You are here: HomeNews2013 04 26Article 272294

Rawlings to receive UDS doctorate at last

Read Comments Comments (241)

• Gaby Bruk 11 years ago

JJ Rawlings has taken bribe from Mahama that is why he has kept silence these days refusing to talk against corruption in the government. Someone has suggested Woyome has gagged him.

• LARYEAH 11 years ago

YOU ARE RIGHT, GABY, JJ HAS BEEN BRIBED; HENCE THE LONG SILENCE ON HIS PART ABOUT THE CORRUPT AND NON-PERFORMING GOVERNMENT.

• SHAMO 11 years ago

JJ RAWLINGS DONT HAVE TIME FOR YOU, STOP PAMPERING HIM AND POUR YOUR LOOTED GHANAIAN MONEY OUT, THIEF AKONFEM PREZ

• HASSAN RASTA GERMANY 11 years ago

WHAT DO YOU KNOW ABOUT THE NDC? A DOG WILL NEVER BITE ITS BABY TO THE BORN, SO LEAVE JJ AND THE NDC ALONE, AKORASENE ABOABA A WONNIM NA AGYA.

• REPORTER 1 11 years ago

this is one of those news that comes back denied by JJ rawlings. I remember one nigerian university offered him doctorate degree, even-though he has never stepped in a class room since J.S.S.

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

WHAT DO YOU EXPECT THESE DIASGRUNTLED, BUSH BOYS TO DO. THEY HAVE LOST 2012 AND WILL LOSE THE PETITION AT THE SC, AND SO WILL MAKE WILD ALLEGATIONS,AND POLITICAL INTRUSIONS FROM THE BUSH WHERE THEY BELONG.

• Adams 11 years ago

The reign of the Ntafuors has began and woe to our beloved country Ghana. These peppefuors have put Ghana into a state of suspended animation!! Hail to the Tani in power, at least temporary. Now, fellow patriots, just suck up ...

• Kojo T 11 years ago

Bawumia is also from the North. Is he also " pepeni" ? NPP are fools

• Mania. 11 years ago

Thanks sir, they don't think. Why is nana addo, the superman, not in the dock! The case will have been over from day one. They are so stupid when people are branded as ayigbefuo, teni etc.

• KAKRABA ADDISON,CAPE COAST 11 years ago

Rawlings,Kojo Tsikata,Kofi Awonoor,NDC,EWES arrested national educational growth/ development in Ghana.-- ..and they MURDERED Mr. George Addison Of GIHOC Pharmaceuticals for no reason!Are we Fantees fools after all like other ...

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

Author: OBAA YAA

...So, the people around the president including his wife and those Team “B” staffers were aware of the president failing health. Therefore, who were they kidding when they ruin insults on whoever que ...

• kolotsi 11 years ago

Efo Nyebro JJ is old now

• Mahmoud 11 years ago

These political Doctorate degrees have been abused and therefore lost their respect and meaning in Ghana. Does every political leader deserves a Doctorate degree? Our universities have lost their academic Independence and are ...

• osei kingsley lagos 11 years ago

You are ignorant. Great personalities like Rrawlings are being honoured with doctorate degrees in the civilized world. Not only in ghana.Take note. mahmoud.

• Asantrofie 11 years ago

My heart bleeds that in this day and age we call people NAMES. I am very ashamed that a fellow Ghananian will be called a derogatory name. Yes we need to fight against what is wrong because it is wrong, but not because of who ...

• AGYAAKU 11 years ago

It would be in the right direction to award the former president with this degree as an honour. It would be much better if this is followed up with naming the institution after him. That would be in appreciation to the thousa ...

• FUI 11 years ago

MAHAMA HAS FAILED IN EVERY SENSE OF THE WORD. THIS MAN CANNOT EVEN UNIFY THE COUNTRY. HE IS ALWAYS SAYING THINGS TO DIVIDE THE COUNTRY AND KEEP IT EITHER TRIBAL OR PARTISAN. SHAMEFUL PRESIDENT

• Arthur Hayes 11 years ago

What did Mahama say to devide the nation? Even the international community recognizes what Rawlings has done for Ghana, Africa, and world community. He rightly deserves the award. Don't be jealous.

• Bonso 11 years ago

I never seem to know what J J rawlings did for Ghana in his 19 year rule...and am not alone in our search for the truth

Can you please list these achievements today for us all to read

I mean tell us what your man JJR di ...

• TORONTO PANIN 11 years ago

Though,JJ may have done little for ghana,his love for ghana is second highest to Nkrumah ..and there has never been any leader who has put his life at risk to save ghana like JJ

• BAM 11 years ago

Toronto Panin, God bless you. Oh Ghana, we have to tell the truth whatever party one belongs to. I belelive Ghananians will regret after JJ has pass away. Give him 2 chanca, don not keep JJ sielence. He had the passion.

• zak j 11 years ago

if u are 2 move around ghana u will appriciate how important the things jjr did meant to d ordinary ghanaian. Do u know why he is love by d villiages n not d 'citians'?. He brought d city to dem, electricity, bore holes (no m ...

• jones 11 years ago

check Togo Burkina and other African countries n you will know what Rwalings did for Ghana...

• Only the Thruth 11 years ago

Give the award to those judges he murdered, especially the nursing mother for her courage and bravely to stand againstthe outrageous killings of innocent people by rawlings.

• Akua smith 11 years ago

I pity those who always vomit nonsence from their mouths by insulting ewes and northners

• azagi 11 years ago

Chimps, gorillas, monkeys, jumping from tree to tree in the forest!!! ha ha ha ha !!!!!11

• Live GTV News on OFMTV.COM 11 years ago

Listen to the news on GTV live from WWW.OFMTV.COM

• Nyorkopio 11 years ago

Do you know how twins are called in Twi language? That is the REAL relationship between your people and our kin from the North. That relationship goes very deep. Do well to honour that relationship. Do you know your history v ...

• Ketasco Headmaster 11 years ago

We were all witnesses when Rawlings went through odds, criticisms, opposes, and insults to start the UDS. Openly, Asante/Akan lecturers at the University of Ghana, Legon, came out condemning the move; some saying UDS over the ...

• nkomfem and ata mills killer MAHAMA 11 years ago

IF THAT IS HOW THESE NTAFOUR AND EWES ARE RULING THE COUNTRY THEN AKANS SHOULD FORM THEIR OWN STATE. THESE STUPID AND INCOMPETENT PEOPLE DOESN,T KNOW ANYTHING AND WE AKANS SHOULDN,T FORM THE SAME STATE WITH THEM. THEY ARE BUS ...

• Omanbapa Osei Oy3ade3yie 11 years ago

... in the first place, during JJ's school days, there was nothing like JSS. There were O and A levels.

Rawlings sucessfully completed O'Level and then went to the Military Academy, which is a tertiary edcuation.

Meanwh ...

• johnny 11 years ago

Why don't you give us your real name? Cowards, they say, die many times before their death. Do you know what honorary degrees are? You surely write like one who eats grass.

• SHAMO 11 years ago

I DONT SPEAK WITH DOGS OK? TOILET CARRIER

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

The UDS is a Rawlings legacy and he should have been rewarded or recognized for this single achievement by bringing University education to the doorsteps of brothers and sisters in the North and Ghanaians as a whole.Rawlings ...

• Sikamanba 11 years ago

God bless you cardinal.

• Nana 11 years ago

Cardinal,you are blessed for having said truth. God sent JJ Rawlings to clear the country form rubbishes,weaked and corrupted people, from devils. If the ghana constitution could be revised you would have seen if he wouldn't ...

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

Sorry I didn't say that. He did two things he should be praised and I will let him enjoy his day for being recognized so let's leave it at that because because he did a lot of things bad and ruling for close to twenty years ...

• Obeng Rago 11 years ago

How can a man, who led a regime that destroyed our pristine secondary school system be honoured by our Premium University of Ghana, Legon? A dictator who reduced secondary schooling from 7 to 3 years in Ghana...

Before J ...

JJ Rawlings has destroyed Ghana's Education. Fact!

By reducing secondary schooling from 7 to 3 years, our children are shot to pieces as we can see from struggling sss graduands in Ghana!

How can such a person, who edu ...

How can any child complete secondary education in 3 years? What will you ever learn in Maths, English, Science, Geography within that short period of time in schools deprived of good books, ICT, staff and resources? Who bene ...

• Honestman 11 years ago

All those commending Rawlings for leaving two legacies should be reminded that Rawlings left Three legacies and the third one being Mudering INNOCENT people. He is a MURDEReeeeeE.

• Nana Appiah 11 years ago

Shut the Fuck-Up..Filius Mulieris Meretricis...

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

Idiot, your mother's pussy asked me to say that, hehehehehehehehe

'Pinche cabrone' What is that? It that a language for moronese?

Listen to this iniustum Peregrinus..

• Nana Akua 11 years ago

You just bought a dictionary and trying to impress? Try again

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

Who were you trying to impress with that bosh of yours, you technicolor yawn ?Your life is one big W.O.M.B.A.T. and your future doesn't look promising either.

Bob under with your oafishness !

hahahaha.. Can You imagine an illegal Alien in the States telling me my future Does not look Bright...What do you mean future?? I have being living large since I was 28yrs.. Appox. 10yrs Since..What future are you talking abo ...

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

Hahahaa, listen to this low self esteem fool living on welfare in Canada waiting for his asylum seeking application to come true.

Yes, you have been living large on welfare, you smelly rapist social misfit lobotomized usel ...

Hey Mr. Illegal Alien... Just a reminder, Make Sure you register to get into a 10yrs queue for obama's Immigration Reform...You Are Doomed.Mr. Ashanti Baboon..hahaha..I feel really sorry for your little Piglets who will not k ...

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

Ita pater est Asante, stultum se quid dicis tuum, tu frustrum mauris. Ubi vestrum est iam Latino interpreti, fictus bonum tibi sicut tres pupa bill. Si opus auxilium questus vestri application processus Canadian asylum, ut in ...

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

I am still waiting for you to turn your home work in.

Write "IT'S LAYMAN NOT LAME MAN" thousand times, you dumb illiterate

• KKK 11 years ago

WHY LET EVERY PRESIDENT BE CALLED A DOCTOR AND LET THE PEOPLE REMAIN POOR!

• Akos 11 years ago

Cockroach, now I understand why Rawlings is your hero. Feel sorry for Mr Appiah paying for somebody's child.

What's Your Problem little Bitch..Stay Out of my Way. foeda lupae

• Nana Akua 11 years ago

Akos is not your mother. You are describing your mother who can't tell you who your father is.

Fasciculumque Sapientum fixa edendi Simiae...hahahahahahaha. oh Lord have Mercy..

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

Su madre, que vendió su coño huele mal en las calles de Tema a marineros pellizcos para la alimentación debe tratar de encontrar un padre para ti, porque te falta modales para ser clasificado como un ser humano, pedazo inc ...

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

Musa sapientum fixa est pater tuus falsis Asante baboon manducans, vos frustrum stercore

• Akos 11 years ago

You child molester bastard, put the Latin book down because you are not impressing anybody.

Stay far away from my Posts..I do not want a bleached face Whore of Your kind to ever message me Alright..Single Mother Status Trailer Park Whore..Putrid Piece of Shit...

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

You bastard with a phantom Asante father, Amos is right. You can't even write English without pissing and crapping all over your illiterate eczema ravaged smelly self and you thought you were going to impress anybody here wit ...

• Akos 11 years ago

I feel sorry for you. You are dealing with people hundred times smarter and intelligent than you.

• WILLIAM 11 years ago

When are son of a worthless trokosi drunk going to start behaving like a human being?

Listen to this Deformis Bastardus..Clueless ha???

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

est pater tuus falsis Asante baboon manducans, vos frustrum stercore

• Nana Akua 11 years ago

Are you still looking for your Asante father? Go to Kejetia, he is shoeshining there.

• Akos 11 years ago

So Rawlings initiated that law? Now I understand why the Guy formerly known as cockroach found a name. His mother is sticking it to Mr Appiah to pay child support for a son who could ne the child of hundreds of men walking at ...

• zak j 11 years ago

thank u my brother. D fact dt jjr is not our man does not me we shdn,t tell d truth about him. Infact nana his wife was very intrumental in d 2nd legacy u mention.

• johnny 11 years ago

Shamo, you sure write like a patron of Ursula Owusu's "services". Please come clean.

• Pelicles 11 years ago

JJ, the thief of thieves, is comfortably hiding in the pocket of Woyome. Have you ever heard him commenting or saying anything about that case?

• Observer 11 years ago

The whole of Ghana knows this except you Mr. Ignorant Pelicles (r becomes l) Pericles????

• Akuffo Addo 11 years ago

Why is npp so petty.

• Kojo T 11 years ago

K4is a hypocrite. He was at the Bush Memorial Library and there were 5 ex US presidents. He cannot adviice his poodle Nana to attend Independay Celebrations with the current president

• Nokware_Asa 11 years ago

Of disunity planted by that man in this Ghana! And I am glad people like Kwadwo Owusu Afriyie,the current Npp Gen-Sec,and others have 'paid' him back for elevating them from nowhere into national prominence. Much of the vitro ...

• Sikamanba 11 years ago

It is jealousy and envy. Everything good thing should be about them; they do not have the decorum to appreciate the good in others.
    Unless it is them then it is not authentic and deserved. Pathetic!!

• TOHUGU 11 years ago

What has J.J not criticizing the Mahama administration got to do with
    your corrupt pals of the NPP scuttling
    the honorary doctorate degree supposedly to be conferred on him in 2005? You and your pals/cohorts in the Nincompo ...

• OLD GOLDCOAST BOY 11 years ago

MAHAMA IS ALSO A BLOOD SUCKER. THIS RAWLINGS KILLING SEVEN YES, 7 TOP GENERALS OF THE LAND TO RECEIVE THIS AWARD TO JUSTIFY THE KILLINGS? THAT IS WHY RAWLINGS HAS KEPT MUTE OVER MAHAMAS GOVERNANCE.

JERRY JOHN RAWLINGS: ...

• Frank 11 years ago

Congratulations, Dr. Rawlings. You are a herro and blessing to Ghana. May the Lord that blessed you continue to let His angels set a table for you in the presence of your enemies and may your enemies live long to see all Bles ...

• Sanctifier 11 years ago

IF CORRUPTION IS IN THE GOVERNMENT IT IS NOT THE SOLE DUTY OF RAWLINGS TO KICK AGAINST IT .YOU ARE ALSO A MAN WHO HAS A MOUTH TO TALK ABOUT IT.

• Jato 11 years ago

And Kufuor took bribe from Vodafone when he sold GTC

• d citizen ghana 11 years ago

Give honour to whom honour is due.

• WILLIAM 11 years ago

Even those who feel hrt by policies under the Rawelings regime cannot change it. We should not expect perfect heroes! Those who blocked it before, can anyone of them claim to be without blemish!UDC do the right thing and set ...

• FAR INDIA 11 years ago

JUST FOCUS ON SOLVING THE MYRAID OF PROBLEMS BESIEGING GHANA RATHER THAN TRIVIAL COMMENTS ON HONORARY (WITHOUT ACADEMIC EFFORT) DEGREES. SHAME!

• pachiko 11 years ago

NDC and Mahama's government, stop this kind of nonsense and govern the country as nobody listen when u (Mahama) Speak. People are dying, the country is in chaos and you went somewhere to talk shit. Enough with this craapp and ...

• Slim 11 years ago

Gog bless u papa

• Slim 11 years ago

Kwaseaaaaaaa ba, what do u know or what do u think u know, u are the kind of animals always crying to hear stupid and useless comments ur soo called npp leaders.
    Dzimapkla

• Dumega Prosper Jnr. 11 years ago

NPP UNDER KUFFOUR WAS TOO CORRUPT TO SEE AND HEAR THE TRUTH.
    JJ BUILT THE UNIVERSITY OF DEVELOPMENT STUDIES, PERIOD!!!!

• kojo brenya 11 years ago

Yes we know jerry's contribution towards the growth of the UDS.
    Mahama what is your vision for Ghana so that after you are no more president, Ghanaians will will say mahama did this and that for the betterment of the ordinar ...

A man called himself Nana Akemea is a curse to the entire nation. I don´t understand why most people called Nana are so greedy and selfish. Look at the Nana Addo Dwarf Akuffo Addo always thinks he is above the world. Forcing ...

• Ohene,,,, 11 years ago

Your father will still carry ur toilet idiot,,,,

IF JJ WERE TO BE LIKE YOU PEOPLE THE NPPIES LIKE WE WOULD HAVE BEEN STILL THERE UNDER DICTATORSHIP. THANK GOD HE ELIMINATED THE GREEDY ASHANTI UGLY LEADERS. THAT IS WHY ME AND YOU ARE HERE ON THE INTERNET BEING ABLE TO OPEN O ...

They have to Name that University definitely After Rawlings..JERRY JOHN RAWLINGS UNIVERSITY OF DEVELOPMENT STUDIES...Why are these people not thinking??? Its a Shame..It will definitely show a sense of Appreciation..Its reall ...

• Santo 11 years ago

Can you illiterate fool fuck off? Name a University after an illiterate bastard like Rawlings? Where is your fucking brain, you useless fake AKAN.

• Mohammed 11 years ago

Asshole, go and name the university at HO after him because we will name this University after President MAHAMA not an Ewe man who removed Limann as President.

Who made Liman President?? Fool, Cow Dung Eater...Dolium Inane..hahahaha

• Mohammed 11 years ago

We will never name a University in the Northern region after a trokosi bastard. I believe the name you are using is a stolen name, you trokosi rapist. Is your sister your wife too?

The last time I remember, You people were the Commissioners of Human feaces in Ghana...How dare you talk Bad about J J After he helped to promote Advance Education in the North with his Award winning Money..Ungrateful Bunch o ...

The last time I remember, You people were the Commissioners of Human faeces in Ghana..How dare you talk Bad about J J After he helped to promote Advance Education in the North with his Award winning Money..Ungrateful Bunch of ...

• Bonso 11 years ago

You cannot change history of Ghana, my friend!

JJ overthrew a Northerner called Hilla Limann, whose deputy was a Fanteman, not Asante...

It was not a dictatorship during the rule of Limann and PNP Government...

JJ in ...

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 11 years ago

RENAME UDS AS RAWLINGS UNIVERSITY, BECAUSE HE DONATED HIS MONEY AS SEED MONEY TO ESTABLISH THE UNIVERSITY. HE DIDN'T USE STATE FUNDS, BUT HIS OWN MONEY FROM AN AWARD HE EARNED. CONFERRING A PHD ON JJ IS NOT ENOUGH. JJ RAWLING ...

BAUMIA IS A RUBBER STAMP OF THE ASHANTI AKYIMS NACORTIC PEOPLES PARTY NPP. AND THE UNIVERSITY TOO WILL DEFINITELY BE NAMED JERRY JOHN RAWLINGS UNIVERSITY AND IT WILL PAIN THE NPPs TO THEIR BONES.

• Mawuse 11 years ago

Live ewes alone

• citizen 11 years ago

UDS SHD BE NAMED AFTER JJ, HE DESERVES IT

• KA AKYIRE 11 years ago

THIS SAME GYIMAH MESSED UP NATIONAL INVESTMENT BANK AND IS WALKING FREE

• PEKI TUMU 11 years ago

This Gyimah has been later found out by his action in his day job at the NIB to be prone to being bent in many ways.

In due course JJR will be recognized by UDS

• Prof Botswana 11 years ago

So is that how Ghanaians are. Are they worth dying for? especially my country men from the forest

• Akosua Tabuwaa 11 years ago

If the murderer JJ wants a degree why doesn't he work for that.He should enter as a mature student and work his ass for it.All he knows is bla bla.

• TOHUGU 11 years ago

You sound like one of those breed of NPP supporters who are actually a cross between a racoon+hyena+skunk+opossum+hyppo. Your brain is so warped that you don't know how to appreciate anything.No, Rawlings is not a murderer.It ...

• Akosua Tabuwaa 11 years ago

He is the great serial killer in Ghana politics.3 Judges,All ex army heads of state and countless civilians.Lol.

• UNCLE EBO 11 years ago

akosua tabuwaa you are THE SERVANT OF A DONKEY'S DOG and you SMELL LIKE A MONKEY'S POOH,YOU FAGGOT PRODUCT OF A STUPIDFIED FOOL!

• Sikamanba 11 years ago

You are obnoxious to write that. If you do not have anything to say, it advisable to keep quiet.
    You are just scared of the truth so you talk from your somewhere.
    Is prophet Samuel a serial killer too?
    Some of you people ...

• messa 11 years ago

SO HE TALK NICE ABOUT HIM BEACUSE MAHAMA LEADERSHIP IS IN DANGER AND SO HE MUST SWAY RAWLINGS TO HIS SIDE
    JUST IN CASE HE NEED RAWLINGS HELPS
    IN SAVING HIS POSTITION IN OFFICE

• Yaw 11 years ago

is just a title. My late dad will say what's is in the name. love that.

• Victor A. Young 11 years ago

John Mahama is a complete failure to Ghanaians! Not knowing how to run the country efficiently and with everything he touches turning a disaster, he's not turned to using tribal and divisionary tactics or polarization to an a ...

• NARCOTIC PEDDLERS' PARTY FOOLS 11 years ago

God will expose and punish NPP people one by one.

What is right is right and what is wrong is wrong. That is why Ghanaians continue to punish the evil NPP party. Their sins will follow them for a long time to come.

• GHANANI 11 years ago

Even Goerge Bush and Tony Blair the most recognizable war criminals of our modern era are free and picking praises and international appointments all over the world.And Kuffuor who is a friend of these two criminals find it r ...

• Sikamanba 11 years ago

Yes this is so disgraceful of Kuffour.That was so unpresidential. Very ungentlemanly of Ku four administration!!
    Petty jealousy and envy should not be named among statesmen.Ku four should apologise if he has any integrity l ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 11 years ago

Have you forgotten the High Court Judges and others he murdered?Honorary doctorate degrees aren`t confered on people who have killed!What a shame on UDS!

• oga yum yum 11 years ago

...who cares? .....

• CAPII 11 years ago

RAWLINGS SENSELESSLY MURDERED INNOCENT PEOLPE OVER CORRUPTION. HE IS CORRUPT AND THE NDC HAS SHAMED & DISHONOURED HIM AS THE WORST CORRUPT GOV'T IN GHANA'S HISTORY. WHAT GOOD IS A SHAMFUL AWARD.?

• NII LARTYEY NARTEY 11 years ago

How does Ghanaians expect Kufour's government to decorate a fake revolutionary beast like Rawlings who is to blame for the horribly disastrous social economic and political state the country found herself today.

The once d ...

• Luc 11 years ago

Nii lartey in his usual fiery self.You must be on the urge and ready to go at the world at the least perceived provocation on matters only understood by you.

• shamu 11 years ago

Rawlings have already got his doctrate degree! who the hell are those people? Let me put it this way, If you recognize Rawlings vision, is like is like recog nition of truth, justice, loyalty and equality. So, how can somebod ...

• OUP 11 years ago

ITS OBVIOUS JJ IS NOW IN BED WITH MAHAMA!!! SO ALL OF A SUDDEN CORRUPTION AND THE GREEDY WHAT NOT HAVE ALL DISAPPEARED IN GHANA?

• PEKI TUMU 11 years ago

Yes what happened then was the sort of lack of standards which were exhibited by the then Administration with its acolytes. They had no shame and were tainting all institutions with their underhand values. Dr Gyimah who was ...

• Arthur Hayes 11 years ago

Who the crown fits, give it to him. Congratulations J.J. Rawlings. Let those who do not like it go to hang themselves. Eye mo ya!

• Kofi - USA 11 years ago

WHY DO THE UNIVERSITIES AND COLLEGES IN GHANA KEEP ON DISHING OUT MEANINGLESS DOCTORATE DEGREES. THESE DEGREES ARE NOT RECOGNIZED ANYWHERE AND DONT SIGNIFY ANYTHING. SO WHAT IS THE POINT SINCE THOSE PEOPLE WHO RECEIVE THESE H ...

• Royal master Rich 11 years ago

He won the best leader of Africa award, he donated the whole amount he received to finance the University of the north. A hundred of his type in Ghana shall make a positive improvement.

• Kofi 11 years ago

The nation has been taking care of him since 1981. What did he need that money for? Most people can do more than that!

• Concern Ghanian 11 years ago

TO ME RAWLLINGS AND KUFOUR ALL THE WAY

• Nana 11 years ago

We Ghanaians like titles too much.The ancient British mentality is destroying the country and till we focus on important issues, Ghana will keep struggling.

• Concern Ghanian 11 years ago

SHAMELESS MAHAMA

• OMANBA 11 years ago

What has Mahama done to be shame about?Whether you like it or not he is your president and only the ballot box can remove him.

• messa 11 years ago

AND WILL NEVER FORGET BROTHER

• ASH 11 years ago

Good never dies. The truth shall always rein, and lies shall not see the light of the day.

• Karim Iddrisu aka Orobo 11 years ago

Hail Rawlings.As like a city on a hill it can not hide. more would as we learn to appreciate what he stands for in the consolidation of democracy in Ghana. Papa Jay all the way.

• Karim Iddrisu aka Orobo 11 years ago

A city on ahill can not hide. papa jay all the way

• Sarah UK 11 years ago

Mr. President May God bless for giving your insight. May God bless and strenghten you, guide you and give wisdom.

• Ghanaman 11 years ago

Confering Phd or Npg or DD will not bring food to the tables of Ghanaians.Stop the political fight over personal credentials and DEVELOP the Nation!

• Dr. Daniel Asigri 11 years ago

Former President John Rawlings has tirelessly worked hard for birth and growth of UDS in the Northen Region hence he deserves this HUGE honour. I am personally overjoyed!!

• NANA AKUFØ ADDØ 11 years ago

SYLVESTER MENSAH AND BEN KUSI MUST BE SACKED. SYLVESTER MENSAH AND BEN KUSI HAVE DESTROYED THE NHIS. MR PRESIDENT, SYLVESTER MENSAH AND BEN KUSI MUST LEAVE THE NHIA.

• Missy 11 years ago

Please leave the old man alone to enjoy his peace and enjoy his retirement .weather we like or not he brought democracy in Ghana .if he talks haaaa if he does.ny another problem .please why can,t we for once live papa alone

• Missy 11 years ago

Please leave the old man alone to enjoy his peace and enjoy his retirement .weather we like or not he brought democracy in Ghana .if he talks haaaa if he does.ny another problem .please why can,t we for once live papa alone

Missy,those are the ones who, know but only what relates about themselves. just because they are not exposed and unaware of the wolrd of enlightenment in whiich we exist.

• kankama 11 years ago

Try to think about the development of tyhe country and stop blame formal President.There are so many problems going on and instead of you trying solve them no but blaming.Useless president

• XIANG FENG 11 years ago

oh i see, so now spending time in the lecture theatre and library reading those fat text books is not quick and rewarding than taking the gun and overthrowing a sitting gowvernment and wating patiently for a PhD degree. wher ...

• Omanbapa Osei Oy3ade3yie 11 years ago

• MAFIA 11 years ago

Mr. former president,it is better to work for something rather than receiving it for free.this show that you are a weaker man or equivalently a coward simply because your level of education is low and you cannot reason as doc ...

• Jesson, Manu. 11 years ago

Would Kronfo Kufour donate money he receives from an award to any institution in Ghana? The answer is a big NO. Instead he would take the little from Ghana's coffers to buy a gold chain for himself or spent our money on per d ...

• Sikamanba 11 years ago

After Kwame Nkrumah the best thing that has happened to our nation is Hi Excellency Jerry John Rawlings!
    The opposition knows it but since they are full of envy and jealousy and have no credibility, they continue to behave l ...

• Kaduna Mafia 11 years ago

GHANA MAKES doctorate cheap

• ADABRAKA 11 years ago

It doesn' t matter if you get a first class or fail. Your contribution to society is what matters.

• Kaduna Mafia 11 years ago

agree?

• Akans Prophecies 11 years ago

ABOMI-NATION!This could only happened in Gold Coast (GHANA), but never, nowhere in Akansland, Omanghana.How could a Bastard,who betrayed the army and his senior officers, a muderer, passionate by blood and death, creator of f ...

• Clarence Hedzolleh 11 years ago

Disgraceful and shameless idiots!!! Give Jerry his due; he deserves the honour. How many of our political leaders have contributed personal funds to the establishment of any of our public universities? Answer me.

• Wiafe 11 years ago

Kuffour

• Akans Prophecies 11 years ago

Simple Mind!The weak! where could your Frigid Soul got the money to contribute fund for a public university, if not by treason!. Ignorance! Go back to history and learn!

• Frank 11 years ago

May you live long to see your grandchildren our hero and leader. God Bless you, J.J Rawlings!

• Rosy 11 years ago

Stage coup de tat and BOOM you are offered cheap doctorate. No wonder most academicians prefer to skip the title doctorate because anybody at all can be awarded doctorate.

• Balawo President 11 years ago

Coming on the heels of Alan Kyerenateng being denied the WTO post because of his useless public utterances one would have thought that this caretaker president would be a bit circumspect in what he says in public. Yes, someti ...

• FADA 11 years ago

we sh'd stop reading politice into everything UDS need to name after Rawlings

• Wiafe 11 years ago

Doctorate degree by the backdoor when you couldn't pass your basic maths and english? What are we telling the younger generations?

Rawlings is a God sent natural leader who needed no certificate.Just like the saviour the lord jesus, whom you people hate. just exactly as you view J.J. with hatred.just because he is a man of truth and geniuness. You love E ...

The situation in nigeria here today is worisome and dangerous, why? because almost all prospects in all aspects of life seems to be upside down.corroption has been in vouge from the common citizen to the highest level in g ...

At home J.J and his good coleages knew what corroption could degenerate to, hence the episode of 1979.You people have chosen to rubish his name.But that can not happen in Ghana.For what has been blessed is blesssed. Nkrumahs ...

• ASEM NNI FIE 11 years ago

WHY ARE GHANAIANS, 'IT SEEMS ALWAYS', ARE AFRAID TO CALL A SPADE A SPADE? JERRY RAWLINGS SHOULD BE CALLED WHO AND WHAT HE IS, NOTHING MORE NOTHING LESS, A SERIAL COUP MAKER. HE HAS NOT CONTRIBUTED IN ANY MEANINGFUL WAY TO THE ...

• Nana 11 years ago

Before blaming Rawlings, please blame Roosevelt, Charles De Gaulles, Mussolini and other army officers that ruled their countries being militaries. You Africans do not know anything, do not understand anything and will remain ...

• Jojo 11 years ago

HOW DID BECOME POSSIBLE FOR KOFI ANNAN TO BE IN THE COUNTRY TO WITNESS AN HONOARY DOCTOR DEGREE CONFERED ON KUFFOUR.

THE PEOPLE OF GHANA WILL LIKE TO KNOW, THE MEN ANd WOMEN WHO WERE BEHIND THIS IRRATIONAL CEREMONY.

W ...

• Kweku Dua 11 years ago

No prophet is acceptable in his own land. Jesus said it right. JJ who founded UDS, gave money, is not honoured and Now, Obasanjo is. That is sad.

• Joe 11 years ago

Mahama should not bring himself into this issue, he should rather think of solving the numerous problems of the nation - no light, water. electricity, gas etc. that is what he should concern himself with not unnecessary comm ...

• Difahya 11 years ago

Good of them

• Kwame Adjei 11 years ago

Yet again. Go ahead and be giving stupid awards to former military men and chiefs. Rule by military men in Africa, including Rawlings in Ghana and Obasanyo in Nigeria among others only wrought untold economic, social and poli ...

• Joe Turkey 11 years ago

This is why coups will never stop in Africa. In a more civilized world, Jerry Rawlings would have been rotting in some unknown and unmarked grave somewhere.

• 15 Bob 11 years ago

We thank we have Rawlings

• Agonaba 11 years ago

Doctor of almost everything,congrats.

• kk 11 years ago

Hallo Mr Rawlings how are you? it has been a long time since we heard of u . How did you find the fight between u and Mr woyome in juaso Sports Arena people were saying the punch woyome give you in the first round has given u ...

• Ganiu 20 11 years ago

the precious son of ghana thx u very much Mr peaceman JJ

• Peace Man 11 years ago

AlLAH bLESS Our Owned Land GHANA And BLESS The People and Animal

• Peace Man 11 years ago

AlLAH bLESS Our Owned Land GHANA And BLESS The People and Animal LETS

• Francis Ksi 11 years ago

Congrats Papa Jerry

• KK 11 years ago

u so called SLIM. YOU ARE A BIG FOOOLL TO INSULT NPP LEADERS. YOUR FOOLISH AND STUPID NDC PRESIDENT AND LEADERS SHALL SOON BE IMPRISONED. FOOOOOOLISH AND STUPID ANIMALS

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Rewarding a nation wrecker!

• AKOTO 11 years ago

OH MY,MY ,MY SO DO GHANAIANS KNOW THEY'RE FOOLS ATALL.

• misty 11 years ago

This Bastard is growing old

• obeng 11 years ago

Confering series of degrees to either rawlings or mahama will not change their mindsets. The only way this would be relevant is when anyone of them persues a formal Phd degree with the pretex that, they would either use it a ...

• Tafiakwa Kwame 11 years ago

Mr Mahama fixed Ghana don't fool Ghanaians.Just trying to divert attention from his current problems he is facing as a president. Fixed Ghana and leave JJ .

• Edem/usa.ghana 11 years ago

Congratulations. The only one with Kwame Nkrumahs vision

• @@@@@@B 11 years ago

that is the type of person he is. I remember this incident very well. nana addo was part of it.

• NII LARTYEY NARTEY 11 years ago

Rawlings will still be a monstrous killer and a master fake revolutionary murderer criminal who came to kill innocent and backtracked Ghana's social economic and developmental progress, took the people and country hostage by ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

Akonfem Party

• sikdo 11 years ago

why jj kils afrifa achampong akuffo and the juges and ndc has failed shame to jj wayomi is thereGod have aercy

• Idi Abass 11 years ago

Stupid Mahama,you are so stupid you don't even realize that JJ knows the trick you are playng. Now you realize you are a commplete failure so you are now trying to woo JJ on your side. SHAME on you, asiedu nketia. tony aidoo ...

• Zip Up 11 years ago

Doctorate Honoured to Persons who have done Great deeds to Society and brought awareness into a society which is so Corrupt, ,can not be Held because some Political Corrupt Elements Happen to crip in their Objection,now I kn ...

• Awuradebasa 11 years ago

Give that BASTARD an examination papers to write before if he could do well before awarding him any degree.
    K4 obtained a Law degree by studying, Mills obtained a degree and Liman was a Doctor all b studying.

• kobby kay 11 years ago

You see, the madness of a group of people who profess to lead this Country, certificateless who speak from their ass. fools

• Rass 11 years ago

Papa J. Only FATHER OF THE LAND.WE ARE PROUD OF JJ.WE LOVE U SO MUCH,.\\\

• Asantehene 11 years ago

THEY FURK MOST BEAUTIFUL ASANTE WOMEN TO GIVE BIRTH TO GIANTS LIKE KUFFOUR,BRAVE LIKE YAA ASANTUA,KUTU ACHEAPONG NAME THEM

• ME NIM NYANSA 11 years ago

Mahama, you babble like you borrowed that your grey hairs

• Saint-on-Earth 11 years ago

Nonsense. This university college, not even accredited to confer first degree titles on students let alone Master and doctorate degrees. This Mahama is not serious, a failure and a curse on Ghanaians under his stolen rule. So ...

• nkomfem and ata mills killer MAHAMA 11 years ago

WE SHOULDN,T LIVE IN THE SAME STATE WITH THESE STUPID AND IDIOTS NORTHERNERS AND EWES. AKANS SHOULD FORM THEIR OWN STATE BECAUSE THESE PEOPLE ARE INCOMPETENT AND THEREBY DISTROYING OUR ECONOMY.

• Addison Nkwakwa 11 years ago

He is doing everything now. In case he looses then all is taken care of

• Still NPP 11 years ago

Dis president is such a kid,why not 2009 earlier when u came to power?oh wait a minute,maybe then professor thought he did not deserve it,grow up Mr temporary President

• Kissident 11 years ago

Can you guys fix the economy and stop this stupid decision?

• Namlan Saminu 11 years ago

Is nt easy 2 aprot trees planted by d gods,Gymah has liv 2 witnes his shame.jerry boom has made it again.

• FF 11 years ago

WHAT DOCTORATE

• Abedi Lartey 11 years ago

This is unfortunate. why should politics change a decision made by a University Council' this said-backs should be stopped for it can't continue any more.

• Kwame asamoah (Italy) 11 years ago

Do u need powerful spiritual help? I know of a very very powerful young lady name Queen who has rescue me from hell, poverty nd shame. Nd has made me very very rich nd powerful. Wats ur problem? Name it nd Queen will solve al ...

• CONCERN CITIZEN 11 years ago

Interesting this award will help Ghanas'
    economy to grow and the unemployed getting jobs

• Akua smith 11 years ago

Rawlings is the source of ur happiness, fellow ghanaians

• The Lords 11 years ago

Indeed you are a great man. God Bless You PAPA J.

• Mawuse 11 years ago

Go Dramani go

• Ayeboafo NkwantaBisa 11 years ago

I don't see why this award has to be given to JJ Rawlings, I have think and think over these issue and come to the conclusion that JJ Rawlings doesn't deserve this award.

Given this award to JJ is like given a white suite ...

• Jt 11 years ago

Jj do not worry the world understand u better than Ghanaians. My only problem with u is that the revolution fall short in completion look at what happened Ghana airways our nation pride is lost due to the very thing u and tru ...

• Abba 11 years ago

The spirit of June 4th 1979 Revolution is totally dead because Mahama led NDC has looted the coffers of the nation.

• Abba 11 years ago

Now the blood of those who were executed are innocent.

• Maama 11 years ago

Why are Ghanaians unthruthful? What had the "honourable doctorate from UBS" to do with Kuffour? JJ, you know that your family friend's brother called Gyimah (the Chairman of UDS) REFUSED to hohour because Mr Gymah believed y ...

• asare 11 years ago

Tribalism,ethnicity,and others would not help Ghana.I am always surprised and feel ashamed of myself.Being Ashanti does not make us super being in this Ghana.We don't own Ghana more others.Are we not the same people who sto ...

• Abunga peter 11 years ago

thumbs up JM jerry's legacy lives

• HOLY SINNER 11 years ago

NPP AND ENVYNESS,IS IN THEIR BLOOD AND THEY WILL DIE WITH IT.JJ YOU DESERVE IT MY MAN.THE CAP FITS YOU.THEY CAN GO TO HELL.

• Tafiakwa Kwame 11 years ago

This Guy Is call Clifford White. Works At TV 3.

• Kingsley Canada 11 years ago

He is not the one who saved Ghana but corruption at its highest levels in Ghana with his founder party NDC so he need bribery and corruptions award in doctorate degree . He rubbed entire country for himself and few ndc member ...

• Mba 11 years ago

you can call us all forms of derogatory names its not adding anything to us and nothing to you either, so what is your problem.Talk about the issue on board only if you have any meaningfull contribution and forget about where ...

• kantamanto 11 years ago

MAHAMA MUST NOT START POLITICS OF DIVISION IN HIS ATTEMPT TO WIN THE SYMPATHY OF JJ. "IF YOU ARE UNABLE TO PERFORM, EVERYONE WILL TURN HIS BACK INCLUDING JJ"

• Tonga Tonga 11 years ago

Rawlings is the only leader who has executed/murdered people. He is as corrupt as one can get; now he is trapped by the even greedier thief mahama and ndc money scavengers who have beaten him to his game of diverting public f ...

• SOUNDBYTE 11 years ago

So you have now notice he deserves it why not earlier but now? becareful

• CAN ANY EWE ANSWER ? 11 years ago

SHAME ON EWES

• Kobby 11 years ago

Some ewes sleep with their daughters just as some akans men sleep with their sisters.

• FATI, BELGIUM 11 years ago

NPP IS SYNANIMOUS WITH MONEY,EVIL AND CORRUPTION, HENCE THIS LINE OF THINKING.

• Amankuss. 11 years ago

oh yes,jj thanks in thousand folds,n its my prayer 4 de university of uds 2 b named afta jj rawlings.

Yes he deserve it. Rawlling set pace for the developement of this our precious nation through his efforts during his tenure as a millitary and civiliang leader.He entrenched sanity and seriousness into the society. Only c ...

• kulley 11 years ago

Bull shit

Tonga, how old are you? Where were you between 1969 and 1979? What is the level of your education? I pity you.Can you actualy give a rational explanation for what took place during those years? if not i will advise you to ...

• Tonga Tonga 11 years ago

I pity you O.K.lagos! Rawlings is "Mr firing squad and murderer". He has gone down in history for his executions and murders.I suggest you study Ghana history.There is NO EXCUSE FOR EXECUTIONS AND MURDERS.

Any reasonable and honest citizen who realy loved the nation knows and believed in what he did, except those hypocrates who are deceieving you here and there.Dont toy with such a man of his calibre and enlighten yourself prof ...

• Mama Africa 11 years ago

The UDS is a vital national and international asset whose establishment received a major boost during the reigns of JJ. I donated the entire award he won amounting to $50,000.00 to help a struggling national asset like UDS. A ...

• JUJUMAN 11 years ago

BOGUOUS NPP,THEY ARE BEHIND THE DENIAL

• Mama Africa 11 years ago

It was Aliu Mahama who stopped it. He is gone and life goes on. they say what 'what goes around, come around'. He should be turning in his grave for this idea. wicked people

• Truth Investigator 11 years ago

Rawlings and mahama are the most corrupt we have ever had. Both are millionaires but, money does not buy happiness nor good health.

• KWESI 11 years ago

WORK IN AUSTRALIA,GET A 3 YEAR WORK PERMIT AND ACCOMMODATION. PLS CALL KWESI ON 0249318847 FOR FURTHER INFO. THANKS

• SAFAIR 11 years ago

He really deserves it because it was through his initiative that the university was established. Shame to the N.p.p.

• K Boye 11 years ago

Why is it that all I hear about this University is honoray PhDs being awarded to so and so. I don't think this is a credible uUniversity.