You are here: HomeNews2013 05 24Article 274887

Somanya not appropriate for proposed ER University.

Read Comments Comments (44)

• Somanya Youths Forum 10 years ago

All enemies of progress are damned, Amen!

• moi 10 years ago

Shut up idiots. Let the govt. site a university in Kroboland and Ghana can kiss the fight against HIV-AIDS goodbye.Yennim Krobofuo maa firi tete.

• Tanko, UK 10 years ago

Much as I support national integration I think it is not sound to use establishment of universities as a cohesion medium. There are so many illiterate graduates who can’t find work; partly because they did not acquire any e ...

• ISAAC 10 years ago

Your articled started well but ended up badly with the tribalism in your genes. Yes Somanya may not be a good location but why Koftown but not Aburi, Akropong, Akwatia, or even Kyebi?

You see you are no different.

• Nene 8 years ago

I guess u can never be discribed as any thing rather than a bigger fool. Ur fore fathers and ur generation knows krobo women well cuz ur mothers were piece of logs. A fool u and ur generation shall forever be.

• Kofi Nyamekye 10 years ago

It is clear from your piece that you are the preacher of ethnocentrism. Apart from a cheap talk that some (not all) universities are cited in regional capitals and so the new ER university must also follow same you offered no ...

• Concern Ghana 10 years ago

I'm not any party faithful but this writer has written next to 'nothing'. If everything should be at regional capitals what country will it be?.

When we're discouraging focusing too much on regional capitals at the expense ...

• FM 10 years ago

Nothing stops Koforidua and other so-called traditional Akan dominated areas in the Eastern Region to offer the government many more sites for many more campuses for the same university. After all, there are many faculties, d ...

• OneGhana 10 years ago

What a puerile write up! I am not from Koforidua but I have been in negotiations with some chiefs and financiers to establish a higher institution of learning that is usually only seen in the developed world. Should the gover ...

• Just 10 years ago

Just pause, and hear your own gibberish. In fact, it's full of contradictions and nauseating inconsistencies.Who is playing the tribal and ethnocentric card here? The pot calling the kettle black. You worry yourself about so ...

• Yaa Baby 10 years ago

Did you write because you can write english or you wanted to make a point.
    Shame

• kk 10 years ago

ABSOLUTE CRAP

• Fred Sackitey 10 years ago

Eastern region has Guans, Akyem, Krobo, Akwapem, Akwamu, Asante etc... Amongst all these groups, some have polytechnic, midwifery school, community health training college, nursing college etc... Krobos and some others have n ...

• DOGBE 9 years ago

I reckon Mr Sackitey, the former Principal of MOMACO is related to you hence your fight for the location of the varsity in Yilokrobo. In my view, the establishment should be sited irrespecxtive of the tribal or geographical c ...

• tony t. 10 years ago

is somanya not part of E/R. count the number of stop that baseless analysis somamya deserve it

• Sammy 10 years ago

Koforidua has de Poly,so Somanya deserves de University ok,HUN!

• Walasto 10 years ago

Location is irrelivant as long as the site is suitable for the project....besides are the krobos not humans they also deserve better.

• KWAME ASEM 10 years ago

The usual stupidity on display again! Things like these are the problems we have in this country. Listen to the idiot clown, " I shudder to think how Voltarians would have taken it if Kufour had unilaterally decided that the ...

• BroAkumah 10 years ago

Indeed you are a very big idiot, I wonder what makes you think Koforidua is the ideal place instead of Somanya. Krobos also deserve what has been given to them this time around. Krobos and the other tribes have been patient w ...

• Kwasi Kankam 10 years ago

Fire will rather burn you idiots --Kwame Asem and Akumah! You two have rather shown what foolish tribal bigots you are. The writer gave cogent reasons why he thought Koforidua should be a better site for the university as com ...

• Nene 8 years ago

But if it's sited in koforidua what reason will that be? Look it's high time we Ghanaians begin to take our choice words seriously. I wonder if the NPP will visit the krobo land during campaign. We will be waiting for them si ...

• Peter 10 years ago

Yawose John is a typical Akan who thinks they deserve everything and others do not. You indicated UmaT is not in the regional capital and so if the E/R vars is also not at the capital what is the big deal? allow the NDC to do ...

• DIVES 10 years ago

It is clear the writer is just bitter about nothing, he is just raising red herrings, should do better analyses next time.We can't build a strong nation with such bigotry.

• Teye Kwablah 10 years ago

Kwasia munyu n3 ngo be mi (Stupid talk without sense). Teye Kwablah

• piesie 10 years ago

must everything be cited in regional capitals. what's wrong with siting a univ among the krobos? are they not Ghanaians?
    in one breath you complained about siting all projects in one accra, yet in another breath you want a ...

• Amanor 10 years ago

Columnist, with all the misspellings in this baseless analysis, I can see you also consider your self better at 'decision-making' compared to the president , right.

• Obejibe T. 10 years ago

You have done well to write all this but, my brother must we always be acting like our forefathers? cant this generation do anything contrary to the norm? Look the more you write these things the more you polarise our country ...

• FADA 10 years ago

the best place for sitting of the ER university is BUNSO ie the upgrading of the Agric college.

• Ket 10 years ago

the writer and the government who is sounding more tribalistic here. this akans nabours of ours are very selfish. every good thing should go the them first. God help Ghana

• Sk 10 years ago

Koforidua has many higher educational institutions: polytecnic, private universities, Agricultural university colleges etc., so locating another university in Koforidua will defeat the brain behind decentralisation. I think t ...

• Boat 10 years ago

This writer is the most foolish writer i have ever read from .. i think you are a minor or either not sane

• theo 10 years ago

you think you people are the only human beings in Ghana, give us break

• Onua Francis 10 years ago

The question being asked is the justification in arriving at the Somanya decision. Who ever made the decision has a duty to justify their decision for the rest of us to be informed to stop such unhelpful arguments.

• Awo 10 years ago

The elders of Kroboland are planning to join their cousins, the Ga and Ada to form GaDangme Region. In future this university will be in GaDangme Region. The president should rethink about the location. I believe Koforidua ...

• KINGSLEY 10 years ago

Mr.Tribalist,fire go burn you, non-akans also deserved better stupid foolish.

• Kwame Kyeretwei Snr. 10 years ago

I remember my days as a young 18 year old, living in Ogome and going to Sra and Somanya almost every night to have fun in the late '60 and early 70's . I like the area. I am an Akyem guy living in the States right now since t ...

• Joseph 10 years ago

This writer is mad. Koforidua already has a polytechnic and a university. So for the purpose of regional development, somanya is the best. He must go a hang himself hahaaaaa

• Emma 10 years ago

Tribalistic Akan man, location does not matter

• Emma 10 years ago

Too tribalistic

• The man 10 years ago

Why do you have to say that? Are we all not going to benefit from the services that will be rendered,no matter the location? What of the natives of Somanya who are schooling in Tamale?

• Glech 9 years ago

To be conservative, since the idea of changing polytechnic into universities. Why no give that University name to kpoly and save the construction cost of the new University. Spend the money to provide more facilities.

• Nii Kwao Tamatey 9 years ago

I stand in support.This is the time for Ada Ningo,Shai,Doryumu. Kpone etc (Ga_Dangmes )to shine.The Akans are too trabalistic.....

• MD 8 years ago

This is childish,unintelligent,tribalistic and politically biased analysis.is there any constitutional or legislative instrument that suggest that state universities should be cited in the regional capitals? Would you have c ...

• SOMANYA 6 years ago

Your article is full of tribalistic empty mind.i ain't surprised though since you people are always on the wrong side.Koforidua already have a private university and a Technical university what and also taking into considerat ...