You are here: HomeNews2013 06 24Article 277717

Update: Calm returns to Ashaiman as police, military take over

Read Comments Comments (78)

• Paparazzi 10 years ago

Why is NPP doing this? Are they trying to destabilise the country ? Burning houses, armed robberies, and now this, why NPP, why?

• John,Tema 10 years ago

Paparazzi you are just an idiot with no brain.Are you not aware that Ashaiman is NDC stronghold?How can NPP organise such large number of people in that constituency?I just got through that chaos and lawlessness.If local asse ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author: Samuel...
    "I humbly submit that samuel "ISOFOTON"
    Okudzeto must be investigated. he was all over the place canvassing for this spanish co. to be paid this money. An please remember, Martin Amidu hinted that okudzeto ...

• MANU 10 years ago

HAHAHAAA! WHAT HAS YOUR COMMENT GOT TO DO WITH THIS ASHAIMAN ISSUE. WHY? YOU DEY INSIDE THE WEATHER? HAHAHAHAAA

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author: ORM...

Even though the supreme court judges deferred to the lower courts to decide on Woyome, they fired a critical salvo against lawyers in the cases- Peasah Boadu for Waterville, Osafo Buabeng for Woyome, Tony L ...

• James John 10 years ago

Well you need to be covered in this country no running water, unstable electricity, etc. We need leaders who can change the status quo but also we the citizens need to change our ways also. Till then if you need accommodation ...

pepeni like all evil men in history is saying its God who gave him victory , hitler , stalin and all the intrinsically evil men including satan also claimed the same. pepeni has put only his own muslim pepefuo in charge of al ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• facts 10 years ago

It is described as unfortunate when NDC man is involved. If It were NPP men who took over arbitrarily, they would say it is calculated to make the government unpopular

• SERENA SEGBEFIA 10 years ago

'Pepeni, Pepeni, Pepeni, Ei Ghana asem ben ni'.

The demonstration must be persistent and widespread. If they fail to act as promised, we will come back with vengeance. We can no longer sit and be robbed. Period.

• george 10 years ago

Wo yè Odwan ?

• Pabro Correa 10 years ago

Paparazzi,ofuii,you are an educated idoit.
    You lack basic common sense

• MANU 10 years ago

OOOOOH! DON'T INSULT EACH OTHER. YOU SEE, DEMOCRACY IS THE SYSTEM FOR DIFFERENT IDEAS. IF YOU DON'T LIKE ONE, JUST SAY IT. TOLERATE EACH OTHER.

• Afia ba Kwabena 10 years ago

Anybody who has driven through Asiaman will know that these youths have been very patient with both NDC governments. All roads in Ashiaman are rotten. Everyday you will see these youths trying to repair the roads themselves f ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

If what you are saying is the truth, then why do these people in ASHIAMAN continue to vote for NDC? Ashiaman is a Trokosi enclave and these Trokosis are misbehaving by seizing a tool booth and demanding money from drivers.

• efo dagbe 10 years ago

woy3 kwasia paaa, what has NPP got to do with this. Ashaiman is a dominant NDC constituency , do u think NPP can do anything of this scale here. idiot. i am in Ashaiman and the people are just demonstrating about bad roads, i ...

• Tintitininti 10 years ago

There are stupid people in this website. Look at this guy, gimi gimi. No wonder Africa is the poorest in the continent. Gimi gimi. if you are like this guy how do you expect the development

• kooko 10 years ago

Paparazzi you a mad any thing is NPP right

• GHFUO, LOVE/DOR YOURSELF! 10 years ago

PRISON LABOR FOR REVENUE
    ROSE ATINGA BIO FOR IGP GHANA!
    GOOGLE "BILLIONS BEHIND BARS"
    1. PAY PRISONERS A SMALL WAGE TO WORK
    2. TRAIN THEM SO WHEN THEY COME OUT THEY BECOME PRODCUTIVE CITIZENS
    3. PRISONERS COULD SERVE AS ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

This is how Dramani Mahama the so-called elected President sees how progressive Ghana is under his NDC
    crooks, deceitful, dishonest, liar and
    incompetent NDC administration. Is this Mahama on a mental, frustratred
    State at ...

• GHFUO, LOVE/DOR YOURSELF! 10 years ago

THE ORDINARY GH IS MAD AT THE STATE OF AFFAIRS IN GH AND IN THEIR LIVES. THE INTERNET IS MAKING THE ORDINARY GH, ESPECIALLY THE YOUTH SEE WAT IS GOING ON NOT ONLY IN OTHER PARTS IN AFRICA, BUT THE WORLD. THEY FEEL LIKE THEY R ...

• MANU 10 years ago

YOU SEE IF WE DON'T TOLERATE EACH OTHER, THERE MAY BE MAYHEM ONE DAY. SO LET US PREACH PEACE AND TOLERATE EACH OTHER, ONE GHANA. THE POLICE SHOULD GET THOSE BEHIND THIS ACTION AND DEAL WITH THEM. THIS ONE NO POLITICS.

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

Ghana is definately in a seriuos post-election crisis, as NDC thugs continue to cause problems. The mood in Ghana is a very sad one, as John Mahama and his NDC continue deceive Ghanaians. Things continue to fall apart for Gha ...

• Andrew Brown 10 years ago

this is what happens under evil leadership.ghana really needs God's intervention.

• Sakura 10 years ago

Why this lawlessness and nonsensical behaviour?

• PRINCE B 10 years ago

lest matain the roads for every body , JM cannot fit the work , even his home town is not having a good road

• MANU 10 years ago

PRINCE B BE DAT O. THE MAHAMA GOVERNMENT HAS BEEN IN POWER FOR ONLY 6 MONTHS O. A ROAD IS CONTRUCTED IN MORE THAN 6 MONTHS O. PATIENCE WITH OUR SYSTEM. THE NPP AND NDC SHOULD STOP THIS CONFUSION. WE ARE ONLY REVERSING OUR OWN ...

• KWADWO OWUSU 10 years ago

This fucking ruling class must be punished for their inefficiency and corruption.

Anybody who has travelled on that terrible road knows the harm and inconvenience being done.

Fucking leaders.

• PAS 10 years ago

Ashaiman youth should know better.Go to the Western Region,and check on our roads.If the WESTERNERS also block roads,what will be the crises in the country.Asem se ber-GHANA

• ALI 10 years ago

these guys are just criminals & hooligans who are looking for the opportunity to steal and loot! birng the law down on them firmly, no exceptions. they must be used as scape-goats for anyone who attempts it again, as these ac ...

• MANU 10 years ago

SC. WE NEED VOLUNTEERS TO CONTROL THIS SITUATION. AND WHY TODAY? IS THIS THE COORDINATED WORK OF THE PRESIDENT'S ENEMIES?

• Kofi Dadie 10 years ago

Ali be careful what you say and let us all pray for Ghana before the suffering people start to spontaneously start a real revolution and start killing NDC officials. How could people of Ashaiman, an NDC stronghold be influenc ...

• Rasta 10 years ago

is the beginning of the revaluation all the youth across Ghana mast to wake up fort against vampires who want to destroy your generation

• MANU 10 years ago

TRUE RASTAFARIAN IS FOR PEACE AREY. RASTA NO CAUSE TROUBLE, BUT RASTA LOVE PEACE AND HARD WORK.

Rasta also wants justice and is against corruption and will fight it any day. Even violently because rastafarians know there cannot be peace without justice

This is the beginning of things to come. Propaganda cannot cover up the suffering and anger of the people. This NDC administration is Banza. Instead of tackling the hardships of the people, they continue looting and lying to ...

• appiah 10 years ago

Lack of responsible leadership.
    Is it possible that nature has conspired with NDC to impose rotten leadership on Ghana at this point in history? This is the curse from JJ Rawlings Killings and brutalities.

• MANU 10 years ago

THE PLAIN RESULT OF GROSS INDISCIPLENE
    THAT FORMER VICE PRESIDENT OF BLESSED MEMORY, ALIU MAHAMA, WAS TALKING ABOUT. ALL THESE GO TO WASTE NATIONAL RESOURCES. LET US BE SURE THIS IS NOT A PLAN TO DRAW SECURITY FROM THE SC FO ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 10 years ago

One might disagree with the tactics of the Asiaman youths, but absolutely no one can disagree with their cause. Asiaman is a major business district with terrible roads, I salute the young people for bringing attention to a m ...

ASHAIMAN

No blame game here please, this problem existed during both NPP&NDC administrations, they both dropped the ball on this one. However, President Mahama is in a position to do something about the situation, for the people's sak ...

• Ashaiman resident 10 years ago

I congratulate all Ashaiman youth for taking such action. corrupt government go and fix the roads!

• anonimous 10 years ago

the statement about lack of police presence is false.i used the motorway an hour ago and police and military personnel have swarmed the area.stop lying in your publications

• Forthright 10 years ago

One police vehicle, but no police personnel?

• jimmy 10 years ago

I thing you are not a resident of a Ashaiman so you don't see how difficult to drive or even walk through the town.
    When Ashaiman is in good shape is good for the people of Ghana and it is the ruling government that is takin ...

• Rasta 10 years ago

true Rastafarian is for new Zion the Zion will come through revolution my Brother Jah bless

• Kwame Agyeman Kagya. 10 years ago

TELL mahama TO DO SOMETHING ON ISSUES LIKE THESE AND STOP MESSING AROUND.

• Nii Ansah 10 years ago

Are u a serious minded ghanian?

• Nene Adekerker 10 years ago

Ede bee keke. I 100% support the action because the Ashaiman road is seriously bad. The boys should go and beat Alfred Agbesi and the Municipal Chief Executive

• Alhassan A. 10 years ago

It is unfortunate but so many roads, similar to the Ashaiman situation, need attention so as to prevent accidents and the subsequent lost of lives and property. the Ashaiman road and its current related issues reminds me of t ...

• Jerry Sodeman 10 years ago

There is not excuse for this and it should not be tolerated. Why would the police "contain" it? They should put a complete stop to it and deal with the perpetrators. This is anarchy.

• Erica 10 years ago

Jerry u are very stupid kwasia womame twe. How on earth should the people allow these corrupt leaders to ride on them and by the way, have u forgotten the police officers in Ashaiman are scared of the citizens? Have u also fo ...

• JK 10 years ago

Yes it is true that the youth of ashaiman municipalities and the GPRTU of ashaiman where on demonstration bcos of the nature of bad road in the township is alarmimg, the government and the assebly has to do something about it ...

• AB 10 years ago

It appears our Gov. understands the plight of the people in the country through violent demonstrations. I support this act.

• Maame Asa 10 years ago

bad nature of roads and collecting of monies at tollbooths aren't in sync...
    there should be value for our monies..
    i support the youth of Ashaiman though they didn't go about it the right way.
    And he(Mahama) calls it pro ...

• Patience Obeng Mensah 10 years ago

Kudos to the soldiers for maintaining absolute discipline and bringing the situation under control.

Ghana Police, hmmmmmmmmmm

• RAW 10 years ago

THE GH POLICE SHULD WAKE UP 2 THIS KIND OF LITTLE INTERNAL PBOBLEMS. THIS SHULDNT BE A MILITARY ISSUE IF TRUE.. SHAME ON GH POLICE.

• ESTHER .. NEWYORK 10 years ago

GOOD WORK DONE BOYS...

• wiliam awuku 10 years ago

we don't even no where mp is, we don't now he run away from down

• wiliam awuku 10 years ago

all this is happening is about politic

• slash yakubu 10 years ago

they shld keep on doing it bcs its like ashiama is nt part of Ghana.

• Yaya 10 years ago

Mr. President open your eyes, the Nungua - Ashaiman road is very bad, please do something about these roads.

• francis 10 years ago

youth stop that

• WHY 10 years ago

THEY HAVE THE RIGHT TO DO SO COS OUR ELDERS ARE NEVER SERIOUS IN ANYTHING THAT THEY ARE DOING WHY GHANA.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Another idiot. Rights are one thing, responsibilities are another. Burn down the already hard work we have done and come back in ten years and tell me, what Rights are. Go to Serra Leone and Liberia and find out how they have ...

• till zion 10 years ago

Get some crowd control tools like pepper spray......a couple of sprays and the road will be clear.

• Ashaiman resident 10 years ago

I think they deserve a big round of applause! You should see the state of the Ashaiman roads! TERRIBLE!!!!! Corrupt government officials!

• 7B 10 years ago

thus the rewards for the he-she gay governance...

• Proph 10 years ago

Ashaiman youth need to do even more action than this, what the government is doing with the road toll's money?

• KRETZ - D 10 years ago

So what's use of Ghana Police and the Army? This is where to use the army this kind of lawlessness. These guys are thugs and there is no way to allow this nonsense.

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• paa 10 years ago

mahama a shame to the country

• Azonto 10 years ago

Where is agbesi and his long mouth

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

This is a sad day for our great country. I put the blame on the doors of bad media practices, bad politics and politicians, and selfish multi-nationals. The under educated youth of Ghana are like a volcano waiting to irrupt a ...

• WOMAAME TWE 10 years ago

IS THE PRESIDENT DEAF,CAN'T HE HEAR OR SEE WHAT'S HAPPENING IN ASHAIMAN, STUPID FOOLS, GHANA LEADERS ARE ALL THIEVES EXCEPT DR.KWAME NKRUMAH. FOOLISH PRESIDENT

• WOMAAME TWE 10 years ago

President John Mahama has said his victory in Ghana's 2012 presidential poll was “ordained by the Lord”.

He says the divine nature of his electoral victory is the cause of the main opposition New Patriotic Party’s (N ...

• Seaman uk 10 years ago

NDC forever, It is becoming unbecoming DEMOCRACY is of oneness why NPP why oh no NDC MATCH FORWARD shame NPP

• Whatever 10 years ago

This is the reason why I think the replacement of Ofosu Ampofo as the local government minister was a wrong one. The raod repairs under Ofosu Ampofo was phenomenal