You are here: HomeNews2013 07 08Article 278924

Ghana accused of breaching int'l law over Bui dam

Read Comments Comments (99)

• kwasi 10 years ago

Can't this people mind their bussiness atleast for once?

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV & TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, UNDER 20 FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• NEMESIS, UK 10 years ago

XENOPHOBIC GHANAIANS AT IT AGAIN!

When the XENOPHOBIC GHANAIANS imposed their EVIL whopping $300,000 policy 'TARGETED MAINLY' at your fellow ECOWAS citizens Nigerians, before they could do any petty trading in Ghana, you d ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Hey! the Nigerian stereo type is worldwide and we can not help you on that. Silly boy.

What is Ghanaians 'stereotype?' "C-O-W-A-R-D". I'm happy to live the life of a Nation of "BRAVERY, NO NONSENSE AND COURAGEOUS RISK TAKERS" than Ghanaians....in a Nation of 'LAZY COWARDS' with begging bowls living on America ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

DONT WE SELL POWER TO THEM?

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Nemesis... The history is that we taught you that independence does not mean Indirect rule. Discovered oil in 1965 and yet, the rest is history. In fact, some of your people think western education is bad, not so, adding know ...

• Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

Do you know your history? First let me educate you moronic boy. Nigeria discovered oil in 1958, not 65, idiot.

Now let me correct this wrong notion by you demented Ghanaians that you taught Nigeria about Independent. ...

Don't mind that idiotic Ghana boy.

• OSUO ABRUBUOR 10 years ago

What is the point in two crabs fighting in the bucket, when the soup for which they are destined is bubbling near by?

We Black Aficans have bigger problems, lets see to that instead of these petty rivalries!

• Real Boy 10 years ago

Nemesis and Braveboy are the two of you for real? The two of you should get a life.
    Both Ghana and Nigeria are a failed state. The only difference between the two nations is two small Nations between them. Both have so much ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Real Boy. I am only reacting to silly Nemesis who seems to leave on a Ghanaian site. Why I don't know. I attack to get people to think and change, so please understand me. A stronger Nigeria is good for Africa and they need t ...

• BIG MOUTH 10 years ago

Ghanaians, Asshantis and flies.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Who taught you history…hope not a white man. U corrected me by dragging your oil discovery date back even further and what is the results on the ordinary people of Nigeria. That is why I said the brain of a Nigerian is..... ...

Who told you that Nigeria is too big to cope? Was that the THINKING of "RETROGRESSIVE" and coward Ghanaians like you? China has 1.5billion population and still growing, yet they are number one economically and even lending ...

• gido 10 years ago

Clueless country, lazy 419 yers. no country is as lazy as nigerians and they would tell u being smart means 419. they can not run their own country and this guy Nemesis seem to have a life on ghanaweb because he is so much in ...

• The Real 10 years ago

Dude, Nigeria has forever overtaken that 200million populace since the 90's. I mean can you honestly tell me that you count the entire north population? Even the Americans will tell you that they are at least 20% more than th ...

• PK 10 years ago

Go and fight bokoharam instead of invading an Ghanaian site to make stupid comments.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

PK. allow them to stay and learn. It is good for Africa.

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

These agege boys are here on Ghanaweb to learn English; yet pretending to be smart. Who cares about when Niger discovered oil ? Hasn't made a difference in their standard of living, which continues to worsen. Solve your probl ...

Ghanaians can't pronounce letter "R" and "O" properly. You hear them shouting "pasta, pasta" instead of "pastor" here in UK when calling for prayers on Radio and TV. And their Ashawo in Nigeria can't pronounce "R" hence pro ...

Grow up mate!

• danny 10 years ago

Why dont you contribute to the nigerian forum instead. This forum is for GHANAIANS!

• Gago 10 years ago

Can we please have the map of the area in dispute

• Ewusi 10 years ago

Ghana will never allow 419 people to destroy our country

Who needs 419 when your evil invention of "SAKAWA AND SIKADURO" and "ALL DIE BE DIE" are killing you politically, materially, humanly and mentally.

Look at how "FIRE" is burning you and you have the nerves to talk about ...

• Mactonto 10 years ago

The whole world knows the difference between a Ghanaian and a Nigerian. Therefore no comment.

Shut up and keep quiet when intelligent people are talking. I sealed your dirty Ghana mouth with a very thick sellotape. Therefore, no stupid comment from you.

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Someone didn't well explain the problem. Otherwise, how could a dam 50km in our territory be a problem?

• Homesense 10 years ago

My initial thoughts on reading the headline was, 'Oh, this our brothers in Ivory Coast, again'. First, it was on our oil find in the Western Region. And now, Bui!

But, reading the whole story, I see some wisdom in what the ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Because in this case the excess water will not be released into their territory. They are just being a nuisance for not knowing what to do with the river till we showed them how. What international law. We have ignored Burkin ...

• zion 10 years ago

I second braveboy. its about time the ivorians see to their own business and stop meddling in our developmental projects. when they started fighting in their country did they consult us, when we received their refugees they r ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Zion-- they are a strange country and if you ask South Africa to Liberia, you will receive the same response about that country.

• BIG MOUTH 10 years ago

After ranting senselessly above against the great country Nigeria, you this STUPID GHANABOY, has now descended on your Ivorien neighbor. What is wrong with this small Ghanaboy? You are lucky majority of Ivorians do not un ...

• Homesense 10 years ago

BRAVEBOY, I used the excess water as an example. There could other issues you and I don't know of. It is only by meeting them that we can know what exactly their worries are about.

It is always better to listen to what the ...

• MAYOR 10 years ago

The other Ghanaians including John Dramani Mahama were in support of Alassane Wattara even when Atta Mills was not in full support of this evil Wattara man, now see what he is doing after we dismantle his opposition court d' ...

• j0eY L0nd0n 10 years ago

Tone down. .pls,

• SIMPLE LOGIC 10 years ago

The Bui dam is only 50 km from Ivory Coast and the problems that will be created when the dam is full are:

Towns and houses along the river up to 200 km and beyond will be flooded. Ghana has already built houses to resettl ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

50km is not just. Again it has not happened and you must realize the natural river could still cause that.

• j0eY L0nd0n 10 years ago

Let us be reasonable.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

To resetle them,thats why the houses
    were built for them, but any further
    occurances they are asking for. The future is not known,but must be ready
    for it.

• DAN 10 years ago

only up stream...other towns would be flooded anyway during rainy season.. No they won't flood unless the floodgates are open...Once lake is filled they will get regular water flow and be able to buy electric from the dam! Ho ...

• excon ken 10 years ago

blame ken the ex-con for this ivorian issue ...hihi:)

This is not a jeealousy,they want to
    know if there be any effection to lvory Coast,if the dam is officialy
    opened. They cann,t sit down to know
    your mind, than to ask you.

• AYI 10 years ago

BOTH PREZS MOGABI AND GBAGBO ARE STUDENTS OF PREZ KWAME NKRUMAH, CUS OF THIS PREZ RAWLINGS SUPPORTS PREZ GBAGBO. PREZ GBAGBO NEVER TROUBLES GHANA OF OIL CUS HE IS TRUE PAN AFRICAN.

They are not jealousy,whiles you are
    enjoying your electricity,part of lvory Coast is flooded their food-crops also will be affected and what did thy gain from that.

• Ceeboy Dangerman 10 years ago

Fuck them off. First oil and then boarder demarcation and now environmental what? This people are more than jealous. They are crooks and beggars. Mr Presi, send a junior minster to warn them to take their eyes off Ghana. OR O ...

• KATH 10 years ago

French slaves in 21st century!

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

That uncle Tom negro in Cote d'Voire is a devil in our flesh bent on tramping on our peace and progress. The earlier that war mongering idiot is overthrown the better for a peaceful coexistence between us and our neighbours o ...

• GHANABA 1 10 years ago

Why now Ivorians? What violates international breach in a 50km border into Ghana? We know you guys have enough War mongers so please leave us alone.We have a lot of issues at the SC which has not been solved.No Wahalla

• papillon 10 years ago

That's not a nice way of begging for some power supply. Cheeky Ivorians.

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

GOVT SHOULD NOT MIND THESE STUPID IVORIANS. IS BUI DAM IN IVORY COAST? SO WHY ARE THEY TRYING TO INTERFERE WITH OUR INTERNAL MATTERS?

• William Akuffo 10 years ago

Does these Ivorian s understand the word demarcation, Please someone should tell them to stop there cos We don't want them to add their headache to our own again, after all that had been spent on this project.I think the appr ...

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

THERE WON'T BE ANY SOCIAL OR ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT ON IVORY COAST, SO THEY SHOULD BETTER SHUT UP.

If indeed Ghana breached Int'l Law on such cross-border projects at least we ought to have conferred with them. We may not know the effect(s) we may cause in their country should the lake floods into their country. See what h ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Kofi,, you obviously don't understand the mechanism of how dams work. There's a reservoir and which is filled up. If there are any excess, it is let out into the sea or in this case on our own land. It does not affect them. I ...

See how much land was lost behind Akosombo. The same would happen behind the Bui Dam.

The Ivorians have every right to be worried. Mahama should take this matter seriously.

• ROGUE LAWYER 10 years ago

mahama should cut the power suply to that country if any.
    if even it is 1 kilometer we as ghanaians reserve the rights to choose what we want to use our land for

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Such an ungrateful country. We gave them cocoa else what would they have done without it for the last 50 old years. we discover and they follow and yet they can not just shut up.

• Adama 10 years ago

Ivory Coast stand to benefit from our dam because the lake that Bui dam will create will enhance rain fall in Ivory Coast which is better for their cocoa to grow and create forest over there. I even saddens me that they stand ...

• David 10 years ago

They don't know how the dam will benefit them and they want us to tell them. they are completely clueless about environmental issues. Even in Ghana we know that we benefit from the Amazon forest all the way in Brazil. in term ...

• MAYOR 10 years ago

The other Ghanaians including John Dramani Mahama were in support of Alassane Wattara even when Atta Mills was not in full support of this evil Wattara man, now see what he is doing after we dismantle his opposition court d' ...

• Anon 10 years ago

Its simple - Ivory Coast is going to be flooded because of this dam. How would we feel if they did the same thing??? WAHALA!

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Do you know how the river flows or the position of the reservoir?

• Dr. John 10 years ago

If the Ivoirians have any credible evidence of a possible threat to their territory, they should have presented it a long time ago. There does not appear to be any threat.

• David Forson 10 years ago

Do we have to blame the Ivorians and calle them names,when some of our so called politicians,frustard to win election have to openly support them against us? These is the results of Akufo Addo´s criminal and selfish betrayal ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

I think what we have to be doing is, build a huge wall between the two countries because that country is doom. They have a massive regional flaw line that is waiting to rip it apart and we must protect ourselves. I believe in ...

• Kofi Ampaasem 10 years ago

The Ivorian question needs to be addressed. Ghana cannot simply ignore it. Is it true that Ghana has not responded? If so, why the silence. Is it true that the Ivorians were not consulted? How can we peacefully and cost effec ...

• USMAN 10 years ago

They can't respond because they are useless.

• SIMPA CARPENTER 10 years ago

These are issues we should be talking and thinking about.whether the Ivorians are jealous or not we should talk more about our development,environment,health avenues of seeking money for development and stop wasting our tim ...

• Dr Robert K Glah 10 years ago

What are the consequences of operating the dam on Ivory coast?
    Make it transparent to engage our sypmathy.

Ivory Coast is our neighbour and Ghana must respect its territorial integrity.

• Kwabena Mensa 10 years ago

Doc, there are no consequences. In fact there is significant hydro-power potential on their side of the border too. Some yrs ago we proposed developing the entire potential but they told us that they didn't want us on French ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Integrity! I wonder if they have one after raping the wife of a former leader right in from of him and then add insult to injuries, send him to a white man's court to be judged because their own courts are not capable enough. ...

• Papa kweku 10 years ago

Why is Ivory Coast so jealous of the progress in Ghana, complaining about our and now electricity.Jealousy is a green-eyed monoster.

• anyo 10 years ago

IVORY COAST AND THE KILLER QUETTERA ARE NOW MESSING WITH GHANA AS "THANK YOU"
    FOR NDC AND MAHAMA STUPIDETY OF HANDING OVER IVOREY COAST REFUGEES
    THAT OPPOSE QETTERA. GHANA BOTRAY OF INTERNATIONAL LAWS OF REFUGEES IS NOW ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

If you wish to insult someone with words like "stupid", then the least you can do is to show that you are not stupid yourself. Frankly why do you choose to abuse with words you cannot spell? .......to think that we wasted ta ...

• nick 10 years ago

lol botray lol, hahaahah this is serious lol!!!!

• Ebenny 10 years ago

issues of this nature retards our development as a nation and Africa at large.It results in using our scarce resource for this international policy repairs.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

When Burkina fasso was building their dam,they did not consult Ghana.if Gbagbo is in power,they will not be harassing us. Alhassan is a stooge for the imperialist.
    The Devil we know is better than the Angel Alhassan that we ...

• OBIBIN I 10 years ago

Listen to this Ouattaraman the puppet and bootlicker of the french and the West.He has forgotten that he owes his position to the imperialists who used force to instal him as the president of the Ivory Coast.Consult them for ...

A husband and wife were having a fine dining experience at their exclusive country club when this stunning young woman comes over to their table, gives the husband a big kiss, says she'll see him later and walks away.
    His wi ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

My God! you are imaginative. Have you taught about writing novels?

After we are accused of beaching International law a man and a woman started to have sex in the middle of a dark forest near the Black Volta. After about 15 minutes of it, the man finally gets up and says, "Damn, I wish I ha ...

• pala 10 years ago

these our francophone neighbours

• USMAN 10 years ago

This is how far our useless university graduates have brought us.

• Mactonto 10 years ago

They have a point. Discussing the impact of the dam is not a sign of weakness. It is called maturity, and being sensitive to others. Talk to them.

• KANTAMANTO 10 years ago

Ghana must learn to respect their neighbors and their own countrymen. What about the people that live near the dam?

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

I wonder how old you are? I find it insulting that you suggest we have always been disrespectful to our neighbors. We have always respected them, even as brethren. It is not something new we need to learn. You are the one w ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Mr. Berko, it's all about the juicy Jubilee oil field than it is about the Bui Dam and that is the hubbub, period.

• amat 10 years ago

why are these ivorians troublesome ,ghana is a peaceful country and they can go to hell

• Dee 10 years ago

They try to creat trouble and get part of Ghana oil.

• Dee 10 years ago

They are trying to creat trouble and get part of Ghana oil.

• Whatever 10 years ago

Has this Ouatarra official asked Gbagbo whether Ghana spoke to them in 2008 or not before making reckless accusation? If they you have problem shown in your environment impact assessmeng, why don't you use the foriegn ministr ...

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

What else would the Côte d'Ivoire want to deny us to thwart out efforts to advance? The other time it was their belligerent opposition to our efforts to harness our Oil deposits. Then, they began some noises on the usage of ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• anyo 10 years ago

QUETTERA IS NOW "THANKING US "FOR BEING STUPID AND SENDING HIM REFUGEES FROM HIS COUNTRY IN GHANA SO HE CAN KILL THEM .OUR NAEVE LEADERS NEVER EVER LEARN

• #~+''~### 10 years ago

You mean NAIVE

• tomtom 10 years ago

Alasane is finding a way to divert the attention of his poor management of the country he took by force, to start a problem with Ghana. The Ghanaian government should do whatever she can not to fall for that pettiness. To kee ...