You are here: HomeNews2013 04 13Article 270913

Doctors’ strike illegal and indefensible – Minister designate

Read Comments Comments (54)

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

Idiot Agalgaq or whatever you call yourswelf, soldiers don't march on empty stomachs. Fools like you have taken your $150,000 ex-gratia in bulk, fools.

• DrG 11 years ago

WELL SAID. THIS ALGAGA FOOL IS ALSO CONDEMNING THE DOCTORS. HOW DO YOU WANT THEM LIVE WITHOUT PAYING THEM THEIR DUE?

• Onipa, USA 11 years ago

The government should try to pay the agreed arrears and then FIRE them. Anyone interested in working for the government should reapply for the job and made to sign a new contract which will make a strike action illegal and do ...

• Dr. Bob Johnson 11 years ago

The looting of the state coffers by MPs paying themselves gargantuam amounts as pseudo loans and Ex Gratia is immoral and illegal.

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 11 years ago

Agalga, looting the nation's treasury is illegal too and indefensible.

How can a govt dole out over $22 million for the planting of trees and the rearing of guinea fowls to Rlg(with nothing to show for that investment), bu ...

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

Source: Daily Guide...

All of a sudden nonentities want to portray to the world how close they were to the late President.

Those who had to chat with him for one hour everyday, those Deputy Ministers who had to call h ...

• Things Fall Apart 11 years ago

The NDC Government always not neutral arbiter of truth. It never has been & will be doubt everything.

• Kofi - USA 11 years ago

HEY OPNIPA IT DOES NOT WORK THAT WAY. THE COUNTRY DOES NOT HAVE ENOUGH DOCTORS AS IT IS RIGHT NOW SO HOW CAN YOU AFFORD TO FIRE THEM. HERE IN THE US AS A PHYSICIAN I GET PAID WHAT I CONTRACTED FOR AND NOT WAIT FOR MONTHS BEFO ...

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

I don't know where that idiot lives in USA. Fire them and go to the market and hire the Kayayeis and the Kayakayas to go to the operating room and start operating on patients. The Visa Lottery has made coming to USA real easy ...

• Senior Doctor 11 years ago

I am sure this would not have been an issue had the government not voted to pay themselves huge sums of money. Now what is good for an MP is good for a Doctor, a Teacher, a Nurse and the Pharmacist. Next time thing before you ...

• Onipa, USA 11 years ago

A significant number of Ghanaian public servants are spoiled, lazy and outright incompetent. All they care for is opportunity to cheat the government and “allowances”. They work about 2-4 hours of the day. The doctors ref ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

HIS SURNAME IS IOWA[IDIOT OUT WANDERING AROUND.I HOPE HE DOES NOT CHANGE THE
    $150,000 EX-GRATIA INTO QUARTERS TO SCREW MY GIRL AMA INTO DOGGY,DOGGY STYLE.

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

PrinceWilly, I almost died with the $200 coins screwing your girfriend. s150,000? It will take her a week to pick 150,000 dollars in coins, hehehehehehehehe. Can you call Alba Bagbin if he can loan me his ex-gratia since he i ...

• Friend of Mahama 11 years ago

Did you know that too? Hmmmmm! Asem beba Dabi

1]What did the NDC Guinea fowl egg say to the boiling water?
    "It might take awhile for me to get hard because I just got laid last night by SADA!"
    [2Cardinal"What's NDC rodeo sex?
    Bagbin"It's when I fuck her doggie style ...

• Nantwi,BSEd,MSEd(ece),MSEd(sas) 11 years ago

Oh! Team C ministers. Is this what Mahama pays this ministers gargantuan money to do? What are the ministers qualification and credentials?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

I really do not know why some of these ministers do not show maturity. They need to learn communication skills. The minister is saying the Doctors have a case. if it is so, then this is not how to talk to them. Soldier and po ...

• CON 11 years ago

AHH NDC THERE IS NOBODY IN THE PARTY WILL TALK WISELY?GOD BLESS GHANA FOR QUIT US FROM THIS GOVT,INSTEAD TALKING SENSE TO THE DOCTORS LOOK WHAT THEY ARE DOING. IF THEY SICK THEY TRAVEL TO ABROAD WITH GHANAIANS MONEY.

• Frimpong Boateng 11 years ago

Now they have no option than to go back to work. Where would they use their certificates to work if not Ghana? In the USA they have to go through at least 4yrs of residency to be able t o work . Which african country better t ...

• Stoway 11 years ago

Most of them in the US are taxi drivers. They dont even get accepted in the residency. Some even fail after the four or more yrs residency and they sit in Ghana bragging and want to be worshiped.
    If they want to get ex-graci ...

• Concerned 11 years ago

Stowaway,
    I want you to know actually that most Ghanaian doctors who choose to do residency in the US are very successful because they were very well trained in Ghana by your money.
    I know because I am one of them.
    What ...

• peace must prevail 11 years ago

better keep quite for you don't know what you are talking about

• Kofi 11 years ago

Idiot, residency training for doctors in the US is a requirement for all including those trained in the US. Don't expose your ignorance to the world.

YOU HAVE NO IDEA ABOUT WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT SO YOU BETTER SHUT UP. I WENT TO MEDICATL SCHOOL IN THE US AND I HAD TO DO A FOUR YEAR RESIDENCY. IN THE WHOLE WORLD THE ONLY COUNTRY WHOSE DOCTORS WHEN THEY COME TO THE USA D ...

• ZONGO BOY 11 years ago

STOP PROPAGANDA AND PAY THEIR DUE. YOU DON'T HAVE MONEY AND YOU ARE STILL BRAGGING. USELESS ADMINISTRATION IS THE ONE THAT CANT PAY PEOPLE THEY EMPLOY. SHOULD FEEL ASHAME AS A BANCRUPPT MINISTRY.

• ANY IDIOT A MINISTER IN GH 11 years ago

4-YEARS AT LEGON-THAT HIGH SCHOOL,NO WORK EXPERIENCE BOOM YOUR A MINISTER IN THIS NTAAFUO- GOVERNMENT

• Boagyaa Appiah-Kubi,Connecticut. 11 years ago

All you hear them saying is "i attended OWASS,PREMPEH,ACHIMOTA,ADISCO,MFANTSIPIM"and never KNUST,LEGON or CAPE VARS or any of the best Universities around the World.

• Stoway 11 years ago

You don't necessorily need wisdom to be a doctor; all you need is the academic knowledge and training. Most of the doctors are not wise that is why they are kicking against arrears payment in three installments at the expense ...

• George Best. 11 years ago

IT`S SURPRISING A MAN IN WHOM CONFIDENCE IS REPOSED TO HOLD A RESPONSIBLE POSITON IN GOVERNMENT IS BEHAVING IN NOT ONLY AN UNWARANTED MANNER BUT CHILDISLY.
    AGALGA`S DISPOSITION HERE LEAVES A LOT TO BE DESIRED AND SO HE DOES ...

• peace must prevail 11 years ago

well said, one sensible and inteligent citizen

• CITIZEN MA 11 years ago

DESPERATE MINISTER, FAILING IN HIS DUTIES AND CALLING FOR DESPERATE MEASURES.

An American, an Englishman and a Japanese fellow were discussing their respective countries over drink at a London pub one evening. The English fellow mentioned how that British medicine had progressed so far that doctors rec ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

And you know what the Ghanaian said? We can take many millions of Dollars but come out with 600 Nkonfem, 20 eggs and even plant trees that do not exist.

• Kwadwo Piesie 11 years ago

Civility is the name of the game. Say your mind but do not be insulting. I agree that the minister-designate did not have to go to the extent he went to. By the way, where is Austin Gamey, the omniscient Labour Consultant and ...

• DOBOLI 11 years ago

This man dont know anything about what is happening with the doctors. He has never had a office dualing with doctors, how can he say the strke is illegal.
    As a minister he should shutup and take his office before he make stu ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

Another idiot for a political office. The problem is that you have not paid them their allowances for last year. Just go ahead and pay them. Hippocratic oath never said sit down for idiots to cheat you!

OH REALLY? "THE DOCTORS OCCUPY A CATEGORY OF ESSENTIAL SERVICE PROVIDERS" THAT BEING SAID BY THIS DEPUTY MINISTER THEN WHY DONT YOU PAY THEM. MR. AGALGA DONT YOU GET PAID AT THE END OF EVERY SINGLE MONTH? WHY DONT YOU DO THE ...

• Concern Ghanian 11 years ago

To spend 15m for 600 giunea fowl lagal?

• Concern Ghanian 11 years ago

Talk something about 30m for 300 trees

• Daniel OfosuAppiah 11 years ago

Recall the Doctors with ultimatum.Those who do not turn up sack and withdraw their credentials .
    Secondly reduce the money alloted the MPs to make it sensible .

• fredsaid 11 years ago

Stupid minister u want to talk about breaking the law. The president and mps according to the constitution and the law should have registered their assets with parliament in 2008 but have not done so and are still running th ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 11 years ago

Another idiot and belly-politician!Has he brains at all?Cheating the working force is a big crime!Hopefully, you will be kicked out soon!

• DR WISEMAN 11 years ago

Agalga, you are one of the stupid NDC ministers of the century. You are like the bastard Samuel Ofosu Kwakye. You people behave as if you are talking from your anus.
    If you think our work is essential, why don't you treat us ...

• liz toronto canada 11 years ago

we need all the doctors in canada and the mps can go to the hospitals and work.

• Nii Kootse. 11 years ago

Kwabena Agyapong said the posturing by government officials have not helped matters at all. . . with latest honourable official talking less sensible than the latter.

• Town crier 11 years ago

Which law in Ghana says Gov't shouldn't pay Doctors what is due them, on the other hand it is illegal if they embark on strike.So you politicians took an oath to cheat and steal Ghanians.Be wise!

• K.K, in the US. 11 years ago

Its sad to hear ghanaian doctors are on strike because they have not been paid for sometime. The president and his cabinet members should be ashame of themselves. They can send their family members and love ones abroad for tr ...

• Eva 11 years ago

When will this nonsense about strike being illegal stop? What about gov't's inactions, are they not equally illegal?
    How come drs must only go strike before their complaints are resolved. You can check, all the issues that t ...

• Objectiveman 11 years ago

Just like when politician steal. people die too

• GHANALUTA CONTINUA 11 years ago

HISTORY LESSON
    YHIS ONLY HAPPENED JUST BEFORE THE COUP WHICH OVERTHREW GENERAL IGNATIOUS KUTU ACHEAMPONG LED BY THE NDC 1979

• Health-conscious 11 years ago

Greedy B... Presisdent, government, ministers& MP's have not shown leadership. Why not schedule their own huge pay-outs in these times of money crunch. That being said, doctors should have shown that they are better humans. H ...

• victor owusu 11 years ago

Hey Kwabena Agyapong, u dey! Still the waa, waa dey come? Or you dey eat bones now? God save Ghana.

• Clarence Cudjoe 11 years ago

if all GHANAIAN workers are treated fairly just like the politicians/members of parliament are treated with fair packages/exgratia awards then i think that the people of Ghana will give up their best will give their best and ...

• YAM 11 years ago

people like you lack logical reasoning. tell your gov nadmo, nyep,sport agric, castle sada akomfem over expenditure are illigal and indefensible. useless man