You are here: HomeNews2013 07 03Article 278578

Black Satellites in U20 quarter-finals

Read Comments Comments (123)

• Edem Lasisi, Atlanta 10 years ago

You haters out there, you can go to hell for all I care. Sellas Tetteh is the best coach in Africa, and one of the best in the world.

Also, Ghana has strikers. It takes the right coach to unearth players like Adiyiah and ...

• Slimzay **The Unshakable Shaker** 10 years ago

No one hate the coach, my friend. He used a strategy which wasn't supposed to be used. This wasn't a match to use that because the opponent was tested in the first half with an attacking strategy and it worked. Therefore, my ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

The idea of the under 17 and under 20 competiotons was to unearth new talents and not winning the cup as some Ghanaians think.Out of those competitions brougt out Maradona,Ronaldinho.Figo,Kaka,Essien,
    Dede,etc,etc,This is th ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

That is not true only in Rasheed world that you go to competitions without thinking of win is this the way you would run the GFA when you become President one day. God have Mercy on us.

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

I am not commenting that winning the cup is not important,but the notion behind the youth tournaments is what I am tryint to cut across.If you dounbt, you can find out from FIFA.

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

"Doubt".By the way were you happy with the way our boys played?If Brazil had won that way , Mr.N woyld have critisized them.Our team is not good.Luck will not always follow us.

• POW@One goal project is over 10 years ago

You're very right on that, the team doesn't look formidable but I guess it's a tactical issue. Sellas has to watch out.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

I do not have a dog in this fight cast your mind back to 2009 at Egypt the country who is under 'Full Military Coup as we write people said the same thing about him some one even said he need a hot line to call Ghana for hel ...

• Obiara Nye Obiara. Go B Satellites! 10 years ago

Obiara nye obiara, I have friggin awesome powers in my studio. Do you see your real size now?

Win or go home stages of U20 tourney.

Win just four matches and you are the defending world champs again!!!

One down, an ...

• Mekyiri nkontompo! 10 years ago

Ghanaians will criticize if our national team loses a game, criticize if we tie and still criticize even if we win! What the hell do we want?!! Do you guys espect Ghana to walk through every opposition with ease; as if we are ...

• Obiara Nye Obiara Go B Satellites! 10 years ago

Massa, but who's perpetuating nkontompo here?

Check this?

Author: abaa-bii abuzotyel (registered user)
    Date: 07-03-2013 12:49

But what a leaky defence we have?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now do the math on that one.

• Kojo Agatebe, Oregon 10 years ago

I agree with you. I really don't understand our people.

If we made all those , which the 22 million Ghanaian "coaches" are pointing out, and we still beat a highly rated Portugal team, then the should know that Portugal m ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Like that a lot. A win is a win and a lose is a lose indeed. Anybody doubting that should just contact Diego Maradona for a piece of lecture over "The Hand Of God Piper" that knockout England cold during the 1986 world cup.

We can't use what happened in 2009 to compare with what's going on in 2013 as far as coaching in this tournament is concern. The 2009 squad was made of different players than this. This squad has a very weak defense. Therefor ...

• tony 10 years ago

talk again oo. good coach medium players

• GORDON YEBOAH,USA 10 years ago

I HV WATCHED ONLY 30MINS.AND ITS LIKE THE DEFENDERS DON'T MAKE GHANA,S GAME LOOK NICE AT ALL.ITS SOO BAD.THE WORST DEFENDERS EVER

Our coach almost cost us this match. Sellas has to sit up. His game plan was the reason for our loss against France, he apologized and we forgive him. Now there are no more spare chances for such apologies.

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

My lord,I thought you enjoy watching FY33 FY33 soccer(Onyame Buame soccer) Sellas is rusty and our team is not formidable.

I'm just leaving you in the hands of coach Akwasi Appiah, one of the best coaches in the world. Lol

• Africanus 10 years ago

Thanks Slimzay. The problem with some Ghanaians is that once we win they close their eyes to the obvious shortcomings of the team and the coach's tactical weaknesses. Physical strength and athletism won the match for us, not ...

• J-Kay 10 years ago

I was so angry at the coach when the boys came out from the break and sat in defense absorbing pressure! It gave the Portuguese a lot of confidence and thythm. They were rattled in the first half when we were attacking and fo ...

• MAKA 10 years ago

Lasisi or whatever your name is, in life one can not perform beyond a certain point if constructive criticisms are not made. I know for a fact that some people just don't like the coach, others do and want the best from our b ...

• Isaac Amanor 10 years ago

Adiyea needs the help of coach S.Tetteh.In fact Dede Ayew, Jonathan Mensah all became better after because of S.Tetteh.Coach K .Appiah,please Call Daniel Addo and try him at the left back and see.I mean that under 20 centre b ...

• JiMY SOMER 10 years ago

BRIIIIIIIIBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBEEEEEEE

• Paapa 10 years ago

The coach changed a strategy which was working and it could have cost us the game. After the first goal the ghanaians just closed shop and played strictly to defend the goal. It was a huge mistake,and next time we should thin ...

• shaggy 10 years ago

He took bribe 4ROM ya mum.shut up idiot

• Cronyism 10 years ago

Incompetent Dodoo who was imposed on the GOC by Atta Mills has succeded in destroying both the GOC n Ghana Athletics Asso. This rat was also made chairman of EDIF n Ghana Statistical Services. Square peg in round hole

• Emmanuel Boye 10 years ago

You really make me proud l was watching the game and the boys have show first class soccer well done boys go all the way to get the cup

• WOFA WOHOO 10 years ago

The two goals scored by Portugal was so cheap due to defenders leaving portugal players on marked.As a good coach you dont put more than two players on a particular player or striker,what I realise was that most of the Ghana ...

• JAYHOVAH 10 years ago

iTS Definitely on now. Gh,lets go. I'm so proud of my boys. Lets get it done

• pin 10 years ago

thank you boys

• EAGLE EYE 10 years ago

WITH GOD ON OUR SIDE....

• MOROBI 10 years ago

IF SELLAS TETTEH IS A BAD COACH,WHAT ABOUT THE AMERICAN AND THE PORTUGUESE COACHES HE DEFEATED? IF YOU HAVE A WISE MOUTH, YOU SHOULD HAVE A WISE MIND.

What kind of a defensive game was that? Folks, we won but it wasn't a good win. Selas Tetteh almost ruined our day because the defensive strategy he allowed the team to use in the second half wasn't a good plan. If the team w ...

• JAYHOVAH 10 years ago

I win is a win, my man. dont matter how u look at it, CHILL

• Mr.N 10 years ago

I agreed a win is win but Slimzay is thinking ahead.

Dd you watch the match? We were very lucky is the statement. If we don't bring out the faults and solve it before our next match, the same mistakes could occur again. If Portugal couldn't take advantage of it, another team ma ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Guys luck is not for Ghana alone,it is for everybody.This is what has been happening to blacks and they break our hearts later on.That is why POW describes their style of play as FY33,FY33.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

THE GUYS DID THEIR HOMEWORK. NOW U SEE THE RESULTS?

No doubt at all, a win is a win. So will you also say after receiving your exam results "a pass is a pass".

The fact is, when you grow in knowledge and in wisdom, common sense will let you understand that an ordinary pass ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

My lord,Do not make fun of my former school.Don't you know Former Nigerian President Obasanjo was my classmate?

• Donald 10 years ago

POW & Rasheed, you don join the Vod Club, abi? Talk true ooo!!!! E no bi shame!
    I see say una dey beat about the bush this evening paa!

What you go drink for the kwata final on Sonday? Caca Cola or Vod? Choose one!

You sound like The Stallion. Anyway, the vod is too hot for these days. We're hitting 90 degrees Fahrenheit by day. A mild Moscato will do.

Haaaa, enough respect ooo boss. You and Obasanjo were classmates at "Twediase Sec Tech"? I'm sorry, I was actually talking about "Sh3nodross Sec Tech".

• Mr.N 10 years ago

EBENEZER DENTAL CLINIC" Menstrual pains, fibroid, stomach ache, stomach trouble, cough, chest pain and asthma. Contact 024 276 5669 / 020 817 7801. Do you see any problem with this? ****POW

My friend there is nothing wrong ...

• MAKA 10 years ago

My brother an experienced coach is able to change his strategy even he faulted by making the guys play defensive. But, he quickly brought in Yiadom and still kept Assefua, which made the forward sharper.......with the balls b ...

The facts in terms of the Portuguese record was already known and that is not what we are talking about. Did you watch the match. What happened during the first 2 minutes of the game? Those two nearly missed by Portugal, wher ...

• J-Kay 10 years ago

Good post!!

• Wishful 10 years ago

Good job. Slow starters. Keep on working, you will be there. So far so good

• Stop copying 10 years ago

Why is Ghanaweb copying from goal.com, can't you put up your own message for the readers unless you copy from somewhere? haaaaaaba change ooooo change.

• jack 10 years ago

ghanaweb if you can't write your own massage then,just close down the site.

• MR COOLMAN 10 years ago

thanks you Tetteh

• Francis 10 years ago

oh yes Ghana has fought a good fight.because they have tried they best and i think that they will win all their matches. by God grace they will bring the cup to Ghana.by hook or crook it will happen as i said on yesterday ...

• Author Tjorven's Africa Calling 10 years ago

No matter how far Satellites will go in the U20 W.C.,
    you have proved:

GHANA IS A FOOTBALL POWER

Well done and best wishes!

• Ankonam 10 years ago

I am impressed. I can see them going a long way now. Portugal are one of the strongest sides in the tournament.

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

WELL DONE SATELLITES. YOU HAVE DONE GHANA PROUD AGAIN. KEEP IT UP.

• SEAMANUK 10 years ago

NDC & SATELLITE FOREVER MATCH ON AND ON LONG LIVE NDC

• OGYAM 10 years ago

INFACT, THE BOYS DIED FOR GHANA. WELL DONE, SATELLITES.

• Ghana Massai. 10 years ago

Bravo,Satellites! You let the Portos booz with porto. Now, let the Chilians chop their pepper! FIX THEM! You're going to the final! Come oon!!!!!

• Mallam-usa 10 years ago

GO Sats. win the cup...best of luck

• sas 10 years ago

The coach need to still work on this boys,there are a lot of mistakes they do, especially the defenders,well,congratulations.

• THE LONE PROPHET OF JEHOVAH 10 years ago

Sellas change the number 2 for us ??????

• pala 10 years ago

he is mediocre

• MENACY 10 years ago

Congrates U20 team may God strempthen ur bones to surmount the next team.Long live Ghana long live U20 team.

• Isaac Blanbson 10 years ago

Ghana coach and players as then well?

• Son 10 years ago

Ghana won through luck they could not pressure the Portuguese the ball was on them always, they were not playing passes and their passes were not good at all I hope they will do better at the next match.

• alaska 10 years ago

ghana is going to make it again(allah bless ghana teams)

• Edem/usa.ghana 10 years ago

School this coach please

• african 10 years ago

Hello, it me again!!! never satisfied by our performance...Yes...that is me.
    This general Ghanaian mode whereby we sit and not being aware of changes going on around us, is always what costs us in all the football matched we ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

FOLKS, WE SHOULD STOP JUBILATING. GHFUO WILL FIND EVERY REASON TO JUBILATE. WE EVEN JUBULATE AT FUNERALS. WE HVE A GAME AGAINST CHILE COMING UP OOOOOO. WE ALL PROFESS TO BE COACHES IN GH. LETS ALL DO OUR HOMEWORK N OFFER SUGG ...

• Rabon Zee 10 years ago

In the Portugal game, Sellas seemed to have messed the game plan one more time during the second half. But the U20 warriors were eventually victorious due to player game-manship, the late oourse correction implemented by Sell ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

Boakye Yiadom was brought in and worked wonders. His saved shot created the rebound for the second goal and his winning goal was fantastic. Tetteh may have had strategic shortcomings but that substitution was critical.

• Jarra 10 years ago

a lot of Ghanaians has critised Sialas Tete and am expecting the same Ghanaians who has critizied him to congratulate him sialas all de way satellites all the way we will surly win this cup LONG LIVE GHANA LONG LIVE SATELLITE

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

Congras boys. No soccer team from Ghana should take any team lightly out side the country. We are like America to the World as the super power.Every one in the world is out to beat Ghana in the game of soccer.No team wants to ...

• ABDULAI ABDUL WAHAB 10 years ago

Well dan 2 de satellites

• FUFUO DADESEN 10 years ago

OH WHAT A GAME DUDE CAN PLAY..STUD GOT GAME.HE'S GONNA MAKE WONDERS ON THE LEFT SIDE

• Whatever 10 years ago

Congratulations but our defending in our box lack clarity. We need to be very very very tight in our own penalty box when defending attacks from open play and set pieces. We are forced to score from difficult long range yet w ...

• GC/USA 10 years ago

THE RIGHT BACK POSITION IS WEAK AND CREATING PROBLEMS FOR THE DEFENCE. A REPLACEMENT OR SERIOUS TALK WITH THE PLAYER/NKETIA.

• Mohammed Awuni 10 years ago

Most of the goals happen on that end
    Sellas needs to fix it

• pala 10 years ago

i am happy others have noticed this.
    in the african championship he caused a neddless penalty in the final match.
    he is not up to the standard so he tackles needlessly, he goes forward unnecessarily, he gives predictable pa ...

• Eddie 10 years ago

Congratulation to the Satellites for making Ghana proud, but we have had ourselves to blame in case we were kicked out. The coach was absolutely wrong to change the formation to a defensive format with counter attack in the s ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Congrats lads!

Let us focus on the next game against Chile. The management must adopt the right game plan and strategy to win.

Let us defend well as a unit, play on the break and convert the chances we create.

• african 10 years ago

I look forward to seeing what would happen. I hope we will pay them back in their own coins....sweet revenge...

• agbushalla 10 years ago

Why isn't anyone addressing the most obvious issue here. Our lads are over age and are still struggling against these under 20 teams. "Them grow pass" A see the guy e score the goal im face the way a laugh. Gbomor hier esa ne ...

• READ y 2 dye 10 years ago

n smoke it. u the pink elephant in the room...u will never b happy....boycott voda-phone. one!

• Raphael Amponsah 10 years ago

Kudos to satellites.

• michael boye marquaye 10 years ago

I have never had the tiniest doubts about sellas tetteh because i know the man very well and had teamed up with him many many times. We both have the same strategy and it worked. i said earlie that the satellites will beat Po ...

@ Lasisi Atlanta you are hundred percent right i remember just before the game when those criticisms started coming we both moved in support of sellas but i wount called those people haters only because they dont know sellas ...

• charles 10 years ago

I think we were lucky because our forming was bad

• Fan 10 years ago

They made it by the skin of their teeth. Well done boys. We will root for you when you play Chile.

• the boy are bad 10 years ago

iam so happy for the coach.

• ato 10 years ago

Good show boys, the 7000 really motivated you. More on the table for grsbs, so go for the ultimate.

• bubu 10 years ago

we are still in this tourney with luck and not our performance. can anybody see i see in the team. what is the right-fullback nketia still doing in the first eleven? six of the seven goals conceded were is fault, he has neve ...

• La Le 10 years ago

I agree. For almost all the goals scored against Ghana, the defenders were caught ball-watching and lacked awareness of the location of their opponents off the ball.
    It shows that there's the lack of communication and alertn ...

• pala 10 years ago

....and he wants to overlap, but ''cant give a useful cross''

• ankama clement 10 years ago

nice

• Bossu 10 years ago

No shaking,black satellites.More hope

• Edem Komla 10 years ago

Same approach as Spain. Don't under rate Chile

• baff 10 years ago

cudos