We are interested in what 'President' Mahama has got to say as his response. The earlier, the better for all Ghanaians!!
OSBON 12 years ago
This is wake up call to all Ghanaians.
I am thinking of leaving UK after 35 years possibly with my siblings if they will come.
The next thing I could see happening to us in UK to find some means to Deport us back to our co ... read full comment
I am thinking of leaving UK after 35 years possibly with my siblings if they will come.
The next thing I could see happening to us in UK to find some means to Deport us back to our country of origin.
I don't want to wait for this like it happens to the Jews in Germany.
But what country are we coming to. I have built house's, school, clinic and Support a Church building in Ghana. Including so many children and old people helped with school fees and health treatments.
But yet I AM NOT HAPPY AT ALL HOME. FOR VERIOUS REASON
Vuvuzela 12 years ago
Why aren't you happy at home?
Is it because of the politics and the errant behavior of our own brothers? That is the question! So many Ghanaians want to come back home but when they consider the indiscipline and lawlessness alone you don't know what to think.
Agyemang 12 years ago
Simple. Africans should remove their leaders and have better leaders who can develop their countries. Kufour, Chiluba, Zuma, etc give the gold and other resources for free, now you see they don't want you? Develop your own country and live in it.
krikri 12 years ago
Yes, they even took Africans BY FORCE and chained them to their countries to WORK FREE, WITHOUT SALARY to build their countries. Today, they don't want to see Africans again. But let's blame pretenders and greedy thieves like Agyekum Kuffour for all these
NEMESIS, UK 12 years ago
When the XENOPHOBIC GHANAIANS imposed their EVIL whopping $300,000 policy on any foreigner including your fellow ECOWAS citizens mostly Nigerians, before they can do any business in Ghana, you did not see it as EVIL AND DRACONIAN.
Now that Britain imposed their £3000 immigration policy, you XENOPHOBIC GHANAIANS are now crying foul. What do you expect? RED CARPET in London?
What moral justification have you Ghanaians got to criticize Britain for her £3000 Immigration rule, when you HATEFUL, WICKED AND XENOPHOBIC Ghanains, with your EVIL BUSIA ACO ORDER and your ALL DIE BE DIE mentalities are 'WORST' than any country in mama Africa, when it comes to the issue of IMMIGRATION AND XENOPHOBIC.
Ghanaians should first of all remove the log in their BLACK STAR EYEs, before pointing their DIRTY FINGERS at the peck in the eyes of Britain.
From Crab Nebula!! USA 12 years ago
If this kind of deposit is a problem for the visitor, then having gotten the visa is undeserved in the first place!!
OLD SOLDIER 12 years ago
Author:-Hon. Martin A.B.K. Amidu.
...The Government exercised the latter option when we disagreed over the judgment debt and other Gargantuan crimes. The Government, and my colleague Ministers at the time know that there was no provision for dismissal under my contract of employment as a Minister or that of any Minster.
I reserve the right as a citizen of Ghana to protect and defend my honour and integrity should this civilized challenge for the truth be ignored.
This is not the price I should be made to pay by the Government of Ghana for defending the Constitution of Ghana in the Waterville and Isofoton unconstitutional payments declared by the Supreme Court.
Esi Atta 12 years ago
Chinese who wish to visit Ghana must pay a bond of $50,000. Mean while, as soon as this law comes into effect, Ghana should reciprocate. Simple!
Sikamanba 12 years ago
Against who- the Chinese or the Brits?
What leverage do we have? Have u thought about that??I guess not.
GHFUO, LOVE/DOR YOURSELF! 12 years ago
WITH ALL THESE ISSUES IN THE UK, PPL ARE STILL GOING THERE, ABI? WAT IS GH DOING TO BETTER LIVING STANDARDS FOR GHFUO? STUPID FOOL
Sikamanba 12 years ago
That is my point! If you that of money continue with what you are doing that brought you such an amount.Invest in Ghana instead of giving it to them to make money of it and at the end you are deported and you lose everything!"
ROMANO 12 years ago
$2,7500.00 REWARD TO KILL WISE-TALK,GH.MONEY TALKS BULL-SHIT WALKS,I HAVE THE CASH READY AND I REALLY MEAN IT. THIS DIRTY YUROBA STINKING DOOGIE NEEDS TO BE KILLED ASAP.
NEMESIS, UK 12 years ago
IT WILL COST ME LESS THAN 1OO GHANA CEDES TO GET RID OF A NINCOMPOOP AND DEMENTED ANIMAL LIKE YOU ROMANO. BE AFRAID, BE VERY AFRAID INDEED.
I AM YOUR NEMESIS.
IT WILL COST ME LESS THAN 1OO GHANA CEDES TO GET RID OF A NINCOMPOOP AND DEMENTED ANIMAL LIKE YOU ROMANO. BE AFRAID, BE VERY AFRAID INDEED.
I AM YOUR NEMESIS.
ROMANO 12 years ago
MONEY TALKS,BULL-SHIT WALKS. I WILL DO WHATEVER IT TAKES TO WIPE YOU OUT OF THIS PLANET. TRUST ME,I REALLY MEAN IT.WILL BE COMING TO GHANA LATER PART OF AUGUST AND WILL GIVE YOU MY ITTENARY
NII TETTEHVI III 12 years ago
very soon, the cops will be knocking at your door. continue to sell ntampi infront of ur kids. stupid fool, u think u are smart
Naa 12 years ago
The UK government has every right to impose any bond that she, fit. No country can tell another country how they should run their government. Pay up of stay away.
Sikamanba 12 years ago
Easy, nemesis, is beautiful Ghana you talking about! We are the warmest and welcoming people in the world. One bad policy does not define us.
We always lift ourselves up and one day no Ghanaian will have any reason to immigr ... read full comment
Easy, nemesis, is beautiful Ghana you talking about! We are the warmest and welcoming people in the world. One bad policy does not define us.
We always lift ourselves up and one day no Ghanaian will have any reason to immigrate.And do not confuse banking business and its demands with tourism and its demands.I hope you get my drift.
And Nigerians will always be our brothers despite your retaliation in the eighties.Can we all get along?!
NEMESIS, UK 12 years ago
Thank you my friend Sikamanba. I totally agreed with you that Ghanaians are some of the 'warmest and welcoming people in the world' I wont take that away from you. Keep it up. But do not forget that there are some BAD EGGS in your midst like that NINCOMPOOP ANIMAL CALLED ROMANO, who is the son of ALOGBOSHIE BITCH, that is spoiling the image of the good people of Ghana.
Sikamanba 12 years ago
It was the npp who showed such indiscipline in UK that has resulted in this policy being instituted!You talk about indiscipline?
You do not take your uncouth behavior at your home to somebody's else home!That is the lesson. ... read full comment
It was the npp who showed such indiscipline in UK that has resulted in this policy being instituted!You talk about indiscipline?
You do not take your uncouth behavior at your home to somebody's else home!That is the lesson. If you come to UK to misbave, then you must pay for its clean up.
You talk about indiscipline!! Please come again!!!
Symbiosis 12 years ago
Nemesis, every country in the world imposes this kind of duty on foreigners wishing to do business in their countries. Ghana was either late in doing so or has just simply raised the quantum of duty required.
There is not ... read full comment
Nemesis, every country in the world imposes this kind of duty on foreigners wishing to do business in their countries. Ghana was either late in doing so or has just simply raised the quantum of duty required.
There is nothing at all wrong about these kinds of duties charged by all govts. Indeed even local and native citizens in various countries are charged with all sorts of hidden and overt duties when they wish to engage in business. It is a way of raising govt revenue.
What is unacceptable is this charging of 'gate fees' to enter other countries. Particularly countries whose current wealth has been created on the blood, sweat, toil and resources of the particular countries which they are charging these gate fees to the exclusion of other countries.
To say that the British are a pack of ungrateful animals is an understatement. They have continued to prey not only on our material and natural resources, but also on our human resources from cleaners through footballers to medics, scientists and politicians. Now this is what we get in return?
The rise of China has now exposed the futility and the lie of the capitalist system whose success has only thrived on the merciless, wicked and voracious exploitation of weaker nations and peoples.
NEMESIS, UK 12 years ago
Thanks my friend 'Symbiosis' for your analytical comment above. I totally agreed with you about your analysis exploitative ways of doing things. Yes you are totally right. I live with them here in UK and I can assured you that I can't wait to get out of the system.
However, how long are we Africans going to wait and look the other way whilst our commonwealth is being exploited not only by the British, but by the Europeans, Chinese, Indians, Arabs etc. But the problems with we Africans is that we are not UNITED.
What is the purpose of AU and ECOWAS, when the citizens of such countries are seen and treated like foreigners in mama Africa? You see, I can stand any act of discrimination against me outside the soil of Africa, but to be called 'ALIENS' in mama Africa is an insult to me a black person. That is the problem between African countries where we do not respect our own kind. In fact, Indians, Lebanese and Obronis have more rights in Africa, than most Africans in some African countries. What a shame!
Why should a Nigerian should be asked to pay $300,000.00, before he or she could set a petty trade in Ghana? How many Ghanainas is being asked to pay any money before be or she could sell bread, kenke or banku in Lagos, Togo, Republic of Benin or even here in London? Think about it.
NEMESIS, UK 12 years ago
should read: I totally agreed with you about analysis of British exploitative ways of doing things.
ROMANO 12 years ago
BULL-SHIT YOU LIVE IN GHANA
Vuvuzela 12 years ago
I can't understand why Ghanaians accuse the UK in its policies. UK simply decides this is the way to go to regulate the Viss issue if people tend to disregard conditions linking to it. We can't do anything it the decide that's what they're going to implement.
It is only in Africa that we refuse rules and regulations and behave like we don't care. Others have their way of life; we can't disrespect our laws and think we could abuse those of others. It is time to tell ourselves the truth.
Asking unnecessary and impertinent questions doesn't help. There are immigrants who respect immigration laws; they don't have problems traveling to and fro.
Ghana is richer than the UK and most of the countries we travel to. If we haven't mismanaged the country no one would have wanted to travel outside. Yet up till date, our leaders still don't get the clear picture that we're being bullied because of the ignoble behavior they showed since independence.
Leave the UK alone.
Kojo 12 years ago
Rawlings, Kuffour, Mills and Mahama gave them Ashanti Goldfields, Tarkwa goldfields, etc, gave them GT (now vodafone), gave them oil, gave them timber, fish, etc all for free. Mahama even pardoned their cocoa smugglers and allowed them to steal cocoa from Ghana. No wonder they don't respect us.
Symbiosis 12 years ago
Our potentially rich country is mismanaged and poor because the same British and their greedy allies undermine nationalist and serious leaders that we get.
They only support or at best, refuse to criticize the incompetent ... read full comment
Our potentially rich country is mismanaged and poor because the same British and their greedy allies undermine nationalist and serious leaders that we get.
They only support or at best, refuse to criticize the incompetent idiots whose ineptitude gives them tons of opportunities to freely and expeditiously exploit us and thereby keep us under-developed.
Vuvuzela 12 years ago
The British didn't have local assistance in undermining those leaders you talk about?
No intelligent person or persons WILL allow others to undermine their efforts, no? Please blame yourselves in you grossly moral corrupt ... read full comment
The British didn't have local assistance in undermining those leaders you talk about?
No intelligent person or persons WILL allow others to undermine their efforts, no? Please blame yourselves in you grossly moral corruption instead of others. While at it, we are all striving day and night to go visit those those who undermined us...
Nicholas J Bedzo 12 years ago
Maham is party to the discursing,with
the UK.Your behaviour in the UK,shows
what type people you are,so they are
trying to ban your entry by inposing
a high bond.Now it affects the poor
who have no money for the tiket an ... read full comment
who have no money for the tiket and the bond,we are not sincer to ourselves,so we have to pay for the
price.
MotherLove 12 years ago
This has nothing to do with any countries president.
ASEM BE BA DABI 12 years ago
At first Ghanaians need no visa to the UK untill Rawlings came and make things unfounded and the UK ask Ghanaians to get visas before entering the UK. NDC is a taboo to Ghana.
Sikamanba 12 years ago
What has he got to say? He the president of Ghana and he wish that Ghana will prosper so its citizens would not be hasty to leave the country.
He has nothing to say- it is a policy by another sovereign state.
Ghanaians sho ... read full comment
What has he got to say? He the president of Ghana and he wish that Ghana will prosper so its citizens would not be hasty to leave the country.
Ghanaians should disabuse their minds that going abroad is a guarantee for good life.
The west is all about commerce. Whatever will generate wealth. Investigation and deportation of overstayed immigrants is expensive. And this is a means to off set that cost. Smart move no matter how unfortunate it looks from our perspective. Bravo UK, bravo!!
Kay 12 years ago
If they implement this law,Ghana and Nigeria should just withdraw from the British Commonwealth.If the British and the Americans are trying to destroy the CIS,just bcos they don't like Russia why should we continue to be in the British Commonwealth?We have been with the British for over 450yrs but can we say we've gained something from them?They have gotten more from us than we do.
THE TRUTH 12 years ago
WHATEVER THE REASON GHANA WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN INCLUDED COS GHANA IS RESPECTED ALL OVER AND WE HAVE BEEN KNOWN AS DECENT PEOPLE BUT THE FOOLISH NPP DEMONSTRATION IN UK DURING MAHAMA VISIT MADE THEM INCLUDE GHANA OUR HARD WON REPUTATION HAS BEEN DENTED BY THIS NPP HOOLIGANS WHAT A SHAME WHY DO WE CRY THEN
Vuvuzela 12 years ago
Who knows Ghana as decent? Decent people don't ruin their country and think about going to other people's countries to slave.
Decent people don't mismanage their country and don't have a clue about checking corruption in t ... read full comment
Who knows Ghana as decent? Decent people don't ruin their country and think about going to other people's countries to slave.
Decent people don't mismanage their country and don't have a clue about checking corruption in their country.
Concerned 12 years ago
Kwasi rat, it was clarified only yesterday that its business as usual and we can all apply without any 3k bond. For the last 20 years or so, various British governments have made similar policy proposals without actually carrying it out.
By the way, Ghana is rightly kicking out illegal Chinese migrants and any country does have the right to control immigration as they see fit. Hypocrite
lorna torronto canada 12 years ago
this should apply to the chiness who want to come to Ghana to destroy our land digging for gold.they should also deposit 3000 pounds before visa is issue
nike 12 years ago
kwesi pratt is a fool its currupt ministers like u who drive ghanaians abroad if u lot stop stealing ghabna money and fix the economy and make ghana a better place nobody will travel
kofi Bassar 12 years ago
Hi Mr. Pratt has hit the nail in the head. The Western countries are dead broke and their people are about to revolt. The only way out is to once again demand travel toll. Let's boycott Britain.
Please stop bashing him.
Hi Mr. Pratt has hit the nail in the head. The Western countries are dead broke and their people are about to revolt. The only way out is to once again demand travel toll. Let's boycott Britain.
Please stop bashing him.
Nana 12 years ago
KWASI PRAT RIGHT
HOW MANY OF THEIR PEOPLE HAVE £3000 IN THEIR ACCOUNT,THEY FINDING WAYS AND MEANS TO GET MONEY FROM US.
WHAT IS GHANA GOVERNMENT DOING ABOUT IT,THEIR PEOPLE VISIT OUR COUNTRY ANY TIME THEY WANT,THINK GOVER ... read full comment
KWASI PRAT RIGHT
HOW MANY OF THEIR PEOPLE HAVE £3000 IN THEIR ACCOUNT,THEY FINDING WAYS AND MEANS TO GET MONEY FROM US.
WHAT IS GHANA GOVERNMENT DOING ABOUT IT,THEIR PEOPLE VISIT OUR COUNTRY ANY TIME THEY WANT,THINK GOVERNMENT SHOULD ALSO CHANGE IMMIGRATION LAW AS WELL .
DICKIES 12 years ago
Fellow Ghanaians, I am asking all of us not to worry over this issue of bond before Ghanaians enter in the Uk.To me our Government has to multiply it 4 times whatever amount they want us to pay before they can also come to Ghana. As simple as that
john dramani mahama 12 years ago
Look at all the countries involved and you could see that they are not in support of the gay and lesbian rights.
Cameron, i suggest to you that this is a deliberate attempt to malign my country
Look at all the countries involved and you could see that they are not in support of the gay and lesbian rights.
Cameron, i suggest to you that this is a deliberate attempt to malign my country
GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 12 years ago
PACK ALL THE GAYS IN GH N SEND THEM TO THE UK EMBASSY....
Emmanuel 12 years ago
All Europe are doing it you must Check all the Countries stop them.before you could invite somebody in Europe country you must do the as UK is doing so they are following what other Sister Country are doing is already there. we African Countries must one now.
Concerned 12 years ago
Emmanuel,I think you were trying to say we Africans should do the same ( if uk brings in such a policy) but it won't help us as tourism is a huge resource for us. The only group we really need to protect if such a policy is implemented will be our business men/women and our students studying in the uk. If we don't protect our business people the other countries will have a comparative advantage over us.
However if the UK decides they don't want our tourism money, it can only be a blessing.
Tan 12 years ago
This Prat guy is truly a pratt and idiotic. Whatever is wrong with these western countries, you cannot compare your dirty Ghana to any of them.
Concerned 12 years ago
Tan,please don't get angry with the whole Ghana because of a single rat
Matt 12 years ago
What on earth has winning medals at the Olympics got to do with it? It is not a money making scheme, it is a deterant for people to over stay their visas in the UK!!
Kwadzo 12 years ago
MATT, YOU ARE RIGHT. THIS PRATT GUY I DON'T KNOW WHAT AT ALL IS WRONG WITH HIM.WHEN OUR TEXTILE INDUSTRY FOR EXAMPLE HAS BEEN UNDER THREAT FROM IMPORTATION OF CHINES OUR TRADE & INDUSTRY MINISTRY HAD TOO COME OUT WITH STRINGENT POLICIES TO SALVAGE THE FORMER.NOW FOREIGNERS COMING IN TO DO BUSINESS SAY FROM NEIBOURING COUNTRIES SHOULD HAVE ONE MILLION DOLAS FROM $300000.
Earl Jones 12 years ago
The issuance of the bond has gone beyond the discussion stage. It is a done deal slated to be implemented in November. The UK is back tracking because of the outraged it has received. This is yet another government sanctioned attack on immigrants because of the economic crisis in Europe. This problem must be seen for what it is; an internal relations crisis.
As Europe struggles to survive, there will be similar attacks on the vulnerable and those countries seen as soft touches.
The UK needs to review their policies especially at the time that the internet has created more visibility and reduced information asymmetry. Nothing much has changed in terms of the public policy in the UK except that what used to be covet and buried in files and folders has now become ubiquitous and pervasive.
.......P 12 years ago
this guy with a rabbit teeth has got a lot to say for himself!!! surely your name PRATT IS BEFITTING!!!
appiah 12 years ago
As a proud Ghanaian I am equally sad when Ghana appears on any list for negative reasons. Ghana used to be celebrated for good things before 1979.
Now we are on the list for drug traffickers and most corrupt nations.
Britai ... read full comment
As a proud Ghanaian I am equally sad when Ghana appears on any list for negative reasons. Ghana used to be celebrated for good things before 1979.
Britain is having problems with certain nations whose citizens cannot be trusted about any information they put on their immigration forms. It is sad but unfortunately dishonesty and lying with impunity has become accepted as normal in today's Ghana. Top government officials lie everyday without consequence. Known lairs become members of council of State and ministers. The answer is not insulting Britain for the attempt to solve their problem, but for us to punish criminal behavior, discourage dishonesty and create employment avenues for our youth. Any nation whose leaders are involved in drug trafficking, and dishonest activities loses respect.
John Carslake in UK 12 years ago
Oh Yes! I thought I felt a little fly on my neck. But, a sting, can't say I felt that.
BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 12 years ago
The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is hanging on mother Ghana's Neck through the nearest Windows for Ghana to move forward.
mohammed amin abdallah adenta fafraha 12 years ago
THEY BETTER IMPLEMENT THE BOND,OUR IMMIGRATION RECORDS IN UK IS VERY BAD,MORE THAN 90PERCENT OF GHNAIAN VISITORS TO UK OVER STAY AND DO NOT COME BACK AS AGREED.MY SELF SELF I AM AMONG SUCH PEOPLE WHO VIOLATE THEIR IMMIGRATION STATUS,I THINK 300O IS LITTLE.IF YOU KNOW THE AMOUNT OF MONEY GHANAIANS PAY TO AGENT YOU WOULD BE TAKEN ABACK.
PILL 12 years ago
THE ASHANTIS ALWAYS DESTROYS THE NAME GHANA WHERE EVER THEY GO.
nii nii 12 years ago
FOOLISH MAN LIKE YOU ,YOU CAME FROM HEAVEN .
Jade 12 years ago
Asantes have contributed to your fucky primitive tribe by far more than any other tribe in Gh. Use our cocoa money, gold, wisdom etc to educate you and sibling cattle fuckers. You stink korle lagoon
Jade 12 years ago
Primitive cannibal
nii nii 12 years ago
YOU NO GO DIE UNLESS YOU WANT TO DIE.
ATSU 12 years ago
AFTER XPLOITING OUR NATURAL AND HUMAN RESOURCES TO DEVELOP THEY NOW DON'T WANT US IN THEIR COUNTRY. LETS LEAVE THEM TO SUFFER THE DECAY OF THEIR SO CALLED EMPIRE. WHATEVER WE NEED FOR OUR DEVELOPMENT WE CAN GET THEM IN OTHER COUNTRIES. WE CAN HAVE OUR HOLIDAYS IN OTHER AFRICAN COUNTRIES.THE END OF BRITAIN IS NEAR.
OB 12 years ago
These so called Britons have been stealing Africa for far too long. It high time we stand up against their dubious means of rubbing Africans and Asians.
They have taken all our GOLD and Minerals including our our young MEN a ... read full comment
These so called Britons have been stealing Africa for far too long. It high time we stand up against their dubious means of rubbing Africans and Asians.
They have taken all our GOLD and Minerals including our our young MEN and Women and slaves.
WE have even barr them also coming to Africa. Shame on them. Where are their so called Human Rights activists? Shame on UK!!!
Me 12 years ago
Pratt stung himself. The UK will do what it has to do to curb immigration. It is up to those affected nations to sort their economies out so they will command respect around the globe.
Concerned UK citizen 12 years ago
Kwesi Pratt does not seem to understand the position of the British Govt. The £3000 bond is to prevent Ghanaians overstaying in UK when their visas expire. It has nothing to do with immigration. UK may loose out on cleaners, security guards etc who are recruited from "overstayers" but not olympic athletes who tend to be legal immigrants or their descendants.
Kwadzo 12 years ago
I THINK THE 3000 PS SHOULD BE INCREASED TO 10000 PS. WHY WE BLACKS ARE TOO GREEDY NO MATTER WHAT ONE THINKS ABOUT THIS WE ARE DAM GREEDY RACE & NOT LAW ABIDING, IT SIMPLE, IMMIGRATION LAWS MUST BE RESPECTED, MANY TAKE VISAS FOR VISIT & IT TURNS TO A STAY VISA OR A WORKING ONE. WE ALL KNOW THAT EACH VISA CATEGORY HAS SPECIFIC SET OF LIGAL REQUIRMENTS TO MEET YET MOST PEOPLE DO THE VERY WRONG THINGS. I KNOW PEOPLE WHO WERE GRANTED VISIT VISAS OVER 10 YEARS & HAVE NEVER RETURNED WHY IF THIS IS NOT GREEDINESS THEN SOMEONE TELL ME. THE 3000PS IS A PROPOSED BOND AS A REFORM & A MEASURE TO CURB OR AVERT THIS LAWLESSNESS. AM ALSO ON THE VIEW THAT CLARITIES SHOULD BE SOUGHT SO THAT MONIES DEPOSITED SHOULD ATTRACT INTEREST AT A PREVAILING RATE FOR THE PERIOD THE MONEY WOULD BE IN THE CHEST OF THE UK AUTHORITY. THEY THE AUTHORITIES IN EUROPE ARE TAKING THESE STEPS IN ADDRESS THEIR CHALLENGES, WHAT DO WE SEE & HEAR IN OUR OWN COUNTRY HERE 'WE WILL MAKE THE COUNTRY UNGOVERNABLE, LITIGATIONS, PETTITIONS, BURNING MARKETS,POLITICALLY INCITING LABOUR AGITATIONS THROUGH UNNECCESSARY STRIKES.THE LIST CONTINUES.
afia nsiah 12 years ago
there is nothing more for them to steal except to con us to pay £3000. stuff them all these so called policy makers
HENRY 12 years ago
Mr Pratt, you seem to be one of those people who do not think before they utter opinions. you believe G.Britain should open its doors to all and sundry especially those whose intentions are only economical migration. Ghana has opened its borders to anyone and what do see, criminally minded migrants from the AU. We should stop accusing GB of stealing our gold. look inward,we know those of our own people who have stolen our gold.Tribalism too is to rampant in Ghana and must stop. We are heading for doom like our neighbours have experienced recently.
HOLY SINNER 12 years ago
The GREAT and GOOD and BRAVE leader is gone,HE would never have kowtow to this western idiots.Yes the late BOB MARLEY said it;WHEN THE CATS ARE AWAY THE MOUSE WILL PLAY POLITICAL VIOLENCE IN THEIR CITIES.
Efia 12 years ago
STAY IN GHANA AND TRAVEL WHEN NECESSARY. THERE ARE BETTER PLACES IN GHANA FOR HOLIDAYS THAN COLD BRITAIN. THAT'S WHY THE BRITS COME TO GHANA FOR HOLIDAYS AND NOT TO SHOP.
concern citizen 12 years ago
When the British where coming to Gold Coast did they obtain visas? They should stop that crab.
BoB 12 years ago
It is shameful for you to come against the UK gov, they can impose as much as they wont. Do you know who has fail to deliver to their people is our corrupt Politicians,look yourself up in the mirror. Is the corrupt leaders who have no clue as to what they are doing. Can't even provide water to it cictizen,and they call them honorable. Good Jod UK.
anane 12 years ago
take note. any refund will be less admin charge.a whopping £1200.00.
Nora Owusu 12 years ago
Most of comments here carry no weight. They are mostly nonsense. If you don't have any good contributions to make please keep quite. Why should a Ghanaian who wants to visit UK present 3000 pounds before he will be allowed to enter? Are they insulting us all what? How many of them have this amount in their accounts?
They are simply saying they don't need Ghanaians in their country.
KKB 12 years ago
THE REASON WHY UK CAN CHARGE GHANAIANS FOR VISITING IS THAT YOU ARE FOOLS, IF YOU DON'T WANT TO PAY DO NOT VISIT, YOU ALLOW YOUR LEADERS TO USED MONEY FOR JOB CREATION TO SHARED AMONG THEMSELVES WHILE MAJORITY SUFFER.IF GOVT CAN PAY 50 MILLION FOR NO WORK DONE TO AN INDIVIDUAL, IT MEANS THAT WE CAN YOU CAN AFFORD TO PAY 3,000. FOOLS FIX YOUR COUNTRY.
Wiseman 12 years ago
Is is a "human" right for Ghanaians to go to UK? Are we born to travel by all means to UK?
On the other hand, how many Brits come to Ghana to work, or stay in Ghana in excess of the time limit in the visas accorded them? ... read full comment
Is is a "human" right for Ghanaians to go to UK? Are we born to travel by all means to UK?
On the other hand, how many Brits come to Ghana to work, or stay in Ghana in excess of the time limit in the visas accorded them?
Look, this is just the beginning of the bullies to come. The message is clear: try to be humans in your countries, build refine your systems if you want others to respect you.
KWASI BEN 12 years ago
Mr. Pratt,
Can`t your people stay and built their country as said once by your uncle: Africa man can do eveything (LIKE) the whiteman can do.
If they want to demand £3000.00 from you lot and can`t pay , stop coming to them ... read full comment
Mr. Pratt,
Can`t your people stay and built their country as said once by your uncle: Africa man can do eveything (LIKE) the whiteman can do.
If they want to demand £3000.00 from you lot and can`t pay , stop coming to them/ or stop your people coming to the UK and build your country.
You let them in freely, now you lot are paying the high price for your fooly and stupidities. Shout up and pay or stop coming to the UK.
\Canadasheabutter(GhanaUpper W\est Re 12 years ago
This imperialist , monachiatrist society that plunged and devored the wealth of these countries that are now deemed high risk should be expelled from the commonwealth.
The commonwealth of Nations should issue a communique ... read full comment
This imperialist , monachiatrist society that plunged and devored the wealth of these countries that are now deemed high risk should be expelled from the commonwealth.
The commonwealth of Nations should issue a communique to cut trade and other diplomatic relations with this zionist country on an island awaiting to sink.
If African countries and the Commonwealth don't ACT WITH COHESIVE AND FORCEFUL , UNITED VOICE ------THEN WE SHALL HAVE OUR SELVES TO BLAME
THE INITIAL IMPLEMENTATION OF THE NEW WORLD ORDER.
GREAT NANA ANTWI 12 years ago
ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFUL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com
FRANK 12 years ago
Britain has the right to protect her nation.If Ghanaians will allow Chinese to come to Ghana and engage in illegal activities,don't expect Britain to do the same.Why don't you direct your anger at the corrupt politicians who are making the situation in Ghana very difficult.If you are happy and comfortable living in Ghana,99% of Ghanaians are not.This explains why Ghanaians are struggling in foreign lands.You can't tell Britain what to do do.
Nii Akwei 12 years ago
The corrupt politicians are making life harder for Ghanaians every day.
a.h. daillo amsterdam 12 years ago
paying 3000 pounds to come to uk go and see african brothers liveing in europe if u know how hard the life there is even if u get a free visa u will not go
cobby,uk 12 years ago
Ghana should do the same u can get money from the china people
kofikofi 12 years ago
foolish long teeth pratt. is her daughter not enjoying free scholarship university education in UK at the expense of poor ghainain tax payer? a spy.
Sikamanba 12 years ago
Why the insults? He is against the deposits!
Eric London 12 years ago
Kwasi Pratt should go away. He should advise Ghana government most especially Mahama and co to develop Ghana and stop making these useless comments. If they are not happy they should do the same thing to British citizens when they are coming to Ghana. All that you always say is NDC is doing well then why do you want to come here. STAY Ghana and enjoy your oil. We are ready to deposit any amount of money you want if Ghana government wants to do that and we will see who will suffer. Think about how you will develop your country and stop saying European economy is in crisis. Akwasi Pratt you don't know anything so keep....................
Inquiring Minds 12 years ago
Well, well, well, Mr Pratt, inquiring minds will like to know if your daughter who went to the UK as a student is ever coming home to Ghana? Are you prepared to pay the GHc9000 bond in case she has overstayed?
Sikamanba 12 years ago
Old history.The deposit has no retroactive effect.The daughter is out of the loop!!
Sikamanba 12 years ago
The UK government has every right to demand the deposits. Do you how much it cost to investigate and deport illegal immigrants?
They are smart to have find a way to defray that cost.
Anybody who can deposit such an amount ... read full comment
The UK government has every right to demand the deposits. Do you how much it cost to investigate and deport illegal immigrants?
Anybody who can deposit such an amount would be compelled to be truthful to the terms of his or her visa.If not the government would use that deposit to look for you and deport you.In other words you will be providing for your own deportation. Meanwhile they would have invested your deposits for the duration of your stay.
To them it is a win win situation.
The sound thing to do is invest that amount yourself in Ghana prayerfully.
Team up.Ghanaians are too selfish. Team up and do business.
Do not let vultures descend on your money.Going to UK does not guarantee good life!!
Bravo UK!!!
American 12 years ago
Ghana can escape this dubious list compiled by the UK by tighter oversight of its oversees offices, warning citizens not to overstay or commit infamous crimes in their host countries (take the hint, China), and not allowing foreigners and criminals to forge documents. Even poor countries must keep an eye on their own countrymen.
Sikamanba 12 years ago
Thank you.
Thank you.
Martin 12 years ago
The targeted countries have citizens who enter the UK under false pretenses. They enter on a visitor’s visa all the while intending to overstay their visas. Now that the UK has wised up to this shenanigan and posed a stiff monetary bond, Ghanaians are now complaining. The bond is intended to weed out illegitimate visitors to the UK. Any person on a visitor’s visa will recoup the posted monetary bond upon returning to his country of abode. Ghanaians are now clamoring for the government to implement a retaliatory visa policy against the UK. Should the government unwisely implement such a policy, it is Ghanaians who will suffer the consequences and not the British. More so than Britain, Ghana needs the foreign currency that will be potentially spent by a British tourist.
scarecrow 12 years ago
All these targeted countries are commonwealth member nations if India,Pakistan,Bangledesh,Nigeria, Ghana and others will leave the commonwealth it could be a turning point for Britian and could let others to follow in a protest because it seems the only language Prime Minister David Cameron and his government will understand is the collapse of the commonwealth!
CONCERN CITIZEN 12 years ago
THE MATTER IS SIMPLE. COME BUT GO BACK AND NOT USING OUR MEDICAL SERVICES, ETC. YOUR GOVERNMENT ALSO CAN RETALIATE AND WE SEE WHO CONTROLS WHO IDIOT PRATT. THIEVES
NII BII 12 years ago
There are lovely and romantic places in France than uk ,i will promote it,good food good places for shopping,forget uk
The next thing I could see happening to us in UK to find some means to Deport us back to our co ...
Is it because of the politics and the errant behavior of our own brothers? That is the question! So many Ghanaians want to come back home but when they consider the indiscipline and lawlessnes ...
Simple. Africans should remove their leaders and have better leaders who can develop their countries. Kufour, Chiluba, Zuma, etc give the gold and other resources for free, now you see they don't want you? Develop your own co ...
Yes, they even took Africans BY FORCE and chained them to their countries to WORK FREE, WITHOUT SALARY to build their countries. Today, they don't want to see Africans again. But let's blame pretenders and greedy thieves like ...
When the XENOPHOBIC GHANAIANS imposed their EVIL whopping $300,000 policy on any foreigner including your fellow ECOWAS citizens mostly Nigerians, before they can do any business in Ghana, you did not see it as EVIL AND DRACO ...
...The Government exercised the latter option when we disagreed over the judgment debt and other Gargantuan crimes. The Government, and my colleague Ministers at the time know that there ...
That is my point! If you that of money continue with what you are doing that brought you such an amount.Invest in Ghana instead of giving it to them to make money of it and at the end you are deported and you lose everything! ...
I AM YOUR NEMESIS.
We always lift ourselves up and one day no Ghanaian will have any reason to immigr ...
Thank you my friend Sikamanba. I totally agreed with you that Ghanaians are some of the 'warmest and welcoming people in the world' I wont take that away from you. Keep it up. But do not forget that there are some BAD EGGS ...
You do not take your uncouth behavior at your home to somebody's else home!That is the lesson. ...
There is not ...
Thanks my friend 'Symbiosis' for your analytical comment above. I totally agreed with you about your analysis exploitative ways of doing things. Yes you are totally right. I live with them here in UK and I can assured you ...
I can't understand why Ghanaians accuse the UK in its policies. UK simply decides this is the way to go to regulate the Viss issue if people tend to disregard conditions linking to it. We can't do anything it the decide that' ...
Rawlings, Kuffour, Mills and Mahama gave them Ashanti Goldfields, Tarkwa goldfields, etc, gave them GT (now vodafone), gave them oil, gave them timber, fish, etc all for free. Mahama even pardoned their cocoa smugglers and al ...
They only support or at best, refuse to criticize the incompetent ...
No intelligent person or persons WILL allow others to undermine their efforts, no? Please blame yourselves in you grossly moral corrupt ...
who have no money for the tiket an ...
Ghanaians sho ...
If they implement this law,Ghana and Nigeria should just withdraw from the British Commonwealth.If the British and the Americans are trying to destroy the CIS,just bcos they don't like Russia why should we continue to be in t ...
WHATEVER THE REASON GHANA WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN INCLUDED COS GHANA IS RESPECTED ALL OVER AND WE HAVE BEEN KNOWN AS DECENT PEOPLE BUT THE FOOLISH NPP DEMONSTRATION IN UK DURING MAHAMA VISIT MADE THEM INCLUDE GHANA OUR HARD WON R ...
Decent people don't mismanage their country and don't have a clue about checking corruption in t ...
Kwasi rat, it was clarified only yesterday that its business as usual and we can all apply without any 3k bond. For the last 20 years or so, various British governments have made similar policy proposals without actually carr ...
Please stop bashing him.
KWASI PRAT RIGHT
WHAT IS GHANA GOVERNMENT DOING ABOUT IT,THEIR PEOPLE VISIT OUR COUNTRY ANY TIME THEY WANT,THINK GOVER ...
Fellow Ghanaians, I am asking all of us not to worry over this issue of bond before Ghanaians enter in the Uk.To me our Government has to multiply it 4 times whatever amount they want us to pay before they can also come to Gh ...
All Europe are doing it you must Check all the Countries stop them.before you could invite somebody in Europe country you must do the as UK is doing so they are following what other Sister Country are doing is already there. ...
Emmanuel,I think you were trying to say we Africans should do the same ( if uk brings in such a policy) but it won't help us as tourism is a huge resource for us. The only group we really need to protect if such a policy is i ...
MATT, YOU ARE RIGHT. THIS PRATT GUY I DON'T KNOW WHAT AT ALL IS WRONG WITH HIM.WHEN OUR TEXTILE INDUSTRY FOR EXAMPLE HAS BEEN UNDER THREAT FROM IMPORTATION OF CHINES OUR TRADE & INDUSTRY MINISTRY HAD TOO COME OUT WITH STRINGE ...
The issuance of the bond has gone beyond the discussion stage. It is a done deal slated to be implemented in November. The UK is back tracking because of the outraged it has received. This is yet another government sanctioned ...
Britai ...
The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is ha ...
THEY BETTER IMPLEMENT THE BOND,OUR IMMIGRATION RECORDS IN UK IS VERY BAD,MORE THAN 90PERCENT OF GHNAIAN VISITORS TO UK OVER STAY AND DO NOT COME BACK AS AGREED.MY SELF SELF I AM AMONG SUCH PEOPLE WHO VIOLATE THEIR IMMIGRATION ...
Primitive cannibal
AFTER XPLOITING OUR NATURAL AND HUMAN RESOURCES TO DEVELOP THEY NOW DON'T WANT US IN THEIR COUNTRY. LETS LEAVE THEM TO SUFFER THE DECAY OF THEIR SO CALLED EMPIRE. WHATEVER WE NEED FOR OUR DEVELOPMENT WE CAN GET THEM IN OTHER ...
They have taken all our GOLD and Minerals including our our young MEN a ...
Kwesi Pratt does not seem to understand the position of the British Govt. The £3000 bond is to prevent Ghanaians overstaying in UK when their visas expire. It has nothing to do with immigration. UK may loose out on cleaners, ...
I THINK THE 3000 PS SHOULD BE INCREASED TO 10000 PS. WHY WE BLACKS ARE TOO GREEDY NO MATTER WHAT ONE THINKS ABOUT THIS WE ARE DAM GREEDY RACE & NOT LAW ABIDING, IT SIMPLE, IMMIGRATION LAWS MUST BE RESPECTED, MANY TAKE VISAS F ...
Mr Pratt, you seem to be one of those people who do not think before they utter opinions. you believe G.Britain should open its doors to all and sundry especially those whose intentions are only economical migration. Ghana ha ...
It is shameful for you to come against the UK gov, they can impose as much as they wont. Do you know who has fail to deliver to their people is our corrupt Politicians,look yourself up in the mirror. Is the corrupt leaders wh ...
Most of comments here carry no weight. They are mostly nonsense. If you don't have any good contributions to make please keep quite. Why should a Ghanaian who wants to visit UK present 3000 pounds before he will be allowed ...
THE REASON WHY UK CAN CHARGE GHANAIANS FOR VISITING IS THAT YOU ARE FOOLS, IF YOU DON'T WANT TO PAY DO NOT VISIT, YOU ALLOW YOUR LEADERS TO USED MONEY FOR JOB CREATION TO SHARED AMONG THEMSELVES WHILE MAJORITY SUFFER.IF GOVT ...
On the other hand, how many Brits come to Ghana to work, or stay in Ghana in excess of the time limit in the visas accorded them? ...
Mr. Pratt,
If they want to demand £3000.00 from you lot and can`t pay , stop coming to them ...
The commonwealth of Nations should issue a communique ...
Britain has the right to protect her nation.If Ghanaians will allow Chinese to come to Ghana and engage in illegal activities,don't expect Britain to do the same.Why don't you direct your anger at the corrupt politicians who ...
Kwasi Pratt should go away. He should advise Ghana government most especially Mahama and co to develop Ghana and stop making these useless comments. If they are not happy they should do the same thing to British citizens when ...
Anybody who can deposit such an amount ...
Ghana can escape this dubious list compiled by the UK by tighter oversight of its oversees offices, warning citizens not to overstay or commit infamous crimes in their host countries (take the hint, China), and not allowing f ...
Thank you.
The targeted countries have citizens who enter the UK under false pretenses. They enter on a visitor’s visa all the while intending to overstay their visas. Now that the UK has wised up to this shenanigan and posed a stiff ...
All these targeted countries are commonwealth member nations if India,Pakistan,Bangledesh,Nigeria, Ghana and others will leave the commonwealth it could be a turning point for Britian and could let others to follow in a pr ...