You are here: HomeNews2013 07 13Article 279415

SC challenged over “contemptuous letters”

Read Comments Comments (103)

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

NPP HAS LOST ALREADY.
    BUSIA WAS A USELESS PM, BUT KUFUOR BEAT HIM BY BEING EVEN MORE USELESS THAN BUSIA. ASIDE FROM BEING THE THIEF OF ALL THIEVES AS PRESIDENT, KUFUOR ORCHESTRATED THE MURDER OF INNOCENT GHANAIANS UNDER THE ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV & TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, UNDER 20 FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, UNDER 20 FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• PAA 10 years ago

Thieves. What npp are looking for is to come to power to loot the nation's resources. Now where is the npp communication team? No more useless responses. Npp thinks Ghanaians have soon forgotten when they were stealing gold, ...

• THE 9 SUPREME COURT IDIOTS 10 years ago

THOSE 9 SUPREME COURT STUPID FOOL JUDGES WANT TO SIT ON THE DEMOCRATIC RIGHTS OF THE GHANAIAN PEOPLE. ATUGUBA IS AN AUTOCRATIC IDIOT.

• Pompy 10 years ago

Asare or whatever your name is; The Supreme court is the highest court of the land. Most of the panels have moved from lower courts, courts of appeal, high courts, all the way to the Supreme Court.

They are not there by mi ...

• Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

Ghanaians, Ashantis+rats and flies.

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

EVIL BUSIA achievements:
    1. ACO: (which discriminated against fellow Africans, mostly Nigerians. He robbed them of their human rights, stole their properties and VIOLENTLY DEPORTED them to Nigeria).
    2' He succeeded in c ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

DR. PAA KWESI NDUOM “I saw many “forgotten” communities with no drinking water, no real schools, no electricity, no jobs, with very little to live for. I resolved that win or lose, I would spend my time trying to help s ...

• Emmanuel 10 years ago

your comment proves that you are ignorant,so if you have nothing to contribute,don't contribute here.

• They Say They Say 10 years ago

SC judge summed it up, that it's technically wrong to write to court about a case which is being decided on. This is simple to understand by people who have brains and not people who just chewed and poured to pass their exams ...

• TROKOSI USING MAHA 10 years ago

My question to Mr. NANA IS USING BAWUMIA IS, why after making this "KOBORLOR" statement, followed it up with series of GTV-TV3 Trokosi comedies and end up as the greatest pretender on the forum to be an NPPIAN ?

• osei kingsley, lagos 10 years ago

WITH YOUR LEFT HAND YOU ARE POINTING TO YOUR COUNTRY TO IDENTIFY IT TO OUTSIDERS,HOW DO YOU FEEL ?SO IT IS THE LEARNED JUDGES OF ANOTHER COUNTRY THAT ARE WISE AND NOT FOOLS? WHAT KIND OF EDUCATION DID YOU AQUIRE?DEFINATELY ...

• HELL FIRE 10 years ago

i WILL NOT WRITE ANY COMMENT ON THIS. I WILL LEAVE THIS FOR GHANAIANS TO DECIDE.

• HELL FIRE 10 years ago

WAS BUSIA WORSE THAN MILLS AND MAHAMA?

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Juries are sequestrated so they are not influenced

• ALHAJI MOHAMMED GERMANY 10 years ago

I DONT KNOW WHO YOU ARE ;BUT SURELY YOU ARE AROUND AT MY OWN AGE ::IM ALMOST 60::I TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU MY DEAR ONE::SOMEBODY AT OUR AGE KNOWS MUCH BETTER OF THE PAST::THE YOUNG ONES KNOW NOTHING::ONLY COMMENTING STUPID THI ...

• A cool guy 10 years ago

Your areticle you have wriiting is different from the above topic. Ithink you are a mentaly retaded person

• conny 10 years ago

Who ever you are should learn respect from your elders. You could have contributed without insults. Kuffour did not kill Ya Naa, if we were looking for killers, i think you should have first of all clear the log from your eye ...

• Appiah Kubi 10 years ago

You HAVE LOST YOUR COMMON SENSE BECAUSE OF MERE POLITICS

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

accounting?

• william 10 years ago

What is it exactly this university teacher is trying to say. In expressing his personal opinion he fails to explain!Does he understand what the court said?Well he is entitled to his opinion which he seems'understands' better ...

SC IS NOT WHERE ANYBODY CAN JUST WRITE TO.YOU GO THERE TO REGISTER YOUR GRIEVANCES FOR YOUR CASE TO BE TREATED BY THE RULE OF LAW. SC IS LIKEND TO A KING.ONE CANT JUST QUESTION THE AUTHORITY OF THE KING IN PUBLIC TO THE HEA ...

• Daniel Dwumoh 10 years ago

If so, then I don't think the Akan will stand aside for the Pepe to be... KWAAKWAAKWAAKWAAAA !

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

Tweaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, do you think the SC is liken to the old time Asantehene's court? Every citizen of the country has the right to express his/her opinion on any case but not to doing so in the court room where the case is ...

• HolyGhost 10 years ago

Professor of stupidity and ignorance.

Professor of Law. Why can't you read, or you are BLIND.

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

KUFUOR MUST BE JAILED FOR KILLING YA NAA.
    BUSIA WAS A USELESS PM, BUT KUFUOR BEAT HIM BY BEING EVEN MORE USELESS THAN BUSIA. ASIDE FROM BEING THE THIEF OF ALL THIEVES AS PRESIDENT, KUFUOR ORCHESTRATED THE MURDER OF INNOCENT ...

TO PUT SUCH A CASE OF MURDER TO YOUR SELF IN THIS MANNER IS UNFAIR AND MAKES YOU SOUND SOMETHING SOMEWHAT OF BEING UNPROFFESSIONAL.GHANA HAS COME A LONG WAY WE CANT AFFORD TO DISCONNECT OURSELVES FROM REALITY ASSOCCIETED WITH ...

• Daniel Dwumoh 10 years ago

That's why no dissent Ghanaian will allow this NAKED STEALING, which proves that we have come from the SHORT CUT, disconnecting ourselves from reality associated with DEMOCRATIC PRICIPLES to stand.

You are telling us about Kufour and the killing of Yana and his people.What about your Idol the despot and murderer JJ Rawlings and Kojo Tsikata and his Ewe conspirators who slaughtered thousands of fellow citizens without an ...

• Moses 10 years ago

why are you wasting your energy on a mentally retarded minion?

• Dannybee 10 years ago

When Ken Kuanchie was summoned before the Supreme Court he feigned ignorance of the law guiding proceedings in the court. Now William Atuguba has set out the parameters guiding proceedings yet a law professor is criticizing i ...

• Unknown 10 years ago

So u mean u know better than the professor?

• Kwaku Gloenawo 10 years ago

Letter writing to a court on a matter before it is contemptuous. Your professorship does not confer absolute knowledge on you. If you say something to me and I find it offensive, you apologise. You do not go on that you don't ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

He is a professor (university teacher) in accounting. He just got a law degree about 5 years ago and has NEVER practiced even once in his life as a lawyer.

Give us a break with this chest beating nonsense. When did kwaku A ...

• AGYEMANG MANU 10 years ago

Stephen Kwaku Asare
    KPMG Term Professor
    Fisher School of Accounting
    Warrington College of Business Administration
    University of Florida
    319 Gerson Hall; BOX 117166
    Gainesville, Florida 32611-7160
    Office: (352) 273-0209 ...

• scarecrow 10 years ago

So then,is he a law professor or accounting professor"adanko digs to find out"

• Peter 10 years ago

This thief who calls himself prof of law thinks he can cheat Ghanaians. when did he publish in law and which institution appointed him a prof of law? Another Nana Addo (fake lawyer/prof). Give us a break!

• Clarence Hedzolleh 10 years ago

What a stupidly ridiculous assertion!!! Law professor indeed!!! This guy should not mislead anybody. Utter rubbish!!!

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

Kwaku, the headline of your article and some of your arguments are right but please, put it in the right context. You do not want to make us believe that the Supreme court is saying that no body can write to it? does it not d ...

• Kwaku Gloenawo 10 years ago

Paul I think you are confusing me with someone else. I have not been on this page for a while now but to address your issue about letters, what is the intent of the writer? Presumably to bring his or her opinion or knowledge ...

• Samuel 10 years ago

going to the court to make known your opinions and writing letters to the court about an opinion, what is the difference? I think it's even more convenient to write letters to the court than appearing phisically in open court ...

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

Sorry for the wrong posting Kweku. Please accept my sincerest apologies.

• Kojo! 10 years ago

Only an otwibini eater would behave the way kwaku azar does.

• Pompy 10 years ago

Paul, Onl sensible people will appreciate what you just presented. KKeep it up

• Kojo 10 years ago

Ghanaians like insulting people. Ghanaians cannot hold intelligent debates without resorting to invectives. But who can blame them? Their educational system never afforded them the chance to challenge issues and use reason. ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

I can understand why you don't want to deal with those who can debate squarely with you. But I could care less, I just want to let the truth out on this particular issue- you are the one who is misleading people here

Let's ...

• arafat 10 years ago

then the election petition hearing must be transfer to india.we are in ghana now.

• Kwame Ninson 10 years ago

If we have people who think like you, Ghana's democracy will never thrive. I bet you don't believe in comparative analysis of jurisprudence. Oh mother Ghana, we're doomed!

• Mawuli 10 years ago

It is a pity that many Ghanaians have a narrow mindset.There is a saying that "travel and see". With this can of mindset, can we ever develop our country? We can not even question our rulers because they have become tin-gods. ...

• Natanyahu 10 years ago

Your name reminds me of how stupid and foolish you Arabs are. You couldn't negotiate peace the whole of your life till you died miserably.

• Opanin 10 years ago

Thanks to bing, yahoo and google all of us can learn the meaning of contempt in court. No longer do we live in a world where someone can pretend to be educating us when in fact he is pulling wool over our eyes.
    This is tru ...

• Mawuli 10 years ago

Here in the US there are a lot of people who have medical degrees and law degrees too. There a lot of engineers who also have law degrees. Some of practice in either field or both. Ndebugree first got a chemical engineering d ...

• Peter 10 years ago

Mawuli,you are a fool. . Nobody is saying that one can't have more than one profession. You think of Osafo Marfo, Moses Asaga, Joseph yilechere, Iddrisu Haruna, just to mention a few. In this case Prof Asare is a professor o ...

• Mawuli 10 years ago

Peter, for God's sake could you comment without the insults? The insults make you look bestial. We can debate issues without the loud mouth insults. Do you have any proof that Prof Asare is an accounting Prof instead of being ...

• TP 10 years ago

Condoleeza Rice - yes. Susan Rice - No

Bill Clinton - JD and here is the US JD's are not addressed as Dr.

• ZONGO PRESIDENT 10 years ago

ATUGUBA ACTING LIKE NDC MEMBER , HE NEED TO STOP THE INTIMIDATION......BE JUDGE NOT DICTATOR ATUGUBA.........

• bawieseh I. abdulrazak 10 years ago

I wonder which vilage u were born, pls learn to be wise , at least 2% of home wisdom and u will be betterof.

• Michael 10 years ago

Dear Professor,
    It is not anybody's business to 'write to the SC to bring their attention to certain issues of importance concerning a pending case. That does not happen in any jurisdiction. It is the business of counsel on ...

• KOKONSA 10 years ago

You have displayed the complete folly of the Ghanaian. Left to you alone, fact is what your teacher says it is. In any case how many jurisdictions have you had the privilege of experience as a party to a case in court.
    Be ...

• Michael 10 years ago

I leave you to pontificate on your superior knowledge of the law. However, read your own piece again, especially the poiht about Amekudzi. Did he write to the judges, or he made himself a party to be heard by DUE PROCESS? The ...

• KOKONSA 10 years ago

Read the piece again and let someone explain to you the point about INFORMED OPINIONS!!!!!!.
    It pains me but I have to admit that the level of appreciation of simple issues in my beloved Ghana is just abysmal and indicative ...

• Pompy 10 years ago

What is he trying to achieve by skewing everything the Justices say and reading meanings OUT OF CONTEXT.

Why do u want us to believe the Judges were talking about "mere" letters? You have no idea what kind of letters the J ...

• KOKONSA 10 years ago

Mind you, appointments are made by the executive and in our part of the world you can be sure that mediocrity will be smuggled through.

• AGYEMANG MANU 10 years ago

There is a reason why this man is called Kwaku Azaa. His real name is Stephen Kwaku Asare.

He isn't a lawyer professor, He is an Accounting professor who also happened to have passed the bar exams.

Check the background ...

• JAMES ACQUAH 10 years ago

MIGHT DEPEND ON THE CONTENT OF THE LETTER.

• CONCERNED GHANAIAN 10 years ago

Kwaku Asare,why are you making a big Ass of yourself like this? Is it attention that you want or what? Do you know the particular letter the president is talking about? You are a verystupid foolish amn without equal! You are ...

• A. Nyamaa 10 years ago

Did Atugubah tell you what context the letters were in?

I beg your pardon but Kwaku Asare is anything but an idiot. You obviously disagree with him but does that make him an idiot?
    Cant's we have civilised political disco ...

• OBJECTIVE 10 years ago

Proff. Gud day. We cant be copying the system of any country because that is what suits them. May be their people are disciplined and will be decorous in handling the rule in that state. Over here peole turn to abuse every li ...

• SolJa 10 years ago

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahhahahahahhahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahhaha

• Ali, Toronto 10 years ago

The public don't write to the courts and the courts don't as a matter of common practice interact with the public. The courts deal with parties in a case brought before the courts. If a member of the public has evidence to pr ...

• Nii Tsoikor 10 years ago

Nobody knows where he teaches at.

• sam locco 10 years ago

where is tha freedom and justice atubiga

• Ghana 10 years ago

I don't it takes some academic knowledge to aquire a law degree in Ghana it's if you be shielded by friends and family members.
    You don't need a lawyer to tell you that, writing to judges means you want to influence them.

• Ghana 10 years ago

I don't think it takes some academic knowledge to aquire a law degree in Ghana. It's if you can be shielded by friends and family members.
    You don't need a lawyer to tell you that, writing to judges means you want to influen ...

• Samuel 10 years ago

a word to the wise is......

• awudu 10 years ago

sc must fast track election case 4 mother ghana

• burgah(USA BRONX) 10 years ago

If the public can write to SC they should rather go and sit a case in the sc

• Fos of Ct US 10 years ago

Can that self appointed Law professor cited any article our constitution to back his claim.this novice NPP scoless should leave as alone.I challenge this weak professor to mention one of his student that had gone to the rank ...

• vhigri wagadugu 10 years ago

His decisions are too queer.

• Donboli 10 years ago

Atuguba forgets easily and I wander if he can recall all what Afari Gyan did say about errors in the elections.
    If Afari Gyan who is the commissioner and incharge of the election say there were errors what is the supreme cou ...

• Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

Atuguba, you are bias and selective. Please charge me with contempt.Kwasea!

• Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

YOU ARE GOING TO PRISON VERY SOON, IN SHA ALLAH.

• Pompy 10 years ago

The Supreme court is the highest court of the land. Most of the panels have moved from lower courts, courts of appeal, high courts, all the way to the Supreme Court. They are not there by mistake. I'll side with any decision ...

• Kwame, Accra 10 years ago

Well said Prof. Asare. Judicial service in the country is abusing their powers. If we've agreed the system of democracy, what is the meaning of Comptemptous and its threaten arena. Judges are now ashamed for their bribes befo ...

• Lordson J Koto 10 years ago

Writing to the court can be accepted only when this one sided miscreants stop their partisan influence on the election petition hearing. I agree with the judges the letters under consideration to them over the election petiti ...

• Kwaku, Ksi 10 years ago

what is Law in its content? Law is life in divine sense of intepretation. It is also a mere common-sense originated from GOD and not Man. Judges are finding themselves of puckish in the sense of bribe for favors. GOD is the f ...

• ASARE UK 10 years ago

samooo,prof come home and stop that nonsense.

• Angela Smith 10 years ago

This so-called Judge Atuguba man should pack his robes and go home! What an autocratic man?

• common sense 10 years ago

Do you think you are the only Ghanaian law professor? Wasua atra. Impart something better and stop being pious than the pope foolish professor

• NANAAAAA..ADDOOO 10 years ago

NPP PROFESSOR...AS FOOLISH AS NANA

• JAKE 10 years ago

LOOK AT ALL THESE FOOLS,HE DOESNT EVEN KNOW WHAT HE IS SAYING...IT IS CONTMPTEOUS OOOOOTOM

• TP 10 years ago

How do you remove a president that has been sworn in? The flaw I see is the petition issue should have be resolved prior to the swearing in of the president… that is the date called for swearing-in of the president by the c ...

• Zegbete 10 years ago

Nonsense. Ghana is not India and each country has its own constitution provided it is agreed by the majority of votes in parliament. Otherwise, I will humbly ask Prof that from his view, must Ghana instantly agree to all west ...

• Kwame Ninson 10 years ago

Are you serious? Oh mother Ghana!

• Justman 10 years ago

THERE IS NOTHING WRONG ABOUT MAKING SENSIBLE CONTRIBUTION THROUGH WRITING OF LETTERS TO THE COURT.BUT IF YOU BEGAN TO MAKE IRRESPONSIBLE, BIAS, UNTRUE, LIBELLIOUS STATEMENS IN YOUR WRITING YOU HAVE TO BE GIVEN THE APPROPRIATE ...

• Ato 10 years ago

Leave the SC alone to do the peoples work

• ABOTSI 10 years ago

NDC IS AN ABSOLUTE FAILURE

• Nana 10 years ago

Atuguba is a fool

• Atomo 10 years ago

You are a BUFOON , an idiot, a lazy night soil carrier, a goat thief. You father is an ass hole for fucking your mother. Your mothers smelling vag... Brought you into the world.