You are here: HomeNews2013 08 19Article 282922

Rawlings saved me from facing firing squad - Appiah Ofori

Read Comments Comments (94)

• Shamu 10 years ago

Even if this man mention the great Rawlings name, our mind will not buy his story. Rawlings is the best African leader any African country has ever got. So please please stop playing with such an access to our motherland.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

JJ did a lot of bad and good things.
    The bad things such as killing of innocent citizens and the good things such as killing and silencing armed robbers in an instant. Also his law that helped modernized our Akan system of i ...

• LACK OF KNOLWLEDGE MY.......... 10 years ago

PC, let me ask you this question: Was your arrest warranted or deserved? if you answer is no then Rawlings deserve no freaking credit for anything. It only consolidate what we already know that, Rawlings and his bandits were ...

• OBAA YAA 10 years ago

Lucy you Mr. Paul Collins Appiah Ofori for a sheer moment that Rawlings happens to glance through the list of people ready to be killed by firing squad for the fact that you were exposing their corrupt act and send his emissa ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author: OBAA YAA

...So, the people around the president including his wife and those Team “B” staffers were aware of the president failing health. Therefore, who were they kidding when they ruin insults on whoever ques ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

In Appiah's attempt to make JJ look good he exposes the evils and the brutalities of JJ and his regime. A mere list gets one to the firing squad? What happened to the others not lucky to be scrached off the list and driven ho ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Appiah-Ofori is suffering from Stockholm Syndrome.

How funny to hear Appiah-Ofori say the leader of the armed robbers, who seized the vaults of the Bank of Ghana on the 31s of December 1981, the obese lunatic butcher of Dz ...

• OZA 10 years ago

Rawlings set you free, and so what? Sometimes a cat catches a mouse and for some mysterious reasons, refuses to eat it. That does not mean it is not a cat anymore. A cat is always a cat!

• OZA 10 years ago

Rawlings spared your life. He did not save it. He can still come back for you.

• IBRAHIM 10 years ago

INSTEAD OF DEVELOPING LOVE MR OFORY, YOU SHOULD RATHER HATE HIM(RAWLINGS). BECAUSE AMONG THOSE WHO WERE KILLED WERE PATRIOTIC AND INNOCENT PEOPLE LIKE YOU. SHAME ON RAWLINGS.

• TRUTH. 10 years ago

I still wonder why some Stupid Ghanaians still adore this Bastard and allow him to roam free in Ghana and talk rubbish to them . Oh ! only in Ghana . Damned coward people.

here we go again, another pepeni idiot pratt trying to mislead the Akans and lull us into a comfort zone so we are unprepared . war will definitely come not because of a petition but rather because of the injustices , corrupt ...

• Kojo! 10 years ago

Mu kortibortor wae.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Yes he does as reported by Apiah Ofori
    The killing comes from Boakye Dja
    that is why Rawlings shaw Oforis name
    and rescued him.

• ASHANTI ARE GHANAS CANCER 10 years ago

JJ WAS RIGHT IN FINISHING CRIMINAL ASHANTIS WHO LOOTED THIS COUNTRY TO ENRICH THEMSELVES AT THE EXPENSE OF ALL, CRIMINAL ASHANTIS ALMOST DESTROYED GHANA STOLE DRUGS FROM KORLE-BU TO THEIR PRIVATE CLINICS,EMPTIED THE BANKS INT ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

No, it proved the opposite! That Rawlings didn't approve of killing innocent persons by some military personnel and was stopping those that came to his attention and even apologising to victims of wrongful arrests and their ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

Kutu drafted that pndc law but it was implemented by rawlings. If he was killing all armed robbers how come he is still alive. PC Ofori is an arse hole for not thinking of the others who remained to be slaughtered by the bast ...

• Ofosu 10 years ago

Now Ghana is corrupt free and that is why ghana is going back..all countries are going forward but we are going back due to go free corrupt Gov officials and offices in Ghana like harbor,air port,passport office and all offic ...

• Ofosuvi 10 years ago

J.J. Rawlings tops this list since P/NDC have ruled for 40 years.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

THE AKAN WOFA HAS DONE MORE FOR THE FAMILIES SUCCESS THAN THE EWE WOFA.
    THE EWE WOFA ARE VERY SELFISH AND GREEDY,THEY DONT HELP THEIR NEPHEWS.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Rawlings was not alone in that Ghana
    Revolution but with his subordnates,
    He never hold Gune or knif to kill
    anybody he is only the head rather
    Boakye Djan was giving order for the
    killings since he Boakye was their
    spo ...

• TRUTH. 10 years ago

Hi :Mr Bedzo - Do you have brains at all or your head is filled with water ? You are stupid indeed.

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Even the Devil is also remembered for some "good deed", so let it be with Rawlings.

• guitar boy 10 years ago

THERE WERE ROBBERS ,BUT NOTHING LIKE WE ARE EXPERIENCING NOW.WE ROAMED THE STREETS OF ACCRA AND OSEIKROM AT NIGHT AND IT WAS SAFE.INDIVIDUALS HAD NO GUNS.JJ IS THE ONE WHO ALLOWED GUNS TO BE PERMITTED.ARMED ROBBERY LIKE YOU S ...

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

WELL RAWLINGS COULD HAVE BEEN A GREAT LEADER FOR SOME OF US TOO BUT DISTROYED THAT WHEN HE SENT HIS CHILDREN ABROAD SPONSORED BY HIS 'FRIEND' AND BOUGHT THOSE BULLET PROOF CARS ALSO SPONSORED BY 'FRIENDS' HE DESTROYED WHAT HE ...

• BRIGHT AHIN 10 years ago

MR OFORI YOU KNEW THIS AND YET YOU CONNIVED WITH THE DEVIL-NPP AND TRIED ALL MEANS TO ASSASSINATE JJ RAWLINGS BUT GOD SHAMED YOU ALL. YOU WERE AROUND WITH THE DEVIL-NPP WHEN THEY DELIBERATELY PACKED JUDGES AT THE COURT AND NE ...

• william 10 years ago

Let's recognise positive moves to move forward together!

• Sikamanba 10 years ago

Thank u Sham, thank you.

• DI ASEM PA 10 years ago

GIVE THANKS TO GOD

• Kk3 10 years ago

Good news abi? That Rawlings was ahead of his time. Ghana would be better off in this current climate with a leader like him and today's information superhighway.

• SIMPA CARPENTER 10 years ago

On the face of this story,it is hard to believe because you and I were not there and notably this gentleman has always got something to say.

• Kay 10 years ago

You must be a kid or you were not even born,I cry any time my brother tells me a chilling story of how his friends from the Naval base in Takoradi were killed after a tennis game just bcos they were officers.

• Me Too 10 years ago

What happened to other prisoners? What was their crime?

• ....... 10 years ago

JJ SENT AMADEKA TSEPOR SENYA TO GO KILL THE JUDGES

• Ghanani 10 years ago

Those naval Base killings were not cos some were Officers and 2ndly Rawlings did not sanction those killings.I remember the likes of Chief Petty Officer Hughes from Abandze in the Central Region, who was killed cos he tried t ...

• KOFI 10 years ago

This is an indication of life under Rawlings. What happened to the rest of the people on the list? What did they do? Were they given the opportunity to defend themselves?

• Kay 10 years ago

You've just confirmed that some people were killed so what is the lie?I may be young but I was right in Kweikuma when that incidence happened.Find out where those who managed to escape are,and why they did not stay in the arm ...

• ....... 10 years ago

IF JJ THINKS THAT HE HAS DESTROYED EVIDENCE JUST STAY CALM.

• Sam 10 years ago

please tell us the story! we need to know our history and learn from it. thanks

• william 10 years ago

Lest we forget,when students of KNUST, in 1979, were clamouring for'let the blood flow'(as in the other universities) what was Rawlings' answer to them? Did he not ask rhetorically that if they were their relatives,i.e., thos ...

• ??? 10 years ago

THIS IS HE'S TIME.JUST LOOK AROUND THE WHOLE CONTINENT.

• akk 10 years ago

At least it's better to be late than never. For coming out with this revelation before the demise of the ex-president Rawlings

• apapa 10 years ago

tell your fellow no parking party(npp)to know that some of the people in Ghana can see so we wont give them power any more,hail jerry u appiah ofori

• Remove Indemnity Clause 10 years ago

Do not take this man serious,he claimed some members of parliament received bribes before they voted for the Voda phone deal,when he was asked to mention their names that was the end of his claim.

• MATIGARI 10 years ago

PEACE FM FOR YOUR INFORMATION, THERE IS NO PLACE LIKE 'GONJA BARRACKS' IN GHANA RATHER WE HAVE GONDAR BARRACKS SITUATED ON A PARCEL OF LAND BELONGING TO THE PEOLE OF TESHIE AND OSU IN THE CAPITAL OF GHANA, ACCRA

• J. J. Rawlings 10 years ago

Hey Appiah Ofori, you're lying!. I never saved you from facing any firing squad as you claim.

• J. J. Rawlings 10 years ago

I was just joking. I really, really saved his life.

• Atta Mills DEAD 10 years ago

SO what about those who also faced firing squad but were innocent.. any government who allow firing squad without the due process of the law is a murderer and must not be forgive, whether he took your name out or now. This co ...

• African 10 years ago

You are right. This shows that many were killed who were not lucky as this Appiah Ofori. What it does confirm is that, Rawlings signed the death warrant for hundreds if not thousands of people killed.

• philip london 10 years ago

And yet corruption is worse than Acheampong's time and Rawlings is still alive enjoying his ex gratia.

• 7B 10 years ago

the thousand fools

• Photosy. 10 years ago

How can the devil who had a change of heart because his own maker changed his mind be your saviour ? Who arrested you in the first place ? Didn't he toppled an elected President ? God saved you and NOT the devil incarnate you ...

• Tuobodom Trokosi 10 years ago

Appiah Ofori is a sicko who always want to see himself in the news and will come up with this nonsense about Rawlings saving him. How did his name get on the list in the first place? Rawlings firing squad nonsense made some f ...

• KA AKYIRE 10 years ago

AND WHAT LESSON DID YOU AND NPP LEARNED WHEN YOU HAD 8 YEARS? INSTEAD, SHARING OF $5000 ON VODAPHONE, SELLING STATE PROPERTY TO YOURSELF LIKE HOW KOFI BUSIA HELP YOU PEOPLE TO BUY NIGERIANS PROPERTY CHEAPLY VIA ALLIANCE COMPL ...

• Bawa Osman 10 years ago

All right minded people will always be grateful to whoever does anything good to them and P.C Appiah Ofori is no exception.
    Rawlings Will forever remain a hero.

• sound 10 years ago

We who were alive during those days have always maintained that this Man Rawlings is one good person Ghana will never get again So the young one should not listen to the bias propaganda some journalist and politicians are do ...

• Adieakye 10 years ago

P.C APPIAH PUT THIS INFO OUT TO SHOW SIR JOHN AND ADOYE HOW TO APPRECIATES SOMEONE WHO SAVED YOU FROM DEATH AND PRISON.P.C IS JUST BEING FAST.

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

P C, your story is very touching. We mourn the unlucky many who were executed without due process.

• Tommy 10 years ago

Oh please stop that nonsense of yours, what about those killed without any evidence of corruption?
    You may have been spared but others were not. Realize that and say a prayer for their souls.

• Ofosu 10 years ago

hotel wawa, Ghana cocoa that got lose in the sea,Ghana @ 50,the wayome wayome napp and ndc more will die for this coming shake up in Ghana soon, so they better run away as we are very serious and sad to see Ghana this way...c ...

• Nkrumah 10 years ago

“A list was given to ex-President Rawlings and it was centered on prisoners to face the firing squad..." So apart from the senseless killing by firing squad of the 3 heads of states and other top military officers under SM ...

• Abagre Akologo-Bongo County 10 years ago

HON OFORI I JOIN YOU IN THANKING GOD AND EX PRESIDENT RAWLINGS FOR THIS. SOME OF OUR POLITICIANS DO HATE YOU BECAUSE OF YOUR ANTI_CORRUPTIVE BELIEF AND ACTS. SOME POLITICIANS JUST HATE TO HEAR A WORD ABOUT ANTI CORRUPTIVE TEN ...

• basiru akilo 10 years ago

sir help j j rawlinse l like him tomuch but l am far from ghana.and l dond know if he need my halp.thank you for sayer good abourt rawlings.and godbles you and ghana.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

By saving your life means nothing to us.Did he know you before the list was presented to him? What about the thousands and thousands of innocent fellow citizens he murdered? Were you better than them? Please do not disturb us ...

• kwofi 10 years ago

RAWLINGS HIMSELF'LL FACE FIRING SQUAD 1 DAY. I PROPHESIZE!IF U LIVE BY DA SWORD U DIE BY DA SWORD!

• Al Haj AAA Rashiid(OH. USA) 10 years ago

For your information the Barracks is GONDAR and not Gonja.

• DODOWA 10 years ago

You were lucky to live and tell your story; CONGRATULATIOS. Have you ever thought of those defenseless people who were brutally massacred? Have you ever thought of what the three judges and the Army 0fficer go through? Guess ...

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 10 years ago

TO: H.E.FORMER PRESIDENT OF GHANA JOHN AGYEKUM KUFUOR

INFO TO:
    H.E.PRESIDENT OF GHANA JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA

H.E.DR.MR.PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA

H.E.MR.FORMER PRESIDENT GEORGE W.BUSH

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

At this juncture , the Ghanaian Citizens Abroad has collected over 70 thousand signatures all over the world in support of His Excellency President Mahama to continue his good job in office. The Citizens will like Supreme Cou ...

• J J RAWLINGS SAVED APPIAH OFORI 10 years ago

PC, YOU ARE A BIG LIAR.CAN YOU SAY WHEN EXACTLY SUCH A THING HAPPENED TO YOU IN GHANA? YOU WERE A VERY GOOD FRIEND OF EBO TAWIAH THROUGH WHOM YOU WERE CAUSING ATTROCITIES IN BIBIANI( GHANA). OUT OF SHEER JEALOUSY YOU COLLASP ...

• ....... 10 years ago

THESE ARE THE MURDERS WHOM JJ SENT TO KILL THE HI CT GUDGES AND ARMY OFFICER.

• ....... 10 years ago

JUDGES

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 10 years ago

What about the High Court Judges? Rawlings is the most brutal Prez. we have ever had!Please, don`t mention this name again.Normaly, he should have joined Charles Taylor long ago!

• JUSTICE 10 years ago

I think It is time THE Great Sir , His Lordship, The Mighty, one and only Papa JJ Rawlings come and clean the kanker corrupt leaders in the country once again. Hi Hi hi hiiii.

• Sikamanba 10 years ago

This is the real truth about God's man J.J. Rawlings!!
    The truth is the sweetest thing.
    I hope npp will not turn against this honest man of odoben!!

• FOUNDING MEMBER 10 years ago

last night a DJ saved my life from...!

• Dannybee 10 years ago

If Appiah-Ofori's story is anything to go by then Rawlings must have committed so many human rights violations. Who were those whose names were reatined on the list, were they tried by a court of competent jurisdiction as his ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• Apenteng 10 years ago

This notorious serial killer turned God to save your life, eh? He later on became a thief of gargantuan proportion and stole from Ghana than everybody before him. His time will definitely come.

• tiger shark 10 years ago

At least one NPP Person remembers Rawlings did something good.This is a wonder

• Adongo 10 years ago

What about the rest who were shot dead secretly?

• KK 10 years ago

Fool, others were not so lucky and died for nothing.

• C.STEPHEN SACKEY 10 years ago

If just one person in a nation of 25M has such power over other people's life and liberty, in my neck of the woods, it's called an unmitigated tryrrany.

Mr.MP you don't owe this charlatan a damn thing, somed ...

• Osman 10 years ago

Rawlings save me

• Ewe man 10 years ago

Eh! Fa wutu begi Golf

• adjoa Mensah 10 years ago

Please it is not Gonja Barracks. It is Gonda

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

They used that evil bastard to murder those who stood in their way to steal from those who worked hard to acquire wealth and they envied so much.

Evil bunch.

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

They used that evil bastard to murder those who stood in their way to steal from those who worked hard to acquire wealth and they envied so much.

Evil bunch.

Evil bunch

Evil Bunch

• KNYC (USMC) 10 years ago

What a douchebag Paul Collins Appiah Ofori, what about the rest who were killed?

• Question Your Mentality 10 years ago

Who prosecuted you to face firing squad in the frst place, Ofori?

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

It is this Appiah-Ofori who ditch Mr. L.A. Quarshie a Managing Proprietor of defunct Bibiani Wood & Metal Complex to loose his business in mid-'80's and made Mr. Rawlings appointed an Ewe man to run the company which eventual ...

• Sadal 10 years ago

Just read the lines and be the judge.How on earth can a man just make a list of his own folks to be killed by firing squard?Will JJ be happy today if somebody came on today via a coup and made a list just as he did to others ...

• DR. KWABENA ASANTE 10 years ago

I think there is more to this. We need all the information about the secret killings of JJ Rawlings. PC Ofori was lucky because he was in the good books of Rawlings. What about the rest of the unfortunate ones? Asem beba dabi ...

• Joe 10 years ago

Who cares? JJ himself is lucky to be alive today.