You are here: HomeNews2013 04 10Article 270587

Where is Afari-Gyan? Judge demands

Read Comments Comments (115)

• madzia 11 years ago

POPE,

I HAVE BEEN SILENT FOR A LONG TIME BUT TODAY I WILL SPEAK MY MIND .

REASON BEING I HAVE JUST SEEN ANOTHER OF UR MANY EXCUSES IN THE UPPER EAST AND ENOUGH IS ENOUGH SO I DECIDED TO COMMENT

WELL U HAD THE CHANCE ...

• Adjubi Ama, London 11 years ago

That evil incarnate-corrupt-greedy Afari Djan will rot in Jail after trial. All his wickedness and misdeeds will come to light.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago

CAN CRIMINAL NDC & EC SWEAR AND FILE AFFIDAVITS AGAINST THE TRUTH ON THE PINK SHEETS WHICH WERE USED TO DECLARE NDC AS WINNERS? THE LAW CAN BE UGLY SOMETIMES!!
    CAREFULNESS IS SOMETIMES REQUIRED!!!!!
    ASEM BEBA ONE DAY!! GO ...

• Yaw Amofa 11 years ago

The court suit is against EC as an institution, not Afari-Gyan; the incompetent silly judge should have known this from the beginning. He doesnt have to be in court.

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 11 years ago

Declare Afari Gyan a wanted person for his treasonable offence !

That bloke who succeeded in proving that a man can live without a brain and who nearly plunged the nation into a civil war has now gone into hiding after rea ...

• Nana kwadjo Atupahehe # 1 11 years ago

THE WHOLE DEAL IS KPEGAH, TSIKATA,JULO JATO (JJ) RAWLINGS AND HIS CLIQUE OF EWE COCOA-ASE LABOURS,CAT-EATING AND FOWL THIEVES --KOKULOVIE DE KA HAAA--WOULD BE DRIVEN BACK TO TRANS-TOGOLAND AFTER ENJOYING SUCH A GLAMOUROUS LI ...

• TerrblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

One of the letters was dully signed by a certain E. Bart-Plange Brew, Acting Administrative Secretary on behalf of Secretary to General Legal Council.

The other letter from “The Honourable Society of the Middle Temple” ...

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

TerrblY Spe cifiC - WHAT STOPS YOU FROM GOING TO MIDDLE TEMPLE YOURSELF OR OFFICIALLY WRITING TO THEM FOR INQUIRY ON THE MATTER IF YOU MEAN BUSINESS?

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings and I have still not recovered from the losses of the 2008 and 2012 presidential elections.
    The NPP was cheated in 2008 by Kuffour because he prefered Kyeremanteng to Akuffo-Addo and Mahama also ch ...

• Selassie Dzokoto 11 years ago

He is simply shy to be seen in public. He fears people will be pointing fingers at him declaring, 'there goes the empty-head greedy bastard who nearly plunged the nation into civil war.'

• Ewe ni baa, NY 11 years ago

May the gods of Antoa Nsuo Nyamaa,Kwaku Firi and the 77 gods of Oquaa Kill Afari Djan and all those NDC people and their collaborators who stole the 2012 election which has resulted in an untold hardships on the people of Gha ...

• Kesie 11 years ago

You will all this and I will not be shocked that you are a deacon or elder in the church of christ

• Efolabi T 11 years ago

Afari DJAN and his NDC electoral fraudsters deserve to be cursed the way Ewe ni baa, NY has cursed them. Can u imagine the ongoing sufferings Ghanaians are going through becos of the electoral fraud leading to wrong and bad g ...

• Ganaba 11 years ago

Ksie, how would you feel if the coach of the Black Stars went to the world cup in South Africa with TEAM C and left the regular players behind in Ghana ?

• Eno B 11 years ago

This type of curse on Afari Djan and his NDC collaborators for the electoral fraud is too hard, the way the Man has been cursed, if he actually got involved in any form of electoral fraud, Afari Djan will sure die a cursed de ...

• K.G 11 years ago

Na ad3n, Kwaku? hahahahaha

• Waga drill 11 years ago

yaw, well said. some of these self styled learned friends are a bundle of nincompoops parading themselves as supreme court judges. any clerk at EC can represent it.

• PAY ROLL DEVELOPEMENT 11 years ago

We are sick and tired of this one way English by afro new York below aka Terribly Spe cifiC

• afro new york 11 years ago

u are absolutely right,my friend.what is the relevance of mr.djan appearing to the court room when it is ec that was sued and not him personally.some of these judges are unpredictable.

• Akua Dansua 11 years ago

Selective amnesia as always. Even if Justice Douse is senseless in asking about the whereabouts of Afari Gyan what about the fact that he (Afari Gyan - chair of EC)has not sworn to any of the affidavits? Is that also a sensel ...

• Yaw Amofa 11 years ago

Why does he have to? Did he count the votes himself?

• Nyansafo 11 years ago

Afari-Gyan may not be the EC but he is the Chairman of the EC and THE PRESIDING OFFICER for the Presidential election. That means that he is PERSONALLY responsible for the conduct of the election and for certifying and declar ...

• Akua Dansua 11 years ago

Yaw with all due respect did you think about your question before posting? If there's something going on in your home who do you think common sense demands should be contacted first? Isn't it the head of the home ie. father o ...

• DKB 11 years ago

When there was the BP oil spillage case in court in the US a few years back who represented BP in court? The CEO himself was in court to defend his company and it was him people were calling for his sacking. Now tell me, did ...

• DAN 11 years ago

you would expect the ceo or cfo to be present!

• Mark Doe 11 years ago

YAW AMOFA PLEASE DR AFARI GYAN IS THE SOLE COMMISSIONER OF THE EC SO IN LAWYER IS REPRESENTING EC BEFORE THE COURT AS THE OFFICER IN CHARGE THEREFORE REQUIRE TO RESPONSIBILITY OF THE ONGOING TRAIL AND MUST SWORE ALL SIGNED AF ...

• AbasZ 11 years ago

Yaw Amofa wo ye kwasea pii. If something happens in situation like one at the supreme court,is not the head who has to represent the group? Because you were probably given Gh50.00 before voting. Unpatriotic old boy.

• ABU 11 years ago

Idiot, let the EC speak and then we will not demand the presence of Afari Djan. Who do you think is the EC? ILLITERATE IDIOT.

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Kufuor didn't rot in jail so you stupid father will rot in jail

• Musah Osman 11 years ago

Only ignorant people will think this way.When the proceedings starts on the 16th of April,you will realise how foolish your comments are.

• daladam 11 years ago

SO DOES THE COURT HE FAILED TO SIGN ANY AFFIDAVIT THAT HE SUPLY THE COURT FOR FEAR OF FRAUD ON THE COURT

• Be Bold 11 years ago

The man is too arrogant.

• Birahma 11 years ago

Your long and winding piece is to say the least boring.Did Afari Djan not warn you stubborn guys that the new system wud have create some problems and wud not be the solution to all our electoral problems?And didnt Ben Ephson ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 11 years ago

Afari Gyan thinks he is above the laws of the land and regards himself as the kingmaker of Maaaame/Daaavi Ghana.

Afari Gyan decided to create 45 constituencies just 3 months before the election knowing very well that the n ...

• bigbrosam 11 years ago

LETS CHALLANGE THE DISTRICTS NUMBERS TOO.THE CREATION OF NEW DISTRICTS WERE RIGED AND FAKE TOO.CHARGE THIS MAN FOR TEMPERING NATIONAL DATA AT SUCH EXPENSIVE PRICE.SET NEW STANDARD FOR DISTRICT,REGION, AND MUNINSIPALITIES WIT ...

• Shamo 11 years ago

You are so right. Ghana has free elections but not fair. The voting has been inflated, inaccurate and wroth with inaccuracies. However no one took the EC to task, well now someone has and Ghanaians will learn that the EC is a ...

• Roy 11 years ago

Idiot why do you use Pope here.

• anna 11 years ago

afari djan is being represented by his lawywer what goes around comes around and u reap what u sow!!!!!

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 11 years ago

If EC fails to attend to the supreme court on 16/04/2013 then Mahama must be questioned about that.

I believe people will support me about this issue. This has nothing to do with NPP or NDC but Ghana first. Thank you all ...

• WILLIAM 11 years ago

Has he violated any law here? Appear in person to speak, listen or answer questions? Is the judge not aware the court case is not the full time job of the respected EC Chairman!

We have no time for your propaganda anymore. Okay NDC?

I exposed him sometime ago when he was hiding at Agogo Ashanti Region but right now I don't know where he is.

I will do my best to find him for you guys. Okay?

• Anona 11 years ago

The guy has lawyers representing him in court, why should he be there. If the court invited him to appear and did not , then you may blame him, but that is not his usual place of work, why should he waste tax payers money by ...

• Blessed. 11 years ago

Exposed by their own deeds.. Afari Gyan if you had been truthful from the start, would you have been in this mess..When the cookie crumbles, it crumbles fast.

• koo 11 years ago

on ec.

• HONESTY 11 years ago

The operatives at Joy FM should know that they are not among the most clever in Ghana. This mischivious article will not lead them to anytthing but disgrace.

• Kwaku 11 years ago

When Joyfm announced the fake 2012 Election results for you ,you were jumping around saying Halleluyah praise the best radio station on the Earth.Now you are cursing them

• RICHARD 11 years ago

THIS IS A SIGN OF VICTORY FOR OUR BELOVED PARTY NPP.

• Kesie 11 years ago

I believe EC has its own legal team.Afari gyan is not a lawyer though. I think of this I do not back the supreme court judge.

I want to tell you that you are nothing absolutely nothing. Okay?

• Kesie 11 years ago

Did you sniff cocaine. You have a loggerhead and your contributions are empty. only insults, balderdash

• Woman's wisdom 11 years ago

Afari Gyan was bribbed by Mahama to help him steal the election with a whopping sum of $35million. Just before the creation of the 45 new constituencies, Afari Gyan had agreed to stratergize a cumbersome tricky criminally inc ...

• koo 11 years ago

wa bu dodge.

• Wiafe 11 years ago

Afari has a lawyer.

• Evans 11 years ago

MR JUDGE, THE MAN YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT HAS NO FACE, THATS WHY YOU HAVE NOT SEEN HIS BEAUTIFUL FACE. THE GOD-GIVEN FACE OF THIS MAN IS "CLOTHED IN SMOKE AND BEER ..." ... hAHAHAHAHAAA !

• Wiafe 11 years ago

Nana Addo or Mahama have also not shown up at court--so what is the big deal?

• DKB 11 years ago

Wrong, Nana has been to court. Mahama has not yet been to court but he has his representatives moreover Mahama did not call the election results so you cannot compare him to Afari Djan.

• Luciano 11 years ago

Is it a requirement of the EC commissioner to be present at the court or could he be represented by a senior staff member as required under the procedures.Is that remark necessary and not prejudicial.Sooner than later the pre ...

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 11 years ago

The national security operatives should watch out for any escape rout for the possibility that, the criminal EC old crook may run to escape justice of the land or safe him from monster P/NDC killers as they did to eliminate P ...

• JJ 11 years ago

Afari Gyan doesn't seem to be interested in the outcome of the court case and did not take it serious from the beginning. Now he will have to sit up and answer serious questions. He cannot take the country for granted.

• Kwaku 11 years ago

The Police should quickly look for the man otherwise he can take his own life,the way things are going hmmmmm the vice chair has even ran away.

• sarfo kantaka 11 years ago

Owura otserbuafo dr Afari Gyan cse asem no ontum ntsi wegan kc bonoo ma epe biara ye na aba no dze ankoyie

• Atari John 11 years ago

Please The old feel ashamed to appear in Court but I can assure him that he must go and clear his mesh.

• ZONGO BOY 11 years ago

ARREST HIM AND GIVE NO BAIL FOR HIS OWN SAFETY. HE THINKS IT IS A JOKE. IF HE KNOWS THE COST INCURRED BY OTHERS, HE WILL RUN TO DEFEND HIMSELF.

• Kwame 11 years ago

Why is it that Douse did not ask for President Mahama?

• ZONGO BOY 11 years ago

HEE IS AN ASSESSORY NOT ARRESTING OFFICER AS HIS BOOS ONCE SAID. LITTLE MINDS HAVE SHORT MEMORIES TOO.

• Chief amankwa 11 years ago

Ok

• hmmmmm 11 years ago

the judge is not serious.

• GENERAL DeGAULE 11 years ago

The lawyers have been to court. The trial has not yet commenced. The returning officer has not be subpoenaed to appear as witness. The President as first respondent has not made an appearance. Akuffo Addo himself , I doubt ha ...

• DKB 11 years ago

Nonsense. Don't talk about what you don't know. Akuffo Addo and Dr Bawumia have both been to the court on several occasions. The president has not been but it is understandable as he has his representatives and is a busy man. ...

• Sankofa 11 years ago

The EC has its legal team representing it.

What is Dr Afari-Gyan going to do in court when he has not been called as a witness? Remember that he is an experienced High Court judge, and understands how the law works.

• GENERAL DeGAULE 11 years ago

Even more worrying is the fact that the EC chair has not sworn to any of the affidavits currently before the Supreme Court.

In one breath, the EC hasn't submitted any affidavits and is asking to do so later, In the same br ...

• Joe ballack UK 11 years ago

Ghanaians will never forgive Afari Gyan and co

• Joe ballack UK 11 years ago

He better reveal the truth or rot in hell

• Kesie 11 years ago

He better reveal the truth that he stole for NPP in the past and now stole for NDC at present.

• CONCERN CITIZEN 11 years ago

BREAKING NEWS;DEPUTY EC HAS RESIGNED.I THINK THE EC IS ALSO ABOUT TO RUN.NO VERIFICATION NO VOTE;

• kankama 11 years ago

Stupid idiot try to mess Ghana what you will see i yet to come.

• Agonaba Kwabena 11 years ago

Afari Gyan is now richer by 35M Ghana Cedis so he has no respect for the law and for Ghana, not even Mahama/NDC that made him rich. Let him wait. God will pay him according to his works.

• Kwame 11 years ago

Are you sure there is A Supreme Court judge called Douse? Does the EC Commissioner have to be in court as an observer when he is not needed? This from a Supreme Court judge?

• BEST 11 years ago

NO WONDER SCHOOL DROP-OUT IN NPP CALLS THEMSELVES LAWYERS.

• kankama 11 years ago

You need to be arrested for putting Ghana throu all this.

• KOFI 11 years ago

WHY MUST AFARI GYAN GO TO COURT WHEN HE IS NOT CALLED TO ANSWER ANY QUESTION.

• nana 11 years ago

Afari gyan the whole world will see your plan for NDC shame:::

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

We have on several occasions elaborated the evil agenda of the ewes and some northerners to destroy the very substance of the Akan. we go further as there still some fools who underestimate the severity and dire nature of thi ...

• Victor A. Young 11 years ago

Folks, are you with me thus far on this election fraud case? Please not that on December 7, 2012 John Mahama, acting as "Aplanke Prez" declared publicly to the Ghanaians electorate that: "everyone can vote without verificatio ...

• DAN 11 years ago

make sure this nigger pays they price! with death

• BOBBY 11 years ago

Gyan is playing the law. He is going to let those in his office to go to prison if he find out that the rigged the elections. Gyan dont see himself to be part of EC but the boss.
    Any mistakes made by EC IS NOT ME type of per ...

• daladam 11 years ago

FOR STEALING GHANA PEOPLE VOTES FOR NDC THAT PAID HIM WOYOMI HARD CASH

• opk, kumasi 11 years ago

This old man after all you have, allowed yourself to be induced to bring chaos to Ghana had it not been Akuffo Addo's stands of allowing the court to settle the issue. God will punish you.

• bennet asamoah 11 years ago

old lvil dwuaf afari gyan is verry hot

• Lorgo Ligri 11 years ago

Afari Gyan will only come to court if you pay him. The man gets paid for stealing so, what makes you think he will appear in court for nothing? There is a lot of money to be made from Aseidu/Mahama land. He said, you all can ...

• KOFORIDUA Flowers (fr) 11 years ago

YES IT IS SAID THAT 'WHEN IT IS COMING IT IS DOING' aFARI GYAN WILL FLY AWAY LIKE A KITE BLOWN UP IN THE SKIES FROM A BEACH.MAY BE he HAS NOTHING TO OFFER AGINST OR COMPLAIN ABOUT.ANYWAY! LET ME HOLD MY BREADTH AND WAIT FOR T ...

• Atongba 11 years ago

Everyone eats from one's work place. "Afari, you've not been eating from yours. So you look old, lean and thin while prez, vprez, ministers, mps,etc eat so much more than you! Be smart for it's a game. Steal vote counting in ...

• ABBAS 11 years ago

is justice douse telling us that is illegal for a chancellor to represent his client in court? if he has anything to say he should ask the lawyer representing the ec

• GHANA FIRST 11 years ago

Can you enjoy the blood money bribe outside Ghana at this grave-side age ?
    Time will tell !

• Prof Botswana 11 years ago

Judge Dotse your mouth started smelling that is why you want to open it wide. Did you go to law school or not.Is EC Afari Djan or Afari Djan is EC.. Stop your bais behaviour comments before------

• DKB 11 years ago

Stupid question. Who is the head of EC? As the head of an organisation whose responsibility is it to defend the organisation? This is the Supreme Court and not some magistrate court.

• Seymour Gray, LL.B. (USA) 11 years ago

Dr. Afari-Gyan, the EC Chairman, "has not sworn to any of the affidavits currently before the Supreme Court." This would indicate that Afari-Gyan does NOT want to be on record any more than he has already become. I wonder wh ...

• L'Osservatore Ghanaiensis 11 years ago

Why that might be? Guilt!

• L'Osservatore Ghanaiensis 11 years ago

Regardless of the outcome of this case, Ghana owes a lot to Akuffo Addo for his relentless pursuit of truth and justice for the people, regardless of party affiliation. He has proven himself to be a pace setter, self discipli ...

• Luciano 11 years ago

That is a blatant lie.his irresponsible attitude could have plunged the country into chaos and we are not out of it yet for a frivolous petition like this.Shame on Akufo.

• KWASI, TORONTO. ON. 11 years ago

AFARI GYAN HAS A BIG HOUSE IN CALGARY, ALBERTA-CANADA, AND HIS FAMILY ARE OCCUPING THE PLACE. PLEASE FIND OUT, HE MIGHT HAVE JOINED THE FAMILY, IN TORONTO THERE ARE ABOUT 1OO THOUSAND GHANAINS OR MORE THEREFORE HE CHOSED TO B ...

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

AFARI GYAN NOT SHOWING UP IN COURT ABOUT THIS CASE TELLS A LOT.

• Whatever 11 years ago

It is the EC that has being sued, not Afari Gyan. Justice Doste if he wants will fall like Akufo Addo if he makes a mistake to cause trouble in there. He's very IRRESPONSIBLE. Can't he invite Afari Gyan?

• DKB 11 years ago

Nonsense! Who is the head of EC? When BP had the Oil spill in the US who was in court constantly defending and answering questions for BP? It was the CEO. Afari Djan is the CEO of EC and the buck stops with him. It is stupid ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

I'm staring to think most of you people in the NPP don't think through your arguments well. The EC is adequately represented in court by it's own crack lawyers yet you want to still see Afari Gyan face in court. I can't under ...

• DKB 11 years ago

As usual if someone does not agree with your position then he is NPP, the same way you tag the lawyers, Doctors, teachers, professors, nurses, pastors, judges. So who is NDC?

• Mehunu meka nti 11 years ago

Partisan some of these Justices can be? When this guy was described as a fmr. NPP regional party Official,he was upset,but clearly,he wants to assume the 'mantle' left by the retired Justice Brobbey;an NPP partisan to the cor ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

Justice Doste is so irresponsible with his utterances. If you want Afari Gyan, can't you invite him? The presiding judge should call this judge to order to before he awaken's the beast with his careless utterance. no wonder h ...

• DKB 11 years ago

Foolish comment from an illiterate scumbag.

• Luciano 11 years ago

Your comment like the npp card holding judge is completely out of order.The normal procedure is that the big players come into the picture in the substantive suit unless you want him to leave his official duties to come to co ...

• FR ANK 11 years ago

Who appointed him as a justice of the supreme court?What a nation!!!!

• Roy 11 years ago

Justice Dotse, This is the way he behaved at Ghana@50. This man is an incompetent judge and does not deserve to be there. He is not a balanced judge in this case, he should be withdrawn.

• Clarence Hedzolleh 11 years ago

The question rather is has Dr Afari Gyan been invited to the court and he refused or failed to do appear? What is the legal requirement for his presence or otherwise in court? What is the learned judge trying to impugn? The ...

• AFARIBA 11 years ago

THE MAN MUST BE BUSY PLANNING HIS SUICIDE AND ESCAPE FROM THE HUGE DISGRACE ROLLING TOWARDS HIM. LEAVE HIM ALONE TO WALLOW IN HIS OWN MESS.