You are here: HomeNews2013 04 04Article 269887

Ghana: Best electricity access in Africa - VRA

Read Comments Comments (106)

• GHANABA1 11 years ago

How do these criminals understand by the word "BEST" ? When did the word best turned out it's meaning if i am not mistaken? What do our leaders take us for? They know how to talk but not how to deliver

• Onipa, USA 11 years ago

This is truly nonsensical. Being the “best” among the worst or the mediocre is not the proper way to measure the effectiveness or efficiency of VRA’s operations. Considering the resources – labor and capital – poure ...

• OZA 11 years ago

The fact that someone's Toyota has only one wheel does not mean the one who has three wheels has a better car. They ALL CANNOT be driven. Stupid reasoning from the VRA!

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

If what is happening in Ghana is better than that in several other African countries, then we are doomed and must sit down and re-think our STUPIDITY.

• GHANA 11 years ago

UNTIL WE VISIT OTHER COUNTRIES; WE WILL NOT RESPECT WHAT WE HAVE TODAY IN GHANA

• JATO 11 years ago

HIP HIP HULEEEE!GHANA A DE SECOND,AFTER BEEN THE FIRST NATION UNDER THE SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA TO GAIN INDEPENDENCE AND WITH ALL THE WATER RESOUCES.WHEN WILL BARURI RENTED PAPER STOP THE PROPAGANDA AND FACE FACTS.P/NDC HAVE SET G ...

• Conventional Youth. 11 years ago

When will Africa start exploiting their enormous solar potentials?

• Taliban3 11 years ago

That is all Ghanaians know. Comparing themself with the worst in the chain

Stupid analysis

• pachiko 11 years ago

Who is this man Awotwe and NDC fooling. Taking Ghanaians for fool. Is that all the Mahama government can come up with lack of solutions but analysis. Oh what a country.Mahama don't try to play games withthe lives 25 million G ...

• Asem 11 years ago

This is the nest elucidation ever.

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 11 years ago

My neighbour or predecessor did it that way therefore why must the public blame us for doing the wrong thing ? Can we ever look at the horizon and aim at things beyond ? Our leaders lack sense of initiation and developmental ...

• Big mouth 11 years ago

onipa thank you,well said.These guys have to learn to account for the poor services they offer for so much money.

• MENSAH 11 years ago

They must do better and not to entrench or settle for mediocrity.Because,in their best state,in the midst of plenty,GHANA IS STILL POWER SUPPLY BROKE.

• Kwaku Tee 11 years ago

That is how far public/civil servants & politicians have taken us,they underestimate the intelligence of the people they are serving.Thank God we are not in places like Estonia or Latvia.

• fulani 11 years ago

Apiiiiitoooo, why are these people always boastful of sub sahara shit but in reality nothing is happening.

They did these untill KENYA should them that they're nothing and yet they're still bragging.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

Ghana should strive to be the best and therefore it is not necessary to compare Ghana to Nigeria and other West African countries. Ghana needs regular and stable supply of energy for sustainabale socio-economic development an ...

• Another African Patriot 11 years ago

You are a disgrace to Ghana and the Black race. You undoubtedly represent a low-achiever who is happy with mediocrity. The Osagyefo turned in his grave with your speech.

• CONCERNED CITIZEN 11 years ago

EXCUSE ME!!, WHOEVER WROTE THIS ARTICLE IS EITHER VERY STUPID, BLINDLY IGNORANT OR HAS NO SENSE OF JUDGEMENT..HOW CAN YOU REFER TO FREQUENT BLACKOUTS AND POWER CUTS THAT OCCUR EVERYDAY,WHICH IS DAMAGING BUSINESSES AND PROPERT ...

• anokwale 11 years ago

Typical attempt to excuse bad service. How come we do not strive for the best? Why would he say such a thing?

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 11 years ago

NPP did it that way therefore why nust the public blame us for doing the wrong thing ? Can we ever look beyond the horizon and aim at things beyond ? We are stuck in comparative exercises cushioning our effortless behaviour o ...

• Mr. Objective 11 years ago

Whether we insult Mr Awotwi or not facts still remain what the are simply facts. We should learn to count our blessings be they big or small. This should give us encouragement to strive towards the best. God Bless Our Homelan ...

• diaba k 11 years ago

Mr Objective, one can not compare apple to orange since they are different fruits.

Nigeria has a population of about 150million as compared to Ghana so there is no basis to compare the access of electricity of the two coun ...

• Ajit Babu 11 years ago

So what do you want Ghanaians to do Mr. stupid Awotwi? Come to salute you and your lazy VRA employees or what?

• Sky Chicago 11 years ago

Awotwe would you shut your mouth with those concocted figures.You have no shame.

• Terry 11 years ago

When the nation aspires to be one of the best , this foolish uneducated common man compares the current situation with some of the worst countries in Africa and draws satisfaction from it. In any event access to electricity ...

• nimoh-boateng 11 years ago

Awotwi has a BS in Electrical Engineering from Yale, and an MBA from Stanford.

He could be deemed educated.

• Kwasi Miezah, Western Region 11 years ago

I don't believe anyone with such credentials will be so foolish to make such comments. We need to check his certificates to make sure they don't belong to someone else.

• Akua 11 years ago

Utter nonsense!

• Bob 11 years ago

The VRA boss is sick from the head. Stop this stupid shit and let Ghanaians think of themselves.Do you know the meaning of the word BEST.Shame unto you and and the entire VRA.Thieves.

• goodguy 11 years ago

That is all some stupid web commentators always do,always criticizing every issue.they will never make any constructive suggestion.Empty barrel makes the loudest noise,leave it to them to sort out themselves and they will rui ...

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 11 years ago

What an insult to the continent of Africa. Unfortunately, Ghana which was the first is despicably not even among the first 20 best today in Africa. May be VRA's first is comparing to their ill organized corruptly managed NEPA ...

• yaw owusu 11 years ago

If we on top in terms from the bottom so we are happy. We are truly a third world country.

• jojo akorful 11 years ago

as usual we compare ourselves and end up with excuses based on mediocrity. cant we for the love of God aspire to perform better than others. Always saying we are even better off if we compare to non performers. Lighten up

• KA 11 years ago

This man,Awotwe is living in a FOOL,S PARADISE.He feels complacent with his figures,while we suffer.SHAME ON HIM!

• Sam 11 years ago

It is a big surprise to hear this from tha VRA boss. Is he lying to mus or what.
    If Egypt and Tunisia are able to harness wind power, what is stopping Ghana from doing the same. The VRA can partner the private sector or Go ...

• Jenny 11 years ago

What is your yardstick, Awokwe? Blow your horns in your backward environment. Cheap stats.

• Jenny 11 years ago

This guy has no shame.

• kodwo kuwornul 11 years ago

they starve you of what you have paid for and have no idea how to perform and yet they always take the moral high ground that we are better than others who if we applied ourselves to what we promise we wont have to lie about ...

• Alex 11 years ago

This stupid Awotwi guy is a non-performer. Sack him immediately. The Whole VRA is a disgrace to the nation

• Sammy odei (secientis) Kenya 11 years ago

This guy is living in his dreams. Dose this person really knows what source of energy that Kenya uses? look Kenya is using an advance thecnology not hydro to run its electicity.
    Kenya uses steam, and power is not interupted ...

• Kooby 11 years ago

Nonsense. First, I do not believe this is true. But even if it is should that make the situation in Ghana acceptable? One more insult to the intelligence of Ghanaians

• YS 11 years ago

GHANAIAN MANAGERS MUST STOP COMPARING THEMSELVES WITH OTHER POOR COUNTRIES AND CONCENTRATE ON DEVELOPING OUR GOD GIVEN RESOURCES TO THE BEST OF OUR CAPABILITIES. WE SHOULD STOP PRAISING OURSELVES ON OUR MODEST ACHIEVEMENTS AN ...

• SIMON 11 years ago

HE SHOULD LOOSE HIS JOB FOR SUCH A STATEMENT BECAUSE HE IS OBIOUSLY NOT TAKING THE SITUATION SERIOUS ENOUGH TO EFFECT MEANINGFUL CHANGE. SO HE MUST BE REPLACED WITH SOMEONE WHO IS MORE SERIOUS DO IT NOW!!

• NANDOS 11 years ago

Are you [Chemical ALI] THIS IS BULLSHIT[BEST IN WHAT ? MAYBE DUMSOR DUMSOR

• John, 11 years ago

Agya Kwaku Awotwe! I don't personally agree with you to compare Ghana's electricity access to other African countries, especially Nigeria, where I know very well.

Let me tell you Nigerians' inability to access electricity ...

• YEBOPOWER 11 years ago

GIVE US A BREAK MORONS.

• Mehunu meka nti 11 years ago

Having people with this kind of mindset,is it any wonder that this country is mirred in all these problems?
    Btw, when should we expect your long-awaited 'house-cleaning' exercise to rid our institutions of these deadwood pub ...

• Accra Resident 11 years ago

Mahama, do something to save the nation.

• ablakwa 11 years ago

I do not agree. How can you compare population of Nigeria or South Africa to Ghana.
    How many homes and industries are your powering. Do the maths!

• TK KOMAKOMA 11 years ago

what a nonsense talk does it solve any problem here// ABOA AKOKOBIBA

• jerry ways 11 years ago

Bull shit stop bragen give us light insted!!

• NII 11 years ago

Best electricity indeed, such mediocre minds, Ghana after 50years of independence can't still manage its affairs and somebody is saying we're the best in Africa, such people should be fired and more better brains brought on b ...

• Nonsense Corrector 11 years ago

why is the VRA not playing the role that Solar City (www.solarcity.com who's mission is to become the largest electricity utility in the world) is doing in the US, simply by being an electricity utility that is an upfront sys ...

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

THE INEFFICIENCIES IN THE SYSTEM ARE TOO MUCH - WAKE UP GHANA & STOP THE USELESS COMPARISON.

• Kwaku Joe 11 years ago

This kwaku Awotwe think we are still in the sixties. This is one of the reasons Burkina Faso knocked Black Star out in the nations cup. Ghana is a fortunate nation to be way better than where we are now.

• kwam 11 years ago

Why is our top official justifying our under development in Africa, why can't the VRA boss compare Ghana with the Asians Countries, we are tired with these comparisms which leads to inefficiency in our public institutions.

• KA-DA 11 years ago

Hi,
    What a PATHETIC case! OUR TECHNOCRATS HAVE TURNED POLITICIANS AND THE POLITICIANS HAVE TURNED TECHNOCRATS. Why shouldn't the country suffer?

Such a shame that Mr. Kweku Awotwe wouldn't even compare our electricity sup ...

• ANDYA 11 years ago

How can you compared Ghana to other countries when there are no jobs in Ghana. Your poor management is costing ghanaian people. Quit your job we will love it.

• Agyaku NYC 11 years ago

The United States had the second largest installed capacity of wind power, after Germany until 2008, when it surpassed Germany with a wind energy capacity of 21000 MW. who care about this bogus paragraph my your business and ...

• Ana 11 years ago

How can this man stoop so low by comparing Ghana with Nigeria and Kenya?!
    Does he mean that we should clap for them for the "dumso-dumso" saga?
    He must resign now!!

• Kojo 11 years ago

What is this useless man taking Ghanaians for?

• Kobi 11 years ago

Does this man have brain in his head?

• Maya 11 years ago

Is this man trying to say because we are better than Nigeria and Kenya we should keep quiet?
    Why didn't he compare us with South Africa?

• Debbie 11 years ago

...MAKE YOU A GIANT.
    How can we ever compete globally if we keep using African standards as our yardstick for measuring success???

• Abba 11 years ago

It is NDC popaganda machine. You have looted the country and you have therefore disgrace former president Rawings.

• Abba 11 years ago

Now the blood of those who were executed in June 4th 1979 Revolution are innocent.

• T.@ 11 years ago

Only an intelligent person would understand this statement. Nkrumah never dies. Thank you for the Akosombo dam.

What statement are you talking about? Nkrumah did a lot but we've failed to improve upon what he did. We have many vision-minded Ghanaians like Nkrumah who could do even greater things than Nkrumah if given the chance.

HE NEEDS TO VISIT NEARBY IVORY COAST THAT EVEN HAD A CIVIL WAR. THEY HAVE BETTER ELECTRICITY ACCESS AND INFRASTRUCTURE. YOU CAN'T EVEN COMPARE ACCRA TO ABIDJAN. THIS GUY IS AN ILLITERATE.

• Anima 11 years ago

I have never heart such an idiotic statement in my life. We are better than which and what country. My CEO, if you do not know your job, resign, Our aim is not to be better than other african countries, we are to be the best ...

• Kweku Boateng 11 years ago

This is an incompetent man, lacks vision and President Mahama must send him packing. What an insult to Ghana!Compare Ghana to Portugal or Spain, not Nigeria.
    Awotwe, FYI, this is what the UK is doing to partly supply her po ...

• Accra Resident 11 years ago

What kind of stupidity is this? There is no infrastructure in Ghana to boast of. We need electricity to power industries, railway network, clean water, agriculture, etc. Being a power hub for the region with mere 2000MW is la ...

• NANA BONSU 11 years ago

Let us cut out that nonsense of "better than our neighbors" We need to step up to a better class than celebrate our ignoble wallowing in mediocrity. If it were left to the vulture, everybody will be eating .....

• MANAF LARRY 11 years ago

this is a big disgrace to our country we have means to to more and we compering our selves to other countries what a big shame ghanaians

• blackstar 11 years ago

Don't mean it's true!!!!!

• Chris Kwame Awuyah 11 years ago

Being best in Africa is not good enough. Actually it is not even necessary to be best in Africa. Just be best in providing regular electricity. Be best with your responsibility of supplying uninterrupted power. That's all tha ...

• TIMMY 11 years ago

Don't use other African countries as a benchmark to measure yourself. Compare yourself with some European countries so that we will know that you are doing the right thing. LAZY staff.

• HONESTNEST GOD IS MY JUDGE 11 years ago

THERE IS NO NEED CAMPARING GH TO OTHER COUNTRIES JUST FIX THE PROBLEM.

• MENSAH 11 years ago

If all these POWER PROBLEMS GHANA FACES,she is still the first in the SUB-SAHARAN AFRICAN COUNTRIES,in terms of power supply,then AFRICA has a huge problem in BACKWARDNESS AND INNOVATION.I am very supprised at this very infor ...

• Dave 11 years ago

Mr man can you also give this statistics to the journalist:
    1. Nigeria generates 4,500 MW (biggest in West Africa) against 1600MW of electricity by Ghana.
    2. Nigeria has over 10 generating power stations as against about 5 ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 11 years ago

You all must be crazy!Idiots!

• Methodeman 11 years ago

Nonsence

• ASEM BEBA DABI 11 years ago

IT IS HIGH TIME THAT GHANAIAN AUTHORITIES COMPARE OUR SERVICES DELIVERY TO OTHER INCOMPETENT SERVICE DELIVERY SYSTEMS OF OTHER AFRICAN STATES. WE ARE AT THE POINT IN TIME IN OUR NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT THAT WE SHOULD COMPARE OU ...

• AJ 11 years ago

WHAT THE HELL..IF GH IS THE BEST THEN SORRY FOR THE OTHER COUNTRIES....

• KOO-SWISS 11 years ago

And you are are happy to be compared to an undeveloped country?
    do you want to develope or retard?
    confused bench of hollows.

• Boat 11 years ago

It's indeed funny to note that our country still prides itself as the Black Stars of Africa and the Gate way to West Africa. Well, not until I left the shores of Ghana to live elsewhere, I was also under the impression that G ...

• Nankani 11 years ago

That is the problem! The gov't has done a lot of illegal political connections, so it can brag that ' We expanded electricity faster than the previous gov't". But if the capacity remains the same, and even reduces you create ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

What Thomas Edison's Mother might have said to her son:
    "Of course I'm proud that you invented the electric light bulb. Now turn it off and get to bed.
    2]Q: Do you know how an electrician tells if he's working with AC or DC ...

• kwame 11 years ago

IDIOT

• Sir Kofi Mumui 11 years ago

Best in Sub Saharan Africa so we must continue to endure frequent poer outages, right? Never hread so much garbage coming out of an individual. And that Awotwe must be an idiot to utter such nonesense. My God!!!

• Tsatsebi 11 years ago

When you have one blind eye among totally blind people you think you are better off than them , but the fact is you are still blind. So stop this stupid comparison with other African countries. We want Ghana to be good. We co ...

• CHINOOK 11 years ago

Ghanaians are found of self appraisals. How can you have surplus energy and sit down to run into deficit? After 56 years we have not been able to construct good road to link Accra and Kumasi, the two big cities. Mr Awotwi ...

• Sam 11 years ago

I left Ghana in 1995 and as at 2009 when I last visited, the black star of africa has not been able to supply potable pipe water to madina and it's suburbs. You have to buy water on trucks etc. What are our leaders doing abou ...

• ASEM BE BA DABI 11 years ago

Where did these criminals collected their information about electricity in Africa ? They must go to South Africa, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Libya, Tunisia, Egypt. Morroco and even Senegal. They will see how the word best is used for ...

• Backward Country Ghana 11 years ago

Which Ghana and Africa is Kweku Awotwi talking about? What weed has he been smoking? What drugs has he ingested? What crack has he been sniffing? Do not kid yourself. Ghana is backward and ICE age!

• FREEMAN 11 years ago

Ghana is the best in Africa-I'm sick and tired with this crab. The question is are we satisfied with electricity supply-no. These dubious and callous leaders will have to shun expensive lifestyles and get to work. corrupt vam ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

Oza, I just hope this stupid CEO of VRA read your wise piece.

• ama 11 years ago

Mahama gave 200,000 ghana cedis to Ghana corrupt law makers.where they don't compare our country with deveolped countries. our leader are sick in their head

• OZA 11 years ago

Thanks Ama. From the beginning of these comments to yours, not a single person has found any sense in what the so-called-CEO is saying in his silly article. That tells a lot about what kind of leadership we have in the count ...

• yen asem hwe 11 years ago

Ghana a land of lazy folk and dreamers.Always less work and more enjoyment.I live in Germany for the past thirty years and not even one second was a power failure. We vote for dogs to rule us.

• Mankind 11 years ago

Check out countries like South Africa and Botwana before you write CRAP like this... Idot!!!

• COS 90 11 years ago

Compare to South Africa not Kenya and Nigeria. A big shame unto you.

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 11 years ago

Apart from the North African countries and South Africa, Ghana has the best access to electricity in Africa. With the completion of the Bui Dam it will get better. Countries like the DRC, Uganda, Rwanda and so on only have be ...

• Kwawu Agbemenu 11 years ago

So if we are ahead of our neighbours in electricity supply, is that enough reason for the VRA boss to be & feel complecent? What about the status of affairs in Malaysia, South Korea, for instance, with which we were neck-and ...

• FiFi 11 years ago

We don't need anymore excuses. We have more resources that most of the countries in sub sahara... quit giving us excuses and talking points

• FiFi 11 years ago

Blessed with tremendous resouces, MIS-MANAGEMENT is our talent. Corruption, Nepotism,Stealing and Lawlessness is our bestour 4 pillars....SAD!!!