That the police is corrupt is under-statement. These men and women in black are simply evil.
Erico B. 12 years ago
Why are we even wasting our time on these criminals in uniforms. Who is the interior minister? Kwesi Ahwoi and who is he? The most corrupt politician in Ghana but Mahama still appointed him as an interior minister to the most corrupt department and institution in the country. The igp and Kwesi ahwoi recently traveled outside ghana when the police headquarters was raided by thieves to go and buy equipments for the Ghana police knowing very well that equipments don't call for respect and dignity but they still went ahead to do so all because they were anxious to steal part of the 1.9 billion dollars invested in the Ghana police for their five year strategic plan. When will these things change? The police need training and not equipments so our president must get himself involved quick. God bless Ghana
HHMMMNNN. 12 years ago
EVERY POLICEMAN IN GHANA KNOWS THAT HE OR SHE IS CORRUPT.GHANA POLICE IS NOW AN INSTITUTION. WHERE CORRUPTION IS A SUBJECT TAUGHT. IT'S PART OF THEM. THEY EAT IT, THEY SMELL IT, THEY SLEEP WITH IT, THEY WALK WITH IT, THEY LAUGH WITH IT AND WHAT HAVE YOU?
Frank Agyena-Karikari 12 years ago
Who and what institution is not corrupt in Ghana? Corruption has eaten into the very fabric of every Ghanaian. Even Rawlings who claim to come to put an end to corruption ended up being corrupt with his wife and appointees. Don't worry, let us CUT EACH OTHER.
insight to the bone 12 years ago
pepeni has taken a few good but woefully incompetent men. so this ndc with all these people and their doctorate degrees , decades of experience and not being new to the business of running a nation could only find a chartered accountant with polytechnic to run the sophisticated affairs of finance and economic planning? the country i agree can never be broke but is only heavily in debt with no future or chance of development due to the chinese. this krobo minister is only trying to balance the books and lacks courage , mental acumen and deep understanding to make the bold decisions required in these challenging times . they are only thieves who are bold and fool hardy courageous when it comes to stealing or looting but to do something good is an abomination to their nature . these are the king of people who if are on your team will make sure you miserably fail not because they plan it but because their burdened in the dark ignorant hearts by their own selfishness . pepeni thinks we blindly hate him but we say we actually see him for what he really is and that is a CAPITAL FOOL who never do anything good for himself to less of the welfare of the ordinary man. pepeni is entrapped by his own self surrounded by incompetence and tribal amateurs who think that by selling us propaganda , ideology and lies they can get by . we say their days are numbered and soon their blood will flow . his friend pepeni the idiot presiding judge will be one of the first punished for their arrogance. God has blinded them from seeing the way forward so we can one day wipe them out from the face of this earth , long live the republic of Akan
Nigerians Are Cursed People 12 years ago
UNITED NATIONS COMPENSATION UNIT IN AFFILIATION WITH WORLD BANK
Hide Details
From
• MR BAN KI-MOON
•
To
UNITED NATIONS COMPENSATION IN CONJUNCTION WITH FEDERAL GOVERNMENT OF NIGERIA
IN AFFILIATION ... read full comment
Hide Details
From
• MR BAN KI-MOON
•
To
IN AFFILIATION WITH NIGERIAN CENTRAL BANK.
ATTN: Beneficiary,
Hope all is well with you and Your family?, you may not understand why this mail came to you. In regards to the recent meeting between the United Nations and the Present United States Government to restore the dignity and Economy of the Nations,Base on the Agreement with the World Bank Assistance to help and make the world a better place for all with the sole aim of abolishing poverty. We have been having a meeting for the passed 7 months which ended 2 days ago.
The National Central Bureau of Interpol enhanced by the United Nations and Federal Bureau of Investigation have successfully passed a mandate to the current president of Nigeria his Excellency President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan to boost the exercise of clearing all foreign debts owed to Foriegners and Compensate all that have lost their hard earned money to the Nigeria Fraudsters.
This email is to all the people that have been scammed in any part of the world, the UNITED NATIONS have agreed to compensate them with the sum of US$8,500,000 ( Eight Million Five Hundred United State Dollars) This includes every foreign contractors that may have not received their contract sum, and people that have had an unfinished transaction or international businesses that failed due to Government problems,Contracts Sum, Lottery/Gambling etc.Your name and email was in the list submitted by our Monitoring Teams of Economic and Financial Crime Commission (EFCC) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) observers and this is why we are contacting you, this have been agreed upon and have been signed.
You are advised to contact Pastor Henry Green, as he is our representative in Nigeria contact him immediately for your CHEQUE worth the total sum of US$8,500,000 ( Eight Million Five Hundred United State Dollars) This funds are in DRAFT Form for security purpose ok? So he will send it to you via DHL courier company and you can clear the CHEQUE in any bank of your choice in your country.
Contact Him immediately for your cheque Delivery with the following informations.
1. Full name:
CASTL E BOY 12 years ago
TEMA COMMUNUTY 8 POLICE HEADED BY STATION MASTER ESSEL IS LEADING IN CURRUPTION AT TEMA.BEFORE A BAIL IS GRANTED ESSEL COLLECTS NOT LESS THAN GHS150.
Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 12 years ago
I heard people recounting their experiences of paying bribes to police officers and other public officials on radio today. Some of them even admitted to offering the bribes without being asked to in order to avoid further action. For me, the giver and the taker are equally guilty and until the givers refuse to pay bribes and instead, report those who ask for bribes, all the talk about fighting corruption would be in vain.
GHANABA 12 years ago
JOHN DUMSOR MAHAMA IS THE NUMBER 1 CORRUPT PERSON IN THE ENTIRE COUNTRY OF GHANA.
Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 12 years ago
What do you expect from NDC Police, Transparency International ?
A national institution which has been 'pumped up' with only NDC foolsoldiers can never allow any other institution to surpass it in corruption.
When steal ... read full comment
A national institution which has been 'pumped up' with only NDC foolsoldiers can never allow any other institution to surpass it in corruption.
When stealers steal their way to power and make stealing a profession, only a corrupt Police service will aid and connive with them in their criminal acts, so the NDC govt needs a corrupt police force to help them get away with their loot.
Kojo 12 years ago
In Ghana do we have NDC police and NPP police?
Jack 12 years ago
In Ghana, when we say NPP police it means good police, but when we say NDC police your guess is as good as mine!
Teacher 12 years ago
NEVER IN THE HISTORY OF GHANA POLICE (AFTER INDEPENDENCE) HAS GHANA POLICE BEHAVED AS POLICEMEN. I AM SORRY FOR THOSE WHO WERE BORN AFTER INDEPENDENCE. THOSE HAVE NEVER SEEN POLICEMEN IN GHANA, BUT THOSE OF US WHO WERE BORN BEFORE INDEPENDENCE SAW WHAT A POLICEMAN WAS. THOSE WITH RED BANDS AROUND WAISTS WERE THE REAL POLICEMEN. COLONIAL POLICE, YES, THEY WERE THE REAL POLICEMEN. THEY WERE PREPARED TO DIE FOR THEIR JOB. REMEMEMBER SGT. ADJETEY AND THE REST. THE WORDS "BRIBE & CORRUPTION WERE NOT OUR LANGUAGE. THOSE WERE THE DAYS OF JUSTICE.I DON'T THINK GHANA WILL EVER SEE A
"POLICEMAN" TILL THE WORD ENDS. IT HAS BEEN "VERY" WOSRT UNDER THE P/NDC GOVERNMENT.
kofi 12 years ago
The public especially drivers must be prepared to face court trial and stop giving bribes to police and corruption in police will be thing of the past. NB corruption involves the giver and the receiver so the public must stop giving
WILLIAM 12 years ago
Both parties have recruited police officers when in government1 But I finf it difficult to understand why the Police is considered the most corrupt. Look at the huge monies swallowed by public officers, are they policemen? Because travelers see police receive small change from drivers they are the most corrupt! No, I beg to disagree! Even in the area of waste which is common in the public sector, the Police comes nowhere near the top wasters of public funds!Anyway, the report says public perception and the Police PR system needs to address that.Everybody will deal with the police one way or the other. But other public institutions are not dealt with in so many ways and by almost everybody!
Gonzaga 12 years ago
EVERYBODY IN GHANA IS CORRUPT: from the president to the clerk. Custom officials to Police. Bank Managers or CEO's to pension officers. Who is clean in Ghana? NOBODY! so give us a break.
Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 12 years ago
Yes, we have NDC Police, but no NPP Police, my stepson.
That is why we are having a very high crime rate in the country, my stepson.
Nicholas J Bedzo 12 years ago
Jail them with no mercy.
Nicholas J Bedzo 12 years ago
Nobody is clean, the salary wise poor
to feed the House,we want more, a
clerical officer with five children
fancy that.
fancy that.
Old Dirty Bastard 12 years ago
They were hired by Kuffour
Sun of Dieu 12 years ago
Boss this no be NDC matter. This rot has been since Nkrumah's time. But it can be dealt with and we have a part to play. Lets stop politicising everything in this country.
kofi yesu 12 years ago
A country with above listed names as corrupt is a collapse one.
Remove Indemnity Clause 12 years ago
Blame drivers who ail to adhere to simple principles which pave way for corruption.Police stopped me last year when I was driving with DVA tag.I had all my papers but the police officer told me I did not have a fire extinguisher. I checked the police car and they did not have a fire extinguisher.What a country.
krikri 12 years ago
I envy the Ghana Police - for 3 consecutive years THEY HAVE WON THE UNEVIABLE TITLE OF MOST CORRUPT oganisation in this country. Regrettably, they see their corrupt practices as 'normal' so they take bribes without any shame.The 2nd organisation is PARLIAMENT. It is full of SERIOUS bribe takers who clasify such bribes as 'BIG FISH'
GREAT NANA ANTWI 12 years ago
ARE YOU IN NEED OF FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO greatnanapowerfullspiritualist blogspot com
SULE 12 years ago
All the indices of good governance are all trending downwards, with corruption which is personally spearheaded from the flagstaff house, making a serious break for the finish line of retrogressive governance. This John Mahama administration is undoubtedly the most corrupt, the most fraudulent, the most incompetent, the most inept, the most visionless, and the most mediocre team ever, to assume the reins of governance in the country and that's is a clear, undisputed fact.
mamuna t totobisa 12 years ago
@ SULE....not SAULA
Do you mean to say that instead of the Drive gear, Prez Mahama has engaged the Reverse gear and is heading backwards? Oh Ghana, this is sad! May be Mahama doesn't know how to revert to the Drive gear so s ... read full comment
@ SULE....not SAULA
Do you mean to say that instead of the Drive gear, Prez Mahama has engaged the Reverse gear and is heading backwards? Oh Ghana, this is sad! May be Mahama doesn't know how to revert to the Drive gear so somebody ought to TEACH him, or he's (and his cronies) one of those whose philosophies is "you can't teach an old dog new tricks". Somebody help put him in the Drive gear so the country can move forward, pls!
HAHAHAHAHAHA UNDISPUTED 12 years ago
HAHAHA THEY ARE UNDISPUTED
George 12 years ago
Hahahahahahahahahahaha! Thank you Jesus! Meaning I can be a prophet. I have always said this on Ghana web but nobody will listen to me and even begged the president to listen. Fire the igp and get in specialist to come to Ghana to train the police period. This igp is a selfish arrogant bastard who has no clue about policing job. He has never been a field police but a desk officer so why on hell should we put such a position in his Hands. It's not about equipping the police but how trained and disciplined they are. I pity my country with what's happening. Ghana can never move forward without a good police service. God save Ghana.
Agyaaku 12 years ago
Do the vagabonds in power care as to the type of Police the country has? All they care is chop, chop, with the chief vagabond the "chop all".
Ghana has the type of Police the people are. Corruption which stinks to the high h ... read full comment
Do the vagabonds in power care as to the type of Police the country has? All they care is chop, chop, with the chief vagabond the "chop all".
Ghana has the type of Police the people are. Corruption which stinks to the high heavens. God have mercy on the country.
Albert 12 years ago
If you care, what have you to offer as a suggestion about it?
THE LONE PROPHET OF JEHOVAH 12 years ago
I think Ghana Police Service is cursed especially the CIP police officers at HQ.They cover up crimes by taking bribe from the criminals and set them free.They also use the attorney general's office to scare Ghanaians away from pursuing their cases.Corruption is their DNA full stop.
USMAN 12 years ago
The police service is supervised by our useless university graduates and so what do you expect?
Time will Tell 12 years ago
NPP introduced institutional corruption. Kufuor went on a looting spree and the other government and party functionaries followed without let or hindrance. SO NPP SUT UP!!!!!
Suhum-Nsawam 12 years ago
“The police administration needs to find out why they continuously occupy the top position,”
Seriously? In which country does this person live. Anybody who drives on the streets of Ghana has experienced police corrupti ... read full comment
“The police administration needs to find out why they continuously occupy the top position,”
Seriously? In which country does this person live. Anybody who drives on the streets of Ghana has experienced police corruption.
princewilly@ymail.com 12 years ago
A police officer stopped a motorist who was speeding down Main Street.
"But officer," the man began, "I can explain."
"Just be quiet," snapped the officer. "if you don't give me $2000,I'm going to let you cool your heels in jail until the chief gets back ."
"But, officer, I just wanted to say," "And I said to keep quiet! You're going to jail!"
A few hours later the officer looked in on his prisoner and said, "Lucky for you that the chief's at his daughter's wedding... He'll be in a good mood when he gets back."
"Don't count on it," answered the fellow in the cell. "I'm the groom."
Jt. Us 12 years ago
Wait Gh media would soon follow. Watch out .
Albert 12 years ago
Stop including the police service in your survey. This is because they are already known for that and will forever remain most corrupt public organization. It is like a family heredity.
Michael 12 years ago
I think DVLA tops corruption in Ghana
JUNGLE 12 years ago
AS MUCH AS I WONT HOLD BRIEF D=FOR THE POLICE I WANT TO SAY THAT THE WHOLE SOCIETY IS STINKINGLY CORRUPT FROM HEAD TO TOE. WE ALL NEED A CHANGE OF ATTITUDE. SELFISHNESS AND GREED HAS SOAKED THE WHOLE FABRIC OF THE GHANAIAN SOCIETY. CORRUPTION IN THE POLICE SERVICE IS ONLY THE TIP OF THE ICEBERG. GO BEYOND THE POLICE AND YOU WILL DISCOVER THE REAL CORRUPTION THAT IS STALLING DEVELOPMENT IN GHANA.
Hey! 12 years ago
Jungle, shut up your dirty mouth u idiot. Is it the police that is suppose to change its ways or we the civilians have to. We are learning from them of course so go to church and preach your nonsense cuz nobody is interested u fool.
Frank Agyena-Karikari 12 years ago
But who bribe the police?
Sun of Dieu 12 years ago
Trodo. I agree with you hundred percent
NEVER MIND 12 years ago
ask motorists and they will tell you how the speed level detection device have become a gold mine for the police.for corrupt motives, they hide at the outskirt of towns and villages and arrest you for over-speeding in town even before you enter the town.what a shame?
Adama d'Gharty, 12 years ago
There is no doubt that Ghana Police Service is top of "Corruption Listed-Institutions" in the country, you don't even need to be a brilliant mathematician to deduce that. The collection of 1Ghcs from bribing drivers using unroad-worthy vehicles on the daily "road-side blocks" alone adds up to qualify the under-paid, and much less useful Ghana police as a corrupt institution. There is no citizen in Ghana who can claim not to have suffered by the actions of corrupt Ghana police service on daily basis.
Jonny 12 years ago
If the police is so currupt why were they thinking about the police collecting on the spot fines
lol 12 years ago
LOL
LOL
Louis 12 years ago
This is a notorious fact about the Ghana Police Service. It is a shame. The government MUST do something very, very urgent about the level of corruption in the Ghana Police service. It seems like corruption in the service is lawful. Government must institute measures to stop or reduce corruption in the service. My advise is, Government should contact Rwandan government and it would be educated on the method used in stamping out corruption in Rwanda. Let me say again our government is weak.
NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 12 years ago
I THINK THE POLICE ARE JUST BEING TARGETED AND MADE SCAPEGOATS BY SUCH RESEARCH EXERCISES. THE POLICE ARE EASY PREY FOR THE GII OR TI. REMEMBER THE THAT THE POLICE ARE ONE OF THE WORST PAID INSTITUTIONS IN GHANA, SO THEY ARE JUST TRYING TO SURVIVE. THE BIGGER CORRUPTERS ARE THE PARLIAMENTARIANS AND MINISTERS IN ALL PAST GOVERNMENTS.
NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 12 years ago
Even the GII is also corrupt. I know that for sure, 100%. Talk is cheap.
Oh mother Ghana 12 years ago
This igp is very weak and an example of a weak leader. All this man does is to lip service Ghanaians with the help of the media. He's just incompetent and must be fired cus he's not an example of a good leader. How can we tolerate such nonsense and who said the police salary is less? The police have the best salary compared to the military so what the hell are they talking about. They are just corrupt and that's what it is and they lack training as well. Fuck Ghana police. Lip serving igp must be fired.
solomon 12 years ago
As for police they rely only on their 15th century "akaked" and old fashion, crude ways of doing their stupid and barbaric ways of taking money from poor Ghanians who find them self into their grip. I guess the newly appointed IGP should look into those unprofessional behaviors and reduce its occurrences in order to restore it dented image
Ayambiri 12 years ago
Solomon, isn't the igp the Worst of all? Did the igp paid u to come and comment on his behalf? Foolish fool. Do u understand that this igp is incompetent and has no knowledge about police grounds work but rather desk work. He's not considered a police officer in the UK and the U.S but he's still the IGP here in Ghana. Where is Ghana heading to? Is Mahama really serious at all or what. This igp must go and I support all those that wants him fired. Ghana only deserves the best and not things.
solomon 12 years ago
Ayambiri, I support your assertion but some of the time we must hope for the better as a typical Ghana-man. but to be honest if the Man is not competent and cannot make informed decisions then we are doomed. If you visit any of our police stations, it will surprise you a the so called officers unprofessional character. They inspectors does not feel ashamed to take the bribe in public. I visited on of the busiest station and I said my word God should have mercy upon us. Most of the police officers have their daily susu books by themselves and they know that someone will definitely come and make payment. In other-words their susu daily payments are coming from those people who are innocent and want to cause frustration. I know some family who because of those chop chop the entire family want t join police because of BRIBE OH God have mercy on US GHANA
Ayambiri 12 years ago
Hahahahahahahahaha! I'm sorry for my harsh words brother Solomon cuz I was angry knowing how evil these officers are especially the current igp. The current igp doesn't take advise and feels he can do everything by himself. Do u think an experienced igp will be on the ground with other officers to operate? These are the things we should be thinking about and I will suggest the president brings inn specialists from the western to help our weak corrupt officers cuz that's the only solution brother. We can't do anything by ourselves as Ghanaians and its a fact bro. Do u know this igp only believes in traveling and spending money in the name of buying equipments for the police. Fire burn this igp cuz he's wicked and a dream killer. He must be fired period.
hen 12 years ago
yooo so after dis investigation what is the next step, pls advise the gov't for me, GPS is killing us especially those of us in Takoradi
Kofi A , Suhum Gh. 12 years ago
How can one say , that is normal ? This is sad
Kofi Ackah 12 years ago
Who needs a report to know that the police service is the most corrupt institution in Ghana? You see it everywhere.
OMANBA 12 years ago
What about CEPS? Or you forgot it?It is on the same level as the police.
Kojo 12 years ago
Unbelievably,the Daily Graphic, Ghana's most widely read newspaper is very corrupt.
Shockingly, quite a number of the reporters and editors take bribes before a story is published. If you don't pay much money, the story i ... read full comment
Unbelievably,the Daily Graphic, Ghana's most widely read newspaper is very corrupt.
Shockingly, quite a number of the reporters and editors take bribes before a story is published. If you don't pay much money, the story is thrown into the trash.
Many good articles are thrown deliberately covered. Today, the public cannot criticise public officials because all the editors are government appointees who cover up stories against the ruling government.
Kk3 12 years ago
Why is anyone surprised?
Asembebadabi,Tema 12 years ago
After failing to discredit the Judiciary the attention has now been shifted to the Police. This time around you will fail disgracefully. If your intention is to let Ghanaians lose confidence in both the former and the latter to course mayhem after the Supreme Court verdict then rethink the Security Services will deal with you ruthlessly - TRY IT!
Kofi Mensa 12 years ago
Below is a note I sent to "Transparency International" Please send in your comments.
Once again, you have published the results of your "Global Corruption Barometer". And news organizations are using your "Barometer" as ... read full comment
Below is a note I sent to "Transparency International" Please send in your comments.
Once again, you have published the results of your "Global Corruption Barometer". And news organizations are using your "Barometer" as yet another issue with which to taint Africa.
I hope that you know about the bias against certain countries in your definition of "corruption". Given the way you define "corruption", African countries, for example, will always score high in your corruption measure. This is partly because African countries have not as yet formalized and institutionalized bribery in their political infrastructures.
Let me give you just one example. In most African countries, prosecutors and judges are appointed by the government in power. In Michigan, the state where I live in the United States, judges and prosecutors are elected in some localities. In an African country, people who wish to impact the outcome of a court case will attempt to directly bribe the judge or the prosecutor. In Michigan, people who wish to impact the outcome of a court case will bribe the judge and/or the prosecutor by contributing handsomely to the election campaign of the candidate most likely to win. And at most local levels, the winner is very obvious long before an election. This is because even though it is claimed that the election of judges is non-partisan, we all know the party affiliations of the judges. And at the very local level, the political scene is often dominated by one party or the other.
Both bribery actions are reprehensible. But when you ask the Michiganian whether they have paid a bribe to a public official, they will answer "no" because the bribery involved in the contribution to election candidates campaigns to gain favor after the elections is so institutionalized and formalized that it is not viewed as bribery. The African, on the other hand, will answer "yes" because his payment to the judge or the prosecutor is not formalized and institutionalized bribery.
So year after year, you publish this seriously flawed measure of "corruption" and the news organizations use your "corrupt" barometer to pejoratively conclude that African countries are very corrupt. Actually, it is your definition of corruption that is "corrupt". If you include the payment of bribery in the form of campaign contributions in your definition, your bribery barometer will be much higher in the United States and other countries that practice this institutionalized bribery.
I hope that you know this bias and you are working to redefine your measures to make them less "corrupt". Otherwise, your good work is flawed and it is being used to perpetrate the prejudices that some people have against African countries. Worse, your work may discourage a non-discerning company from locating in Africa.
I suggest that you review your motives for publishing the barometer and exclude the possibility that you may inadvertently be contributing to the perpetration of this prejudice and the resulting discouragement of companies locating in Africa.
Pelicles 12 years ago
A child born yesterday knows that the Police is the most corrupt institution in Ghana. This is no news at all.
Nana Asare 12 years ago
THIS NO NEWS BUT IT IS NOW GETTING WORST.
akwasi 12 years ago
i am not surprise at all that.the police service is persived to be the most corrupt, and i think is a shame to the country as a whole, now the police beg for money from drivers, they dont care about the passengers but rather care for the 1 ghana cedis that would be put inside the drivin lincence
SERMON 12 years ago
DIVISION IS THE ONLY PROBLEM THAT GHANA AS A COUNTRY FACES,WE CAN ONLY MOVE FORWARD IF ONLY WE UNITE AS ONE,I DON'T SEE THAT HAPPENING ANY TIME SOON FOR WE BEST BE PREPARED FOR THE WORST.
ama kumi-rotterdam 12 years ago
....if any country want to develop and prosper in all walks of life,it is strongly depend on the POLICE AND THE JUDICIARY but sorry.......those systems are poorly working.poorly working indeed.here in abroad, the police are fearful equally aa lions .my god they are very ,very honest and they make sure the rule of law is in operation.BY the next ten years to come, ghanaians would become cannivals.they would start to eat human flesh publicly and the whole world would see us. 56 years has come and gone passed and we are still at the same position 56 years ago. we are not even there but rather declining.all is that the police is not policing and judiciary not taking good care of the country.
J H New York 12 years ago
This report is bogus,b'cos the police is not as corrupt as the ff:
Drivers License Office
Lands Department
Ghana Customs
Passport Office
High School Computer Placement Office
(suspect corruption breeding groun ... read full comment
Drivers License Office
Lands Department
Ghana Customs
Passport Office
(suspect corruption breeding grounds)
All the above mentioned Institutions are
automatic Corruption Bureau.
Eric 12 years ago
A gentleman who visited kasoa police station was holding phone bearing bur the name saved was Doris Gyekye with text message with text as I quote Foolish man just because a middle age gentleman a wife and kids on some trivial issues. In fact as they were there as some point the man wanted to put it across as the officer's but the issues that is an indictment to the entire police force as it demonstrate the level of disciple these so called officers have attained. This is to be read and reprimand her at Guaso police station. Feather details reveled that the issue has been sent to police HQ The man at some point said he would seek a relief through the CHIRAJ. Be professional Doris Next time
Attah Kaye, NJ, US 12 years ago
Taking a sample of 2000 people out of about 25 million people, to me, makes the sample size too small make any informed conclusions. Again, what was the status of the people interviewed? Trotro passengers and drivers, importers, taxi-drivers, government/party contractors, job seekers, applicants to universities, or what? The truth of the matter is that, each category will give different perspective. In general, however, whoever have travelled within the country for 20 or more miles within the year will have at least meet one corrupt official who is usually close to the public (the Police). As usual, before the car will even get close to the Police post, the common rhetoric "mate give me 2 cedis for the police" is heard over and over again by all passengers, before the police even demand anything. I therefore believe that, the most known institution as far is corruption is concern may be the Police, but I don't believe the most corrupt institution, in terms of the amount taken, and the harm caused to the nation because of the bribe taken will bring police anywhere near the top. let's evaluate with the quantum of amount taken, the effect on the economy, and widen the sample size, so that the true corrupt institution in the country would be known.
By the way, was the survey conducted before or after the Police's envious single-Spine salary?
God bless Ghana.
LORD SKY 12 years ago
HOPE U ARE AWARE OF STRATIFICATION & WHAT HAPPENS IF U DEALING WITH A HOMOGENEOUS POPULATION? DID YOU ALSO ASKED WHAT THEIR CONFIDENCE INTERVAL & MARGIN OF ERROR? PLS SAY SOMETHING ELSE
Sylvanus Agbemenyah 12 years ago
The used of the word 'perception' in this instance is causing more harm than good. This mentality should change if any action and sanction would be adopted to clean the image of the police administration. So many bad things are happening but most ghanaians are silent and stoic today, but who can see what would happen tomorrow? We MUST CAST OUR MINDS BACK TO 1979 and do thorough self examination on why Mr. Jerry Rawlings was called by names such as junior jesus etc. Ghana is gradually heading towards pro-79 era if histories are ''shapers'' of the future.
LORD SKY 12 years ago
THE CORRUPTION SITUATION AT THE POLICE SERVICE IS TOO BAD, BUT FROM ALL INDICATIONS THE "BIG MEN" IN THE SERVICE ARE ALSO BENEFICIARIES, THEREFORE ARE UNABLE TO STOP IT & PRETEND THEY CANNOT SEE IT, BECAUSE A CLASS ONE CHILD IN A PASSENGER CAR OR A PRIVATE CAR SEES WHAT GOES AT OUR CHECK POINTS
I THINK THE BEST WAY FORWARD IS TO MAKE THE MTTU OF THE GHANA POLICE PART OF THE GHANA REVENUE AUTHORITY, PROBABLY THIS WILL HELP
Appiah 12 years ago
ththose who are talking about police are stupid fools.politicians & customs are choping billions of cedis why talking about this one cedi people who are always working for us. Even woyome didnt work for ghana but took billions of cedis from us.ghanaians are ungreatful to ghana police.
Ababio 12 years ago
EVEN IF POLICE ARE CORRUPT,THEY TAKE MONEY FROM MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC,BUT ALL OTHER PUBLIC SERVANTS INCLUDING POLITICIAN STEAL HUGE MONIES FROM THE STATE COFFERS.
TSOBIE 12 years ago
HYPOCRITES. I DON'T KNOW WHY SOME PEOPLE ARE SO MYOPIC AND THIS HAD AFFECTED THEIR SENSE OF JUDGEMENT AND REASONING. HOW CAN SOMEBODY IMAGINE THIS. GHANA POLICE SERVICE TAKE BRIBE FROM THE PEOPLE WHICH DOES NOT DIRECTLY AFEECT GOV'T REVENUE BUT THE MONIES TAKEN BY THE CUSTOMS OFFICIAL DIRECTLY AFFECTS GOV'T REVENUE WHICH AFFECTS THE POOR FROM GETTING BADLY NEEDED INFRACSTRUCTURE. WHO KILLS THE COUNTRY MORE AND WHO IS MORE CORRUPT?
ATUGUBA 12 years ago
POLICE TAKING BRIBE AFFECTS GOV'T B'COS IT INCRICES CRIME RATE AND DEATHS ON OUR ROADS.
Concern citizen 12 years ago
Police can not fight corruption within without having to tackle the top heirachy. The Police Administration right from the IGP needs to be subjected to thorough auditing. The is an account call the IGP account which every bank that police provides security pays monies to. Lets ask, where do the monies go?
Wayne T Boudreau / Ontario / Canada 10 years ago
I know first hand of police corruption
A friend of mine in Kumasi - Her 82 year old mother is in jail because her daughter got sick with sickle Cell and went to hospital and her friend took out a loan to help this ladies daughter pay the hospital and when they could not pay it back the local kumasi put the mother in jail
and the daughter told me if she would bribe the police that they would let her mother out of jail
NDC must go- the country is in trouble
THEY all corrupt.
THey all the same.
Why are we even wasting our time on these criminals in uniforms. Who is the interior minister? Kwesi Ahwoi and who is he? The most corrupt politician in Ghana but Mahama still appointed him as an interior minister to the most ...
EVERY POLICEMAN IN GHANA KNOWS THAT HE OR SHE IS CORRUPT.GHANA POLICE IS NOW AN INSTITUTION. WHERE CORRUPTION IS A SUBJECT TAUGHT. IT'S PART OF THEM. THEY EAT IT, THEY SMELL IT, THEY SLEEP WITH IT, THEY WALK WITH IT, THEY LAU ...
Who and what institution is not corrupt in Ghana? Corruption has eaten into the very fabric of every Ghanaian. Even Rawlings who claim to come to put an end to corruption ended up being corrupt with his wife and appointees. D ...
pepeni has taken a few good but woefully incompetent men. so this ndc with all these people and their doctorate degrees , decades of experience and not being new to the business of running a nation could only find a chartered ...
Hide Details
From
• MR BAN KI-MOON
•
To
IN AFFILIATION ...
I heard people recounting their experiences of paying bribes to police officers and other public officials on radio today. Some of them even admitted to offering the bribes without being asked to in order to avoid further act ...
When steal ...
NEVER IN THE HISTORY OF GHANA POLICE (AFTER INDEPENDENCE) HAS GHANA POLICE BEHAVED AS POLICEMEN. I AM SORRY FOR THOSE WHO WERE BORN AFTER INDEPENDENCE. THOSE HAVE NEVER SEEN POLICEMEN IN GHANA, BUT THOSE OF US WHO WERE BORN B ...
The public especially drivers must be prepared to face court trial and stop giving bribes to police and corruption in police will be thing of the past. NB corruption involves the giver and the receiver so the public must sto ...
Both parties have recruited police officers when in government1 But I finf it difficult to understand why the Police is considered the most corrupt. Look at the huge monies swallowed by public officers, are they policemen? Be ...
Jail them with no mercy.
fancy that.
Blame drivers who ail to adhere to simple principles which pave way for corruption.Police stopped me last year when I was driving with DVA tag.I had all my papers but the police officer told me I did not have a fire extinguis ...
I envy the Ghana Police - for 3 consecutive years THEY HAVE WON THE UNEVIABLE TITLE OF MOST CORRUPT oganisation in this country. Regrettably, they see their corrupt practices as 'normal' so they take bribes without any shame. ...
All the indices of good governance are all trending downwards, with corruption which is personally spearheaded from the flagstaff house, making a serious break for the finish line of retrogressive governance. This John Mahama ...
@ SULE....not SAULA
Do you mean to say that instead of the Drive gear, Prez Mahama has engaged the Reverse gear and is heading backwards? Oh Ghana, this is sad! May be Mahama doesn't know how to revert to the Drive gear so s ...
Hahahahahahahahahahaha! Thank you Jesus! Meaning I can be a prophet. I have always said this on Ghana web but nobody will listen to me and even begged the president to listen. Fire the igp and get in specialist to come to Gha ...
Ghana has the type of Police the people are. Corruption which stinks to the high h ...
I think Ghana Police Service is cursed especially the CIP police officers at HQ.They cover up crimes by taking bribe from the criminals and set them free.They also use the attorney general's office to scare Ghanaians away fro ...
Seriously? In which country does this person live. Anybody who drives on the streets of Ghana has experienced police corrupti ...
"Just be quiet," snapped the officer. "if you don't give me $2000,I'm going to let you cool your heels in ...
AS MUCH AS I WONT HOLD BRIEF D=FOR THE POLICE I WANT TO SAY THAT THE WHOLE SOCIETY IS STINKINGLY CORRUPT FROM HEAD TO TOE. WE ALL NEED A CHANGE OF ATTITUDE. SELFISHNESS AND GREED HAS SOAKED THE WHOLE FABRIC OF THE GHANAIAN SO ...
Jungle, shut up your dirty mouth u idiot. Is it the police that is suppose to change its ways or we the civilians have to. We are learning from them of course so go to church and preach your nonsense cuz nobody is interested ...
ask motorists and they will tell you how the speed level detection device have become a gold mine for the police.for corrupt motives, they hide at the outskirt of towns and villages and arrest you for over-speeding in town ev ...
There is no doubt that Ghana Police Service is top of "Corruption Listed-Institutions" in the country, you don't even need to be a brilliant mathematician to deduce that. The collection of 1Ghcs from bribing drivers using unr ...
LOL
This is a notorious fact about the Ghana Police Service. It is a shame. The government MUST do something very, very urgent about the level of corruption in the Ghana Police service. It seems like corruption in the service is ...
I THINK THE POLICE ARE JUST BEING TARGETED AND MADE SCAPEGOATS BY SUCH RESEARCH EXERCISES. THE POLICE ARE EASY PREY FOR THE GII OR TI. REMEMBER THE THAT THE POLICE ARE ONE OF THE WORST PAID INSTITUTIONS IN GHANA, SO THEY ARE ...
This igp is very weak and an example of a weak leader. All this man does is to lip service Ghanaians with the help of the media. He's just incompetent and must be fired cus he's not an example of a good leader. How can we tol ...
As for police they rely only on their 15th century "akaked" and old fashion, crude ways of doing their stupid and barbaric ways of taking money from poor Ghanians who find them self into their grip. I guess the newly appointe ...
Solomon, isn't the igp the Worst of all? Did the igp paid u to come and comment on his behalf? Foolish fool. Do u understand that this igp is incompetent and has no knowledge about police grounds work but rather desk work. He ...
Ayambiri, I support your assertion but some of the time we must hope for the better as a typical Ghana-man. but to be honest if the Man is not competent and cannot make informed decisions then we are doomed. If you visit any ...
Hahahahahahahahaha! I'm sorry for my harsh words brother Solomon cuz I was angry knowing how evil these officers are especially the current igp. The current igp doesn't take advise and feels he can do everything by himself. D ...
Shockingly, quite a number of the reporters and editors take bribes before a story is published. If you don't pay much money, the story i ...
Why is anyone surprised?
After failing to discredit the Judiciary the attention has now been shifted to the Police. This time around you will fail disgracefully. If your intention is to let Ghanaians lose confidence in both the former and the latter ...
Once again, you have published the results of your "Global Corruption Barometer". And news organizations are using your "Barometer" as ...
i am not surprise at all that.the police service is persived to be the most corrupt, and i think is a shame to the country as a whole, now the police beg for money from drivers, they dont care about the passengers but rather ...
....if any country want to develop and prosper in all walks of life,it is strongly depend on the POLICE AND THE JUDICIARY but sorry.......those systems are poorly working.poorly working indeed.here in abroad, the police are f ...
Drivers License Office
Lands Department
Ghana Customs
Passport Office
(suspect corruption breeding groun ...
A gentleman who visited kasoa police station was holding phone bearing bur the name saved was Doris Gyekye with text message with text as I quote Foolish man just because a middle age gentleman a wife and kids on some tri ...
Taking a sample of 2000 people out of about 25 million people, to me, makes the sample size too small make any informed conclusions. Again, what was the status of the people interviewed? Trotro passengers and drivers, importe ...
The used of the word 'perception' in this instance is causing more harm than good. This mentality should change if any action and sanction would be adopted to clean the image of the police administration. So many bad things ...
THE CORRUPTION SITUATION AT THE POLICE SERVICE IS TOO BAD, BUT FROM ALL INDICATIONS THE "BIG MEN" IN THE SERVICE ARE ALSO BENEFICIARIES, THEREFORE ARE UNABLE TO STOP IT & PRETEND THEY CANNOT SEE IT, BECAUSE A CLASS ONE CHILD ...
ththose who are talking about police are stupid fools.politicians & customs are choping billions of cedis why talking about this one cedi people who are always working for us. Even woyome didnt work for ghana but took billion ...
HYPOCRITES. I DON'T KNOW WHY SOME PEOPLE ARE SO MYOPIC AND THIS HAD AFFECTED THEIR SENSE OF JUDGEMENT AND REASONING. HOW CAN SOMEBODY IMAGINE THIS. GHANA POLICE SERVICE TAKE BRIBE FROM THE PEOPLE WHICH DOES NOT DIRECTLY AFEEC ...
Police can not fight corruption within without having to tackle the top heirachy. The Police Administration right from the IGP needs to be subjected to thorough auditing. The is an account call the IGP account which every ba ...
A friend of mine in Kumasi - Her 82 year old mother is in jail because her daughter got sick with sickle Cell and went to hospital and her friend took out a loan to help this ladies d ...