You are here: HomeNews2013 05 27Article 275163

Update: Parts of Accra flooded after severe rain

Read Comments Comments (37)

• ASEM BE BA DABI 10 years ago

But the mayor told us only a week ago that there will no be flood in Accra again.

• www.new-news24.weebly.com 10 years ago

For all your word news

www.new-news24.weebly.com

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

the evil ashanti akyem akan tribalist biggoted racist losers, they say Northerners rulling us ashantis and the akyems it pains paa, pepeni our president/God it pains paaa, the ayigbe peoples fault voting for NDC, we shall ins ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Politicians in Ghana always sing to the tune of the master. That is what Van was doing. So long as our gutters are clogged and we continue to irresponsibly throw trash in gutters, let us be always ready for the flood and igno ...

• SENSE PREFECT 10 years ago

HOW MUCH RAIN FELL AND WHAT MIGHT HAVE BEEN THE DAMAGE? AS WE BUILD AND COVER THE GROUND WITH CONCRETE, WATER WILL NOT SOAK INTO THE GROUND. AS WE DO NOT RAISE THE FLOOR OR FOUNDATION, FLOOD WATERS CAN TROUBLE US. THE CEMENT ...

• Dr. Kologah 10 years ago

oko julor was boasting all around that he has improved upon the drainage system in accra but here we are,flooding is even worse.all what u know is to take bribe from american companies.julor kpanaku

• Ja 10 years ago

Why is the mayor God? Do you want him to personally clean all the drains?
    Why don't we take responsibilities of our own communities and stop this partisan crap.
    The main flooding areas didn't flood ie circle.
    If we conti ...

• Glo 10 years ago

Well said! We Ghanaians are a funny bunch. We do not take pride in our surroundings. It seems like everyone thinks that littering is other people's problems and not theirs.

• ASEM 10 years ago

Mr Accra is not doing anything positive to help the people of the city and I agree with Kologah.

• Abiisitiba 10 years ago

Where is Van who promised 'no floods in Accra this year'

• DAN 10 years ago

an american company was suppose to be working on drains but seems the Accra mayor was asking for something(bribes) to continue their contract

• Yaa Gmeminov 10 years ago

There are too many people from other regions living in a small place call Accra.The Government must encourage settlements to other regions close to Accra.

If every government business is done in Accra, why won't everyone live there? If one has to go to Accra for everything, that will be the result.

• anna 10 years ago

its a big shame to our leaders!!!!

• COW LANE EXCHANGE 10 years ago

Don't worry, be happy! After Mahama and 4 other non-corrupt West African leaders build a 6-lane highway from Lagos, all flooding in Accra will stop!

• Glo 10 years ago

Funny!

• Pastor Francis Asante-Boadu 10 years ago

Ghana, watch and pray:

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God) USA 10 years ago

THANK U

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God) USA 10 years ago

AGAIN THANK YOU

I thought we were told there wouldn't be floods in Accra this year because AMA had taken care of the drains?

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

It had been raining for days and days, and a local river crested, flooding many houses. The waters rose so high that one man was forced to climb onto the roof of his house. As the waters rose higher and higher, a man in a row ...

• Tokyo !! 10 years ago

But they just told us a few days ago. That everything is ok. And we were well equipped to deal with floods. How they lie everyday. It's a pity !!

• Kwesi Mends, Takoradi 10 years ago

You criticize the Accra Mayor when he tells you to not to throw item is the gutter. You criticize Accra Mayor when he tells you to move from drainage areas.

• Alpha 10 years ago

Incompetent Leadership in Accra, local government Central Government, This is shameful. Every year, same old story. What a shame!!

• GHANABA1 10 years ago

Abokyi walahi,thank you.you can read from these mahama Sheege kids whenever they reply my comment.Mahama is a womanizer and a killer.He conspired with asieduwaa nketiah to finish Tortile Atta.Ghana has become Sodom and Gomorr ...

• Say the TRUTH 10 years ago

Kofi Portuphy has told JOY News they currently lack resources to even buy tents for some people who have already been affected by the rains.

The NADMO boss is however hoping government will come to their aid with relief it ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

EFFECTS of CLIMATE CHANGE
    YET WE DABBLE IN PINK SHEETS
    AND WHAT HAVE YOU
    IS ANY BODY PRESENT IN THIS COUNTRY
    IF OURS WHO IS ABLE TO MAKE INFORMED AND RESPONSIBLE DECISION WITH REGARD TO ACTIONS THAT MAY AFFECT CLIMATE.

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Here we go again, the perennial cycle of rain, flooding and cholera outbreak.

Our problems persist because no one cares to find lasting solutions. Our politicians fiddle while the country goes down the drain.

With apolo ...

• Marcus Ampadu 10 years ago

Mahama Is a weak President No foresight .
    No big ideas
    What can the people of Accra do for themselves ?

• Sankofa 10 years ago

The problem is bigger than just our President.

It is his responsibility to provide leadership. Others further down the hierarchy manage. And further down people must act.

The people of Accra can and must keep their envi ...

• Toronto T 10 years ago

Well this is typical . Continent of impossibilities. 70% of the people in this country are short sighted and have low self worth . How on earth will this happen in London or USA. Very disturbing . This issue happens very yea ...

• Terribly Annoying 10 years ago

Why are our leaders always telling us problems we are aware of instead of finding solutions to them? They are paid and resourced to solve problems so they should stop disturbing our ears.

• Thinking Man 10 years ago

Ghana need to put in place Land use policy. With those displaced, one need to ask whether the lands they occupy were demarcated for housing or agriculture. If not for housing and they bought those lands then they should not b ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 10 years ago

What did our hopeless leaders tell us about this year`s floods?Why should these people always lie?Our country is filled with visionless leaders!What a shame!

• Shamu 10 years ago

Excuse me. Lets go direct to the point. This is devine punishment. Those of us who took the country for grantted are the ones causing all the trouble. I could remember in 2004 when there was flood in the northern part of Ghan ...

The NADMO boss says they are prepared to mitigate impact of the anticipated disaster. Yet he says they may not have relief items for the victims. What does he mean by being prepared? Is he talking about life boats for rescue ...