Does Arthur K thinks he's commanding some audience? A wimp who absconded from Legon campus with his tail in between his legs at the time when we needed real men to face the Rawlings atrocious regime!
And what does Richard ... read full comment
Does Arthur K thinks he's commanding some audience? A wimp who absconded from Legon campus with his tail in between his legs at the time when we needed real men to face the Rawlings atrocious regime!
And what does Richard Nixon's confessions and impressions worth anyway? Nixon's name is mentioned with scorn among Americans yet Arthur K see him as an avant-garde in modern day Ghana? Is this the guy who wants to be president in Nkrumah's Ghana? By the way, Kwame Nkrumah doesn't need Richard Nixons commendations to be successful in life!
Before I end, I would like to remind the shallow minded politician---Arthur K, that Nixon was in Ghana to recruit Agents for the CIA! He knew Nkrumah can never be recruited hence his admirations for that traitor--BUSIA!
Don't forget that, at the time Kwame Nkrumah was feverishly fighting for independence, JB Danquah and Busiah were toasting and drinking coffee with the blue-eyed devil!
Bishop 12 years ago
You have made my day.This guy is always seeking attention where there is none.Who is Busia to compare with Nkrumah and under what circumatances? A whole book could be written on the failure of this man,Busia.Kennedy should give us a break! Busia was a divisive figure who will never rest in peace.Today, there are some of them In Kumasi bragging after having looted and stolen the properties of the Nigerians.Who is Richard Nixon anyway! Rubbish forver!
krikri 12 years ago
Busia and the arrogant cocaine sniffer, Akuffo Addo's, father committed the mother of all gargantuan mistakes BY PAYING THEMSELVES 2 YEARS FOR NO WORK DONE. This is what pushed Acheampong to boot them out.
Gaby Bruk 12 years ago
EVIL BUSIA achievements:
1. ACO: (which discriminated against fellow Africans, mostly Nigerians. He robbed them of their human rights, stole their properties and VIOLENTLY DEPORTED them to Nigeria).
2' He succeeded in c ... read full comment
EVIL BUSIA achievements:
1. ACO: (which discriminated against fellow Africans, mostly Nigerians. He robbed them of their human rights, stole their properties and VIOLENTLY DEPORTED them to Nigeria).
2' He succeeded in creating "hatred and enmity" between Ghanaians and Nigerians.
3.He introduced politics of HATE into African politics where tribalism became the order of the day.
4.He introduced the acts of "BLACK ON BLACK DISCRIMINATION" in Ghana, (which has NEVER happen before in the history of black Africans since creation, where we inter-mingled together for generations after generations, and even inter-married without discriminations), where he labelled his fellow Africans "ALIENS" in mama Africa and SACKED them from Ghana. EVIL AND WICKED Busia, stole Nigerians properties and businesses and shared them amongst his people, and violently deported them back to Nigeria.
5. He gave African independent indirectly(neo-colonialism), socialism, ethnocentrism, ,
6. He allowed his ministers to robbed the nation, (not able to manage his ministers), lacked political leadership ability
7. He was arrogant and favoured "elitism and class system."
Ohene. 12 years ago
Nigeria did the same to ghanians 1983. So fuck off
ZoRRo 12 years ago
Arthur Kennedy is WRONG ! There is nothing wrong with Busia ensuring that aliens complied by the immigration laws of the country. We are so used to breaking laws that we find it difficult to enforce them.
Kojo Opoku-London 12 years ago
please no matter what you are saying that the nigerians broke ghana immigration law, they are our fellow brothers. black africans and you are damned fool to say our black brothers can not come to our home. are you mad. do you care anything about slave trade, racism, apartheid and many more. blacks must unite, no matter your laws. the nigerians should have been integrated into ghana communities. they lived here for over 40 years, how can you say, they should go. nigerian oil helped kuffour government to survive the first few months. why obasanjo road in accra.
Kofi 12 years ago
Then let's disband our immigration service so that any one can come in anytime!
Bonsu 12 years ago
Why wouldn't Nixon praise his agent? Busia was his puppet and agent so he will be more impressed by him than the man who liberated Ghana and set us on the path of economic independence. When Busia came back in 69, he set us back 100 years.
GHANAMAN 12 years ago
ONLY NPP WOULD BE HAPPY WITH PRAISE FROM A RIGHT-WING AND RACIST CLOWN LIKE NIXON.
IS BUSIA EVEN WORTHY TO SHINE NKRUMAH'S SHOES????????
ONLY NPP WOULD BE HAPPY WITH PRAISE FROM A RIGHT-WING AND RACIST CLOWN LIKE NIXON.
Wayo 12 years ago
Busia is the most racist leader Ghana had ever have.
Nana Ansah 12 years ago
NPP: DON'T MAKE A GAINT OUT OF DWARF BUSIA.
The NLM/UP/PP/PFP/NPP Mate Mehu knaves are not only pettifoggers they are history foggers too. The attempt or trying to make a “hero” out of a ZERO Busia will not make the cut. Nkrumah was pivotal in the rural development of Ghana than any other leader and evidence can be established everywhere you go to in Ghana even today. Case in point; all the State Farms Corporations were situated in rural areas which gave people gainful employment within their proximity. Back then places like Aboaso, Pokuase, Asamankese, Sekyikrom near Nsawam were all rural areas. The rubber plantation near Tarkwa, tobacco plantations, pineapple, tomato, jute plantations, Pwalugu tomato factory and basically all raw materials for major firms and factories were all produced in the rural areas which gave the people work within their community or vicinity. All these great work was strategically put in place due to the providence or forethought of Kwame Nkrumah.
Look you guys would like to elevate or catapult this traitor and treasonous dwarf Busia who not only blackmailed, undermined and sabotaged Nkrumah’s CPP government but also connived, collaborated and cooperated with foreigners to arrogate/usurp a fully democratically elected government. Those who lend credence to coup makers can never ever be visionist but treasonous to say the least. To wrestle power by all means because you failed to win thrice an election supervised by British (1951, 1954, 1956) and even go to extend of a derailing our independence is disdainful and cavaliers. We are where we are today in Ghana due to this unnecessary 1966 coup which arrested our development. How could Nixon have spoken to Busia when this dwarf and his knaves sat home and boycotted the independence celebrations? Lies, lies and again flat lies.
Busia is nowhere near Nkrumah’s intelligence and vision. The difference is clear. Kwame Nkrumah was in the Milky Way whilst the earthling Busia was confined to Ghana. The AU, NAM and 10 ten rotation members at the UN Security Council all attributed to the work of and vision of Nkrumah. Busia on the other hand has the following albatross on his neck. The following are the credit ledger of Busia; The Aliens Compliance Order, Hello Sallah! Apollo 568, No Court. Cutting of teachers training, nurses allowance, increasing of school and boarding fees. Busia took a Red pen to cancel all major projects in Ghana after the 1966 coup because he was totally overwhelmed. His Support for Ian Smith Rhodesia and apartheid South Africa can never be forgotten. Busia was anti-Africa.
Busia was born to a royal family so what? The son of a black/gold smith outshined him with all his royalty. Nkrumah was a self made man whose fame was one of the reasons for lazy minds who could not organize seek his assistance and organization talent. Jesus was a mere son of a carpenter but was a visionist of his time. How can Busia who supported Ian Smith Rhodesia government work in the interest of Africa? The South African government only yielded to pressure to dialogue when arms were taken against them and the pressure from peace initiatives worldwide grew and world famous pop stars waged a campaign against Multinational firms operating apartheid South African for boycott of their goods. The economic sanctions that were later put in place by the foot dragging western nations also had its effect.
No peoples or country receives it freedom on silver plate. Hello Moses! Let my people go. Moses led his people out of bondage. From biblical times up until now if you want your freedom you will have to fight for it. No bargain and your masters will not give it to you freely and willingly. Not even the British Folk. The Magna Carta of the 12th century curtailed the powers of the king and gave the citizens more freedom. It was done on demand, the king didn’t relinquish it on his own accord. The British civil war, the American Boston Tea revolt which led to America’s independence and many more such events in the Latin Americas, Asia were fought for and won. In fact wherever one looks in the history of mankind there are a testimony to such events like pennies on the ground. Busia and Danquah were province politicians whose horizons reached only the tip of their nose. You can not make a mountain out of a molehill.
Talk about rural development you guys forget Nkrumah who cut thousands of miles of feeder roads into the rural areas and paved many of them with asphalt etc. You The NLM/UP/PP/PFP/NPP Mate Mehu knaves are dishonest and would like to harvest where you have not sown. Soon even your grant grand children will come to know that you are perennial LIARS. Ghana will move on her forward match with or without you. The birth of a kid is the most exciting time in life but you knaves abandoned Maame Ghana and resorted to maiming her children and bombing your way to power. Nothing is abominable than warmongers and hypocrites who change their name from NLM, UP, PP, PFP and now NPP. What is your next name when the party implodes? Lol!!!!
Nkrumah lives! We still face forward. Long live Maame/Daavi Ghana in Freedom and Justice.
Gye Nyame 12 years ago
We are practicing and enjoying multi-party system now and democracy is in full swing – so weren’t the two the same that was proposed by Busia and the opposition? Most Ghanaians are not interested in the one party system or the lack of democracy.
Also I think the Aliens Compliance Order was one of the best things that happened to Ghana – those of you old enough to remember would appreciate how it gave opportunity to Ghanaians to own some of the store in Accra. The order was meant for all aliens to clean up the system and get us non-aliens on some ID card; yes unfortunately it affected that Nigerians more because they had invaded the country without proper documentation. Do you all remember the area around the main Accra bus stop (around Opera) all the way to Makola and beyond were full of Nigerians and of course the Syrians and Lebanese. I wish our leaders would be bold again to do another clean up – sure now it is the Chinese.
OLIVER TWIST 12 years ago
....BEFORE 2000 ELECTIONS, THEY WERE KILLING OUR SISTERS AND MOTHERS, IN 2008, THEY RESORT TO ARMED ROBBERIES....NOW ITS BURNING MARKETS AND GOVERNMENT BUILDINGS!
NPP MEMBERS ARE A CRIMINAL LOT. THE ARMY MUST STEP IN AND A ... read full comment
....BEFORE 2000 ELECTIONS, THEY WERE KILLING OUR SISTERS AND MOTHERS, IN 2008, THEY RESORT TO ARMED ROBBERIES....NOW ITS BURNING MARKETS AND GOVERNMENT BUILDINGS!
NPP MEMBERS ARE A CRIMINAL LOT. THE ARMY MUST STEP IN AND ARREST THE NPP LEADERSHIP!!
NPP MURDERERS, THIEVES, CRIMINALS, NATION WRECKERS, NARCOTIC PEDDLERS!!! WE WILL DEAL WITH THE AT THE RIGHT TIME...WE SHALL START TO ASSASSINATE THEM AT NIGHT! MARK MY WORDS!!!...
Nkratuo 12 years ago
Do you think Nkruma was better than Busia. You don't know what you are saying. Nkruma came to meet big money but Busia came when we were broke. Busia as I will remember did not ask anybody to leave the country but to register all foreigners but these Ghanaians took it on their own hands to threatening the foreignner. I saw it myself. That is why we don't progress, we against what is right always. In Europe, USA or Canada, they know all the foreigners and their addresses, finger printed so if anything they will identify you easily. Ghana gimi gimi insults what's good. Following our stomach always. Those days Busia was a professor teaching a in one of the universities in the world.No president will do best if we don't support him eating into their accounts. "No president no Goood" ghana, who is good then You?. Can you tell me how much Busia was paid? maybe nothing ask. He wanted to help Ghana only. Ghana is so stupid that we bring people down. Busia had his money already and did not need any money believe me. DID HE TELL PEOPLE TO LEAVE THE COUNTRY? ABSOUTELY NO, BIG NO. It was done in every advance country to register all the people including foreigners in order to properly budget. Too known people but know little individuals. I know all that happened during this period. They threatened foreigners I was in Kumasi and it was so bad but it wasnt Busia who arranged that.
ZoRRo 12 years ago
You call me a fool because I support the aliens comnpliance order ? I guess you have opened your small apartment in London for every African to come in and squat, no wonder your thinking is so warped.
bex 12 years ago
He did not give them time. Many of those were born in Ghana. Besides, there were really no documentation at that time who was a Ghanaian and who was not. You cannot white wash this. Busia erred.
Many left not knowing reall ... read full comment
He did not give them time. Many of those were born in Ghana. Besides, there were really no documentation at that time who was a Ghanaian and who was not. You cannot white wash this. Busia erred.
Many left not knowing really where they were headed. Many died at the border, because authorities at the other side of the border did not allow them to cross since there was nothing showing they belong where they said they were headed. It was essentially a one way trip. Barely did Busia know that he himself would be making a one way trip some few months after his decree was issued.
Indeed, you reap what you sow.
Yaw Poku, USA 12 years ago
You will also rot in HELL one day as you proclaim for Dr.K.A.BUSIA. Who are nigerians anyway.
Wahabu 12 years ago
No insults. I think Kennedy has done good piece for we the young ones to reflect on about the life of Busia, his vision etc. In all these, I agreed with Kennedy except when he thinks that the opinion of Nixon was the gospel truth and a yardstick for comparing Busia to Nkrumah.
Sikamanba 12 years ago
And for sacking the British trained managers and technocrats and replacing them with syncophants and party cronies who were corrupt than the word itself,Busia destroyed the financial stability of Ghana.
He was a pathetic lea ... read full comment
And for sacking the British trained managers and technocrats and replacing them with syncophants and party cronies who were corrupt than the word itself,Busia destroyed the financial stability of Ghana.
He was a pathetic leader- a rebel who did not respect the rule of law.
What did he do to be celebrated?
CPP has Nkrumah to celebrate; NDC has Rawlings to celebrate. NPP has no one to celebrate except a loser like Busia!! This is so sad!!
MENSAH 12 years ago
IF BUSIA DID NOTHING WORTHWHILE FOR GHANIANS AT ALL,HE SUCCEEDED IN GIVING GHANA THE FREEDOM OF SPEECH,WHICK KWAME NKRUMAH,TOOK AWAY FROM US.
BUSIA IS A MAN OF WISDOM,PERIOD.
KWAMW NKRUMAH WAS A MAN OF ACTION.
WISDOM CONQU ... read full comment
IF BUSIA DID NOTHING WORTHWHILE FOR GHANIANS AT ALL,HE SUCCEEDED IN GIVING GHANA THE FREEDOM OF SPEECH,WHICK KWAME NKRUMAH,TOOK AWAY FROM US.
WISDOM CONQUERS ALL.
IT IS THE PRINCIPAL THING.IN ALL THY GETTING GET UNDERSTANDING:
INTERPRETATION,COMPREHENSION AND DISCERNMENT.
BUSIA HAD THEM ALL.
NKRUMAH HAD SOME,BUT NOT ALL.
MY PROOF IS.
HIS COMMUNIST IDEOLOGY,DERIVED FROM RUSSIA ,IS NO MORE PRACTISED IN RUSSIA.
THAT MADE HIM SHORT SIGHTED.
Paul Amuna 12 years ago
Please don't also misrepresent the facts about Arthur Kennedy!!! If you seek the truth, then speak the truth yourself - pure and simple as far as I am concerned.
Arthur Kennedy "left Legon" not of his own choosing and wish ... read full comment
Please don't also misrepresent the facts about Arthur Kennedy!!! If you seek the truth, then speak the truth yourself - pure and simple as far as I am concerned.
Arthur Kennedy "left Legon" not of his own choosing and wish, but because his life was in GRAVE DANGER thanks to the Undemocratic rule of then "chairman Rawlings and his PNDC government".
I recall a moving article Kennedy wrote at the time, published in the journal of the Ghana Medical Students' Association in which he lamented the fact that life is not always what you plan or wish and your hopes, dreams and aspirations and your destiny are never clear cut (my own interpretation of his article).
The medical school even refused to write supporting letters for him to obtain admission to study in other African medical schools to complete his studies which he had been forced to abandoned. Have you ever considered putting yourself in such a situation?
That Arthur Kennedy has succeeded in fulfilling his dream of becoming a medical doctor despite what were very uncertain and confusing times in his life is most remarkable and I give him great credit for that achievement.
But like he said in his own 'prophetic article' in the medical students' journal, here we are, with Arthur Kennedy deeply immersed in politics and hoping to lead his country. Whatever his strengths and flaws, please do not try to create a wrong impression about the man.
He is certainly not what you describe and ?I would be the first to defend him because like you, I was there, and perhaps even closer to the daily and weekly police station reporting duties that he had to undergo when he was essentially under "house arrest" under Rawlings' government. Please let's not even go there and open old wounds.
Yes, be critical of his article, but be FAIR to the MAN.
NANA KUFUOR 12 years ago
Whatever anybody will say, Busia was a TOTAL,repeat TOTAL failure. NPP did not know if they keep on praising Busia, they will be in opposition till thy kingdom come. He was not even a failure, he was useless.
ATO KWAMENA 12 years ago
Kwesi Pratt faced even worse circumstances than Arthur, yet he prevailed!
Paul Amuna 12 years ago
Ato, that doesn't mean a wrong impression should be created. Remember Kwesi Prtatt was already a practising professional. Of course there are others too like Lawyer Ndebugri (now with the NPP) who had their own spat with Rawlings.
Arthur Kennedy was still a student in a profession in which if you left half-way (or 3/4 of the way in his case), you could not call yourself anything and were not qualified to practice. His whole time spent in University would have been wasted.
He did not choose to abandon studies at Legon - He simply had no choice.
BOMBER 12 years ago
I read your two pieces ;one in defence of Arthur Kennedy and the other on the attempt by NPP to scew history in favour of Dr Busia. Everyone knows Dr Busia was a complete failure.You see, these were typical villagers who wanted power but anytime they got it they messed up big time. It is very true that Busia's Allian Compliant Order was to kill Nkruma's dream of a United Africa. They couldn't think far then and they cannot think far now. We yearning for an opportunity to deal with these fuckers.......BOOOM
Yaw Adu-Asare 12 years ago
Busia Opposed independence for the people of Gold Coast. He loved his Passport book as a British subject and hated that of independent Ghana.
But Massa, was Richard Nixon President in 1957. I thought it was later on he became US President and its attendant disgrace-Watergate scandal.
But its good someone judges somebody. Nixon was a human and therefore not perfe ... read full comment
But Massa, was Richard Nixon President in 1957. I thought it was later on he became US President and its attendant disgrace-Watergate scandal.
But its good someone judges somebody. Nixon was a human and therefore not perfect.
Nixon has got his positives and negatives as a human being. He was a good man but got consumed with power and party politics.
Ghanabiya 12 years ago
Opoku-London, Nixon was never a good man. Ask about his policy of 'Southern Strategy' in America towards blacks. It is because of Nixon that majority of American blacks do not vote for the Republican Party.
He was a raci ... read full comment
Opoku-London, Nixon was never a good man. Ask about his policy of 'Southern Strategy' in America towards blacks. It is because of Nixon that majority of American blacks do not vote for the Republican Party.
He was a racist. Search for 'southern strategy' on Google and read what Nixon stood for.
Sikamanba 12 years ago
Hmmm!!
Hmmm!!
WILLIAM 12 years ago
Arthur k,lET THE VOICE OF REASON CONTINUE TO FLOW AND LET THE YOUTH IN YOUR PARTY AND THE OTHER PARTIES TAKE DUE NOTICE FOR ACTION.
NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 12 years ago
BUSIA WAS THE REMOTE CAUSE OF THE MURDER OF THE YA NAA YAKUBU ANDANI. BUSIA HAD INSTRUCTED THE KILLING OF 33 FAMILY MEMBERS OF THE THEN REGENT OF YENDI, YAKUBU ANDANI. WOMEN AND CHILDREN WERE KILLED WHEN THEY WERE ASKED TO VACATE THE YA NÁAS PALACE TO MAKE WAY FOR THE ILLEGAL ENSKINMENT OF MAHAMADU ABDULAI, AN PROGRESS PARTY SUPPORTER, AN ABUDU MAN, WHO WAS ILLEGALLY MADE THE YA NAA BY BUSIA. IT IS BECAUSE OF THE SAME ILLEGAL YA NAA MAHAMADU ABDULAI THAT THE ABUDUS UNDER KUFUOR AND NPP REGIME KILLED THE YA NAA AND 40 ELDERS IN YENDI. BUSIA ILLEGALLY ENSKINED MAHAMADU ABDUAL AGAINST THE LAW IN 1969. WHEN ACHEAMPONG CAME TO POWER HE DISKINED MAHAMADU ABDULAI FROM THE YA NAA SKIN AND RIGHTFULLY ENSKINED REGENT YAKUBU ANDANI AS YA NAA IN 1974. BECAUSE OF PERFORMING THE FUNERAL OF MAHAMADU ABDULAI WHO DIED AS A COMMONER OR OUSTED YA NAA IN 1989, THE ABUDUS UNDER THE SUPERVISION OF KUFUOR AND NPP, KILLED THE YA NAA YAKUBU ANDANI AND 40 ELDERS IN BROAD DAY LIGHT WHILE SOLDIERS AND POLICE STOOD BY AND WATCHED.
alorvi 12 years ago
so do u people even have ghana at heart. politics has eaten chunk of your brains. busia is dead we shd praise him for his good works and learn from our mistakes. no learder has a clean sheet not even the highly praised nkrumah.
JIM CROW 12 years ago
Dr. Busia took bold socio-economic decisions that were necessary for the country at that time. They were NOT mistakes. Neither was his intervention in the 'Sallah Case' a blot on his reputation. The coup leaders were mere adventurists.
Kofi Miawo De 12 years ago
Dr. K, why was the alien's compliance order a mistake? Will you say the deportation of illegal aliens from other western democracies are mistakes? Or better still, the recent deportation of illegal Chinese immigrants engaged in galamsey activities in Ghana a mistake? My simple advice to you is to seek ways to ressurect your own failed political aspirations. You are the failure. So far as fair minded Ghanaians are concerned, Dr. Busia was the best democratic leader Ghana has ever had, no comparison.
DOME HOTEL2 12 years ago
Arthur K is very,very correct and right.
Adolf Hitler took a bold socio-economic decision, which he thought was necessary for Germmany at that time.History tells us 6 million Jews perished in evil circumstances.Only God will know the number of Ghanaian-Nigerians and Nigerian immigrants that died from Busia's evil decisions.Germany is haunted by these socio-economic decision to date.Today Germany is like a prodical child,watched with suspicion.Jim please be honest and truthful like Arthur K.
Shamu 12 years ago
Shame on to NPP and their previous leaders. Ghanaians mind will never buy this excuses. There is nothing like mistake Busia did. What is clear is that, he was promoting the idealogy of the party. And that idealogy is about hate, corruption, stealing and so on and on. Beside that, he was trying to tell Ghanaians that, Akans are the only people with such vision in Ghana. Either progress party, NPP or what so ever the name could be, are all the same. They started with anti independent when Kwame Nkrumah beat them, they stole an election that could have won by Gbedemah and that brought Busia to power. They were beaten by Liman in 1979, and then betten by the greater Ghanaians leader JJ Rawlings twice. And then had the lucky to come to power and completely mess up things totally. What else do the BUSIA< DANKWA, Kufour party want again? We in Ghana are tired of their hateful idealogy.
KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 12 years ago
Why waste your time on this Busiaman who was a total political failure and a puppet of the neo-colonialists into the bargain?We must be more concerned with solving the nation's problem than discussing a failed politician.Period!!!!!
D.D. 12 years ago
sorrry my friend, but which of our leaders has not been a puppet? Busia would have changed ghana for the bestif he had not been ousted.
Kofi Miawo De 12 years ago
Mr. Shamu, you are pathetic. You don't know what you are saying. Or you are an infidel, inward looking type with an ingrate hate for anybody Akan? Whatever did Busia do that portrays him as a superior Akan to any other tribe in Ghana? Dr Busia was humble, married a Ga lady, and was fair to all. Your murderous JJ could never had tasted any political power without using the barrell of the gun, and stole two consecutive elections. Give us a break.
diaba k 12 years ago
Shamu, you are very wrong.
Aliens Compliance Order was for regularizing of residence permit of foreigners. May be the problem was the time frame for the exercise (which was 3months).
Where on this planet could a foreigner s ... read full comment
Aliens Compliance Order was for regularizing of residence permit of foreigners. May be the problem was the time frame for the exercise (which was 3months).
Where on this planet could a foreigner stay without a resident permit?
I am doubting whether his party was about hate and what you have listed.
The party PP (was the off -shoot of UP). Basically one could say the party was formed in Kumasi. People in Kumasi are very tolerant to all tribes. Kumasi has a place called Anloga with its Chief.
Is there any place in Ho called Kumasi?
May be you can do yourself very good by learning why the late Senior Citizen, Gbedemah, was not in the country when Osagyefo was the President even though he was a member of CPP.
Whether what was being said about him was true or not, the old man's name was soiled in the mud.
The opposition parties campaigned well and used phrases like: 'Get the money (why? its your money)', 'Vote wisely'.
I hope you were not young during the 1969 elections.
Anyway any party that would go for election divided by Two Leaders from the mother party would not win the election. This is exactly what happened in 1979.
Unfortunately, i wish not to comment about any thing political after 1979 because i was not there.
Thanks and God bless.
Paul Amuna 12 years ago
Did Busia's government consider the fact that there had been a major civil war in Nigeria at the time? Did they even understand what civil displacement meant and hoe important it was to provide refuge to others?
The Nigeri ... read full comment
Did Busia's government consider the fact that there had been a major civil war in Nigeria at the time? Did they even understand what civil displacement meant and hoe important it was to provide refuge to others?
The Nigerians were mostly small traders who went about their business without disturbing anyone. The Togolese and Beninoise (Dahomians) were also engaged in various cottahge industries, were artisans, farmers and the like. Oh by the way, have you ever wondered who the bricklayers, lasons and other builders were who put up the iconic buildings of the University of Ghana at Legon?
Truth be told, there are many very ignorant people who do not even understand what happened at the time, and who either follow rubbish told them by their party or the rubbish they read from skewed, biased historians and the like. I happen to have lived among Togolese who had to literally vacate their homes and abandon their farms and all their assets OVERNIGHT.
We claim to be a religious people and during Easter you see people weeping when the passion of the Christ is re-enacted. We also see how sorrowful people are when they recount the journey of Joseph and his family when Mary gave birth to Jesus in Bethlehem (IN a MANGER WHICH THOUGH FANCIFUL NOW, WAS ESSENTIALLY A PLACE WHERE THEY SHARED THE SPACE WITH SHEEP).
The long and short of it is simply that as part of the agenda of the PP government (which was massively supported by the /Northern Dombo group and backed by the military machine of the NLC)and doing the bidding of our external detractors, was to smash this "African Unity" thing once and for all.
There were many Africans in our country, engaged in various areas of public life and students from all over, who had been given the space and the opportunity to study so, they would go back and serve their countries. The Aliens Compliance Order was discriminatory, inconsiderate, wicked and based on a political dogma rather than national economic need.
Please, let's not rewrite history. Ghana was not at its knees at the time and there was certainly not famine. If anything, the abandoned farms contributed to rises in food prices. I lived among Togolese at the time and saw at first hand what was done to them. Even when some Ghanaians tried to 'protect' some of them, they were threatened with sanctions.
Do you realise how much that singular act set us back as a region and a continent? Do you now realise and understand why we are surrounded by Francophone countries yet do not even speak our common languages?
diaba k 12 years ago
First and foremost I am not a politician and i was over 22years staying in Accra when the Aliens Compliance Order was passed.
I know it came with all sort of problems but sometimes a Leader of a country has to think about ... read full comment
First and foremost I am not a politician and i was over 22years staying in Accra when the Aliens Compliance Order was passed.
I know it came with all sort of problems but sometimes a Leader of a country has to think about the welfare of the citizens first.
That is the reason why in some countries they have what is called citizens empowerment programmes.
Please note that whether OAU or AU for me there is no difference. It is just talk talk club or association. For how long can you stay in a foreign country without proper documentation?
Right now there is armed robbery everywhere. How do you explain this? I understand most of the culprits are foreigners.
If you are even using one currency or passport in West Africa what benefit do you get if at a border you are searched like a criminal?
Countries take care of their problems first.
Most African countries sacrifized for South Africa to gain political independence. What happened after that?
Do you believe that you or your child could go and stay there without a valid resident permit? Do not forget the Chairperson of AU is a South African?
I still say the action was painful but sometimes a leader has to take a painful action to revive the economy.
At that time the retail industry was in the hands of illegal immigrants.
Thanks, God bless and enjoy your week end.
j0eY L0nd0n 12 years ago
Only the lazy racist bitter jealously motivated animal blames the foreigner for his or her poverty! Talking about armed robbers was atta aryi a foreigner?
KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 12 years ago
That rogue former american president Richard Nixon remark about Kwame Nkrumah was expected for after all Osagyefo was never liked by the America and its allies all due to Osagyefo's strong stand against colonialism and apartheid in South Afica which America and its allies supported.After all was it not America and its western allies who plotted and financed the coup that overthrew OSAGYEFO?Nixon will always be remembered for his role in the watergate scandal which nearly led to his impeachment and which forced him out of office.
Cynthia 12 years ago
Where is Cyril and Joyce? Arthur k. Was stranded in ivory coast in 87 so we all had to contribute for his upkeep. Give back to Ghana
SK 12 years ago
When would this tradition ever accepts its mistakes without attempt to equate it to that of others and say, SORRY?
oyinasky 12 years ago
Very good point
AMB 12 years ago
Well said Arthur K. Busia was definitely a visionless leader as the need for regional integration was obvious even in 1963 when the OUA was formed championed by Dr Kwame Nkrumah. The Aliens Compliance Order was definitely a blunder especially when we have a common passport now and with no visa requirements for ECOWAS citizens travelling to member states. This blunder has been a major cost to the NPP. This is further exacerbated by the war drum beating of the party leadership, the abusive and uncharitable remarks and statements by Ursula, Agyepong etal. Even within Ghana some people think some tribes are superior to others - An Animal Farm mindset similar to that of Busia.
BAFOUR. 12 years ago
AH,BUT YOU PEOPLE SAY BUSIA IS THE BEST PRESIDENT SO FAR WE HAVE IN GHANA?WHY NOW MISTAKE?WELL TELL NANA AKUFO ADDO.
Paul Amuna 12 years ago
An "exemplary party leader" he may have been, "rewarding those who worked hard and the foot soldiers" (who did his bidding), putting his party and its interests first before any other consideration, but don't you think your attempts to underplay the enormity of his crass domestic and foreign policies that were so disastrous is rather unfair to Ghanaians and Africans?.
Of all the attribute you have enumerated, you seem to rate what Busia did for his party and those close to him more highly than the very serious national and international 'disasters' he created from a geopolitical, foreign policy point of view, not to talk of his kowtowing to the whims and caprices of those who were behind him coming into power - the fine face of whom was the IMF.
Do you realise how much it cost Ghana to have state assets at their infancy of development (less than 10 years) SOLD out CHEAPLY to none other than his own CRONIES? Can Arthur Kennedy please explain to Ghanaians how some of today's "rich and famous" in his party acquired their "family assets"?
Busia may have been a lot of things to a lot of people (BAD and good) but he was certainly NOT a friend of "the common man". Where did you get the idea that somehow this brilliant yet 'flawed' professor was a "friend of the common man".
Dr Busia in my view was the 'epitome of the bad side of 'western capitalism' who believed that the poor were rather 'lazy'. Are you aware that he even questioned why a Ghana commercial bank branch had been opened in Bolgatanga, the REGIONAL CAPITAL of the then Upper Region (i.e. comprising both UER and OWR)?
The good thing about history is that it helps us to put the ;record straight' but like a number of other commentators on the subject of Dr Busia, I find it hard to take when people try to turn failed politicians into 'heroes' they are not.
By the way a District Commissioner is a political appointee and contrary to the impression you seek to create here that Dr Busia 'entered politics' later after public service, the man had always 'dabbled in politics' and was ONE of the delegation who went to the Queen of England in the late 1950s to tell Her Majesty that the "Gold Coast was not ready for Self Government"!!!
Arthur Kennedy, once again, must you write about this individual and this subject for the sake of political expediency? Remember, yes, you may be seeking the party nomination, but that is just the first hurdle.
There is a wider constituency out there who want you, who wish you to SERVE not necessarily in the capacity of "leader of a political party" but as one of a new breed of forward thinkers who will influence policy directions and the path that Ghana takes to an ALL-INCLUSIVE national (Ghana), regional (ECOWAS) and continental (Africa) development.
Surely, working for, and in the interests of your nation is far more important than party? Dr Busia may have been GOOD for his party, but he was very very poor for his nation GHANA and was certainly NOT pro-poor. At least make sure you get the history straight because that is one thing for which there are many living observers and writers.
mensah abrampa 12 years ago
Which ghanaian do you idolize? Nkrumah, I guess but did he not have a fair share of the faults common to all men? If we go round looking for faults that's what we'll find. We'll also find the good other people do if we take the time to investigate .For Christ' sake lets celebrate the life of a great ghanaian leader, Dr Busia, and save the vituperation for another day for 'to err is human.' When God was sending us here to earth He gave us several instructions which included one which says "mistakes are allowed during our mortal probation." We can learn from our own mistakes and the mistakes of others including those we love and appreciate and get better but we can also learn from the good example of these same people.We can also get wiser by learning from the good and bad deeds of those we hate.This is the way we all get by, a little learning here, a little learning there.
Paul Amuna 12 years ago
I am sure I have in the past been critical of Dr Nkrumah and described him also as a flawed individual who also made mistakes. No one is perfect and Dr Nkrumah was certainly not perfect, by a mile.
But surely you are not ... read full comment
I am sure I have in the past been critical of Dr Nkrumah and described him also as a flawed individual who also made mistakes. No one is perfect and Dr Nkrumah was certainly not perfect, by a mile.
But surely you are not attempting to, or asking anyone to pitch Dr Busia against Dr Nkrumah? Flawed as Nkrumah was, his legacy is there for all to see and I have to say, most of it is not just positive but tangible.
Yes, God gave us all talents and "instructions". At the end of the day it is how you utilise your gifts and how you use them to serve God's purpose (rather than your own, or that of a select few) that matters.
That said, you are absolutely right we an imperfect and can, and should learn from our mistakes and from each other. My point about Dr Busia is that we should not attempt to make him into what he is not.
bex 12 years ago
No, Paul. The writer is not trying to compare the two. He knows there is no comparison. He is simply watching his back, for there are many here who are prepared to hack him to death if he writes his true feelings about the two leaders. Don't forget also that Kennedy has not altogether given up on his dream of becoming leader of NPP some day.
kad 12 years ago
Well,well,well;bex,you make me laugh.
Paul Amuna 12 years ago
Bex, you are right regarding Kennedy's ambitions within the NPP party. The thrust of my question however was not a comparison between two people, but rather asking whether Dr Busia's 'party achievements' which Arthur K alluded to, were more important than he (Busia) working in the interests of the country (Ghana).
Even though elsewhere I have commented on attempted comparison between Busia and Nkrumah, in this comment, my focus was solely and entirely on Dr Busia.
Blay Miezah 12 years ago
The Elephant and the ant. The difference is clear. I mean Nkrumah and Busia. The man Busia does not come anywhere near Nkrumah in politics.
Frimpong, USA 12 years ago
NPP attempts at various points in time to rewrite Ghanaian history will never work. We now need to dismantle all those statues and roundabouts named after those traitors from the capital city.
Anass 12 years ago
Good piece Dr
NANA KUFUOR 12 years ago
Busia made big mistakes???? No, Busia was a mistake.
stone 12 years ago
Arthur K we need your types in our modern Ghana to say it as it is but not pissing in.
mensah abrampa 12 years ago
Yes Busia made 'big' mistakes but who doesn't? We all do because we're human.We were not made perfect but we can grow towards perfection if we'll only learn from our own mistakes and from the faults and mistakes of those who have gone before us. We make very little progress as individuals and as a nation because we fail to recognize our own shortcomings and the mistakes of those we admire and idolize. Arthur Kennedy is humble but also smart enough to recognize his idol's mistakes. Wish all ghanaians were like Dr Kennedy. We are free to show admiration and respect for the hardwork, wisdom and achievements of Danquah, Busia, Nkrumah, Rawlings, Kufuor, Mills but we'll be making fools of ourselves if we deify these mortals.
NANAN IS USING BAWUMIA 12 years ago
While Arthur K is in his hideout he is writing bullshit for us to read. Busia was the misfortune that ever visited Ghana's political history. He was so useless and wicked that no one will forgive him. Aside from the wicked things you mentioned he did, do you know that he killed 33 members of the Ya Naa Yakubu Andani's family in 1969. Find that out. When Busia illegally and forcefully enskinned Mahamadu as the Ya Naa in 1969 which is the remote root cause of the eventual Murder of the Ya Naa and 40 of his elders in March 2002. The law stipulated that someone from the Andani royal gate should be enskined as the Ya Naa, but Butia defied that law and went ahead and illegally enskined Mahamadu from the Abudu royal gate who happened to be a Progress Party supporter. Busia ordered that Ya Naa Yakubut should vacate the Yendi Palace for him to illegally enskin Mahamadu. When Ya Naa Yakubu's family showed reluctance to vacate the palace police opened fire on the family, killing 33 women and children. The police rained hundreds of bullets on the then regent Yakubu Andani, but he survived unscathed, thanks to his spiritual protection. That was the first time PP-NPP attempted to kill Ya Naa Yakubu Andani. Kufuor and NPP finally killed him in March 2002. But the problem of the Andani and Abudu was caused by Busia. It was when Acheampong came that he removed Mahamadu as the Ya Naa in 1972 because he had been illegally enskined by Busia in 1969, and then Yakubu Andani was rightfully and legally enskined as Ya Naa.
NANAN IS USING BAWUMIA 12 years ago
BUSIA WAS THE MOST WICKED MAN ON EARTH. BUSIA WAS A BIG FAILURE AND A DISGRACE TO AFRICA.
While Arthur K is in his hideout he is writing bullshit for us to read. Busia was the misfortune that ever visited Ghana's political h ... read full comment
BUSIA WAS THE MOST WICKED MAN ON EARTH. BUSIA WAS A BIG FAILURE AND A DISGRACE TO AFRICA.
While Arthur K is in his hideout he is writing bullshit for us to read. Busia was the misfortune that ever visited Ghana's political history. He was so useless and wicked that no one will forgive him. Aside from the wicked things you mentioned he did, do you know that he killed 33 members of the Ya Naa Yakubu Andani's family in 1969. Find that out. When Busia illegally and forcefully enskinned Mahamadu as the Ya Naa in 1969 which is the remote root cause of the eventual Murder of the Ya Naa and 40 of his elders in March 2002. The law stipulated that someone from the Andani royal gate should be enskined as the Ya Naa, but Butia defied that law and went ahead and illegally enskined Mahamadu from the Abudu royal gate who happened to be a Progress Party supporter. Busia ordered that Ya Naa Yakubut should vacate the Yendi Palace for him to illegally enskin Mahamadu. When Ya Naa Yakubu's family showed reluctance to vacate the palace police opened fire on the family, killing 33 women and children. The police rained hundreds of bullets on the then regent Yakubu Andani, but he survived unscathed, thanks to his spiritual protection. That was the first time PP-NPP attempted to kill Ya Naa Yakubu Andani. Kufuor and NPP finally killed him in March 2002. But the problem of the Andani and Abudu was caused by Busia. It was when Acheampong came that he removed Mahamadu as the Ya Naa in 1972 because he had been illegally enskined by Busia in 1969, and then Yakubu Andani was rightfully and legally enskined as Ya Naa.
Concerned 12 years ago
Busia just wanted to copy the western model without bring in any original ideas like Nkrumah. Like Atta Mills,he knows how to study but when it comes to taking a fresh look at things and bringing in original solutions, he was found wanting. His supporters are trying to bring him to the same level as Nkrumah but that only makes him look more ridiculous.The fact that Nixon found him more impressive than Nkrumah says it all. He was seen as an ally by the west whilst Nkrumah was a threat because he put Africa first.
Every time Busia's legacy is mentioned, it is his ideas that are mentioned.Nothing tangible. Those who knew him personally probably found him interesting. Maybe he was a motivational speaker but that is not the same as a good leader. You need other qualities to be a good leader.
The ability to follow western methodology is not what we need, we need original thinkers and innovators
Nana 12 years ago
How could you negotiate with people who were running an apatheid system?
Houdini 12 years ago
Who did Mandela negotiate with? De klerk and Botha were apartheid rulers but Mandela finally realised it was better to negotiate than continue warring against them.
Prof 12 years ago
Dr so and so, Busia did not expel Nigerians from Ghana but the law expelled them.
They were not the only foereigners who were living and working in Ghana at the period, it was because they did not want to comply with the la ... read full comment
Dr so and so, Busia did not expel Nigerians from Ghana but the law expelled them.
They were not the only foereigners who were living and working in Ghana at the period, it was because they did not want to comply with the law that was why they left the shores.
Even not all of them left, some of them who complied with the law stayed up till today.
Busia found out that Ghanaians and other people living in the country were corrupt or living in a dishonest way because there was no identity of anyone.
We were living like animals in the bush.
Busia started to introduce national Id cards like the french countries surrounding our country Ghana.
In that process he told all nationals in the country to register at their entry points so they have to go back and re-enter the country again so that their names would be registered at their entry points. Some did that but others did not.
If you are telling the story, do not forget to tell the truth.
If the id card had been able to work from that time, that would have solved our numerous problems such as unemployment, census, election mal practices and other numerous social problems we are facing today.
Paul Amuna 12 years ago
The Aliens Compliance Order was NOT only for Nigerians!!! Where did you get that? It was Busia's government, led by Dr Busia as Prime minister and MP, that enacted the law. Which book are you reading from? Sadly, unless you have experienced something at first hand, many people really never can imagine what it feels like to be treated inhumanely.
Arthur Kennedy understands because at one time, he was made to feel 'nationless', homeless and with a very uncertain future.
Omanbapa Osei Oyeadieyie 12 years ago
The name of the ordinance was not Nigerians Compliance Order BUT Aliens Compliance Order. Of course, Nigerians formed about 80% of all aliens in Ghana then so the felt it worse.
Those days, I lived in a house in Adedainkpo ... read full comment
The name of the ordinance was not Nigerians Compliance Order BUT Aliens Compliance Order. Of course, Nigerians formed about 80% of all aliens in Ghana then so the felt it worse.
Those days, I lived in a house in Adedainkpo, Accra with people from Togo, Benin and Mali. They all processed their papers and today their children and grand ones are Ghanaians and living in Ghana.
ACO did single out Nigerians: it only asked foreigners to either get papers or quit.
Where I live in Europe today, you MUST do that within 8 DAYS of arrival or ...
Aliens Compliance Order is everwhere even today!
NPP 12 years ago
THE MISTAKE BUSIA DID IS THE SAME (AKUFFO ADDO SHOR MAN DWARF)IS DOING,NANA DWARF WILL BE DISGRACE SOON.
oyinasky 12 years ago
Dr. Kennedy no amount of revisionist history will make Dr. Busia a great leader. This is a man who won only one national election in 1969 when the CPP was NOT allowed by the CIA funded military to participate. He lost to the CPP IN 1952, 1956 even when Nkrumah was in prison. So you cannot say the election was rigged.
This is the man who went to petition the Queen not to grant independence. Thius is the man who worked with R R Ampondah, M K Apaloo and Capt. Ahwaitey to assassinate Nkrumah barely 2 years into office. This is the man the so called democrat who rushed a bill through parliament to make it illegal to display Nkrumah picture. I could go on and on and on.Please your attempt like those of all your federalist bunch will fail.And by the way don't hit me with the PDA nonsense. No government will sit down and see a country blown to pieces by people who disagree with the government . Even the most "democratic" of countries the USA has the Patriot Act. Please check the contents.
oppong london 12 years ago
ghana without dankwa -busia tradition will never move forward,afrc,pndc and ndc as a family has collided ghana into a ditch,rawlings and his followers have been a real thorn in ghana.s flesh and this country has not seen any vision from these thwarts,ndc.ghana will never survive under this corrupt and useless people of ndc.
WEAR 12 years ago
It is because of terrorist group Danguah-Busia traditions that Ghana has moved very fast backward today.
frank 12 years ago
you are right mr kennedy he made people suffer and and i good man is celebrated by the nation not some group yes you are 100 & correct
Amass 12 years ago
Anybody who says the Aliens compliance order was a mistake is a BIG FOOL and IMMATURE! How can you allow aliens to take over your country without checking on them? Where in the world is that allowed? That paved way for some of us to get admission to the university. That i think has helped you to be what you are now! Bold steps like that should be recommended and condemned for your political expediency. I will never support you da if you stand as a presidential candidate, for you will not take bold decisions. To hell is you, and will you keep quiet and give peace a chance! I will say you don`t understand what that order means! Stupid Man!
Paul Amuna 12 years ago
I'm afraid the same can be said of you and in fact, YOU ARE WRONG and on the wrong side of history as well.
When were you born that you claim "that paved the way for us to get admission to university"!!! Are you really ... read full comment
I'm afraid the same can be said of you and in fact, YOU ARE WRONG and on the wrong side of history as well.
When were you born that you claim "that paved the way for us to get admission to university"!!! Are you really serious? No so-called "alien" ever prevented a Ghanaian from going to school let alone university!!! Is that the brainwashing you have received?
I am proud to have studied with Togolese and Nigerian "aliens" in elementary, secondary school and university. Today they remain among my most reliable and best friends. We all worked hard, supported each other and continue to do so, and celebrated our joint success in our fields of endeavour. You seem to see something wrong with that do you?
Why do you think President Obama is making a strong, direct and forceful case for "undocumented aliens" in the United States at this point in time? He has even cited evidence to support his argument about what they bring to the table. Is Obama not the son of an immigrant from Africa? Look what he's achieved for himself!! Have you ever visited another country? How would you like to be treated in a foreign land?
Your thinking is so backward, it is dangerous for the modern world. And i bet you are even much younger than I am. Stop being fed on the pap of propaganda, cheap nationalism and idiocy.
Spiky 12 years ago
“Former US President Richard Nixon confessed in his memoire that when he attended Ghana’s independence celebration in March, 1957, he had been more impressed by the then opposition leader, Busia than by the new Prime Minister, Kwame Nkrumah!”
Do you know what Nixon meant? He meant that America would find it comfortable working with Busia as President of Ghana than Nkrumah in power. The former would make it easier for America to exploit Ghana; the latter would not compromise. The rest is history.
WEAR 12 years ago
yes, it was a true story. The Western people had a big party when they assist in overthrowing Nkrumah, simply because Nkrumah was the only Black leader in African who undermind their interest, and Nkrumah´s interest was to build his country as he started and unite Africa, as the Europeans have united, travelling freely from one country to another, and with one currency. This is what Nkrumah wanted.
NYANSABOAFO 12 years ago
IT IS BECAUSE WE SAW THE ALIENS COMPLIANCE ORDER AS A "MISTAKE" AND OPENED WIDE OUR FRONTIERS TO ALL KINDS OF PEOPLE THAT TODAY FULANI HERDSMEN CAN DECIDE WHERE GHANAIANS CAN FARM IN OUR OWN COUNTRY. IT IS ALSO BECAUSE OF THAT THAT CHINESE HAVE INVADED THIS COUNTRY IN SWARMS.IT IS ONLY COUNTRIES WITHOUT DIRECTION, LIKE WE HAVE BECOME NOW, WHO OPEN THEIR BORDERS TO ALL KINDS OF IMMIGRANTS WITHOUT ANY CONTROL. IT IS UNFORTUNATE AN ACDEMIC LIKE ARTHUR KENNEDY WOULD LOMIT HIMSEL TO ONLY THAT ASPECT OF "NO COURT" IN WHAT BUSIA SAID IN CONNECTION WITH THE SALAH CASE.IN MODERN DAYS, EVEN THOUGH PEOPLE HAVE NOT SAID "NO COURT" THEY HAVE REFUSED TO COMPLY WITH COURT RULINGS.WHAT WAS THE COURT'S RULING ON THE PRICE BUILD UP OF FUEL IN GHANA WHICH WAS CHALLENGED BY KWAKU KWARTENG AND CO? WAS THE COURT RULING COMPLIED WITH?
KWAME 12 years ago
This is a very correct part of the CIA mole in Ghana. The "SALLAH" case for one and the complemence order. People who were alive during those period know it very well.
SGT MAJOR (RTD) AHMED ADAMS 12 years ago
BUSIA WAS THE BRIAN BOMBINGS THAT HAPPENED IN GHANA IN THE ERA OF KWAME NKRUMAH. HIS ACCOMPLICES WERE THE LATE FATHERS,UNCLES AND COUSINS OF AKUFFO ADDO,JAKE OBETSEBI LAMPTEY,IC QUAYE,AMARLEY TAIGOE, JOHN AGYEKUM KUFOUR AND CO AND THEY USED MALAM TULA TO DETONATE MOST OF THE BOMBS. THESE EVIL PEOPLE KILLED AND MAIMED A LOT OF INNOCENT AND ARMLESS GHANAIANS INCLUDING SCHOOL CHILDREN ALL BECAUSE OF POLITICAL POWER AND YET WHEN THEY HAD POWER IN 1969, THE FIRST THING THEY DID BEFORE WORKING AS A GOVERNMENT WAS TO COLLECT SALARY ADVANCE FOR A SOLID 24 MONTHS. THE EVIL BLOOD OF THOSE WICKED AND DEMONIC PEOPLE IS TODAY RUNNING THROUGH THE VEINS OF THE LIKES OF AKUFFO ADDO,JOHN KUFOUR,JAKE OBETSEBI LAMPTEY,SIR JOHN,IC QUAYE,URSULA OWUSU,SAMMY AWUKU,HOPESON ADOYE,KENNEDY AGYAPONG,ANTHONY KARBO AND WHAT HAVE YOU. IT IS THAT CONTAMINATED BLOOD RUNNING THROUGH THEM THAT STIMULATE THEM TO BE SAYING AND DOING THE UNTHINKABLE THINGS IN OUR COUNTRY. IF GHANA HAS SUCH CHARACTERS HOW DOES ONE EXPECT THE GREAT COUNTRY, GHANA TO MOVE FORWARD? GOD BLESS GHANA AND SAVE US FROM THE HANDS OF THESE EVIL AND DEMONIC GROUP OF PEOPLE!
CORRECTION' BUSIA WAS THE BRAIN BEHIND THE BOMBINGS THAT HAPPENED IN GHANA IN THE ERA OF KWAME NKRUMAH"
THE IDEA BEHIND THE ALIENS COMPLIANCE ORDER INITIATED BY THIS WICKED AND DEMONIC MAN CALLED ABREFA BUSIA WAS TO GIVE FOR THE FOLLOWERS OF HIS DEMONIC POLITICAL PARTY (PP/NPP)TO LOOT AND GRAB THE PROPERTIES OF HARD WORKING NIGERIANS THEN AND THEY DID THAT SHAMELESSLY. A LOT OF THESE INNOCENT NIGERIANS PERISHED WHILST BEEN TRANSPORTED TO NIGERIA. SOME ALSO DIED THROUGH ACCIDENTS ON THE WAY TO NIGERIA. THE BLOOD OF THOSE INNOCENT AND ARMEDLESS NIGERIANS AND GHANAIANS THROUGH BOMBINGS WILL BE UPON THEIR HEADS. THEY WILL ALL BURN IN THE FIRE OF HELL FOREVER AND EVER FOR COMMITTING SUCH SINS AGAINST HUMANITY!
Yaw Adu-Asare 12 years ago
Busia dismantled and destroyed the pre-independence accelerated educational foundation of Gold Coast/Ghana built through the ingenuity and ideas of Kwame Nkrumah and the CPP.
Arthur Kennedy's thinking is skewed. What does ... read full comment
Busia dismantled and destroyed the pre-independence accelerated educational foundation of Gold Coast/Ghana built through the ingenuity and ideas of Kwame Nkrumah and the CPP.
Arthur Kennedy's thinking is skewed. What does anybody expect from a Ghanaian called ARTHUR KENNEDY, anyway?
WEAR 12 years ago
Busia and his co, dismantled Free education in Ghana which was brought by Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah
oyinasky 12 years ago
Yaw thank you. I almost went to his name in my response but I decided that will take away the point I was trying to make. But thank you his name is bizarre and silly to say the least
George Badak 12 years ago
The simple message Dr Arther Kennedy is trying to put across to the NPP fraternity is that they should dissolve themselves from the acts of violence and insults which has become a common phenomenon across some of their members, which, as a result is making the party look ugly in our political scene currently. I hope they heed to his advise for their own good.
Many many thanks Doc. I always agree with your moderate views. I like you because you have moderate views and educate us all to tone our views and voices.
May God help you to become our future leader, which I will be happy t ... read full comment
Many many thanks Doc. I always agree with your moderate views. I like you because you have moderate views and educate us all to tone our views and voices.
May God help you to become our future leader, which I will be happy to serve in your Government.
You have also educated me that Dr Busia introduced the National Service Scheme.
GREAT NANA ANTWI 12 years ago
ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com
oyinasky 12 years ago
It is a shame these bomb throwers will never apologize and they continue to perpetuate lies.
EBO KOBINA 12 years ago
Arthur Kennedy , setting the records straight . I can assure you that despite Busia hails from Bron Ahafo district (Whenchi to be precise),the people of that area , both young and old like Kwame Nkrumah more than their own selfish son Busia ,for what Nkrumah did for the people of that area .Indeed the old Bron Ahafo folks respect Nkrumah for his vision and knowledge for liberating the Bronos from the Ashantis whilst their own son was kissing the Ashantis ass for his own political ambition . Arthur Kennedy , stop writing bogus history for our children to read . We all know Busia's hidden agenda of pleasing his CIA bosses who helped him to organize the overthrow of Nkrumah by destroying the OAU through his so called "Aliens Compliance Order". Ghana will never allow traitors to rule again .
PLUMBER 12 years ago
I could not agree with you more. During the golden jubilee celebration of Ghana's independence, the revisionist NPP tried a fast one on the people of Brong Ahafo region by building a statue at the same grounds as the Sunyani Jubilee park, which they attempted to outdoor on the eve of the celeberation. The chiefs of Bono Ahafo resisted, because of Busia's opposition of the creation of that region from Ashanti region by Nkrumah. So Nkrumah is the darling of that region inspite of the fact that Busia hails from there. As a rude shock to the NPP, Kuffour had predicted that the NPP would win at least 22 of the 26 constituencies in the region including those he had created in 2004. The NDC almost got half the number in 2008. In 2012 NPP lost the region to NDC both in the parliamentary and presidential. Arthur Kennedy you can write very well, but never try to rewrite History. The Aliens Compliance Order was the worst thing to have happened in Ghana. The main aim was to get rid of non Ghanaians who Busia imagined were responsble for the electoral defeats he suffered under Nkrumah. He won elections only because the CPP was disbanded. Arthru K, you write well, but don't think you can rewrite History, some are more informed than you. Be bold and write the truth, it shall set you free.
A Richard 12 years ago
I quiet remember Prof Busia once said if your children eat their breakfast or dinner and they are well fed it's hard finding them to buy you something from the market. All what he is trying to say is that as a haed of a Government you should take care of your CITIZENS as a father of a Family who is able to feed his family, and the second thought is that you as the head of the GOUVERNMENT will have all the free mind set that you will need to RULE YOUR COUNTRY.
MENSAH 12 years ago
I supported and still support A FRESH/NEW ALEANS COMPLIANCE OEDER,TO BE DONE IN GHANA,EITHER BY NANA ADDO OR MAHAMA.
IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO PROTECT OUR NATION,AGAINST POPULATION EXPLOSION,BRIBBERY & CORRUPTION,LOOTING OF OU ... read full comment
I supported and still support A FRESH/NEW ALEANS COMPLIANCE OEDER,TO BE DONE IN GHANA,EITHER BY NANA ADDO OR MAHAMA.
IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO PROTECT OUR NATION,AGAINST POPULATION EXPLOSION,BRIBBERY & CORRUPTION,LOOTING OF OUR NATURAL RESOURCES,ARMED ROBBERY,INPERSONALIIZATION,ETC.
GHANA IS A TINY NATION OF A SIZE:91,843 SQ MILES.
NIGERIA:34,174,000 SQ MILES
CHINA:3,759,000 SQ MILES
INDIA:1,138,814 SQ MILES.
NIGERIA'S POPULATION:144 M
CHINA : 1.3B
INDIA : 970,000M APPROX.
AFRICA:1.01B
ALL THESE THREE NATIONS ARE THOSE THAT DESIRE TO MAKE GHANA THEIR NEW RESIDENT.
THAT IS DANGEROUS TO GHANA'S FUTURE,BECAUSE,THEY COULD NOT CONTROL THEIR POPULATION IN THEIR RESPECTIVE COUNTRIES.
MY QUESTION IS?
CAN THEY DO IT IN GHANA?
A "BIG NO",IS MY ANSWER.
THAT'S WHY THEY HAVE TO BE SENT HOME AND NOT BE ENTERTAINED HERE IN GHANA.
BUSIA,WAS A MAN OF WISDOM,WHO SAW THESE PROBLEMS FAR BEFORE EVERYONE COULD ENVISAGE/DISCERN/PONDER ABOUT.
HE WAS TOTALLY RIGHT.ATTA KENNEDY IS WRONG.I
CAN PROVE IT TO HIM BY WHAT I HAVE SUPPORTED MY ARGUMENT WITH.
WE HAVE TO ADOPT THAT TODAY,TO SAVE OUR CHILDREN,WHEN WE ARE GONE.
A WORD TO THE WISE,IS ENOUGH.
MENSAH 12 years ago
THE WORD IS RATHER:
INPERSONATION,BUT NOT INPERSONIZATION.
SORRY ABOUT THE MISTAKE,MADE.
THE WORD IS RATHER:
Senior citizen Bs. Germany 12 years ago
When I saw the heading of Dr Arthur Kennedy,s article on Dr Kofi Abrefa Busia concerning the aliance compliance order.I was a bit disturbed but, combing through the article I agreed with him half way because,Dr Busia as prime minister could take detasteful descisions for the best interest of the Nation, but might not be accepted by all the populace and as a fact the aliance cmpliance order was a necessary panecea for Ghanaians to redeem them to their economic imanstipation. Now,lets talk about the aliance compliance order which Dr Arthur Kennedy dealt with itextensively, Yes,Busia did what Napoleon could not do. Napoleon in this context,refers to Dr Nkurumah who could not do it for obvious reesons,for fear of African leaders chasstising him of being hypocrate. The aliance compliance order was a huge economic recovery necessary for Ghana.These aliance were dominating all economic sectors of Ghana includes the following, the diamond and gold industries.They were in Obuase in their numbers and re named it Abiokuta doing their naferious gold business.At the eastern region they were at Akwatia Pramkese, Akim Oda etc.There was no diamond in NIgeria but they had diamond marketing bourd.In the cocoa Industry they challenged the fo-o h,fo-o h people,the zabramah and became the dominant cocoa purchasers in the country.The Nigerians did not spare the cmmercial and petty trades in the country but occupied themselves even in the selling of ordinary breads in their stores which were called ojor stores,I could remmember my mother used to send me to the ojor stores to buy for her peak milk mentholatum blade etc.In the main markets, about 50 percent of the market stalls belonged to foreigners especially Nigerians while Ghanaians were looking on sheepishly without any one to redeem them until Dr Busia cameto thescene.The business community, I mean the cocoa purchasing companies,dimond and gold industries petty traders marketing centers should be grateful to Dr Busia for coming to redeem them from the clutches of exploitation by fellow black Africans. Dr Arthur Kennedy stressed on the salla,s case, forgetting about Nkuruma and Savundrah,s case which Osagyefo was seriouely implicated in bribery and corruption charges levelled against himand aLebaneseman which he also cried,As far as I am concerned, No court No court,Savundras case is dead for ever.Dr Busia with his experiencial european state style of Governance instilled a lot of confidence in Ghanas economy which was IN a complete shamm in the early SEVENTYS
Augusco Boy 12 years ago
Busia did sell his soul to the colonialists (Britain & by implication America). Busia is the reason Ghana is in the quagmire that we are in. The man was just a yes man to the white man.
As a Brong person, I remain ashamed ... read full comment
Busia did sell his soul to the colonialists (Britain & by implication America). Busia is the reason Ghana is in the quagmire that we are in. The man was just a yes man to the white man.
As a Brong person, I remain ashamed of Busia. He was Ghana's biggest mistake, and would remain so for so who want to address the truth. History can never be kind to that traitor!
princewilly@ymail.com 12 years ago
A man marries a young woman and they are deeply in love. However, no matter what the husband does sexually, the woman never achieves climax so they decide to ask a sex therapist for advice.
The therapist listens to their s ... read full comment
A man marries a young woman and they are deeply in love. However, no matter what the husband does sexually, the woman never achieves climax so they decide to ask a sex therapist for advice.
The therapist listens to their story and makes the following suggestion;
"Hire a strapping young man and while the two of you are making having sex, the young man wave a towel over you, as though he is fanning you both. Make sure he is totally na*ed and she can see his manhood as he fans you both with the towel.
That will help your wife fantasise, and should bring on a full-blown climax."
They go home and follow the therapist's advice. They hire a handsome young man and he takes off the clothes and enthusiastically waves a towel over them both as they have sex. But it doesn't help and still the wife is unsatisfied and frustrated.
Perplexed, they go back to the therapist "Okay" he says, "let's try it reversed.
Let the young man have sex with your wife and you wave the towel over them."
Once again, they follow the advice. The young man gets into bed with the wife and the husband waves the towel. The hired hand really works with great enthusiasm and the wife soon has a room-shaking, screaming, climax.
Smiling, the husband drops the towel, taps the young man on the shoulder and says to him triumphantly.... "NOW THAT'S how you wave a fuckingng towel, son!!"
Aleo 12 years ago
Arthur K, you forgot to add that he smuggled currency into the country.However let him rest in peace.
Martin 12 years ago
Busia was touted as being very intelligent and politically astute by the people. His policies as the president of Ghana in the 1970s say otherwise. The imposition of the aliens’ compliance order, which led to the repatriation of all foreigners from Ghana in the early 70s, to me, was one of the dumbest laws ever passed in the annals of Ghanaian politics. Busia, blamed Ghana’s economic woes on all foreigners and saw the expulsion of all foreigners from Ghana as the solution. Enough said and written about Busia’s legacy, the better.
malam salifu 12 years ago
Talking head, and smart ass. Who is he and what does he KNOW. FUCK HIM. Busia got rid of the Nigerians and that is the BEST thing that ever happened.
tiger shark 12 years ago
Busia was nothing but a selfish tribalist.Under his rule tribalism became an issue in Ghana.Im his short term as prime Minister Busia did nothing good.Lucky us acheampong kicked him out.
The Suminakese boy 12 years ago
Thank you Dr Kennedy. I liked the story about road construction. My late grandmother said something similar to me regarding the tarred road from Nkawkaw to Akuase in the ER. With regard to what you think were the Professor's three mistakes, I believe there will be an opportunity to talk about them in future. "Rediscovering rural development and distate for corruption will make Ghana better" - these are great words from a scholar. Well done Dr Kennedy.
Paul Amuna 12 years ago
Dr Busia ensured that a tarred dual carriage way was built in his hometown Wenchi at a time when major roads were 'crying' for improvements.
Whilst there is nothing inherently wrong with improving roads linking rural and ... read full comment
Dr Busia ensured that a tarred dual carriage way was built in his hometown Wenchi at a time when major roads were 'crying' for improvements.
Whilst there is nothing inherently wrong with improving roads linking rural and urban areas, one would ask if Dr Busia and his government ever thought about undertaking road and other infrastructure projects in a planned and strategic way.
This is one head of government that Ghana had that the least said about the better frankly.
GENERAL DeGAULE 12 years ago
Busia led a delegation to the US to attempt to scupper Nkrumah's negotiations with Kaiser Alumni to build the Akosombo Dam. Nkrumah's vision was industrialisation backed by electrification and universal education. He is the only leader who gave as a DEVELOPMENT PLAAAANNNN!!! which showed the direction of travel.
Who provided the electrification in Busia's village so he could even contemplate rural development.
Dr Robert K Glah 12 years ago
Arthur Kobena Kennedy overlooked the record when Prof Busia was condemned:
"The hypocrisy of the Busia regime coupled with the inefficient management by that regime of our economy, evils of corruption, nepotism, social injustice and arbitrary dismissals still remained and in some cases got worse- especially in the economic field" and they compelled the overthrow of Prof Busia regime. (Ghana 1977, An Official Handbook (Government of Ghana Publication, Accra at p22)
KWAKU KYERETWIE 12 years ago
BUSIA NEVER MADE MISTAKES- THE 'ALIEN COMPLICE ORDER' WAS ORCHESTRATED BY THE BRITISH TO PUT STOP TO THE CIVIL WAR CAUSED BY THE BIAFRAN PEOPLE DUE TO THE OIL RICH DELTA. KENNEDY DOESN'T KNOW WHEN THE COUNTRY LEADERS HANDS ARE HANDLED BY BOTH THE WESTERN AND THE EASTERN BLOC LEADERS. THE 'SALLAH CASE' IN QUESTION HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH CPP-AND- NAL FACTOR THAT PUSHED BUSIA TO ACT IN THE WAY HE DID. SO THERE WERE NO MISTAKES ON THE PART OF BUSIA ON THIS, EXCEPT THAT HE DIDN'T KNOW WHO THE THEN COL ACHEAMPONG WAS AND HE MADE HIM THE MILITARY COMMANDER TO REMOVE HIM AT THE END THROUGH THE CPP-NAL FACTOR. KWAKU KYERETWIE KUMASI-KAJETIA
osei yao 12 years ago
Serving the exploiters of your people as District Commissioner, as Dr Busia did, must not be a source of pride. Any nationalist would bow his head in shame. He changed his foreign minister in order for Ghana to vote to exclude China from the UN. He supported the USA myth that Taiwan should represent all the Chinese people. Ghana was in a shameful minority which supported this absurdity.
k,n,a 12 years ago
Busia organized bomb throwing at Nkrumah.They brought the bombs through Wenchi from Cote d'Ivoire.
Busia is not a royal.
Busia is a traitor that is why he served as a District Commissioner under the whites .I f Nkrumah had ... read full comment
Busia organized bomb throwing at Nkrumah.They brought the bombs through Wenchi from Cote d'Ivoire.
Busia is not a royal.
Busia is a traitor that is why he served as a District Commissioner under the whites .I f Nkrumah had not come the whites would have imposed him over Ghana.Busia orchestrated the over throw of an elected government. Busia served in a military regime that killed and brutalized ordinary Ghanaians.Busia does not have the attributes you claim.
Joseph Boateng 12 years ago
Aliens Compliance Order was probably the best policy that Busia implemented. To say that was a mistake is sad miscalculation.
Joseph Boateng 12 years ago
If Busia is to rot in hell, where will your own rotting take place for devishly judging a person. Busia did more than the right thing by sending Nigerians who had by then taken over the commerce sector in Ghana. Have you paused to ponder what the population of Nigerians in Ghana would be by now if he had not taken this wise trend?
AK 57 TORONTO 12 years ago
HE WHO IS FAST THINKER ALWAWYS ACCEPT THEIR MISTAKES AND MOVE ON.
WHO EVER IN THE LINE OF WAITING SHOULD ALSO COME OUT WITH HIS IDEALOGY OR CONCEPTS AND MOVE ON
WE ARE MOVING FORWARD WITH CURRENT CONDITIONS ie TECHNOLOGY,WIRE FRAUD/ BLUETOOTH FRAUD, WHITE COLOUR CRIME THAT YOU FOLKS ARE COMMITING IN THE SYSTEM FIND SOLUTIONS AND RATHER STOP BEATING ABOUT THE BUSH.....
MY MAN LISTEN CAREFULLY GHANA DURING BUSIA TIME IS NOT GHANA TODAY SIT UP AND REASON UP OR KEEP QUITE AND SHUT UP....
I K ACHEAMPONG IS THE DOOM OF GHANAIANS.WHAT DID YOU FOLKS DO WHEN THE ASHANTI IK OVERTHREW HIM?
THE SOLDIER WHO WAS FROM THE ASAHNTI REGION CAUSEED ALL THE PROBLEMS ARTHRU K SIT UP AND THINK LOGICAL YOU ARE A DOCTER JUST HELP SAVE LIVES IN THE VILLAGES.../////
Bomfaboy 12 years ago
I was about to write just what you have said. I'm not sure how much of ECOWAS there was in 1970, for people to say Busia should not have enforced our immigration laws. Even now that good progress have been made, how easy is it for a Ghanaian to travel across the other West African states, let alone to engage in retail trade? Haven't we passed Laws in current Ghana that gives Ghanaians the exclusive right to the retail sector? Is that a mistake? Has Ghana not recently deported some foreigners who had desecrated our environment in illegal mining? Is this also a mistake? I pity Arthur Kennedy, and sometimes worry about his captions of articles he write. What Busia did, which some see as a mistake, why then have we come back to those same policies? Arthur K is gradually digging his own political grave, and writing his political obituary when it Gomes to Danquah-Busia-Dombo fraternity.
Akosua Tabuwaa 12 years ago
Was it not under Busia that MPs were paid their full salaries in advance for two years whilst others suffered.Didn't Haruna Esseku,transport minister under Busia who later became Chairman of the NPP steal and defrauded the state in the purchase of aircrafts?
WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 12 years ago
He has been very inept lately and that's clearly indicative that the bug that infects Ghana's intellectuals with willful stupidity is at work on him.
aliens’ compliance order was the most important public policy that ... read full comment
He has been very inept lately and that's clearly indicative that the bug that infects Ghana's intellectuals with willful stupidity is at work on him.
aliens’ compliance order was the most important public policy that saved Ghana from future civil unrest.
Arthur K would have been a slave in his native Ghana if that had not happened.
By the way serious and advanced countries have the aliens’ compliance order and it is their strict enforcement of immigration laws.
I used to admire this man but he has not been making sense lately
akudugu 12 years ago
ARTHUR KENNEDY, WHAT A HISTORIAN MAY OUR GOOD LORD GUID YOU!!! AMEN!!!!
GHANAMAN 12 years ago
THE NUMBER OF YEARS OF REIGN DETERMINES HOW MANY MISTAKES YOU MAKE. AT LEAST, I GIVE ARTHUR KENNEDY THUMBS UP FOR SAYING THE TRUTH.
OPPONG 12 years ago
DR K PLEASE I BEG TO ADVICE YOU AS LOVE BROTHER THAT WHEN YOU ARE AT ANY PLATFORM OF NPP DO NOT PREACH AGAINST CORRUPTION BECOUSE IT ALWAYS BRING SOME OF THE BIG MEN BURRY THEIR HEARD DOWN. ON LIKE BUSIA THEY CAME TO POLITICS TO AMASS WORLTH VIA CORRUPT CORRUPT CORRUPTION ACADEMEIA..YAW SARFO MARFO,KUFFOUR, KWAME MPIANIM THE HEAD OF CANCELLATION OF NON PAYMENY OF 20% BY THE CONTRACTOR. WAYOME LOWER BIDDER 10%
ICONIC-07 12 years ago
EXCEPT THE MENTALLY CHALLENGED OR HANDICAPPED THE ABILITY TO THINK CRITICALLY WELL IS WITH THE POWER OF US ALL, IRRESPECTIVE OF SKIN COLOUR, TRIBE, GENDER, NATIONALITY, EDUCATION
AND CREED.
UNFORTUNATELY UGLY-AKYEM AKUFFO ... read full comment
EXCEPT THE MENTALLY CHALLENGED OR HANDICAPPED THE ABILITY TO THINK CRITICALLY WELL IS WITH THE POWER OF US ALL, IRRESPECTIVE OF SKIN COLOUR, TRIBE, GENDER, NATIONALITY, EDUCATION
AND CREED.
UNFORTUNATELY UGLY-AKYEM AKUFFO ADDO AND HIS TRIBAL NPP SUPPORTERS HAVE FAILED TO EXHIBIT INTELLECTUAL QUALITIES OF ACKNOWLEDGING OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH AS THE GREATEST VISIONARY OF ALL TIMES.
UNFORTUNATELY, BECAUSE LAME DUCK ILL-FATED BUSUA WAS A TRIBAL INWARD-LOOKING PP-NPP HEAD OF STATE HE IS BEING OVER-RATED AS THE BEST VISIONARY. THIS SUCKS!
WHAT DOES BUSUA KNOW? UGLY-AKYEM TRIBAL AKUFO ADDO HAS STOELEN OSAGYEFO DR. NKRUMAH'S VISION OF "COMPULSORY FREE EDUCATION" AND MAKING "FREE EDUCATION" AS HIS BABY. WHAT A SHAME!!!! YOU FOOOOOOOOOLLLL
THE WORLD KNOWS OSGAYEFO DR. NKRUMAH AND NOT LAME DUCK ILL-FATED BUSUA.
WHAT DO YOU EXPECT DISGRACED NIXON A REPUBLICAN-NPP TO SAY ABOUT OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH WHO OPPOSED THE WEST. WHO OVERTHROW NKRUMAH? IT WAS REPUBLICAN-UP-PP-NPP-CIA THAT DID ALL THEY COULD TO OVERTHROW THE GREATES VISIONARY, DR. KWAME NKRUMAH.
GIVE CREDIT TO THOSE WHO DESERVE CREDIT, PARTICULARLY WHEN YOU STEAL THEIR VISION OF "FREE EDUCATION." AMEN!!!!!!!!
Busia was a fiasco. More or less like Atta
And what does Richard ...
You have made my day.This guy is always seeking attention where there is none.Who is Busia to compare with Nkrumah and under what circumatances? A whole book could be written on the failure of this man,Busia.Kennedy should gi ...
EVIL BUSIA achievements:
2' He succeeded in c ...
please no matter what you are saying that the nigerians broke ghana immigration law, they are our fellow brothers. black africans and you are damned fool to say our black brothers can not come to our home. are you mad. do you ...
Why wouldn't Nixon praise his agent? Busia was his puppet and agent so he will be more impressed by him than the man who liberated Ghana and set us on the path of economic independence. When Busia came back in 69, he set us b ...
The NLM/UP/PP/PFP/NPP Mate Mehu knaves are not only pettifoggers they are history foggers too. The attempt or trying to make a “hero” out of a ZERO Busia will not make the cu ...
We are practicing and enjoying multi-party system now and democracy is in full swing – so weren’t the two the same that was proposed by Busia and the opposition? Most Ghanaians are not interested in the one party system ...
NPP MEMBERS ARE A CRIMINAL LOT. THE ARMY MUST STEP IN AND A ...
Do you think Nkruma was better than Busia. You don't know what you are saying. Nkruma came to meet big money but Busia came when we were broke. Busia as I will remember did not ask anybody to leave the country but to register ...
Many left not knowing reall ...
No insults. I think Kennedy has done good piece for we the young ones to reflect on about the life of Busia, his vision etc. In all these, I agreed with Kennedy except when he thinks that the opinion of Nixon was the gospel t ...
He was a pathetic lea ...
WISDOM CONQU ...
Arthur Kennedy "left Legon" not of his own choosing and wish ...
Ato, that doesn't mean a wrong impression should be created. Remember Kwesi Prtatt was already a practising professional. Of course there are others too like Lawyer Ndebugri (now with the NPP) who had their own spat with Rawl ...
I read your two pieces ;one in defence of Arthur Kennedy and the other on the attempt by NPP to scew history in favour of Dr Busia. Everyone knows Dr Busia was a complete failure.You see, these were typical villagers who want ...
But its good someone judges somebody. Nixon was a human and therefore not perfe ...
He was a raci ...
Hmmm!!
BUSIA WAS THE REMOTE CAUSE OF THE MURDER OF THE YA NAA YAKUBU ANDANI. BUSIA HAD INSTRUCTED THE KILLING OF 33 FAMILY MEMBERS OF THE THEN REGENT OF YENDI, YAKUBU ANDANI. WOMEN AND CHILDREN WERE KILLED WHEN THEY WERE ASKED TO VA ...
so do u people even have ghana at heart. politics has eaten chunk of your brains. busia is dead we shd praise him for his good works and learn from our mistakes. no learder has a clean sheet not even the highly praised nkruma ...
Dr. Busia took bold socio-economic decisions that were necessary for the country at that time. They were NOT mistakes. Neither was his intervention in the 'Sallah Case' a blot on his reputation. The coup leaders were mere adv ...
Dr. K, why was the alien's compliance order a mistake? Will you say the deportation of illegal aliens from other western democracies are mistakes? Or better still, the recent deportation of illegal Chinese immigrants engaged ...
Adolf Hitler took a bold socio-economic decision, which he thought was necessary for Germmany at that time.History tells us 6 million Jews perished in evil circumstances.Only God will ...
Shame on to NPP and their previous leaders. Ghanaians mind will never buy this excuses. There is nothing like mistake Busia did. What is clear is that, he was promoting the idealogy of the party. And that idealogy is about ha ...
Why waste your time on this Busiaman who was a total political failure and a puppet of the neo-colonialists into the bargain?We must be more concerned with solving the nation's problem than discussing a failed politician.Peri ...
Mr. Shamu, you are pathetic. You don't know what you are saying. Or you are an infidel, inward looking type with an ingrate hate for anybody Akan? Whatever did Busia do that portrays him as a superior Akan to any other tribe ...
Where on this planet could a foreigner s ...
The Nigeri ...
I know it came with all sort of problems but sometimes a Leader of a country has to think about ...
That rogue former american president Richard Nixon remark about Kwame Nkrumah was expected for after all Osagyefo was never liked by the America and its allies all due to Osagyefo's strong stand against colonialism and aparth ...
Very good point
Well said Arthur K. Busia was definitely a visionless leader as the need for regional integration was obvious even in 1963 when the OUA was formed championed by Dr Kwame Nkrumah. The Aliens Compliance Order was definitely a ...
An "exemplary party leader" he may have been, "rewarding those who worked hard and the foot soldiers" (who did his bidding), putting his party and its interests first before any other consideration, but don't you think your a ...
Which ghanaian do you idolize? Nkrumah, I guess but did he not have a fair share of the faults common to all men? If we go round looking for faults that's what we'll find. We'll also find the good other people do if we take t ...
But surely you are not ...
No, Paul. The writer is not trying to compare the two. He knows there is no comparison. He is simply watching his back, for there are many here who are prepared to hack him to death if he writes his true feelings about the tw ...
Bex, you are right regarding Kennedy's ambitions within the NPP party. The thrust of my question however was not a comparison between two people, but rather asking whether Dr Busia's 'party achievements' which Arthur K allude ...
Good piece Dr
Yes Busia made 'big' mistakes but who doesn't? We all do because we're human.We were not made perfect but we can grow towards perfection if we'll only learn from our own mistakes and from the faults and mistakes of those who ...
While Arthur K is in his hideout he is writing bullshit for us to read. Busia was the misfortune that ever visited Ghana's political history. He was so useless and wicked that no one will forgive him. Aside from the wicked th ...
While Arthur K is in his hideout he is writing bullshit for us to read. Busia was the misfortune that ever visited Ghana's political h ...
Busia just wanted to copy the western model without bring in any original ideas like Nkrumah. Like Atta Mills,he knows how to study but when it comes to taking a fresh look at things and bringing in original solutions, he was ...
They were not the only foereigners who were living and working in Ghana at the period, it was because they did not want to comply with the la ...
The Aliens Compliance Order was NOT only for Nigerians!!! Where did you get that? It was Busia's government, led by Dr Busia as Prime minister and MP, that enacted the law. Which book are you reading from? Sadly, unless you h ...
Those days, I lived in a house in Adedainkpo ...
Dr. Kennedy no amount of revisionist history will make Dr. Busia a great leader. This is a man who won only one national election in 1969 when the CPP was NOT allowed by the CIA funded military to participate. He lost to the ...
ghana without dankwa -busia tradition will never move forward,afrc,pndc and ndc as a family has collided ghana into a ditch,rawlings and his followers have been a real thorn in ghana.s flesh and this country has not seen any ...
Anybody who says the Aliens compliance order was a mistake is a BIG FOOL and IMMATURE! How can you allow aliens to take over your country without checking on them? Where in the world is that allowed? That paved way for some o ...
When were you born that you claim "that paved the way for us to get admission to university"!!! Are you really ...
“Former US President Richard Nixon confessed in his memoire that when he attended Ghana’s independence celebration in March, 1957, he had been more impressed by the then opposition leader, Busia than by the new Prime Mini ...
yes, it was a true story. The Western people had a big party when they assist in overthrowing Nkrumah, simply because Nkrumah was the only Black leader in African who undermind their interest, and Nkrumah´s interest was to b ...
IT IS BECAUSE WE SAW THE ALIENS COMPLIANCE ORDER AS A "MISTAKE" AND OPENED WIDE OUR FRONTIERS TO ALL KINDS OF PEOPLE THAT TODAY FULANI HERDSMEN CAN DECIDE WHERE GHANAIANS CAN FARM IN OUR OWN COUNTRY. IT IS ALSO BECAUSE OF THA ...
BUSIA WAS THE BRIAN BOMBINGS THAT HAPPENED IN GHANA IN THE ERA OF KWAME NKRUMAH. HIS ACCOMPLICES WERE THE LATE FATHERS,UNCLES AND COUSINS OF AKUFFO ADDO,JAKE OBETSEBI LAMPTEY,IC QUAYE,AMARLEY TAIGOE, JOHN AGYEKUM KUFOUR AND ...
THE IDEA BEHIND THE ALIENS COMPLIANCE ORDER INITIATED BY THIS WICKED AND DEMONIC MAN CALLED ABREFA BUSIA WAS TO GIVE FOR THE FOLLOWERS OF HIS DEMONIC POLITICAL PARTY (PP/NPP)TO LOOT AND GRAB THE PROPERTIES OF HARD WORKING NIG ...
Arthur Kennedy's thinking is skewed. What does ...
The simple message Dr Arther Kennedy is trying to put across to the NPP fraternity is that they should dissolve themselves from the acts of violence and insults which has become a common phenomenon across some of their member ...
May God help you to become our future leader, which I will be happy t ...
Arthur Kennedy , setting the records straight . I can assure you that despite Busia hails from Bron Ahafo district (Whenchi to be precise),the people of that area , both young and old like Kwame Nkrumah more than their own se ...
I could not agree with you more. During the golden jubilee celebration of Ghana's independence, the revisionist NPP tried a fast one on the people of Brong Ahafo region by building a statue at the same grounds as the Sunyani ...
I quiet remember Prof Busia once said if your children eat their breakfast or dinner and they are well fed it's hard finding them to buy you something from the market. All what he is trying to say is that as a haed of a Gover ...
IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO PROTECT OUR NATION,AGAINST POPULATION EXPLOSION,BRIBBERY & CORRUPTION,LOOTING OF OU ...
THE WORD IS RATHER:
When I saw the heading of Dr Arthur Kennedy,s article on Dr Kofi Abrefa Busia concerning the aliance compliance order.I was a bit disturbed but, combing through the article I agreed with him half way because,Dr Busia as prime ...
As a Brong person, I remain ashamed ...
The therapist listens to their s ...
Busia was touted as being very intelligent and politically astute by the people. His policies as the president of Ghana in the 1970s say otherwise. The imposition of the aliens’ compliance order, which led to the repatriati ...
Thank you Dr Kennedy. I liked the story about road construction. My late grandmother said something similar to me regarding the tarred road from Nkawkaw to Akuase in the ER. With regard to what you think were the Professor ...
Whilst there is nothing inherently wrong with improving roads linking rural and ...
Busia led a delegation to the US to attempt to scupper Nkrumah's negotiations with Kaiser Alumni to build the Akosombo Dam. Nkrumah's vision was industrialisation backed by electrification and universal education. He is the o ...
"The hypocrisy of the Busia regime coupled with the inefficient management by that regime of our economy, evils of corruption, nepotism, social injus ...
BUSIA NEVER MADE MISTAKES- THE 'ALIEN COMPLICE ORDER' WAS ORCHESTRATED BY THE BRITISH TO PUT STOP TO THE CIVIL WAR CAUSED BY THE BIAFRAN PEOPLE DUE TO THE OIL RICH DELTA. KENNEDY DOESN'T KNOW WHEN THE COUNTRY LEADERS HANDS AR ...
Serving the exploiters of your people as District Commissioner, as Dr Busia did, must not be a source of pride. Any nationalist would bow his head in shame. He changed his foreign minister in order for Ghana to vote to exclud ...
Busia is not a royal.
Busia is a traitor that is why he served as a District Commissioner under the whites .I f Nkrumah had ...
If Busia is to rot in hell, where will your own rotting take place for devishly judging a person. Busia did more than the right thing by sending Nigerians who had by then taken over the commerce sector in Ghana. Have you paus ...
I was about to write just what you have said. I'm not sure how much of ECOWAS there was in 1970, for people to say Busia should not have enforced our immigration laws. Even now that good progress have been made, how easy is ...
Was it not under Busia that MPs were paid their full salaries in advance for two years whilst others suffered.Didn't Haruna Esseku,transport minister under Busia who later became Chairman of the NPP steal and defrauded the st ...
aliens’ compliance order was the most important public policy that ...
DR K PLEASE I BEG TO ADVICE YOU AS LOVE BROTHER THAT WHEN YOU ARE AT ANY PLATFORM OF NPP DO NOT PREACH AGAINST CORRUPTION BECOUSE IT ALWAYS BRING SOME OF THE BIG MEN BURRY THEIR HEARD DOWN. ON LIKE BUSIA THEY CAME TO POLITICS ...
AND CREED.
UNFORTUNATELY UGLY-AKYEM AKUFFO ...