IMF, WB no more dictating to us – Kwesi Botchwey

Read Comments Comments (60)

• OBURUMANKUMA 10 years ago

liman was doing a good job till you guys came in... do not blame the WB

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author:Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings...
    Hahaaaaa, Afari Djan on the ropes !

Dr. Afari Djan, the self-acclaimed god of elections, currently finds himself between a rock and a hard place.

The noose around his neck is gettin ...

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

Kwesi Botchway played a crucial role in helping to gain international credibility and to argue Ghana's case at a time when the international community sought to punish and 'cripple' our country (just as they have done Zimbabw ...

it is nothing new that the great minds and leaders of the Akans are being continuously persecuted , killed or slandered by non Akans at the drop of a hat , now the time has come for freedom from these rivers of Babylon , the ...

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

Paul Amuna, I dont agree with you about Kwesi Botchwey playing a crucial role for us to gain international recognition. What do you mean by international recognition? What did it give us?

If you mean taking an indefensible ...

• Eric 10 years ago

You sold us already. They don't need to dictate in the same way as they used to. They do it differently. You, Joe Abbey, Amissah Arthur, Kufour sold us hands and feet already.

Perhap you are not aware that under the PNDC, Ghana suffered trade embargoes, we were denied credits, grants, loans etc.

Around the same time, Ghana and the US were embroiled in a case of accusations of espionage.

At ...

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

It is because I am free to disagree with you, that is precisely why I am taking the opportunity to disagree with you.

Now, much as I agree with you that there were difficulties during the Rawlings regime, those difficultie ...

• Nick 10 years ago

African leaders only think about the aids they will get from the foreign governments and not about helping their own people. They behave like parents who do not want to work but expecting someone to fee them and their familie ...

• GODWIN, Westminster-London. 10 years ago

GHANA MOST WANTED CRIMINAL FINANCE MINISTER, shame onto you. thief, thief, thief,thief, after u and idiot so called murderer j.j. rawlings chopped ghanaians finished. mother fucking bastard u

• Kwabena, Toronto 10 years ago

My brother Nick: I was with you until your suggestion that "Perhaps it is time for us to bring white man back to rule over us". First, we Africans did not bring the colonists to Africa to rule over us. They themselves came to ...

• Ato John 10 years ago

Dr. Botchwey, please why are you saying this? If something is wrong and you that you know then please do us a favour and say it “Too many African countries simply don’t put themselves in the driver’s seat,” Are we in ...

• Paa Joe (UK) 10 years ago

When Prof Mills was elected his 1st foreign trip was to UK to borrow money. Prof won the elections partly on the promises of abrogating the Vodafone contract. So UK was not pleased when Prof came for aid to support his budget ...

• nsem pii 10 years ago

and NPP and NDC insane commits the ghanaweb will be flooded sensitive issues only two people. Folks SUCKS.

• SAM TEMA 10 years ago

MR BOTCHHWEG PLS IF GH TAKE A LOAN FROM IMF AND WB WHAT DO YOU DO WITH IT YOU SHARE IT AMONG YOUR MINISTERS TAKE EXSAMPLE ON KUMASI ACCRA ROAD HOW MUCH DID THEY GIVE US FOOL THE ROADS STILL THERE YOU ARE DRUNK AFRICA LEAD ...

• WHY 10 years ago

BUT THE CHINESE NOW DICTATE TO US INTERESTING

• Honestina 10 years ago

I hope not. Our forests and other natural resources are going to be ruined and shipped the good part to china. I feel sorry for our country and its people.

• PASQUIN 10 years ago

DR KWESI BOTCHWAY SAID THE IMF AND WORLD BANK ! WHERE DO CHINESE COME IN ?

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

Ghanaians are only aping and taking after the western imperialist vilification of China. They listen to too much BBC and CNN.

Ironically, the minds of some of our brothers and sisters have been poisoned by the prejudices ...

• Honestina 10 years ago

Thanks Dr. Kwesi Botchwey,if I read the article correctly, that IMF should not dictate to us about what to do. I am wishing that Dr. Botchwey, will not accept the devaluation of our currency by IMF. Devaluations degrade our c ...

• Agyakwakuo Twumpuduo 10 years ago

As long as we have intellectuals who are as blind as the worm, we shall never make it as a nation in terms of development.
    Look at the strides Ghana made under the Kufuor administration, Ghana was able to wean ourselves from ...

• KOLOMASHIE 10 years ago

look at this man. nobody would dictate to you unless you want them to. so you and NDC should continue to mess the country up.it won't be long before they start dictating

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

he teacher told her class the word of the day was "dictate" and who could spell it.
    Johnnie raises his hand and he says d-i-k-t-a-t-e-.
    Teacher says sorry that's wrong and calls on Betty.
    Betty says d-i-c-k-t-a-t-e.
    Sorry ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Prince... they have always been a pimp with the help of our treacherous leaders. Sometimes I wish we have another form of governing ourselves without need for those blood suckers we have to accommodate.

Our leaders have an inbuilt sense of inferiority complex. They feel inadequate unless & until there is a foreign (Oburoni) input or appraisal of our Government's performance.
    We are our own worst enemy.

As for princewilly ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Prince is truly a wizard. He is skilled at painting facts in a picturesque fashion.

Inferiority! that is one way of looking at it. The other is that, they come in to power and realize they can not beat the international s ...

You are right about the electorate always being the one left carrying the can. But in spite of this, why is it that the "electorate" never seem to learn or ask searching questions?
    They are easily bought and sell their birth ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

You are right.Till the people wake from their slumber.

MY PIMP STOCKS FELL ON WALL STREET BECAUSE THE TAKORADI GIRLS CANNOT COME INTO MY SPACE AND GOOGLE ON MY FACE BOOK,DO I HAVE TO GO TO THE IMF?

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

No! just wait small and the IMF will come to you. She is in love with you like bean and gari. It is an unbreakable marriage.

Teacher: "The one sucking the cone."

Little Johnny: "No. The one with the wedding ring on, but I like the way you think."

• Johnnywas 10 years ago

why doesn't he explain what being in the 'driver seat' means? Mugabe decides he wants to redistribute land, what have they been doing to him? And with all his knowledge, what has Dr. Botchway himself been doing to put us the ...

• DONBOLI 10 years ago

Some of these people speaks a lot of shit. Is he telling when he was in office with Rawlings for 15 year, the IMF and WB didnt conditions on Loans?
    Shameless man who was power drank and didnt see what IMF MD were do to Afri ...

• John Musah 10 years ago

So Kwesi Botchwey has now seen the light. This same man criticized those who cautioned him against his dalliance with Breton Woods institutions, these institutions damaged the Ghanaian economy irreparably. Kwesi B. dined and ...

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

I will admit that the following article below was posted recently by a brilliant person whom I could not capture name or source..............
    BUT, it is a must read for all Ghanaians to see the hypocrisy of this Kwesi Botchw ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

How dare him talk nonsense. They don't do it directly anymore. They have found disciples in the form of our policy makers and legislative bodies and some among the Ghanaian community who will wash their dirty linens anywhere ...

• Steel-Pulse (Primus-Interparis) 10 years ago

Brut, thief and greedy bastard!!! the architect of PAMSCAD (programme of action to mitigate the social cost of ajustment). Fool, by this action you reduced the able bodied Ghanaman to a piece of bread through redundancy and s ...

• Steel-Pulse (Primus-Interparis) 10 years ago

Correction; 'adjustment'

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

Our destiny is in the hands of our LEADERS who for the past several years have mostly been: visionless, greedy bastards or idiots.

GO AWAY, YOUR DAYS ARE NUMBERED AND VIEWS ALSO WORTHLESS. MOTHER-FUCKER THIEF, BASTARD. GOD PUNISH U, OLD P/NDC THIEF

ghanaians money in EXILED in france. mother-fucker bastard

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Will someone ask Kwesi the Mamobi boy if he has finished shagging the Canadian mistress. Nonsense.

• KK 10 years ago

talk some issues and sense - no need for useless talk.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Waaa Look... did you go above to write my other comments before making this stupid comment.

• Teisi 10 years ago

Get real education

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Do you know the consequences of our leaders sleeping with some of these foreign agents? Nonsense. Believe me, I am well educated done you.

• PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI- McA 10 years ago

FIFTY YEARS EMANICIPATION

-------------------------------
    FIFTY YEARS FREEDOM
    ================================
    IMF & WORLD BANK WERE FOUNDED
    RESPECTIVELY BY BUSINESS MEN IN US NOT GOVERNMENTS
    ===== ...

• A SQUARRE 10 years ago

Insults does not makes you a nan or a woman, People who want to grow try to avoid insults and impersonations. My brothers and sisters what you will be in future starts today.

• K.K 10 years ago

I REMEMBER THOSE DAYS WHEN THIS GUY COMES ON TV (GTV) EVERY JANUARY TO STATE PRICES OF PETROL AND OTHER MARKET GOODS. BOTCHWEY AND PNDC GURUS MESSED UP THIS COUNTRY BIG TIME; HENCE CALLING HIM NOT FINANACE BUT PETROL PRICE MI ...

• KK 10 years ago

Ghana during your days had more challenges economic problem than now and you were one had working minister. It was interesting working with you and watching you read those difficult belt tightening budget and the Rawlings cha ...

• KK 10 years ago

The Briton Woods institution have no choice as most African countries go to China for loans with no stupid conditions like Briton Wood institutions. think about it, without the Chinese loans, Briton Wood institutions would st ...

• EDEM 10 years ago

So who asked the gov't to put a freeze on public sector employment when Mills assumed office in 2009? Black mamba wants to do propaganda too?

• OPEN MINDED SAINT 10 years ago

THIS MAN IS RIGHT BUT HE KNOWS THE PRBLEM AND THE CONDITIONS VERY WELL. EVERY LOAN CO ES WITH CONDITIONS AND IF YOU ARE HONEST AND USE THE LOAN EXACTLY WHAT IS MEANT FOR THEN IS NOT A PROBLEM. YOU CRONIES GREEDY BASTARD SHARE ...

• WWW.GHANANEWS.TK 10 years ago

Ghana’s longest-serving finance Minister? - WWW.GHANANEWS.TK

Dr Botchway is right, but why that shift in approach by IMF and the World Bank? Quite apart from the fact that their approaches over the decades have failed and their prescriptions have been unsustainable, they also realise t ...

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

Paul, please read the earlier article posted.......yes! that was not written
    by me, but it does make a lot of sense so there was no need to write
    anymore But the PART TWO seems to be blocked by Ghanaweb. However. if I
    may. ...

• osei yao 10 years ago

Kwasi Botchwey is the main agent who made IMF/WB acceptable to Africans. He and Rawlings sold out Ghana.

• NSEM WO WORLD. 10 years ago

IF LOANS AND GRANTS WOULD BE USED TO FILL POTHOLES AND MANHOLES INSTEAD OF CONSTRUCTING FIRST CLASS ROADS THEN THEY WOULD HAVE TO DICTATE TO YOU BECAUSE YOU CAN NOT IMPOSE HARDSHIP ON YOUR PEOPLE.

• ghanaba 10 years ago

really? how are you going to finance your gaz? ananse stories, when you sell cheap, no matter the quality, people buy. the same people come back to tell us ananse stories. ndc-npp dictatorship still the same. these insts are ...