You are here: HomeNews2013 05 26Article 275088

Nkrumah’s speech at the inaugural ceremony of the OAU

Read Comments Comments (98)

• OGA yum yum 10 years ago

and who cares about all these mumbo jumbo.???

• JOJO 10 years ago

did you read it?, empty barrel.

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

*By Akadu Ntiriwa Mensema, PhD...

WILLIAM ATUGUBA: Counsel, what is your name?
    PHILIP ADDISON: Philip Addison, My Lord.
    ATUGUBA: You are overruled.
    ADDISON: Yes, my name is Philip Addison, my Lord.
    ATUGUBA: I said ...

• Yaw Buor 10 years ago

Ha! ha!
    The supreme court judges need a bit of light-hearted comedy to get them through Tastu's boring diatribe.

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

Today, 50 years after that powerful and inspirational speech, we have become exactly what he predicted and cautioned us against.

The new master on the block is China, to the extent that Chinese migrant workers are digging a ...

• WEAR 10 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah (21 September 1909 - 27 April 1972) was the first President of the first free nation in Africa, and a founding father of the Pan-Africanist movement.

His dream was to turn Ghana into a modern industrial utopi ...

• GOLD COAST 10 years ago

Visionaries and leaders with imagination and selflessness don't come so often. Osagyefo Dr.Kwame Nkrumah still stands tall among all African leaders - dead or alive.His peers in Asia,Tunku Abdul Rahman of Malaysia and Lee Kua ...

• Neither NDC Nor NPP 10 years ago

Thanks for your inspiring words and perspective that also bring much nostalgia. You have given perfect expression to the sentiments of the majority of us who had the privilege of history to witness a few years of the Osagyefo ...

• kwasi Britwum 10 years ago

What an eloquent speech!!! All African leaders including Ghanaian greedy and corrupt leaders must take this great speech as their Holy Bible and Holy Koran. African leaders are useless,toothless and corrupt. Long live Osagyef ...

no matter how eloquent he was the fact remains he spent in a couple of years the money the fantis and british put together for ghana . he stole all the ideas and claimed them as his own . he put a debt on ghana that up till t ...

• william 10 years ago

Interesting; the historical and visionary speech takes care of misguided thinking like yours!Why will we not be moving slowing!!!!

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Narrow reasoning. What about the visible projects he executed?

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

You are one of the bigoted idiots who have nothing to contribute to this forum except your own brand of garbage and this is one of such rubbish you are spewing out. I wonder if you are so brainwashed you cannot see beyond you ...

• Kojo Opoku-London 10 years ago

YOU ARE MAD. SO YOU NEVER SEE ANYTHING GOOD ABOUT DR NKRUMAH. DID HE BUILD A HOUSE FOR HIMSELF? HE FOUGFHT TIRELESSLY FOR GHANA AND AFRICA. EUROPE NOW COPIED ALL THAT HE SAID. THIS WAS IN 1963. CANT YOU SEE HOW VISIONARY HE W ...

• bewise 10 years ago

who told u that, your ancestors hated him because he did not allowed them to steal the country's money as they are doing today. Tell us, who are the youth of today, looking up to. None, beacuase today's politician are money h ...

was nkrumah not a womanizer ? check Jackie Kennedy's memoirs . of all the leaders in that era who embarked on national development its only nkrumah who succeeded in imposing non sustainable projects and total failures today . ...

• bewise 10 years ago

Even if he was, He did accomplished a lot for the country and if the leaders who came after him, had a vision, the country will be enjoying the fruits of their labour but rather, they were money hungry, tribalistic, womanizer ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

How on earth only one person could profoundly understood all the dynamics of how we could do it but woefully failed simply because others could not free themselves from the breast of their masters due to their own ignorance?

• Kojo T 10 years ago

You are a wise person. Surely tears run down my cheeks . " Surely here was a man when comes such another'?

It is such a great pity that fellow Africans could not even see the sincerity in him, and his passion for the continent and all its peoples from the Northern deserts to Southern ~Africa. What a great mind and makes you proud ...

• Afrikatu Kofi 10 years ago

OF COURSE I CARE, you ignorant,self hating Afrikan who enjoys been treated as baby spoon fed by his colonial masters everytime.Just grow up a little this is 2013 and stop been a slave.Follow the works and ideals of THE OSAGYE ...

• Dr Robert K Glah 10 years ago

The African unity structures of the Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah are relevant for the development of Africa. The message was clear.

Every sentence and paragraph of the Blue Print must be studied by all Africans and non-Africa ...

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

The OAU was the brain child of Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah. In fact Nkrumah was the protagonist of the idea of the erstwhile OAU now AU. So like any architect he masterminded the master plan for its execution but that was sh ...

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

"Africa, Unite, Africa, Unite
    Unite for the benefit of your people
    Unite for it's later than you think"

Bob Nestor Marley

The self-fulfilling prophecy of Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah has come to past. How sad we did n ...

• WEAR 10 years ago

In one of his (Osagyefo) speeches, he said,, Africa nust Unite, there´s no time to wait. Either we Unite or perish.. and the Africa hasn´t United we are perishing..

OGA, I doubt if you read the whole speech. It is original, from the heart, visionary and based on facts and statistics. Or perhaps you were reading something different.

It is such a shame that African leaders did not allow ...

ARE YOU MAD-EUROPE COPIED EVERY THING HE SAID IN 1963_ARE YOU OUT OF YOUR MIND

• JOJO 10 years ago

Would have been the first U.S.A.
    So the world shuddered and WE, most especially our subsequent leaders, and the ashanti/akyem mafia allowed us to be divided as they are doing now.
    Brings tears to my eyes.

• Conventional Youth. 10 years ago

Wahala

• the truth 10 years ago

to think that these were ideas of 50 years ago!!! another example of how far ahead of his time he was! mahama should have just read this at the conference.

• VOICE FROM THE EAST 10 years ago

Now who can justify the overthrow of Nkrumah,The bomb throwings and the attempts to kill him.Look at the ideas he presented 5O God damn years ago. Shame on All Ghanians who had a hand is the overthrow of Nkrumah,Shame on all ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Can the Danquah group please stand up and claim this can not be true that we can only achieve our true freedom through their imperial friends?
    Only a morally bankrupted, lazy and brain dead person can wait for some else to c ...

• WEAR 10 years ago

Of course, you´re right, my friend. Every single infastructure he intend instituting in Ghana is being criticized by the U.P members, the opponet whom Nkrumah had defeated in the election, the planning of building Akosombo D ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

The husband leans over and asks his wife, "Do you remember the first time we had sex together over sixty years ago? We went behind the village tavern where you leaned against the back fence and I made love to you."

"Yes", ...

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

KWAME NKRUMAH THE GHANA/AFRICA MAN, THE HOLY SPIRIT WAS SPEAKING THROUGH HIM THAT TIME. SOME OF YOUR OWN PEOPLE DID NOT KNOW HIM THAT GOD SENT HIM TO AFRICA AS SECOND MOSES. AFRICAN LEADERS NEVER TO LATE TO FOLLOW HIS IDEAS. ...

(Sonla wu a otefelema egbolo.)The dead man's tongue never rotten. NKRUMAH NEVER DIES.

KWAME NKRUMAH SECOND MOSES OF THE WORLD. MAY THE HOLY SPIRIT HELP AFRICANS LEADERS AS SHE/HE HELPED JESUS.

• JAMES Y 10 years ago

Akasi Martha, (Ole nohale; Nkrumah edweke ne mo ohanle la ominli) Everything Kwame Nkrumah had said in his life time will remain useful forever. Nkrumah was Ghana and Ghana is Nkrumah; the two are mutually inclusive - no one ...

• Yaw Buor 10 years ago

I could find no sense in this tale. What's the link between the sex and the electric fence?

• Boss 10 years ago

So after he said all these, what happened next? Where are we now and why are we still here? Why do our leaders only go and remember this speech every year in Addis and hardly every decide to implement his recommendations?

• Danjuma 10 years ago

We are where we are now because your stupid and greedy bastard fathers collaborated with the CIA to overthrow him to set the clock back ok. Wise up and stop being fool.

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

We must unite to survive because that's the only reasonable thing to do.At least we must start from uniting into Regional Blocks before the Continental one.For example ECOWAS should be proactive in doing business together and ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

The french dick is still in the mouth of these west African fracophones. they profit from them.
    Ask yourself why Portugal,Spain, Italy and Greece suffering badly lately, the answer is they have no African nation to leach on. ...

• BIssy 10 years ago

Indeed Kwame Nkrumah, you are the greatest and selfless leader Africa has ever had or known. Your saying that Nkrumah never dies is a reality today. The Africa Union has your Monument placed at its entrance at its headquarter ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Thanks for seeing the truth, and have faith and teach your kids and it shall come to pass as we trample over pure evil.
    Please take time to research the secrets behind your skin color, MELANIN on you tube and google.

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

Osagyefo was the political Moses of Africa.He was ordained by God to redeem the continent of Africa and its people from the slavery and bondage that they were under.A bondage and slavery imposed by the Western world through c ...

• dadiebatakari 10 years ago

Africans believe in democracy and not
    dictatorship, politcal detention and
    secret killings and idol worship.

• OBIBINI 10 years ago

What type of democracy are you referring to here?Western democracy,or what?It is the so-called western democracies which preach free speech speech,human rights etc which have supported and sustained dictators in Africa.The w ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

What is free speech to a moron or a sub standard being? You are a senseless 'dadiebatakari' assuming that is even possible. Let me be clear, some will always have more wisdom than others. The impulse of being objective consci ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Go against the CIA and KGB and see where your ass would be. The USA preaches democracy and "we" love it for that but has over two millions in jails and execute murderers every year for the "good" of their people.
    Simple ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Npp akans tribal party is the down fall of Ghana and Africa as whole.

• Shamu 10 years ago

A re we stll like old days? It is not his speach, it is his vision. When we talk of vision, it has to be in reallity. At tihs tim in point, is already too late for those stupid and hopeless African leaders. Moving forward sta ...

• Yaw Buor 10 years ago

50 years on, we're farther from the African unity Nkrumah wished than ever before.
    In another 50 years, more countries will be in Africa than at present - northern Niger, possibly northern Nigeria, etc. Instead of a single, ...

• Kwesi Mends, Takoradi 10 years ago

Great prediction.

• Kwesi Mends, Takoradi 10 years ago

Our poor traders can't even travel within West Africa without facing harassment.

The French coming back to fight in Ivory Coast, Mali, Libya, etc when and AU force could have been used to restore peace and order.

Congo ...

• ManBelhomme 10 years ago

What can we say or do!
    Answer: TO BURY OUR HEADS IN OUR HANDS AND WEEP until we can't weep (no more) any more,IN SHAME FOREVER"
    Some have said that the Man lived and proposed things well ahead of his time."Tomorrow never c ...

• KYIKYIBI 10 years ago

OH ELOHIM GOD PLEASE CHANGE MIND OF AFRICAN PEOPLE COS WE ARE STILL SLEEPING. PEOPLE DON'T HOW WE CAN MAKE AFRICA A BETTER PLACE. GOD BLESS NKRUMAH VISION

• Pelicles 10 years ago

The man knows how to speak to fool his audience. Tweaa. Did he tolerate the opposition in his nation? No. Those who claimed that the opposition were trying to kill him have no shred of evidence to support their allegation. ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Well, Ametefhe do not need to be an Akan from Akyem to be an opposition to Nkrumah just as Gbedema and kotoka.
    The main enemies were on round looking for weak hearted men and they got them and some.

• ELINAM 10 years ago

But 2 billion Chinese did it with varying ethnic groups WHAT MAKES THEM HUMAN THAN US?.Do not lose hope b4 the fight. That cold feet belongs to the cowards, AND PLEASE I DO NOT MEAN YOU.
    Greed is our biggest enemy. And educa ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Yes, Ametepe was an Ewe alright and not from your stock. May I ask you who was Major Benjamin Ahwaitey and why was he court-martialed? Oblige me an answer, please.

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

NKRUMAH WAS 100 OR MORE AHEAD OF THE REST OF AFRICA. HIS VISION WAS FUTURISTIC AND BEYOND UNDERSTANDING BY HIS PEERS. TI WILL TAKE ANOTHER 50 YEARS BEFORE AFRICA GETS TO WHERE NKRUMAH WOULD HAVE TAKEN AFRICA IN JUST 5 YEARS H ...

I AM PROUD TO BE BORN IN THE SAME COUNTRY AS NKRUMAH. GHANA IS BLESSED BUT WE DON'T REALIZE THAT. IT IS A SHAME THE ASHANTI/AKYEM HATED NKRUMAH SO BADLY TO HAVE CAUSED HIS OVERTHROW.

EUROPE STOLE NKRUMAH'S OAU IDEAS AND TURNED THEM INTO A FLOURISHING REALITY WHILE AFRICA IS STILL PANTING UNDER DISUNITY, POVERTY, AND SELFISHNESS.

• WEAR 10 years ago

Yes, you´re right after Nkrumah was overthrown, the Western jounalist came to Ghana to pick up the bones of Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah´s industrial experiment.

• Gold Coast Ba 10 years ago

Fifty years ago he lived as a lone dreamer. Today his fragmented party the CPP continue to dream..Beautiful ideas 50 years ago, but NKRUMAH was not a realist. The reality was that neither the then Soviet Union, nor the USA wa ...

• PHILTY McNASTY 10 years ago

We did not try even to unite ourselves, the OAU had more military dictators than elected leaders.

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

Osagyefo Dr, Ehun ntam hunii nyame no no!....babye from Ogyamanase yi nd God bless u!....

• Theophilus Acquaye 10 years ago

It would be nice if everyone who reads articles on this forum is able to read and understand twi, unfortunately, even in Ghana a lot of folks cannot read twi. Hence, please in the future try and communicate with everyone. Tha ...

• Nana Kwame UK 10 years ago

Nkrumah knew long before now that one cannot develop a country without electricity hence built Akosombo dam years before most of our present leaders were born and what do we see in the 21st century dumso dumso shame on you Af ...

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

The period 1940's/1950's; the entire colonised peoples on the face of Planet Earth were struggling for self-rule (independence)

- for colonised Sub-Saharan Africa, Kwame Nkrumah of English colonised model colony the Gold C ...

• LGK Ocloo 10 years ago

No other African ruler ever since. The few who tried were murdered and brutalised by their own people with bribery from the arrogant and interfeering powers. It would happen even if it takes 100 years.

• tonn 10 years ago

you people are stupid, still following the idiot kwame nkrumah.any fool could have done what he did for ghana. with the vast resources and millions of pound sterlling left to him by the british,what did he do NOTHING ,NOTHING ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

People who are against the US and her national interests are either killed or in jail. Ghana or AFRICA will surely reach there and God knows it, so if you do not teach your kids right to work for Ghana or Africa's interests ...

YES, HE GOT NKRUMAH SPIRIT IN HIM AS PRESIDENT MAHAMA. THIS IS ANNOINTING DAY FOR ALL AFRICANS.

• WEAR 10 years ago

Well said, now you could really see how ethnic groups and tribal hatred is making Ghana ungoverable, egal, what you do for people, will never appreciate. Of all the numerous infastructures Nkrumah built in Ghana including the ...

NO WONDER NKRUMAH BUILT THE NSAWAM FOR THE ENEMIES OF GHANA, LIKE TONN.

• DESTINY 10 years ago

Hi Tonn
    I would not have replied to your posting, however, sometimes it is necessary to set the records straight.Inter alia, you said:..."what did he do NOTHING ,NOTHING and NOTHING.South Korea had nohting during that time.. ...

• WEAR 10 years ago

Destiny, you don´t have to lecture this man to waste your energy of these U.P traditions, for after all, there´s nothing good about Nkrumah you will say and they will accept it. The Bible has said it, in their words you wil ...

You are very very ungrateful person. Did Dr Nkrumah build a house for himself? He was selfless. Remember after Ghana's independence, all the colonised African Countries came to Ghana for assistance- from Guinea to South Afric ...

• JAMES Y 10 years ago

Great speech that will last forever! Nkrumah was not only a visionary, but a practical man as well. What he dreamt of doing for Ghana, he set of doing them until he was stopped by Afrifa, Kotoka and Halley-cum-CIA coup on 24t ...

• WEAR 10 years ago

And thats why we are still suffering , and He said it that Ghana will take touch light to look for me, but in most cases they willn´t find me.

• Kwame Okiampa-Ahuufe 10 years ago

The so-called African show boy and leader of the rump CPP, stole my ideas for the speech that he gave. Those ideas in turn were crystalised into my being by the indisputable doyen of democracy in Africa, my very own Dr J.B. D ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

We would forever thank GOD for the life of Nkrumah. The man is something else. He's like our fantasy coming into real life.

• Lordson J Koto 10 years ago

Only those with vision would know what we lost as Africans after reading these speech.
    I surprised some people are writing about Tsatsu Tsikata here. I pray they go back to school.

It makes me sad to read this speech of Dr Nkrumah. He had the vision, plan and the ways and means to liberate us from poverty and shame. Look at him talking about African Currency, African Central Bank etc in 1963. What are E ...

• KPOGLI 10 years ago

he is the greatest Afrikan that ever walked on the surface of the earth
    may his spirit fill and dwell in our leaders so that the vision can be attained

• JAMES 10 years ago

The WHITEMAN prevented him from achieving his goal and several years later turned round to form the European Union.Kwame Nkrumah lives.

• ananseba 10 years ago

What a Visionary. 50 years on we are still being exploited with the help, this time, of our own 'leaders' who don't appear to have a clue about what they are about (sorry, they know how to fill Swiss Bank Accounts with the lo ...

• issah musah adams 10 years ago

Dr Kwame Nkrumah has given as the solution of our proplems already now is the time to say enough is enough so we can take full responsibllkity

• S.Dikaini 10 years ago

No wonder his idealogy was rebaffed by the so called super powers, Nkrumah never dies.We are still sruggling to reach half way of his dream for Africa. Wake up African leaders.It can be achieved provided we eschew jealousy an ...

• Nii Okai 10 years ago

I am of the hope that one day this vision which is hard to achieve will one day come to pass by the help of God , who wish Africa the best.

• Dan Budu 10 years ago

Thanks to God that He gave Ghana and Africa a son like Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah. As I read through this speech,
    I discovered what a visionary Kwame was!
    Oh if only Africa had listened to Kwame, the continent will have be ...

• sam 10 years ago

I HAVE NO WORDS TO ADD - HE SAID IT ALL PERIOD.

• Kwaw Nkrumah 10 years ago

I have read Nkrumah's inaugural OAU speech and hereby comment as follows.

This is a great speech. It is interesting to note that the fears of not having the Unity at the proposed time have come upon us, Africans. Clearly, ...

• still rastafari 10 years ago

powerful speech..but was Africa ready???

• whayo 7 years ago

Hmmm. great man indeed. l still don't understand how other Africa freedom fighter like Patrice Lumumba, Julieus Nyerere etc in different countries saw the wisdom in Kwame Nkrumah and supported him but his own Ghanaians pe ...