You are here: HomeNews2013 07 23Article 280222

The truth behind oil find in Ghana - Sam Jonah

Read Comments Comments (121)

• KNYC (USMC) 10 years ago

As a CEO of AngloGold what did you do? Jonah, you should be ashamed of your self. look at obuasi, at lest you could have develop there. You have no legacy, and no school should use you as a case study. You are Useless CEO in ...

• Otuo Ampah 10 years ago

He built kvip for your family fool.I can imagine your social status yet thanks to the mask of the web,a junky like you can insult such a noble man as Jonah.

• mahama 10 years ago

Mr Otuo you right, no insult but the truth hurt. what he said was right this so ceo work so hard not the nation but for there pockets. l don't know what project he has done ,but obuasi is a disgrace to Ghana and l know takor ...

• OLIVER TWIST 10 years ago

Although I admit this is an old article that has been given a new lease of life by the rented NDC press, I will still address the contents.

Instead of focusing GNPC's efforts in oil exploration, Tsatsu Tsikata was busy div ...

• Carlos Cobb 10 years ago

Mr Jona, thanks for your article but you could do better than this. In all your praise for your self and your cohorts, you failed to tell us how much Ghana gains.

I read from Craig Murray, a non Ghanaian, who expressed hi ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author:Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings...
    Hahahaha..., Afari Djan on the ropes !

Dr. Afari Djan, the self-acclaimed god of elections, currently finds himself between a rock and a hard place.

The noose around his neck is get ...

• ++WHO ELSE CAN?+++ 10 years ago

+++
    JJ rawlings and tsikata and awhois and all those useless entities could not venture to find the oil. they were busily selling national property. No asante, no ghana.+++

• OKRO MOUTH 10 years ago

This tribal nonsense must stop. Without the smallest ethnic group in Ghana there will be no Ghana. We are what we are today because unlike our other neighbours we did not allow tribal differences take over our efforts. We sto ...

Ass hole, I said it what can you do about it MORON. Ass kiser. You can kiss his ass all you want, to me he is nothing.

• krikri 10 years ago

Kuffour does not understand the written speeches he reads so Frank, please read and explain this piece to him. After that tell him to shut his mouth forever

• Dan Budu 10 years ago

Truly Obuasi town is in shambles. However, I am not sure who to blame. Obuasi should have been a small London by now from my estimations. I leave who to blame to observers.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

NDC RADIO STATION FOOLING

Do you know when this republished article came out? This is a cut and paste job that the NDC Lamptey owned radioxyzonline.com is republishing. The same article praised EO group of having cont ...

• ODJAH 10 years ago

POOR GHANAINS OF ALL THE ARGUMENTS AND COMMENTS YOU HAVE MADE ON THIS SUBJECT HAVE YOU ASKLED WHAT PERCENTAGE DO GHANA GET OUT OF THIS OIL FIND. I AM NOT GOING TO WRITE PAGES ON IT . WE ONLY GET LESS THAN 10% PLUS A BOTTLE ...

BY the way I can tell you where I live, and you will greeted by my AR15.

• Counsellor 10 years ago

Both Tsatsu and Jonah should be recognized by all Ghanaians for their immense contributions in oil exploration in Ghana.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

It was Kwame Nkrumah who founded the oil
    for the nation not the ex-convict Tsikata.

During the administration of Kwame Nkrumah, he sighted the oil for this nation and even appointed Mr. E.I. Preko as Fuel and Power Minist ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Dr. Kwame Nkrumah who sighted the oil
    not tsikata.

• JOHNNY 10 years ago

THE GREAT OSAGYEFO NKRUMAH LAID THE FOUNDATION OF OIL DISCOVERY IN GHANA.HE INITIATED NUMEROUS SEISMOLOGICAL SURVEYS AND HE WAS CONVINCED THAT GHANA WAS GOING TO STRIKE OIL, HE SET UP THE TEMA OIL REFINERY BECAUSL HE WANTED ...

• nii 10 years ago

is good news man bravo. i dont understand why a fellow can take ones effort and pay him with shame. k4 is a shame to ghana and akans aaaaaah, indeed npps are wicked especially ashantis. is only ashantis who celebrates the dea ...

• OBIBINI 10 years ago

You are a big fool to describe Mr Sam Jonah as a crook.If not because of politics who are you to insult him.You are a donkey and a cow.Using the Ghanaweb does not give you the licence to spew foul words.

• Cantankerous 10 years ago

People have right to express their views .Anyone using the web to express an opinion must be prepared to provoke all sorts of reactions including ones that may be deemed insulting or very inflammatory. That is the nature of t ...

Fucking Otuo, I burn his ass. The moron want to talk shit. Where I have been you can't make it over there. Check the name USMC, that tell you who I am. We been to Iraq and back.

• PAA KWAO 10 years ago

WHAT IS HIS NOBLE FOR?AND WHAT IS KVIP? USELESS ARTICLE.

• ATTA MESS NOW JOHN MESS 10 years ago

WHEN WAS THIS WRITTEN?
    OLD NEWS BEING RECYCLED ,,,TIME HAS MADE NONSENSE OF THIS ARTICLE AS TSATSU WAS FOUND TO HAVE RATHER MISAPPROPRIATED FUNDS WHICH COULD HAVE GONE INTO FURTHER DEVELOPING GNPC.

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Had tsikata comefromOseikrom , there will be a different tune . Shame on all of you Give praise where praise is due

• Otuo Ampah 10 years ago

I hope the greedy kuffour and his she male judge lover will read this.God punish you and all those who try to hide the truth from well meaning ghanaians.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Stop being a fool because this is a copy and paste article that also praised the EO group for contributing to the discovery of oil but your stupid NDC radio station wants to redeem the Mahama failing administration by claimi ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

I read it on somewhere that he said this five years ago. This is it.

www.modernghana.com/news/185086/1/oil-find-in-ghana-sam-jonah-praises-gnpc.html

Oil find in Ghana - Sam Jonah Praises GNPC

By DAILY GRAPHIC

6 Oc ...

• Kweku Tawiah 10 years ago

Thank you, Nyansasam! Truth stands ! I ask again. Who are behind this dubious republication of a 5 year old article and why? The omission to indicate the actual time of the first publication smacks of mischief and intellectua ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Thief kufour Gov, deliberately and unlawfully abrogated WOYOME'S contract just b'cos he WOYOME is NOT AN Akans period. WOYOME deserved every penny of that money.

• GHANAS CANCER=UGLY ASHANTIS 10 years ago

I HOPE K4 AND HIS GROUP OF CRIMINAL NPP POLITICIANS WILL BE ANGRY WITH THESE REVELATION FROM NO OTHER MAN THAN SAM JONAH HIMSELF

• agaagya 10 years ago

Dummies corner !

In business world we have what we call P-O-L-C which is Planning, Organizing, leading, and Controlling. Tell me which part has he played in any of Ghana's organization. You call that Noble. His legacy will have shown in Obuas ...

• Nana G 10 years ago

You morons and intrinsic illiterates KNYC and co. The facts are that Tsatsu pioneered the oil exploration we all taut in Gh today, just as Sir Jonah said. mr. Moses Agyei Mensah Aboagye, the late Mr. Cato-Brown, Mr. Honu and ...

Moron, who is talking about Tsatsu, I am not talking about Tsatsu. God bless Tsatsu. I am talking about Jonah. Read, this is the reason why people get blow off. Read my feed.

APART FROM LOCAL MUSIC ASHANTIS AS A TRIBE CANNOT REALLY BOOST OF MASTERING ANY THING IN GHANA,ACADEMICALLY ASHANTIS ARE THE LAST TRIBE IN GHANA NO WONDER THEIR SO CALLED LAWYERS CANT EVEN SPEAK GOOD ENGLISH OR DONT EVEN HAVE ...

I am Proud Ashanti.

• agaagya 10 years ago

because you benefited over his corruption you can never say anything bad against him,you enjoy his booty.What about rest of us, we will continue to write against those loose human beings and their useless accolades.

• Tbb 10 years ago

?????

You can say all what you want. If I don't have nothing I will not living in Manhattan, my rent is by Sq feet. looking over central Park. Top that. You backward. What do you know about business world.

• Kojo 10 years ago

I thought you were going to say "your house overlooks central park". My brother, you are making someone rich with 75% of your income just to brag that you live in Manhattan. Is this an achievement?

Forget about where I live.

• Emperor 10 years ago

My bruda living in manhattan is not an achievement I on the akuapem mountings and among my people

• Kojo 10 years ago

Ok, he inspired you into management science and........what are you doing with it? CEO of Ghana? Employed 1000 people in Ghana? I don't get the logic. This man has done nothing for Ghana,except when it benefits him.

NOW NPP AND UGLY ASHANTIS WILL STOP GIVING TRIBAL AND PARTY CREDIT TO UGLY AND CRIMINAL K4 4 BEING THE BRAIN BEHIND GHANAS OIL STORY,U SEE THE EWES JUST LIKE THE OTHER TRIBES DONT BELIEVE IN TALKING OR GENERATING NOISE. ASHAN ...

• Robert C. Koffie. 10 years ago

Ihope we should very decourous about the comments we make of people in this country. We should be our bros keeper so that there should be peace in this world.

THANK YOU SAM JONAH ASHANTIS WOULD HAVE PUT THEIR NAMES ON THE OIL DISCOVERY AS THEY HAVE DONE 4 ALREADY BY GIVING THE CREDIT TO K4 THE FAKE AND ILLITERATE LAWYER

• OGOGLO QUARTER 10 years ago

THE KUMASIANOS NEVER MENTIONED TSATSU"ANTS" NAME.AYIKO TO ALL PARTIES INVOLVED.EVEN UNCLE ATTAH....

• When Will They Ever Learn 10 years ago

Okay,Mr.Tsatsu Tsikata pioneered oil discovery
    granted.How did Kufour and EO group got the
    hefty share of the pie?Is this the case of Bamboo de
    work monkey de chop? Please explain.I am
    confused.

• USA 10 years ago

This man is an asswhole +motherfucker you sold ashanti gold and bought shares to be a consultant to the company that bought it. You are now coming to tell us the exconvict deserve some praise. you are a damm fool kwashia

USA, only people like you with proactive ideas know best. This man is a JOKER. He only think about himself. Look at Obuasi, and he call himself CEO. I will not give him ShitEO.

• Agyeman. 10 years ago

The uncomfortable truth is our mineral wealth makes us worse as a nation.Check out the non mineral economies of Morocco,Singapore,Sweden vs basketcases of mineral rich Ghana,DRC, Nigeria and tell me that mineral wealth is rea ...

My friend an overhaul of agriculture, value addition to all natural resources Ghana has today and export diversification platforms will jump start the Ghanaian economy. Selling natural resource raw, creates jobs and wealth el ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

"My friend an overhaul of agriculture, value addition to all natural resources Ghana has today and export diversification platforms will jump start the Ghanaian economy."

Not quite! Unless there's a clear and distinguishin ...

• The Rural daugther 10 years ago

No matter people do, the truth is like a coke it cannot stay down even if it is pressed dowm by a million kilogramm of yams or cassava. Kudos Tsatsu. Posteruty shall judge you. Do not worry about their recognition, God has al ...

• Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah 10 years ago

Sam Jonah you are a big thief and disgrace to the Akan ethnicity and the Republic of Ghana, this corrupt Sam Jonah sold Ashanti Goldfields to the stupid dirty.White people just for a stupid stinking KBE medal (Most Excellent ...

Your rhetoric is full of half truths. You do not own southern Ghana and so take that out of the picture. You and your cohort do not generate the entire GDP of Ghana. Do you know the components of the GDP of Ghana? If you sece ...

• Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah 10 years ago

Akans are the natives of South Ghana and generate most of Ghana's $48 billion Gross Domestic Product (GDP), while Accra and Greater Accra Region contributes only $3 billion. The whole of North Ghana contributes only $2 billio ...

• Sarkodie 10 years ago

What have you contributed personally?

• AWAL POUNDSTERLING 10 years ago

It seems you have no clues of what you were saying.The Alans in Ghana are only 49 percent now.your statement has alienated non akans into the npp party.

• Ken 10 years ago

Thank you Mr Jonah God bless you for coming out to write what you know you are brave man

• Gawuga 10 years ago

Attention seeker seeking favours from every govt of the day

• Gawuga 10 years ago

Look what you've done to Obuase township

• Gawuga 10 years ago

Has the oil find made any difference to ordinary Ghanaians?

• Kofi Ampaasem 10 years ago

It is high time Ghana acknowledges Her living legends. Thank you Sir Jonah for reminding us all about Mr Tsatsu's work. We need more reminders

• kofi amenu 10 years ago

this the second time mr jonah has said it as it is . nipa ye adea ose ayeyi. se won yinayei men sei ni din.

• Africa 10 years ago

Tsatsu Tsikata can never take credit for the oil find even if he has supporters like yourself. You neglected to mention Tsatsu Tsikata's role in the "kangaroo courts" that sentenced honest hard working Ghanaians to long pris ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

If a person deserves jail, why should he be given presidential pardon, if the president is convinced of that person being guilty?

You think Kufuor would have released Tsatsu if NPP had won the 2008 elections? Kufuor was a ...

• km agyin 10 years ago

I want to reiterate Sam Jonah's concern about we as a nation not used to recognizing such services to our nation without political undertones. What baffles me is the NPP government under President Kuffour never publicly ackno ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Kufuor thought Tsatsu was enemy and enemies aren't deserving of anything, even a small recognition. Sad, isn't it? That's what the black man looks like; dark in heart.

• Alhassan 10 years ago

You lot who come to the forum to insult honourable people of Ghana who have been successful in their chosen careers what have you achieved in your life?

• Kwame 10 years ago

All good and fine but Tsatsu was very tribalistic in employing Non-Ewes even though they were better or equally qualified as the ewes. Please you can find out our self from the records.

• ANDY 10 years ago

Tsatsu is a gift from God to Ghana.Lets honour him with a national award.

• Yaw Graham 10 years ago

PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM OUR OIL.
    YROM GOLD ,NOW OIL. GREEDY BASTARDS.

• Charles 10 years ago

Thank God for truth

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

Sir, I am not at all surprised that you still have the nerve to come back to Ghanaians and discuss our oil find……I’m not sure if this article is old or not but, it’s worth commenting on, in order to enlighten some of ...

• YB 10 years ago

Thank you Sir. May God bless you for your honesty. In fact I share your assertions that "Ghanaians have a habit of rewarding failure, incompetence, corruption, nepotism etc. and need to snap out of it and punish deliberate in ...

• OLIVER TWIST 10 years ago

I thoroughly enjoyed reading your piece. I doubt that I could have put it as poignantly and succinctly like you have done here.

God bless you, bud.

• Rans F 10 years ago

Yes, for a useless Knighthood, you sold then AGC to your masters! GNPC under Tsatsu wasted billions of the taxpayers' money to prospect for salt!! Nkwaseasem.

• ++WHO ELSE CAN?+++ 10 years ago

JJ rawlings and tsikata and awhois and all those useless entities could not venture to find the oil. they were busily selling national property. No asante, no ghana.

• Emmanuel A. Aniboye-Fofie 10 years ago

SAM JONAH, WHERE WERE YOU WHEN TSATSU TSIKATA WAS BEING VERIFIED BY THE KUFFOUR ADMINISTRATION?

It is heart-warming, that People of high-standing caliber like Mr. Sam Jonah is comming out with the truth; on the Pioneering ...

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

The majority of Ghanaians are hungry and just begging for food on the family table, facing unthinkable social economic hardships, young graduates walking aimlessly looking for non-available jobs and the poor crying hopelessl ...

This article was published in the Daily Graphic about 5 years ago and so why it's reclycing now? Desperate attempt to shore up the image of Tsatsu Tsikata? In any case, Sam Jonah didn't get all his facts right ! The data and ...

Information reaching me suggest that Sam Jonah is surprised at the recycling of an article he wrote and got published in the Daily Graphic about 5 years ago. The attempt to make it look as if the article is a recent one and t ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

"...purposely got it republished on various websites is indicative of the desperate nature of the propaganda effort to shore up Tsatsu Tsikata's dented image"

---

That is the only reason.

• Commonsense 10 years ago

Sir Jonas,Dr Nkrumah was named ´Father of Ghana`but people were already fighting for independence and even brought him back to Ghana to help

• A Richard 10 years ago

Tsatsu did well why was he send to jail?

• krikri 10 years ago

you hear?

• Akonfem Govt 10 years ago

when will these evil people disappear from Ghana

• ko 10 years ago

Thanks Sir Jonah. Agree with you in total. Some of us who worked in GNPC can attest to this.

It baffles me when i hear the former president say he solely did this.

Oil exploration has been undertaken in Ghana for se ...

• PAA NII TESHIE. 10 years ago

Thanks so much Hon. Sir Sam Jonah. The truth is just like the cork. You can surpress it till thy kingdom come but the moment you lift the hand it comes up. Indeed, you are an honest man and really deserve the honor Sir. You h ...

• AKA. 10 years ago

You have made me proud to day. haven't follow you closely in Obuasi and what you have achieved, you couldn't have said it better.

• ONE GHANA, ONE PEOPLE 10 years ago

The last thing an ASANTE would like to hear is, an EWE is good. The Ewes and the Northerners are coming strong.

• OKRO MOUTH 10 years ago

I was about to applaud your pseudo name only to note that you are just another tribalist. These attacks on Ewes, Asantes, Northerners and others must stop. We should rather focus on even uniting our dear country further and l ...

• ONE GHANA, ONE PEOPLE 10 years ago

Did you really understand the essence of my comment. Simply, if ASANTES will stop underrating and calling other tribes names, like pepeni, trokosi, Brongs are foolish, etc...then GHANA will be very non TRIBALISTIC. Of course ...

• JASPER 10 years ago

ALL MEN SOULS ARE IMMORTAL BUT THE SOULS OF THE RIGHTEOUS IS DIVINE AND IMMORTAL.HE DESERVES A PRAISE AND COMMENDATION.HE IS A TRUE SON OF OUR DEAR NATION AND WE SHALL ACKNOWLEDGE HIM FOR THAT HEROISM. MAY GOD CONTINUE TO STR ...

• JASPER 10 years ago

ALL MEN SOULS ARE IMMORTAL BUT THE SOULS OF THE RIGHTEOUS ARE DIVINE AND IMMORTAL. HE DESERVES COMMENDATION AND PRAISE. HE IS A TRUE SON OF OUR DEAR NATION. WE NEED PEOPLE LIKE SAM TO TELL US ABOUT THE LEADERS OF OUR TIME.MAY ...

• Zip Up 10 years ago

This is what I call hard working selflessness and dedication to mother Ghana now we know the storyand so we must all applaud Tsatsut Tsikata so that it will set as en example for others especially the Lazy Corrupt Politicians ...

• JAMES Y 10 years ago

Give praise to those who deserve it, as Mr Sam Jona's article tries to tell us. But, Ghanaians have short memories; would they recognise his qualities and efforts? Ghanaians tend to worship and follow those who shout on roof ...

• Alhaji 10 years ago

Bravo!very honest analysis of Tsatu's contribution to this gargantuation oil discovery.Grateful to you Dr Jonah. Gariba

• Akos 10 years ago

Why does the npp seems to be living in the 9th century when it comes to development? why do they boast of being the masters on political intellect yet make pronouncements which may be deemed as developmentally delayed? They a ...

• GBEVU 10 years ago

AND YET THIS IS A MAN INSTEAD OF HONOURING NPP AND ITS PRESIDENT, KUFFOUR, RENTED LAWYERS IMPRISONED MEERLY BECAUSE HE BELONGS TO A DIFFERENT POLITICAL PERSUATION POSTERITY WILL JUDGE US ALL. DR SAM JONAH THANK YOU FOR YOUR A ...

• Akos 10 years ago

THEIR MYOPIC THINKING IN THE NAME OF POLITICS. SAD SAD SAD.

• Senile Jonah 10 years ago

whaaaat

• Kass 10 years ago

Sir Jonah, Tsatsu was jailed because of something. Do you think we should honor him, which I agree but should look the other way when he gambled with state money? If the gamble paid off, would he have informed gov't?

Tsat ...

• GNPC=SALT, COCOA, LOANS, ETC 10 years ago

but not oil

• GHANABA 10 years ago

You give RESPECT where is due and those of us educated know Tsatsu Tsikata's contributions was important and I cant help laughing when I saw NPP man with a bottle oil trying to claim credit for it. Just as they will claim the ...

• STANDARDS 10 years ago

1.8 billion barrels of oil reserves not significant by US standards. Nigeria's is estimated at 36 billion barrels. Jonah should take note. The US geophysicists were right!

• Akos 10 years ago

That's rather a myopic view of the oil find in Ghana.The oil reserves in Brazil,Nigeria & the like were not discovered in one swoop. The hydrocarbon international market is complex due to local & international regulatory boar ...

• KING MAXI 10 years ago

GOD BLESS TSATSU TSIKATA!!! ALL YOUR ENEMIES WILL DIE WITH JEALOUSY!!!

• KA AKYIRE 10 years ago

MR JONAH, I AND MY FAMILY DO NOT NEED ANY OF YOUR MONEY BUT JUST TELL US THE TRUTH. SUCH TRUTH WILL SUSTAIN GHANA FOR THE NEXT 500 YEARS. KUFOUR'S GOVERNMENT AND SOME OF HIS CRONIES HAS CAUSED VERY BIG BLUNDER BY TWISTING THE ...

• Ebo 10 years ago

Sam Jonah is useless and so is the Tsatsu, the mega thief. Oil exploration dates back to my early years at Adisco in the 60s when the oil fields at Saltpong lit the night sky as we drove by the ocean from Cape Coast to Accra. ...

• Kwame Ha what eeeeeeeee gan 10 years ago

Sam Jonah and Tsatsu are one, in terms of milking the country dry. The "immense contribution" of Tsatsu in causing financial loss to the state must rather be mentioned to posterity. Sam Jonah, you're lucky you were not caught ...

• PAA KWAO 10 years ago

MASTER IF YOU HAVE TAKEN MONEY FROM HIM YOU BRTTER GO AND GIVE HIS MONEY BACK TO HIM BEFORE ITS TOO LATE.WHAT DID HE DO TO THAT 86MILLON DOLLARS GIVEN TO THAT YOUR TSATSU TO PROSPETING FOR OIL? ALL THIS IS RUBBISH.IF YOU DONT ...

• UHF 10 years ago

Please don't tell the EO group, they are throwing their weight about how they brought oil to Ghana stealing over 3% of the oil gave Ghana about 10% then throwing the rest of the percentage away, most of us don't know that the ...

• Wahala 10 years ago

Jona,Tanx

• godfried donkor 10 years ago

Look at the state you left obuasi gold.....and hold your head in shame. The beneficiaries were the british and the south Africans where you now live and the queen gave you enoblement for our treachery..... you are filth Mr Sa ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

We hear Tsatsu stole $200-250 million of Tax payers funds at that time.Was that a true story?
    Mr Sam Jonah, Ghanaians needed your own account or story of how you maneuvered and gave out our Gold Mines to foreigners,for you t ...

• KZM 10 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU SIR JONAH. I KNEW THE TRUTH WOULD COME OUT. TSATSU LONG LIVE. WE SALUTE YOU. TSATSU GOD BLESS YOU FOR LAYING SUCH A STRONG FOUNDATION FOR GHANA'S OIL INDUSTRY.

• Son Of Man 10 years ago

Sorry Sam, as selfish as you are, you have finally brought yourself out. You and Owiredu caused the down fall of AGC so better keep your mouth shut.
    SELFISH MAN, YOUR END HAS COME. AN EXAMPLE IS YOUR COCAINE SON.

The truth shall always prevail.