Comment: A country where Guinea fowls are valued more than doctors

Read Comments Comments (70)

• Abu Issaka 12 years ago

you are all at it again. Where did this Mahama bullshit came from?

• Nana Antwi-Berko 12 years ago

Going on strike is not only unprofessional, it is unethical !! I'll surely prefer guinea fowl to those bloody fowls called Ghanaian Doctors. If you see them as your Gods, count me out! You beg them to do a job they are paid f ...

• Logosian 12 years ago

This is our lot in this country where people who cannot analyse, rationalise or think straight in their heads gain admission to the GIJ and when they come out, their articles do nothing to help in the course of development.

• TerrblY Spe cifiC 12 years ago

FOR THE FIRST TIME NPP HELP THE SWORD OF POWER TO RULE GHANA, THEY RUINED HER MISERABLY. GHANA IS NOW ECONOMICALLY COLLAPSED. NOTHING CAN BE DONE TO REPAIR OR REVIVE IT. AFTER SEEING WHERE OUR RWEVENUE EMERGE FROM, NPP ARE FI ...

• Ntifol Kpaana 12 years ago

Yes Guinea fowls in Ghana are far far better than Ghanaian doctors. Why? no guinea fowl will wish or intentionally kill a fellow guinea fowl. What do we see in Ghana murderers calling themselves doctors. How many Ghanaians kn ...

• Senior Doctor 12 years ago

Sadly some Ghanaians still do not understand why we are a third world country and as long as people prefer guinea fowls than doctors we are going to remain a third world country. For us to move on, people like Nana Antwi-Berk ...

• Appletus 12 years ago

Doctors hold themselves to a certain degree that they use that as a ransom for their parochial interest. Take stock of your strike action.....How many times in the last decade? Must you always have to hold the sick ransom to ...

• Senior Wisdom 12 years ago

What about MP's, are they better than doctors as being asserted. See the cars they drive, the number of allowances paid, now huge ex-gratia. See some of the house these MP's have built, some were poor before parliament and th ...

• Appletus 12 years ago

I agree with your assertions but Doctors have to slow down with their demands. I hate these our illiterate MPS who have made politics look like a lucrative business where as infact they shd be serving us.
    Our laws must chang ...

• ZYX 12 years ago

people dont get it, what is a strike?
    now if ghanaians want to see what will become of ghana after this pndc/ndc mahama regime, just look at "zongo" and the volta region then conclude if there is anything go in these two loc ...

• Senior Wisdom 12 years ago

I think serious issues need serious minds. Let us take tribalistic sentiments from this. We are all Ghanaians and we should treat each other as equals. Doctors deserve what MP's think is good for them and we need to keep the ...

• ZYX 12 years ago

there is nothing good from these two locations. also we the northerners cherish our "nkomfem" moe than anything, the reason why the komkomba war was staged.

• Kojo T 12 years ago

Volta and the North are better than your village

• akwasi 12 years ago

I DONT THINK WHAT URE WRITING IS OF ANY SENSE. HOW DO U EXPECT THE DOCTORS TO DO? WHEN THE GOVT SAYS NO MONEY BUT WAS ABLE TO DOLE OUT MILLIONS OF CEDIS TO MINISTERS,WYOME, ETC.WHEN NPP LEFT, GHANA WAS RICH, BUT NDC FOR THE P ...

• MENSAH 12 years ago

If MAHAMA & CO,could satisfy the DOCTORS of their grievances,they would be still working 24 hours a day.We all need them,just as they also need us.

• Kojo T 12 years ago

This article reflects the warped mind of the NPP. Trees stop deforestation and can be used for many things and the project will create employment . The same with the guines fowl. We reject NPP because they cannot think wholis ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 12 years ago

You are so consumed with such stupidity that you have no time to think. Mr. Idiot, you don't have to beg anybody to do the job they are paid for, you just have to pay them to do the job. How about that? I guess your brain is ...

• Kwame 12 years ago

Comparing oranges to apples can only be done by a weak, warped and senseless mind.
    The Guinea fowl project is aimed at reducing the amount of foreign exchange we spend on importing Turkey tails, chicken and other meat produc ...

• Nima Old Soldier 12 years ago

Can't have my eyes closed to have a good sleep since. Staying all nights thinking that a government in Osagyefo's Ghana of all places after 56 years of independence will put national priority on guinea fowls over the welfare ...

• Akwasipapa 12 years ago

Please Doctors you have made your point return to the OPDs in the name of the one who died and rose JESUS CHRIST

• Kwesi Agbenu 12 years ago

Mahama is at sea sailing to wonderland

• Nicholas J Bedzo 12 years ago

ln deed Mahama has no brains,now at seas wondering,do you know what is priority? Sit down and say no money,
    and you will be taken by events,there
    you will find money to pay them.A fool
    is a fool.

• And Jesus Wept. 12 years ago

A useless government rules Ghana.

• Ike Kumasi 12 years ago

kwasiato, do they pay the doctors by selling guines fowl, All these stupid things were caused by who????? your wife should advise u before u take pen and paper to write, foool

• Frank 12 years ago

IS POULTRY FARMING NO AN INVESTMENT AVENUE? FOOL.

• papa cee 12 years ago

is poultry farming a top priority for the country in this critical moment. whatever bad and nonsensical policy you support you will definitely reap the outcome of it

• DOBOLI 12 years ago

If only the guinea fowls were the guinea fowls we eat. The guinea fowl farmers do exits, its money passing, to come back later for.
    Corruption is our problem. People of the three regions, its not the first time people and go ...

• Yaw 12 years ago

What a country?

• BROWN YAW 12 years ago

check and find out how much is DOCTORS' SALARY(40 MILLION TO 50 MILLION) MONTHLY. FIND OUT THE TOTAL CUMMULATIVE PAYMENTS TO DOCTORS IN A YEAR AND COMPARE WITH COUNTERPART PROJECT FUNDING FOR 50,000 BENEFICIARY OF A PROJECT I ...

• G HANANI 12 years ago

This is a typical example of the backward mentality of some ghanaians.They think that doctors are so important that whatever they ask for must be given and that nobody else is important.I THINK DOCTORS CAN AT THE SAME TIME FA ...

• Senior citizen- Germanny 12 years ago

In every country people who extingushes fires are needed when fire breakes out in the country.The writer of this aticle is one of those people who are needed in the country to cool up tempers when crises of this nature real ...

• Mahome 12 years ago

Thank God the people of Tamale North never got you to our august house of Parliament. You definitely would have been taking part in doing illegality to this state of Ghana. You write to twist the issues just to catch attentio ...

• Pat 12 years ago

YOU CAN EXPRESS YOUR VIEWS WITHOUT INSULTS.

• Mahome 12 years ago

Sorry Pat if I sounded insulting, but it is hurting when knowledgeable people twist issues for political expediency sake. Many of us supported President Rawlings to govern, and so did we support President Kuffour to govern su ...

• Senior Doctor 12 years ago

Mahone, I guess you could also have been in medical school as you make it sound so easy a thing to do. The comparison to the guinea fowl is being used as a metaphor when one reads the article with an analytical mind. What is ...

• akos 12 years ago

Kwasia...so they should work with no pay

• Amayzing Akrodie 12 years ago

Oh Foolish Mahama,you valued guinea fowls more than all the Nation's human resources we spent many years to train.Stupid Prez,cocquin Prez,dum you.......ade3muu woy3..............so he is telling ghanaians he's going use"akon ...

• obia nye obia 12 years ago

When we have sso many educated illiterates who refuse to recognize investment in agric, what do u expect. He refused to learn that more employment would be created and already existing poultry farmers would remain to help boo ...

• kofi 12 years ago

then borrow

• nyantachi 12 years ago

from where. then!

• ASEM BE BA DABI 12 years ago

Truely, truely,things are falling apart in Ghana because Ghana is the only country in the world where guinea fowls are valued more than doctors.This NDC government under Mahama is full of incompetent as well as evil dwarfs an ...

• doobia 12 years ago

Akilu what sought of myopic analysis is this. Am surprise some of you are down playing projects meant to benefit our poor folks. yes in certain instances guinea fowls can be valued more than doctors.if doctors make a mockery ...

• DR. DADE BOUR 12 years ago

I AM ALL FOR GUINEA FOWLS. WHEN THE DOCTORS STRIKE AND I AM WEAK OR SICK, AT LEAST I CAN LIVE ON GUINEA FOWLS. CAN YOU IMAGINE TAKING A BITE OUT OF THIS "DR SILLY BOY" CHAP WHO SPITS VILE AND VERNOM LIKE A SNAKE?

• Luther King 12 years ago

this article is as stupid and reckless as it has no justification. masa akilu, u wrote the article as if govt has done nothing abt it. please be reminded that there was a conclusion on this issue with the the ruling of NLC. a ...

• Victor A. Young 12 years ago

That's NDC's SADA project for you! And this is the reason why the NHIS is collapsing! They'll rather concentrate on Guinea Fowls and the eating of "chinchinga" ect. "Damn with your doctors; we don't care!" they'd say. What a ...

• GK Fast 12 years ago

During NPP regime wht happened to greening ghana project did it survive, NPP were planting trees in the hamattan coursing financial loss to de state as at dat tym. Let us forget dis sort of politics n concentrate on de substa ...

• Whatever 12 years ago

Your comparison is baseless. Guinea fowl rearing is an investment meaning we would recoup the capital and profit. Paying doctors arrears is a matter of debt settlement. Stop putting up mismatches for propaganda purposes

• Dr. Dr. Afari Jane 12 years ago

We NDCians need Akonfem more than Doctors becoz we already have about 260 Medical Young boys from volta and Northern in Cuba.... Doctors can go to Heaven..... Asiedu Nketia and the Akonfem Party....more grease to your elbow. ...

• Appletus 12 years ago

Your title is misplaced. The guinea fowl issue is a project that has nothing to do with the striking doctors. Doctors are not satisfied about the market provision of SSSS that they refer to. In fact Doctors have been at it fo ...

• Kweku 12 years ago

That is a brilliant write up and a catchy title to get more people to read it. You just don't know how.

• Mr. QUESTIONS 12 years ago

What is all this noise about Rawlings and the NDC ? Under his watch for over 20+ years Ghana has fallen to her present state.

When people base their lives on the law of cause and effect as it applies to life throughout th ...

• BULAALA 12 years ago

Not only in Ghana. In London restaurants too the value of guinea fowls is priceless, find out from you brothers and sisters abroad, and how about gold chains around the necks of special politicians too? hypocrites

• Alhassan Bawah, NPP UK 12 years ago

NDC stands for National Destroyers Company, so do not expect that bunch of nation looters cum day light robbers to reason reasonably like you have articulated. What you have written can only be from an NPP firebrand like your ...

• nsem pii 12 years ago

Now adays eeh jack can tell real men of God. All are in it for prosperity.

• Ali, Toronto 12 years ago

This article shows complete ignorance of how a state institution functions - hence the apples-oranges comparison of doctors and guinea fowls. To put it simply, monies for doctors (health sector/ministry) and for guinea fowl p ...

• Paolo 12 years ago

Waa look at such a stupid write-up, with nothing sensible to digest.

So Government should just stop everything and be looking out for striking doctors. When was Gment asked to choose between Doctors and the project and cho ...

• KKO 12 years ago

Mahama and the parliamentarians did not think of Ghana before increasing their wages and other allowances. Ghanaians don't blame the doctors.How much is Okudjato Ablakwa earning?What is his first job? All workers should la ...

• Osei Yao 12 years ago

AT LEAST GUINES FOWLS ARE NOT AS ARROGANT AS THE DOCTORS ON WHOM MILLIONS OF TAXPAYERS\ MONEY HAS BEEN SPENT.

• Joe 12 years ago

Shortsightedness is informing your position if you see the guinea fowl project as a just a preference for guinea fowls over doctors. That project is supposed to change the lives of people and economic conditions in five regio ...

• Iddi Maltiti 12 years ago

Akilu 50 50, your article is jaundiced, why do you mischeviously make it seem as if the SADA project and the Docters strike are happening at the same time and the government has opted to fund the SADA leaving the Strking Doct ...

• ASARE 12 years ago

URSULA OWUSU ASHAWO MP

• ASARE 12 years ago

AKUFFO ADDO MONKEY FACE STUPID

• Kwame 12 years ago

Doctors you can not renegade on an arbitration award in which your own appointed arbitrator took part, that is like eating your bread and pretend that you have it. Just return to work.

• Mankind 12 years ago

Would you agree with me that MONKEYS are smarter than the governments of many African coutries?? Ghana is what we are talking about here!!

• ECOMINI 12 years ago

Newly Oil-Rich Ghana Struggles to Please
    Print
    Share:

TEXT SIZE
    Reuters
    April 09, 2013

When Ghana struck oil in 2007, citizens expected the industry would bring them better lives and investors anticipated he ...

• UDS WA CAMPUS 12 years ago

prez mahama must satop mishandling the countries money and solve the problem of strike actions which is now the order of the day in the country..... i m a university student but i can go for lectures now whiles i have payed f ...

• Nana Asare 12 years ago

John Mahama CAN NEVER FORGET THE Akonfem MEAT AND FIND GENUINE AND PROPER WAYS OF RULING GHANA BECAUSE OF HIS LOVE FOR Akonfem MEAT, HE DOES NOT VALUE ANY GHANAIAN.

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 12 years ago

It would do whoever wrote this article some good to please go back to school and learn how to compare and contrast before spewing this infantile thoughts of his or hers.
    To educate you a little bit; ask yourself if Ghana exp ...

• mame 12 years ago

Am a nurse working in Europe. the sad thing is l work 50%, but l end a lot ten tames more a doctor at home.why? as l always tell my husband, that l wish to see one of the so called ministers in my work place. himmm.

• AGBEVE 12 years ago

WHO HAVE GREATER VALUE FOR US, DOCTORS WHO WORK 24 HOURS EVERYDAY TO SAVE LIVES OR POLITICIANS WHOSE PREOCCUPATION IS TO LOOT AND MAKE MONEY AT THE EXPENCE OF GHANAIANS ? WOYOME LOOTED GHC 51 MILLION AND OUR POLITICIANS SAID ...