Mr. Lawyer check your land facts- Lands in Ghana are leased and not owned. Individual lease land and only the clan owns land.
KWASI APONKYE 12 years ago
AND WHERE DID UYOU GET YOUR FACTS FROM.
EVEN CHINES AND UGANDANS OWN LANS IN GHANA.
CLANS....WHEN DID U LAST HEAR THE WORD CLAN,
insight to the bone 12 years ago
pepeni can not be trusted period , in this world today when Muslims and their undercover agents disguised as Christians have the agenda to destroy all virtues and values we uphold we must be vigilant and not be deceived. Boston paid the price already and here in Ghana we see the inflation of northerners across all parties following the instructions of their imams and religious leaders to seize control of the country to undermine and destroy the Akans, for which pepeni found allies with ewes and gas who have the same agenda and motives. look at akuffo addo the bofrot of a fool who took as his vice bawumia who could even bring him a single vote from the north and even whose mother campaigned against him . see general mosquito the court jester of a goat serving this regime that will annihilate his own people one day. these are serious times for those who can look at the ugly truth in the face and tell these devils to get lost. our people get poorer by the day despite the wealth we sit on , no water and electricity , every week one shortage or another of basic goods and services yet their propaganda machinery tell us all is well and normal . every office and institution of govt is in the vice grip of corruption as they make sure only selfish greedy bastards control them, no jobs or development as kotoka and rawlings the ewes saw to that now pepeni will finish the job of putting the final nails in the coffin of the Akans but we have the medicine for him. we shall most surely be free sooner or later from this devil, long live the republic of Akan
kolotsi 12 years ago
foreigners can own land,foreigners can enter the country and do whatever they like,,mineral resources are easy to exploit by foreigners,foreigners can kill without any problem,foreigners farudulently acquire resident permit,foreigers without permanent residence permit own arms, foreigners can threaten citizens at gun point BUT our stomach ministers and leaders will never care.. it's completely nonsense
NYF 12 years ago
Blame your chiefs who sell the lands to foreigners and the immigration and police who collect bribes and refused to enforce the laws.
READ y 2 dye 12 years ago
take all the land back and give them their money. colonial times all over again. please pay attention.
Be Bold 12 years ago
Joe is correct foreigners CANNOT own land outright anymore. The maximum they have is 50years lease. Maybe they use to but no more so stop insulting all the time and get your facts before you open your mouth.
kp 12 years ago
well said,man.
Donald 12 years ago
U are on drugs!
Monica 12 years ago
Let’s get real. Do you want Ghanaians in diaspora to be kicked out from land and properties they legally bought in good faith. Keep you “ mother land” but stop tricking foreigners to invest in your fake land deals. I myself is a victim and have lost $200 +
Mattie 12 years ago
Warning !Do not marry Ghanaians who tries to trick you into investing in any properties.
Ato 12 years ago
First of all I dont believe that there is any piece of land worth the trouble going for $200 in Ghana. As for Ghanaians who buy land in the Diaspora, its got nothing to do with Ghana. Already expatriate Ghanaians have to live with many stupid laws in countries they live in abroad without the state of Ghana retaliating. So whats the big deal?
Monica 12 years ago
Yes I am really a victim and that is a fact !
Kwadwo 12 years ago
Well said!
Well said!
Monica 12 years ago
Well the amount mentioned is with 5 buildings and before attacking me you could figure that one out.
DAN 12 years ago
certain county governments in usa post on the website for tax reason and sales, who the owner of land is..Its more dangerous to your wallet to buy a car in usa that you might not get title and plates for than house..There is also title insurance in usa( for houses)
Barima 12 years ago
don't all your politicians go to the US and buy houses? are the land leased for home building? A boa saga no!!!
Are they US citizens?
don't all your politicians go to the US and buy houses? are the land leased for home building? A boa saga no!!!
Are they US citizens?
Nii Adama. Osu-Re 12 years ago
This issue has been around for some duration now . it's good to start discussing it as this is going to affect the next generation.The problem is despite this view nothing is going to happen and the 'abuse' will continue with sadly collaboration with our own uninformed citizens. It was a very good move that Nii Okwei Kinka Dowuona VI was present to ensure the eventual realisation of the concept. Well done Nii Dowuona VI.
Yaw 12 years ago
To solve this problem, the paramount stool as well as the DCE must sign all land sales in their areas. This will prevent lazy and cruel members of families from selling land cheaply and to multiple buyers and chopping the money.
DAN 12 years ago
who is going to build a 10-20 story build much less a mud brick house if you don't know who the real owner is or if land revert back to first owner...This is what is killing investment in ghana both residents and commercial building..who would build a shopping mall or hotel is they know it may be taken from them
Arnold 12 years ago
You deserve it with your attitude. Do you want Ghanaians who have invested in Sweden, Norway and other countries should be kicked out. Build on your own land but don’t ask for investments and stay away from the West.
Beth 12 years ago
You are right and we pray that God will give you life and your counsel will be implemented.
Kwaku K 12 years ago
Beth, you as uninformed as Nana Oppong. Land is leased and owned.
Hang 12 years ago
The laws are there but they simply do not work because of INDISCIPLINE AND THIRST FOR THIEVERY BY THE POLITICIANS, ESPECIALLY
Kwaku K 12 years ago
Nana Opong should go live in his village. What kind of stupid ideas is this guy bring out? All over the world, anyone interested to by land and property is allowed to do so being either a foreigner or a local person. Development cannot only be achieved by the local Ghanaians. If foreigners were not to own land, we would not have Max Mart, Koala, Movenpick and other foreign owned entities in Ghana. No investor would then come to Ghana to invest. Those who come to Ghana and join local partners are most of the time duped. Nana Oppong, you want all land to be owned by Ghana Government??? Are you going to get a share from them??? You are not serious. Mtcheeeeeew!!!!
Ato 12 years ago
Kwaku K, not only are you hard of understanding but your logic is also a bit cranky. This your all over the world statement is pretty daft. Well, yes, all over the world many countries easily and happily grant visas to people who want to travel to their countries. However there are also some countries we all know, who make it seem like granting visas to would-be travelers to their countries is akin to giving them something they dont deserve.
Kwaku A. Danso 12 years ago
I don't think this Nana Oppong knows his real estate laws well.
If he is a Lawyer, he needs to work wiht others in Ghana to develop Real Estate Laws and not trow ideas around.
Land trasfer and title /ownership laws have bee ... read full comment
If he is a Lawyer, he needs to work wiht others in Ghana to develop Real Estate Laws and not trow ideas around.
Land trasfer and title /ownership laws have been lacking and filled wiht somuch corruption and court cases take 11 years average.
The Lawyers should work on such laws ad registration process.
.. 12 years ago
//
//
Whatever 12 years ago
We need more of the Nana Oppongs to talk. Ghana need to rethink the way it is distributing is resources. We are selling our valuable resources for a pittance
JH-New York City 12 years ago
U waited till they finished selling all of the GH lands to foreigners before coming out to say this.It started way-back in the early 1990s at Budubrum(Liberian Refugees).
May be U were then waiting for your law certificate ... read full comment
U waited till they finished selling all of the GH lands to foreigners before coming out to say this.It started way-back in the early 1990s at Budubrum(Liberian Refugees).
May be U were then waiting for your law certificate so that people would take you serious when U speaks.For,Ghanaians likes non performance certificates.
Chris 12 years ago
Nana Oppong is not a very intelligent guy. Many poor countries has allowed foreign people to come and buy their land. Why? so that the land can be developed and productive instead of laying bare producing little or nothing.
... read full comment
Nana Oppong is not a very intelligent guy. Many poor countries has allowed foreign people to come and buy their land. Why? so that the land can be developed and productive instead of laying bare producing little or nothing.
Foreign investors would rather invest in another place were they can own the land. The only people this rule benefits are the corrupt politicians with lots of money to buy and the loser? the Average Ghanian as usually.
Frank Agyena-Karikari 12 years ago
Can you give examples of such countries. TThose lands are leased to reputable companies but not sold to them. In Ghana, we are SELLING the lands left and right to individuals many of who are 419 scam people. The land around Dodowa and some parts of Accra are owned by foreigners. At a point in time, Liberians were selling lands around Budumbura.
symbiosis 12 years ago
Chris you are not a very intelligent person either. If you were, you would know that leaving land bare and unused is better than outrightly selling it to foreigners.
If you allow that to happen in a poor country like Ghana ... read full comment
Chris you are not a very intelligent person either. If you were, you would know that leaving land bare and unused is better than outrightly selling it to foreigners.
If you allow that to happen in a poor country like Ghana, very soon all or most of the land will belong to rich foreigners and the citizens will have nothing for themselves.
A good example is the Ga people of Accra who dont have anymore land to themselves because they cheaply sold them out to non-Ga people. Now they dont have anything at all to their name and poverty is rife. Other examples are that of South Africa, Zimbabwe, Australia and the USA where the native people dont have any more land to themselves.
messa 12 years ago
LAND IN GHANA IS LEASED NOT OWNED BY ANYONE,ALSO ANY PERSON CAN OWN ANY LAND ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD IF HE CAN AFFORD THAT SO WHAT KIND OF TALK IS THIS
Frank Agyena-Karikari 12 years ago
Can anyone who can afford own land in China?
Donald 12 years ago
If U have the money. Check.
Arnold 12 years ago
You give the best postings ! Run for government and change Ghana.
nii 12 years ago
Thank U
Thank U
Aden 12 years ago
RESIDE ELSEWHERE. STOP BEEN SELFISH FOLKS. WHERE ARE YOUR CHRISTIAN VALUES.
Yaw Amofa 12 years ago
Frigging Chinese and Nigerians are snapping land and property everywhere, whilst foolish Ghanaians look on askance! All land must belong to Ghanaians. There is a Carribean saying : you are not part of the country if you dont own a piecce of the land!
ghanaba 12 years ago
ALTHOUGH HE HAS MISFIRED BUT SEARCH OUT FOR THE FRUSTRATION OF EVEN A LAWYER. THE MASSIVE FRUSTRATION OF YOU AND I. GET THE SOS MESSAGE FROM A LAWYER
agyeman kagya 12 years ago
ghana we have to open our eyes,how come a foreigners can take ower lands
?
?
WAR VETERAN 12 years ago
WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT? FOREIGNERS OWE MOST OF THE BUILDINGS AT EAST LEGON, AND MOST OF THE ESTATE HOUSES AROUND THE MOTORWAY, SO WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT. FOREIGNERS OWE FACTORIES, NOT SHOPS IN GHANA SO DO NOT BE DECEIVED. I REST MY CASE.///
benbelo 12 years ago
i don't know what our so called leaders and chiefs doing in that lovely country of ours. you come to america and canada as see for yourselves. No immigrant can own a land no matter how rich you are. canadians who own land don't sell it, they lease it either for a short term or a long term. they protect it for generations to come. they protect their natural resources for their kids.
what do we do in Ghana? selling our natural resources to foreigners and making them own it. they can not fucken own land in the own country yet they come to ghana and take over.
our leaders really need education.
Owura Kofi 12 years ago
Nana, you being a lawyer, I hope you'd champion this issue to effect a change in our land laws. Africans don't learn any lessons. We've gone through slavery and colonization. What have we learned from those horrible experiences? Can't we learn anything from the Southern African experience? S. Africa, Zimbabwe, Angola and almost all the Southern African countries have land claims issues.
Just last week, a Canadian politician insulted Native Canadians that they should blame their ancestors for selling their lands cheaply to the European settlers.
Those foreigners buying up lands in Ghana would say the same to future generations of Ghanaians. This should be a clarion call to all Ghanaians. If you don't want to become strangers in your own country, get involved and get the good-for- nothing elites to act in the interest of posterity.
Dramani Mahama the ghanaian presiden 12 years ago
GHANAIANS ARE FOOLS TO HAVE NDC TO AS THEIR RULING GOVERNMENT.
Paa George 12 years ago
The point of the matter is, there is too much lawless in Ghana,the so-called leaders need to wake-up and do the right things.
kwame 12 years ago
I guess this means that the sophisticated lawyer does not want to own land in countries he is not from,.... like the U.K. or U. S. Maybe someone should check if he is speaking out of two sides of his mouth. Nyantwomfo!
Nana Adwoa 12 years ago
This process should have been in place a long time ago. Oh Ghana! Why all this waste of time and loss of property.
ybb 12 years ago
i agree with oppong 100 per cent.
Sam 12 years ago
You seem to be living in the past. What about Ghanaians abroad who own land. Am in Uganda and own land as well as other Ghanaians. It is on leasehold and not freehold. People must have the right to own land. I chose to stay here and own land legally.
I love Nigeria 12 years ago
he who live in glass house does not throws stone,so what about Ghanaian who stay abroad. think before u do is better the do and get yourselves in to trouble.
FUEL 12 years ago
typical nigerian.talking from his anus,as usual.I guess you didn't know Ghana is a sovereign nation that can take steps 2 protect its interest?will Ghana be d first country 2 introduce such a law? I support it.Ghana is 4 Ghanaians! long live GHANA!
Amazed 12 years ago
Yes and Europe is for white Europeans ? You would be the first to cry Racism if all black people in the UK couldn’t own land and property. remark
Rahim 12 years ago
Fuel, Ghana maybe the second....Liberia /Sierra Leone one of the two, did have a debate about none Africans owning land in the Country. You had to be black Africans from any part of the world none excluded to own land. and like i said the the last post India has no Foreigners owning land in the Country, lots of Countries have this in place...so maybe you are talking about in Africa? keep the insult out of the debate fuel. You are partially correct when you say Ghana is a independent nation...Technically Ghana is still owned by the Queen of England, i know slow down dont get excited..but it is true....why?...because Ghana is a Commonwealth Country, and the Queen of England is still head of the Commonwealth. Get it? so all commonwealth Countries are still under Colonial rules...This is why i don't celebrate any independent day parties. read ABOUT IT. France have the Franco Fran people meaning that all countries that France held she still do to day. Check west African and North Africa speaking Countries....Portugal as the same is is called the Anglo Fan i think, They are having their games, just like the British did, in what is called the Commonwealth Games. Portugal is having theirs this year in India. that will include all Countries that Portugal, had under the slave trade, Agnola, Brazil, Goa in India where the games will be held, Mozambique all these countries will attend, so what do you mean by Ghana independent Country?..when the queen call your government runs? Read and Understand do you think that they gave us back our lands without strings attached?.....would give up something that you build or owned for year that was making you vast amount of money, without a fight?
Yamo 12 years ago
What if other countries decided to do this? America for example has many thousands of Ghanaians living there. Many, many own land, I know, I am an American and know many Ghanaians there. They way Ghana is going in relation to foreigners, is like telling them to leave. If America did this, then Ghana would be so flooded with their people coming home the country of Ghana could not handle it. I live in Ghana because I love Ghana, but people like you make nothing but hard feeling for everyone.
messa 12 years ago
THERE IS NO BIGGER NONSENSE THEN NOT ALLOWING FORIEGN PEOPLE TO BUY LAND
1ST IN GHANA WE DONT HAVE REAL OWNERSHIP THE LAND IS LEASED FOR 100 YEARS 2ND SUCH STUPID MOVE WILL HAVE BAD REACTION FROM THE WORLD. IF GHANA PEOPLE THINK THEY "OWN THEIR LAND" LET THEM STOP PAYING PROPERTY TAXES THEN THEY WILL SEE HOW FAST THE GOVRENMENT OF GHANA TAKE THEM TO COURT AND OR TAKE THEIR LAND AND THEY WILL SEE WHO IS THE REAL LAND OWNERS
Joe Turkey 12 years ago
They can invest in Ghana and we do - literally - beg foreigners to invest in Ghana. We do restrict the amounts they can repatriate to their home countries. Yet, they can only buy some limited assets in Ghana. Suppose they buy houses in Ghana (and nothing prevents then from doing that) or suppose they build factories, are these factories going to be on leased lands? Would the limitation on land ownership encourage investors to invest in anything other than in buy-and-sell businesses?
Kwadwo 12 years ago
you're obviously not a ghanaian, so your disqualified.
Arnold 12 years ago
Another arrogant Ghanaians opening his mouth.
EFO DODZI KPO. 12 years ago
Massa if we foreigners dont get Farms,how can we do our Akonfirm Farms?
The Lands are allready finished,it's left with the Few that WAYOME want to buy with his gagantuan Money!!!!!
Ede B33 KEKE.YAA dumsoso.YAAA MAHAMA
The Lands are allready finished,it's left with the Few that WAYOME want to buy with his gagantuan Money!!!!!
THOMAS ARKAAH 12 years ago
I totally agree with the suggestion that NO foreigner should be allowed to own land in Ghana. In nigeria no foreigner iscan own land. This has been a federal Law for ages. It is folly to allaw foreigners to own land. This suggestion must receive serious consideration by the Governmenty.
THOMAS ARKAAH 12 years ago
FYES.FOREIGNERS MUST NOT BE ALLOWED TO BE LAND OWNERS IN GHANAINIGERIA NO FOREIGNERS CAN OWN LAND.
Rahim 12 years ago
Hi, i am from Jamaica, i agree with the none foreigners owning land in Ghana and Africa. But this should not include people from Africa and the Caribbean. In India foreigners can,t own farm land and Agriculture land it is totally against the law. What a lot of Indians and other Foreign nationals are doing, is going to Africa to buy up these land mentioned above, in large tracks and keep as Land banking, this way they will then control food and land prices in the country, and make the land so expensive to local Ghanians. This could be said same for the Chinese, who are now Marrying African woman as a way round the problem. The Government needs to take control over this matter before it becomes a major problem. If the farm land are allocated to none Africans there will be problems, Africans needs to stop growing cash crop and continue to grow food to feed Africans first and then others. Can we eat daffodils?, i would prefer to eat Yams, TO MAKE ME STRONG .Instead OF BITCHING ABOUT Ghana and other African countries, do the right things and make Africa and African proud around the world, this way we will get the respect back that we once had. We are great people of the world, start reading about the great Africans in India China Japan before the slave trade ( ALSO THE Great Arkans that built the PYRAMIDS AND RULES Egypt)hen you will truly know African and Africans. IT ALSO DEEPENS WHAT YOU MEAN BY FOREIGNERS. Ghanian born in a FOREIGN country does this exclude him? Ghanian born in the Caribbean through the slave trade what happens to him?. STOP WORRYING ABOUT THE MUSLIMS THEY ARE African too, Arabia is part of African always has been, you guys reading not reading enough about your great History. Hope you all have a nice day.
pepeni can not be trusted period , in this world today when Muslims and their undercover agents disguised as Christians have the agenda to destroy all virtues and values we uphold we must be vigilant and not be deceived. Bost ...
foreigners can own land,foreigners can enter the country and do whatever they like,,mineral resources are easy to exploit by foreigners,foreigners can kill without any problem,foreigners farudulently acquire resident permit,f ...
well said,man.
U are on drugs!
Let’s get real. Do you want Ghanaians in diaspora to be kicked out from land and properties they legally bought in good faith. Keep you “ mother land” but stop tricking foreigners to invest in your fake land deals. I m ...
First of all I dont believe that there is any piece of land worth the trouble going for $200 in Ghana. As for Ghanaians who buy land in the Diaspora, its got nothing to do with Ghana. Already expatriate Ghanaians have to live ...
Well said!
certain county governments in usa post on the website for tax reason and sales, who the owner of land is..Its more dangerous to your wallet to buy a car in usa that you might not get title and plates for than house..There is ...
Are they US citizens?
This issue has been around for some duration now . it's good to start discussing it as this is going to affect the next generation.The problem is despite this view nothing is going to happen and the 'abuse' will continue wi ...
To solve this problem, the paramount stool as well as the DCE must sign all land sales in their areas. This will prevent lazy and cruel members of families from selling land cheaply and to multiple buyers and chopping the mon ...
who is going to build a 10-20 story build much less a mud brick house if you don't know who the real owner is or if land revert back to first owner...This is what is killing investment in ghana both residents and commercial b ...
Nana Opong should go live in his village. What kind of stupid ideas is this guy bring out? All over the world, anyone interested to by land and property is allowed to do so being either a foreigner or a local person. Developm ...
Kwaku K, not only are you hard of understanding but your logic is also a bit cranky. This your all over the world statement is pretty daft. Well, yes, all over the world many countries easily and happily grant visas to people ...
Land trasfer and title /ownership laws have bee ...
//
May be U were then waiting for your law certificate ...
Can you give examples of such countries. TThose lands are leased to reputable companies but not sold to them. In Ghana, we are SELLING the lands left and right to individuals many of who are 419 scam people. The land around D ...
If you allow that to happen in a poor country like Ghana ...
Thank U
Frigging Chinese and Nigerians are snapping land and property everywhere, whilst foolish Ghanaians look on askance! All land must belong to Ghanaians. There is a Carribean saying : you are not part of the country if you dont ...
?
WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT? FOREIGNERS OWE MOST OF THE BUILDINGS AT EAST LEGON, AND MOST OF THE ESTATE HOUSES AROUND THE MOTORWAY, SO WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT. FOREIGNERS OWE FACTORIES, NOT SHOPS IN GHANA SO DO NOT BE DEC ...
i don't know what our so called leaders and chiefs doing in that lovely country of ours. you come to america and canada as see for yourselves. No immigrant can own a land no matter how rich you are. canadians who own land don ...
Nana, you being a lawyer, I hope you'd champion this issue to effect a change in our land laws. Africans don't learn any lessons. We've gone through slavery and colonization. What have we learned from those horrible experienc ...
You seem to be living in the past. What about Ghanaians abroad who own land. Am in Uganda and own land as well as other Ghanaians. It is on leasehold and not freehold. People must have the right to own land. I chose to stay h ...
typical nigerian.talking from his anus,as usual.I guess you didn't know Ghana is a sovereign nation that can take steps 2 protect its interest?will Ghana be d first country 2 introduce such a law? I support it.Ghana is 4 Ghan ...
Fuel, Ghana maybe the second....Liberia /Sierra Leone one of the two, did have a debate about none Africans owning land in the Country. You had to be black Africans from any part of the world none excluded to own land. and li ...
What if other countries decided to do this? America for example has many thousands of Ghanaians living there. Many, many own land, I know, I am an American and know many Ghanaians there. They way Ghana is going in relation ...
1ST IN GHANA WE DONT HAVE REAL OWNERSHIP THE LAND IS LEASED FOR 100 YEARS 2ND SUCH STUPID MOVE WILL HAVE BAD REACTION FROM THE WORLD. IF GHANA PEOPLE ...
They can invest in Ghana and we do - literally - beg foreigners to invest in Ghana. We do restrict the amounts they can repatriate to their home countries. Yet, they can only buy some limited assets in Ghana. Suppose they buy ...
I totally agree with the suggestion that NO foreigner should be allowed to own land in Ghana. In nigeria no foreigner iscan own land. This has been a federal Law for ages. It is folly to allaw foreigners to own land. This sug ...
Hi, i am from Jamaica, i agree with the none foreigners owning land in Ghana and Africa. But this should not include people from Africa and the Caribbean. In India foreigners can,t own farm land and Agriculture land it is tot ...