You are here: HomeNews2013 04 10Article 270482

Akufo Addo's cars seized

Read Comments Comments (147)

• joyce 11 years ago

Ghana hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago

(SOURCE) JOY ONLINE:------------------------------The National Democratic Congress has more than doubled Ghana’s debt in four years but it has very little or nothing to show for it, New Patriotic Party Member of Parliament ...

• AKK 11 years ago

How can you supposedly want the sympathy of the NDC getting an NDC ID and then coming to the media to castigate the same people. There is something fishy about this supposedly businessman. Even the NPP as a party clears stuff ...

• GA MAN 11 years ago

AN intelligent person like GA MAN,there is a secret behind this story.only stupid uneducated people with lost certificates will believe this story.if you don't believe me,exercise your brain a little bit and see where the sto ...

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

After filing the 14 containers he forgot to leave some money to grease the palms of the customs officials. These officials don't really care whether you belong to NPP or NDC; they care for their stomachs, wives and houses.

• Wiseman 11 years ago

This is some of the reasons why Ghana is not moving forward.A man orders goods for his business ,the goods are seized for no tangible reason just because, he is not greasing palms?. If one or two custom officials have been gr ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 11 years ago

When stealers get political power, they believe everything in the country, or entering the country belongs to them.

Folks, do you remembers Carl "Cars" Wilson, who was planted at the ports by Alex Segbefia and was stealing ...

• NII YAOTEY ATUA, LONDON 11 years ago

YOU ARE RIGHT,BROTHER.LET HIM PRODUCE HIS TAX RETURNS TO PROVE HIS CASE.. THEIVES ARE COMING OUT DAILY.

• william 11 years ago

Next time get the other side of the story, in this case from Customs!! Are you misinforming or informing; or deliberately under-informing!!!Be fair to your readers.

• Customs ransacked container already 11 years ago

understandably, it take two sides to make a case however this story is nothing new in Ghana. As custom official use delay tactics to steal innocent people stuff at the harbor all the time.
    I saw a documentary where a white w ...

• j0eY L0nd0n 11 years ago

Childish comments. .

• Wiseman 11 years ago

There will be a time a desparate person will take the law in his own hand, and spray Customs Officials at Tema harbour . Believe me it will come to pass

• Nicholas J Bedzo 11 years ago

Thieves in Ghana will not be at rest,
    they will be hot always like this man
    Akufo Addo.He will not come out with the true story but lies painted to justify his story. Govermnemt to auction the Goods and pass the proced
    to ...

• fulani 11 years ago

Waaaaaa look!!!!! when will stupidity and idiocity leaves ghanaian or black leaders, whether he bears the same name or not he has right like any other ghanaian to move free every where.

God change us please cos the stupidi ...

• DD 11 years ago

This man is not telling the truth.

• Jimmy 11 years ago

This man is seeking popularity. You can see he is wearing a very stupid face. Seeking popularity must be in a decent way and not true such crude medieval ways

• COMANDO 11 years ago

OUR FACE EVEN TELLS THE WHOLE STORY. THE TRUTH WILL SET U FREE. EVEN NANA AKUFFO ADO THE NPP CANDIDATE IMPORT GOODS FROM EUROPE THROUTH TEMA HABOUR.U BETTER CALL YOUR ANKEL ON PHONE TO PRODUCE HIS LAW CERTIFICATES AND BE FRE ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

There is no honest person in that NDC so-called political party.

NDC are all thieves, arm robbers, deceitful, dishonest, liars, jelous,
    corrupt, senseless and total useless
    bunch of hopeless monkeys which all of
    them ne ...

• Mr. Oushuuuuu 11 years ago

You know what your faces portray?maybe you look like a pedophile,so must we arrest you just based on that?

What a whimsical nonsense

• Michael Boye-Anawomah, London 11 years ago

Oh Ghana!

• ELINAM 11 years ago

All these interferences are too problematic and creating more poverty to our ppl.

• daniel 11 years ago

Are you the only person who is importing into the country? And do everybody who is affiliated either by relation or political party go through this? There might be a peculiar problem with this importation which is not being m ...

• Clarence Hedzolleh 11 years ago

Thank you Daniel, for showing that your brains are really working. There's more to the balderdash posted on the net than meets the eye!!!

• emma us 11 years ago

no wonder, N D C come and steal and destroy and GOD TIME IS THE BEST,

• Adu 11 years ago

Is that how they do politics in Ghana?

• GHANABA 1 11 years ago

I SMELL SOMETHING FISHY HERE.MOST PEOPLE ON THIS COLUMN KNOWS VERY WELL THAT I AM NOT AN NDC FAN BUT THE CASE OF THIS AKUFFO ADDO IS SOMEHOW INTERESTING.THERE IS NO SMOKE WITHOUT FIRE.((1)I THINK HE HAS BEEN USING OUR WELL TO ...

• KALUSHA 11 years ago

WE ARE NOT KIDS.

• South Africa Defense Force 11 years ago

should be investigated

• Nana O 11 years ago

But must it take 3 years to do that? You go figure. May be this is called guilty by association.

• Remove Indemnity Clause 11 years ago

This man should tell the truth why the cars were seized. Why did he not contacted lawyer and waited till now?

• Ada Boy 11 years ago

The elephant in the room is the man claiming ownership of the impounded cargo. There are hundreds of Ghanians bearing the Akuffo Addo surname and they dont get arrested or have their properties confiscated. He's probably not ...

• Investigator 11 years ago

Surely, there must be more than this man is revealing. Ghana is not a lawless country. Even some customs officers themselves may be NPP. What's this man trying to say? Throwing dust to win public sympathy? He always has the r ...

• Mehunu meka nti 11 years ago

Instead of Nhyira which would have put him through the 'meat-grinder' to test his bona fides. Look at him,he is definitely a 'con-man',seeking the publics` sympathy! What a joker he is.

• Adu 11 years ago

This man must go to court. He should also use the media to ensure public interest in the case.

• KWAME 11 years ago

and what is the reason for seizing the cars...stupid stupid stupid.

• KWAME 11 years ago

who is the guy in the picture?

• Danso TDOT 11 years ago

You imported 14 containers holding 24 cars, 420 laptops, 750 pieces of sound systems, 1800 pieces of used mattresses and 1,000 used tyres all at a cost $163000???

Massa, don't bring politics into this. Just find yoursel ...

• JAMES Y 11 years ago

A complete thrash!

Why is he expending his energy and resources through back-channels rather than going to court? And why is he coming out now with this bizzare allegation,when he could have appealed to the late President Atta Mills for a resol ...

• Artillery 11 years ago

This is what I glean from the 'story': it is possible he has no funds to clear the goods and wanted the goods to be cleared on credit and for him to pay later...hence his 'association' with those 'in-power' in order to have a ...

• Woman's wisdom 11 years ago

NDC fools will confisticate precious items belonging to an individual simply because he bears the same name as Nana Akuffo Addo. This is sheer stupidity and foolery at work. John Mahama may have stolen some of the cars and gi ...

• murtala 11 years ago

What if he is related to Nana

• Onslopogas 11 years ago

Ridiculous!!!

• JUSTICE 11 years ago

FUTILE AND CHEAP POLITICS WILL NOT WORK. IF YOU HAVE ITEMS AT THE PORT SINCE 2010 AND JUST WAKE UP BLAME NO ONE

• BANZIE. 11 years ago

HOW CAN,ALL THIS MILO TIN BE IN POLITICES, THIS CAN NOT STOP,AKUFFO ADDO TO PROVIDE HIS LAW CETIFIECATE TO GHANA BAR ASSOCIATION, ALL POLITICAL FOOLS ARE IN NPP, WHEN WILL NPP LEADER'S GOING TO WISE UP?

• George Best. 11 years ago

THE IS THE MOST STUPID COMMENT OF THE DAY.BONZIE OR WHATEVER YOU CALL YOURSELF, RE-READ THE TRASH YOU HAVE WRITTEN HERE AND SEE IF IT MAKES SENSE. GHANA BAR ASSOCIATION HAS NEVER ASKED NANA TO `PROVIDE' HIS LAW CERTIFICATES. ...

• nana kumasi 11 years ago

mahama will pay the

• Big mouth 11 years ago

He is playing politics with his stupidity.These are the same corrupt people who turn around blaming goverments for corruption.Look at his face, then you know what his all about?

• Darling 11 years ago

Only fools will fall for porkinpine story
    The man is a big liar and a thief where did he get the dollars from

• Kojo 11 years ago

If you import goods to a country using lawful means, no has the right to seize your goods even for a day, let alone 2 to 3 years. Please do not try to politicize import issue. You have a recourse in the law courts.

Fake it ...

• Fofi 11 years ago

I'm baffled at the idea that we are so desperate that USED mattresses can be imported into a civilized country?? How can that happen...Wow!!

• kama 11 years ago

Probably, your family members are sleeping on mats or on the floor. What is wrong with a third world country using used mattresses.

Damaged goods,just going by the items on the list. Just take good look at him and judge if this 'con-man' is not up to something sinister!

• Obed Adore 11 years ago

Of course, Used mattresses have been banned in Ghana ok?

• Kordiaber 11 years ago

Where are the Cars?.Yes and pay the duty involved.Always politicians and their families import things into the Country without paying the required duty.See Ghana is not the property of
    anyone.This is what brought GHANA AIRWA ...

• KWAME OWUSU 11 years ago

if this is true then gh customs are uncivilised

• fools 11 years ago

What civilized country? Ghana

• KWAME OWUSU 11 years ago

nana ado,s missing cert if found please return for an elephant reward

• Quist 11 years ago

Why is this idiot not in court after 3 years? This story sounds very fishy. Mr. Akufo Addo is not telling the whole truth about the reasons for the seizure of his goods. Did he knowingly import banned used mattresses from Kor ...

• daniel 11 years ago

Hit the nail right on the head.

• KOFI USA 11 years ago

If this if true why do u sit down looking into the Why do u force yourself to get an NDC membership card instead of going to court. In fact u are the most DUMP bisiness man in the whole world. Used mattress is burn in Ghana l ...

• KOFI USA 11 years ago

If this if true why do u sit down looking into the airfor three years. Why do u force yourself to get an NDC membership card instead of going to court. In fact u are the most DUMP bisiness man in the whole world. Used mattres ...

• agyabroni 11 years ago

That's the fun of it ! Go to court! Thats democracy. Elections have consequences.NDC is in power.It may take a long time,you may win or not.Relax and be at peace with yourself,you may reap threefold!!!

Have you openly decided to compete with Gina Blay`s Daily Guide for the nation`s 'Jerry Spriger' award? What background investigation was conducted prior to the publication of this 'alice-in-wonderland' story?
    mahama Ayariga ...

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

National Security must investigate this if they are truly national. WHERE IS THE NDC DRIVING GHANA TO?

• oyinasky 11 years ago

This is a coock and bull story. Who published this nonsense.This is not the whole story

• kodi 11 years ago

brother sorry to you it happen to me three years ago.akwaba may God help you

• YD 11 years ago

I do not believe this. Check with your facts first?

• p.tosh 11 years ago

ehii npp.is in media war.since 4 months now always read ghana web.only propaganda medias.nana Akufo.your media war is premachure.

• aniba 11 years ago

Release the goods without fail NDC . Why are you lot hampering busainess developments.

• norvisi 11 years ago

look at this liar too, so you do the wrong thing then associate yourself to a political party.

• cuuh!. 11 years ago

This is all that ndc are capable of doing. "Destroying". Instead of helping the entrepreneurs to grow, they rather destroyed them. From Tata brewery to Akufo Ado. Curse! ndc.

• Jenny 11 years ago

I won't stop saying that the foundation of NDC is evil, envy, jealousy, rape, maim, burning, destruction, satanic, below animal bunch morons. FACT. It does not matter who runs the country.

• mumuni bawuni 11 years ago

u are myopic, do u know that under kuffuour not only the businesses of opponents suffered but even whole tribes suffered, that does not however call for tit for tat!

• Jenny 11 years ago

You can find job if you're Asante or Akyem. You can't create job if you're Akyem or Asante. You can't run a business if you carry similar name to any politician who is not in power. Why? These guys brave enough to create bus ...

this is strange!!! in fact this is rather an NPP look alike game and does not in anyway ressemble the NDC at all in anyway.

• Osei Assibey-USA 11 years ago

Someone decides to stay in his God given land to engage in business at home and abroad, and he can't even get his goods out of the Tema Port to make ends meet, in other words, to sell making sure his family survives.

Yet ...

• Kwaku Boateng 11 years ago

Happy you live the USA where there is a saying that ' go tell that to the marines'. You are the marine in this case and would belive any bull shit from Ghana. You just donot know what happens at the Tema port. Donot forget th ...

Someone decides to stay in his God given land to engage in business at home and abroad, and he can't even get his goods out of the Tema Port to make ends meet, in other words, to sell making sure his family survives.

Yet ...

Yet ...

this is strange!!! in fact this is rather an NPP look alike game and does not in anyway ressemble the NDC at all in anyway.

• Pepe/Ntafuo & Proud!! USA 11 years ago

Why did you import under your own name and not the company name. You screwed up. As a business man you have to learn to put imports under your business name not try to cheat the government.

• ghana is a rubbish country 11 years ago

hey where is mahama to intervene into this matter? why ghana is going this way? unlawful and criminal seizure of goods,, why? ghana is rubbish country.

Yet ...

Yet ...

Yet ...

Yet ...

• Aaron 11 years ago

Ghana Ghana why very soon we Will blow de orns on leardrs

• Frank Mensah, Tikobo No. 2 11 years ago

Instead of getting an NDC card, he should have changed his name to Dominic Alhassan Mahama. That is the cohort Jerry Rawlings has implanted in Ghana, with the help of the stupidity of Ghanaians who continue to vote this murde ...

• KOMOO FRANCE. 11 years ago

Shame unto the silly president mahama and the ndc.

• ADELE PALMAS 11 years ago

ARRANT NONSENSE ,THIS IS PURE POLITICS.
    WHAT HAS THIS GOT TO DO WITH THE FLAGBE-
    OF THE NPP.

• Kojo 11 years ago

All of you commenting on this issue are suffering from myopia. You people have to call on Ghana Revenue (Customs) to come out for their side of the story or you do your own enquiry before contributing. Party politics is killi ...

• paa 11 years ago

Akufo Addo, name is the best name

• Future Judge 11 years ago

This guy may not be telling the truth. There is something fishy about this story. The police or the harbor authorities will be the right source of the truth in this assertion. He may be telling a lie. Even the press, if they ...

• Future Judge 11 years ago

This man's name is not familiar with Agona nativity. It might had been forged hence this man's problems. Above all $163,000 worth of imports by this man is a huge money we are talking about here. So jumping to conclusion and ...

• NO WAR 11 years ago

HEY AKUFO ADDO,CURSE THEM.BO WOM DUA

• Steve 11 years ago

Tell the truth

• Justice Wiseman 11 years ago

So you general mosquito,Asiedu Nketia NDC general secretary,after taking Akrantie and 12 yam you could assist the man. You will soon vomit them

• COMANDO 11 years ago

EVEN NANA AKUFO ADDO THE NPP CANDIDATE HIMSELF IMPORT GOODS FROM EUROPE AND ALL OVER THE WORLD IN THAT SAME YEAR U TALKING ABOUT.THERE ARE MANY LIARS HIDING BEHIND THIS STORY. BETTER U TELL THE TRUTH AND BE FREE.

• Kwaku Boateng 11 years ago

Hear another coward. Why do you abet a crime and want public sympathy. let's learn to name and shame. Akufo Addo, please name the so call NDC man who said he is close to the president so that every body would know him. We all ...

• JOHN 11 years ago

Feel sad for this man. A victim of the evil deeds of the greedy bastards. If the matresses are banned, what about the cars. Just pray it does not end up with Alex Segbefia, or his partner in crime Carl Wilson. They will give ...

• Natural Mystic 11 years ago

What has the clearing of goods at ports got to do with one's surname or the poltical party one supports? It appears Ghana is slowly but surely becoming a banana republic (if the story is true). Mr. Dominic Akufo-Addo, I am sc ...

• Lakunle 11 years ago

This man is not saying the truth.so what was General mosquito's reaction when he was contacted.

• Kwame USA 11 years ago

Cheap businessman.A liar too.

• THE LORDS 11 years ago

Just because he has same name? Are you people fools? Use you fucking brains and stop molesting the man.

• SEKYERE OWUSU. KSI 11 years ago

This is a hoeless ananse story.Either the journalist is telling us lies or the ma nAkufo Addo has something to hide.This is a bull story.I wouldn´t be suprised if he is paid by the NPP criminals and fake lawyers to put up su ...

• WILLIE 11 years ago

TRAVEL TO USA,CANADA,GERMANY,FINLAND,AUSTRIA,FINLAND AND SOUTH AFRICA.
    INTERESTED PEOPLE SHALL CALL WILLIE ON 0249318847 FOR FURTHER INFO.NO PAYMENT MADE TILL VISA IS SECURED.
    THANKS.

• Kwaku Gbloenawo 11 years ago

Capital NONSENSE!!!! This buffoon must be arrested for being stupid and taking Ghanaians for granted. Can you imagine what will have happened to this fool under a military regime?? The impudence of it, see how freedom is unde ...

• Kwame 11 years ago

THIS IS A FAKE STORY...Loool

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Mr. Man, you are hidding something you are a liar.

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

we have predicted a sorry ass performance of this govt but never imagined the incompetence and corruption was in fact due to plain amateurism . pepeni himself has packed his govt with amateurs , with half his ministers whose ...

• R.Y. M-A 11 years ago

CEPS procedures not only examine names but TIN,(TAX IDENDIFICAION NUMBERS,) Business Registration other IDs etc.

He cannot claim it is ecause of bearing the same name as the Flagbearer of NPP.

USED MATTRESSES ARE BANNE ...

• Anona 11 years ago

that is exactly what they do at Tema when they hasve either stolen something or about to steal from your container. I lost two container at Tema habour containing electrical goods. went to clear my containers from the port pa ...

• Don Blunt 11 years ago

... And return the NDC Membership card dramatically.

• Kwame 11 years ago

Its not a new propaganda because common criminals in both China and Cuba call themselves political prisoners. That is the game they play when caught committing common crimes.

• ALHAJI KUKRUDU 11 years ago

If there are genuine problems for which the goods were seized, eg. ban on used mattresses, disclose it and stop this mischief. Nobody is interested in these your BOGUS and BORLA goods. Are all the CEPS, GRA, GPHA and other co ...

• Mr. Oushuuuuu 11 years ago

What kind of nonsense is this? He should have spoken to media houses 3 years ago and even sued the port for loss of goods.This foolish politics in Ghana must stop,he is Akuffo Addo and so what,so if i get a child by a woman a ...

• oheneba 11 years ago

if this is true hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

• ZONGO BOY 11 years ago

HOW CAN THYIS TALL MAN BE A COUSIN OF AKUFO ADDO. SHAME ON VICTIMISERS.

• Dan 11 years ago

If this is true, the powers that be must wake up. Nana Addo himself has every right to do business let alone a relative or just a name sake.

• BULAALA 11 years ago

There must be something wrong with the imports, is he the only businessman importing such items. Come out with the facts of the matter and stop lying.

• akora oteng 11 years ago

I have faced a similar experience in Ghana in 2011. Ibear the same SURNAME with a current MINISTER and I fell sick on holidays back home in Ghana, Accra and was admitted in hospital. A Houseman asked me if I was related to a ...

• JOE 11 years ago

pay your duty

• T.@ 11 years ago

release the goods to the guy now. what country is this?

• CONCERN CITIZEN 11 years ago

TO YOUR INFORMATION GHANAIANS INTER MARRY,AND ALOT OF US HAVE LIVED WITH OUR SINGLE MOTHERS BEFORE.MANY A TIMES THE RESIDENCE OF A PERSON WILL NOT AUTHOMATICALLY BE RELATED TO HIS NAME GET IT RIGHT.
    WHAT WILL YOU TELL THE AS ...

• Iwan 11 years ago

What a load of rubbish. I won't be supprised if an armed rubber enters a house one day and say, I am the grand uncle of Akufo Addo so allow me to steal.

• KILLER 11 years ago

YOOOOOO.

• CONCERN CITIZEN 11 years ago

GHANAIANS IT SEEM AS IF WE ARE MISSING IT.RAWLINGS CAME AND INDOCTORINATED THE POOR PEOPLE OF THIS NATION,INFACT HE PROMISED HE WILL MAKE THE POOR RICH,HE ALSO SAID THE RICH AND THE POOR WILL BE EQUAL.
    HE CRATED THE IMPRESSI ...

• JJ 11 years ago

A better Ghana for you. How can we move forward with this attitude. God have mercy on poor people. God will punish who ever in involved in this.

• Agonaba 11 years ago

To clear your "Gargantuan goods and walk away fast without persuit",change your name to Wayome and stay away from Akuffo Addo namings,which seems to "scare and trouble others".

• Ama 11 years ago

The title "Suspected Relative of Akuffo Addo in Trouble" or something to that effect may have been better. Journalism in Ghana is going down the drain. It seems everyone is going into 'tabloidic' reporting, because that's wha ...

• Awurade kasa ma wo mma 11 years ago

But they suppose to seized only the used mattress not the other item because the used cars,used lab tops,used sound systems and the used tyres are not ban in this country so I wonder why ur case s different.

• VAQ 11 years ago

GHANA SHOULD AVOID AT ALL COST THE IMPORTATION OF THIS JUNK IN TO THE COUNTRY.THIS IS WHY THEY ARE ALL PISSED ABOUT NDC GOVERNMENT AND PROTESTING ALL OVER THE WORLD. THESE SO CALLED BUSINESS MEN PARADING THE GLOBE TO COLLECT ...

• Sikamanba 11 years ago

The BNI should investigate to the truth of the matter and to find out the man is not trying to dupe his business partners.

• Okai 11 years ago

I wont buy this rubbish.Go to customs and pay your taxes they will give you your goods

• Yaw Buor 11 years ago

Is that what Ghana has come to? Dictator Mahama, your time will end soon.
    I can't believe that this type of politics is played in modern, democratic Ghana.

• Nana Asare 11 years ago

THIS IS GHANA UNDER THE RULE OF ndc.

• Korsah Yorke 11 years ago

So you obtained NDC membership card just to enable you to clear your goods instead of simply paying your assessed duties. Shame on you Mr Akufo Addo you are among the sort of businessmen driving or economy into the 'ZERO' zon ...

• KA AKYIRE 11 years ago

WE ARE TIED OF THESE NEWS. FROM THEIR VILLAGES, THEY EVEN DO NOT UNDERSTAND THE DUTY SYSTEM? JUST BRAGING ALL OVER TO THEIR VILLAGE FOLKS

• Edem/usa.ghana 11 years ago

CEPS Commissioners office always investigates such allegations and clears itself. Just use the right channel and possibly the court.

• Akuffo Addo Rabi 9 years ago

hmmmm....gh for real.wht a country.lets leave all to Jah