You are here: HomeNews2013 05 14Article 273964

Galamsey has become a national security threat - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (52)

• cha 10 years ago

This mahama thinks Ghanaians are fools- u rush to turkey to push gold to arabs- we will see after the SC case

• JDM 10 years ago

HE CANNOT DO KOBO. HE IS WEAK.

• Torgbigah 10 years ago

foreigners own guns in ghana without permanent resident permit,, how? foreigners engaging in illegal activities and upon that open fire on the aborigines of the land? it's a new form of colonization and invasion. Fuck Ghana m ...

• DAN 10 years ago

stop giving the country away to China and muslims! No boko Harem in Ghana

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Mahama, are you losing it? I used to respect you a lot but some of your comments are questionable. What business have the Chinese in Ghana to do galamsey when the chiefs, immigration, the police and soldiers look on sheepishl ...

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

Local chiefs and DCEs should provide local leadership in this matter!!

• UGLY CRIMINAL ASHANTI 10 years ago

I HAVE NEVER SEEN ANY COUNTRY IN WHICH A SITTING PRESIDENT IS INSULTED BY ONE PARTICULAR TRIBE THAN WHAT ASHANTIS ARE DOING TO JOHN MAHAMA AFTER FRUSTRATING ATTA MILLS TO HIS GRAVE BY THE SAME PRIMITIVE INSULT METHOD OF POLIT ...

MAHAMA IS RULING OVER ALL UGLY ASHANTIS INCLUDING ASANTEHENE ,K4 AND NANA ADDO WHETHER THE UGLIEST TRIBE ASHANTIS LIKE IT OR HATE IT,MAHAMA IS THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA THE COMMANDER AND CHIEF OF THE GHANA ARMED FORCES NOT ASANT ...

WHY BLAME THE WHITEMAN 4 SELLING YOU AFRICANS INTO SLAVERY AND NOT THE ASHANTI THE BRAIN BEHIND SELLING HIS OWN BROTHER FOR MONEY PURPOSES.THIS IS HOW FAR AN ASHANTI CAN GO FOR MONEY AND EMPTY PRIDE THESEARE THE SAME PEOPLE W ...

• Jeff PPP 10 years ago

BE STRONG AND A REAL PEPEEEEEEEEPE NII CHILD; DO THE RIGHT THING AND FORGET WHAT PEOPLE WILL TALK:

• Joe ballack UK 10 years ago

National security only interested in PINKSHEET gaurding

• Ebo Cobby 10 years ago

Now what are you going to do about it, Mr. President? You correctly identified it as a national security threat, what is your response? You took an oath to defend Ghana and all its interest I guess. Tell us how you plan to ha ...

• ZongoBoy 10 years ago

Lol,
    A useless president running around like a headless chicken.
    The president is useless
    The interior ministry is useless
    The army is useless.
    A lot of institutions that serve no real purpose. They only chop money.

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

Mr President let me teach you how to govern : Summon your national Security Head (since it is a national Security concern), The immigration head, The police Head and order them to hunt for all illegal miners, arrest them and ...

• chief am,ankwa 10 years ago

minister stealing state funds .
    bribe before contract is more a danger .
    do u care about poor folks in rural areas who have no water and light

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

"Necessity is the mother of invention."
    -Plato
    While the Great Horse Manure Crisis of 1894 created one impetus to find another form of transportation, over a century later we find ourselves in a similar situation with the c ...

• DAN 10 years ago

Volta electric can even supply all the lights and fridges in ghana how will they charge car or forklift batterys

• Tia 10 years ago

Get some real folks who want to work to see Ghana move on!

• Kwabena Mensa 10 years ago

MAHAMA EXPEL THE CHINESE !

DON'T BULLY ANY POOR INNOCENT GHANAIAN MINERS. THANK YOU.

• akwasi 10 years ago

MR PRESIDENT HOW DID THESE CHINESE COME HERE. FIND OUT. ITS UR OWN PEOPLE WHO TOOK BRIBES AND ALLOWED THEM HERE. DEPORT THEM.IF GHANAIANS ARE COUGHT MINING IN CHINA THEY WILL BE DEPORTED.

• Rocket 10 years ago

If Ghanaians are caught mining and polluting waters in China they will be executed!!!

ASHANTIS TOOK BRIBE FROM THSE PEOPLE RETENDING NOT TO KNOW WHO THIS PEOPLE ENTERED AND STARTED WORK IN THE FIRST PLACE,IF NOT 4 K4 WHY SHOULD GLOBAL CRIMINALS NUMBER ONE NIGERIANS AND CHINESE INVADE OUR COUTRY IN THIS RAPID M ...

• Afua 10 years ago

Hypocrite,he must have had the Chinese support when he watched Prof. Mills die and rigged the 2012 elections. Now he must pay his dues so he has offered our lands and the blood of our citizens as ransom. He will watch our cit ...

• kwaku 10 years ago

Govt must listen to the citizens and experts. the fundamental problem we face is the issue of licence to import guns and fire arms. This should be addressed with the seriousness it deserves. Who issues the permit to import g ...

• INDEPENDENT STATE OF AKANLAND 10 years ago

Akan people must go to the United Nations with Kofi Annan and announce the declaration of the independence of Akanland (Akan Republic). Upon the declaration of Akanland, Akan people will take their petroleum, gold, diamonds, ...

• Another.. 10 years ago

Look at this fool who thinks his entire world should be minerals and natural resources. Do you know what other nations have been able to achieve without these numerous minerals.

A dweeb repronounced as fool....

FANTIS ,BONOS,KWAHUS, DONT LIKE THE SHANTIS SO WHERE IS THE AKAN STATE?ASHANTIS INSULTED KOFI ANNANS BROTHER ATTA MILLS TO HIS GRAVE NOW WANTING ANNAN TO JOIN AKAN STATES?ASHANTIS BONOS TAX TO DEVELOP KUMASI AT THE EXPENSE OF ...

WHO TEACHERS ASHANTI KIDS FOR GENUINE CERTIFICATES?APART FROM LOCAL MUSIC WHAT ELSE CAN THE ASHANTI PRODUCE ON THEIR OWN?WHO MANAGES THE ASHANATIS FINANCE SINCE ALL ASHANTIS ARE CROOKS AND ADDICTED TO STEALING STATE FUNDS.WHO ...

• JA Ackon 10 years ago

A lot is due to the connivance of greedy NDC gov't officials. The out-going MCE at Obuasi, for instance, has lots of questions to answer on these things. He owns some of these illegal pits on AGA's lands.

AN ASHANTI STATE WILL BE THE FASTEST CORRUPT AFRICAN STATE EVEN B4 NIGERIA AT LEAST THE NUGERIAN HAS A GENUINE BUT THE ASHANTI HAVE NOT YET WANTS TO WORK IN RECOGNISED ESTABLISHMENTS

• EBENEZER EKOW RESHID AYEHU (UUFAL CHA 10 years ago

Mr. President. Thanks for your solution but we need to brief you or advice you how you go about it. your excellency, those advice you to stop galamsey or illegal mining are those who want to destroyed your government. Mr. Pr ...

• Bill 10 years ago

Ghana People make you stand up
    Make you fight
    For your rights
    We no go sit down make them cheat we everyday…

• Kobena 10 years ago

Mark of an incompetent, clueless leader. You don't remember how it all started? You were part of an incompetent and irreponsible government that legalised the deisastrous scheme, for political expediency. It is only the chick ...

• kb 10 years ago

President John Mahama,please banned galamsey operation in the whole country.With licens or without licens,citizen or alliens.Galamsey operating areas is breeding ground for weed smoking,gambling,robbery,etc.It also distroying ...

• K.K.Jam 10 years ago

Mr. So called president, take the peak out of your eyes before others are picked. Do you know Kwii? That place has being invaded by foriegners and you are aware. Don't act like a coward.

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 10 years ago

SHAME ON MAHAMA,I WONDER WHY MAHAMA DID NOT RESIGN TO SAVE GHANA,HE INTRESTED TO BE IN POWER,TRUELLY,GHANA DID NOT VOTE FOR GAY,CRIMINAL MAHAMA,PERIOD

K4 KIDS BEGGED THEIR MOTHER TO ACCOMPANY K4 ON HIS INITIATION CEREMONY AS THE PRESIDENT ALL BCOS K4 CHEATED ON THE HARD WORKING WIFE A NUMBER OF TIMES,WHAT WAS THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN K4 AND GIFTY ANTI?

• SHAKARA 10 years ago

IF THE PRESIDENT UNDERSTANDS THAT MONEY
    IS THE ROOT OF ALL EVILS, THEN HE SHOULD
    DO ALL HE CAN TO STOP IT.

• Kuku 10 years ago

It becomes a problem beyond controll if you don't ACT

• Hear it Clear 10 years ago

Where were you all this while when these poor villagers were crying for help! Their farming lands were taken over, and drinking water polluted. Little too late, but better late than never.

• captain planet 10 years ago

come to the minning areas and see things for yourself.50 meters where some M.P S AER staying there galamsey pits.your men are involed please

• Amponsa Kakabo London 10 years ago

The new ministrial committee on illegal minning must first arrest Baba Jamaa Akwatia MP the leading illegal minner on Akyem lands.

• ABDUL RAHIM 10 years ago

PEOPLE IN OBUASI CAN SURVIVE WITHOUT GALAMSEY. I AM A STUDENT I WAS ABLE TO COMPLETE SCHOOL BECAUSE MY UNCLE WAS A GALAMSEY WHO CATER FOR ME IN SCHOOL. NOW I CANT CONTINUE SCHOOL ANY MORE BECAUSE GALAMSEY HAS COLLAPSE. NO O ...