You are here: HomeNews2013 04 16Article 271213

Park your vehicles after work – Mahama directs ministers

Read Comments Comments (137)

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

they are more than just incompetent but the English have a word for it and that is AMATEURISM plain and simple . give your car to an amateur driver and you will end up in the nearest gutter or wall. their propaganda machinery ...

• ELINAM 11 years ago

Learn from the President of Malawi. She downsized all ministers vehicles from V6s to compact to save her country money.
    MAHAMA LEARN THAT GHANA IS A COUNTRY WITH MANY CHALLENGES !!!!

• just jailourse 11 years ago

The evil ashantiakyim akans loosers will never rule Ghana, they stop tribalism, they hate Fantis and Ewes and Northners Baddly but God will continued to make them loosers and they children will the stupidiest in the world. Re ...

• kwame toboge 11 years ago

By their words you shall know them. Glad you have portrayed yourself to be a low born Ghanaian

• FUI 11 years ago

Current issues in Ghana
    1.Dumsor dumsor
    2. Teachers on strike
    3. Doctors on strike
    4. Incompetent and confused president
    5. Tripled government debt, nothing to show for
    6. Election disputes
    7. Election dispute demonstr ...

• ?J0eY L0,ndoN 11 years ago

Step by step we are moving on!Where are K4's gallons?

• OBAA YAA 11 years ago

It is funny that this empty directive is always issued to all ministers and state officials in cycles with cuteness. The million mark question is . Who is going to enforced this empty directives from the President office….

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

What sort of confusion is this directive? I have never heard of this? Even in the UK, we are allowed to use state cars for both official work and as private. For example, working for a public (state) organisation, you can use ...

• Nunkaawah 11 years ago

This writer is certainly a Ghanaian but wants to show he is a British. Comparing Ghana and Britain on an issue like ministers and other officials of state can be very problematic. The best way out is to give state officials l ...

• blueprint 11 years ago

Reduce the size of government and confess your electoral sins. then i will forgive u

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 11 years ago

John Mahama(first president of Ghana with 24 children from 13 women)and your fellow stealers in govt must first declare your assets as required of you by the constitution.

Why are you stealers refusing to declare your asse ...

• Nana Kwasi,Ireland 11 years ago

Kofi,what is so confusing about this directive?
    Maybe you want us to believe that you live in Cambridge,UK and well versed in private and public sector organizational structures,and not a cleaner or a taxi driver!
    This dire ...

• Kofi Boateng, London 11 years ago

Kofi, you are confused with those using official cars and those owing subsided vehicles. Can you name any minister of state in UK who uses the ministry's car after shopping and picking up children. If you live in Britain, l ...

• FOYOOSIS 11 years ago

Kofi, be honest for once.I hadn't expected you to put on your thinking cap before commenting on this. Why compare Britain to Ghana when it comes to issues like these?

This time around, i can say that yours is completely i ...

• ROMANO 11 years ago

U FOOL SHUT THE FUCK UK IS NOT GHANA OKAY?

• Fatima 11 years ago

Another way of dolling money's to mininster.
    Buy them every minister a private car.Couldn't you have put better systems to curb, abuse of office vehicle.
    This president is clueless

• TerrblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

THERE IS NOT A SINGLE WISE AND HONEST PERSON IN NPP. MOST OF THEM ARE QUACK PROFESSIONALS WHO ARE ONLY ENGLISH PROFICIENT...THAT'S ALL. ALL THEY DO IS MISMANAGE ANYTHING THAT COMES THEIR WAY.

• FUI 11 years ago

GOD BLESS U WITH WISDON

• Suggested 11 years ago

Can you please go & ask your prostitute mother & pimp father about who can rule Ghana honestly, compare to NDC & NPP?

• Osei 11 years ago

Now that fantis have seen that Ewes and Mpepefo killed Mills, they will come back to their root.

• Patriot 11 years ago

Please don't tell me this is another way of giving your ministers and government functionaries monies we all know will never be paid back. just tell us that you want to give them money but there is no way Ghanaians will agree ...

• Suggested 11 years ago

No matter what language you will use on Ashantis, any stupid Ashanti is the wiser than an educated Ewe. Ask Rawlings & Mahama that they have married to Ashanti's women..

• STAY BLESSED 11 years ago

MR. PRESIDENT, YOUR INFORMATION IS NOT COMPLETE. WHICH TIMINGS SIGNIFY AFTER WORK. IN ADDITION, WHO WILL ENFORCE THE DIRECTIVES. INFORMATION COMING FROM AYIRIGA IS ALWAYS A LIE AND NO ONE BELEIVES IN HIM. IT IS BETTER SUCH ...

• POTO 11 years ago

This is an excellent news but do more. The Peoples president, the President of Yugoslavia uses a VW and takes home only $1200 a month. He asked parliament to use the remainder of his salary for the development of the country ...

• Kweku Boateng 11 years ago

Yes it can with you as our next president.

• KOTIBORTOR 11 years ago

Everyone of the 25million Ghanaians deserves a soft loan. Why should some help themselves to soft loans from the peoples monies whilst the people themselves can't even access hard loans? Monkey de work baboon de chop!

• THE LONE PROPHET OF JEHOVAH 11 years ago

Mr president the soft loans should not be for the few ministers alone.It should be for all citizens to enjoy the fruit of their labour.In the western world or europe it is meant for all their citizens.European Ministers have ...

• Foolish directive 11 years ago

Well talk, Mr President,
    You are very good at setting precedence and examples for others to follow.

Your office should actualise this directive by empowering the DVLA to change the number plates of the vehicles to reflec ...

• just jailourse 11 years ago

The evil ashantiakyim akans loosers will never rule Ghana, they should stop tribalism, they hate Fantis and Ewes and Northners Baddly but God will continued to make them loosers and they children will the stupidiest in the wo ...

• Awura Ama 11 years ago

So what do you think there Fantis are? Do you think they are part of ayigbe? Onyame mpe ngu.Fantis are true Akans if you don't know but mo koraa who do you think , your friends are? Nobody like you not even the northerners ,w ...

• Nana Akomea 11 years ago

This pepeni is on to something again

• Evans 11 years ago

THIS DIRECTIVE HAS BEEN THERE SINCE JUNE 4, 1979. ALL YOU NEED IS TO STRICTLY ENFORCE THIS ORDER. REMIND YOUR MINISTERS, ESPECIALLY THE LADIES, TO ABIDE BY IT. WE ARE ALL WATCHING ...

• KOPOKU 11 years ago

i tot u get something sensible to say but this foolishness.
    you are so stupid to be ethnocentric. what is wrong for the govt to issue such instructions? have you seen manager or worker of USAID or BHC driving organisation's ...

• Kwabena 11 years ago

You see, this is the problem with some of you.

Not all Akans subscribe to this level of depravity some of your preach.

Republic of Akans? Hell no. I guess what you must be advocating in your mickey mouse brain is a rep ...

• THE LONE PROPHET OF JEHOVAH 11 years ago

Mr prez enforce it into law with immediate effect

• Appletus 11 years ago

Good move...it will save some money. This President really want to transform Ghana. Lets give him a chance instead of pulling him down as usual. Gone are the days when looting, corruption were orders of the day. How can a for ...

• akua 11 years ago

An soft loans for doctors and teachers???

• Alabama 11 years ago

Doctors have it already. I was going to use a language then I saw it was Akua if that is your name. Just think small

• Nana Kyei Dompim 11 years ago

Please license all government vehicles GV and lets see how this directive works out. It feels so nauseating,ministers blaring their their sirens with dispatch riders in tow.

• Pelicles 11 years ago

These are some of the measures that irks or anger some people. What is the meaning of "soft loans to government officials and for what reason"? I think government officials are not working for free and can save their monthl ...

• Alabama 11 years ago

Pelicles, I agree with you on this one. They are not clueless they know what our priorities are my friend. You mess your point off when you start saying things that are personal. I always say they should go to the banks and g ...

• kkk 11 years ago

The fuckers should go to the banks and queue for loans as everyone does.These special treatment given to Ministers and Parliamentarians are the root causes of corruption and prelude to coups. However, I congratulate the Pres ...

• Appletus 11 years ago

Right on this one. Very objective. Infact I agree with Pellicles. They should be able to do what ordinary Ghanaians do. No preferential treatment

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

I's good but doesn't go far enough.

• WHO WILL OBEY THIS ORDER ? 11 years ago

NDC-THUGS WILL NOT OBEY YOUR ORDERS-MAHAMA

• Alabama 11 years ago

Fooooooool big fool

• wheel 11 years ago

You are short, hairy, bow legged and flat headed (typical asanteni). If you are not, the your biological father is a pepeni.

• ASHANTIS STOP THE HATRED FOR MAHAMA 11 years ago

Why so much hatred by Ashantis toward northerners? Taani is a human being like you are.

• John 11 years ago

I think this is a good thing.

• esam 11 years ago

Oh Ayariga, are you sure your boss said this? What happens to someone who is to be picked up or dropped from the house for an official duty? Even the revolution did not stop this things. THINK WELL MY BROTHERS BECAUSE BY FRID ...

• Alabama 11 years ago

You don't need Gun revolution just wait and see. I don't know what is wrong with you. you can not think for a second and just say this is good let see how it works and support it report and GV you see and they will look into ...

• esam 11 years ago

My brother, who is going to sanction someone over govt vehicle in GH and it will work. Lets think of the water and electricity problems. this people will be given money to buy additional cars in the name of not using govt veh ...

• PREZZO 11 years ago

MAHAMA, WHICH OF THE CARS? THE MILK IS ALREADY SPLIT. TOO LITTLE TOO LATE. WHEN DID YOU NOTICE THE WASTE. START WITH YOUR FUCKING HOUSE AND BROTHERS WHO STILL GET FREE PETROL. THEIR DAYS ARE NUMBERED

• Joe 11 years ago

If it is on someone it is on a tree, but if it is you then it pains. Do a comparative analysis of President Mahama's family and that of Kuffour and tell us which of these consumed more of Ghana's wealth including private land ...

• SIMPLES! 11 years ago

As if we have unlimited parking spaces. if each official using a gov vehicle has to park a private one at the ministries, what space would there be?

let ghanaians learn to become properly accountable by declaring private m ...

• Alabama 11 years ago

Simple first give us the total number of official that will part thier cars and your argument will be useless. Stop using just words back it up with numbers.

• KPEKPELEVI 11 years ago

We need another bout of blood-flowing revolution in Ghana. The leadership across the political spectrum is so rotten, only a great and sudden change will save Ghana!

• Joe 11 years ago

Party affiliations have blinded some Ghanaians to the point that they just refuse to appreciate a good policy even if from the other party. The country would never develop this way. During the last US elections a heavy weight ...

• Nana Donkor 11 years ago

Thank you Joe. We need to follow your thought. Merci

• itsme 11 years ago

where are the like of Kofi Annan to govern Ghana?

• joy 11 years ago

shd they take trotro to work??

• futurer 11 years ago

Don't give them vouchers for fuel for their own cars.

• It pains paaa when you lost big time 11 years ago

The cocain snifer Akufo Addao think he will have the chance to arrest and jail Ewews like the Evil kuffuor did to Tsikata, The evil ashantiakyim akans loosers will never rule Ghana, they stop tribalism, they hate Fantis and E ...

• Ebow 11 years ago

MR PRESIDENT, GREAT JOB WE NO YOUR ARE A PATRIOT AND WILL DO THE BEST YOU CAN FOR THE COUNTRY...
    WOULD RECOMMEND YOU WORK WITH THE POLICE FORCE TO DO THEIR JOB WELL TO GENERATE ENOUGH FUNS TO SUPPORT THE DEPARTMENT FROM T ...

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

This government can only talk and that's all. Too much talk - less or no action.

• porso 11 years ago

this is long overdue.bravo mr president

• Serwaa 11 years ago

The ministers parking their cars won't change the state of the economy neither will it improve. I suggest you attend to matters of national interest.
    Thank you

• ZONGO BOY 11 years ago

TELL YOUR JSS MINISTERS TO PARK THEIR CAR AT HOME, THEY LACK THE COMMON SENSE TO DO UNLESS THEY ARE TOLD BY YOU, WHO ALSO LACKS SENSE IN DEPTH. YOU HAVE GOT IT CHEAP, NO WONDER ASIEDU NKETIA IS OBSESSED WITH NPP FOR NOT HELPI ...

• dadwene 11 years ago

While you are at it why don't you let them pay market rate for their bugalows and let the president of Ghana pay income tax. The government of Ghana acts like money is not a problem when it comes to benefits to politicians.

• Kweku Boateng 11 years ago

This is good for Ghana.
    Am suggesting Government should add all PROJECT VEHICLES.

• Amos Aseidu 11 years ago

Mr president good job for #1 the next thing is the feul allocation should be checked, as they give out some feul to their kids, girl friends and others.the third should be to stop allocating drivers to officials as they misu ...

• Frank Mensah, Tikobo No. 2 11 years ago

I wonder when I will ever hear this dongon talk about real issues of development and policy. Last week he directed that streets be named in 18 months when, in fact, you will literally have to look for the streets in the potho ...

• Akua Dansua 11 years ago

From the face of it this is a laudable idea but a little more circumspection needs to be done whenever a policy or an initiative is being put through. There are a few things that lacks some clarity that needs effective discus ...

• Duke 11 years ago

My appointment letter grants me a free chauffeur driven car. Is this being varied? Our vehicles have also been vandalized because some hooligans targeted my instituion for alleged poor service. I removed the inscription on th ...

• Fad 11 years ago

Park your vehicles after work – Mahama directs ministers

• Ananse 11 years ago

This move is welcome but the vehicles that they are going to purchase on hire purcahse basis should be simple saloon cars like Toyota corolla

• Tufle 11 years ago

No Japanese or German cars! Marutis and Tata Indicas will be fine for these parasites. If they want any others, they should spend their own monies! Idiots.

• BISMARCK ASARE 11 years ago

I love this directive. We need more cost cutting actions in the public sector. The petrol voucher system must be abolished completely. It is all waste of resources. How can't a senior official of government cannot buy gas int ...

• Ghanaian 11 years ago

HOW WILL THEY GET HOME?

DOES IT MEAN THEIR DRIVER WILL TAKE THEM HOME, GO BACK AND PARK AT THE MINISTRIES AND IN THE MORNING, THE DRIVER WILL GO AND COLLECT THE CAR,FROM THE MINNISTRIES, GO AND PICK UP THE MINISTER AND TAK ...

• wheel 11 years ago

Drive your private vehicle to work. Pick the official vehicle if your are going outside your office area.Park the vehicle after work. Take your private vehicle home. The driver comes to work and goes home like any other worke ...

• Kweku O 11 years ago

Good job my brother for explaining this simple thing to this guy. This really tells you how far people living in ghana are behind.

• Ato Mensah 11 years ago

The President is always issuing directives without actually enforcing and implementing them. By the end of his tenure he would have issued a little over one million directives with none being implemented. The public is monito ...

• Appletus 11 years ago

They will work. They will prevent your fathers and uncles from stealing from Government coffers

• kojo brenya 11 years ago

The government does not need to arrange for any hire-purchase scheme for ministers and other appointees. The ministers and the appointees must go to their bankers and contract loans to buy their vehicles.
    How do we monitor t ...

• KWAME 11 years ago

There are too many wrongs in our society and until we begin to correct them we shall get no where. We dont want any musical chair in the country. We dont want change in our attitude but we want different results. Until we beg ...

• Joe Solo - Accra 11 years ago

This man should look for something better to do with his time and stop these silly statements he keeps issuing. The president spoke about this in his state of the nation address. Why go and issue a statement on it 3 months la ...

• Appletus 11 years ago

For it to sink in your coconut head

• Joe Solo - Accra 11 years ago

Where did these clowns go to school?

• Appletus 11 years ago

Your father will not rape Ghana financially

• Nana Mensah 11 years ago

This is utter nonsense.Everybody knows a minister in an African country has more than one car so what difference will it make for them switching from one car to another?
    This is one of the communist ideas this inept so-calle ...

• SYDNEY 11 years ago

U DONT INDULGE IN DUBIOUS GARGANTUAN J-DEBTS THIEVERY AND PRETEND U CARE BY GIVING THIS CHEAP DIRECTIVE WHILST STEALING MONEY FROM POOR GHANAIANS WHO SUFFER DAILY AS KAYAYEIS AND TROKOSIS..IN THE NORTH AND VOLTA....IDE BII K ...

• Hebert, Sweden 11 years ago

Syney, it seems you do not have common sense. Do you ave problem with the directives? It is a a good directive, ans will cut a lot of expenses.

• KOFI LAMPTEY 11 years ago

SYDNEY IS ONLY ASKING FOR DEEP PATRIOTIC ACTIONS BY JOHN MAHAMA, BCOS WE ARE FED WITH UP WITH COSMETIC APPROACHES TO TAKING CARE OF OUR SCARCE FUNDS WHILST IN REALITY THE NDC,JOHN MAHAMA, BETTYMOULD, BARTON ODRU, WOYOME ARE B ...

• PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI- McA 11 years ago

THE PRESIDENT IS VERY FORGETFUL OR HE
    COULD NOT LEARN HIS HISTORY FROM PREZ
    OSAGYEFO or PREZ LEMANN
    BE SPECIFIC ==ONE MAN ==ONE HOUSE
    ONE MAN ONE CAR ALLOWANCE
    THE DIRECTIVE IS IN EXISTENCE FROM
    TIME ...

• Kweku O 11 years ago

Great job President John Dumsor Mahama

• BEFORE-BEFORE 11 years ago

look at John Mahama's mouth...like Pussy...hahahaha...

• NON PARTISAN 11 years ago

A LONG JOURNEY STARTS WITH A FIRST STEP: MORE STEPS LIKE THESE IN ALL SPHERES OF GHANAIAN INSTITUTIONS AND YOU BE REMEMBERED WHEN YOU ARE OUT OF OFFICE FOR BRINGING SANITY. THERE WILL BE OPPOSING VIEWS BY THE CORRUPT BUT NEV ...

• MECHOMAI 11 years ago

this is a good thing.

• Akwasi Pee 11 years ago

And this idiot has been made a Minister.Things have fallen apart indeed in Ghana.

• Daniel Twum-Barimah 11 years ago

EXCELLENT IDEA.......It's seems JM is waking up.....But there is much more to be done to curb the rape of the public funds by Government........Good Luck

• Ghanaian 11 years ago

Good directive but not enough. Please, extend the directive to cover all public institutions including universities, polytechnics, training colleges, hospitals etc. People use official vehicles as if it is their properties. ...

• CHARLES-TANTRA HILLS. 11 years ago

MR.PRESIDENT ! ARE YOU AFRAID TO
    "ORDER" RATHER THAN "DIRECT". YOUR ACTION SEEM TOO PATRONIZING TO BE ENFORCED."ORDER"CARRIES A MORE ENFORCEABLE AND SERIOUS MINDED-PURPOSE THAN "DIRECT"LEARN TO "ORDER" NOT"DIRECT"UNLESS YOU ...

• Ghana ba 11 years ago

ONLY NPP CAME TO CHANGE NUMBER PLATES FROM GV TO NORMAL PRIVATE NUMBER SO THEY CAN SUCK GHANAIANS DRY....GOD PUNISH ALL WICKED POLITICIANS..KUDOS PREZ MAHAMA FOR THIS BOLD STEP.

• MAKOKO 11 years ago

THANK YOU

• DANIEL COFFIE 11 years ago

YOU ARE RIGHT MR PRESIDENT.LET THEM PARK VEHICLES AFTER WORK.

• YOUTH 11 years ago

WELL SAID. THIS WILL ONLY WORK FOR ONE MONTH.THE SERIOUSNESS OF THIS LAW WILL COME FROM MAHAMA HIMSELF.

• Saikimbo 11 years ago

Do you park your state car after work Mr. President? Leadership by example if you park they ll park, if you steal Ghana money they will also steal. Nana Akomfemhene save our ears and tackle more important things Ghana needs.

• Sankede 11 years ago

I am sure it will come as a shock, but this is long over and I hope it will be extended to other perks which these people dont actually deserve. After all they are there to serve us, not to enjoy largesse.

• Government does not give loans 11 years ago

Why should the president initiate loans for cars for government workers? We need to really think twice.

• mable 11 years ago

this is long time gone da ben na ye wo wou .THIS SO CALLED OFFICIALS have been using this cars for funerals,holidays,lending it to their girlfriends,families in the pocket of the government plus free petrol,these money can bu ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

GHANIANS THIS MAN HAS SOMETHING GOOD FOR US, LET GIVE HIM A CHANCE

• BROWN YAW 11 years ago

EXTEND THIS LOFTY IDEAS/DIRECTIVES TO OTHER GOVERNMENT AGENCIES LIKE UCC,UG,UST, MOH,MOFA,MOE

• OBINNA 11 years ago

Yes, Its about time. Some discipline is needed in Ghana and it better start NOW.

• Concen Ghanaian 11 years ago

You're humble, smart, nice looking, and doing marvelously well. Bravo.

• Concen Ghanaian 11 years ago

God bless you young smart president.

• Kojo Asante 11 years ago

Call him pepeni but you will sleep in he asks you to sleep.

Good idea. More coming soon. I can see JJ in Mahama coming out now. Good one JM.

• hoo-hah 11 years ago

Mr President this is an old idea please try something new these is not job traning

• NTAMKESE 11 years ago

PEPENI IS TALKING, HEAR HEEEE!!

• HAWA YAKUBU 11 years ago

more power to you and keep up the good work and don,t care about name calling these kaya kaya born bastards will always complain with their sissy monkey asses.

• Rev. Charles Prempeh McWhales, New Yo 11 years ago

A very good decision by the president of Ghana. Next, they should start paying for their own rents.

• joe boy 11 years ago

thank u mr akonf3m

• kwame no 1 11 years ago

you are not a President fuck off

• Joe Boateng ---Dabaa . 11 years ago

Nobody have a right to insult pepeni President, You can bash on ugly and gay Veep. Thank you.

• Kpakpo Allotey 11 years ago

What about Assets Declaration that NDC promised? I want the Prez to ask all his Ministers to declare their assets and the issue of soft loans must be discarded asap. It is unwise to give soft loans to people making over $4000 ...

• JH-New York City 11 years ago

Good.Mr President, U have taken a correct bold step forward.U should allow 2-3 weeks maximum for the directives to take effect.considering the transportation problems and not well laid out routes to every area of the city.Al ...

• zzz 11 years ago

My President
    I have never written to you before. This directive will backfire and it will be difficult to convince the public that it is working. No minister can go on using govt vehicle for private work after working hours ...

• Egya Blay 11 years ago

I don't support parties rather good policies and proposals. This is a good move but there are so many cars which the ministries don't need. They should start paying their own rent/utility bills as well for these people have e ...

• clarence cudjoe 11 years ago

this is welcoming but can they still buy the cars when leaving opffice, No, i think this practice must be stopped because it is costing the state so much moneybecause one pajaro/landcruiser cost not less than £35,0000.00 an ...

• alfred 11 years ago

More of such actions Mr.president

• DAVID V.K. ARKORFUL 11 years ago

Congrats President Mahama,you are now working.Be an action man and you are going to succeed.You should have stopped the payment of Billions of cedis to MPs. We are watching.

• Nicholas 11 years ago

brave Mr president

• Paul 11 years ago

This man is toying with our beloved country. He is always finding ways of enriching his people. Want to give cars on high purchase to govt officials? Tell us you are giving them the cars as gifts, rather. Who is going to pay?

• JMP 11 years ago

Its clear you do not know what hire purchase means. Educate yourself before u jump into national discourses of this nature. This is the way any caring President can make to ensure people have access to personal vehicles and n ...

• shokolokobankoshey 11 years ago

This issue is not going to work Ghana is so called third world country .