You are here: HomeNews2013 07 18Article 279899

4-year election cycle doesn’t make sense – Kwesi Pratt

Read Comments Comments (85)

• Zombie Killer 10 years ago

Nonsense ,how long can we let politictian misuse state coffers ?

• BlindMan 10 years ago

Wake him up; he's MILES away from reality!

• Homesense 10 years ago

Kwesi, did you make this suggestion to the Constitutional Review Committee that gathered information on the forward for our constitution?

If you did not, then I'm afraid your recommendation now is just mere talk for you to ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

THE WESTERN NATIONS WHO U STOOP ON UR HANDS N KNEES FOR AID HAVE THE SAME 4 YR SYSTEM. DO U THINK U KNOW BETTER THAN THEM?

• PAA 10 years ago

Npp will soon die and a new party formed in its place. What npp are looking for is to come to power to loot the nation's resources. Npp thinks Ghanaians have soon forgotten when they were stealing gold, money, land and other ...

• PAA 10 years ago

Ghanaians can still remember when sir John told npp followers to dress in white and go to church for thanksgiving even when the final results were not complete just to make a case that they had been robbed. In fact, the SC is ...

• PAA 10 years ago

Thieves. What npp are looking for is to come to power to loot the nation's resources. Now where is the npp communication team? No more useless responses. Npp thinks Ghanaians have soon forgotten when they were stealing gold, ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Prating Pratt, stop disturbing our ears with your boloney !

Politics is for astute politicians who have ideas that help a country and its citizenry move forward.

Spending state monies to build schools or other infrastru ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• The 10 years ago

Kwesi Pratt who in yesteryears (during Kuffours NPP) was so much against any form of tax and petroleum price increases and would not only criticise but would hit the streets to protest is today justify such increases with the ...

• JOHN 10 years ago

Ei uncle kwesi, what is a grammaphone?
    Is a Samsung phone for Grandmothers?

• jaga 10 years ago

Bukom banku should stop this stupid songs and go fight Ayittey POWERS

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Mr.Pratt this four years was existing
    for a long time before you even finished school, your nut sense could
    not turn the hour back to your likeness.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

You cannot detect to your father what
    to do,you have not reach the age yet
    to reason for the people.

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

That's what blind Pratt would never see.

• kofi yesu 10 years ago

Masa Kwesi, that 4years is ok. The only problem with african politicians is that, they have to plan the land together from ideas of all political parties and the think thanks as the western world have been doing, which means ...

• TAMBRO 10 years ago

IN FACT WHAT IS WRONG WITH WHAT KWESI PRATT IS SAYING?CAN`T WE ADD ONE YEAR TO SERVE AS ELECTION PREPARATION YEAR TO EASE THE PRESSURE OF GOVERNMENTS?WE SHOULD KNOW THAT OUR GOVERNMENTS ACTUALLY SERVE 3YRS INSTEAD OF 4YRS.

• PAUL AFFUL 10 years ago

let technocrats discuss issues, not journalist at all at all bcos they mostly lack common-sense and logical and pragmatic understanding of issues.......kwasi pratt is empty headed and yet we allow him to pontificate unduly on ...

• Yaoza Yaouza 10 years ago

What did JJ Rawlings achieve in his 19 years of rule? It is not a matter of how long but what vision.

• Ombudsman 10 years ago

There is a good reason for the 4 year term, that way non-performing Administrations can be assesed by the people and given the thumbs down and booted out if need be. The worst thing that can befall any Country is a long term ...

• Kofi Amankwaa London 10 years ago

Ombudsman,

You have taken my words out of my mouth. Thank you my brother.

• SD 10 years ago

That sounds great. Mr Pratt is making a good point, not only the planning aspect but also the cost involved in preparing for the elections itself every 4th year. On the other hand, would politicians in opposition have the pat ...

• Jonny 10 years ago

great indeed then lets give them 20yrs so that they can perform. Is that long enough Kwasia Pratt

• ....... 10 years ago

Box manu years jj had twenty fucky years hé sent Ghana to hipc bagbin had been w/Ghana politic sincère1981 what has he done.akwasi use ur head.You are wrong.let us introduce local government elections including primaries th ...

• KNYC (USMC) 10 years ago

For 19 years of JJ what did he do? Noting to show for, only crating looting foot soldiers who are masters of looting.

• Kwesi Agbenu 10 years ago

Where was this bla blah Pratt when hairdressers and butchers were writing th constitution??

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• KWAME 10 years ago

I dont agree with you, Mr Pratt. Four years is a long time for government to make meaningful impact.
    The reason why governments are not doing well is that they wait to have power before thinking of what to do, really.
    Devel ...

• Nana Panin 10 years ago

Kwesi, you are missing the point. The country could be stuck with an incompetent leader for however many years that leader is elected. 4 year period is reasonable. After 50 years of independence, all parties should have the ...

• Onipa Bone 10 years ago

Fool. Make it 42 years like Gaddafi! Keep your malodorous mouth shut!

• BLACK-STAR-COAST 10 years ago

WHERE IS YOUR FIELD,WHAT IS YOUR PROFESSION,?SOCIAL SCIENTIST,AGRICULTURE ENGINEER OR
    TALKATIVE

• METE 10 years ago

HAHAHAHA

• OTAFROGYA, WASHINGTON DC 10 years ago

This idiot opens his mouth and vomits nonsense out.

• Villa Kakalika 10 years ago

Here is my view on this topic:
    First i agree that the four year cycle is short and would recommend an amalgamation of the French, British and American systems
    French, because i would want a five year term so that performanc ...

• OSEI 10 years ago

SO DO U MEAN TO TELL US THAT IF WE WRONGLY CHOOSE A GUY LIKE MAHAMA, WE SHOULD WAIT A MINUTE MORE THAN 4 YEARS TO GET RID OF HIM? HOW LONG DO YOU WANT GHANA TO BE DESTROYED?

• Kofi - USA 10 years ago

SO WHAT IS THE POINT YOU ARE TRYING TO MAKE. IT REALLY DOES NOT MAKE ANY SENSE IF YOU TAKE INTO ACCOUNT THAT MOST FLOURISHING GOVERNMENTS LIKE, USE, UK, BRAZIL, CANADA, SOUTH AFRICA AND INDIA ALL HAVE FOUR YEAR CYCLES. IT IS ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

What if we end up with an administration or president who is just a damn kleptomaniac, inspiring others to loot as well. In this particular case, a 5-year or 6-year mandate will be like Ghana becoming a victim inside a horror ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

WE ARE STILL LOST IN THE WILDERNESS HENCE OUR CONTINUED DEPENDENCE ON FOOD IMPORT PRODUCTS.

UNLESS WE OWN THE FUTURE, UNLESS OUR VALUES ARE MATCHED BY A COMPLETLY UNDERSTANDING OF THE REALITIES THAT ARE UPON US AND CONTINU ...

• OBURUMANKUMA 10 years ago

u are overexposed

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

Kwaesi you are damn right.Ghana at independence was far richer than South Korea,Malaysia and Singapore but just look at where these countries are now.These nations are far richer and industrialized than Ghana.There was a time ...

• Obibini 10 years ago

Dear Mr K. Ohemeng, the issue I have with the thinking of the likes Kwasi POratt jnr is that they have a tendency of discussing sympthoms rather than the "Problem". The contries you mentioned as examples had leaders who had a ...

• Agyeman. 10 years ago

Term length is immaterial bcoz its the fight in the dog rather than the dog in the fight that'll matter.The USA has had 4yr terms and its a superpower yet Russia and Mexico have had 6yr terms but canot match USA's riches,tech ...

• Samuel from Germany 10 years ago

you so call PAA, who do u think u are to always state useless comment for people who are passionate about our Nation to be reading? Anyways i"m sure u are mentally ill, but pls learn to show some respect to..... cus u are als ...

• Ajavuk Da Jajak 10 years ago

Dear Kwesi, How many of today's generation have seen 'gramaphone' and its 28" records? You might just as well say you sound like His Master's Voice, with its dog as lead singer. A different metaphor would have been more appea ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

Why do we grant IMPORT LICENSE to ALL that ??There OUGHT to be a list of NON- IMPORTS,period!!
    A discussion of the duration of Parliament IS NECESSARY to build a concensus. I will suggest 5yrs.
    You see, because of our "winn ...

• Pressman 10 years ago

Hey, Pratt, so you mean to tell us that you are smarter than the Americans who have tested this 4-year system for more than two hundred years, and that it has served them well. Pratt, you got to get it in you head that 4 year ...

• yaw, USA 10 years ago

IF I MAY BE RIGHT, I LEARNT MUTALA MOHAMMED TRANSFORMED NIGERIA IN SIX MONTHS. A VISIONLESS PRESIDENT CAN BE IN OFFICE FOR TEN, TWENTY, THIRTY OR MORE YEARS WITHOUT BRINGING ANY DEVELOPMENT. GHANAIAN PRESIDENTS ARE THE MOST V ...

• Kofi Apana 10 years ago

This is a no brainer. I hope Parliamentarians will listen to Kwasia Pratt and takes the necessary steps to extend the tenure to six years for Presidents before the next election. Mr.. Pratt, please keep driving that point hom ...

• Abrewanana 10 years ago

If I may ask the all-knowing Kwesi Pratt, how long has Robert Mugabe (ou r akonta) of Zimbabwe been in power? Thirty-plus years! And how does Zimbabwe compare to Ghana now?

I wonder where KP was when ex-President Kuffuor s ...

• banana 10 years ago

What Kwesi Pratt has said should not be considered cavalier as many have already done...most readers are saying that America, Great Britain, by the way has five years and other industrialized nations have four years and so we ...

• Nana 10 years ago

If four years is not enough for the President of Ghana to stir the affairs of the country with all these resources for a population less than 26 million people then countries like Egypt, Nigeria, South Africa, kenya, Tanzia a ...

• Nana 10 years ago

TANZANIA

• JIM CROW 10 years ago

SOMEBODY STAYED IN OFFICE FOR 19 YEARS AND SENT US TO HIPIC. WE SHALL NEVER PUT ANYONE IN OFFICE FOR MORE THAN 4 YEARS. IF YOU DELIVER THEN YOU GET ANOTHER 4 YEARS. PERIOD.

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

The problem does not lie in the government but it lies in an innovative, selfless, hard working and entrepreneural populace. As long we look for solutions from the government, we shall never progress. The government only ser ...

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

then no need for governments abi. you people do not get it at all. even the so called innovative and hardworking entrepreneurial populace are driven by sound policies which are initiated by governments. if governments lack wh ...

• ATSIKASA ZOMABI 10 years ago

Four years is really not enough .governments are scared to take bold decisions afraid they would step on people's toe and not be able to make a second term.

• CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago

POLITICIANS DO NOT ACTUALLY DO THE WORK. IF THE SIT ON PROJECT SIGNING FOR NONETHE AND MONTHS BECAUSE OF THE CUT THEY WANT FROM THE PROJECTS FOR THIER POCKETS THEN IS WHERE THE PROBLEM IS. FOUR YEARS IS MORE THAN SAYING MORE ...

• Nana 10 years ago

Very relevant thinking and analysis of the policies. A country like Ghana where institutions are not so strong to quickly implement political platforms should not really organize 4 years election. The tenure should be at leas ...

• komlavi 10 years ago

Why are u saying this now? where were u when president kuffour proposed this n was being lambasted by ur darling party, the NDC. Did u come to his defence, mr " know all" ?

• Sheik 10 years ago

This guy really talks sense,but sometimes he go wayward and say certain things becos of politics,that make me doubt him.How on earth can u support NDC and later turn around to pull their legs.u knew they cant deliver,but u bl ...

• Asem Pa Asa 10 years ago

Four years is four years; no more, no less. During electioneering campaigns, these greedy politicians keep talking about their capabability of doing this and doing that if elected. Once they get to office, they change their t ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is ha ...

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

It makes sense. Why has it work and continues to work in many democratically advanced countries?
    The main problem is that most of these political parties of Africa usually do have actionable or executable plans and policies ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

Don't mind Kwasi Pratt. Maybe he's suggesting that we allow say 5-6yrs term so that a president and party without ideas could totally distroy every little gains that the predecessor had achieved. That will be suicidal.

We ...

• Holy Father 10 years ago

stop your nonsence decieving poor Ghanains your warned says the LORD

What about 25 years, Kwesi?

• J H New York 10 years ago

Ghana's development problems is not about the 4 years.Therefore,I do not agree with Kwesi Pratt for the ff reasons :
    1.Lack of Short,Medium,and Long times MANDATORY(whichever party is in power is strictly required to follow ...

So Ghana's pain in the neck is CONTINUITY.
    2.Too Much Waste, Misapplications and Misappropriation of Tax payers funds.

3.Poitical parties Come to power in Ghana to promote party interest to the detriment of national develo ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Extending the election cycle to 5 years will not solve the problem. 6 or 7 years will be too long and will create even more tension as the stakes will be just too high in the elections.

4 years is just about right. Partie ...

• ICONIC-07 10 years ago

DEMOCRACY DEFY INTERPRETATION AND THE SO-CALLLED WESTERN DEMOCRACY IS A EUPHEMISM FOR ENTRENCHING THE STATUS QUO OF ARISTOCRATIC POWER AND EXPLOITATION.

CHINA REFUSED TO BE BLESSED WITH THE DOSAGE OF SO-CALLED CAPITALISM A ...

• christopher yeboah 10 years ago

This guy Pratt is gradually losing his popularity. He is becoming stomach direction. Shame on you

• ohenenana 10 years ago

fours years is enough time to plan and deliver. Stop corruption, and stealing, and the country will see positive results

• Ekuma 10 years ago

Kwesi Pratt shd refrain from this nonsense of the highest order. He shd tell the U. S Congress that 4 yrs is too short for OBAMA.

I wish every 1 yr politicians are changed. Kwesi , even with limited time , see how the ama ...

• Apia 10 years ago

I MEAN 4 YEARS OF SERIOUS STUDY OR HARDWORK NOT LAZINESS. PRAT SHOULD GIVE US A BREAK. GOVERNMENTS THAT START WELL HAS THE OPORTUNITY TO WIN ANOTHER FOUR YEARS. COME ON!

• Okoe 10 years ago

Yes, Ghana has enough arable land but are you Mr. Pratt doing? President Carter is a farmer despite being an engineer. You of course are a journalist and can do farming as well. Just do not preach but do something so that we ...

• realist... 10 years ago

This guy should get his head examined, obviesly there is some wery big issues in there, but i think he does not have a brin but only a junctionbox, that maniges to somewhat controll the most basic need, like shitting and piss ...

• Willies 10 years ago

Kwesi huuum, yes I agree with you but imagine the NPP staying in power for 7 years? What would have happened to Ewes and some parts of people from northern Ghana? Did you see how they looted the system? Did you see how they s ...

• AMSTERDAMUS-AFRICANUS 10 years ago

because you no one shuts him down i might do him real damage.

• alfred 10 years ago

You are on point..Mr.pratt

• Kwame 10 years ago

Four Years term of office for the executive and legislature is harvest time for money lenders, banks, election observers, campaigners, suppliers of registration equipment and printers of voting papers. If the four year term o ...

• akwasi 10 years ago

the only change we need is to change the constitution. to let regional ministersto be voted into office not to be appointed.The constitution is flawed it favors only the politicians.The govt cant make laws except it goes thro ...

• Clement 10 years ago

I also agree that the 4 year tenure of office shuold be revise to increase.