Ghanaian returns lost envelope stuffed with $20,000

Read Comments Comments (141)

• Franki 12 years ago

We should pat this guy on the shoulder

• New York/Ghana 12 years ago

Well done Mensah you are really bless bro. i thought I was the only one who can do that, I remember finding a wallet with money and credit cards, I took it home call the police and told them what I found, they came for it and ...

• Jane 12 years ago

Wow, tears rolling down my face reading this. What an outstanding show of honesty! May God continue to bless you in all your ways.

• DANNY 12 years ago

GOD BLESS THIS GREAT GUY !

• Conventional Youth. 12 years ago

Well done Bismark.

• ATTA MENSAH 12 years ago

As always Ashanti honesty.Bismark is an Ashanti.A"kokro deka" would never have returned the money.Look @ what they have and are doing to Ghana's resources and treasury!

• Sir John II 12 years ago

What has tribes got to do with this? No wonder Ashantes believe Okomfo Anokye commanded a golden stool from the skies.

• BOYE 12 years ago

ATTA MENSAH,YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF YOURSELF FOR PORTRAYING SUCH TRIBAL HATRED FOR AN ETHNIC GROUP. ARE YOU TRYING TO SPEAK WELL ABOUT GHANAIANS TO THE OUTSIDE WORLD? I DON'T BLAME YOU BECAUSE I AM SURE YOU ARE NOT EDUCATED ...

• abenaa 12 years ago

you are one of those ignorant people who perpetuate tribalism. What does intergety have to do with someone's tribe? open mindedness will take you a long way in this modern word. Atta mensah, get on with the real world!!!!!!!! ...

• Asaase Aban 12 years ago

Any normal Asante will not returned the money.It's in their DNA. If he were an Asante his first words would be, "God has answered my prayers" since we all know them to be the most "religious" tribe in Ghana.

• Kwadwo Amponsa 12 years ago

Lol!

• WILLIAM 12 years ago

SO MANY GHANAIAN CULTURAL AMBASSADORS OUT THERE. JUST IMAGE IF WE CAN CONTINUE TO BE PATIENT, BUILD OUR INSTITUTIONS AND RULE OF LAW. THE SKY WILL BE THE LIMIT. LONG LIVE GHANA. FORWARD EVER.

• asaase abans right brain 12 years ago

ma guy u for learn sense .. n know that mensah is an asante name.. foolish man

• Nana Kweku Arhin 12 years ago

I think we should stay away from tribalism and foster good relationship among ourselves. Whether he is Kwahu, Ashanti, Ewe or Nzima, it does not matter. What matters is that he is a Ghanaian. Please, let us stop this triba ...

• abenaa 12 years ago

GOOD FOR YOU, NANA KWAKU ARHIN!!!!!!!!

• Proud Ewe 12 years ago

Whether Kwahu, Asante, Dagomba, or Frafra does not matter. I am proud as a Ghanaian.

• ODK 12 years ago

This shows that there are a lot of good people out there.

Thank God that you resisted all temptations and returned the money. May the Almighty God assist you in all your endeavours.

• GHANABA 12 years ago

IF IT WERE TO BE AN ALATA MAN,IT SHOULD BE A DIFFERENT CASE.NA WA NAIJA!

• AGBENYO WISDOM 12 years ago

Am so glad that at least in this economic hardship we still have people who under no circumstances will reap from where they've not sow.or use illegal way to make their money,.Ask yourself if i were him,would i be able to do ...

• lady C 12 years ago

Wow....dont know if I could do that. But I just learned a great lesson.

• Akwele 12 years ago

Well done, Mensah!!

• Bismark Mensah 12 years ago

I work in the parking lot so I know there are cameras all over the place and everything is being recorded tha's why i returned the money.
    I'm over working myself for minimum wage just to save some money to pay the connection ...

• Pepe/Ntafuo & Proud!! Phoenix, USA 12 years ago

These days video surviellances are every where and making most people otherwise tempted, involuntarily honest, a good thing. Only stupid people will take chances. Mensah is not an idiot. Good job Guy!

• Nana K 12 years ago

You're not Bismark Mensah.

• NEVERMINDMYNAME 12 years ago

Yes, but for God sake accept a financial token of thanks. you deserve it my brother. Manna from Heaven is now being returned to God. lol

• GHANA,MAN 12 years ago

WHAT IF IT WAS A NIGERIAN? WHAHALA ABI?

• Kwamena 12 years ago

It take someone full of the Spirit of God to do what this young man has done,and he is one of those people making good name for our nation GHANA.

• Dave, UMaT-Tarkwa 12 years ago

Well done, God would also reward u

• Nana 12 years ago

You made Ghana proud. You ve made us all proud.

• Evans 12 years ago

HE IS A TRUE GHANAIAN. IF HE WERE TO BE HAVING A NAME LIKE IBRAHIM, MUSA, MAHAMA RASHID, AGBEKO, KPEGAH, BRAIMAH, ETC. ETC. ... LAILAI !!!, THAT MONEY WOULD HAVE REACHED GHANA BY THE NEXT PLANE. LET US GRANT THIS GOOD MENSAH, ...

• Aborted babe 12 years ago

Sorry you have misfired .You do not knik=ow who are the true sincere people in your nation.Sincerirty has nothing to do with tribe.
    You have a mental deficiency calling some tribes as dishonest.
    Find out those who are mixin ...

• Max 12 years ago

You are a big fool, do u call yourself a Ghanaian and don't forget your father is from Mali a Zabarma man like you, go ask your grandparents we couldn't different you and Grasscutters bcos you were both living holes with tail ...

• Fii 12 years ago

You can't be serious. Even derogatory words (eg Ntafuo)coined by other groups in GH depict the communal life of the north rather than the prevalence of selfish individualism. At the risk of overstating my case, but compared t ...

• melody asamoah boateng 12 years ago

thats really good.. a lesson to all..HONESTY AND INTERGRITY will take us places we never imagined.cuddos to you,Mensah.God Bless you.

• Festus Addai 12 years ago

Yes, A NAME is better than GOOD OIL that says Ecclesiastes chap.7:1.So MENSAH ,THE BLESSING OF JEHOVAH-that is what makes rich,and He adds no pain to it.Move ahead!

• Jaiden Serbeh 12 years ago

He is a v v v v v v v very faithful and a Truthful person . I had wish GOD to give him all His wishes now . AMEN AND AMEN

• Natural Mystic 12 years ago

Bismark, a million thanks for trying in your own little way to brighten the lives of others with your broad smile. Regarding not keeping the $20 000, what can one say? "Don't gain the world (material things) and lose your sou ...

• Nana Asare 12 years ago

Mensah WILL BE ONE OF THE RICHEST TO BLESSED BY GOD IN THE NATION GHANA

• Benny 12 years ago

What about Ghanaian who take dor to dor and never hand them to your family

• BENNY 12 years ago

GOD WILL GREATLY REWARD YOU .

• Kojo Samla 12 years ago

You are really a great man. May The Lord bless you a million-fold.

• JK 12 years ago

In these hard times, a bright star in the ever growing universe!

May God richly bless you and continue to protect and reward you, Bismark Mensah, for your generous spirit and kindness to others.

Mr. Mensah's humility i ...

• TT 12 years ago

NO ONE WILL BE ABLE TO SPEND MONEY WHEN WE LEAVE THIS WORLD. GOOD NAME IS BETTER THAN RICHES. THIS IS WHAT OUR IGNORANT, GREEDY, CORRUPT POLITICIANS MUST LEARN RATHER THAN STEALING.

• KWAME OWUSU 12 years ago

have you found nana addo,s missing certificate? bring it for 1000 pesewas please

• Banks 12 years ago

Mensah be a smart boy ..... enough of village life .........

• lady C 12 years ago

hahahahahaha why do you say that? funny comment though.

• VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTION 12 years ago

Why can't we do that in Ghana to help each other. We try to portray this in foreign lands but not in our country.We try to fast taking when it is not in our disposal back n ghana.

• Nana Poku, Essex 12 years ago

My brother, I did that in Ghana but did not want publicity. I had traveled from Kumasi to Accra in a VIP early in the morning in Nov 2010.It was wednesday. As I was about to come off at the Neoplan station, I noticed the next ...

• JH-New York City 12 years ago

Voluntary Contribution,U do not know what you are talking about.I have done that two times in Ghana working as an Accounts Officer in one of GIHOC Divisions.In that case I refused to write a note to seal of the deal.Money whi ...

• bx.bomber!! 12 years ago

very good mensah GOD BLESS YOU because some people would've kept it.

• STRUGGLING MAN 12 years ago

What about if a poor,jobless person had seen it and kept it for himself thinking that it was a gift from God.Would that have amounted to stealing or dishonesty on the part of the poor,jobless person?

• JK 12 years ago

Struggling man,
    In most places in the US the expectation is that 'found' money is to be turned over to the police.

The police will hold the money to see if the rightful owner will come and collect. However, there is a s ...

• STRUGGLING MAN 12 years ago

JK,thanks a lot for your interesting comment.I wrote the comment to know how people will react to such a possible scenario.The 'finder's keeper'rules also apply here in the United Kingdom.

• papillon 12 years ago

thanks for creating a good picture about us and I hope our fellow brothers from West Africa will emulate this move.

• Anona 12 years ago

this guy is a one in a million gahnaian. start with the MPs, very few people will do this.

• JK 12 years ago

Start with the MPs?
    We wish they will do something.

Let's not forget that in the recent salary adjustments from 3,000 Cedis to 7,000 monthly salaries, only Samia Nkrumah is reported to have indicated that she would give ...

• Pp 12 years ago

just asking - ???

• Kojo 12 years ago

People had the chance to vote for a better party and they choosed non performing, insensitive and cruel politicians. Only CPP members care about the people. Next time make sure you and all your family and friends vote CPP.

• James B. Otafregya 12 years ago

This reminds of what I recently read about a beggar who returned a weddin ring worth US$ 7.0000

The owner started an internet action for the dude and within a week, she had over US$ 250.000 for the man!

God Bless You!

• foster lee 12 years ago

Mensah had opened the doors of happiness & riches from the unknown word into his life.It's not the mansion that u live in brings good life to u,it's state of mind.

• Chas 12 years ago

Good Guy. Keep it up. This is the type of stories i love to read.

• TITUGRI 12 years ago

Brother Bismark Mensah can teach a lesson or two to our so-called leaders in Ghana government; especially the MPs. In Ghana our politicians in both the executive and legislature are busy lining their pockets with STOLEN money ...

• Kyekyeku 12 years ago

I wish I knew him back home to help me with my projects there. My own brothers I cannot trust . I gave them the opportunity to handle my projects back home for a year and they almost collapse my business. You are a God fearin ...

• CANES 12 years ago

NANA ADDO WULDNT HAVE RETURNED THE MONEY N CONCEDE DEFEAT UNTIL HIS ALL DIE BE DIE AMBITION IS UPHOLD....

• Odasanyi, 12 years ago

YOU HAVE MADE GHANA PROUD!!!

• Richard 12 years ago

GOOD deeds really pays young man. Continue to fear God and he will reward you.This is just the beginning of your greatness....

• Kwame. 12 years ago

Thank you for making Ghana proud. God bless you, you will surely realized your dreams.

• ASA 12 years ago

God Bless u!! and may he give the same strength to be honest should this happen to me!!

• Agonaba 12 years ago

May God grant you 100 fold in future just for you.

• obaapa 12 years ago

well done Mensah,God will increase you.

• DANIEL COFFIE 12 years ago

MENSAH KEEP UP WITH A GOOD JOB.

• kd 12 years ago

good job,God bless u

• Kofi Ameko 12 years ago

hahahahahahahhaaaaaaaaaa!

Definitely Not NPP member.

Leave me alone.

• Wofa 12 years ago

If we could get 10%, just 10% of our Parliamentarians to be this honest, Ghana will be Great.

• elikem 12 years ago

bless u mensah!

• THE MASK 12 years ago

Excellent Mensah. God will surely reward you.

• Agyakwa 12 years ago

If this guy earned$ 9.19anhr,after deduction, what will be his takehome pay? Dontlet this miscalculation mar the beauty of the story.

• RA 12 years ago

It was out of fear because of camera coverage.

• Kofi 12 years ago

People commit crimes in spite of the cameras.

• BEST 12 years ago

First time I have read comments on Ghanaweb which are not insulting. I am happy. Excellent marks for all the commentators. Please keep it up. God bless!

• NED 12 years ago

you are honest.come and be the president of ghana so that ghana's resources can be protected.

• AbasZ 12 years ago

Mensah is an Npp man from Ehayia.

• SUMBRUNGU 12 years ago

I.m kind of figuring out if Ghana had some 5million Mensahs on whom she could count what a great nation she would be! A worthy ambassador of our great motherland. Congrats brotherman.

• Naijaman 12 years ago

Nigerians do anything it takes to get rich. I bet if a Nigerian found this, he would have kept it.

• majid 12 years ago

Ofcourse because they are not slave like you fools.........Your police,customs are stealing cocaine and mercury there in their custody...........the guys knew camera was on him and there was no way he can steal the money..... ...

• Northern Concern 12 years ago

Maybe he would not have known about the cameras since he is new to the US. He even declined dinner and a "wife"!

• Kk 12 years ago

A person who is honest has his reward with God.this story is very touching and lesson for all of us to follow.

• sammy 12 years ago

Thank you Mensah for some positive news about a Ghanaian. I am very proud of you sir.

• CT Padmore 12 years ago

Continue to be good and GOD will definitely reward you.Well done BM!
    Stay blessed.

• odame julian 12 years ago

bro u make us proud,i got alot of tears from reading this stuff,u may get GOD fearing man like this ones in a thousands,blessed u are bro.

• CT Padmore 12 years ago

You will one day have a position in the Ghana Government to help the country.Honesty goes a log way Keep up the good work.
    Stay blessed

• FOYOOSIS 12 years ago

Come on guys, be real, how long have most of you been living in that bloody cold winter, working 9 to 5? Stop justifying Mensah's gesture and face reality. The truth is that a lot of guys over there would not have done what ...

• aniba 12 years ago

Well done. Yours blessing is fast approaching.

• Well done Mensah 12 years ago

Well done Mensah

• Kofi 12 years ago

Mensah, honesty is still the best policy. Blessed is the womb that bore you and the breasts that suckled you. Your mother must be very proud of you.

• ABEEKU, PORT ELIZABETH,SOUTH AFRICA. 12 years ago

GOD bless u brother.

• SENYO 12 years ago

THANK GOD. A FEW GOOD GHANAIANS EXIST

• tom yonkers 12 years ago

Ja bless!! Thanks to our mothers who raise u,u're such a sources to learn from.May the good Lord whom u serve continue to bless and shine ur name in all conners of the woirld.

• KWASI APONKYI 12 years ago

and your brothers are selling dog chains and akrantie meat onthe streets of poor Ghana.
    (enti kwasia da so wo wiase?)

• Otekokoooso nana. 12 years ago

no wander your name is Aponkye, okromfo).

• KOLOOKO-JAPAN 12 years ago

GOD WILL REWARD YOUR EFFORTS. KEEP IT Up

• Ruth, Canada 12 years ago

After reading so many negative things on ghanaweb, it is so satisfying and fulfilling to read this marvelous act from a humble Ghanaian like Mensah. Well done, Mensah, this shows there is hope in this world after all.

• Concern Ghanian 12 years ago

Ghana politician will take it

• KA AKYIRE 12 years ago

FOR TAKING THE NAME OF GHANA HIGH,MR MENSAH, YOU WILL NEVER COME HOME BARE HANDED. ALMIGHTY GOD WILL INCREASE YOU. AMEN

• KA AKYIRE 12 years ago

I JUST MADE MY LAST SON 14 TO READ THIS PIECE BECAUSE IT IS WORTH NOTING

• EWES COPY THIS GUY 12 years ago

WHILE WOYEMEH DUPED HIS OWN COUNTRY !!!!!!!

• WHILE WOYEMEH SWINDLED GHANA 12 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS PACKED OF THIEVES,READ THIS STORY

• Kobi 12 years ago

Good deeds are always rewarded.

• Kwesi Naah, Florida 12 years ago

Good job bro! Well trained and brought up! "When the Saints go marching in, you and your Mom will be in the number". Bless your heart!

• KwamevAnsah 12 years ago

God bless you in extraordinary ways for generations to come

• Regor 12 years ago

Ghanaians are honest God fearing people eventhough we have certain individuals that spoils that.But generally, even in the UK we are known for that.
    I am not surprised because I am more capable of doing just that.
    God bless ...

• Abena Gymfua 12 years ago

Yeah, this is a Ghanaian that is who we are. Very honest and respectful to everybody we come into contact with.

Let's keep it up!

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 12 years ago

Ghanaian culture at it's best. There are many other very decent Ghanaians in the diaspora, who are adhering to their cultural upbringing, and are conducting themselves honorably. Nice job Brother Bismark Mensah.

• Noah 12 years ago

Am not surprised that God is blessing Bismark, If you really know this guy you will understand that he will never keep that money. He is a very God fearing Guy. Bro God Bless you.

• kofi 12 years ago

The president of Ghana have to reward him for making GHANA proud.

• Mohammed Awuni 12 years ago

why does good things like this never happen to me ... I would have taken the money and quit the job

• Paul 12 years ago

Hahaha Mohammed Awuni your name tells it all,you would have taking the money quite the job and plant bomb to blow up the whole WALMART so that there will be no trace.

• Osei Kweku 12 years ago

This guy will make it to the top nothing will stop him.

• Bawa 12 years ago

If he is an Akan he return it because of the camara·s around.we know them .

• angela 12 years ago

God bless u

• ISSAH 12 years ago

A real Ashanti with names like Evans, Mensah, kweku, kwame asmoa,asante,kofi,.Will never return that envelope or will return it because of the camara.

• Vodoo Xebieso 12 years ago

What is your problem? You're simply being stupid. Someone showed a very high level of honesty, and here you are, a fool for that matter, saying rubbish.

You are a dishonest idiot.

• beatrice 12 years ago

i like mensah and the favour of God is upon him.he will surely go far.i agree with you dont take what is yours

• Oman Ba 12 years ago

He must be a Christian. Only true Christians do this.

• BRUCE ESHUN 12 years ago

GOD SEND HIM THERE 4 AMERICANS AND THE WHOLE WORLD TO KNOW HOW GHANIANS SERVE THE LORD OUR GOD.

• sam 12 years ago

guys let us stop all these name calling and rather learn something from this young man. some years back , in london, i was entering a car when my wallet fell out my pocket- it contained cash, credit cards , and other document ...

• clarence cudjoe 12 years ago

this is a true a ghanaian not everyone will do this,well done and folks remember that money is not everything it is only a means to an end, our MPs must learn to give and not to be receiving all the time, good name is better ...

• Essy 12 years ago

He has redeem the image of our dear nation...

• Bawa Osman 12 years ago

Hi, bro. i could not hold tears back from my eyes when i read the story.i am very proud of you as a Ghanaian just like many other welmeaning Ghanaians. My bless you for projecting the name of Ghana in the postive.

Thank yo ...

• Dolland Kelly 12 years ago

Proud to be African,that what our culture teaches us....a 22 years old man still respects his parents in Africa.

• RA 12 years ago

Are you sure he was aware that the envelop was stuffed with huge sum of money ?.

• solomon 12 years ago

nice...gud kid..

• ASIEDU NKETIAH,JR(USA) 12 years ago

None of the whites or black American would return this money.If you live in USA for 20 years,you cannot even save this money.I guess this guy is very new in the system the reason he returned the money.There will be a time tha ...

• Wayome 12 years ago

Please Wayome, also return your own

• vl 12 years ago

You see, I am not a dishonest guy. But I would have put the money into my education. If someone has enough money to leave 20K lying around, then there's plenty where that came from. I don't like making $9 an hour before taxe ...

• Kremkraker 12 years ago

Another positive deed by a Ghanaian that's proof we still have some 'men of integrity' out there. AYEKOO, Braa Mensah!

• MUNI 12 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU MENSAH!!!!!

• Kofi 12 years ago

Thank you Bismark.
    When I saw the headline my fisrt instinct was Oh what a fool and catch myself and asked myself what if I am the unfortunate person who lost/misplaced his/her money. If you have compassion for your fellow ...

• afua 12 years ago

well done my brother,u are truly an honest.may God bless u.

• Prosper Asempapa 12 years ago

Good name is better than gold.