers from Cuba to come replace the striking ones. That is illiterates think when allowed to rule whiles learned people are sidelined.

No, this time they intend taking turns in teaching at the universities. I learnt a new faculty of propaganda is already fully staffed.

• Nana Asare 10 years ago

IT IS QUITE OBVIOUS THAT THE INNOCENT STUDENTS ARE SUFFERING BUT THE STRIKE MUST GO ON FOR THE GOVERNMENT TO KNOW THE GRAVITY OF THE SITUATION.

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

The phrase "research allowance" by itself makes no sense. And monies paid to university lecturers must be incentives, rather than allowances. I know a lot of these lecturers either went to school or taught in foreign countrie ...

• Dr Robert K Glah 10 years ago

Scrap the book allowance for Lecturers
    Pay them bonus for published research work that drives us forward.

• jerry kissi-amakye 10 years ago

At times we need to blame ourselves for all this,because u think is good for you may not be good for someone.It high times lecturers put a stop to this act of strike but what about the government too,is he doing he best to se ...

• OSAGYEFO 10 years ago

In 1994 when university lecturers went on strike for a whole year, Kwamina Ahoi was addressing a forum in Accra and asked the crowd ARE THERE NO TEACHERS AMONG US WHO CAN TEACH? Rawlings then threatened the lecturers with sun ...

• Tibaa 10 years ago

Research allowance should not be a free commodity; it should be disbursed based upon an approved research proposal from lecturers. Period

• Ankasa Ankasa 10 years ago

I expect this government to be proactive and bring in Cuban lecturers to continue with what Ghanaian lecturers were doing. As a matter of truth, NDC has nothing in the purse to pay lecturers. Do we even have a leader? Ghana i ...

• osei yao 10 years ago

Are the Univ teachers demanding allowances to PUBLISH their books or simply to buy books written by others? How many books have been written by the UNIV TEACHERS WRITTEN SINCE lEGON, KNUST, UCC WERE ESTABLISHED? When I was st ...

• jolojo 10 years ago

God forgive you; you don't know what you are saying. if you know the life of a well commited lecturer you will not even seay what you are saying; before you become a prof. you might end up loosing a family

• johnvo 10 years ago

How?

• Yaw Ghana 10 years ago

Go and do your research for the questions you have posed. You want to be spoon-fed yet you complain about the people who are spoon-feeding you with knowledge.Strange things happen in Ghana.

• MATIGARI 10 years ago

WE ARE TIRED OF THESE UNIVERSITY LECTURERS. THEY SHOULD KNOW THAT ALLOWANCES ARE JUST LIKE BONUSES AND WHEN THEY ARE NOT PAID EMPOLOYEES CAN STILL GO TO WORK. AFTERALL THE BOOK ALLOWANCES MUST BE SCRAPED AS SOME LECTURERS HAN ...

• Akwasi 10 years ago

if there is a close down, will the lecturers be paid monthly during the year of closure?

Also, the government must solve this situation, if not the rate of unemployment will be on the rise.

• Kwame, Adenta 10 years ago

they should demand every dime form this faceless and irresponsible government whose tenure has seen the collapse of all institutions. Imagine an immediate past VC as Minister and former NUGS president as dep Min for tertiary ...

• Ali Abanga 10 years ago

Now it clearly appears that the nation is without any leader still looking forward to the Aug 29, verdict the battle is the Lord's

• DAAGYANBIE TK HALID 10 years ago

I don't know the kind of leaders Ghana is having now.If u can give 120000 Ghana cedis to one person,why can u give out the same amount to train the incoming leaders?

• chokor 10 years ago

what kind of research are they doing that they require allowance. They need to get out of their lazy butts and learn how to write proposals for external funding to do practical research. What does the government get in retu ...

• STAFFORD 10 years ago

WE MUST ESTABLISH TRUST FUNDS/ CHARITIES TO RESOLVE SUCH DISPUTES IN GHANA.

• social activist 10 years ago

I think it is about time we tell people the plain truth. what research are these lecturers doing and there are still numerous problems in ghana unsolved. The fact even is how many of these lecturers come to teach. They either ...

• STAFFORD 10 years ago

NEW EDITION BOOKS ALSO COST MONEY. WE MUST KEEP UP WITH NEW STANDARDS ALL THE TIME.

• Ataa 10 years ago

How many lecturers do that? Excuse me!

• SOKOTO 10 years ago

The Public University students must be reimbursed, for classes missed and time wasted.

If the students are not able to pay their fees, they are sacked.
    If they are not being taught, they must be refunded.

• fakum 10 years ago

useless professors have books did they produce in Ghana.

Fakum, I share your frustration. After going through the hands of those profs, you still cannot write "how" and your only sentence does not make sense. Your profs were really useless and you must have been a very stupid stude ...

Why should we put up with such an incompetent government when EVERTHING is falling apart including University closure because of non payment of allowances. Let the SC save GHANA

• SOKOTO 10 years ago

Any University lecturers, who has collected payment of their book and research allowances, and has not published any book, or research findings, must be made to refund those allowance, for each year no research was published. ...

• Ataa 10 years ago

"...University lecturers have been on strike for several weeks in demand for the payment of their book and research allowances".

The resolution to this is simple, bring the receipt for your purchased books and your researc ...

• JANE 10 years ago

GHANA WILL CONTINUE TO BE TURNED UPSIDE DOWN AS LONG AS WE GAHANAIANS CONTINUE TO PERPETUATE OUR USELESS NDC, NPP POLITICAL CRIMINALS HOLD ON POWER.

NOTHING NOW WORKS IN GHANA.

GHANA IS A FAILED STATE!!!

• ceoboss 10 years ago

ghana lecturers hav started learnin how to go on strike from dia naija counterparts....hmmmmm unity across borders

• mahamudu 10 years ago

dont spoil are dreams.....

• SULE 10 years ago

Ghana has been taken over by vagabonds, hoodlums for whom education and progress, and an improvement in the lives of those who are willing and ready, mean nothing to them, so far as, they benefit from the chaotic status quo. ...

• agbelom 10 years ago

please i say to you do not let the green grass fool you dont just come herh and say shit for you know not

• AL CAPONE. 10 years ago

Stupid fool. Nkwasiafuo are messing up the country and you open your stinking putrid mouth to talk smelly cunt shit. Shut up your stinking fuck face.

• Kpakpo Allotey 10 years ago

Your intelligence is so low you cannot stimulate your brain to think beyond the very end of your'anal-tomy'. Fool, I believe we still have some expatriate teachers/lecturers in our secondary schools and high institutions so ...

• agbelom 10 years ago

we should learn to forget about all this politics and move on

• am me 10 years ago

Why do u deny them what is theirs,whiles they know u are “up there'' spending and enjoying ur allowances but do not want to give them what belongs to them. This is what will happened. God gave Ghana kwame nkrumah and we kil ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

THEY TEACH THE STUDENTS NOTHING AND LATER FOR THEM TO BE A PROBLEM AT THE LABOUR MARKET.

WHAT ARE THEY AFTER, RESEARCH ALLOWANCE IN THE MIDST OF POVERTY.

• abena D. 10 years ago

what proper research are they even doing?? kmt....some dont even teach when they come to class. All they want is money that just a few of them deserve