You are here: HomeNews2013 04 24Article 272070

NLC drags striking doctors to Supreme Court

Read Comments Comments (40)

• Kojo T 11 years ago

Our doctors are getting too swollen headed . Just read the reasons for their action? They were negligent in reading the contract

• yaw, USA 11 years ago

DO YOU KNOW HOW MUCH IT WILL COST US TO ACCOMODATE ONE CUBAN DOCTOR? SO OUR OWN DOCTORS DON'T DESERVE TO BE PAID BUT CUBAN DOCTORS CAN COME IN FOR MORE THAN DOUBLE OF OUR DOCTORS RIGHT? DID YOU REALLY THINK BEFORE POSTING THI ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

"We have always said that we want a resolution. If the other side is ready to engage us at the negotiating table, we will resolve the matter quickly.

IF THE MIN OF HEALTH N MAHAMA ARE READY TO NEGOTIATE. THE THE DOCS WILL ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 11 years ago

what negotiation? you are an emplyyee and what you are doing is illegal
    either you go back to work or resign honoubly-

lazy and dirty killers called in ghana as doctors.

• IVY 11 years ago

THE ARE A DISGRACE TO DR. IN THE WORLD

• Nana Kwame 11 years ago

Ivy you cannot even write one sentense right and you are insulting doctors may God forgive you, parliamentarians some of them like you went to the house and never said a word but paid over 2 billion cedis and doctors who have ...

• Sanctifier 11 years ago

That is the more reason why they should go back to work while the government take steps to ameliorate the situation.There is no spirit of nationhood in our Doctors , they are selfish and good for nothing.What a bunch of usele ...

• plain truth 11 years ago

cuban doctors are mere political doctors. they are practicing illegally in ghana!!!!! any doctor trained abroad shall pass an examination set by the powerful ghana medical and dental council, which has the powers of high cour ...

• Lawyers 11 years ago

MR. PLAIN TRUTH, WHAT ABOUT LAWYERS TRAINED OUTSIDE GHANA?

• IVY 11 years ago

OUR LACAL DOCTORS ARE PROUD FOR NOTHING; THE CAN NOT EVEN OPERATE A SMALL BOIL

• Sule Musa 11 years ago

pay them and stop the threat.Doctors are no push-overs to be intimidated with court threats.better pay them now

• KG 11 years ago

Ghana is finito under your stupid NPP

• LOL 11 years ago

AFTER SPENDING ALL THIS MONEY TO MAKE 1 PERSON PRESIDENT, NOW LOOK NOTHING IS WORKING IN THIS COUNTRY. THERE IS NO MONEY IN OUR ACCOUNT

• PREZZO 11 years ago

I PRAY MAHAMAS PROSTRATE WILL BURST IN THESE STRIKING TIMES AND CARRIED TO KORLE BU, THEN HE WILL KNOW WHERE POWER LIES.

• osei kingsley lagos 11 years ago

Shame onto you as well preso.Any resonable and a fellow of high intelectual wavelengh knows there is nothing shameful about president mahama of ghana. Go tell it to your parents if you realy have, throng.

• ghanaba 11 years ago

country of monkeys and apes. sell the defective condomns to pay the doctors,
    and ask mahama to withdraw some monies from his swiss account to pay doctors.

• Kojo T 11 years ago

Hi monkey from a she ape I got you banana

• Yam Antobam, USA 11 years ago

Let Kuffour and his brother bring theirs first from all the banks around the world

• ASEM BE BE DABI 11 years ago

Ghana is finished under Mahama.The NLC is playing a dengerous game.

• ROGUE LAWYER 11 years ago

those stopid people are restraining students to get medical education just to train few and bluff on the people

remove the esentiallity and make it an open market by training more than necessry into the service.

this i ...

• odame 11 years ago

oh poor Ghana! people work and yet the gov cant pay them hmm. No water , no electricity. we have all the resources, just look at the prices of Gold. all these politicians with so much money where did they get them. This looti ...

• pro obeng .usa 11 years ago

doctors also suported npp because ndc finished ghana

• pro obeng .usa 11 years ago

doctots is lmportant than presedent,misteres

• osei kingsley lagos 11 years ago

Had it not been the cabal in the npp istigating those inocent professionals to do what they realy dont want to do,they wouldnt have place themselves in the situation they have found themselves in.Their profession is a noble ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 11 years ago

GOVT MUST TRY AND BRING IN EVEN A FEW CUBAN DOCTORS TO AVOID SOME FATALITIES .CUBA GOVT WILL HELP EVEN IF TAKEN AS BILATERAL TRADE.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

THEY SHOULD ONLY ATTEND TO CHILDREN AND MATERNITY WOMEN CASES. ITS THEIR RIGHT TO GO ON STRIKE FOR UNPAID WAGES. THIS IS NOT A COMMUNIST NATION.

• RICHARD, ACCRA 11 years ago

Good one there NLC. I pray the Court would speedily do the right thing, without fear or favour, by giving a judgment baked by natural justice, common sense and which is in public interest. These Doctors are behaving like Oliv ...

• RICHARD, ACCRA 11 years ago

NLC, do not let any lawless individual or group of people to render the Labour Law impotent Hence using all means to make the country ungovernable because a citizen of Northern decent has become a president. What is National ...

• H20 11 years ago

WHY IS EVERY THING TO SUPREME COURT THE SYSTEM IS GETTING OFF HAND. HMMMMMMMMM

• von 11 years ago

U can't sue FWSC but u can sue the doctors. Stupid and bias NLC

• dr eva 11 years ago

Is this intentional or does NLC not know why drs upgraded their strike? Why are they still talking about the arrears and forgetting the CONVERSION DIFFERENCE AND REDUCED PENSIONS? The strike was intensified bcos NLC has not s ...

• Skains 11 years ago

A country full of litigants and litigation! As if productivity and the economy is of very little interest. With the useless challenge of the presidential elections going as far as to the supreme court, the floodgates have b ...

• Obed Adore 11 years ago

Well, all strikes are illegal. The constitution (and UN Charter) allows individual and group rights and freedoms to form, belong to, organize, negotiate and demonstrate.
    But unfortunately, there is no law permitting strike ...

• Edem 11 years ago

I remember Prez Obama telling Ghanaians to build strong institutions. But we have allowed political party leaders to decide for every instituttion in Ghana now. Political party leaders now directs institutions what to do inst ...

• Isah 11 years ago

The NLC is the most stupid and zoombie institution I have ever seen in Ghana. They are always biased in their decisions. All their staff are NDC top officials and therefore cannot take any meaninful decision unless they consu ...

• Arthur Hayes 11 years ago

This is too much of them. Enough is enough! If this happened in USA that would have been a nice case for the citizenry becuase it is a nice avenue for indiduals to sue the Doctors for moneys that they will empty their associa ...

• IBF 11 years ago

Drug the government to court instead because the president has a sworn duty to protect the citizens of this country and he is failing the constitutional mandate. the doctors have not sworn any oath to protect any life, is the ...

• Nokware_Asa 11 years ago

And I can assure you the SC will no be of little help. As Wereko Brobbey put it,the horse has been let out of the barn. The nation-wreckers have been allowed too much time to put their plans into action.
    It is about time Joh ...

• Bobo 11 years ago

some of us are now becoming sick and tire of these so called politicians Doctors.When politicians takes leadership positions in these vital professions, this' what happens.They will do everything posible to discredit poliical ...

• Kwame 11 years ago

Labour Act 2003, Part XX, Section 172 Enforcement of orders of the Commission states: Where any person fails or refuses to comply with a direction or an order issued by the Commission under this Act the Commission shall make ...