You are here: HomeNews2013 04 05Article 270023

Legon students fight VC over feeding policy

Read Comments Comments (40)

• Zoobie-Zoobie 11 years ago

students or the administration... drop out if you do not want/like the food policy

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

We the Legon Alumni are behind you 100%. The Ashanti boys who want to eat feacal matter should move to UST and eat goat shit.

• JATO 11 years ago

You need Oil charge in your brians to think right.

• GEGE 11 years ago

Oh!But why?

• ghanaba 11 years ago

your so sencesless person i ever seen in this world ashanties will not eat because we have a choice not slaves like you who have no where to go or nothing to say just master master things you can do.

• Nii 11 years ago

This seems to be an international standard being brought to the premier university. The Prof should be encouraged to proceed with laudable idea without turning back.

Those students who are protesting can refuse to particip ...

• Jammine 11 years ago

USeless and needless suggestion. Who wants a plan meal? Better look for ways to improve upon the books in the library and stop this s***. I know the wise guys up there will never fall this "thing".

• william 11 years ago

They should go home and follow distant education with faecal food and allow the VC and his team modernize campus!!!!Very unvanda-like conduct. Vandals are supposed to be progressive and not obstructionist and retrogressive!!!

• EFO 11 years ago

USELESS VC, HIS ONLY INTENTION IS TO STEAL MONEY FROM POOR STUDENTS

• Kwame 11 years ago

Why look for trouble where there is none? Just allow the students to feed themselves, after all they are adults and not kids.

• the truth 11 years ago

you are a bully and a coward!

• yaro 2 11 years ago

please am not an Ashanti but am not hapi with how u r adresin them.Thanks

• Before & After 11 years ago

Someone should ask the choirmaster if waakye will be served as breakfast. some people prefer kenkey, waakye, or yo k3 gari for breakfast. They should also be ready to accept those who can take 4balls of kenkey, or even fetch ...

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

Sorry, breakfast will be corn flakes, milk, tea and a slice of bread -- no waakye or kenkey, they are too heavy. Habaah, we go starve keke !

• Kolo 11 years ago

this is a very perfect plan i think,,it was there 30 years ago,i wish we had this plan during our time in 90s and 2000s. perfect plan.

• Mr. Oushuuuuu 11 years ago

Bringing back policies of the good old days,its a good idea and must be part of the user fees.If you feel you don't want to eat from the cafeteria you can eat outside at your own cost.I still eat at the hall cafeteria anytime ...

• Me 11 years ago

When you graduate from Legon with little knowledge of what is nutritious for your body, you are are nothing! This is why those manning the nation do not care about the unhygienic, deplorable food vending culture in Ghana!

• NAT 11 years ago

THE LECTURE HOUR VARIES AND THE CUMMUTING DISTANCE BETWEEN THE HALLS AND THE LECTURE HALLS WILL POSE A PROBLEM.

• JOE KOLOLO 11 years ago

LOng Live Baaba Bachus!

• Ras Juvas 11 years ago

This means more financial burden for parents. How will they take care of student with special food needs? They should rather get the FDB to regulate and monitor food vendors on campus

• Zip Up 11 years ago

University as is School Of Thought I don't see the elements of Intellectual Qualities Display by VC of Legon in His plan to change the way and manner these Mature Students feed themselves for ages till now,His plan of changes ...

• Kaff 11 years ago

can the professor tell us statistics of sicked students and deaths arising out of the food they eat from the Night Market?
    The conditions under which those foods are prepared could be no different from what majority of them ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Colo mentality

• TOP 11 years ago

I disagree with AYITEEY

• OFORI BENJAMIN 11 years ago

THANK YOU FOR THIS PLAN GOD BLESS YOU,WE REALLY LIKE THE IDEA.

• Kennedy Sedem 11 years ago

The university authority have identify the problem of hygiene but in an attempt to solving it will create another. Some student needs only a place to lay their head. An addition of that cost well only shy away student.it is a ...

• EFO 11 years ago

CORRUPTION IN DISGUISE, THIS USELESS VC WILL USE HIS CRONIES TO STEAL POOR STUDENTS MONEY,

• Buuch 11 years ago

A quarter of a century ago, when the PNDC regime decided to abolish the then feeding system, students tried to fight back to resist the move. 25 years on, students are again fighting back to resist the very same thing they di ...

• Analyst 11 years ago

It is actually a pity for students at such a young age to be allowed to feed on their own. Their feeding provides a big market for vendors to do business. And one good thing about this is that, there is food variety and affor ...

• Ama 11 years ago

As far as I know, 'the good old days' did not involve students paying anything to be fed; and I heard the food was good. I believe the students are kicking against the idea b'cos of the compulsion to pay. I believe it would b ...

• Kwadwo 11 years ago

The VC conducted a self serving "fecal food contaminated" study. It is obvious the University wants to take over the food vending business . How many cases of cholera has been reported in Legon for the past 20 years?

• Osei Yao 11 years ago

THEUSUAL LAZY ACADEMIC TALK. THE VC CANNOT GIVE FIGURES FOR THE MEALS BECAUSE HE HAS NOT DONE HIS HOMEWORK. HE JUST HEARD AN IDEA AND WENT ON THE RADIO TO ANNOUNCE IT. HOW MUCH CONSULTATION WENT INTO HIS PLAN? WHO DID HE CONS ...

• Kofi Karikari 11 years ago

Some time ago we went on demonstration to prevent the implementation of payment of school fees in the Universities.We were led by the current minister of Trades, Hon Haruna Iddrisu.The demonstration did not work.Rather what w ...

• Ex Vandal 11 years ago

its great the feeding policy is about to be reintroduced. Bravo VC

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

HOW DO YOU EXPECT PUBLIC UNIVERSITY STUDENTS IN THE COUNTRY TO BE FED BY FOOD VENDORS AT THE UNIVERSITY CAMPUS

DID THE VICE CHANCELLOR WHO RECEIVED HIS FURTHER EDUCATION OUTSIDE GHANA EVER EXPERIENCED THAT WHILE IN GERMA ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 11 years ago

The University lays down the policies and students are expected to abide by them.The University feeding students on campus is the right policy and should stick to it.Students who do not like the policy should advise themselve ...

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

This should not be a problem at all.
    The meal plan should be optional.

• sam, Bern 11 years ago

This is great and will ask all students to support it and nit give it a name like we do in GH and kill it.

It is the Profs initiative to bring the school to International standard and the good old day.

This will make t ...

• AKRANTIE SELLER 11 years ago

WE MUST ALWAYS THINK OF THE GRADUATES WE PRODUCE. SOON THEY WILL BE IN PARLIAMENT MAKING LAWS FOR THE NATION. SOME LIKE TO EAT SHIT BECAUSE THEY ARE USED TO AKRANTIE BINI. BUT THERE IS DIFFERENCE BETWEEN AKRANTIE BINI AND WHA ...

• Kennedy Nyadzie 11 years ago

And how are they going to feed the non resident students on this program?