MAY THE TRUTH AND NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH ALWAYS PREVAIL ...
insight to the bone 12 years ago
pepeni after appointing mainly his alajih incompetent idiots is again lying saying winner takes all is unfortunate , the hypocrisy is unbelievable and very insulting. he is leading Ghana on a roller-coaster straight to war and ethnic hatred that will never end . even the security agencies of the world see this and have advisd their govt to enforce strict immigration terms for our people since they dont want millions of refugees on their doorsteps . these pepefuo are destroying everything and instead of talking of a decentralized govt or federation they continue to finalize on their plans of the colonization of the Akans by appointing people who are not from the areas to be in charge . the only way forward is a govt of the people and by the people so let it be known who is responsible for this mess
SAMPSON MADIBA -IRELAND 12 years ago
This is not about Pepenii or Tanii is about Ghana. Iam NPP but I was so happy with SC ruling on Kuranchie, and Atubiga were found guilty of criminal contempt
PAA 12 years ago
Remember when npp told their followers to dress in white and go to church for thanksgiving even when the final results were not complete just to make a case that they had been robbed so is this one too. In fact, the SC is really wasting time that is why this crooks think they still stand a chance, where on earth have you seen SC removing democratically elected president and putting in a 70 years old drug baron, greedy and arrogant man as president? You have been found out and God will punish you for wasting Ghanaian tax-payers money. Npp is now for dogs, especially with people like sir john in the helm of affairs of the party. Npp will soon die and a new party formed in its place
Before & After 12 years ago
The man Kuranchie displayed too much stupidity thinking he was making a point or making sense. I saw how quick he was "trotting" to jail with his utterances.
KOFI 12 years ago
Kpegah should be next in line to be straightened up. Where is he by the way?
BONEHEARD 12 years ago
the foolish man Kwame Okoampa should also be jailed He is the most tribalist asshole ever be born in Ghana
Senior citizen Germany 12 years ago
We must be circumspect in the way we comment on freedom of speech and dispencing of law by the justices in the supreme court since bestowing all powers on them will be like voting for a head of state who is power drunk to rule a nation with an iron hands to the detriment of the citizenry.As our experiencial past has revealed, some of our former heads of state and presidents who ruled the Nation like a bannana state, arrogated to themselves powers which they navigated on the ordinary citizens ostensibly to entrench themselves on the thrown.As you are aware, a judge cannot perform the duties of a jurry and a judge at the same time, and when that happens will give them absolute power that corrupts absolutely.
James 12 years ago
Freedom of Speech does not mean Freedom of Recklessness. There is nothing free without responsibility. This is a good beginning of the introduction of sanctity and decency in the way we go about the so-called Freedom of Speech and Press Freedom.
kofi ofori amoako 12 years ago
In any judicial proceeding, especially in criminal proceedings where a defendant's liberty is at stake, a court cannot arrogate to itself the power to be judge and juror. That runs against any tenet of judicial norms and cannons and I am surprised none of the legal luminaries is questioning the unbridled power the court has arrogated to itself by its action. Then again,everybody plays fast and loose with the rule of law in Ghana as evident by Tsatsu and Lithur's unprofessional theatrics in court and Atugba sitting on a case in which his nephew works as a top adviser to the main respondent, Mahama. He chastised petitioner counsel for having the audacity to request for his recusal due to the obvious appearance of a conflict of interest. Shame on you Atugba for bringing disrepute to the highest court of the land.
Odikro 12 years ago
You are exhibiting a woeful ignorance of Ghana"s legal system.
The Supreme Court has powers to summon miscreants to court for "Contempt" .
These are. Enshrined in the Constitution
Gyekye 12 years ago
You find people quoting all sorts of nonsense, challenging the Supreme court. Look, the Siupreme court can aqct differently from the way lower courts act.
Did Woyome, Waterville and Isofoton defend themselves at the Suprem ... read full comment
You find people quoting all sorts of nonsense, challenging the Supreme court. Look, the Siupreme court can aqct differently from the way lower courts act.
Did Woyome, Waterville and Isofoton defend themselves at the Supreme Court before judgement was given? NPP should understand that, members of the NDC were also sanctioned. Why cry foul? Is that the only thing you guys know how to do?
KOKONSA 12 years ago
You are very stupid. the SC ruled on questions of law not fact in Woyome's case, after the preliminary issues had been decided at the lower courts!!!!!
Why do people like you bother? Abi you have access to internet. Listen ... read full comment
You are very stupid. the SC ruled on questions of law not fact in Woyome's case, after the preliminary issues had been decided at the lower courts!!!!!
Why do people like you bother? Abi you have access to internet. Listen focus on something else. The issue is less of an NPP/NDC issue but rather of the most fundamental question of freedom of speech.
Let it be known to the SC that in their haste to dispense peripheral justice, sentiments and emotions have trumped their efforts. This is sad for Ghana's democracy.
okofo 12 years ago
So who calls a bias judge to order? Or we should assume that judges are impatial? Democracy huh?
BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 12 years ago
What the Ga's and Ewe's are waiting for? They should hit the street and demand justice. They should bear in mind that their lives are not safe in Ghana begins from 2/july/2013, since Kennedy agyapong was free man now . Defend ur selves in any form that u wanted to. God bless the Ga's and the Ewe's.
Pelicles 12 years ago
You sound silly and stupid. Why didn't the court sentence Kennedy to jail? If what he said was hateful and inciting, why did the court let him go scot-free?
If you live in Ghana and know how some people have spread far ... read full comment
You sound silly and stupid. Why didn't the court sentence Kennedy to jail? If what he said was hateful and inciting, why did the court let him go scot-free?
If you live in Ghana and know how some people have spread far away from home, you will never make this reckless and irresponsible comment like "Ewes and Gas should hit the street and demand justice.
If you are a Ga, trust me, I pity you to the extent that your are marginalized in your own region. Look around and what exactly do you see?
If you are an Ewe too, tell your people who have spread far and wide to come home because if something happens, they will be at the mercy of their landlord. Go to Kumasi and you will see an enclave known as "Anloga Town". No one bothers them because they are in Ghana and have the freedom to associate themselves with who or whatever they like. Think.
PALMWINE SELLER 12 years ago
ANOTHER OLD FOOL WHO GREW UP SUPPRESSED.
Kofi 12 years ago
Palmwine seller, you should know when to open your mouth and when not to. Mr. Sam Okudzeto is one of the most enlightened legal minds to ever walk in Ghana. You may disagree with him but DO NOT insult him, a mere you!
Dr Robert K Glah 12 years ago
SC punishment is Christian and Just because it guarantees our freedom from the Evil One. The purpose of the rule of law and the SC is to guarantee our freedom from bondage now and till the end of time.
Kofi 12 years ago
The SC is not supposed to do anything "Christian" because they were not appointed as Christians. Please, keep Christianity out of here. You're supposed to know better with your "Dr" boldly in front of your name!
Dr Robert K Glah 12 years ago
Hi Kofi, your critiq is shallow on understanding metaphor. There is nothing in the Dr's metaphorical comment as you think.
Mankind 12 years ago
Sam Okudzeto has always been on the side of good law nothing but that!! One good guy from across the river. I salute you Sam!
EZEKIEL 12 years ago
You take 5 Judges OR Lawyers and you get 7 judgements!. Good so,that way we'll be FORCED to think a bit more....even those of us NOT lawyers or with NO formal education in law.!!
FREEDOM MUST be limited IN ORDER to be posses ... read full comment
You take 5 Judges OR Lawyers and you get 7 judgements!. Good so,that way we'll be FORCED to think a bit more....even those of us NOT lawyers or with NO formal education in law.!!
FREEDOM MUST be limited IN ORDER to be possessed!
Isaac 12 years ago
Is this man,an attorney of law? Rude and arrogant does not constitute crime. The court should have elaborated which statement of these men was criminal. What about if the statement were correct? Is the Superior court infallible? These court should remember the journalist,whether for NDC/NPP) fought together with Adu Boahen to break culture of silence. Jailing is not the answer; we need explanation. None of these justices is infallible.
Gyekye 12 years ago
The military has no business in governance, no matter how rotten a government might be.
Gyekye 12 years ago
The bench explained that Kens statement purported that they were bias and partial, without giving any tangible reason for his vilifications of the bench. The Judges had stated clearly that "anyone who crosses the final touchline", will be dealt with.
Why on earth did Ken Kurankye make claims of various offensive statements made before the final warning of the Judges, and use that as a reason to call the Judges bias? ANY HUMAN BEING WITH BRAINS IN HIS HEAD WILL KNOW HOW STUPID KEN WAS IN MAKING SUCH STATEMENTS. IT MAKES NO SENSE. THE GUY IS JUST BLOCK-HEADED.
If someone made offensive comments after the final warning and the Judges did nothing, it'd have made sense to call them bias.
SEAMANUK 12 years ago
NDC FOREVER MATCH ON
OZA 12 years ago
Why are people arguing about spilt milk? The offenders are already in prison. Let Ghanaians learn a lesson and understand that free speech comes with accountability. Is it a free speech in Ghana to tell your parents that they are "fools"? If no, WHY?
FRANK 12 years ago
Hilipolla as the Spanish would say.A dirty hypocrite! Who wants his opinion on this issue? Useless old man!
Prof Lungu 12 years ago
Sad Okudzeto, "...former President of the Ghana Bar Association..."
Happy a member of the Ghana Press was arrested for speaking by a judge, was trailed by the same judge, was found guilty by the same judge, and was sentenced to prison by the same judge.
A sad day for Ghana, and pathetic for Mr. Sam Okudzeto,
Bobo Dread 12 years ago
I donlt understand why Ken was punished for standing up to explain the situation. In this age and day of free speech, Atubuga has set a dangerous position, but maybe the problem is that if all speech is free (like in the US) then there have to be precedents set so that they are not overcome. I am not sure hos speech was of hatred or criminal so why the punitive measures?
Azunto 12 years ago
you said "like in US" right?do you think US will give you a chance to talk like that,like how Ghanaian people talk?go US and try it and see,even though they are always talking about democracy and free of speech,but just try in and see what your ass will smell.......
Kwaku A. Danso 12 years ago
So in Ghana a Judge can become a Lawmaker, Judge and Jury and Executioner at the same time?
Where is the balance of powers, then?
Even though I do not agree with the threat made by Ken Kuranchie or Atubiga, this is a sa ... read full comment
So in Ghana a Judge can become a Lawmaker, Judge and Jury and Executioner at the same time?
Even though I do not agree with the threat made by Ken Kuranchie or Atubiga, this is a sad day for Ghana if the person insulted, if that is the issue, is allowed power to bring charges, convict and sentence.
It is an abuse of power, folks! Ghanaians, please wake up! that is not how real democracy works!
If our Judges want to be activist Judges, why don't the members of the Supreme Court do their own investigation and find out why malaria for example is not being controlled and Ghanaian officials still allow open gutters and people urinating in public and defecating in beaches, sucn unsanitary environments contributing to diseases and the death of an estimated 100,000 per year!
These Judges have set Ghana back with this abuse of power!
Prof Lungu 12 years ago
Kwaku A. Danso,
Maybe we've not been following these events as closely.
But we've not read or seen anything that shows Mr. Ken Kuranchie making a "threat" of any kind.
But surely, we agree with your assessment: "It i ... read full comment
Kwaku A. Danso,
But we've not read or seen anything that shows Mr. Ken Kuranchie making a "threat" of any kind.
But surely, we agree with your assessment: "It is an abuse of power."
prince kwadwo 12 years ago
we have to go back to use our old repulic cnstitution
Joe Boateng ---Dabaa . 12 years ago
It will not suprise me,if someone jail term made you so happy,you these inward looking people parade around if your brother is in trouble.You these Ewe's will be way behind all the tribes until thy Kindom come.May God bless you with your happyness OFUIDZETO.
kofi 12 years ago
I think the Ghana Bar should be ashamed of its self for refusing to take part in the consultative assembly that wrote the 1992 constitution. Now the same constitution they refused to take part ios what they are now using to give sentences.
George Best. 12 years ago
MOST OF US,LAYMEN,FELT THE SUPREME COURT HAD NOT EXERCISED JUSTICE IN THE WAY THEY WENT ABOUT THE CASES IN QUESTION BUT AFTER THE EXPLANATION OF THE TECHNICALITIES IN THE WHOLE MATTER,I NOW UNDERSTAND THAT THE JUDGEMENT IS VERY APPROPRIATE. SUCH EXPLANATIONS ARE VERY IMPORTANT IN MATTERS OF THIS NATURE.
MY APPEAL TO MR SAM OKUJETO IS THAT HE SHOULD DO GHANAIANS THE FAVOR OF DOING THE JOB OF `RADIO LAWYER' FOR US.
I REMEMBER MY LATE DANSOMAN E.P. CHURCH FATHER, LAWYER E.D. KOM(OF BLESSED MEMORY).I WISH HE WERE ALIVE TODAY, MAY THE ALMIGHTY GOD KEEP HIS SPIRIT SAFE. E.D. KOM WAS ALWAYS READY TO ENLIGHTEN GHANAIANS ON MATTERS OF THIS NATURE,PEOPLE WERE ALWAYS SATISFIED WITH HIS EXPLANATIONS.
PLEASE, HONORABLE SAM OKUJETO, FILL THAT GAP FOR US IF YOU HAVE SOME FREE TIME, YOU ARE A RESITORY OF KNOWLEDGE SO FAR AS LEGAL ISSUES ARE CONCERNED. DADDY,PLEASE HELP US!
George Best. 12 years ago
CORRECTION; REPOSITORY.
SULE 12 years ago
I support wholeheartedly the sentence meted out to Ken Kuranchie. It was appropriate and it served the purpose.
For the miscreant by the name of Atubiga, who had the temerity and the unbridled braggadocio to state that, he ... read full comment
I support wholeheartedly the sentence meted out to Ken Kuranchie. It was appropriate and it served the purpose.
For the miscreant by the name of Atubiga, who had the temerity and the unbridled braggadocio to state that, he was talking with the express approval of the contested President and by his authority, I think the Court was a bit lenient with his sentence.
This uncouth idiot had the bloody guts on the orders of John Mahama to say that, the NDC party was not going to accept the verdict of the court. Well, we know what the consequences of such nonsensical comments coming from the mouth piece of John Mahama has landed him.
This is just a warning to all those uninitiated miscreants parading their nonsense on radio for the likes of John Mahama and co. to have a somber reflection on their utterances and bear in mind that, stupidity and their penchant for denigrating all the institutions of state, the clergy, the civil society organizations by their lawless behavior has no space, no room whatsoever at the supreme court of the land.
kofi 12 years ago
“It is time for us to [exercise] restraint and to begin to appreciate that freedom of speech does not give you a license to be abusive, to be arrogant, to be insulting, and I think this is what happened in court yesterday, and I'm so happy about it,” he stated.
Mr. Okudzeto said the comments attributed to Ken Kuranchie were rude and arrogant, and his lawyers should have sought to mitigate instead of attempting to explain as they did in court.
mahama must come clean 12 years ago
USELESS NDC INCOMPETENTS,VISIONLESS,ALL WHAT NDC MAHAMA KNOW IS CORRUPTS GHANA,SHAME UNTO MAHAMA AND HIS CORRUPTS NDC PARTY
Every one should shut up!!!
pepeni after appointing mainly his alajih incompetent idiots is again lying saying winner takes all is unfortunate , the hypocrisy is unbelievable and very insulting. he is leading Ghana on a roller-coaster straight to war an ...
Remember when npp told their followers to dress in white and go to church for thanksgiving even when the final results were not complete just to make a case that they had been robbed so is this one too. In fact, the SC is rea ...
We must be circumspect in the way we comment on freedom of speech and dispencing of law by the justices in the supreme court since bestowing all powers on them will be like voting for a head of state who is power drunk to rul ...
Freedom of Speech does not mean Freedom of Recklessness. There is nothing free without responsibility. This is a good beginning of the introduction of sanctity and decency in the way we go about the so-called Freedom of Speec ...
In any judicial proceeding, especially in criminal proceedings where a defendant's liberty is at stake, a court cannot arrogate to itself the power to be judge and juror. That runs against any tenet of judicial norms and cann ...
Did Woyome, Waterville and Isofoton defend themselves at the Suprem ...
Why do people like you bother? Abi you have access to internet. Listen ...
What the Ga's and Ewe's are waiting for? They should hit the street and demand justice. They should bear in mind that their lives are not safe in Ghana begins from 2/july/2013, since Kennedy agyapong was free man now . Defend ...
If you live in Ghana and know how some people have spread far ...
FREEDOM MUST be limited IN ORDER to be posses ...
Is this man,an attorney of law? Rude and arrogant does not constitute crime. The court should have elaborated which statement of these men was criminal. What about if the statement were correct? Is the Superior court infallib ...
The bench explained that Kens statement purported that they were bias and partial, without giving any tangible reason for his vilifications of the bench. The Judges had stated clearly that "anyone who crosses the final touchl ...
NDC FOREVER MATCH ON
Why are people arguing about spilt milk? The offenders are already in prison. Let Ghanaians learn a lesson and understand that free speech comes with accountability. Is it a free speech in Ghana to tell your parents that they ...
Happy a member of the Ghana Press was arrested for speaking by a judge, was trailed by the same judge, was found guilty by the same judge, and was sentenc ...
I donlt understand why Ken was punished for standing up to explain the situation. In this age and day of free speech, Atubuga has set a dangerous position, but maybe the problem is that if all speech is free (like in the US) ...
you said "like in US" right?do you think US will give you a chance to talk like that,like how Ghanaian people talk?go US and try it and see,even though they are always talking about democracy and free of speech,but just try ...
Even though I do not agree with the threat made by Ken Kuranchie or Atubiga, this is a sa ...
Kwaku A. Danso,
But surely, we agree with your assessment: "It i ...
It will not suprise me,if someone jail term made you so happy,you these inward looking people parade around if your brother is in trouble.You these Ewe's will be way behind all the tribes until thy Kindom come.May God bless y ...
I think the Ghana Bar should be ashamed of its self for refusing to take part in the consultative assembly that wrote the 1992 constitution. Now the same constitution they refused to take part ios what they are now using to g ...
MOST OF US,LAYMEN,FELT THE SUPREME COURT HAD NOT EXERCISED JUSTICE IN THE WAY THEY WENT ABOUT THE CASES IN QUESTION BUT AFTER THE EXPLANATION OF THE TECHNICALITIES IN THE WHOLE MATTER,I NOW UNDERSTAND THAT THE JUDGEMENT IS VE ...
CORRECTION; REPOSITORY.
For the miscreant by the name of Atubiga, who had the temerity and the unbridled braggadocio to state that, he ...
“It is time for us to [exercise] restraint and to begin to appreciate that freedom of speech does not give you a license to be abusive, to be arrogant, to be insulting, and I think this is what happened in court yesterday, ...
oO3eqH Major thankies for the article. Great.