Bizarre: 13-year-old forced into marriage to replace her elder sister

Read Comments Comments (61)

• CHAIRMAN MING 10 years ago

UNTIL I CAME

• HON SHAMO 10 years ago

NO GHANA FAMILY WILL DO THIS NO COMMENTS

• Theo 10 years ago

Why are Ghanaians behaving like this is an anomaly? 12 year old girls are even married to 60 year old men in the Northern Ghana three regions all the time.Alba Bagbin even married his wife sister who was fifteen years old and ...

• WHISTLEBLOWER 2 10 years ago

Oh sad

• Birahma 10 years ago

This tradition is far better bcos some of u go for little ones like that at SOLDIER BAR but pretend to be angels

• UGLY CRIMINAL ASHANTI 10 years ago

THIS IS BAD AND SAD BUT STILL BETTER THAN THE WAY ASHANTIS WASTE THE LIVES OF INNOCENT GIRLS IN THE NAME OF A PRIMITIVE CULTURE A PRACTICE ASHANTIS FEEL MAKES THEIR CULTURE BETTER THAN ALL OTHER CULTURES IN GHANA.THE 13 YRS G ...

• WISE-TALK, UK 10 years ago

i never bless ghana female b4 but this girl deserve my HOLLY blessing''i bless this marriege and may GOD bless the marriege and give them everlasting happyness in life too amen,but i hope the family are in sakawa marriege lik ...

• ROMANO 10 years ago

MARIO ROMANO WAS BORN IN GHANA TO AN ITALIAN FATHER AND A GHANAIAN MOTHER.MARIO TRAVELLED TO ANAGO IN THE EARLY 80'S WITH A ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING DEGREE.ROMANO GOT A JOB AT LEVER BROTHERS AT 15 DOCKYARD RD APAPA.EIGHT MONTHS ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

It's against the law in Ghana for a child below 18 to marry. Those who married them should be arrested and charged. There should be no excuses. The girl must be removed from the so-called husband so that she can go back to sc ...

• ROMANO 10 years ago

ROMANO HAS FUCKED MORE FINE, FINE FINE VIRGIN ANAGO WOMEN THAN ANY MAN IN ALATA. I BANGED MISTRESES,JUDGES,LECTURERS,MEDICAL STUDENTS,POLICE WOMEN STUDENTS ETC,I CAN'T EVEN REMEMBER ALL OF THEM BUT YOU NAME IT AND I HAVE AREA ...

• Akanpeople 10 years ago

Mustapha Mohammed, that's stupid Akan name.

• GHANA 10 years ago

Arrest these Savannah cows for that stupidity.

• Azaa 10 years ago

Please this guy is not a northerner,he might be from Kotokoli-Togo or Mali they do that.You see all these people are here undocumented and live in the zongos like Zongo is a town.Where in Africa do you have a community like t ...

• Koffi 10 years ago

What proof do u have to claim they from TOGO?
    We are talking about tradition and belief, not country of origin

THIS IN THE 21ST CENTURY IS VERY UNFORTUNATE AND SAD AND SHOULD BE SPOKEN AGAINST BY ALL BUT STILL BETTER THAN THE HUMAN SACRIFICE OF ASHANTIS .SOURCES AVAILABLE AT THE LATE ASANTEHENES FUNERAL SAID THE PRACTISE CONTINUES BCO ...

• now 10 years ago

The young girl spent the night with the husband in the same room; she was also not able to go to school today: probably enjoying her honeymoon!

• SHAMO 10 years ago

..Fantis+Northerners+Ewes+Nzemas+Others+Ga-Adangbe+other akans are good people but the evil ashanti akyem akans NPPians are so evil satanic racist tribalist biggoted people, they lost, they are theives, evil cocaine deelers, ...

• Azaa 10 years ago

Hei,every Akan is an Akan we can disagree to agree that doesn't mean we are enemies,we have the same clans we belong to.You better think of your unaccepted tribe and leave Akans alone.Look at what happened in Ekumfi?what happ ...

• yaw, USA 10 years ago

I THINK ITS TIME REAL GHANAIANS COME TOGETHER AND SEND THESE UNGRATEFUL PEOPLE WHO WERE ADOPTED BY DR. NKRUMAH OUT OF COMPASSION BACK TO NOTSIE TO BE BURIED ALIVE BY AGBOKOLI

• SHAMO 10 years ago

hahahahahaaaaaaNPPians lost big time, Fantis+Northerners+Ewes+Nzemas+Others+Ga-Adangbe+other akans are good people but the evil ashanti akyem akans NPPians are so evil satanic racist tribalist biggoted people, they lost, they ...

• Azaa 10 years ago

Wo be su ara awu.It is the same, we are Akans.your stupid father is the cocain addict and your ugly mother who was unfortunate to get a stupid husband to born a stupid useless son with hatred and enviness.your game of divisio ...

• POORGIRL 10 years ago

THE HON MINISTER FOR GENDER AND CHILDREN'S AFFAIRS MUST GO TO THE RESCUE OF THIS POOR AND INNOCENT GIRL. THE FOOLISH PARENTS MUST BE MADE TO FACE THE LAW, AND THE BRIDEGROOM MUST BE WARNED NOT TO DEFILE THE UNDER-AGED GIRL.

• Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

Send all those who forced the girl into the marriage into prison. This cannot be allowed to happen in this modern Ghana.

• concern citizen 10 years ago

All the parties involved must be prosecuted and sentenced.

Arrest the parents and the groom! This is illegal and by law statutory rape! She is a minor and cannot give her consent!
    Where are the police? DOVVSU etc?

• Maame Grace 10 years ago

Nana Oye over to you this girl should be removed from her parents and placed in foster care.The guy should be jailed for having sex with a minor even if it was consent because she did not know what she was doing

• Dean 10 years ago

Hello, can somebody inform Mrs Oye Lithur for me.....what is her ministry doing about this innocent young girls predicament?

• Owura 10 years ago

The man should be arrested for accepting the 13 year old girl as his wife. It is simply disgusting and unacceptable regardless the circumstances. This case need proper investigation for the reason why the propose girlfriend r ...

• Sikamanba 10 years ago

The government should intervene. This is supervised child rape!! It is wrong and must be stopped.

• Ras 10 years ago

what is the age for consent in Ghana?

• Afia 10 years ago

please redrow it .

• INDEPENDENT VOTER 10 years ago

They are not accomplishing anything good for the child. They are just robbing the child of her childhood. Very sickening!!!

• Kobena 10 years ago

What backwardness! This in the 21st Century!
    If such stone age people are allowed to vote,why wouldn't we have chaos after every election? Poeple like that will vote for a goat if they are told "it is one of us."
    Cry the be ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Kobena, say that again oooo.

• Joe Boateng ---Dabaa . 10 years ago

Little bride never accused your older sister that what she did was wrong,she did the right thing becouse she dont want to go into any thing that she will regret in the near future.My advice to you ,if your'e to please your pa ...

• ABEZE 10 years ago

its a child offencess, law dont allow

• 4 YEAR OLD 10 years ago

It is well to protect our children and we should do all in our power to stop such atrocious behavior. That is the hallmark of Islamism. They rape their young ones in the name of religious tradition. All such acts should be de ...

• ZONGO BOY 10 years ago

SAD FOR YOU BROTHER, YOU HAVE TO WAIT FOR ANOTHER 3YRS ATLEAST.

• abby 10 years ago

folks this was the practice of so called mohammed the islam and the wicked moslems practice this till today..this can never happen in my family...

• Asoreba 10 years ago

Ghana is governed by "FOOLS"
    This could not happen in a CIVIL society in broad daylight with such an arrogance. This is a minor, I don't care how anybody sees it. This man should be arrested for sharing the night with the ...

• Kwabena Gyam 10 years ago

Is there no law in Ghana restricting marriage and sexual intercourse with a minor? Lord have mercy!

WASTING HUMAN BEINGS INTHE NAME OF CULTURE IS THE WORSE FORM OF CULTURE IF GHANAIANS CARE TO KNOW BCOS WHILES THE TROKOSI VICTIMS,FGM VICTIMS LIVE TO CONTRIBUTE THEIR QUOTA TO LIFE IN A WAY OR THE OTHER ASHANTI HUMAN SACRIFIC ...

• samdoug 10 years ago

Whether she consented or not the man and all involved must be arrested because at 13, she is not matured enough to be offered for marriage.

GOD SAVE OUR MOTHERLAND GHANA

• KA NA WU 10 years ago

Hello Mahama culture

• m.m .hamburg 10 years ago

islam alow to marry at dat age.but it depend on the struture of the girl.

• ZONGO BOY 10 years ago

THESE ARE FAMILIES WHO WILL NEVER VOTE FOR PROGRESS BUT VOTE FOR DARK AGES CULTURE WITH VISIONLESS LEADER AND PARTY.

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

I PITY BOTH THE MAN AND THE CHILD. HOW CAN YOU MARRY SUCH A SMALL CHILD, YOU FOOL?
    WHY DIDN'T THE MAN REFUSE TO MARRY THE CHILD BECAUSE HER BIG SISTER LEFT. THE BIG SISTER WAS RIGHT IN LEAVING BECAUSE THE MAN IS A COW JUST L ...

• m.m .hamburg 10 years ago

kwasea,ka na wu.ur culture is to spend millions of cedis 4 a dead person and my is to maried a 13 years girl so what is ur probiem

• Dr. Red Hot 10 years ago

Nana Oye Lithur or whatever her name is must save this poor girl now.

• GHANABA 1 10 years ago

I have said it before and will keep on saying it that Ntafo) agyimi paa,meaning Northeners are so stupid apart from Dr.Bawumia,they do things as if they have no sense at all.Is there something call Abomination in Ntafo) socie ...

• GIWA 10 years ago

THIS GUY MUST BE ARRESTED PERIOD

• Igp 10 years ago

All those who arranged the forcible marriage must be arrested. This is a statutory rape providing the 25 year old man touched the girl either sexsual or had just touched he. The parents must be arrested and the 18 year old sh ...

• Sadia 10 years ago

He must be arrested and prosecuted for child defilement. At 13 the girl has no capacity to give consent for sexual intercourse under Ghana law. Joy online please take action, report to the police.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

What a sad story!

• NTAMKESE 10 years ago

THW WHOLE FAMILY AND THE STUPID HUSBAND MUST BE DRAGGED TO DOVVSU, WHATEVER BODY OF THE POLICECHARGED WITH CHILD ABUSE.

TROKOSI IS RESPONSIBLE FOR JUST,FAITHFUL,HONEST AND DISCIPLINE LIFE STYLE OF THE EWE PEOPLE A PRACTICE FAR FAR FAR BETTER THAN THE HUMAN SACRIFICE OF THE ASHANTIS WHO KILLED INNOCENT GIRLS IN THE NAME OF THE MOST BARBARIC AND ...

AREAS WHERE TROKOSI IS PRACTICE IN THE VOLTA REGION ARE NOTED 4 DISCILPLINE,HONESTY,A DRASTIC DECLINE IN STEALING,ADULTERY,LIES.

• joe 10 years ago

what can you do to help the poor girl bring the law in and help to educate her family,the girl has her future in the law, her family and in her own hands

• Kingsley 10 years ago

Laws were made for the good of the society, do people know, or understand these laws? have they been informed about the changes?. In Ghana today ,majority of the people do not know their rights, because the laws were made for ...

• Dr. O 10 years ago

aside from the law. The parents are stupid. They need to find out why the older sister ran away. Instead of forcing the girl in to it.

• Dr. O 10 years ago

Stupid parents,did they pause to think for a second while the girl ran away??? Instead of finding out what the reason is, they force the small girl in to it.

Behaving just like the so called leaders. Tackle the problem ...