Build Ghana to where we don't have to go beg, and we wouldn't have to care about what the Brits do with their immigration policy.
kabokabo 12 years ago
The announcement has been made. The affected countries foreign offices has been served with letters in regard to the changes and now the deputy Misinformation Minister is telling Ghanaians it is just a RUMOUR. Haba Chineke!!!
SGT ANANI FIADZOE 12 years ago
This issue has been raised and brought
out to the public domain, and instead of NDC stupid fools to take immediate
action to saveguard the interest of the people's of Ghana, fellow country men and women just listen to what this
NDC crook is saying "is a rumour" what
sort of rumour should this foolish
Minister claim this to be?
1ST STRIKE! 12 years ago
To begin with, can someone tell this fool called Murtala Mohammed that this is a fact, and not a "rumour"?
The British govt desperate and looking for a way out hence this absurd policy on poor visitors! This is a policy tha ... read full comment
To begin with, can someone tell this fool called Murtala Mohammed that this is a fact, and not a "rumour"?
The British govt desperate and looking for a way out hence this absurd policy on poor visitors! This is a policy that's not going to help curb any influx! If a prospective "hustler" is prepared to pay $15,000 for "connection", then who in his or her right mind would think $3,000 is going to deter him?
And by the way, if I know I'm going to make about $1000/month "paying $3,000 as a guantee" would not in any way, discourage me !
NEMESIS, UK 12 years ago
When the XENOPHOBIC GHANAIANS imposed their EVIL whopping $300,000 policy on any foreigner including your fellow ECOWAS citizens mostly Nigerians, before they can do any business in Ghana, you did not see it EVIL AND DRACONIAN.
Now that Britain imposed their £3000 immigration policy, you XENOPHOBIC GHANAIANS are now crying foul. What do you expect? RED CARPET in London?
What moral justification have you Ghanaians got to criticize Britain for her £3000 Immigration rule, when you HATEFUL, WICKED AND XENOPHOBIC Ghanains, with your EVIL BUSIA ACO ORDER and your ALL DIE BE DIE mentalities are WORST than any country in mama Africa, when it comes to the issue of IMMIGRATION AND XENOPHOBIC.
Ghanaians should first of all remove the log in their BLACK STAR EYEE, before pointing their DIRTY FINGERS at the peck in the eyes of the Britain.
ROMANO 12 years ago
$2,500.00 REWARD TO KILL WISE-TALK,GH.MONEY TALKS BULL-SHIT WALKS,I HAVE THE CASH READY AND I REALLY MEAN IT. THIS DIRTY YUROBA STINKING DOOGIE NEEDS TO BE KILLED ASAP.
NEMESIS, UK 12 years ago
LOOK AT THIS HUNGRY AND DIRTY ANIMAL CALLING HIMSELF ROMANO, TALKING ABOUT $2,500.OO AS IF IT WAS A MONEY TO BUY 'KENKE' WHEN HE CANNOT EVEN AFFORD TO BUY A TEN PESUA 'KOKONTE' ON A DAILY BASIS.
EVEN YOUR ASHAWO MAMA TAK ... read full comment
LOOK AT THIS HUNGRY AND DIRTY ANIMAL CALLING HIMSELF ROMANO, TALKING ABOUT $2,500.OO AS IF IT WAS A MONEY TO BUY 'KENKE' WHEN HE CANNOT EVEN AFFORD TO BUY A TEN PESUA 'KOKONTE' ON A DAILY BASIS.
EVEN YOUR ASHAWO MAMA TAKE FROM HER ALOSHOGBOSIE WHERE YOU WERE BORN IS NOT EVEN UP A TEN DOLLARS A MONTH. YOU MUST PERISH WITH YOUR WISHFUL THINKING OF EVIL. I SHALL COME TO YOUR 'FUNERAL' VERY SOON. JUST LET ME KNOW WHEN??????
ROMANO 12 years ago
Akonoba 12 years ago
The European economy is collapsing and that is why they bring up this cheap shameful racist discriminatory measure to prop up their failed capitalist economy.
I for one, am happy about this because it will ensure that many ... read full comment
The European economy is collapsing and that is why they bring up this cheap shameful racist discriminatory measure to prop up their failed capitalist economy.
I for one, am happy about this because it will ensure that many more of our compatriots stay here in Ghana to sweat it out to make our country better. The only obstruction to progress are the cheap corrupt politicians.
Secondly, since those racists make more money than what our compatriots make over there in their failing economy, I suggest that we also retaliate by also putting a 10,000 pounds sterling 'gate fee' for every Brit who desires to come to Ghana. Its as simple as that.
Torgbigah 12 years ago
colonial days are over. chinese tried and backfired into illegal gold mining.new form of colonial wickedness showing up. 3000 EU before Ghanaians can enter poor and devilish white man's country.UK. ghana must demand 12,000 eu before they come to ghana. devilish idiots white evils
KKK 12 years ago
AND THEY WILL STAY AT HOME
I LIKE FROGS 12 years ago
if UK and CHINA is not attractive, why you love them and live in CHINA. such a ghana fool. get out of my country you monkey.
insight to the bone 12 years ago
pepeni like all evil men in history is saying its God who gave him victory , Hitler , Stalin and all the intrinsically evil men including Satan also claimed the same. pepeni has put only his own Muslim pepefuo in charge of all key aspects of the nation and their main agenda is to recolonize the Akans so we are his slaves and servants . he has deceitfully used and abused the so called democratic process to achieve this. he is not interested in the welfare of the majority but to push into further poverty and misery the great nations of Akan so that his dimwitted pepeni idiots can handle things easier. today we are now in a feudal middle ages mentality era with no water , electricity or decent wages . any Akan who wishes to do anything good for his own people is frustrated bullied and mobbed by the state and called the worst of names if not thrown outright in jail or killed. championing his cause are the ayigbe who have mastered the art of the hatred of the Akans and together with the agenda of hegemony and chauvinism succeeded in making the lives of most Akans unbearable . let them know God is on our side and we shall win our freedom sooner than they think, long live the republic of Akan
The African Patriot 12 years ago
So this minister is sitting down to wait untill the British government declare their intentions? What a joke of minister. He must act now!!!
1ST STRIKE! 12 years ago
HEY CHINAMAN! How did you find your way here with those phony eyes of yours? If you really know how to fight back, then why not go to fight your repressive govt with your stinking mouth? China has a population of over one billion yet you allow only a handfull of party officials to dictate your miserable lives! Your govt even dictate how often you have to sex your wife! Nincompoops!
Jade 12 years ago
Tell me the difference. If you eat poisonous snake why can't you ear a bug?
Kee Atty 12 years ago
UK Immigration policy makers do not even need to inform any country of their decision. All they have to do is to publish and inform the public of their intention and to carry it out. Good thing is that they always give you plenty of notice and is up to you to follow the rules and the law as you apply for entry clearance at their various high commission and embassies.
KWAME PEPENI-OHIO,USA. 12 years ago
WHY ARE THESE SO-CALLED GHANA LEADERS ALWAYS LYING TO GHANAIANS.THEY SIMPLY ARE PATHOLOGICAL LIARS.GB ANNOUNCED THIS BAD POLICY ALL OVER THE WORLD SO ARE THESE STUPID LEAGERS WAITING TO BE TOLD BEFORE REACTING.FOR ALL YOU KNOW THEIR ADMIN.INEFFICIENCIES AND LAPSES ARE REASONS WHY THEY HAVE NOT GOT COPIES OF THIS POLICY.THE BRITISH ARE NOT THAT INEFFICIENT TO INFORM GHANA GOVT ON TIME BEFORE THE NEWS.
think again 12 years ago
please dont expect Mahama to retaliate if he does the WEST might switch their support to Nana akuffo,these is polities
moyo 12 years ago
Let us call spade spade. There are a lot of things that Ghana Parliament have to be seen to be concerned about and not UK £3000 visa fees. The reason for their worry is that this is the only policy that affects the MPs more than the common. Which means they will not able to sponsor their the small girls to go for holidays as some then do. I wish the fees was adjusted to £20,000.
The general 12 years ago
no more connection men. its good news to some people cos they can always come home, collect their deposites and re-apply after 6 months.The smart would jux be smiling!This is jux to check overstaying!
GHANABA 1 12 years ago
What are you all talking about on this forum? mahama has just agreed and signed for this bond.NDC is seeking all help to remain in power so they will even sell the Nation to maintain their position.
I tell you guys. The deal ... read full comment
What are you all talking about on this forum? mahama has just agreed and signed for this bond.NDC is seeking all help to remain in power so they will even sell the Nation to maintain their position.
I tell you guys. The deal has been signed by Mahama who has been promised help from UK in case a civil war breaks out in Ghana after the verdict of the SC.This man came to London recently to sign the Bond.IT is agreed and it will take effect from November.Period!!!!NDC is ready to sell the nation to retain power.They are not there for the common people.Put your political difference aside and lets match these crooks boot for boot and see what the outcome may be.Brazil is doing exactly what i am saying and it is working.Kill all politicians,their kids,wives,girlfriends and family members and things will change as soon as possible.Kill them, attack them like what is happening at Tema.Ghana wake up.Lets join hands and start to attack them fiscally and see.I am ready with my group.
KOFI ADDO 12 years ago
Have you got a concrete proof to show that Mahama signed something about immigration.
Paa Joe (UK) 12 years ago
Even when the Chinese arrive illegally, rape our land and women, kill, pollute our waters... when they are caught they are not prosecuted but allow to go home with their ill gotten GOLD.
We have ourselves to blame, my brothe ... read full comment
Even when the Chinese arrive illegally, rape our land and women, kill, pollute our waters... when they are caught they are not prosecuted but allow to go home with their ill gotten GOLD.
We have ourselves to blame, my brothers and sisters.
So Ghana government is saying they are not aware, well I say:
"Unto those who have, more shall be given. And those who have not, even the little they have shall be taken away from them."..I think it is from the Bible, said about the one who buried his talent, but hey I could be wrong as I am not a Reverend Doctor, Bishop so & so.
We love to be called poor. We have so little self respect for ourselves that our leader's first trip abroad when they are elected is to go to the West to claim how poor we are and how we need financial aid, and how the outgoing administration looted our coffers, blah, blah blah.
Have you noticed, whatever Britain gives, it takes back TENFOLD.
So we remain poor.
I can not fault UK. The fault is in ourselves. Ghanaians fought and died for Britain in World War One & Two, helping Britain to win a war against some of the countries whose citizen can come to UK free. Why aren't we insisting on our Commonwealth rights?
We have to understand the European mindset. Fight back or forever remain their slave.
If Ghana has the guts to retaliate, UK will quietly abandon this discriminatory & racist policy.
Weather our Government thinks it is rumour or not, the poor always pay disproportionately more than the rich to come to UK.
An intelligent government will make contingency plans to retaliate or negotiate.
KNYC (USMC) 12 years ago
Well said, Paa Joe. But the Morons in power don't see it that way. We are always a "VICTIM," "CUP IN HAND," "ASS KISSING NATION." This shows how UK gov't is saying "We don't need you, you need US.
NANA KUFUOR 12 years ago
Ghananaba you must be an illiterate idiot. If you want to hurt your friend or damage your friend's reputation, do you consult him/her first? If you are in your right senses, the British government does not even consult the opposition party let alone friendly countries before making policy decisions.
Kay 12 years ago
What can you do even if it is true?Make sure you put the resources of the state to good use,so that your fellow citizens will not rush to the U.K.After all the U.K gains more from its former colonial territories than we do from them.
princewilly@ymail.com 12 years ago
A business man called a travel agent and had a question about the documents he needed in order to fly to China. After a lengthy discussion about passports, the agent reminded him he needed a visa. "Oh no I don’t, I’ve been to China many times and never had to have one of those." The agent double checked, and sure enough, his stay required a visa. When the agent told him this he said, "Look, I’ve been to China four times and every time they have accepted my American Express."
Paa Joe (UK) 12 years ago
I wonder if the Chinese would accept my MasterCard. I'd like to visit before they loose all their communist credentials.
China is the new WEST
I wonder if the Chinese would accept my MasterCard. I'd like to visit before they loose all their communist credentials.
China is the new WEST
Before & After 12 years ago
The government of Ghana MUST also get that policy in case the UK makes it effective. Remember that the UK does not communicate these things to the government of Ghana. People will only be issued letters from the embassy after they have been issued their visas. Ghanaians are paying too much to visit the UK. High fares and crazy visa fees. The UK citizens coming to Ghana to exploit the citizens in the name of investments pay nothing compared what you have to pay at their embassy in Accra. They don't even have 1,000 pounds in their accounts.
NANA KUFUOR 12 years ago
Ghanaians we have to arm ourselves. If we pay GHC10,000.00 as visa bond, the British have to pay 10,000.00 pounds for their bonds because they are richer.
King 12 years ago
The point is Britian doesn't need odd job workers such as cleaners, care workers and security officers like our fellow Ghanaian brothers, cos they have got the Eastern Europeans. They need the best to turn their economy around. Get a skill job or pay £3000 or u stay with us in Ghana to improve our economy . Or try some where else for your holiday after all UK is not the only developed nation to pay a visit.
Afriyie 12 years ago
Why should Ghana tell UK what thy want to do at, and within Ghanaian borders? This is UK's Home Office and its protectionist policies driven by pressures from the EU. They have more people than they need; they can't stop other EU nationals from coming in; so their only option is to stop non-Europeans from coming. UK Foreign Offices will only implement policies from the Home Office. Why should they beg Ghanaians to agree? It's not part of international diplomacy. All Ghana needs is a reciprocal policy slamming same onto UK visitors.
In any case, there's too much on parliamentarians hands to solve than care about immigration fees.
OWUSU 12 years ago
WE NEED SERIOUS PEOPLE TO TRAVEL TO CANADA. INTERESTED PEOPLE SHOULD CALL OWUSU ON 0249318847B FOR FURTHER INFO.
THANKS
WE NEED SERIOUS PEOPLE TO TRAVEL TO CANADA. INTERESTED PEOPLE SHOULD CALL OWUSU ON 0249318847B FOR FURTHER INFO.
THANKS
MANSON UK 12 years ago
To do what there? Snow removal, I guess LOL
KWAKU 12 years ago
THIS GUY IS A JOKE, HE DOESN'T EVEN KNOW WHAT POLICIES ARE AFFECTING HIS COUNTRY AND CALLS THIS A RUMOUR?.AAAAABA, INFORMATION MINISTER GROW UP.
Maxwell from Lapaz 12 years ago
So that means people can not vist their love ones in the UK if their families dont have the money as gaurantee. What on earth is in the UK that one must pay that huge sum before entering into the UK? Is UK heaven? This is really unfair
jojo 12 years ago
Romour? my foot,Is the Ghana government waiting for a letter from 10 Downing St,confirming this selective and discriminatory policy against Ghana a friendly and fellow Commonwealth country.Which was announced by the home secretary Theresa May and has not been DENIED by the British Government.And for the Ministers information any change in immigration policy is coveyed to their High Commission here in Accra and NOT to the Ghana Government .So my advice to the Minister is to get off his ass and find out from the High Commission about this change in immigration policy Than he would find out that it is NOT a RUMOUR.
Maxwell from Lapaz 12 years ago
this is injustice and unfair
Setor 12 years ago
So if this is the issue at hand i think Ghana should to do the same,
NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 12 years ago
IF YOU DO ME I DO YOU. IF UK BRINGS THAT STUPID CONDITION AGAINST GHANAIANS, GHANA MUST APPLY THE SAME FOR THE UK.
GREAT NANA ANTWI 12 years ago
ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com
Kojo Nyansafo 12 years ago
UK should bow their heads in shame because this pure act of racism and extortion from Africans and other national mentioned in the list they are rating as high risk. I think Ghanaian government should recall the Ghanaian embassy in UK and ask UK embassy to leave Ghana since they have proven beyond reasonable doubt by this singular act of racism that they obviously don't want us in their country. After all what is in UK to go there now. Absolutely nothing, yet their their embassy here in Ghana extort so much from Ghanians in the name of visa. Ghanians and all who are against racism should rise up and fight against this modern form rascism!!!
Jason 12 years ago
This guy has learned in well.
Normal response.is first denial..than it will be implemented, than te government will say..ohh..that is not good, but now we cannot change it back.
YES MASTER, I WILL DO MASTER! SLAVE!!
Normal response.is first denial..than it will be implemented, than te government will say..ohh..that is not good, but now we cannot change it back.
Justin 12 years ago
ANOTHER NDC FOOL CALLED DEPUTY MINISTER.
THIS CONFIRMATION HAS APPEARED IN SEVERAL INTERNATIONAL NEWS MEDIA SO WHAT IS THIS GUY TALKING ABOUT?
GHANAIAN LEADERS ARE SOMETHING ELSE.
THIS CONFIRMATION HAS APPEARED IN SEVERAL INTERNATIONAL NEWS MEDIA SO WHAT IS THIS GUY TALKING ABOUT?
OPANIN KWAKU ATTA 12 years ago
IT IS THEIR COUNTRY,AND WHAT IS WRONG IF THEY SAY VISITORS SHOULD DEPOSIT THREE THOUSAND POUNDS?
ABDUL-KARIM GARIBA 12 years ago
IF UNITED KINGDOM BELONGS TO THEM,SO THEY CAN DO WHATEVER THEY WISH,WHY DID THEY KILL BROTHER GHADAFI?BECAUSE LIBYA WAS HIS COUNTRY AND HE WAS THEIR LEADER FOR THAT MATTER.AND THIS MAN,BROTHER GHADAFI,WAS KILLED LIKE AN ANIMAL.AFRICAN LEADERS SAT THERE,WATCHED THIS MAN,BROTHER GHADAFI,MURDERED IN COLD BLOODED.BOB MARLEY SAID;"....HOW LONG SHALL THEY KILL OUR PROPHETS,WHILE WE STAND ASIDE AND LOOK...?THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT IS HAPPENED TO BROTHER GHADAFI AND IS STILL HAPPENING TO US.IS ALL THESE HAPPENING BECAUSE WE ARE THE OPPRESSED?SO,IF WE ARE THE OPPRESSED,SO WHAT?WHAT HAVE WE DONE OR DOING ABOUT IT?WHAT ARE THEY TALKING ABOUT?IF US CLAIM TO BE "FREEDOM FIGHTERS" THEN,I DARE THE US,TO DO OR SAY SOMETHING ABOUT THIS "CRAZY POLICY" INTENDED TO EXTORT MONEY FROM THE SO CALLED THE POOREST PEOPLE OR COUNTRIES THEY CLAIM WE ARE,OR RESTRICT US FROM MOVING FREELY TO ANY WHERE IN THE WORLD.OR IS THE UK TELLING US THAT, FREEDOM TO MOVE TO ANY WHERE IN THIS WORLD DOES NO LONGER HOLD?THEY ARE THE ONES WHO HAVE BEEN PREACHING FREEDOM EVERY WHERE,EVERY DAY,THEY SHOULD LET US KNOW IF AMENDMENTS HAVE BEEN MADE,CONCERNING FREEDOM OF MOVEMENT,AFTER HAVING GENUINE VISA,GENUINE PASSPORT,AND OTHER GENUINE DOCUMENTS TO ENABLE ONE(TARGET) FLY TO THE UK AND OTHER PARTS OF THE WORLD.YOU ARE DEMANDING THAT,VISITORS FROM COUNTRIES SUCH AS GHANA,NIGERIA,INDIA,SRI LANKA,PAKISTAN,AND BANGLADESH, PAY 3,000 POUNDS AS A GUARANTEE FOR THEIR RETURN,DAMN!THIS IS PURELY UNFAIR.LEADERS OF AFFECTED COUNTRIES, HAD BETTER MAKE SOME NOISE ABOUT THIS "CRAZY POLICY" THEY WANT TO IMPOSE ON THE POOR ONES THEY CLAIM.IF THEY NEEDED SOME MONEY TO SUPPORT THEIR WEAK ECONOMY,WE ARE READY TO HELP SO THEY SHOULD STOP BEING SMART,BECAUSE WE KNOW WHAT THE UK IS UP TO.YA ALLAH HELP US.
DANIEL KEITH 12 years ago
THIS IS THE TIME FOR AFRICA LEADERS TO WAKE UP AND DO RIGHT THINGS FOR THERE BELOVE COUNTRY.
Lord 12 years ago
time to build our homeland
alex 12 years ago
You are stupid. You will die you lier
ABDUL-KARIM GARIBA 12 years ago
THEY HAD BETTER NOT IMPLEMENT THIS POLICY,BECAUSE THIS WILL MEAN THAT,THE UK IS DEMONSTRATING THE HIGHEST LEVEL OF RACISM,DISCRIMINATION AND SEGREGATION.IF THEY THINK OTHERWISE,THEY SHOULD INCLUDE,US,RUSSIA,GERMANY,AND THE SO CALLED "POWERFUL NATIONS". WHY DO THEY WANT TO PUT THIS POLICY TO TEST ON COUNTRIES, THEY CONSIDER POOREST IN THE WORLD? IT'S FUNNY HOW EVERYBODY CONSIDERS HONESTY A VIRTUE,YET NO ONE WANTS TO HEAR THE TRUTH.BUT I DO NOT BLAME THE UK I RATHER BLAME AFRICAN LEADERS.A WORD TO WISE IS ENOUGH.THAT IS MY WORD.
samy 12 years ago
if i had such amount not in use wud i have visited the UK just for a visit.c'mon dt amount is too much and if the uk embassy will go on implementing this policy den i guess they have to be treated same.
GHFUO, LOVE/DOR YOURSELF! 12 years ago
EAST SIDE HIGH GHANA
ONLY JOE CLARK CAN SAVE GH. TOO MUCH CORRUPTION, LAWLESSNESS, THIEVES
PORCH MONKEYS, LAZY RATS DISGUISED AS HUMAN BEING....ANYTHING GOES
WHILES OTHER NATIONS ARE BUSY PROTWCTING THEIR INTERESTS, GH JUS ... read full comment
EAST SIDE HIGH GHANA
WHILES OTHER NATIONS ARE BUSY PROTWCTING THEIR INTERESTS, GH JUST
COMPLAINS. DO U OWN THE UK? LOOK AT WHAT U HAVE DONE TO UR OWN BACKYARD?
TWEAA, IF I WERE THE QUEEN...GH, NAIJA, INDIA, SRILANKANS WILL ALL BE BANNED.
IF U DONT HAVE A CERTAIN GDP AS A NATION, NONE OF UR CITIZENS WILL
BE EASILY ADMITTED TO MY YARD. WE DONT KNOW HOW TO DO GOOD,JUST RIPPING
OFF OTHERS, FRAUDING OTHERS, STEALING, ...HECK, WE CANT EVEN MANAGE WAT WE HAVE
BUT WANT TO GO FOR POUNDS?
VISITORS GO N DONT RETURN. THEY STAY N BECOME A BURDEN ON THE UK SOCIAL SERVICE BASE, RESOURCES, FOOD ETC. MANY DO PROSTITUTION, CRIME, FRAUD...WHO NEEDS THIS. LOOK AT THE NUMBER OF GH IN UK JAILS FOR DRUGS, CRIME, FRAUD? UK IS NOW FORCING WE GH TO MEND OUR CORRUPT WAYS N DEVELOP OUR COUNTRY. I HOPE THEY PASS MORE OF THESE LAWS
aduanaba 12 years ago
Ghana should pulled out of the so-called british commonwealth.Afterall it reminds us always of our colonial past.
May God shave the queen!!
Ghana should pulled out of the so-called british commonwealth.Afterall it reminds us always of our colonial past.
GHFUO, LOVE/DOR YOURSELF! 12 years ago
I PRAY THE UK BANS ALL GH FOODS, CLOTHES DELICACIES FROM BEING IMPORTED N SOLD. THIS WILL MAKE IT EVEN MORE IMPORTANT FOR GHPPL IN UK TO STOP SPENDING POUNDS ON GH FOOD, GH CLOTHING. MBOA....THOSE RUNNING AFRICAN GROCERY STORES WILL ALL BE OUT OF WORK. GO BACK TO SCHOOL N BECOME A NURSE OR SMTHING....OR WORK T KFC...IF U HATE IT, GO BACK HOME
Jade 12 years ago
No wealth to share commonly. If you go through Europe you will be ok and legal
Jade 12 years ago
You can come from former French speaking country free without paying a penny, correct? Shame!
Etsey 12 years ago
Lets think well ooh this visa bond thing is a modern way of "RACISM"
BIN 1 12 years ago
This is no time to embroil in a diplomatic row becaause it amount to total waste of time,human and materia resources. From the report,it is obvious the UK government is only singling out those nations that are economically irrelevant(apart from India). How on earth would they place Ghan in the same condition with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh(both which are third world countries)? Truth is, Ghana governmen, just like Bangladesh,India and Sri Lanka,depends so much on forign aide. To be realistic,I think we deserve all these humiliation,after all we are a beggar nation;and they say a beggar has no choice! Abi,what do you think?
Robin Hood 12 years ago
Blockhead Murtala,the announcement is not a rumour.The Home Secretary,Mrs Theresa May,said it in theHouse of Commons two days ago,and all the different media houses have reported it.If the UK government has not officially written to you about it that does not make it a rumour.What a blockhead of a Minister.
BRAVEBOY 12 years ago
JUST SIGN GHANA OUT OF THE BLOOD SUCKING ORGANISATION.
Nijaboy 12 years ago
i dont know what has happened to the african tenets of respect for elders. I am aware that african politicians have mostly not done well , with some few exceptions. However, it is not enough we start abusing them using virulent terms af if we were talking to our houseboys. Most contributors here are mostly uninformed. Period. The proposed new UK Policy being referred to here affects Nigerians as well.The bond issue is not the plan of our Leaders: it is a British policy aimed at tackling those who stay back in the uk when after their visas have expired without renewal. It affects some other Countries as well and it would come into effect as from November 2013. It is not your President's fault and neither is it our President's fault. Please let us stop from insulting our Leaders unfairly. Your Minister should not say it is a rumour. It is not a rumour as our own Government in Nigeria has already summoned the UK High Commissioner and demanded for explanations. From all indications, Nigeria may retaliate against the UK: This has been made known by our Government. Ghana may also do the same. However, please let us tarry and think well before we abuse . Meanwhile, the new bond of 3000 pounds will not affect everybody but will affect some high risk individuals who are likely to disappear into thin air upon arrival in the UK ie those who dont have verifiable and acceptable income.
MR SPOILER 12 years ago
Have you forgotten this same british came to this country to take all our stuffs away and now they want us to pay money before coming into their country.Our leaders will always fool themselves to agree with them because they dont think about the past.Apart from african's whoever comes to this country should pay more before coming because you will never take it easy when going to their so call countries.Idiots
D/Sgt. Nuamah 12 years ago
Are you sure , Mr. Information minister, that , the Ghana High Commission in London has not been informed? I.e if they are under obligation to inform the Ghana Govermnent of what amount of money the collect for the issue of Visae?
angle man 12 years ago
why all are crying,Time has come for Ghana to focus and to look to the future,and make OUR ONLY LAND A BETTER PLACE TO LIVED.WHO LIKES TO GO SOMEBODYS COUNTRY,HOPE THEY CHARGE MORE THAN THAT.
WISE TALK 12 years ago
The bottom line is that exploitation is over, steeling of natural resources is over. Africans and or developing countries are all educating their masses, through democracy and social media. These white baffones are so desperate to find ways and means of extracting money for themselves and their country. If one could reflect back, one could tell that the succesfullnes of their country was from the robbing of our natural resources. Now Africans are getting wiser, no nonsense for monkey. After all the jobs they give immigrants are shity and nasty. They came to our countries first and rob us. Now they have to dance to their own MUSIC. WHITE MAN HAVE NO RESPECT FOR BLACK, THEY STILL SEE THEMSELVES AS SUPERIOR BEING AND THE BLACKS AS INFERIOR.
Dragon Slayer 12 years ago
The policy is to stop people overstaying visa,if you impose bonds to tourist visiting Ghana they will not come and you will loose much needed income, the bond is returnable when you return to Ghana. £50.00 visa cost to visit Ghana is one of the highest visa charges to which is not returnable.
ESTHER 12 years ago
U ARE NOT SERIOUS. HOW CAN U TREAT THIS SERIOUS ISSUE AS A RUMOUR?
Opambour 12 years ago
The UK High Commission should be simply told that their intended action is against the local laws of Ghana as it breaches the banking and financial laws of Ghana. Finito!!!!
People should think and act smart.
The UK High Commission should be simply told that their intended action is against the local laws of Ghana as it breaches the banking and financial laws of Ghana. Finito!!!!
////////// 12 years ago
WAKE UP GHANA, THIS IS NOT A RUMOUR. IT,S A REALITY.
Kingsley 12 years ago
Ghana must use its new found economic power to muscle these greedy western bastards to their knees. Revoke all western extradition agreements, British airways permits in Ghana, kill all Bristish own interests and business with crazy levies and taxes.
BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 12 years ago
BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, BARRISTER-AT LAW, QCL, DPA,CPA,BA(HONS) {GHANA},MASTER OF LAWS (LLM){NEW YORK,USA}PENDING,MEMBER,INTERNATIONAL(WORLD/GLOBAL)BAR ASSOCIATION (IBA),MEMBER,BRITISH COMMONWEALTH LAWYERS ASSOCIATION (CLA),ASSOCIATE MEMBER,AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION (ABA),ABA,FOREIGN LEGAL CONSULTANTS COMMITTEE, ABA, INTERNATIONAL
ARBITRATORS COMMITTEE,ABA,CONSTITUTIONAL LAW COMMITTEE,ABA,CRIMINAL LAW COMMITTEE, ABA,COMMERCIAL TRANSACTIONS,FRANCHISING & DISTRIBUTIONS COMMITTEE,ABA,ENVIRONMENTAL LAW ,ENERGY LAW & NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEES & OTHERS, MEMBER,GHANA BAR ASSOCIATION (GBA)
EBAA LAW CONSULT
LEGAL PRACTITIONERS/CONSULTANTS
#4 GRAPHIC ROAD
TOKU HSE
1ST FLOOR
ACCRA.
GHANA.
TEL NO: 0545758633
E-MAIL :"tonyamekudzi@Yahoo.com>
BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, INTERNATIONAL LAWYER/LEGAL CONSULTANT
H.E. RT.HON. PRIME MINISTER OF UNITED KINGDOM DAVID CAMERON
OFFICE OF THE PRIME MINISTER
10 DOWNING STREET
LONDON
HON. FOREIGN SECRETARY/MINISTER OF UNITED KINGDOM
DEPARTMENT OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS
LONDON
INFO TO:
H.E.PRESIDENT OF GHANA JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA
H.E.DR.MR.PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA
HON. MINISTER OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS & REGIONAL INTEGRATION HANNAH TETTEY
HON. SECRETARY OF STATE JOHN KERRY
H.E. HIGH COMMISSIONER OF UNITED KINGDOM TO GHANA
DEAR H.E.RT.HON.PRIME MINISTER DAVID CAMERON & HON. FOREIGN SECRETARY,
TO RESPECTFULLY REFER TO THE ABOVE RELATED SUBJECT-MATTER AND THE GHANA STATESMAN NEWSPAPER PUBLICATION BELOW WHICH TOUCHES AND CONCERNS "3,000 BRITISH POUNDS STERLINGS TRAVELLING BOND POSED ON GHANAIANS AND OTHER SELECTIVE COUNTRIES TRAVELLING TO THE UNITED KINGDOM BY THE GOVERNMENT OF UNITED KINGDOM" AND TO MAKE ANALYSIS OF THE LAW VIS-A-VIS THE UNITED NATIONS CHARTER OF DECLARATION OF FUNDAMENTAL HUMAN RIGHTS OF WHICH BOTH GHANA AND UNITED KINGDOM ARE SIGNATORIES TO THE CHARTER.
THAT ARTICLE 13 OF THE UNITED NATIONS CHARTER AS SEEN BELOW CLEARLY PROVIDES AS FOLLOWS:
UNITED NATIONS CHARTER OF DECLARATION OF HUMAN RIGHTS
Article 13.
(1) Everyone has the right to freedom of movement and residence within the borders of each state.
(2) Everyone has the right to leave any country, including his own, and to return to his country.
THAT THE CHARTER CLEARLY PROVIDES FOR THE RIGHT TO FREEDOM OF MOVEMENT AND THEREFORE AS GHANA AND UNITED KINGDOM ARE FRIENDS AND HAVE BOND OF TIES WITHIN THE COMMONWEALTH OF NATIONS, UNITED NATIONS AND OTHERS FOR THE UNITED KINGDOM TO PURPORT TO PICK AND CHOOSE COUNTRIES AND TO GIVE THESE COUNTRIES DIFFERENT TREATMENT FROM OTHERS IN ITSELF PURPORTED TO RISE UP TO THE LEVEL OF DISCRIMINATION BASED UPON "NATIONAL ORIGIN AND OTHER SOCIAL STRATIFICATION CLASS".
THAT GHANA 1992 CONSTITUTION CHAPTER 005 WHICH DEALS WITH "THE FUNDAMENTAL HUMAN RIGHTS PROVIDES AS FOLLOWS:
g) freedom of movement which means the right to move freely in Ghana, the right to leave and to enter Ghana and immunity from expulsion from Ghana.
(2) A restriction on a person's freedom of movement by his lawful detention shall not be held to be inconsistent with or in contravention of this article.
THAT IT IS FACTUAL THAT EVERY COUNTRY HAS THE RIGHT TO ENACT ITS OWN "IMMIGRATION LAWS" BUT THE LAW SHOULD TAKE "A HUMAN RELATED APPROACH STRATEGY FACE" AND NOT TO BE SEEN AS DISCRIMINATORY.
THAT IF A PERSON OR PERSONS TRAVELLED TO THE UNITED KINGDOM AND VIOLATED THE LAWS OF UNITED KINGDOM THAT THE LAW SHOULD BE SEEN TO APPLY TO THE NATURE OF THEIR CASE(S) AND NOT TO USE AS "OMNIBUS CLAUSE AGAINST ALL PEOPLE OF GHANA WHO WOULD WANT TO EXERCISE THEIR RIGHTS OF FREEDOM OF MOVEMENT TO TRAVEL TO UNITED KINGDOM.
THAT TO PURPORT TO DO SO WOULD DEFEAT THE RIGHTS TO FREEDOM OF MOVEMENT OF THE PEOPLE AND WOULD BE SEEN AS THE RIGHT OF FREEDOM OF MOVEMENT TO ONLY THE CLASS OF THE FEW PRIVILEGE RICH AND AFFLUENT.
IT IS AT THESE RELATED BACKDROPS THAT I AM RESPECTFULLY PUTTING IN ISSUE THE UNITED NATIONS CHARTER ON FUNDAMENTAL HUMAN RIGHTS AND CHAPTER 005 OF GHANA 1992 CONSTITUTION AS SEEN BELOW AS THE BASIS OF THE CASE AND TO HUMBLY URGE H.E.RT.HON.PRIME MINISTER DAVID CAMERON AND HON. FOREIGN SECRETARY TO REVISIT THE 3,000 BRITISH POUNDS STERLING BOND REQUIREMENTS AND TO RESPECTFULLY CONSIDER TO LIFT THE BOND REQUIREMENTS.
PREAMBLE
Whereas recognition of the inherent dignity and of the equal and inalienable rights of all members of the human family is the foundation of freedom, justice and peace in the world,
Whereas disregard and contempt for human rights have resulted in barbarous acts which have outraged the conscience of mankind, and the advent of a world in which human beings shall enjoy freedom of speech and belief and freedom from fear and want has been proclaimed as the highest aspiration of the common people,
Whereas it is essential, if man is not to be compelled to have recourse, as a last resort, to rebellion against tyranny and oppression, that human rights should be protected by the rule of law,
Whereas it is essential to promote the development of friendly relations between nations,
Whereas the peoples of the United Nations have in the Charter reaffirmed their faith in fundamental human rights, in the dignity and worth of the human person and in the equal rights of men and women and have determined to promote social progress and better standards of life in larger freedom,
Whereas Member States have pledged themselves to achieve, in co-operation with the United Nations, the promotion of universal respect for and observance of human rights and fundamental freedoms,
Whereas a common understanding of these rights and freedoms is of the greatest importance for the full realization of this pledge,
Now, Therefore THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY proclaims THIS UNIVERSAL DECLARATION OF HUMAN RIGHTS as a common standard of achievement for all peoples and all nations, to the end that every individual and every organ of society, keeping this Declaration constantly in mind, shall strive by teaching and education to promote respect for these rights and freedoms and by progressive measures, national and international, to secure their universal and effective recognition and observance, both among the peoples of Member States themselves and among the peoples of territories under their jurisdiction.
^ Top
Article 1.
All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights.They are endowed with reason and conscience and should act towards one another in a spirit of brotherhood.
^ Top
Article 2.
Everyone is entitled to all the rights and freedoms set forth in this Declaration, without distinction of any kind, such as race, colour, sex, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, property, birth or other status. Furthermore, no distinction shall be made on the basis of the political, jurisdictional or international status of the country or territory to which a person belongs, whether it be independent, trust, non-self-governing or under any other limitation of sovereignty.
^ Top
Article 3.
Everyone has the right to life, liberty and security of person.
^ Top
Article 4.
No one shall be held in slavery or servitude; slavery and the slave trade shall be prohibited in all their forms.
^ Top
Article 5.
No one shall be subjected to torture or to cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment.
^ Top
Article 6.
Everyone has the right to recognition everywhere as a person before the law.
^ Top
Article 7.
All are equal before the law and are entitled without any discrimination to equal protection of the law. All are entitled to equal protection against any discrimination in violation of this Declaration and against any incitement to such discrimination.
^ Top
Article 8.
Everyone has the right to an effective remedy by the competent national tribunals for acts violating the fundamental rights granted him by the constitution or by law.
^ Top
Article 9.
No one shall be subjected to arbitrary arrest, detention or exile.
^ Top
Article 10.
Everyone is entitled in full equality to a fair and public hearing by an independent and impartial tribunal, in the determination of his rights and obligations and of any criminal charge against him.
^ Top
Article 11.
(1) Everyone charged with a penal offence has the right to be presumed innocent until proved guilty according to law in a public trial at which he has had all the guarantees necessary for his defence.
(2) No one shall be held guilty of any penal offence on account of any act or omission which did not constitute a penal offence, under national or international law, at the time when it was committed. Nor shall a heavier penalty be imposed than the one that was applicable at the time the penal offence was committed.
^ Top
Article 12.
No one shall be subjected to arbitrary interference with his privacy, family, home or correspondence, nor to attacks upon his honour and reputation. Everyone has the right to the protection of the law against such interference or attacks.
^ Top
Article 13.
(1) Everyone has the right to freedom of movement and residence within the borders of each state.
(2) Everyone has the right to leave any country, including his own, and to return to his country.
^ Top
Article 14.
(1) Everyone has the right to seek and to enjoy in other countries asylum from persecution.
(2) This right may not be invoked in the case of prosecutions genuinely arising from non-political crimes or from acts contrary to the purposes and principles of the United Nations.
^ Top
Article 15.
(1) Everyone has the right to a nationality.
(2) No one shall be arbitrarily deprived of his nationality nor denied the right to change his nationality.
^ Top
Article 16.
(1) Men and women of full age, without any limitation due to race, nationality or religion, have the right to marry and to found a family. They are entitled to equal rights as to marriage, during marriage and at its dissolution.
(2) Marriage shall be entered into only with the free and full consent of the intending spouses.
(3) The family is the natural and fundamental group unit of society and is entitled to protection by society and the State.
^ Top
Article 17.
(1) Everyone has the right to own property alone as well as in association with others.
(2) No one shall be arbitrarily deprived of his property.
^ Top
Article 18.
Everyone has the right to freedom of thought, conscience and religion; this right includes freedom to change his religion or belief, and freedom, either alone or in community with others and in public or private, to manifest his religion or belief in teaching, practice, worship and observance.
^ Top
Article 19.
Everyone has the right to freedom of opinion and expression; this right includes freedom to hold opinions without interference and to seek, receive and impart information and ideas through any media and regardless of frontiers.
^ Top
Article 20.
(1) Everyone has the right to freedom of peaceful assembly and association.
(2) No one may be compelled to belong to an association.
^ Top
Article 21.
(1) Everyone has the right to take part in the government of his country, directly or through freely chosen representatives.
(2) Everyone has the right of equal access to public service in his country.
(3) The will of the people shall be the basis of the authority of government; this will shall be expressed in periodic and genuine elections which shall be by universal and equal suffrage and shall be held by secret vote or by equivalent free voting procedures.
^ Top
Article 22.
Everyone, as a member of society, has the right to social security and is entitled to realization, through national effort and international co-operation and in accordance with the organization and resources of each State, of the economic, social and cultural rights indispensable for his dignity and the free development of his personality.
^ Top
Article 23.
(1) Everyone has the right to work, to free choice of employment, to just and favourable conditions of work and to protection against unemployment.
(2) Everyone, without any discrimination, has the right to equal pay for equal work.
(3) Everyone who works has the right to just and favourable remuneration ensuring for himself and his family an existence worthy of human dignity, and supplemented, if necessary, by other means of social protection.
(4) Everyone has the right to form and to join trade unions for the protection of his interests.
^ Top
Article 24.
Everyone has the right to rest and leisure, including reasonable limitation of working hours and periodic holidays with pay.
^ Top
Article 25.
(1) Everyone has the right to a standard of living adequate for the health and well-being of himself and of his family, including food, clothing, housing and medical care and necessary social services, and the right to security in the event of unemployment, sickness, disability, widowhood, old age or other lack of livelihood in circumstances beyond his control.
(2) Motherhood and childhood are entitled to special care and assistance. All children, whether born in or out of wedlock, shall enjoy the same social protection.
^ Top
Article 26.
(1) Everyone has the right to education. Education shall be free, at least in the elementary and fundamental stages. Elementary education shall be compulsory. Technical and professional education shall be made generally available and higher education shall be equally accessible to all on the basis of merit.
(2) Education shall be directed to the full development of the human personality and to the strengthening of respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms. It shall promote understanding, tolerance and friendship among all nations, racial or religious groups, and shall further the activities of the United Nations for the maintenance of peace.
(3) Parents have a prior right to choose the kind of education that shall be given to their children.
^ Top
Article 27.
(1) Everyone has the right freely to participate in the cultural life of the community, to enjoy the arts and to share in scientific advancement and its benefits.
(2) Everyone has the right to the protection of the moral and material interests resulting from any scientific, literary or artistic production of which he is the author.
^ Top
Article 28.
Everyone is entitled to a social and international order in which the rights and freedoms set forth in this Declaration can be fully realized.
^ Top
Article 29.
(1) Everyone has duties to the community in which alone the free and full development of his personality is possible.
(2) In the exercise of his rights and freedoms, everyone shall be subject only to such limitations as are determined by law solely for the purpose of securing due recognition and respect for the rights and freedoms of others and of meeting the just requirements of morality, public order and the general welfare in a democratic society.
(3) These rights and freedoms may in no case be exercised contrary to the purposes and principles of the United Nations.
^ Top
Article 30.
Nothing in this Declaration may be interpreted as implying for any State, group or person any right to engage in any activity or to perform any act aimed at the destruction of any of the rights and freedoms set forth herein.
CHAPTER 005 OF GHANA 1992 CONSTITUTION
1) All persons shall have the right to-
(a) freedom of speech and expression, which shall include freedom of the press and other media;
(b) freedom of thought, conscience and belief, which shall include academic freedom;
(c) freedom to practise any religion and to manifest such practice;
(d) freedom of assembly including freedom to take part in processions and demonstrations.
(e) freedom of association, which shall include freedom to form or join trade unions or other associations, national and international, for the protection of their interest;
(f) information, subject to such qualifications and laws as are necessary in a democratic society;
(g) freedom of movement which means the right to move freely in Ghana, the right to leave and to enter Ghana and immunity from expulsion from Ghana. (2) A restriction on a person's freedom of movement by his lawful detention shall not be held to be inconsistent with or in contravention of this article.
IT IS THEREFORE MY RESPECTFUL AND CANDID SUBMISSION THAT IN THIS 21ST CENTURY DISPENSATION OF SMART DIPLOMACY, PROMOTION OF FRIENDSHIPS AND INFORMATION SHARING IN THE ERA OF GOOD GOVERNANCE, INCLUSIVENESS AND TRANSPARENCY THAT I AM HUMBLY AND RESPECTFULLY URGING H.E.RT.HON.PRIME MINISTER DAVID CAMERON AND HON.FOREIGN SECRETARY TO URGENTLY CONSIDER IN THE BEST INTERNATIONAL INTEREST TO LIFT THE BOND REQUIREMENTS FOR NOT ONLY GHANA BUT ALSO ALL OTHER SELECTIVE COUNTRIES BECAUSE THE LAW IS COLOURED WITH DISCRIMINATION.
RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED.
GOD BLESS UNITED KINGDOM, GHANA, AMERICA AND UNITED NATIONS AND MAY GOD BLESS HER MAJESTY QUEEN ELIZABETH II.
VERY TRULY YOURS,
BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI
INTERNATIONAL LAWYER/LEGAL CONSULTANT
Home
News
Politics
Sports
Entertainment
Business
Lifestyle
Technology
Health
World News
Photos
Contact
Hot News
Rejoinder: Okudzeto Behind My Hounding, says Werek...
TSATSU ENDS CROSS-EXAMINATION TODAY -As Bawumia da...
Ghana Gas Project is 33% Complete – IMANI Report
Aseidu Nketia explains why NDC boycotted Kufuor's ...
MPs, PUBLIC ANGRY OVER £3,000 UK BOND
Last Updated on 26 June 2013
By Nana Yaw Dwamena
Hits: 531
Members of Parliament, as well as the general public, have sharply criticized the Government of the United Kingdom for introducing a policy that will require Ghanaian visitors to the UK to deposit an amount of £3,000 to serve as a guarantee for their return.
Speaking on the floor of Parliament yesterday, some MPs called on the Government of Ghana to act quickly to safeguard the interest of its citizens since, according to them, the policy will not be in the interest of Ghanaians who might want to visit the UK.
With this new immigration policy, visitors from 'high risk' countries in Africa and Asia will have to put up the £3,000 cash bond to enter Britain. The money will be kept by the Government if visitors do not return home by the time their visas expire.
The policy was forced to be abandoned by the British Government in 2000, following angry reactions from anti-racist and immigration support groups.
A pilot scheme, in the offing, announced by British Home Secretary Theresa May, targets people coming to Britain on six-month visit visas from India, Pakistan, Nigeria, Ghana, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.
According to the Home Secretary, these countries have been picked for their high number of visa applications and what the British Government sees as relatively high levels of immigration abuse and fraud.
The bond, to be implemented from November 2013, will only apply to non-EU migrants, whilst a second scheme yet to be introduced will cover countries such as Kenya and Gambia which are considered to be ‘lower-risk’ because UK immigration officials have fewer doubts about migrants' plans to return home.
Member of Parliament for Manhyia South, Mathew Opoku-Prempeh, yesterday asked Ghana’s parliament to lay a formal statement before it, to show how Ghana was against the new policy, insisting that the country must stand up to defend its sovereignty.
Eugenia Kusi, MP for Tarkwa-Nsuaem, also stated that if nothing was done about the policy, then UK citizens would have to be treated the same way when they want to come to Ghana.
Some members of the public, in an interview with the New Statesman, also expressed similar sentiments. According to Yeboah Bismark, a teacher at Osiem in the Eastern Region, if this policy is allowed to be implemented, then Britain should also be made to pay interest on the bond amount of Ghanaians who visit the UK and return home.
He proposed: “The shorter your stay, the higher the interest. If this is not done, they would just invest this money to make profit out of us to develop their nation just as they stole our gold to develop their country.”
Innocent Kpegah, a carpenter at Lomnava, a suburb of Accra, whose attempt to travel to the UK has been denied on several occasions, said the bond was the final nail in the coffin for him. He said he wanted to go there and make money, adding he would not try going there if he had that amount in his bank account.
Sarcastically, Innocent told this reporter, “These British people are not serious. £3,000 for what? That money can expand my business and I would not bother joining any queue for interviews at their embassy. They should take their country.”
Hilda Kumahlor, a student of the University of Ghana, who usually visits the UK during the university’s long vacation, branded the policy as outrageous, adding, “Why not all Britons in Ghana being made to pay 30K pounds which will be deposited at the Bank of Ghana, or else they should pack and leave. The British government can do better than this.”
She continued, “I am quite sure that France will not impose visa bond on its former colonies. The UK Government should reverse it or else we should pay them back in equal measure.”
Peter Diamenu, a national service person with Enterprise Life Assurance, however, asked the Government of Ghana to tread cautiously to avoid any diplomatic row with Britain.
“I will urge the government to take the necessary steps and address it in such a way that Ghanaians currently in the UK will not be affected. Britain is one of Ghana’s major donor partners, so we can’t risk doing anything that will break that cordial relationship. Let’s tackle it in a professional way,” he cautioned
kakyire london 12 years ago
make use of Ghana oil money so we can live in our country,and stop giving it to lordina to bleech herslf
Samuel Intsiful 12 years ago
Isn't it strange that a minister in government, will make a claim that the British Home office statement which the whole world knows as truth is a rumour?What is reality then?
kk 12 years ago
Ghana should just grow the economy and very soon UK will rather be begging for its citizens to work in ghana, already unemployment is running wild.
Note that Angola is now bailing out Portugal and the citizens are moving ... read full comment
Ghana should just grow the economy and very soon UK will rather be begging for its citizens to work in ghana, already unemployment is running wild.
Note that Angola is now bailing out Portugal and the citizens are moving to Angola for jobs. It will soon be the turn of UK citizens to move to Ghana and Nigeria
nanayaw 12 years ago
gradually,mother ghana will be listed as a terorist state due to a very bad government and corruptions going on in that state.why is this happening?
The announcement has been made. The affected countries foreign offices has been served with letters in regard to the changes and now the deputy Misinformation Minister is telling Ghanaians it is just a RUMOUR. Haba Chineke! ...
action to saveguard the interest of the people's of Ghana, fellow country men and women just listen to what ...
The British govt desperate and looking for a way out hence this absurd policy on poor visitors! This is a policy tha ...
When the XENOPHOBIC GHANAIANS imposed their EVIL whopping $300,000 policy on any foreigner including your fellow ECOWAS citizens mostly Nigerians, before they can do any business in Ghana, you did not see it EVIL AND DRACONIA ...
EVEN YOUR ASHAWO MAMA TAK ...
I for one, am happy about this because it will ensure that many ...
colonial days are over. chinese tried and backfired into illegal gold mining.new form of colonial wickedness showing up. 3000 EU before Ghanaians can enter poor and devilish white man's country.UK. ghana must demand 12,000 eu ...
pepeni like all evil men in history is saying its God who gave him victory , Hitler , Stalin and all the intrinsically evil men including Satan also claimed the same. pepeni has put only his own Muslim pepefuo in charge of al ...
HEY CHINAMAN! How did you find your way here with those phony eyes of yours? If you really know how to fight back, then why not go to fight your repressive govt with your stinking mouth? China has a population of over one bil ...
UK Immigration policy makers do not even need to inform any country of their decision. All they have to do is to publish and inform the public of their intention and to carry it out. Good thing is that they always give you pl ...
WHY ARE THESE SO-CALLED GHANA LEADERS ALWAYS LYING TO GHANAIANS.THEY SIMPLY ARE PATHOLOGICAL LIARS.GB ANNOUNCED THIS BAD POLICY ALL OVER THE WORLD SO ARE THESE STUPID LEAGERS WAITING TO BE TOLD BEFORE REACTING.FOR ALL YOU KNO ...
Let us call spade spade. There are a lot of things that Ghana Parliament have to be seen to be concerned about and not UK £3000 visa fees. The reason for their worry is that this is the only policy that affects the MPs more ...
I tell you guys. The deal ...
We have ourselves to blame, my brothe ...
Ghananaba you must be an illiterate idiot. If you want to hurt your friend or damage your friend's reputation, do you consult him/her first? If you are in your right senses, the British government does not even consult the op ...
What can you do even if it is true?Make sure you put the resources of the state to good use,so that your fellow citizens will not rush to the U.K.After all the U.K gains more from its former colonial territories than we do fr ...
A business man called a travel agent and had a question about the documents he needed in order to fly to China. After a lengthy discussion about passports, the agent reminded him he needed a visa. "Oh no I don’t, I’ve bee ...
China is the new WEST
The government of Ghana MUST also get that policy in case the UK makes it effective. Remember that the UK does not communicate these things to the government of Ghana. People will only be issued letters from the embassy after ...
The point is Britian doesn't need odd job workers such as cleaners, care workers and security officers like our fellow Ghanaian brothers, cos they have got the Eastern Europeans. They need the best to turn their economy arou ...
Why should Ghana tell UK what thy want to do at, and within Ghanaian borders? This is UK's Home Office and its protectionist policies driven by pressures from the EU. They have more people than they need; they can't stop othe ...
THANKS
So that means people can not vist their love ones in the UK if their families dont have the money as gaurantee. What on earth is in the UK that one must pay that huge sum before entering into the UK? Is UK heaven? This is rea ...
Romour? my foot,Is the Ghana government waiting for a letter from 10 Downing St,confirming this selective and discriminatory policy against Ghana a friendly and fellow Commonwealth country.Which was announced by the home secr ...
UK should bow their heads in shame because this pure act of racism and extortion from Africans and other national mentioned in the list they are rating as high risk. I think Ghanaian government should recall the Ghanaian emba ...
IF UNITED KINGDOM BELONGS TO THEM,SO THEY CAN DO WHATEVER THEY WISH,WHY DID THEY KILL BROTHER GHADAFI?BECAUSE LIBYA WAS HIS COUNTRY AND HE WAS THEIR LEADER FOR THAT MATTER.AND THIS MAN,BROTHER GHADAFI,WAS KILLED LIKE AN ANIMA ...
THEY HAD BETTER NOT IMPLEMENT THIS POLICY,BECAUSE THIS WILL MEAN THAT,THE UK IS DEMONSTRATING THE HIGHEST LEVEL OF RACISM,DISCRIMINATION AND SEGREGATION.IF THEY THINK OTHERWISE,THEY SHOULD INCLUDE,US,RUSSIA,GERMANY,AND THE SO ...
EAST SIDE HIGH GHANA
WHILES OTHER NATIONS ARE BUSY PROTWCTING THEIR INTERESTS, GH JUS ...
I PRAY THE UK BANS ALL GH FOODS, CLOTHES DELICACIES FROM BEING IMPORTED N SOLD. THIS WILL MAKE IT EVEN MORE IMPORTANT FOR GHPPL IN UK TO STOP SPENDING POUNDS ON GH FOOD, GH CLOTHING. MBOA....THOSE RUNNING AFRICAN GROCERY STOR ...
This is no time to embroil in a diplomatic row becaause it amount to total waste of time,human and materia resources. From the report,it is obvious the UK government is only singling out those nations that are economically ir ...
Blockhead Murtala,the announcement is not a rumour.The Home Secretary,Mrs Theresa May,said it in theHouse of Commons two days ago,and all the different media houses have reported it.If the UK government has not officially wri ...
i dont know what has happened to the african tenets of respect for elders. I am aware that african politicians have mostly not done well , with some few exceptions. However, it is not enough we start abusing them using virule ...
Have you forgotten this same british came to this country to take all our stuffs away and now they want us to pay money before coming into their country.Our leaders will always fool themselves to agree with them because they ...
Are you sure , Mr. Information minister, that , the Ghana High Commission in London has not been informed? I.e if they are under obligation to inform the Ghana Govermnent of what amount of money the collect for the issue of V ...
The bottom line is that exploitation is over, steeling of natural resources is over. Africans and or developing countries are all educating their masses, through democracy and social media. These white baffones are so despera ...
The policy is to stop people overstaying visa,if you impose bonds to tourist visiting Ghana they will not come and you will loose much needed income, the bond is returnable when you return to Ghana. £50.00 visa cost to visit ...
Ghana must use its new found economic power to muscle these greedy western bastards to their knees. Revoke all western extradition agreements, British airways permits in Ghana, kill all Bristish own interests and business wit ...
BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, BARRISTER-AT LAW, QCL, DPA,CPA,BA(HONS) {GHANA},MASTER OF LAWS (LLM){NEW YORK,USA}PENDING,MEMBER,INTERNATIONAL(WORLD/GLOBAL)BAR ASSOCIATION (IBA),MEMBER,BRITISH COMMONWEALTH LAWYERS ASSOCIATION (CLA),ASS ...
Note that Angola is now bailing out Portugal and the citizens are moving ...