It is very clear Justice Atuguba wants to cower the populace. What kind of justice does he want to be, a say-so yes sir master justice? Atuguba must be told he is not a law unto himself. If he is going to punish those who criticize him, he might as well convict those who praise him. Both must be seen as contempt of court. He cannot be allowed to be autocratic to the extent he can only hear what he wants to hear. Such people can only have fools for counsel. Nonsense!
In my candid opinion Sammy Awuku should not have apologized for anything as he did no wrong whatsoever to merit his hauling before Justice Atuguba's court.
Here is my take. There is a presidential election petition case going on at the Supreme Court that calls for all the seriousness and attention of the judges presiding. And there is also the Court of Public Opinion that is paying keen interest at what is going on and making their own free observation and opinion of what is going at the Supreme Court. One of those days out of the blue Justice Atuguba singled out the Daily Guide for admonition in his court. To this Sammy Awuku responded was selective and prejudicial.
And he is absolutely right.
a) Justice Atuguba cannot play ostrich and deaf to the many newspapers, a lot of them NDC rented press, that have been passing comments on how he is running his court. So he was selective.
b) Justice Atuguba was prejudicial as he cannot be allowed to be the policeman, prosecutor and judge in his own court. What process did he avail the Daily Guide to defend themselves? And to autocratically repeat the dose on Sammy Awuku without the benefit of legal process and be represented by a legal counsel. So he was prejudicial.
This is not PNDC days with kangaroo courts euphemistically called Peoples Tribunals. Mob tribunals would have been a more fitting label.
My Comments:
1) Justice Atuguba is/was probably against the live broadcast of the court case and he is mischievously and deliberately laying the grounds to disallow live broadcast of future Supreme Court cases that would peek the interests of the people so that they can stab the people at the back with the curtains pulled together.
2) Sammy Awuku did not pass any comment on the substantive case that is in front of the Supreme Court - the election petition - to which Atuguba should concentrate on instead of looking over his shoulders and monitoring what is going on in the media.
3) By his actions he has proven himself to be a bully and brought himself into disrepute as he seems to suggest he is influenced by what is going on in the press. Why is he not calling out those who are praising him in the press except those who are criticizing him? Are both - criticism and praise - not two sides of the same coin? If he hates criticisms he should in equal measure hate praises, I say.
4) Freedom of speech is a fundamental human right and he cannot tell me that he is so frail and weak that he needs to protect himself with contempt of court threats.
5) His whole conduct leaves no mistake and doubt in the minds of the people that his biases lies with the NDC as all his threats have been targeted mostly to the NPP. Here was a judge who scorned Bawumia that he is a doctor and therefore he should not give long and "winding" explanations to questions from Tsikata and yet he would sit there and let Afari Djan ran riot with his long lectures on simple questions. And then again he recently queried Addison whether he is done with his cross examinations (has he made up his mind as to how he is going to judge?) when he did not make any such demands on ex-convict Tsatsu Tsikata on his repeating the same question day in day out. Some judge!!
6) If he has not heard it before, let me make it loud and clear to him that I think he is biased against the NPP. And that is my opinion and I am entitled to it. He can't do foko!!!
What the blistering is he doing policing the media and air waves when he should concentrate on the substantive case in front of him? Is he afraid the people are watching over his shoulders? If you think you can charge us with contempt of court, we can also charge you with contempt of public opinion. Clown!!!
Paul Amuna 12 years ago
Some of you simply never get it. It is not about Atuguba. He does not make any unilateral decisions. What is wrong with you guys? Why can't you be fair and balanced in your reactions and comments on these matters for once?
Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 12 years ago
Mr Atubiga apologised profusely and yet he was also given a custodial sentence so Law Lecturer Adjabeng's claim is not supported by what happened yesterday. Personally, I disagree with the SC for the fact that the jail term appeared too highhanded.
PAA 12 years ago
Remember when npp told their followers to dress in white and go to church for thanksgiving even when the final results were not complete just to make a case that they had been robbed so is this one too. In fact, the SC is really wasting time that is why this crooks think they still stand a chance, where on earth have you seen SC removing democratically elected president and putting in a 70 years old drug baron, greedy and arrogant man as president? You have been found out and God will punish you for wasting Ghanaian tax-payers money. Npp is now for dogs, especially with people like sir john in the helm of affairs of the party. Npp will soon die and a new party formed in its place
PALMWINE SELLER 12 years ago
THANK U OYOKOBA NOW I CAN SAY U ARE A TRUE GHANAIN. ATU BUGA BUGA IS GOING TO SEND US INTO WAR MARK MY WORD AND I HOE HE WILL CALL ME TO COME TO THE SUPREME COURT. ATU BUGA BUGA IS SICK IN THE HEAD AND MAY BE FEELS LIKE HE IS ON TOP OF THE WORLD.
insight to the bone 12 years ago
pepeni after appointing mainly his alajih incompetent idiots is again lying saying winner takes all is unfortunate , the hypocrisy is unbelievable and very insulting. he is leading Ghana on a roller-coaster straight to war and ethnic hatred that will never end . even the security agencies of the world see this and have advisd their govt to enforce strict immigration terms for our people since they dont want millions of refugees on their doorsteps . these pepefuo are destroying everything and instead of talking of a decentralized govt or federation they continue to finalize on their plans of the colonization of the Akans by appointing people who are not from the areas to be in charge . the only way forward is a govt of the people and by the people so let it be known who is responsible for this mess
Willam 12 years ago
Insight to bone the bone or whatever you cowardly call yourself, ask your mother and father if you don't carry the same 'pepeni' blood in you. When you find out you can choose to wish yourself out of existence or do some 'sankofa' soul searching!
Paul Amuna 12 years ago
If you think that the purpose of education is to raise people who can transform society for the better, one sometimes wonders how these so-called law 'luminaries' and other 'intellectuals' managed to obtain their degrees in the first place when they can be so 'dangerous' to society.
Kwadwo A 12 years ago
Kissi is teaching legon law students the wrong thing and that is why some of the lawyers we have do not know much about the law. He should be made to resign his post.
Vuvuzela 12 years ago
I concur, again, Paul!
There should be such a time that Ghanaians should stand up and say, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH to the insults, disrespect, disdain for authority or neighbor and generalized indiscipline.
What is freedom of ... read full comment
I concur, again, Paul!
There should be such a time that Ghanaians should stand up and say, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH to the insults, disrespect, disdain for authority or neighbor and generalized indiscipline.
What is freedom of speech if it makes idiots of us all and laughing stock to the world when they think we are so uncultivated that we don't know when to distinguish between making sense and stupidity?
OBURONIBA FITAFITA 12 years ago
Freedom of speech is a democratic mechanism exercised and guaranteed in its usage to identify the plausibles from distastes.
A society which is devoid and intolerant of such variance lacks plurality, the most essential el ... read full comment
Freedom of speech is a democratic mechanism exercised and guaranteed in its usage to identify the plausibles from distastes.
A society which is devoid and intolerant of such variance lacks plurality, the most essential element of civilization - democracy.
Over the annals practitioners of political science have been besieged with the question over when to draw a line. Do advantages that arise out of unflinching adherence to democratic ideals outweigh the opposite ?
A more dangerous result of suppressing free speech comes with breeding latent volcanic sentiments awaiting the least provocation to erupt. And that is rather uglier and more unacceptable than a simple contemptible condemnation.
Our minds must be strong to accept the good with the bad even the ugly. Our society is a composition of it : it works better when those in authority tune the ugly ones out while engaging with seriousness.
Mama Tula 12 years ago
It is the Professor's opinion and he is so entitled to it. For at least seventy per cent of Ghanaians we need law and as well as some sort of sanity in Ghana.
Otherwise this country will soon turn to a Banana Republic.
It is the Professor's opinion and he is so entitled to it. For at least seventy per cent of Ghanaians we need law and as well as some sort of sanity in Ghana.
Mama Tula 12 years ago
Please correct to read .... we need law and order as well as some sort of sanity...
Willam 12 years ago
Just imagine how and what he will be teaching!! Hope his students have already taken note for necessary processing of his thought process!
Ofosuhene 12 years ago
park your stuff and join Ken in prison
KANAWU 12 years ago
you mean 'PACK' YOUR STUFF...
Fos of Ct US 12 years ago
What is discretion. I don't have time for this for sale npp lawyers
Nana 12 years ago
Can these journalist and lawyers practiced in any developed country?
We have laws, customs and traditions yet there is so much indiscipline in our societies all because of politics,
What the judges have started should be su ... read full comment
We have laws, customs and traditions yet there is so much indiscipline in our societies all because of politics,
What the judges have started should be sustain to help maintain law and order.
baaba kofi 12 years ago
the gentle is still not mature in law. he is not qualified to be a law lecturer. he should sit up and pollute our future lawyers. shame kissi.
AMPOSAH 12 years ago
ANOTHER CRIMINAL CONTEMPT CASE IN MAKING
KB 12 years ago
My worry is not about the issue of contempt or not. I am rather deeply worried about the level of incompetence shown by some of the Supreme court Judges,especially some of the female justices. I sometimes get embarrassed when i listen to some of their submissions and interventions. They seem not to understand or have a clue to some of the issues bieng raised and confuse themselves and others with thier rather infantile arguements. And this country is going to depend on the decision of this people to determine who rules us?We must be Joking big time.
Yaw 12 years ago
My sentiments exactly. After listening to them making useless submissions and even joking about the people accused of contempt, I was left with no doubt that the JSCs are amateurish.
AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 12 years ago
ANY TIME I READ THIS MAN KURANCHIE ARTICLE MY HEART BLEED. OUR FOREFATHER'S FOUGHT HARD FOR OUR COUNTRY GHANA; WE SHOULD RESPECT OUR FLAG, NOT THE PARTY.
Nii Addotey 12 years ago
Do you mean the Holy Spirit is not a Liar? Be very careful with what you write!
Nii Addotey 12 years ago
Did you mean to write the HOLY SPIRIT IS NOT A LIAR?
Real KT 12 years ago
I believe he meant "Is holy spirit a liar?"
KANAWU 12 years ago
AKASI THIS TITLE COULD COST YOU YOUR LIFE, PLEASE DO NOT BLASPHEM AGAINST THE HOLY SPIRIT, THAT IS NOT FORGIVABLE!
ghanaman 12 years ago
Some of these clueless lawyers and so-called lawyer profs have drained my appetite for law. These npp activists feel no shame for themselves and the law profession. One would think after the self-acclaimed npp legal luminaries including Akyea, Otchere-Darku, etc. screwed Ken's life with their bogus legal advice, they would hide in shame. But no, not the all knowing npp activists. Their petition is exposing their pompous ignorance. Empty barrels make the most noise indeed.
GO MAN GO 12 years ago
The lawyers before court do not disagree with the Court decision.
The parties secretariats should have warned its commentators but each was jockeying for advantage..Actually, we would even have appreciated professional views of this lecturer on criminal contempt of Court before things got to this stage.
After the fact critics are not very much appreciated.
YAW FORSON 12 years ago
Kissi Adajabeng you are a very stupid fool! It is things like you who are the problems this country is facing.And you said you are a lecture! My foot! Until you idiots and educated fools stop the undermining of the court, dirty things like this big nose idiot called Kuranchie would continue to disrespect the court.After all, it is you people who packed it.Nonsense!
BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 12 years ago
What the Ga's and Ewe's are waiting for? They should hit the street and demand justice. They should bear in mind that their lives are not safe in Ghana begins from 2/july/2013, since Kennedy agyapong was free man now . Defend ur selves in any form that u wanted to. God bless the Ga's and the Ewe's.
Donboli 12 years ago
Shame to Ghana supreme court. Atuguba is the leading judge deal with the most important thing that will happen after independence, where is he getting all that time to do that.
Do you mean no other workers (judges) in the s ... read full comment
Shame to Ghana supreme court. Atuguba is the leading judge deal with the most important thing that will happen after independence, where is he getting all that time to do that.
Do you mean no other workers (judges) in the supreme court heard what Atubiga said. The supreme court should have a different judge to judge them not Atuguba. Atuguba cant be the only judge in ghana. How selfish can he be, we gave you a petition to work on, now you have to judge criminal contempt.
Enough Atuguba share dont be greedy ghana has other judges.
Amicus 12 years ago
I'm not sure if this lawyer goes to court. All he knows is what is written in the books. There are many of them like that.
Rans 12 years ago
Dear disgraceful lawyer Kissi,in every court in this world, defendants get lesser punishment if they show remorse. That does not mean everyone who shows remorse gets a lesser punishment though. Before the panel arrive at a decision, remorse is one of the things which is taken into consideration.
As a lawyer and a lecturer I guess you should know better.
ATO 12 years ago
How can this guy be a lecturer of law?
oregun , usa 12 years ago
GOOD JOB, THE SUPAR 9,I MEAN THE SC, JUDGES. GHANA WAS BECOMING, A LAWLESS COUNTRY, AND IT WAS TIME, MR KARIKARI PLEASE JUST SHUT UP, THE JUDGES DID AGOOD JOB, FREEDOM IN AMERICA IS NOT CHEAP, COME LEARN SOME GOOD STUFF, FOR YUR CLASSROOM
GOOD CALL 12 years ago
We don't care. Danger from the courts is better than the lawlessness being displayed by these half-baked journalists and unemployed semi-literate self appointed party spokespersons.
Kwaku, UG 12 years ago
Why did Atuguba ask Sammy Awuku whether he has seen his size after he was let go? Was it to humiliate him?
Mensah-Bonsu 12 years ago
What is wrong with Ghanaians. What are you doing to Free Speech? The Supreme Court may have to put thousands of Ghanaians in prison because it is clear not everybody in Ghana is saying nice things about the Supreme Court.
... read full comment
What is wrong with Ghanaians. What are you doing to Free Speech? The Supreme Court may have to put thousands of Ghanaians in prison because it is clear not everybody in Ghana is saying nice things about the Supreme Court.
Ghana is not a police state. The Supreme Court has jurisdiction only within the "4 walls" of the court in which it operates and not outside. This means the Supreme Court can cite someone for contempt within its Court room not outside of it. I do not think those "contemptuous" pronouncements were within the precinct of the Supreme Court. And even in Court, a presumed culprit is warned at least once, before being cited for contempt. Whatever happens outside of the court is the jurisdiction of the Minister of Interior, his/her Police and Judicial Services.
By the way, do Ghanaians realize that the 1992 Constitution itself is a flawed Instrument? It was signed by a soldier who had removed a democratically/constitutionally elected president from power. To date Parliament evokes PNDC laws when addressing issues (on the pretext that Ghanaians voted for it in a referendum). How many of those who voted really understood what they were voting for. Sure, many people hailed J.J. when he removed Limann, but how many of those really understood that what he did was treasonous?
Watch out Ghanaians, what is going on is not good. How does an ordinary citizen who has never stepped into a Law School classroom know that what comes out of his/her mouth may be contemptuous and To Whom. The Supreme Court should publish a whole set of words, phrases, statements and insinuations that it considers contemptuous for us to buy and carry with us wherever we go to avoid being thrown into prison. God bless Ghana.
princewilly@ymail.com 12 years ago
Noah was taking the animals into the ark in pairs as he had been commanded by God. He took in elephants, giraffes, cows, bears, monkeys and all the animals. Finally he tried to take in a donkey. He told the donkey to go in but the donkey would not go in. He tried pushing the donkey in but the donkey would not move. He tried pulling the donkey in but the donkey would not move. As he was getting exasperated he said to the donkey, "Get in you devil." Eventually after many more attempts he succeeded in enticing the donkey into the ark. However when Noah was inside in the ark he also noticed that there was a devil in the ark. He asked the devil how did you get in here and he replied, "You told me to get in". This shows that when we are angry we say all sorts of things that we are sorry for afterwards.
THE SUPREME COURT CANNOT FRIGHTEN PEOPLE FOR WHAT THEY SAY.NO HUMAN BEING CAN TAME HIS OR HER TONGUE .
WE TAME ANIMALS,BUT WE CANNOT TAME THE TONGUE.VERY SOON THE SUPREME COURT HAS TO JAIL ALL GHANAIAN'S FOR WHAT THEY SAY.SUPREME COURT IS NOW A BULLY.
Kojo 12 years ago
Dangerous? Dangerous to whom. If you make music you must dance to it sir. Remove the partisan spectrum and you'd see clearly before making pronouncement. Yet again that is NPP modus oprandi
Sorry sir, I am a staunch Nkrumahist. My name does not make me an NPP sympathizer or member. Thanks. Mensah-Bonsu
Kojo 12 years ago
Can you call your own father a hypocrite, even if you have supporting facts. Why wouldn't you? Is it because of respect? Well if anybody can just go to denigrate the sc judges then who will uphold the law when the need arises. But again it seem to me that some Akan people are bent on say it is okay to be irresponsible and no one can hold your feet to the fire. May be I can come to your lecture hall and call you irresponsible in front of your students and you tell how you take it.
If words go around campus about me insulting you, how would answer you colleague on how you dealt with the situation? Well, your answer will determine if someone else can insult your colleagues and see how it will reflect on the university. This why you need to put the partisan cloak down if you have an itch to speaking public.
I hope we can all keep ethnicity out of this discussion. My concern is about Ghana. You have every right to disagree with me but please don't put me in an "ethnic corner". I was born to Ashanti parents but I am first and foremost a Ghanaian. I do not belong to the NPP, nor NDC.
Sure, if my father is a hypocrite I will find a nice way and the appropriate time to tell him, BUT I cannot expect everyone to do the same. And I do not think my father will disown me for telling him the truth (even though I may be wrong in his opinion, and even, for a fact).
I will never encourage anyone to insult any member on the Supreme Court. Then again, I will not deprive anyone of his/her free speech, ESPECIALLY if that person is not told where the boundaries lie - unfortunately, the boundary can be so malleable ('stretchable') and citizens should be told when they are going too far, that is, they should be warned and not put in prison. The fact that this happened shortly after Mr. Awuku was pardoned tells me that not even 'the educated' clearly know where the "line" should be drawn. Let the discussion continue. Thanks. Mensah-Bonsu
WILLIE 12 years ago
TRAVEL TO THE USA AND AUSTRALIA A 2 YEAR WORK PERMIT.
CALL WILLIE ON 0249318847 FOR
FURTHER INFO.THANKS
Concerned Citizen 12 years ago
Unless we all learn to tolerate different views (including the Supreme Court) we are doomed. We seem to worship "big men" even when they are goofy. The SC erred on the sentences.
Whatever 12 years ago
When Ken Koranchie was aked to to account for his provocative publication, he tried justifying it from the start but after he was pushed to the wall, he quickly broke out pleading for mercy in a reluctant way. That conduct didn't win favour from the judges who has the power to declare you guilty or innocent
Kwame Ninson 12 years ago
Ghana's Supreme Court = A Kangaroo Court.
Kwame Ninson 12 years ago
Ghana is already a Banana Republic with Kangaroo Supreme court.
George Best. 12 years ago
KISSI`S FEAR IS THE FACT THAT THE SC`S JUDGEMENT SEEMED TO BE BASED ON HOW APOLOGETIC THE CULPRIT IS. THIS, AS KISSI HAS RIGHTLY SAID,IS DANGEROUS SINCE A PRECEDENCE HAS BEEN SET FOR FUTURE REFERENCE.
IN AS MUCH AS CONTEMPT ... read full comment
KISSI`S FEAR IS THE FACT THAT THE SC`S JUDGEMENT SEEMED TO BE BASED ON HOW APOLOGETIC THE CULPRIT IS. THIS, AS KISSI HAS RIGHTLY SAID,IS DANGEROUS SINCE A PRECEDENCE HAS BEEN SET FOR FUTURE REFERENCE.
IN AS MUCH AS CONTEMPTUOUS STATEMENTS MUST NOT BE ENCOURAGED, CARE SHOULD BE TAKEN WHEN OFFENDERS ARE BEING DEALT WITH SO AS NOT TO CREAT `DANGEROUS PROCEDURES' THAT MAY IMPIGN ON FREEDOM ENJOYED BY THE AVERAGE GAHANAIAN.
ANOTHER IGNORANT LAWYER AND LECTURER!!!
Nonsense galore.
It is very clear Justice Atuguba wants to cower the populace. What kind of justice does he want to be, a say-so yes sir master justice? Atuguba must be told he is not a law unto himself. If he is going to punish those who cri ...
Mr Atubiga apologised profusely and yet he was also given a custodial sentence so Law Lecturer Adjabeng's claim is not supported by what happened yesterday. Personally, I disagree with the SC for the fact that the jail term a ...
Remember when npp told their followers to dress in white and go to church for thanksgiving even when the final results were not complete just to make a case that they had been robbed so is this one too. In fact, the SC is rea ...
THANK U OYOKOBA NOW I CAN SAY U ARE A TRUE GHANAIN. ATU BUGA BUGA IS GOING TO SEND US INTO WAR MARK MY WORD AND I HOE HE WILL CALL ME TO COME TO THE SUPREME COURT. ATU BUGA BUGA IS SICK IN THE HEAD AND MAY BE FEELS LIKE HE I ...
pepeni after appointing mainly his alajih incompetent idiots is again lying saying winner takes all is unfortunate , the hypocrisy is unbelievable and very insulting. he is leading Ghana on a roller-coaster straight to war an ...
Insight to bone the bone or whatever you cowardly call yourself, ask your mother and father if you don't carry the same 'pepeni' blood in you. When you find out you can choose to wish yourself out of existence or do some 'san ...
If you think that the purpose of education is to raise people who can transform society for the better, one sometimes wonders how these so-called law 'luminaries' and other 'intellectuals' managed to obtain their degrees in t ...
I concur, again, Paul!
What is freedom of ...
A society which is devoid and intolerant of such variance lacks plurality, the most essential el ...
What the judges have started should be su ...
My worry is not about the issue of contempt or not. I am rather deeply worried about the level of incompetence shown by some of the Supreme court Judges,especially some of the female justices. I sometimes get embarrassed when ...
Some of these clueless lawyers and so-called lawyer profs have drained my appetite for law. These npp activists feel no shame for themselves and the law profession. One would think after the self-acclaimed npp legal luminarie ...
The parties secretariats should have warned its commentators but each was jockeying for advantage..Actually, we would even have appreciated professional view ...
Kissi Adajabeng you are a very stupid fool! It is things like you who are the problems this country is facing.And you said you are a lecture! My foot! Until you idiots and educated fools stop the undermining of the court, dir ...
What the Ga's and Ewe's are waiting for? They should hit the street and demand justice. They should bear in mind that their lives are not safe in Ghana begins from 2/july/2013, since Kennedy agyapong was free man now . Defend ...
Do you mean no other workers (judges) in the s ...
Dear disgraceful lawyer Kissi,in every court in this world, defendants get lesser punishment if they show remorse. That does not mean everyone who shows remorse gets a lesser punishment though. Before the panel arrive at a d ...
GOOD JOB, THE SUPAR 9,I MEAN THE SC, JUDGES. GHANA WAS BECOMING, A LAWLESS COUNTRY, AND IT WAS TIME, MR KARIKARI PLEASE JUST SHUT UP, THE JUDGES DID AGOOD JOB, FREEDOM IN AMERICA IS NOT CHEAP, COME LEARN SOME GOOD STUFF, FOR ...
Noah was taking the animals into the ark in pairs as he had been commanded by God. He took in elephants, giraffes, cows, bears, monkeys and all the animals. Finally he tried to take in a donkey. He told the donkey to go in bu ...
Can you call your own father a hypocrite, even if you have supporting facts. Why wouldn't you? Is it because of respect? Well if anybody can just go to denigrate the sc judges then who will uphold the law when the need arises ...
I hope we can all keep ethnicity out of this discussion. My concern is about Ghana. You have every right to disagree with me but please don't put me in an "ethnic corner". I was born to Ashanti parents but I am first and fore ...
FURTHER INFO.THANKS
When Ken Koranchie was aked to to account for his provocative publication, he tried justifying it from the start but after he was pushed to the wall, he quickly broke out pleading for mercy in a reluctant way. That conduct di ...
IN AS MUCH AS CONTEMPT ...