You are here: HomeNews2013 07 25Article 280545

Mahama stops renaming of Hockey Pitch; AMA boss summoned

Read Comments Comments (116)

• cha 10 years ago

What a bunch of jokers

• preman 10 years ago

Ghanaians are more than watching a comedy,governance indeed!

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Left hand does not know what the right hand is doing. How can such an announcement be made without proper approval?

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

The former deputy minister explained that the decision to name the hockey facility after Mrs Okoh was taken in 2004 after careful deliberations and consultations by a competent group of people who formed a committee set up by ...

• Issah Yahya 10 years ago

The Ga NDC youth lobbied to changed Ohene Djan stadium to Accra Sports Stadium. This is one of the disgraceful thing to happen with Gas.

Ashantis kept Baba Yara Stadium as it is

• DAVI 10 years ago

Dumsoroooooooo! Yaa Mahama oooooo!Na Achriee?Nkomfe ene Animguasee Nkoaa.what bunch of incompetent people.

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV & TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM

every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, UNDER 20 FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, UNDER 20 FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• Onipamu 10 years ago

Feces is what describe your stupid postings on Ghanaweb. Are you nuts to be littering all the place with your stupid ads.

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

Yes Mr. President step in and stop some of the "nonsensical" decisions from these stupid delegates, for they are shaming your leadership.

• Original Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

EVIL BUSIA DESTROYED GHANA
    Here are his achievements:

1. ACO: (which discriminated against fellow Africans, mostly Nigerians. He robbed them of their human rights, stole their properties and VIOLENTLY DEPORTED them to Nig ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

I am very fond of some Ashanti culture and sometimes the way they accept people from other tribes. I grew up in Ashanti region and in most places, the people are so much intermarried with people from other cultures that you c ...

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

Why wouldn't he do what he did, they got away with changing the name of the Ohene Djan Stadium, and at the time Atta Mess looked on like a typical Simpa Panyin saying nothing. He Atta Mess renamed Jubilee House back to its co ...

• Afful 10 years ago

Mills symbolised the poverbila Fante Term Simpa Panyin and even in detah still controvesy reigns. Who appointed this guy in the first place to AMA. Cape Coast honoured Robert Mensah,Kumasi-Baba Yara of Northern descent but in ...

• GO WEY YOU 10 years ago

TRIBALIST GAS, CAN DO ANYTHING EVIL. "THE TOKYO JOE BOYS AND THE GA SHIFIIMO KPEI" MENTALITY IS STILL IN THEM. BACKWARD PEOPLE ..

• Mamprobai 10 years ago

Vanderpuye may have bought his Certificate. He is no different from a Foolsoldier and for him he is the legislature, judiciary and the executive.

• DAVI 10 years ago

NDC SHOULD NAME THE MOTOWAY THEY ON WOYOMES' HEAD AFTER LATE PREZ.MILLS.

• jaga 10 years ago

This has nothing to do with NDC..it is about a daft mayor..
    what is more shameful than a president who collect kick =backs in raw cash and put them in his car boot and take it home...

• kwame no 1 10 years ago

LOOK THE FOOL MAHAMA CALL HIM SELF A PRESIDENT WITH THE FAKE GHANIANS PARTY NDC DOGS WASTE OF OXYGEN I WISH THESE FAKE GHANIANS CAN GO BACK WHERE THEY COME FROM I WILL VERY HAPPY PRICKS

• Ciz 10 years ago

You are the fool. I guess your parents did not teach you to be respectful to your elders. Mr. Mahama is your president. Show him some respect.

• Theodore 10 years ago

Ciz! I want to let you know that respect is due to who deserves it.Period, if the president is fooling he need to be told.

• Ashanti life 10 years ago

kwame!!! your wish will never be granted cuz you an illitrate more over,a racist...so how can you diffreciate between a ghanaian and others?

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

There is too much indiscipline in Ghana and this is crystal example of such indiscipline. When I heard the AMA pass a resolution to rename the National Hockey Pitch after Mills on yesterday's TV3 live news at 8.00pm (on my la ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Kofi Please check the facts first. The Mayor has the right although he did not use it rightly and advisedly. Please call TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING AND FIND OUT. In London and every major city, the Mayor has the delegated righ ...

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

I get irritated when people always make these disparate and divergent analogies with countries, laws and people with whom we share no aspirations.

I do not give a rats ass if thats what they do in London, Tokyo, Los Angel ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

kutunpofo...then you better stop following NPP because the current party generation are masters at following foreign ideas and comparisons.

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

Good gracious, Braveboy, why on earth would you think that I would follow a Party like the NPP? Oooooh! that hurts. Me follow that Party that inflicted so much terrorism on the people of Ghana? No way. I am well and properly ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Sorry.. I may have jumped to conclusion about your party affiliation and the way you replied my earlier comment. I am very traditional minded, but if read all the earlier comments, u will find that I only respond to what peop ...

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

Well I am glad that you are also not a supporter of the thieving oligarchy. I wish many more Ghanaians would wake up up to the devious scam that these two parties are perpetrating on the hapless people of Ghana.

And thanks ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

I live in London. The mayor and the GLA cannot just stand up one day and vote to change the name of a national monument, building, or property already name by the Queen or Prime Minister, even a Minister. In fact, it won't ev ...

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

Well Andy-K I really do not know what you mean by the word civilized. Perhaps it includes racism, same sex marriage and homosexuality, having the unrestrained ability to attack mainly people of other races on the basis of lie ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

C. Y. ANDY... I hope you know where the Hockey Stadium is in Accra next to Makola( not sure if it is number one or two). It is not a major site and I believe Madam Theodosia Okoh actually deserves a bigger recognition ( but I ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Not when a monument has already been named to honour another national who has contributed immensely for the development of the country.

Are we saying Madam Oko is no longer worthwhile to have a hockey stadium named after ...

• Moderator 10 years ago

MMMmmmm, PhD fo ni bi ni ooo!!!
    "Lavendar Hill" would soon be named after your Kufour if the mayor of Accra is not sacked on the spot!!!!

• ab 10 years ago

they should start naming themselves after ata mills nobody cares. what's ata mills legacy? by ten years time what are'u people going to tell your children about ata mills? less i forgot, is that the reason why you're naming e ...

• BLACKMAN PROBLEM 10 years ago

Braveboy you got it wrong those mojar cities you making reference to the Mayors are elected through the ballot box that's why they have the right to name streets and others. Ask yourself if in Ghana mayors are elected or appo ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

I said he has a 'delegated' power to give names but he had to seek the right advice and approval, which he did not do.

• MR (Z) SQUIRE 10 years ago

Please, please, accept to Blackman for the fact that you are wrong in your first expression to prop that, the Mayor is right but he must have asked for approval, so what do you mean by right and wrong at the same time?

• ab 10 years ago

they you believe in this noises? the president is not aware of what? they should tell that story to the marines.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

BRAVEBOY, please note that "to name" is not the same "to rename". The Mayor of London and for that matter the mayor of any major city will not show utter disrespect to a citizen by renaming a national stadium already named af ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Atta... I have subsequently heard the Mayor's explanation and I think it is nonsense, but permit me to say, I thought he assumed he was naming an edifice without an existing name. I was only calling attention to the fact he h ...

• OBURUMANKUMA 10 years ago

is AMA or the GA nation being disenfranchised just for the fact that their city happens to be the nation's capital? What assets belong AMA and by extension the Gas and which assets are national assets which just happens to be ...

A R AN IDIOT. THE AMA'S PROPERTIES WILL BE THOSE THAT THE AMA OR ACCRA MUNICPALITY HAS INVESTED IN FINANCIALLY OR HAS BEEN CONSENSUALLY AGREED TO BY THE GOVT OF GH.YOU CAT JUST OWN A PROPERTY JUST BCOS ITS LOCATED IN ACCRA. I ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

One man mentality.why should this be to bypass authority and do your will,
    animals behave like that.

• myself 10 years ago

WHOM ARE YOU FOOLING? WHAT DO YOU MEAN THE FLAGSTAFF HOUSE WAS NOT AWARE. SO WHAT THE HELL WAS THE VICE-PRESIDENT AND THE MINISTER FOR SPORTS DOING THERE?

• abu 10 years ago

YES, THIS IS SHOW OF GOOD LEADERSHIP ,KUDOS JM

• wo haw ne den? U.S.A. 10 years ago

What good leadership? the confused president told him to do it, its a lie the presidency was not informed, the President has only changed his position due to the pressure Ghanaians are given him.

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

If Mahama is a man of my caliber, he will sack this son of bitch asap.

• Jerry bustard 10 years ago

Mahama de,gay govt is just a idiotic people so they takes nonsenses decissions Vanpoye fuck Mahama ass so no problem , We shall jail them after August 15 Sc decides

• JAMREAH 10 years ago

THE ACCRA MAYOR SHOULD RATHER CONSTRUCT AN ULTRA MODERN HOCKEY STADIUM FOR THE YOUNG ONES AND STOP BEING FOOLISH AND PETTY. NONSENSE DID THE LATE OKOH NOT ACHIEVE HER NATIONALISTIC FEAT BEFORE THE LATE PROF? DOES THE MAYOR ME ...

• afia nsiah 10 years ago

for info... madam Okoh is stil alive...she is in her 90's.. kwame sefa spoke to her on kokro koo show

• Tibaa 10 years ago

From the looks of things, it seems as if President Mahama does not have grips over issues: Why?

Why on earth could a mayor decide to ochestrate changing the name of a national treasure, especially when it is named after a ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Because it is the job description of the Mayor not the President to give names to streets and buildings. Have you heard the term DELEGATED POWERS OF THE ASSEMBLY. TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING IS A BODY UNDER THE MAYOR. This is t ...

• NAA4U 10 years ago

THE QUICK WAY HE HAS RESPONDED TO THIS IS VERY IMPRESSIVE. WOULD KUFOUR OR NANA ADDO HAD LISTENED TO ANYBODY ON SUCH AN ISSUE?

PLEASE IF YOU CANNOT GIVE CREDIT, BETTER HOLD YOUR PEACE.

• ASEM WO MANO 10 years ago

This stupid thing would not happen under Kuffour or Nana Addo presidency....stupid fool can't you see the incompetence of this government? why are some Ghanaians soo stupid?

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Hey! when the NPP named the Accra Stadium after Ohene Djan, the Gas did not like it, What happened. Liar.

• TRUTH MAN 10 years ago

THE STADIUM WAS FIRST NAMED AFTER C. K. GYAMFI. THEN, SUDDENLY RUMOUR HAS IT THAT IT WAS REALISED THIS GYAMFI WAS FROM LARTEH IN THE EASTERN REGION. OHENE GYAN CAME IN BUT,,,,,,,. ANYWAY, I WAS NOT THERE AND YOU WERE NOT THER ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Who the hell told you I was not there and why do I argue with someone who speaks with rumour and not fact.

• CONCERNED GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Truth Man,

How can you claim to be saying the truth when you are citing rumours?

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Tell him brother.

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

Braveboy, what really did happen when the Gas did not like the naming of the stadium in Accra as the Ohene Djan Stadium?

Im asking because as far as I am concerned, that stadium is still the Ohene Djan Stadium. At least t ...

• fred 10 years ago

All that glitters is not gold.Let's learn a lesson from what is going on at the office of the president.

• Kofi Adjaho Mahama 10 years ago

Vanderpuije the thief has been stopped from stealing from old people; and reaping from where he has not sown.Cheap man, Oko Vanderpuije.

• Queen 10 years ago

Should the Ashanti, Western, Brong Ahafo Regions take full possession of the Cocoa, Gold, Diamond, Timber, Oil etc coming from their Regions? It is about time this stupid FOOOLLLL Vanderpuije behaved himself. We have only one ...

• Zombie Killer 10 years ago

Incompetent government

• KOMLA AGBESHIE 10 years ago

Totally confuse.Totally incompetent and stupid government.If care is not taking this NDC government will rename Tema after after Mills and it will be ATTA TEMA MILLS.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

HEY! I NEVER SAID IT. THIS SLOGAN IS THE NEW SLOGAN COMING FROM DR. KWAME AMOAKO- TUFFUOR, AN NPP CO-FOUNDER.

• Ike 10 years ago

Has he finished clearing the filth all over Accra b4 others?

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO greatnananpowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• KOFI DAMESI 10 years ago

HOW COME AFARI SAID IF THE PINK SHEETS WERE NOT SIGNED BY THE RETURNING OFFICERS, THE VOTING RESULTS AT THOSE POLLING STATIONS WOULDN'T BE VALID, BUT HE CONTINUE TO DECLARE UNSIGNED RESULTS TO THE BENEFIT OF MAHAMA. AFARI GY ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is ha ...

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

My friend, if you were as "Concerned" a Citizen as you make it out to be, you wouldnt be out there in other peoples countries saying what you obviously dont know about Ghana.

It is incompetent govts like the one in power ...

• bob 10 years ago

stupid fool who cant even mention where he is in abroad. Aboaba like that

• Blessings 10 years ago

What is this CRASS government behavior of renaming structures that already contain notable and or recognizable names? Can't the government name new structures that are being built? Afterall, Ghana is a developing country whi ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Not because he came up with the flag, but I even read that she actually used her own money to buy that land from the government for that pitch because she was a hockey fanatic. Do you see the problem we have now?

Rawlings- ...

• KevinB 10 years ago

Wow...! A Daniel has come to judgement.

What a master piece, thumb's up.You've summarized it all.

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

Every body does anything he or she wants.

No order, No responsibility, No accountability

Willy Nilly. What a bunch of idiots

• JIM CROW 10 years ago

NDC - THE DEVIL'S OWN PARTY.

if it is city property, AMA does not need central government approval....Mahama shd not behave as a king...

ITS AMA PROPERTY U SAY? WHO FINANCED THE STADIUM? AMA, GH GOVT OR MADAM OKOH? U SEEM TO FORGET THAT THAT PRIMITIVE APE OKO WAS APPOINTED AS A MAYOR. HE WASNT EVEN VOTED FOR BY THE PPL. THEREFORE, COMMON SENSE SHHOULD TELL U T ...

do not comment on my postings again..!!

DONT COME ON GHWEB EITHER. ABOA FUNU. URMODA! go eat ga kenkey in a public toilet, u hear.

• yaw 10 years ago

ATTAGHAN

• Joe 10 years ago

Ohene Djan Sports Stadium should also be reverted from the re named Accra Sports Stadium. Ghana does not seem to be worthy dying for, for all what Ohene Djan did for Ghana Sports.

• KONGA 10 years ago

IT'S STRANGE THAT UNGRATEFUL GHANAIANS HAVE SOON FORGOTTEN RAWLINGS MADE ATTA-MILLS WHO HE WAS.

RAWLINGS THEREFORE HAD EVERY RIGHT UNDER THE SUN TO CAUTION ATTA-MILLS FOR THE WRONG PATH HE DID TAKE.

RAWLINGS WAS LIKE ...

ACCRA SPORTS STADIUM. IF DATS THE CASE THEN ESSIPONG, TAMALE,N BABA YARA MUST ALL BE CHANGED. MIN OF SPORTS OVER TO YOU!

• KONGA 10 years ago

ATTA-MILLS PAID THE PRICE FOR BEING UNGRATEFUL TO AND SPITEFUL OF RAWLINGS.

AS HE SAID, ATTA-MILLS SHOULD HAVE LISTENED TO RAWLINGS 24/7, INSTEAD HE ALLOWED HIMSELF TO BE SWAYED BY CORRUPT NPP, NDC AND OTHER SYCOPHANTS AND ...

• believe 10 years ago

Without the president,it means this AMA againg could change KOTOKA AIRPORT and DR, KWAME NKOROMA CIRCLE and the Whole CITY. This is SAD.Nest is the CASTLE?

• Nelson Mandela 10 years ago

I recommend "My first Copy Book" to you because it looks like you need to learn basic writing skills all over again. Some spelling, punctuation and grammatical lessons will be of immense help.

• Yaa 10 years ago

And wasn't that one a beauty!

Sorry, you NDC people, do you know whether you are coming or whether you are going?

• Kofi Abochie 10 years ago

Superb!!! The old lady merits the honor. Do not deny her. And let's move on to develop the dirty cities of Ghana. Our waste management and cleaning services are poor. The mayors of the cities need to think of finding a better ...

• boakye, Norway 10 years ago

Governance where any person can do what they want.

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

This mayor is a liability to the government and he must be let go. He has served enough time and it is time for fresh blood. People become power drunk the moment they stay in power for too long; especially those who were neve ...

• WONKYENDI REPUBLIC OF ATTA MILLS 10 years ago

THE WOYOGANTUAN CORRUPTION HE PRESIDED OVER HAS TODAY GIVEN BIRTH TO NKOMFEMGANTUAN AND GYEEDAGANTUAN CORRUPTION. THE WONKYENDI SYSTEM OF HIS ERA IS NOW THE FOUNDATION UPON WHICH GHANA STANDS. SO HOW ABOUT "THE WONKYENDI REPU ...

• Trueman 10 years ago

A GOVERNMENT OF JOKERS

• Moderator 10 years ago

We even have a highway named after a war criminal like George Bush whiles we forget our own warriors like Yaa Asantewaa for example.
    Mental slavery folks are we all!!!

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

Moderator, your point is your own thought. But know that, the highway you enjoy using was constructed by money given to the Government of Ghana with no stringe attach by the satan you are talking about. Let it be clear to yo ...

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

Stoner you got it all wrong. You have still not recovered from the mental slavery syndrome.

Lets take for example, the extraction of what once used to be "our" oil at the Jubilee fields. The Govt and people of Ghana, as I ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

The President BUSH who started two wars on credit card, and threw America and the world into recession, must be thrown off our streets ASAP.

NDC's canonization of Atta Mills appear to have misfired and they need to a quick face-saving move.

• Kretz D - Beantown 10 years ago

Shame on you Mahama! You don't deserve to lead Ghana. You are a disgrace to the country. Now you are acting as if you did not know anything about the renaming of the hockey pitch. You knew everything everything about it. If y ...

• guitar boy 10 years ago

ONE ATTEMPTS NOT TO ENGAGE IN INSULTS BUT THEY ALWAYS FIND A WAY TO MAKE YOU BRAKE YOUR PROMISE.JUST LIKE THE OTHER MAJOR AT OSEIKROM.

• Anita de Sosso 10 years ago

these are all idiotic moves. is changing names and renaming of places part of the developpment processes? ndc is a disgrace, an apology of rulers.

• nsemfo ye ehi 10 years ago

Politicians are more than comedians. this Man Mills was a failure in government irrespective of his academic background. Those who looted mother Ghana are the only people showering priases on him. NDC please build a pitch and ...

• KAKATWOFA 10 years ago

AT A TIME WE ARE SUPPOSED TO BE HEALING WOUNDS SEE WHAT A CERTAIN MAYOR IS DOING.LET THE PEOPLE IN ASHANTI CHANGE KNUST,KOMFO ANOKYE,BABA YARA STADIUM,ODARTEY LAMPTEY STREET IN FRONT OF THE STADIUM ETC ,PEOPLE FROM OTHER REGI ...

• Ship Dealer 10 years ago

Oh !!! NDC again, please think twice
    Before Make any step.what a disgrace to the
    Nation

• Kwobia ( Toronto ) 10 years ago

Theodosia deserves a huge thank you.

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

BOHOLD' O' INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA,-"SEEK" WE 'KING DAVID' THE EX-PRESIDENT OF GHANA, HIS EXCELLENCY -JOHN- EVANS FIIFI ATTA MILLS AT THE -ASOMDWE PARK? BEHOLD, BY CHRIST JESUS THE LORD OF 'DAVID' "HE IS RISEN, HE IS NOT HER ...

• alfred 10 years ago

oh mahama why did you keep this MAYOR

• papa yaw ohene Quaw 10 years ago

Wat is happening in ghana

• papa yaw ohene Quaw 10 years ago

Wat is happening in ghana

• Serwa 10 years ago

Okoh Vanderpuije is a disaster waiting to explode in our faces. This goes to confirm the charges leveled against him; one being that he takes unilateral decisions. He is corrupt, disrespectful and very arrogant. After payi ...

• AMSTERDAMUS-AFRICANUS 10 years ago

Eiii Ghanaians, u dont really know what to PRIORITIZE in 2013 .. wow!!

• Show boy 10 years ago

Fire him

• concern ghanian 10 years ago

DO WHAT WILL PROFIT GHANIANS AND STOP POLITICS FOR EVERYTHING. WHAT MILLS HAS DONE THAT WE GOING TO NAME IT AFTER SOMEONE? THIS IS WHY OUR LEADERS ARE NOR SERIOURS DOING MEANINGFUL THINGS. MUMU POLITICIANS