You are here: HomeNews2013 05 26Article 275121

Mahama, 4 others agree to build 6-lane highway from Lagos to Abidjan

Read Comments Comments (99)

• Kojo T 10 years ago

This guy will deliver . This is the beginning of the end of the artificial borders

the pepeni sticks his dick into anything that walks on 2 or 4 legs and when caught finds a way to blame some poor innocent . this pepeni has proven to be perverse so much so that he tries to force on us a gay sodomizing cultu ...

• DAGADOO 10 years ago

SILLY BIGOT

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

*By Akadu Ntiriwa Mensema, PhD...

WILLIAM ATUGUBA: Counsel, what is your name?
    PHILIP ADDISON: Philip Addison, My Lord.
    ATUGUBA: You are overruled.
    ADDISON: Yes, my name is Philip Addison, my Lord.
    ATUGUBA: I said over ...

idiot

• OZA 10 years ago

Let's hope I will see this highway before I die in the next 40 years

• Sakamosta 10 years ago

This is another wishful dream. Probably realized in 50 yrs. what we should be thinking about is an effective rail network to facilite goods and services. Our leaders should shine their eyes and learn from their colonial maste ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

AFRICA/GH'S ECONOMIC GROWTH
    how Africa’s economic growth could be sustained for the continual benefit of its most vulnerable people?
    I THINK IT WILL BE BEST TO LOOK AT THE EUROPEAN MODEL.
    THE NEED TO PROVIDE GREATER MOB ...

• ATAKORA BEDIAKO 10 years ago

MARINE AND RAIL TRANSPORT FIRST!!! WHY WONT EACH COUNTRY DEVELOP ITS OWN INTERNAL TRANSPORT AND THEN JUST CONNECT. SIX LANES FOR WEST AFRICAN TRAFFIC? WE CANNOT MANAGE AND MAINTAIN TWO LANES AND THEN WE GO TALKING ABOUT SIX L ...

• sam 10 years ago

OZA lets make it 80 my grand ones will have the chance to see it. HAHA HAA WHAT A JOKE

• DAN 10 years ago

MAHAMA HAVEN'T BE ABLE TO BUILD A SIMPLE ROAD FROM ACCRA TO KUMASI WHICH PROVIDES 70% OF ACCRA'S FOOD, YET HE IS MAKING A DEAL TO BUILD A 6 LANE HIGHWAY SOME WHERE ELSE, SUPREME COURT PLEASE HURRY AND REMOVE THIS MORAN FROM ...

• zeto 10 years ago

The forest is where they belong!!

• DAN 10 years ago

YEAH IS ONLY GORILLAS WHO KNOWS WHAT'S BEST FOR THEM, IF YOU DON'T NEED ROAD THEN YOU DONT NEED IT MONKEY! YOU CALL YOUR FELLOW GHANIANS GORILLAS AND THROW A FIT WHEN THE WHITE MAN CALLS YOU MONKEY FROM AFRICA! HOW DUMB!!!!

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Stop being pessimist. At least, he is making a lot of sense this time. Pepeni or whatever but he is your president. I love Mahama but those around him have a lot of question mark. Let's all give him the much needed support ...

• DAN 10 years ago

and a NIGGER Muslim terrorist

• Village headmasteeer 10 years ago

And. Your father a Christian terrorist just like George bush,

TKN pains paaa, This smelly animal, we all know well ,very evil tribalism biggoted racist evil ashanti akyem akan so called TKN, Fantis+Northerners+Nzemas+Ewes+Others will rule you Evil people NPPians sour losers, we northern ...

• Kwakye 10 years ago

Insight to the bone, yes it pains paa loosing the election, our people NPPians are just jealous and evil bad tribalism biggoted people, insulting might help cool down our pains, little chance for our kululu fake petition cour ...

• EASY 10 years ago

well you never saved the situation either, you could have held it right there but you worsen the situation by showing your emotional thoughts. be a man and help curb these insults brother for it will not solve the peace the w ...

• BAM 10 years ago

THEY CANNOT BUILD TWO LANES. NOW THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT 6?

fool

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Mahama should continue his excellent
    works since NPP could not explain the
    nature of the Pink Sheets to the Public.

Mahama should continue his excellent promises. Talking doesn't equate to doing, Nick.

• DAN 10 years ago

Better bring in Usa,Uk or China contractors..Its been taking more than 5 years to build to Kumansi..terribly slow by western standards and here in usa we build temporary paved detours while you expect people to drive thru mud ...

• zeto 10 years ago

Chimps and gorillas do not need any roads. That's why God put them in the forest to be fcuking their mothers and sisters.

• TALK TALK 10 years ago

With or without borders?

• Kofi Asamoah 10 years ago

Don't count on the Nigerians, they even reneged on gas supplies to Ghana.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

May be, we can encourage them to keep their promises on a day like this.

• NEMESIS, UK 10 years ago

WHAT DO YOU EXPECT? UNGRATEFUL GHANAIANS LIKE YOU ALWAYS INSULT ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING ABOUT YOUR BENEFACTOR NIGERIA, AND YOU EXPECTS US TO CONTINUE TO SUPPLY YOU WITH OUR NATURAL RESOURCES? YOU MUST BE HOKING.

• NEMESIS, UK 10 years ago

YOU MUST BE JOKING.

• john atolague 10 years ago

You are a fool. we are discussing our country business and what has it got to do with you. YOU ARE A FOOL

• pachiko 10 years ago

U must be kidding. Just tell me it's just a mere talking. What has the AU achieved since its inception as an Organisation to solve African problems. None; yet they have attended meetings many times only to drink tea or coffee ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

LOSERS

• GMR 10 years ago

Seriously if African leaders think Development is about building roads, they are mistaken, electricity & water is more of a better asset to speed up development.
    Moreover this road will take a long time..

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

I'm afraid you are mistaken. Yes, we need water and electricity, but without good transport and communication networks across our continent, trade becomes very costly and our development is slowed. Water and electricity are t ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

DOES IT MEAN SIX STREETS(LANES) TO WEST AND SIX TO EAST OR THREE HERE & THREE THERE?
    PLEASE,SOMEONE CLARIFIES THIS FOR ME.

• Kofi Asamoah 10 years ago

three on each direction, left and right

• MENSAH 10 years ago

THANKS FOR YOUR TIME AND CONCERN.

• Remove Indemnity Clause 10 years ago

promise,promise,promise,promise.That is all we hear.Nothing will happen in 2014.

• Mugu yaro 10 years ago

Walahi, Allah be with u all, but lets add WATER and LIGHT, Long live NDC and Ghana!!!!

• from UK 10 years ago

I SUPPORT

• from UK 10 years ago

The most economical infrastucture for this countries should have being railway and not roads

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

you are right on point. rail is a better option. six lane definitely not looking at our capacity and carelessness. if our leaders really mean business then this is the perfect opportunity for them to venture into the bullet t ...

• Sakamosta 10 years ago

You are perfectly right. what we should be thinking about is an effective rail network to facilitate movement of goods and services. Our leaders should shine their eyes and learn from their colonial masters. What happened to ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

An elderly couple were on a road trip and stopped at a roadside restaurant for lunch. They finished their lunch and it wasn't until they were back on the highway that the old woman realized she had left her glasses behind at ...

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah argued and advocated for a trans-African highway to link various cities and countries in Africa way back in the 1960s - to aid transport, communications and boost trade. He was not taken seriously. I ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Indeed better late than never. I pray God's speed.

• NAT 10 years ago

IS THE SIX LANE LINKING GHANA ALSO ? BECAUSE I HEAR ONLY LAGOS AND ABIJAN.

• Woman 10 years ago

they will pass through ghana

• Kwesi Agbenu 10 years ago

Nigeria has dual carriageway from Lagos to Ibadan to Abuja to boost intra Nigeria trade before thinking of inter WAfrica trade.
    Ghana must think of dualising Accra -kumasi road first to boost intra Ghana trade before thinkin ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

I agree with you. Accra-Kumasi road is a national disgrace. We need a real highways to link all major cities.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

AS THIS THREE LANE HIGHWAY IS ABOUT TO BE CONSTRUCTED,SO ARE ARMED ROBBERS ALSO PRAYING THAT THEIR BUSINESS WOULD BE FLOURISHING.
    MY QUESTION IS:HOW BEST ARE THEESE FIVE RULERS PLANNING TO PROTECT TRAVELLERS FROM "ARMED ROBB ...

• Remove Indemnity Clause 10 years ago

These leaders themselves are stealing from their citizens and you expect them to protect us.

• American 10 years ago

The multinational project should be a railway from Lagos to Abidjan. But the west would never help finance such a project.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

That is another great idea, but you know what the leaders are avoiding-the initial cost of maintaining the line and trains even if we manage to build it. It will take someone with the foresight of Nkrumah to achieve that.

• john atolague 10 years ago

You do not have any highway connecting the major cities in your country and you are doing lip talks. Where is your priority?

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

The guys have no vision. They are waiting for another George Bush Highway or Obama Highway. Can you imagine the cost of that dirty Accra-Kumasi village road to the nation.

• OSEI 10 years ago

TALK TALK TALK. WE NEED TO CONSIDER BUILD OUR OWN RAILWAY LINES TO THE NORTH. TOO MUCH TALKING, MR. PRESIDENT.

• Whatever 10 years ago

This is the kind of aggressive transnational developmental projects that we need as a people dwelling on this land called Africa. Our leaders must make all-round development a cardinal principle and practices in all their out ...

• Prince 10 years ago

Let's wait and see. They should also be ready to train their customs and immigration officers.

• Why not train station 10 years ago

We are still dealing with stupid leaders of African why dont they plan to build on train underground station that will go there faster and cheaper without Armed rubbers to attack them . Wise up both African leaders and dont d ...

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

Mahama is so power drunk. He always want to show himself on the cover of a magazine and on the front page of newspaper. This man is showing himself to the public too much. He is proves himself that he did steal the elections ...

• BOOOOO 10 years ago

CHARITY BEGINS AT HOME, SEE THE STATE OF ACCRA AND KUMASI ROAD, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE WITH IT. U CAN NOT CONTINUE WHAT MILLS DID, NOW NIGERIA, MONEY EATER.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

Boooo, you have said it all. Your own back yard have bad roads some not even planned to be constructed and others not completed since Kuffour's government and now thinking of 5-nation highway? What is wrong with some people ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

I believe developing the Regional Integration like ECOWAS is in best direction.I think we share common borders with Ivory Coast and it will be easy and cheaper to do business together.As a matter of fact the Commercial Triang ...

• DAN 10 years ago

why even waste time with Ivory coast,benin,togo etc....unless the speak english its lot easier to do business with Nigeria and Liberia

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

RAILWAYS IS A MUCH BETTER ALTERNATIVE. HIGHWAYS MUST COME LATER. GH HAS ISSUES WITH EVEN ROADS N HIGHWAYS. WE SHOULD CONCENTRATE ON OURS...

• peace 10 years ago

Did they consider other road transports apart from 6 car lanes??? Trains on rail roads are faster, safer, cheaper etc and most part of the world rely on it for mass transport.
    At least people wont be subjected to constant h ...

• Kobena 10 years ago

Another akofem ruse for chopping Ghana.
    Cry the beloved country!

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Deepening West African integration is vital for development of the sub-region.

• Igp 10 years ago

You and who needs Ecowas? Nigerins are taking advantage of the system to spread their evil deeds all over Africa not just the subregion. We do not need them.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Normal people with above average intelligence advocate for a tighter West African unity to protect the territorial integrity of our region. Are you qualified to be one of us?

• Adu 10 years ago

If you constitute the 'above average intelligence' in Ghana, one needs not struggle to understand why Ghana is so developed.

• Sam, Bern 10 years ago

Think well, why not a rial line for the coastal line of these west African countries.

• JAMES A 10 years ago

what happen to west AFRICA ONE MONEY EKO MONEY?

• Sam, Bern 10 years ago

Are our thinking through their heads or their feet. Why can't they think of a railway instead of roads, that have shorter life span. The heat in our part of the world even melts these asphalt roads. This makes the roads un ...

• BUSINESS DEVELOPER 10 years ago

It would have been better if the four countries had planned to develop marine and rail transport in west africa to enhance movement of people ,goods and services because its cheaper,more volume and capacity,less pollution,co ...

• kayayoe 10 years ago

We need to learn how to walk before we attempt to run. Why dont we use these resources to upgrade our internal transportation system? Reliable public transportation in terms of buses and railways will reduce traffic jams in t ...

• Ponko Abodam 10 years ago

It's mere talk and nothing else. In truth, all that these 4 corrupt leaders (including our own) want is to get their hands on the bogus international loans that the loan sharks will be offering. Let us ask Mahama what he with ...

Has China approved the project? We need the approval of the Chinese before going public with this news.

• DAN 10 years ago

what you think the 3 billion loan if for??? for 300,000 china men to work on the road

• Koffi 10 years ago

Alpha Conde is a dictator, who wants to do business him except government, check the news people are been killed in Guinea right now for their rights.

• Nii Joromi 10 years ago

They will spend more time thinking about their Swiss bank accounts. Thieves.

• xhlemiso 10 years ago

This is what we want to hear about every time, big schemes that will benefit the country and neighbors, involving mutual cooperation. Of course the talk must be followed with action. I just saw a listing of the 25 of the best ...

• hoo-yah 10 years ago

road to no where 6 lane you can even maintain eletricity all this is a scame

• WAR VETERAN 10 years ago

I THINK THE BEST INITIATIVE ANY GOVT WILL UNDERTAKE TO EXPAND THE RAILWAY SYSTEMS TO LINK OTHER ECOWAS COUNTRIES WITHIN THE SUB-REGION WILL BE A WELCOME ONE INSTEAD OF EXPAND THE ROADS TO SIX OR TEN TO ACCOMMODATE OLD SECOND ...

• Sakamosta 10 years ago

This is a very wise advice that should be urgently considered. God bless you.

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

DARK DAYS OF GHANA IS OVER, THE DAY HAS COME.

• ROMANO 10 years ago

IT IS GOING TO MAKE IT MUCH EASIER FOR THE ALATA PEOPLE TO COMMIT MORE CRIMES IN GHANA. WE ALREADY HAVE ENOUGH OF THIS STINKING ANAGOS IN GHANA.

• ROMANO real Ghanaman 10 years ago

They are trying to expand it fool. Can't you read simple English. Kokoase kuraseni. Lagos to Abidjan which means government of cote de voire and Nigeria. So rather should leave Ghana out of it ...

• Sakura 10 years ago

I believe this can wait. Ghana needs to set her house in order; just look at our lousy roads!! Mahama should be very careful in jumping to "accords".

• Sakura 10 years ago

Ghana needs bullet trains from Accra to the north and across to our east and west borders. This will create more permanent jobs for our citizens. I disagree with this 6-lane road.

• Igp 10 years ago

Who is Mahama out there to please? Is it Nigeria, or some cronys? NDC do we not have elders in the party? The man is reckless when it comes to money spending. Where are his pririoties for Ghana? NDC aban that can't pay doctor ...

• Abena 10 years ago

Africa must unite.

• BabaUS 10 years ago

It will NEVER happen.

• TJ/Accra 10 years ago

This is nothing but EMOTIONAL INVESTMENT. It will never see any light of day.

• Pancho 10 years ago

You couldn't even tar roads in your own backyard how much more focus on this huge gigantic projects. Poor Ghana your President cannot even build back roads in Ghana. Oh my soul.

• pk 10 years ago

Quite exciting. Another opportunity for creating jobs. Next, rail link.