You are here: HomeNews2013 07 09Article 279005

Tax GH¢10 for use of airport trolleys - Ato Gaisie

Read Comments Comments (110)

• kobi lee 10 years ago

No one charges passengers a penny to use trolleys at Heathrow,Mr.gaisie. May be u could advise the government to reduce the number of duputy ministers.

• Bro Joe 10 years ago

Mr Gaisie is an ignorant person and must not be listened to. If he can not offer correct information ,his input into anything can create havoc and confusion.SHAMEFUL.....

• TerrblY Spe cifiC 10 years ago

In fact where they were charging travelers, they have stopped. And this Gaisie "something" is the president of Entrepreneur Foundation in Ghana? He obviously doesn't travel abroad else he would know this. Who elected him pres ...

• Murtalla 10 years ago

A member of the robbery gang eh? What do we do with the taxes already being taken at the airport? Do you want to dive away visitors?

Progressive countries that reap $Billions do nto tax the use of trollies at the airports ...

• King Marc 10 years ago

The guy is simply unintelligent.This proposition just popped out of his mind and he thought it was a laudable idea.There are a lot of ways Government can generate revenue but i bet this trolley task smacks of ignorance.Alread ...

• King Marc 10 years ago

trolley task in 2 should be trolley tax

• Derrick 10 years ago

What is this man talking about? Not all airports charge for using their trolleys. Widening the tax net makes sense but piling the taxes on a narow group of users(e.g. drivers, road users, fone users) makes no sense!!

• MATHS 10 years ago

You took the comment out of my foul mouth. All those of us going through the Airport pay airport tax. What is the Airport tax for? Indeed this Gaisie man is looking for "heroism" of a strange kind. He is simply an IGNORAMUS ...

• CITIZEN ONE 10 years ago

I am trying to control my migraine before I start to unload, but truth is I can never fully express the level of my discontent at Ghanaian leadership, from top to bottom. It has to be the food(diet), water and perhaps genetic ...

• Frank 10 years ago

MR GAISIE SUGGESTION COULD BRING DISATER TO GHANA' AVIATION INDUSTRY INSTEAD OF IMPROVING IT. FOOLISH IDIOT. WHO TRAINED HIM? HE CALLS HIMSELF AN ENTREPRENEUR? FROM WHERE. FOOLISH IDIOT

• MAMI 10 years ago

It's not a bad idea but it to much five cedis will be fine.one idea also if you can crate a job to help people with thier lauggages it will be very you can open small office that people when they help for thier bags will com ...

• GO WEY YOU 10 years ago

This Gaise thing is mad ... NONESENSE. VILLAGER !

• afrobooklong 10 years ago

YOU DEY LIE...WE DON'T PAY FOR USING TROLLEYS AT HEATHROW AIRPORT...

kwasee s3m

• Adu Prempeh 10 years ago

Lair who pays for trolleys @ HEATHROW? Do you want passengers to carry their bags ? Not wonder you and your greedy bastards master's want to introduce talk tax . Fools

• "Dagban Doo " UK 10 years ago

This is a false statement,try and go on overseas trips, MR!!!!!!!!!

• GHANAVIA 10 years ago

Terribly, is that you or an impersonation?

It seems you are beginning to see the light others foresaw. What a positive change?

• DAN 10 years ago

in american cities most baggage claim areas are outside the secured (x-ray) areas so you family can come inside and help carry the baaggage or eat a meal at shop with you! Beside in ghana we can just pay a live person to carr ...

• Emelia 10 years ago

Mr. Gaisie, which airport in the UK charges £2 trolley tax? Have you ever been in the UK? I guess not.. you are not an entrepreneur that one can rely on if your advice and facts are "fictitious"!!!

• GHANAVIA 10 years ago

Bankrupt and unproductive ideas will not and cannot save Ghana.

Are we so daft and bereft of income generating ideas for planning?

If this imposed government is incapable of managing the nation's affairs, they should ju ...

• Adu Prempeh 10 years ago

Fools the money is finish

• Mama Tula 10 years ago

Mr. Kobi Lee where did you learn that the use of troleys at airports are not charged. It is about time this tax is introduced as in many countries over the world, one has to slot in a coin to release a trolley for the passeng ...

• kk 10 years ago

please this happens in shopping centers too n your money is refunded as soon as you pack it properly the coin slips out.
    Have you seen any GHC10.00 coin habba.

• King Marc 10 years ago

Mama Tula,incase you dont know,Ghana has one of the highest airport taxes in Africa.So there is the need for one to enjoy the services for the tax paid.I hope you do travel through some airports anyway.Am saying this because ...

• Andy 10 years ago

Do you know how much Government of Ghana taxes plane tickets compared to other countries. I understand that for a 1500 cedis ticket one pays an additional almost 900 cedis as tax to govt, now how much more shd people pay for ...

• kb 10 years ago

sorry to burst your bubble, you slot a coin or coins to gain access, however u get it back when you return the trolley to its designated point.

• DKB 10 years ago

Please don't display your ignorance here. The coin that you insert to release the trolley for use is refunded when you return the trolley and push the chained metal key back into the slot. People like you are dangerous, you c ...

• kb 10 years ago

Mama Tumu, Coin sloting is mostly done at the supermarket, and when you finish with the trolley, you take it back for your money. The only reason this is done is to return the trolley.

• CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago

Any where that you slot money into the trolley, if you pack the trolley back well your money flips back so if you are IGNORANCE AND HAS NOT BEEN TAKING YOUR MONEY BACK PLEASE DONT DO THAT AGAIN!!!ILLITERACY IS A DISEASE!! EG ...

• DAN 10 years ago

unless your carrying excess baggage no reason to have trolley except you carrying baggage for young children or disable person.

• Kwesi 10 years ago

When most of the airports are moving away from these charges, some old ideas seems to emerge from surprisingly young mouths.
    Have you noticed that almost all the new traveling bags have wheels?
    Both UK and US airports have ...

• OSO 10 years ago

All that this man is saying is reapeating himself, that is government should continue to stress the the already stressed out ordinary ghanaian, he could not formulate one single idea that will help to creat jobs among the peo ...

• KUNTA KINTI 10 years ago

NO ONE PAYS FOR TROLLEYS AT HEATHROW. YOU CAN SAY THAT FOR THE US BUT NOT FOR THE UK. LOOSE TALK

• OSO 10 years ago

Good contribution guys, the article is a boggus one and need not to be taken serious, Talking about roads, our highways have little or no markings on them, driving in the night is like taken a trip to hell, meanwhile they cha ...

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

and i knew it was only GNA that would see this as a news worthy report. so lazy an enterprise. honestly i hardly read their post because they themselves do not carryout any serious research.

• mighty goliath 10 years ago

stupid idiot.Ask the govt.to reduce salaries of ministers by 15% and see how much revenue would come in.

• Ananse 10 years ago

John Dramani Mahama (PREZ) and his stupid ministers again.

• HAMMER, London 10 years ago

This man is so annoyingly stupid. He is by all standards unintelligent and should be dismissed by Ghanaians. Nonsense

• Ananse 10 years ago

Is jdm who is stupid to employ this man

• egya kojo 10 years ago

i have not yet seen this in paris just want to tell this fool

• kk 10 years ago

even singapore, malaysia, hong kong yes hong kong one the expensive cities in the world. trolley tax does not exist uncle ato look around you you V8 SUV's gulping our fuel for free.

• Koo Nimo 10 years ago

Mr Gaisie when was the last time you travel through Heathrow. Do not say what you dont know

• STRAIGHT TALK 10 years ago

No, no, no....... Are we so poor? A trolley tax?? Why didn't this man said anything about the waste in administration of government buisiness? I mean the corruption etc. No to airport trolley tax!!!

• Futurama 10 years ago

Please check your facts. Nobody pays for the use of trolleys at London Heathrow airport. At Gatwick airport it is a refundable £1.00.

ANYONE PURPORTING TO REPRESENT PRIVATE SECTOR INTEREST AND PROPOSING A PRO-TAX, PUBLIC-LED DEVELOPMENTAL AGENDA IS WOEFULLY MISPLACED.

DOES HE REALLY THINK THE GOVERNMENT CAN LEAD DEVELOPMENT IN GHANA?

ANYONE PURPORTING TO REPRESENT PRIVATE SECTOR INTEREST AND PROPOSING A PRO-TAX, PUBLIC-LED DEVELOPMENTAL AGENDA IS WOEFULLY MISPLACED.

DOES HE REALLY THINK THE GOVERNMENT CAN LEAD DEVELOPMENT IN GHANA?

Listen to another hypocrite. Which airport in the uk charges £2 for the use of trollies? Are u saying that Ghanaians doesn't pay adequate taxes? Who will collect the trolley taxes anyway.? So a passenger will go and pay befo ...

• BOMBER 10 years ago

This guy is out of touch.No body pays for trolleys in Europe.Proposing 10 cedis is abnormal.

• shecquells 10 years ago

how do you pay for trolley at the airport, by the airline or the passenger travelling? Ghana why aaaaaa

• Felix 10 years ago

Oh NO we have another rubbish here! SIR you think Ghanaians don't travel, please tell me where in UK airport they charge £2? I as a big man like you why do you expose yourself to be con.

• KNYC (USMC) 10 years ago

Morons in Power. Cut spending.

• Ben 10 years ago

Have you travelled to JFK and you did not pay for your trolley.google airport trolley tax in the world

• JUSTICE 10 years ago

This is a blatant lie, I was in America in Dec 2011, I never paid a cent for trolley, I live in Britain and travel every year no one pays for trolley use. Shut up if you have nothing to contribute

• Adama d'Gharty, 10 years ago

This just goes to show how ignorant most top-class Ghanaian political figures can be when it comes to feeding the nation with basic statistical analysis. Even if the wrong data given here and the information supplied proved t ...

• Kwadjo 10 years ago

Hey fool,
    Let me tell you what to do with the GHc10 you collect from the trolley business, use it to expand the Kotoka international airport. We have heard enough about collecting tax for national developements that never wa ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

EVEN WITH HIS 4 EYES HE STILL CANT SEE. AT PEARSON AIRPORT IN TORONTO, U PAY 2 BUCKS TO USE THE TROLLEY AND I HATE IT. SO I HAVNT FLOWN OUT OF THAT AIRPORT IN 3 YRS. I ALWAYS GO TO BUFFALO. THIS GUY IS A RETARD. LITTLE MONIES ...

• kk 10 years ago

There are so many V8 L/Cruisers on our alley ways and Gulping fuel for free.
    How much is airport tax, and what services does the airport render to passengers, if trolley are charged for use

• Sakura 10 years ago

What do you mean by that? Do you understand what precedence means? By the way who said those V8 Land Cruisers gulp fuel for free? Away these silly emotional outburst! The V8 land cruiser was taxed when it arrived in Ghana and ...

• Akwesi Pat 10 years ago

I dont know who this man is but is quite strange that passengers pay for trolleys.what i know is u slot the trolley with money and u take off your money after u 've packed it right place.

• Willies 10 years ago

PLEASE LET US BE CAREFUL§ WHICH AIRPORTS IN THE U.K AND THE U.S.A CHARGE PASSENGERS FOR TROLLEYS? IT IS NOT ALL KINDS OF NONSENSE THAT WE HAVE TO IMBIBE.

• Ibrahim 10 years ago

The major problem in Ghana is corruption and extravagance. This man should have rather made a suggestion on how to check Corruption & Extravagance. If not, it will be like putting more water in a leaking bucket.

• Ibrahim 10 years ago

I hope the Airport tax travellers pay in Ghana, which is one of the highest in the sub-region, should rather be looked into again. Mr. Gaisie is asking for double taxation for travellers. I beg to differ.

• Sakura 10 years ago

What a foolish idea!!He is talking nonsense. Establishment of an Electricity fund? He should tell the ECG to stop buying new 4WDs and come out with a grand plan so Ghanaians will not worry about power shortages. Mr. Gaisie, y ...

• AAD 10 years ago

Yes, I recently paid $5 to use the airport trolley in JFK

and In Sierra Leone it is Le-10,000 equivalent of $2

• K Nana 10 years ago

Do you know that anytime one buys air ticket, airport tax of more than $50.00 is inclusive in the air ticket. Why??? GHC 10 for what??? Another chop chop???

• Senior citizen Germany 10 years ago

Iam not sure mr Gaisie made reasonable research with his deputies on proposal of widdening the tax net before he came public with it.Widen the tax net does not mean Govevernment should overburden the poor citizenry without f ...

• Akua 10 years ago

Where in the UK does one pay for using the trolley? Utter nonsense. I have never paid for the use of a trolley in the UK airports. Did this man really research into what he is saying? I doubt it. These days people just tal ...

• Ju N B 10 years ago

Why convert $5 to cedis n suggest we pay that much...are our economies the same? Idiot

• iPad 10 years ago

The Airport tax in Ghana at Kotoka is one of the highest in the World.
    The politicians in Ghana always sees the Diasporian as a cash cow.
    You guys should go on like this and one day you will hardly see any Ghanians coming t ...

• kojo, SC.USA 10 years ago

.Has it come down to this Ghana??....Yall Govt ppl must be crazy!....well my luggage has wheels so no headache. like seriously??

• Ajasco. 10 years ago

Hey Gaisie boy are you out of your mind? which airport charges three pounds for the use of a trolly? are you just testing waters to see passengers reactions or just being plain stupid to sujust something like that.If you nee ...

• KOJO AMPOFO,MIAMI-FLORIDA,USA. 10 years ago

GAISIE!FOR GOODNESS SAKE,DO YOU HAVE TO LIE TO MAKE A POINT OR CONTRIBUTE.
    YOU SIMPLY HAVE THE FACE OF A FOOL AND NAIVE PERSON SO I DO NOT BLAME U.
    NEXT TIME YOU SAY SOMETHING,JUST THINK BEFORE MAKING SUCH STUPID AND ILL-CO ...

• FOYOOSIS 10 years ago

This man Gaisie is a stupid ignorant fool. He's been a nation wrecker all his life, and it's only in Ghana that he can get away with it.

Now he's got the audacity to spew garbage to Ghanaians. I hope next time he would pu ...

• angle man 10 years ago

Passingers arriving too from abroad should get a free ride to central Accra as its being done in JFK airport how is that too.

• BUKBAK 10 years ago

This Guy is the Liar of the Century. No one in Heathrow or gatwick airport pay for the use of trolleys. Even in US it may depend on the State but Washington Dulles only takes some token coins after which some are returned on ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 10 years ago

Do you want to strip Ghanaians naked?Why do you stupid people always want Ghanaians to suffer more?Aren`t Ghanaians suffering enough?This is pure nonsense!

• kb 10 years ago

I do not know which airport this guy uses in the UK, but I can assure you that none of the airports in the UK charge for trolley. This is another means of stealing from the general public.

• kb 10 years ago

This guy is less intelligent. His wife should leave him. He is a disgrace to his profession. expanding the tax net! Yes but not this. I know a Law firm in Ghana who have never paid tax in their 30+ years of existence.Go tell ...

• CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago

Mr Gaisie is a big liar! which of the Airports in UK charges money for the use of the trolley. I have used all the big airports in UK and I am still using. He should tell me which one charges for the use of trolley? Because ...

• Kwaa 10 years ago

What ignorance? These are the kind of people who would ruin Ghana if ever they had the nod to rule us. Lying through once teeth.I have travelled around Europe and I can't think of any airport where I was asked to pay for a tr ...

• Kwaa 10 years ago

Cheap publicity...no brains!

• Asaseaban 10 years ago

The idea to charge every traveler GH.10
    Cedis at Kotoka Int.Airport is stupid. Why should somebody be charged GH.10 cedis if the person is not going to need a trolley ? It should be a USER FEE for those who need the trolley ...

• Ship Dealer 10 years ago

Are you serouis GH 10. For Trolleys. Please
    Come again...
    Are you normal ghana's.

• kojo 10 years ago

This is foolish. Let travellers enjoy the use of trolley free at KIA.....

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

..MUAHAHAHAAA

VERY SOON, THIS APONKYE FACE WILL BE TELLING US TO PAY 5 CEDIS TO USE THE WASHROOMS AT KOTOKA.

• maame yaa 10 years ago

I do believe his suggestion was faulted, for the amount he's asking for is quite outrageous.There is however no need for all these insulting remarks..

• Lafia 10 years ago

silly article,in Thailand,Singapore,Beijing,Dubai,Cairo,Nigeria etc i never heard about this tax. Ghana will remain forever an idiot country

• Frank 10 years ago

MR ATO GAISIE WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME YOU TRAVELLED TO THE UK? DO NOT PRETEND YOU CAN FOOL GHANAIAN PUBLIC BY CLAIMING YOU KNOW ALL. THIS IS CLEVERLY WORKED TO GO INTO THE POCKETS OF SOME FEW PEOPLE AT THE AIRPORTS, JUST LIKE ...

• KOMLA TULASI 10 years ago

ATO GAISIE, WHERE DID YOU GET THIS INFORMATION FROM THAT IN THERE ARE CHARGES TO USE TROLLEYS IN THE U.K.??? ARE YOU DREAMING OR YOU LIVE IN A DIFFERENT WORLD??? WHAT YOU SAY IS NONESENSE. YOU MAY RATHER ADVISE THE GOVERNMEN ...

• nana 10 years ago

This is complete paucity of ideas from someone who is heading an entrepreneurial foundation. For his information paying for the use of the trolley at the airport is not a tax by the US or UK govts. They are services provided ...

• Adams g 10 years ago

Ur Ndc gov hv lost it.. U r nw on a wild goose chase.

• Ohene. 10 years ago

NDC = idiots.

• Ben 10 years ago

GOOGLE ,What is the cost of a Smarte Carte at JFK airport?The cost is $5.00,so why all this talk talk,its a good suggestion to create employment and generate revenue to put our airport in a top class level,so folks lets suppo ...

• Ben 10 years ago

AIRPORTS in Spain will start charging a euro for passengers to use luggage trolleys, according to the Spanish Airport Authority, AENA.

The first airport to charge will be Madrid’s Barajas airport followed by Tenerife Sou ...

• Ama Serwa. 10 years ago

I have always wondered why KIA does not charge for the use of luggage trolleys as is the case at international airports in the US. KIA's trolleys are even more stable and convenient to use. Can't believe all the numerous peop ...

• Ama Serwa. 10 years ago

Of course, if you can carry your own luggage in and out of the airport, the need for luggage trolley does not arise for you to pay for one.

• Efo Koshie 10 years ago

Sure you are very innocent about the tax travellers pay when travelling to ghana. our airport tax is one of the highest in the world and you are dreaming about trolley tax. congrats.

• Gostav 10 years ago

Am sorry , this guy don't know what is talking about , has he ever travelled to the UK,? Trolley is free in the EU, everybody is calling themselves President of an association . God help Ghana, if they want to the popular, ...

• James 10 years ago

The tips we give to the unemployed at the Airport who assist travelers on arrival with their trolleys are sometimes more tha $5.00,we can gainfully employ them if we charge some small amount and also put our Airport in a top ...

• Agbeve 10 years ago

Hahahaha... I have a better idea! Why dont we ban the trolley kraa and employ kaya yoo to carry our bags. In that way we create jobs for the youth; cut down on importation of trolleys to save our foreign exchange, etc... Ab ...

• Kwasi A. 10 years ago

Dear Mr. Gaisie,
    I am not surprise about your recommendation that government must charge passengers for use of trolleys (aka luggage cart). Unfortunately you are not giving the full facts to the Ghanaian publ ...

• American D 10 years ago

GHC 10 for a trolley? Food is not even that expensive. And to take money from the airport employees, so they can make us dash them somemore when we come to Ghana. Please... I get what you are trying to do, but if there is a ...

• Sammy Agyei 10 years ago

Has he forgotten that we pay Airport Tax? Nonsense.

• Moses 10 years ago

The countries that you are citing do not charge anywhere close to what you are suggesting. Besides you forgot to mention that the facilities at Kotoka is nowhere close to any facility you will find at airports in Europe or Am ...

• Bankudade 10 years ago

Just look at this IDIOT and what he is saying. Show us proof that shows that in the US you get charged $5 to use the trolley this is not true. yes you get charge but $5. And none of the tolls on the bridges doubles up when th ...

• Pee 10 years ago

This are the kind Ghanaians Ghana needs. This man wanna see Ghana grows. Thank you Ato

• PLUMBER 10 years ago

As a traveller,I ahve noted each time I pass throygh the Ngerian airports where trolley use is paid for, Kotoka Int. Airport is mentioned as a very travel friendly place. Let us keep it this way for some time.

• Mansa Musa 10 years ago

Are you crazy? you cannot even enforce the existing laws at the airport yet you want to further whet your beak by introducing this 'insane' law. Have you thought about those helpers at the airport who look famished and are al ...

• Ankonam 10 years ago

This proposal appears to come from a nonentity. Internationally, airports charge an airport tax which takes care of all the services travellers would need. This tax component is incorporated in the ticket. It means that an ...

• WOMAAME TWE 10 years ago

YOU ARE MAD, call me 00447961127716
    Mr Sam Ato Gaisie, President of the Entrepreneur Foundation of Ghana (EFG) stupid fool that useless, imbecilic trolleys you use at the so-called KOTOKA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, cannot be co ...

• kwame 10 years ago

This guy is insane or getting insane...Why do they always compare what others do.