You are here: HomeNews2013 04 13Article 270927

Three killed in police shooting incident

Read Comments Comments (76)

• joe tee 11 years ago

nasty indeed if this story is to go by.

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

Armed or not they are armed robbers. Forget about NPP armed robbers after they have been shot.

• AKK 11 years ago

Do people think the police will randomly just stop three people and shoot them to death? These are most probably notorious criminals and this was probably the only way the poplice could get them. I have seen and know armed ro ...

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

Source: Daily Guide...

All of a sudden nonentities want to portray to the world how close they were to the late President.

Those who had to chat with him for one hour everyday, those Deputy Ministers who had to call h ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago

CAN CRIMINAL NDC & EC SWEAR AND FILE AFFIDAVITS AGAINST THE TRUTH ON THE PINK SHEETS WHICH WERE USED TO DECLARE NDC AS WINNERS? THE LAW CAN BE UGLY SOMETIMES!!
    CAREFULNESS IS SOMETIMES REQUIRED!!!!!
    ASEM BEBA ONE DAY!! GOD ...

• HUSSIEN MOHAMMED 11 years ago

I PRAY THAT YOU ALSO DIE LIKE THAT AND LETS SEE HOW IT FEELS LIKE...BECAUSE I KNOW THEM

• Fire burn 11 years ago

Mhhhhhh Mr AKK next it could be your son....

• Rob 11 years ago

The only way the police could get them? when their hands were up and they had surrendered? Even if these people were wicked armed robbers, it is still murder period! This country will never go forward until we are ready to pa ...

• CITIZEN ONE 11 years ago

Yeah like you people live in a really well organized and civilized society. Even in America the most advanced and civil society on earth, the police sometimes uses extreme force to send a message.

The police need to carry ...

• Yaw-USA 11 years ago

The police cannot open fire on suspected armed robbers without any provocation or threat. What evidence do the police have before taking such a barbaric action against? even if they were armed robbers, as long as they don't p ...

• KK 11 years ago

Yes its only in Ghana where Police have the right to Kill armed robbers even when there are no interrogative or exchange of anything with them.

Wildlife officials set fire to burn peoples house.

Someone who is most resp ...

• okofo 11 years ago

Since when did you know the strongest survives? Guns are not the way to go, but young strong men who are supposed to be "busy with filling tools" are rather resorting to armed robbery and KILLING their unsuspecting victims wi ...

• Fii 11 years ago

Yaw, the police recently murdered three people in a similar fashion in Kumasi. The worst part is that had eye witnesses not come out, the police would've claimed those guys were killed in a gun battle between the polish and t ...

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

Robber

• kolo 11 years ago

how can they kill a suspect?

• Ile 11 years ago

Ain't cu a fool to think like that. who were they, not yet established but Bcos of ur stupidity u think they are app armed robbers. they may be ur cousins or ur family members. you seem to be a lunatic

• Awura Ama 11 years ago

The next armed robbers to be killed you will be one of them.NDC are armed robbers you were given guns when Rawlings was leaving the seat,which government had militia apart from P/NDC,you will all live to see your evil deeds.J ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 11 years ago

NDC Police, are you trained killers ?

What sort of police do we as a nation have under this notorious dirty criminals(ndc) ?

How can unarmed citizens by shot just for fun ?

How long shall we allow this to go on ?

• NANA 11 years ago

NPP AT IT AGAIN. ALWAYS AT THE PART OF THE CRIMINALS. STUPID COMMENTATOR CALLING THE POLICE THE NDC POLICE. GHANA POLICE! WELDONE FOR ELIMINATING THESE NEFARIOUS CRIMINALS BEFORE THEY STRIKE ON INNOCENT CITIZENS

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 11 years ago

Remove your head from your ass and see the world the way normal humans see it, you unicycle-pedalling blubberhead in floppy clown shoes !

Where in the world have you ever heard policemen shooting unarmed citizens to death ...

• Bush 11 years ago

Be guided by your conscience that God will judge each an every one according to his or her conscience.

• NANA 11 years ago

LET THEM SHOOT AND KILL ON THE SPOT. WE ARE TIRED OF THESE ARMED ROBBERS.DON'T COMPLAIN AT ALL IF YOU WANNA GET RID OF THIS ARMED ROBBERY MENACE. GHANA MUST BE FREED FROM THIS INFESTED NPP DISEASE

• Klutse 11 years ago

How do you know they are armed robbers? Nana,this is Ghana where even you can be accused of armed robbery if you are dating somebody's former girlfriend. Killing people who are unarmed and have surrounded is inhumane.

• ORIGINAL MUGU YARO 11 years ago

WALAHI, WILL U SHUT UP AND THINK ABOUT YOURSELF, MORE OF THOSE BAST, KEEP IT UP POLICE.

• Fii 11 years ago

only a fool will think about himself without considering those around him. I agree with Klutse...this can happen to you!!

• Papa Owusu 11 years ago

Does an armed robber you mercy? Clean the society of verminous bandits and let us have a peaceful country.

• GG/USA 11 years ago

How do you know these people are even armed robbers? Don't support this police brutality because it can happen to you. Even if they are armed robbers, they have surrounded and there was no reason to execute them. Those Police ...

• original mugu yaro. 11 years ago

WALLAHI, U ARE DAM LUCKY U COULDN'T MAKE THE TRIP WITH THEM, GOD BLESS U!!

• Simon 11 years ago

ITS NOT RIGHT TO KILL INNOCENTS WHOM THE POLICE WILL JUST THINK THEY ARE ARM ROBBER'S , AT LEAST SINCE THEY ARE SURROUNDED THE POLICE SHOULD ARREST THEM FOR MORE INVESTIGATION.. THIS IS UNFAIR . DAMMN GHANA .

• KK 11 years ago

Weather they are armed robbers or not the scene at which the Police short them to death is not the right way.

• don capo 11 years ago

this is miscarriage of justice ghana police. it is wrong to even kill ur war opponent if he surrenders . This is a very sad story. Everyone must condemn this act.

• Nii Lante Okunka 11 years ago

Let's refrain from drawing premature conclusions from so called eyewitnesses.The jobs of our police force are dangerous and usually calls for on-the-spur-of -the-moment decision making.Turning every incidence into a political ...

• Klutse 11 years ago

Really? You believe the police to conduct truthful investigation on themselves in Ghana? I hope one of your close family members meet the same fate and you will say the same stupid comment you just made.

• Daniel OfosuAppiah 11 years ago

What proves that these man shot are armed robbers ?
    There is the need for Rawlings to come back with his Abongo boys to rid this country of organised crime .
    Hold the shooters accountable and put them before court and let t ...

• okofo 11 years ago

You've defeated your own argument: Should we call in a known armed robber, Rawlings, to punish armed robbers, is what you're saying?

• John Kwansah 11 years ago

I was just on Youtube this morning watching police brutality videos and Lo and behold I logged on to ghanaweb to read this sad news? how can anyone in their right senses justify what the police did? The police knew that, if t ...

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 11 years ago

I tell you what, I entertain no doubt whatsoever that there is more to this story than has been reported. I very much doubt that Police Officers would just shot suspects they have not interrogated. I sincerely believe that th ...

• Yag 11 years ago

RE:Kwansa. But arm robbers always kill unarm innocent victims for their properties.all die be fie for them.they should have been working at guinea fowl farm peacefully but quick money.

• AJ 11 years ago

Y THE HELL DO YA...ALWAYS WANNA BE POLITICAL IN ANY ISSUE...GROW UP PPL...

• Isaac Clifford. 11 years ago

You are saying "they were not armed.' Did you take the pains to check inside their car>. Maybe they could have been playing tricks on the police.

• GPANDO 11 years ago

DO WE SHOOT SUSPECTS? THATS SERIOUS. THEN WE ARE ALL SUSPECTS

• DKN 11 years ago

Sanity must come to the Ghana Police now. The Ghana Police must admit only candidates with at least a post secondary diploma. Surrenders bandits, under any circumstance are never shot; please!

• BOX 2 11 years ago

IT SERVES THEM RIGHT.NO SYMPATHY FOR CRIPPLE IN SOBIBOR.YOUR BIAS REPORTAGE WILL BE ON YOUR HEAD THE DAY YOU WILL BE A VICTIM OF ARMED ROBBERS.STUPID NPP FOOL.CERTIFICATELESS JOURNALISM.OKWADUO.

• adam 11 years ago

oh my god,thus the law ofthis land grant a policeman any power to kill a suspected armrobber.when u dont hold the person on the robbery point.i know police in ghana are all armrobbers,and how can u kill a suspect.the one ghan ...

• Kyekyeku 11 years ago

Are we not the same people who were bashing the police of taking bribe and releasing them. Everybody should keep quite and leave the police alone

• Mekmeka Daa, USA 11 years ago

It is very obvious every body in Ghana is stress out including the Police officers. So any little situation goes out of ordinary manner of handling it
    I am hereby strongly recommend that all Police officers must have annual ...

• AGOGLO 11 years ago

I was on top off my building when the inciddent happens and it was pathetic and horrible.The police action was unprofessional and i wonder the kind of country we are living in.

GOD WILL PUNISH YOU POLICE MEN ...I KNOW THEM VERY WELL AND THEY HAVE NEVER STOLEN A PIN BEFORE ....I WAS A WITNESS THERE TOO

THE POLICE MEN MUST NOT BE UNPUNISHED

• KOFI 11 years ago

I don´t care where and in what manner an Armed robber was killed.They should have burnt them to ashes.No sympathy for an armed robber.Well done the police.

• baba 11 years ago

this is a very bad thing to shoot an unarmed suspected robbers. ghana police this is not acceptable.

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

An armed robber is a robber that is armed which could be a gun or a knife. I say the police should be tried for murder unless they had prior court order shoot to kill orders. Orderless Nation. Everything by heart. You can't m ...

• wa RAZAK 11 years ago

If they are actually armed robbers then t he police has done a good job but if is the opposite then God i pray to will punish any police that was part of the killing amen

• alex 11 years ago

well done they deserved that

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

I wouldn't be surprised if i should see one of the police using the Infinity car. For all you know, those police are rather stealing the car and going to sell it later. Very serious

• HAFIS ATTA IBRAIMA 11 years ago

HOW CAN POLICE OPEN FIRE ON PEOPLE SUSPECTED TO BE ARMED ROBBERS. IF NOT ARMED WHY WERE THEY NOT ARRESTED. EI GHANA ? LAA I ALA ALLAH

• Kaka 11 years ago

I hope this was a judgement error on the part of the police, that they are not armed robbers.
    If not, then those people does not deserve a single sympathy from me.
    If they are indeed armed robbers, then their so called righ ...

• don capo 11 years ago

i agree with u and many ghanaians i know think so . no one has sympathy for the death of an armed robber. in this particular case we have been told these guys were unarmed.

• babs 11 years ago

this is a bias report.those killed were armed robbers terrorising people.they just returned from one robbery incident and upon tips the police set them up with information of another deal.they went there to honour the deal fo ...

• Fii 11 years ago

This is pure nonsense. Is that how you were trained to enforce the law?? Apparently, the police are the real armed robbers. Your account might help explain how my cousin was recently murdered by the police in Kumasi. He got a ...

• Rev. Charles Prempeh McWhales, New Yo 11 years ago

The decision of the police to kill the suspected arm-robbers was a criminal act and a serious miscarriage of justice.

• Ayew 11 years ago

The Police men should be Killed also... Kill for Kill

• OKPAKA 11 years ago

MAY GOD BLESS YOU.

• Etwe Yede 11 years ago

Stupid eye witness,can u prove that they were not armed.Do u know it could happen that they were chased from somewhere?do u even know what happened b4 they got to where u saw them? maybe the robbers are ur relatives.Lunatic e ...

• HMMM 11 years ago

STUPID ASS ILLITERATE LET THE POLICE MEN PROVE THAT THEY ARE ARMED ROBBERS.. HOW COULD POLICE MEN STOP THEM AND START SHOOTING THEM GHANAIAN POLICE DONT KNOW THEIR JOB..... U R THE LUNATIC BECAUSE U WEREN'T THERE... SHE WAS T ...

• Yag 11 years ago

I was once a victim of arm robbers at ashalle botwe.took away all my years toil in just few minutes so they can die anyhow

• Naziru 11 years ago

God will surely Punish these police men for killing innocent guys , I swear .. You will face judgement above you , Kwasia foi

• Future Judge 11 years ago

REBELS BEHAVE THE WAY THESE POLICE PERSONNEL DID. IT IS PRIMITIVE, UNPROFESSIONAL AND CRIMINAL TO KILL ANYBODY IN SUCH MANNER NO MATTER WHAT. THEY WERE ARMLESS, SO THUS EYEWITNESS ACCOUNT. SO WHAT WAS THE MOTIVE FOR THE SHOOT ...

• King 11 years ago

Infact paaaa Ghana Police SMH, U just open fire on 3 people who are unarmed, what kind of qualification do they require to employ you as securities over the nation...? This matter must be loooked into... Do you really work wi ...

• Uri 11 years ago

Listen to yourself "“I was in my room. Shooting was going on. The manner in which the police killed the so-called armed robbers, for me I think it is unfair. Because armed robbers who were not armed; who were not exchanging ...

• YOUR MOTHER 11 years ago

FUCK YOU GHANA POLICE

• Uri 11 years ago

Yes all those insulting the police are themselves robbers or relatives of robbers. You will be the same to condemn the police if the robbers had attacked your areas.Hypocrites!

• Uknowing 11 years ago

Why Ghana Police Are So Hardless, Fuck u Ghana Police

• Re 11 years ago

Why Ghana police ?