You are here: HomeNews2013 07 28Article 280771

Rawlings blocked from laying wreath

Read Comments Comments (95)

• KOLA,LONDON MAIN 10 years ago

You should be specific on what you want to say. It looks like you beating about the bush or more so shooting yourself in the foot when the whole world knows that Kuffuor is not only a thief but an aggressive one.

Do you no ...

• KOLA PROGRESSING FORWARD 10 years ago

"Not mention arm robbery."

WHO IS ROBBING ARMS IN GHANA, BOROFO KANKAN KOLA? It's ARMED ROBBERY. ARMED means you have weapons like guns, clubs, Machetes etc. ARM means your hand. means

"Do you not know that Akronfuor o ...

• KOLA,LONDON MAIN 10 years ago

KOLA,LONDON MAIN, A STUPID EWE FOOL, IT'S "ARMED ROBBERY" AND NOT THAT EWE TROKOSI ENGLISH "ARM ROBBERY" KWASEA!!!

Comment: Head robbery not arm robbery
    Author: KOLA PROGRESSING FORWARD
    Date: 2013-07-28 07:44:50
    Comm ...

• Mahmoud 10 years ago

Ghanaians are primitive and primitivism is exhibited by the so called leaders in Ghana in such occasions. Rawlings should not have been treated in that manner; he should have been allowed to lay the wreath. After all, he was ...

• ATTA MILLS 10 years ago

J.J. RAWLINGS MUST BE AVOIDED, HE IS A DISGRACEFUL HYPOCRITE

• ANOKWALE 10 years ago

THE OSU MANTSE SHOULD NOT HAVE LAID THAT WREATH AS ATTA DID NOT WELCOME TRADITIONAL RULLERS AT NATIONAL FUNCTIONS, ESPEIALLY NII MEI IN ACCRA

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Who cares what thieves and blockheads do to each other ?

Ghana would be better off, if they return what they have looted that turned Ghana into a highly indebted poor country (HIPC)and a highly indebted middle income count ...

• Original Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

Ghanaians are not civilised people, Ken Kuranchie
    General News of Tuesday, 16 July 2013
    Source: peacefmonline

Chronicling the events that unfolded during his incarceration, Ken Kuranchie has expressed doubt about the civ ...

Get lost with your idiotic insanity, you walking vomit !

Beter go fight your boko haram barbaric terrorists and niger delta thugs before coming here to tell Ghanaians that they are not civilized, you perplexed pea-brained ...

"Beter go fight your boko haram barbaric terrorists and niger delta thugs before coming here to tell Ghanaians that they are not civilized, you perplexed pea-brained drooling spastic !"

should rather read :

'Better ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author: Gye Nyame...
    This is the way the administration flows, they are only apologizing because the 91 year old decided that she was not going to take it lying down, other wise they would have rolled over her and done the c ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, UNDER 20 FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• OUT OF NOTHING 10 years ago

DEMONS - UNCIVIL PEOPLE - UGLY PEOPLE - DESERVING OF EACH OTHER !!!

• Ernest 10 years ago

this is nothing when JJ avoided and i didnt see any disgraceful in it.Please learn how to talk.

• Komla Agbeli Afadjato 10 years ago

Whoever allowed Rawlings and his wife, onadu to attend Atta Mills's Ffuneral last year was so naïve and wrong.For the stuff and curses that came from rawlings and konadu agyeman and the one term president we are better off ...

• wear 10 years ago

And so what, Rawlings shake hands with widow Naadu mills without looking at her face, this Rawlings his time will come

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

This is very strange to hear,putting
    wreath for a departed Love ones means a farewell sign which pleases God,to
    go and see his maker,this man is already dead has noyhing to do with his fresh but SPIRTUALLY to enable him
    me ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

NDC,play your game well,Rawlings is the founder of this Party and Mahama
    is choosing as the head could have
    used his brains to allow Rawlings to
    lay the wreath,it does not mean any
    thing but Mahama is so stupit not to
    ma ...

• Mr Okuru Kumah. S Africa 10 years ago

Please, let us learn to respect our statesmen

• Hmm... 10 years ago

I thought you could better correct your friend but you don't read as the subject head of yours but diabolically tribalism why? Do you have problem with Ewes or you can't stand whenever you hear/remember there is a tribe calle ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Don't mind that bush rat who thinks Kola London Main is of Ewe stock. Even if he were an Ewe, so what? The Akyem dog and bastard should just mind his animal shit delicacy.

Vodoo Xebieso is proud to be an Ewe and nothing le ...

• kofi USA 10 years ago

Thanks for correcting Kola, London Man about wrongly using the word "Arm" My point is that, this article has nothing to do with Kufuor & NPP. Rawlings was refused to lay a wreath because of his Evil ways, and must change his ...

• Truthful Kofi 10 years ago

Nonsense

• Ghanaian,Tokyo 10 years ago

what does it matter.after all he is the boss and the one who made him whom he was,ghanaians learn

You are of no use to society because you can't free your self from this "Hearts/Kotoko, NDC/NPP" rivarly. JJ criticism of Mills turns out to be objective and if Mills had headed to some of them, he would probably be living to ...

• wear 10 years ago

You people don´t practically understand why Ghana after 56 years of Independence from the British Colonial imperialism, we are still suffering. The main problem hangs on the neck of Danquah-Busia- Obetsebi Lamptey-Baffour Ak ...

• Mama Yaw 10 years ago

You need to think through what you intend to write and put your thought process in concise order before you start writing your toxic English grammar.

• Mimi 10 years ago

Hei!!! You are a very stupid guy, wo ho kankan.Go back to be born again from a different womb which will pamper you with sweet scented toiletries not don't touch me soap with wet stinky beddings so you will have a real taste ...

• cha 10 years ago

We need electricity, water, education extra- unnecessarily Rawlings this and that

• Seth, UK 10 years ago

You are one of those sensible persons we need on this platform.
    Folks most users of this platform is tarnishing the credibility it's meant to command. Could anybody just dream and publish it here? No any reliable facts or r ...

• srome 10 years ago

Ghanaweb is owned by a Dutchman and does not care what Ghanaians wants to do here, all what matters to him is patronage for his fat checks, if you care enough find him and make an offer and take over.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

The man JJ hunted Mills right from the word go. He is dead and what will the wreath laying do to the departed soul? At times, this should send a crystal clear message to those who are well educated that if a disgruntled sol ...

• Yaw Adu 10 years ago

How do you know Mills might be alive today? Maybe Mills would have died way before 2012 if he did not have the privilege of using taxpayers money as President and Vice President to get the best medical care available or he co ...

• krikri 10 years ago

I agree with you when you state that JJ desrves the cold shoulder but I disagree when you say that the late Prof stooped low to serve his nation. FOOLS WILL REIGN IF THE WISE SHY AWAY. In 1996, JJ needed a CLEAN PERSON to par ...

• Cadman Mills 10 years ago

The Ndc fools did not even allow Atta Mills illegitimate child to lay wreath during his funeral and the bastard jj has no right to lay wreath, that will be hypocrisy.

• Ewiaseyesum 10 years ago

It is long overdue for Rawlings to keep a low profile and behave like a real statesman. We can send him to South Africa to learn from Madiba Mandela. That is the only way he can earn respect of Ghanaians.

• Akwasi bodua 10 years ago

this shows clearly that the current government is confused about wat to do in his regime. Ghana wat is going on... God have mercy on us.

• Nana 10 years ago

Enough of this nonsense! If honorary held then Rawlings himself is Dr. Dr. Dr. Enough of this trash!

• KEN 10 years ago

GHANAIAN SHOULD RESPECT MR.JJ...FOR HE HAS DONE GREAT JOB...HE IS NOT THE ONE WHO KILLS MILS..ATTA HIMSELF WANTED TO BE CALLED PREZ...ATTA'S SON IS SAYING THAT HIS FATHERS DEATH DIDNT MAKE SENCE....MAKE YOU GO ASK GOD...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

And so what??

• Akosua 10 years ago

yes i agree with you. so what? at least he was there.

• YAW- COLUMBUS OHIO USA 10 years ago

Yes he deserve that treatment.HE AND THE WIFE ARE EVIL AND CONTRIBUTED GREATLY TO THE DEATH OF PRESIDENT MILLS.JJ think he knows everything in this world but he is the most barbaric and stupid ex president I have ever seen in ...

• GHANAS CANCER=UGLY ASHANTI 10 years ago

ASHANTIS HATE JJ BCOS HE ELIMINATED THEIR CRIMINAL UGLY FATHERS=TRUE

• KEN 10 years ago

HE.... ELIMINATED THEM, YES BECOZ THEN OPOKU WARE SUPPORTED THEM WHEN THEY OVERTHROWN N.K...WHAT THEY SWON IN THE COUNTRY IS WHAT JJ HAVERSTED FOR THEM..THAT MANPONG BOY DID TO HIS MASTER IS WHAT JJ PAID FOR....WE ARE IN D ...

• Jay+++++++++++London 10 years ago

These NDC Crooks have no SHAME and this is manifested in their behaviour in the public eye at such supposed-to-be solemn ceremonies as the Mills one year anniversary.

With the NDC, and Rawlings in particular, nothing surpr ...

• Obisanya, Gbangbade 10 years ago

Why the too much, unnecessary and irrelevant readings into every matter?
    This is simply a remembering event and not a re-run of the burial/funeral ceremony. Was Kufuor also invited to lay a wreath to demonstrate that Rawling ...

• Joe 10 years ago

President Kuffour was not invited maybe because he is not NDC Ex president.It was NDC ceremony not State ceremony.President Mills was only President for the NDC.

• KB 10 years ago

The Independent Newspaper's attempt at mischief making is soo amature. A little research could have informed you that Rawlings never laid a wreath for Mills during his funeral. Infact it was after all the wreath had been laid ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Two women friends had gone out for a Girls Night Out, and had been decidedly over-enthusiastic on the cocktails. Incredibly drunk and walking home they suddenly realized they both needed to pee. They were very near a graveyar ...

• Truthful Kofi 10 years ago

Well said

• kayakayaman 10 years ago

PLS., GIVE US MORE.

You can complain because roses have thorns, or you can rejoice because thorns have roses.

• Moses 10 years ago

Mr Independent, we should respect each other when we are alive. No need to shed crocodile tears upon ones death. What has he got to say at laying the wreath, and why did you not talk to the family and government about your lo ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

JJ is a demon!

• Akosua Tabuwaa 10 years ago

Rawlings may as he pleases lay wreath on the graves of the Judges he killed.

• UNCORAY 10 years ago

RAWLING SHOULD HAVE BEEN ALLOWED TO LAY WREATH ON BEHALF OF ALL PAST PRESIDENTS. BUT WHERE WAS J.A. KUFFOUR.

• KB 10 years ago

This is not so important to bring it out, we have something better to think of. Leave the dead body to sleep in peace. Sa Asa!

• Kwame D. 10 years ago

Is Kabral Blay Amihere still the Editor/Owner of this tabloid?

Read what he says here at the very end:

"....This time around, he could only manage to put a flower at the grave yard of his former Vice President after the ...

• Barima Yaw 10 years ago

How

• PAUL AFFUL 10 years ago

JJ shd not join the sycophants in ghana who want to make the evil atta mills a saint despite his role in bogus jdebts which cost ghana so much, we have never been rich enough to eradicate the evil of kayayeis and yet this evi ...

• Ghana's Children Murdered by the Corr 10 years ago

Ok ok, do you not know that Ghanaian/black bigots are the loudest complainants about racism? Motherfucker bigots.

And why do our Sakawa "Prophets" keep accepting bribe money and other ill-gotten wealth as tithe? Why can't ...

• HASSAN RASTA GERMANY 10 years ago

WHAT ELSE DO YOU KNOW IF NOT FROM THE VILLAGE OF ASHANTI REGION TO THE CAPITAL ACCRA, WHERE ELSE DO YOU KNOW IN GHANA? FOOLS LIKE YOU WHO PIMP THEIR MOTHERS, WIVES, AUNTS, SISTERS AND DAUGHTERS IN EUROPE THINKS THAT IS WHAT I ...

• unlimited 10 years ago

Where do u resided in Germany ? First of all eliminate that hate from you bro Rasta, Remember JJ father was a White man and we don't have to go too far on that issue.
    I was in Belgium, Holland and Germany 1985 and I depart ...

• George Lawson 10 years ago

Anoma enntu a ogyina h). If a bird does not fly, it remains stationary.

• kusasi 10 years ago

some ghainains and outsiders saw and knew what you did for mother ghana.not laying wreath is what?you, mandela,nkrumah were the only one named by the well respected british watchdog among prominent world accomplised leaders

• OBURUMANKUMA 10 years ago

Why do these people behave like Mills was a government property?

• mma 10 years ago

Remember his "Attah the mortuary man?"
    speech at a convention in Tamale? Rawlings laying a wreath in Pres Mill's honour would have amounted to another insult. This man Rawlings deserves no special status in our dear country ...

• Alabi Francis, 10 years ago

Mills laid his life down for peace of the nation against the Rawlingses wish of prosecuting and jailing of members of the previous government, this is a well known fact but it looks like some people want to create confusion b ...

• oyinasky 10 years ago

But you guys are not serious. Look and the picture Rawlings is not even looking at Mrs. Mills as she is greeting him. His whole body language says it all.

• Vicky Lee Benton 10 years ago

THEY HAVE FINALLY FIGURED IT OUT . THE TROUBLE MAKER OF THE PARTY. NOW THEY NEED AN OVERHALL IN THEIR PARTY IN ORDER TO SUCCEED SHOULD THE COURTS ASK FOR ANOTHER REFERENDUM. THEIR LEADER ALSO IS A JINX. THE GHANAIAN PEOPL ...

• G.A 10 years ago

Jj is a good person becose you can never hate a dead person even if you deslike him becos you are also going to die.JJ good bless you

• Victor 10 years ago

What protocol informed the earlier decision to allow JJ to lay a wreath in the first instance and not now. A faulty protocol has been corrected period !

• gull god 10 years ago

that was not a nice to do considering their relationship

• Tompa Dade 10 years ago

The language used in your postings is awful!! Moderator, please insist on clean postings which respect the dignities of all participants.

• JOY 10 years ago

I THINK THIS WASNT FAIR TO THE FORMER VICE PRESIDENT

• Joy 10 years ago

Change your moniker - I am the real Joy

• ayo 10 years ago

You should have allowed readers to judge .Next time don't mislead us with your one-sided headline.
    Anyway, was Rawlings the only statesman man who did not lay a wreath?Is Kuffuor not a human being?What about Kofi Annan?will ...

• chigri wagadugu 10 years ago

Why not eye to eye, all the big mouth
    now you can't able eye to eye SHEGYIYA.

• sammy 10 years ago

after all jj made atta mills president

• Man 10 years ago

The reward for wickedness is tormentuous ending.

• Jt 10 years ago

Who looses this guy is an internationally recognized guy the next Dr k. Nkrumah like it or not he is respected across Africa, 96 percent Ghanaians like him and believe he sensitize our political field we have today. Both part ...

• PAPillon 10 years ago

Typical Ghanaian nonsense about dead issues. It's about time we upgraded our mindset. Let the dead bury their dead.

• Whatever 10 years ago

We are NOT being told whether Rawlings wanted to lay a wreath or not yet you write "he was blocked". This an another attempt by Pro NPP newspaper to so another round of seeds of discord among the NDC fratenity. It won't wash. ...

• Ganyo 10 years ago

Useless newspaper. Trying to create news where there is no news. When did Rawlings tell them he wanted to lay a wreath.

• Jelly baby 10 years ago

Do former president Rawlings with his age has to lay a wreath? Rawlings simply can delegate it to his assistant. Even a head of a clan doesn't lay a wreath but rather delegates it. This is not big of a news to publish on the ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

And so- --?

• Abongo 10 years ago

After all, Mills wasn't any any good ruler. Politics is not for the meek. If Attah Mills couldn't take criticism,that was his business. The news did not mention anybody's name blocking JJ from laying wreath and who cares.

• Clarence 10 years ago

WHY WAS HE AT THE FUNERAL IN THE FIRST PLACE IF YOU CANNOT SHAKE HANDS WITH THE WIFE OF THE LATE ATTA MILLS. THIS IS DISGRACEFUL FROM SOMEONE WHO IS HAILED AS FORMER PRESIDENT OF GHANA. WHERE LIES HIS SENSE OF LOVE AT LEAST. ...

• Koforidua Flowers (fr) 10 years ago

WREATH or NO WREATH, JOHN IS GONE WHILES THE OTHER TWO JOHNS ARE ALIVE.PAPA 'J' WAS AWARE HE WAS NOT BOOKED FOR SUCH PRSENTATION THEREFORE, HIS BODY PRESENT WAS ENOUGH.ANYWAY WE WERE EXPECTING SOMETHING MIRACLOUS TO HAPPEN D ...

• Dam 10 years ago

Papa jj,don't worry de old evil dwarfz are stll in de forest wid negative tinkin.how on earth,a hole sittin president died wid out knowing de coz.

• joe 10 years ago

what is needed is to investigate mills death, period

• NII ARMAH 10 years ago

EVERYBODY'LL GO ONE DAY. FORGIVE US OUR TRESPASSES US WE FORGIVE THOSE WHO TRESPASS AGAINST US.

• NPP 10 years ago

PAPA J DONT FORGET THIS GREEDY BUSTARDS,YOUR STILL THE FOUNDER OF OUR BELOVED PARTY,IF NAADU DONT LIKE IT,SHE SHOULD GO AND BURN THE SEA,YOU LET MILLS BECOME PRESIDENT,WITHOUT YOU NOBODY WILL KNOW MILL,EVEN ASSEMBLE MEN ARE P ...

• Bogoso 10 years ago

Did Atta mill wake from the dead when people laid the wreath? instead of you people preaching unity look at how backward you are.
    No matter , Ghana is going backward everyday because we being ruled by people with no real se ...

• tie 10 years ago

he is not a a good man.